You work hard all year now it's time to take "Sound Advice" for your vacation home. This BRAND NEW property built in 2010 is located in the young community of Corolla Bay. Guests will relax on choice of house decks. Lay back and listen to the blue heron, the loon, the crane and the fish splashing in the pond. You will covet your pre-dusk swim in the pool, while watching the sun's fiery reflection in the sound. After a sun-down cocktail, there is more fun inside. Play billiards, listen to your favorite music, film or TV programming on a state of the art entertainment system in the theatre room. Catch up with the family in the great room..., cook a gourmet meal in the kitchen that overlooks the great room, or just get away by yourself in one of the many private nooks. It's an easy drive to the beach and parking is only a block from the ocean access. Shopping and activities are close by too. You will be so glad that you listened to the "Sound Advice" you received on your vacation home and you and your family will want to come back year after year. Distance to the beach: Approximately 917 yardsAmenities Include: Private pool (14 x 26 ft.), Hot Tub, Pier over pond w/ kayak launch, Media Room, 4 Large Screen TV's, TV/DVD in each bedroom, 2 Blu Ray Disc Players, Full Cabana Bath, Central A/C and heat, 2 Refrigerators, 3 DW's, 2 MW, W/D, unlimited long distance telephone service within Continental United States, Stereo w/ CD changer, High Speed Wireless Internet, Gas Grill, Gas Fireplace (off-Season only), Rec Room w/ Pool Table (8 ft.)Ground Level: Cabana w/ Full bath leading to pool area, Pool and Hot Tub, Rec Room, Media Room w/ large screen TV, MBR w/K, Wet Bar w/ full size refrigerator, Laundry Area.Level 1: QSS shares full bath w/ BR w/Pym Bnk w/TR, 2 MBRs w/ Q, MBR w/ K. Level 2: Open airy Great Room, Living Area, Kitchen, Dining Area, MBR w/ K w/ jet tub and separate tiled shower, Loft, Half Bath, Deck overlooking sound and pond waters.Read more
Left on 09/27/2013 for a stay in September 2013 | Jeremy P
The house was great and so was the rental company. What sucked was CenturyLink internet service. We were without internet for the week we were there. I realize that we were on vacation and shouldn't need it but in this day and age there are times when we still need to check in with work.
The rental agency couldn't get CenturyLink to get anything working. So that's the one thing I would check out before hand. If the internet is something that you'll need, ask first who the provider is. If it's CenturyLink skip the house or bring yourself a hotspot.
Resort Realty Not The Issue. The house was missing integral thin
Left on 06/05/2013 for a stay in May 2013 | Heather M
The house was missing common items such as a can opener, adequate knives, pot holders, serving dishes, Tupperware and everyday kitchen needs. A few of the TVs were not easy to use and required someone to come and set them up (which took several hours). The Internet did not work for almost 4 days and the response was not as expected for the OBX experience! The rooms were nice and the restrooms were good (they actually had hot water consistently). The location is beautiful and it's a private house (if nobody is renting next door - if so, it's too close for privacy). This was not our favorite house and we won't stay there again. Read more
Thank you for your review of Sound Advice. We must apologize that you found the kitchen lacking basic items. We do have a required items list. Please call the office anytime you have questions or need items that are missing, and they will be replaced immediately if necessary. Our goal is to have 100% happy guests. We also want to apologize for the inconvenience of the TV's and internet.
I am sorry you weren’t excited over the house but hope you will give us an opportunity to assist you with your vacation needs in 2014. Please be specific when we ask what you are looking for in a vacation home and we will do our best to match you up with a house you will enjoy.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again!
J & O's family
Wonderful house, perfect location...but wished it was cleaner...
Left on 05/16/2013 for a stay in May 2013 | J & O's family
Sound advice met all of our expectation when it came to amenities and the location on the sound. Bedrooms were huge and perfectly decorated, the kitchen had all the necessary tools, the pool area was pristine. The rental process was easy...although we were disappointed we were charged a hefty fee for paying with our credit card. We would definitely rent this house again and/or work with Resort Reality again.
Our biggest disappointment with the experience was the cleanliness of the property. We showed up at check-in time, 1pm, only to be greeted by three housekeepers shocked to see us. They told us that they were not aware of any renters for our particular week. They said they would call the main office to check on the mix up. My husband and I told them to take their time, as we would rather check in later than have them rush through the cleaning of the home. They told us to come back in an hour and that if they weren't done by that point, we could stay on the floor that was clean.
We came back at 2pm and the housekeepers were gone. On our paperwork, it states that the "caretaker" of the house was supposed to walk us through our home and explain the features if we check in at the 1pm check in time. Didn't happen, obviously;but we weren't too concerned...everything was fairly self explanatory. What did concern us is the cleanliness and the housekeepers' attention to detail. The house is huge...there is a lot to clean. The housekeepers, although very sweet, complained to us that there was a big wedding party there the week before and that the floors in this house were "impossible" to clean because of the shedding rugs. Rug lint was the least of our concerns. We were more concerned about the toe nail clippings on the floor next to bed, the mold in the toilets, the grill that looked like it had never been cleaned, and the inch of dust under every piece of furniture. I wish I were exaggerating. We dealt with it, cleaned it ourselves, and still had a very nice time. Read more
Thank you for your review of Sound Advice. We are glad to hear that you were happy with the house but were disappointed to hear about the lack of cleanliness as this is not Resort Realty standards. I have forwarded your comments on to our housekeeping supervisor, so she can address this issue. Had we known, we would have been happy to send out additional housekeepers so you wouldn't have to clean.
Yes, the credit card fee is unfortunate, but it is charged by the credit card company.
Thanks again for you time and for choosing Resort Realty.
Left on 05/08/2013 for a stay in April 2013 | Patti
The house was stunning. We were awed by the decor. It was the perfect size for our family. The children loved the pool table and media room. Great for the couple of rainy days. The location on the sound was ideal for kayaking and fishing. Loved it.
Left on 04/15/2013 for a stay in April 2013 | Prevailing Word Ministries
Our time at Sound advice was for the purpose of getting away to spend time with the Lord, an administrative leaders retreat from Prevailing Word Ministry. We must say it was the perfect place, the sunset on the waters was absolutely beautiful. And we believe there were angels present with us. Of course the house was perfect in every respect. Looking for to our next trip. By the way do you have any larger homes on the sound side, i.e. 12 or 14 bedrooms. We come back in the fall but this is our leaders gathering. Take care talk with you soon. Pastor Gerri
Left on 09/13/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | Kelly
The house and location where amazing - only 2 houses on the court which we rented both. Very private, the house was beautiful it could of been alittle cleaner and had more day to day utensials, dish tv was alittle difficult, but otherwise very nice stay.
Left on 08/15/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | Sarah
We really enjoyed our stay at Sound advice. The alcove at the top was great for puzzles, the bedrooms are all nice, the pool is great, the dock is nice to sit at. A couple of items to mention, however. We saw snakes swimming in the pond in the back, so we decided not to put our boats in. Also, there's a big lack of towel bars in bathrooms, and no dresser in either the bunk bedroom or the den with the fold-out sofa (which is not really a bedroom although we used it as one). I would recommend Sound advice to any large group. We loved it.
Left on 07/05/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | Henry's
Corolla is a bit far from activities. We needed to drive up to Nags Head area for sightseeing, fishing. etc. We came early on Saturday to avoid the maddening transfer rush. Also left at 5am the following Sat.
Left on 08/31/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | Peg
Our stay was great. Accomodations at the house were awesome. Beds were very comfortable. Nice size pool, great view of the Sound and 15 min. walk to beach. We enjoyed the home theatre and the nice size kitchen.
Left on 07/25/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | Ted Mayer
the house was carefully selected over a period of 10 months. The only difficulty we incurred was as a result of the smoke detectors which had a bad battery and kept my guests up a ll night. After calling your 24 hour hotline (nonsense) I was able to get a tech there the next day .After fixing the problem we then did'nt clear out the alarm and it to beeped all night long a 2nd night. Suggestion if you are employing a 24 hour service don't bill it as a 24 service it is only an answering service and as such after 3 calls only frustrates the caller as they can't help
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 240,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.