New owners, new attitude in 2012 for this outstanding Outer Banks Vacation rental home! This is a "Joint Venture" to make this beautiful home a fantastic gathering place for your family! Great location! Close enough to walk to movies, shopping and restaurants in Corolla! Community amenities include children's playground, community pool, tennis and boat ramp. Parking for beach access located at Whalehead Beach is easy to reach. Two family suites (King Bedroom connected with a Bedroom with Duo Bunk by a Full Bath) allows you to stay close to little ones while enjoying this spacious home. Top Level: Great Room with TV/VCR/DVD, Stereo, Dining Se...ating for 20, Powder Room, Deck overlooking Private Pool.Mid Level: One Family Suite (King Bedroom with TV/DVD and Deck Access connected to Bedroom with Duo Bunk/Trundle by Full Bath), Queen Master Bedroom with Deck Access, King Master Bedroom with TV/VCR and Deck Access, Queen Master with TV/DVD and Deck Access.Ground Level: One Family Suite (King Bedroom with TV/DVD connected to Bedroom with Duo Bunk/Trundle with Pool Access by Full Bath), Queen Master with TV, Large Rec Room with Pool Table, Wet Bar w/mini fridge, M. Wave, Fridge, TV/DVD, Half Bath doubles as Cabana Bath, Washer/Dryer.Click here to view more information about Monteray Shores" Private Pool,( 14x27 ) Hot Tub (6), 9 TVs/DVDs, 1VCR, HIGH SPEED WIRELESS ACCESS, Pool Table, High Chair and Pac n Play, 2 Family Suites, No Pets, Gas Grill, Monteray Shores Community Amenities, PARKING: 6 Cars, DTB: 1/2 mile walk to beach access.
Additional amenities include: baby equipment, tennis, keyless entry.Read more
Perfect location for a very relaxing vacation. Beach was close by. All the comforts of home in this vacation house. Plenty of room for our group. All the extras that this house provided were great. Would rent this house again.
House not made for 20
Left on 07/25/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | Eddy
Came with a group of 20, never had water pressure all week. All beds were hard and need upgrading! Bring fans or rent if your use to that.
Basic kitchen essentials and high chair not what expected.
Close to the food lion which was nice & pool was useful.
Affordable home but never staying here again.
Lockport, New York
First time in the Outer Banks
Left on 07/19/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | Grandma Jo
We had a great time it was a beautiful place. My biggest complaint was there were no outside lights, all the lights seemed to be blown out and also quite a few inside. I did request that we get some light bulbs but never heard from the representative again. The tank to the gas grill was empty when we got there and there were a couple of bedrooms with no remotes for the Tv's, which I did tell the representative and we did receive a full tank of gas. The house itself was perfect for our large family & the kids used the basketball court & gym everyday. Hopefully we will return someday.
Eden Prairie, MN
Good but not outstanding.
Left on 07/25/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | Kenneth Dedeker
Poor cleaning before arrival--ditry refrigerator, dust onshelf by microvave on lowest level, filthy rug in one bathroom
Large TV upstairs never worked well, repair person came several days after to call get it reapired and cold not do so---Some rebate would be appreciated.
Spacious & luxurious
Left on 07/23/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | Kristi
"Joint Venture" was truly the perfect house for our vacation. It provided privacy and space for our large party, yet also had an amazing upper floor for spending time as an entire group. we loved the huge dinning room table. Everything was beautifully decorated and very clean. We loved the community clubhouse, pool, and playground as well. The one and only concern was that all the batteries for the television remotes seemed to be old and the HD service was not working on most of the televisions as well. We called the first day, but service was not restored during our week...minor concern only.
Mc Cormick, SC
Left on 07/21/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | Betts
Outer Banks Blue Responded quickly to all calls for service.
Home very comforable for large family gathering.
Good location for shopping and 4 x 4 beach
great family vacation
Left on 06/27/2011 for a stay in June 2011 | Bob
Property was a good value and very comfotable. several small details would make it better. One wuold be new blinds through out esp. in bedrooms. we had several students who needed internet access,unfortunatly the roter was missing when we arrived and wasnt replaced until the day we left. However we had a great week
House Needs Work
Left on 01/06/2011 for a stay in December 2010 | Disappointed Client
I stayed here in December and was very disappointed with the condition of this house. I have rented several homes from Outer Banks Blue and by far this home was in the poorest condition. The carpets were very dirty, the mattresses were unclean, closet doors were broken, blenders weren't working, furniture was scraped, my bathroom wasn't properly cleaned, there were no hangers and the list goes on. I will not rent this home again.
Great family house
Left on 09/05/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | Wexford, PA
A great house that seats 14 at the same table! Well planned space, Plenty of room to hang out together in common space, yet allows for privacy with individual suites. Kitchen was pretty well equipped, could use a few big glass baking dishes and some serving bowls.
Most relaxing vacation ever!
Left on 07/13/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | wieses'
Beautiful large house, had twenty people there and still had lots and lots of room. No-one wanted to leave. Teenagers played pool in the rec room and enjoyed the swimming pool and adults gathered on the large decks and enjoyed the hot tub. There was plenty of room for everyone to gather for dinner or watch tv.
Left on 07/12/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | Smith Family
The house is poorly managed and we were very disappointed with the conditions. We were not able to use the house until after 6pm on Saturday because it was never cleaned, and then we were faced with a broken stovetop, toilet, couch, towel racks, lights doorhandles, etc. Furthermore, we were missing some sheets, towels. During the week the aC unit upstairs did not work well, and the swimming pool broke.
As a family we wasted hours dealing with these issues and calling the rental agency. The house is not well maintained by the rental agency and I do not recommend it. Under different management, the house has the potential to be very nice, but with all of these issues, I will not go there again. Read more
Thank you for sharing your review of this property. We apologize that you had the poor view of this property after your departure. The cleaning issues that you outlined to us were not up to our standards and those cleaners are no longer cleaning. We are glad to hear that the crew we sent back to the house to rectify all of the issues were able to get things straightened out within 2 hours of your arrival however.
The minor maintenance items out outlined week you were here was indeed rectified once we were aware of them, and of course we dispatched an a/c repair man to the property the same afternoon you called. As you remember it was hot that week with temperatures in the low 100 degree range and actually the a/c repair man found nothing wrong with the a/c unit. Likewise the pool vendor that went to the property indicated the pool problems were actually a result of folks jumping in the pool with too much suntan oil and thus the filter got clogged.
This is one of our most popular properties, and we are disappointed to hear of your poor opinion, but we look forward to possibly serving you at another property in the future.
All the best from the beach!
Left on 07/12/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | Kim Jerald
My family and I enjoyed our pleasant stay at the Joint Venture. The location of the home was great and had all the amenities we needed. The best things about the home were the tv's in all the rooms, the great room and the renovated kitchen was really nice. What I would suggest for the future would be another fridge because we ran out of room with so many people there. I would also suggest that the maintenance person checks everything before you check in. The thermostat needed batteries and we didnt know it and it was super hot in the house but after checking it we realized all it needed was batteries. Other than a few minor mishaps we had a wonderful time.
Fantastic House at a great value
Left on 06/09/2010 for a stay in May 2010 | KB
Great house with open space on top floor, new kitchen and flat screens in every room. House was everything it said in the writeup. Great value (again, we stayed on Sound side, so getting to beach meant getting in car and trucking everything to 4x4 or regular beach)...but you get what you pay for...great deal for 8 BR. Check in with OBX Blue was easy...no waiting in line for keys. Cleanliness only 4 star because pool / pool area was not ready upon checkin (maybe we were the first people this season?) Owners could stand to put in vacuum so families could clean up after little ones (and sand)...would keep the place looking better longer. Also, get a real grill. Over all a 4.5 outta 5 star experience...been coming to OBX for 6 years.
Lovely house, needs a few things
Left on 01/14/2010 for a stay in December 2009 | Mrs. D
We were very pleased with our stay at Joint
Venture. On the plus side, the house is newly
remodeled and all the furnishings are in excellent
condition. There are flat screen TVs in every room.
The hot tub is wonderful. The entertainment room is
perfect, with a huge couch where everyone can watch
a movie together. Same for the dining room table,
which was large enough to accommodate all of us and
our guests. And two dishwashers is sweet. On the
down side, the carpets badly need to be cleaned or
replaced. We all felt allergic due to the dust in
the carpets. Most of the mattresses are rock hard -
it took several nights before I was able to sleep
through the night. The walls and floors are all
very thin, so that you are able to hear every
footstep on the floor above or on the stairs. And
the kitchen is VERY poorly equipped - not only was
there an insufficient number of utensils, there
were only about TEN spoons!! An eight bedroom house
needs to have lots of silverware - we had to wash
spoons several times a day. When I wanted to make
muffins for everyone, I had to bake them in four
separate batches, as there was only one, six cup
muffin tin in the house. (This seems like a poor
use of electricity - better for the owners to spend
a few dollars on another muffin tin.) All of the
non-stick pans were peeling and no longer non-
stick. Not only is this annoying but also
unhealthy, as that black coating is toxic when
consumed. The stove is large, which is nice, and
there are double ovens - love it - but both ovens
need to be recalibrated. Everything came out either
burnt or undercooked. I think the kitchen should be
entirely restocked with a decent set of pots and
pans as well as more silverware and bakeware.
As for location, the house was very convenient to
the grocery and hardware stores - within walking
distance - but the nearest movie theater is 30
Best of all was the service we received from Outer
Banks Blue. They are great and I will use them
Chester County, PA
Plenty of Room, lots of nice amenties
Left on 09/10/2009 for a stay in August 2009 | Heather
The house layout was great, kitchen was hugh, bedrooms were well appointed with a bathroom for each bedroom. Loved the third floor living space. The house was clean. Great pool. So many TV's!! I think I would trade on in the bedroom for one in the kitchen side of the third floor so that we could watch the news etc while the kids were watching something. The kitchen table fits 14. Perfect for everyone to sit and eat together!
Shopping, Corolla lighthouse and the drive on beach were all right there.
Cons: needs a seperate ice maker to at least keep up with ice for drinks. We had 14 people and had enough ice for about 4.
The temp on the 3rd floor never got below 78 degrees, we called but it was never fixed during our stay. The unit ran all day even though it was only in the mid 80's. The service was very friendly, but I would have really liked some AC.
There were no beach chairs or pool floats so come prepared.
You can rent bikes for the week right in the community. I think it was $40 for a week, plus the helmet is extra. Considering our bike rack broke and the tire blew, it probably would have been cheaper to rent.
Overall very nice place!
Fantastic Beach House - Perfect for Family Reunion!
Left on 08/11/2009 for a stay in August 2009 | SB
Great big, home! We had a large group of people and we had plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms for us all. The beach was a short bike ride away, and shopping was also a short bike ride or walk from the house. We loved having a pool and the hot tub at the house. The outside deck was perfect for corn hole tournament, sunning, and just relaxing. Also, having 2 dishwashers was a nice treat!
Some suggestions for the house:
1. Need towel racks or something in the bathrooms! There was no place to hang up wet bathroom towels.
2. Having a vacuum or dust buster would also be beneficial. There were times when that would have helped out a lot!
3. We tried using the grill one night -- it wasn't the best grill -- a better one would be nice to have and we would have done more grilling.
Left on 07/24/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | melrentz
First of all, Outer bank blue should be noted for great service. Customer service staff very competent. The amendities of linens, towels and the keyless entry started the vacation off great. Loved that service. We reported some pre existing damages and within 1 hr someone was checking on it. The home is newly renovated and very tastefully done in decor. Very roomy, we had 12 guests in which we used the entire home and the 10 flat screen TV's were great to satisfy everyone, no fighting over TV shows. ( Rained a whole day, so needed indoor activity)Kitchen is nice to work in with alot of space, 2 dishwashers, 2 coffee pots, serving for 20 and our entire party was able to sit down together to eat at the huge (last supper) table. Pool and jacuzzi nice too.
The foosball table is non existence as mentioned.The one suggestion would be to have some cleaning equipment available in case someone would like to sweep up. There was no vaccum and the broom was pretty old.
The location was good. A 5 minute drive to beach, 15 minute drive to the 4WD beach (which you don't want to miss.Close to all necessities of food, ACE and Timbucktoo shopping. Don't miss the sunset down at the sound pier and the kids got a kick out of crabbing with string.Our kids also utilized the tennis courts and weight room at the Monteray Shore "club house".
Left on 06/25/2009 for a stay in June 2009 | SherryFox
I stayed here with family and friends, and overall this was an awesome house. Gorgeous. The carpet was a little stained but besides that I would definitely recommend this home. We totally enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.
Hillsborough North Carolina
Great Place to stay
Left on 01/22/2009 for a stay in December 2008 | Coleman Clan
Overall we had a great time being with family and friends. However there were a couple of items that should have been taken care of amd hopefully they were because we called them in. For example, the property was listed as having a fuze ball table and that was not the case. The oven door didn't shut properly and needed a new gasket. Hopefully that has been repaired and will not give others a problem if they want to use it. We made use of the hot tub and the internet connection. The pool of course was not open due to the season.
We ventured out to the beach and went to the various attractions (at Kitty Hawk, Corolla, and Curricut) My son took a group out to find the wild horses and actually found them. (he had a jeep) The grandkids all enjoyed themselves playing video games. We brought several systems with us. Read more
Thanks for your feedback on this property. Great to hear you had a good time while here. This is a very popular house, and it looks like you can see why.
Just wanted to let you know that the advertisement has been corrected to remove the footsball table...the house has a pool table, not footsball. The oven door was repaired upon your departure once we were made aware of the problem.
We look forward to serving you again soon!
All the best from the beach!
Great for large family
Left on 12/17/2008 for a stay in November 2008 | Mercer/Simpson
The house is very nice. It was great for our Thanksgiving dinner. Large dinner table that seats 14. Well stocked kitchen with all we needed and more to prepare our dinner. The only problem was the house was not cleaned well when we arrived. Need new housekeeping staff. We cleaned it and enjoyed our stay. We will rent again.
Troutman , NC
Great Location- Shopping- Food-Fishing.
Left on 10/10/2008 for a stay in September 2008 | Bonnie Burch
We vacation as a family grouyp every year. this was our first time staying in the Outer Banks Area.
I loved the drive up. we found Joint Venture wiht no problem ,although we arrive after dark.
We woke up to a lovely view and soon learned that we were close to shops and store garlore.
We loved the two bikes provided. Kids and grown-up rode them to the stores.
The house was beautiful, but the carpet needed to be cleaned very badly.
I look forward to staying with you again.
Great Place To Stay With Your Whole Family
Left on 10/01/2008 for a stay in July 2008 | Lance Norris
This was the first time our entire family of 18 spent the week together at the same place.We had a great time and would stay there again. It could have been a little more cleaner than it was. We didn't arrive untill after 4:30 and the cleaning crew was still there and I think they just rushed through, but other than that it was a great place to stay. The kitchen and living area upstairs was our favorite place to hang out and of course the pool. The pool and the game room was awsome.The house was five minutes from the beach and two minutes from town.We hated to leave, we had such a great time.
Linda in VA
Great vacation home
Left on 10/01/2008 for a stay in August 2008 | Linda in VA
Our stay at this home was a great one. There was a place for everyone and it was a short drive to the ocean. The home is very well equipped and comfortable.
BEAUTY AT THE BEACH
Left on 09/20/2008 for a stay in August 2008 | B.C.L.Y. GROUP
This was our first time renting a house in the outer banks. We had a group of 14, all adults and it certainly was a "JOINT VENTURE", we had a wonderful time. The house is beautiful and well eguipped with the exception of "NO GLASS BAKING PANS". We had a few minor issues however, they were resolved with a phone call. We would suggest labeling your light switches and perhaps having a light on the side of the house so you can see at night to cook on the grill and to play horse shoes. It is very close to the beach and the recreation center was the icing on the cake. We would recommend this house to friends.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.