Formerly a model home this beautiful residence decked out in Tommy Bahama tropical decor is located in a quiet cul de sac with upgrades and attention to detail not normally found in a rental. This is an elegant and classy yet comfortable home, your family and friends will not want to leave! Just minutes away from the lakeside pool facility and fitness center, the community oceanfront pool and private beach access. Walk to the Wildlife Estuarine Refuge and Wild Horse Sanctuary, which border the neighborhood or drive to the 4 wheel drive beach area. Distance to the beach: Approximately 972 yardsAmenities Include: Cen A/H, MW, DW, IM (in ref.)..., W/D, CATV's, DVD's, VCR, Stereo w/CDPlayer, DVD Library, CF's, Picnic Table, Jacuzzi tub, Wet Bar,HC, BG, PC, Foosball, Hi-Speed Wireless Internet, Enc. O/S, Gas Grill, Community water, Private Pool, Hot Tub.Ground Level: BR w/Pyramid Bunk + Trundle has own tv and shares a full bathroom with Game Room (tv/vcr/dvd, foosball, full ref and wet bar). Level 1: BR w/Q has TV and access to a private deck shares bath with BR w/K, has own TV; Laundry Closet; MBR w/Q has private bath and TV; Small Den, TV/DVD and access to private deck; Covered deck. Level 2: Powder Room; MBR w/K has private bath, jacuzzi and separate shower; Living, Dining & Kitchen areas; Screened Porch and Open Deck.
Left on 08/28/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | T family
Loved almost everything about the house. It's a great location to the 4x4 beach and a wonderful location to run on the trail to the beach. They also had a great selection of movies and the kitchen had most everything I needed to cook for my family. The nature trails were nice and the fishing lake was fun too. The washing machine broke on our first load, but Realty resort replaced it quickly. One complaint I have of the house were all the spiders around the pool, on the back door, the gate to the pool, the screened in porch was infested with spiders, the car port and the front door. Resort Realty had called me the day before to tell me we could not check in any earlier because they were spraying for pests. I didn't see anything inside the house, but it was difficult to enjoy the outside spaces.
Left on 07/10/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | Sandi
This house was very nice and I loved the way it was decorated. Very comfortable and homey feeling. The only thing I would suggest is to add additional seating in the family room. With the current sofa and two chairs, really only 4 people could sit in that room together to watch TV or movies. We only had 5 of us there and someone had to sit on a kitchen chair when watching TV. With a house that sleeps so many, it would be nice to have additional seating in the main room. Otherwise, there was lots of room and we loved the screened in porch.
New Market, D
Very comfortable home!
Left on 07/18/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | Sharon
We were in Corolla July 7 - 14. We found Compass Rose fit the needs of our family well - 8 adults and 3 kids (2 and under). We loved the screened porch and were actually able to use it a couple days when it cooled off. The house was clean and well stocked.
Resort Realty was great to work with. We made one call the first night we were there about the oven (needed attention - burned on fish) and someone was sent out immediately to clean it while we were out of the house.
The only complaint we had was not about the house, but about neighbors in nearby houses who were very noisy at night. But, what can you do about that? :)
This was our first time in Corolla and we enjoyed it. Will probably go back again as we have started the traditional full-family vacations.
Left on 07/12/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | HRC
Unit as very average based on our experiences in the past.. Decks are small and the pool in just barely larger than a large hot tub. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 07/30/2012
I'm sorry you were disapointed in the size of the pool. All of our properties are privately owned, and it is up to the owner and restrictions of the county with the lot size. Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments.
Calm after The Storm
Left on 09/11/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | 12Hydrangeas
Although Hurricane Irene cut our vacation stay in half, we were able to enjoy 3 days of beautiful weather. Thankfully, our rental property "Compass Rose" sustained no visible damage. We were happy to unload the outdoor furniture from the outside shower, to rescue the overturned picnic table and to skim the pool and hot tub of debris. Pool maintenance arrived Wednesday to complete the job. The house is beautiful, comfortable, and pretty well outfitted. The only items that we missed were blankets in some bedrooms, serving bowls in the kitchen, and beach chairs. We loved the quiet location, with short trip to the beach.
Nobody wants to see a hurricane bearing down on the Outer Banks, but I was very pleased with communication from Resort Realty about the evacuation order, with information once the evacuation was lifted and with efforts to move vacationers into their rentals. Communication, however, pretty much fell apart once we arrived at the Corolla office for our key at 4PM on Tuesday, 8/30. Many frustrated vacationers waited with us for hours, with little communication from staff giving accurate estimates on availability of the property. Moving vacationers in Tuesday afternoon was clearly a backbreaking job for Resort Realty staff and we do appreciate the efforts, but it may have been too much in too short a time. Personally, I might have preferred losing the vacation to the hurricane, submitting a vacation insurance claim and re-booking another whole week in September or October. By re-opening homes Tuesday afternoon we didn't get that option.
Left on 09/22/2010 for a stay in September 2010 | Sharon
Everything was nice. Would suggest dusting of lights in diningroom and kitchen. Kitchen needed sharp knives and can opener. Many spiders around pool area- maybe could spray?
Curt from Wood-Ridge NJ
Not nitpicking "but'
Left on 08/19/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | Curt from Wood-Ridge NJ
I didn't like the location of the gas grill. #1 it was six feet from the large propane storage tank for the house # 2 it was chained to the deck fence and located on a wood deck around the pool. Definitely should be moved to a different location. Other than that the house was one of the nicest we have rented in 20 years going to the outer banks. Thanks for a great vacation !!!
Left on 08/02/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | pnjd
We stayed in this home in July of 2010 with seven adults and one child. The furniiture and decor were very nice and the beds were comfortable. Beach chairs and pool floats were provided which was nice. The carpets did have some stains on them but I think this is to be expected with properties that allow pets. The appliances, fixtures, cabinets, bathrooms, carpeting, etc. all seemed to be a part of a standard building package, functional but not very upscale. The pool was tiny and it was nice to cool off in but it was not big enough to swim in. The fenced in pool area was also very small. The location of this house is great if you plan on going to the drive on beach.
Left on 07/17/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | Virginia Visitors
Nice house, with a small, but refreshing/relaxing pool and hot tub. We stayed June-July 2010. Had pretty good weather, storm late one day into the next, mid week so it was OK for the break. House is a good size for 4-8 adults, any more than that it may feel crowded, but it was perfect for us. We all enjoyed it, although the entertainment systems could use some updates, and the kitchen utensils and such are in need of updates & restocking. We did have a problem with the pool - filter stopped working & we called and someone was to call back and/or show up, but nobody ever did. We finally found the breakers and found that the one for the pool had tripped.
We didn't really use any of the neighborhood amenities, only because when we went to use them they were full/in use. The walk to the beach is .3 mile, but we never had a problem getting a parking space at the neighborhood lot close to the beach. The internet access was "spotty", but that is typical for the area - had similar problems at every place I've stayed in the area over the years.
This was the best Outer Banks house rental ever.
Left on 08/12/2009 for a stay in August 2009 | Brenli6104
The Compass Rose was beautifully decorated, highly stocked and a very clean. We couldn't have asked for better. Everyone loved the house and spacious rooms. Although, we had to drive to get to the beach, it was actually easier to get to & from then other places we've stayed that were closer to the beach. There was always plenty of parking spaces at the beach access parking lot. The only down side was actually getting to the house on a Saturday. There is only one lane getting in & out of Corolla.
Our stay at Compass Rose was a wonderful experience!
Left on 07/16/2009 for a stay in September 2008 | Sue
My husband and I have been visiting the Outer Banks for many years. Our stay at Compass Rose was one of the nicest experiences I can remember. Resort Realty was extremely easy to work with in terms of the reservation and check-in process. The house is beautiful. The pool and hot tub were an extra treat. The area was very private. It was a very short walk to the beach. But the best part was that we could bring our most precious member of our family with us...our dog Mickey.
We enjoyed it so much, we are comoing back again this year.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.