|Minimum Stay||7 nights|
Suitable for childrenYes
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Perfect for nature lovers, this house backs up to the Estuarine Sanctuary. All four large decks were painted and stained w/ redwood stain and white railings. Beautiful! The large and private back deck looks out over the treetops, and is the perfect place to gaze at the stars while you soak in the hot tub. A new hot tub was added May 2011. The front yard is beautifully landscaped. "Picnic snack table" and 16 chairs were added in to the large rear and front decks. The living, dining and kitchen areas are spacious and open- perfect for those family gatherings. Enjoy easy access to ocean, oceanfront pool and soundside pool; just a short distan...Read more
Corolla, North Carolina
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$0||$660 - $1,690||$0||7 nights|
|Jan. 5 2013 - May. 17 2013||-||$660||-||7 nights|
|May. 18 2013 - May. 31 2013||-||$795||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 1 2013 - Jun. 7 2013||-||$1,160||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 8 2013 - Jun. 14 2013||-||$1,260||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 15 2013 - Jun. 21 2013||-||$1,595||-||7 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Jun. 22 2013 - Aug. 23 2013||-||$1,690||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 24 2013 - Aug. 30 2013||-||$1,295||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 31 2013 - Sep. 6 2013||-||$795||-||7 nights|
|Sep. 7 2013 - Jan. 3 2014||-||$660||-||7 nights|
|View all 9 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 16, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
High View, West Virginia
Very Disappointed -
We arrived late Saturday evening... inspected the house to see what all was where and to see if everything was okay. Noticed that the hot tub was leaking underneath the deck, noticed that housekeeping hadn't vacuumed under the couches. Windows were not clean in the whole house, carpet was really stained, cob webs in windows. Got in hot tub the next day and was working fine, then got in it later and it would not work. Called maintenance about the leak & it quitting on us, and about the vacuum cleaner belt being broke, (that's why housekeeping probably didn't have the house very clean when we got there) and also about the grill, the 2 bicycles (all of which were in the amenities). Well the maintenance guy shows up, they had called the hot tub lady as well and both showed up pretty much at the same time. The hot tub lady drains the tub and says her husband will have to come take a look at the electrical part of it. And the maintenance man and her get into it cause she's not coming back with her husband until the next day, and the maintenance man said no he wanted it fixed for us that evening. But she ended up not ever coming back, but she had called me and said she was coming and I wasted 2 days of my vacation waiting on her to show up. Anyways, back to the maintenance man, while he was there he had called the realty co. and was telling them about the hot tub and my complaints about not having a gas grill and also about the bicycles and while he was talking to them he told me there was no gas grill only the charcoal portable grill and that the bicycles were in the closet on the bottom floor. I said it's locked. He told them, it's locked, they said there's a key in the house somewhere that is for the closet. Well, we never did find the key, but we did get into the closet. Anyways, I asked the guy what * IM * meant in the amenities, he said I have no clue, so he asked the person on the phone what it meant, they said Ice Maker... I said well it must not be working cause it's not working and it's not on. So he pulled the frig out from the wall and said well this water valve is off. That's strange I haven't had any complaints on the ice maker yet all season. So he turns it on and put it back in place, leaves and comes back a little later and fixes the vacuum belt and then leaves, assuming he fixed the ice maker by turning the water on, I guess. Mean while, we go to the beach and we're gone for about 4 - 5 hours and when we got back I opened the freezer door to check the ice maker and the whole freezer was flooded. So I got my husband to pull the frig out and shut the water off, so that the ice maker would not flood the whole house. (so don't use the ice maker if it's off when you arrive). Also, for having a house that sleeps 12 people, I don't feel they had enough large kitchen household items for large groups. I had to make tea & lemonade in small pitchers and remake and remake. Our kids drank alot cause it was hot. No big pitcher, not enough big bowls, no spaghetti dipper, no salt & pepper shakers, no pot holders, no dish rags to wash dishes with, 1 dish towel was it. We had paid for linens and we each got 1 towel and 1 wash rag. I had to go out and buy towels. dish rags, pot holders, and shakers. We had to buy ice, and we had to go buy a propane tank ($65.00) for our gas grill, that we brought with us, which I'm glad I insisted on my husband to bring along or we wouldn't have had anyway of cooking other than the inside stove. So would I go back...no!!! We cleaned the house good before we left. We called the realty company about every day about the hot tub and asked them what they were going to do about it. They never did give us an answer. We thought they should have given us some kind of a refund back. But they never said a word. I feel sorry for the owner of this house. Because they are getting ripped off for services not rendered. I'd love to speak to the owner.
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 12/03/2012
Thank you for your review of "Best Refuge". We are sorry you were disappointed in not having the hot tub up and running for your entire stay. Unfortunately, when dealing with outside vendors, we don't have control over their schedules and response time. It was very frustrating not being able to get that repair done in a timely manner. Rest assured the owner was notified of the delay and wasn't happy about it. We have forwarded the information about kitchen utensils to the owner so they can be replaced over the off season. We hope you will allow us to assist in your vacation needs for 2013.
Franklin, TN (Nashville)
Felt at Home at Best Refuge
We felt right at home at Best Refuge. It is very spacious, loved the large open cathedral ceilings in the living room, dining area and kitchen. We especially loved the privacy in the back...a wildlife refuge. This home is very nice and clean, needs some updating compared to some of the others in the way of countertops, carpet, decor, but we would choose it again and feel at home all over again. We walked a couple of blocks to the ocean side pool and beach and rode bike to the sound side pool. It was all perfect for my family of two teens, two 10ish and my wife and I.
We had some communication issues w home regarding maintenance.
We had great weather, the home needed new hot tub, they were getting new one after we left, so that was a problem with family.
A great home.
We had stayed here in 1997 as well. It is showing wear, but we had a great family time here. We like the house, the neighborhood, and the parking lot for the ocean. The walk to the beach is not too far. But it would be if I had to carry everything! Thanks for the use of your place.
Unfortunately when we first arrived the home was not cleaned. The bathrooms were dirty and so was the kitchen as well as the bedrooms and living area. We called the realty and they did have someone come out the next day to clean so that was not an issue any more. There were some previous water issues in the back bedroom that were not cosmetically addressed. Painting needed to be done to make room eye appealing. It is either the master bedroom window screens or the bedroom beneath it that is loose, when the wind blows the screen bangs constantly, making it hard to sleep. Again unfortunately the washer died some what and a repair man had to come out. The things we enjoyed: pool access by beach, hot tub, promptness of realty agent to get things cleaned and the call from the owner. Due to the fact that the first impression usually is important, my husband felt he would not want to stay there again.
Nice house at the "end of the road" next to estuary. Well maintained, freshly painted outside. Deck furniture at the time was cheap plastic. No rear deck access from street so the hot tub service has to come through the house, not a big deal but we didn't expect it. We enjoyed our stay but at the end of two weeks felt claustrophobic due to limited views since trees have grown up.
Great family retreat
We loved this home. Our 2 daughters and their families stayed with us. It had plenty of room and the children enjoyed going from the beach to the pool. Any concerns we had were handled immediately and satisfactorily. The children ranged from 13 to 2 and all had a great time. The home is very family friendly. I have traveled to many tropical islands and I must say that this home is one place I would consider returning to. I loved the convenience of walking to the beach and to the pool and then coming home to the hot tub. We had plenty of showers and room. The extra coffee pots and blenders are a great extra for the large family. Also, there were lots of dishes, silverware and pots and pans. Thank you for a great vacation!