|Minimum Stay||7 nights|
Suitable for childrenYes
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
If you want a short walk to the beach or spectacular views of the ocean, then IRISH MIST is for you! This home, only 3 back from the ocean with direct beach access, is located on a cul de sac and backs up to common area of sand dunes and sea grass. Enjoy panoramic views, salt air and sea breezes. The top level affords a view of the ocean as well. Home is part of the Ocean Lake Club! Distance to the beach: Approximately 134 yardsAmenities Include: Cen H/A, DW, MW, IM, W/D, CF, CATV, VCR/DVD, Stereo, Gas FP (off season only), BB Goal, Charcoal Grill, HC, Furnished Decks, Enc O/S, Fish Cleaning Table, Children's Sand Box, Picnic Table, 25x14 P...Read more
Corolla, North Carolina
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$287 - $727||$287 - $727||$930 - $3,130||$0||7 nights|
|Jan. 5 2013 - May. 24 2013||$287||$287||$930||-||7 nights|
|May. 25 2013 - May. 31 2013||$347||$347||$1,230||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 1 2013 - Jun. 7 2013||$467||$467||$1,830||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 8 2013 - Jun. 14 2013||$587||$587||$2,430||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 15 2013 - Jun. 21 2013||$607||$607||$2,530||-||7 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Jun. 22 2013 - Jun. 28 2013||$647||$647||$2,730||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 29 2013 - Aug. 9 2013||$727||$727||$3,130||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 10 2013 - Aug. 16 2013||$647||$647||$2,730||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 17 2013 - Aug. 23 2013||$507||$507||$2,030||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 24 2013 - Aug. 30 2013||$427||$427||$1,630||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 31 2013 - Sep. 6 2013||$347||$347||$1,230||-||7 nights|
|Sep. 7 2013 - Jan. 3 2014||$306||$306||$1,025||-||7 nights|
|View all 12 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 16, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Irish mist - very close to beach but definitely needs work insid
Location was great but inside was a bit dirty and needed updating. Would go back if cleaned up and updated.
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 04/26/2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Irish Mist. We have forwarded your requests for updates to the owner, and we hope to see you again.
Pool was perfect!
House was a little out dated and could use some TLC (painting the walls, new microwave, etc). A couple more frying pans in the kitchen would be nice (currently only 2 small ones). A/C on the top floor worked great but the second floor got a little warm. Pool was awesome and was in the sun all day. Totally made up for everything else even though there was no ground floor bathroom so you had to trudge upstairs each time... Really close to the beach - can see the water from the deck. Overall nice place. Had a great time. Would consider staying again.
Great location, sparse house
This house is in a wonderful locations, steps from the beach access and with a wonderful ocean view from the deck and to the right, no houses for miles, just all natural beauty. We enjoyed seeing a fox and each evening two deer. It was lovely. The house on the other hand, needed some TLC, the carpet had been pulled up from the stairs which worried me with little ones and the lack of carpet on the top floor made the 2nd floor (where most of the bedrooms are located) sound as if there were people doing aerobics above you. There were many little things that were obvious the house was being renovated, or needing to be renovated, and that was not conveyed at the time of purchase. I feel strongly that the rental company should have made that clear and it should have been reflected in the pricing. I believe the house is for sale, so ideally new ownership means a facelift and making some repairs to the microwave, deck furniture, carpet installation, new beds in some rooms, new shower curtain liners (unacceptable that they were moldy), basic lawn care (poison ivy was running rampant). I've been using this rental company for years and this is my first disappointment, I've expressed my concerns and unfortunately nothing much was done. Even when there was confusion about the linens being provided, I had to pay another $200 (after severely overpaying for a house in this condition) and the sizing wasn't even correct as they were "out of queen sheets, but I gave you a king". They eventually switched out but charging full price was ridiculous. Again, the bones of the house are amazing and the few and location can't be beat - hopefully they will update and repair and even more so, I hope the realty divulges such information before spending such a large amount of money.
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 12/03/2012
"Irish Mist" is in a wonderful location backing up to a common area that ensures panoramic views of the ocean. The houses are individually owned and furnished to the owner's tastes. We are sorry you were disappointed with the accommodations, but hope you will allow us to assist in your future vacation needs. Please be specific when calling with your wants and needs in a vacation home, which will enable us to better serve you.
We have been vacationing at OBX for over 20 years. It is always a very relaxing and fun time for all of us including our canine family members. The house is close to the beach and has extras for the kids. This is the 4th year we stayed and the house and the owner is always improving things. Resort Realty is very pleasant to work with and we have never had a problem. We needed a few things fixed over the years and the maintenance people were always prompt and reliable. The only thing I wish were different is the check in time. We travel about 12 hours and would leave earlier to avoid traffic but check in time is 4:00 so if we get there before that we have no place to go with the dogs.
Washington DC metro area
The property was below my expectations.
The property is in serious need of updating and an overall deep clean. The kitchen is not stocked well and some of the utensils and some of the plates had dried food on them from not being properly rinsed off before putting them in the dishwasher. There really needs to be at least one flat screen TV in the house. We did however enjoy the pool and the proximity to the beach.
Overalll we loved Irish Mist. The location was great next to the dune and so close to the beach. The furnishings were comfortable. The kitchen could have been better stocked (Only one large frying pan for example) but the open kitchen/dining room and living room were great. The beds were comfortable but the window blinds should be replaced as several did not work or were falling apart. The decks were great and I miss the pool and hot tub!!! There was not a basketball hoop and the BBQ grill was overturned in the tall weeds at the side of the property. The previous renters must have cleaned fish or crabs and cooked them on the day prior to our arrival and the unit smelled very bad at check in. It did dissipate after a day or so, but was fairly unbareable on day one. All and all it was a wonderful vacation..
Steve in Lutherville MD
A Bit Underwhelmed
The good; location was within walking distance to beach and views were spectacular. Air conditioning was frigid and never a problem during the sweltering July heat. First time stay in Corolla which was better than Nags Head Imho. Pool was great and well kept as was the hot tub.
The bad; carpet was stained and in need of replacement. Many steep steps. No ice. Refrigerator was very slow to cool. The place is definitly showing its age and use!
The rental cost is overpriced. We'll probably be looking for better value next year.
We have stayed at this house several years and always enjoy our vacation. It is so convenient to the beach, has all the things we need for a vacation with family that has diverse interests. It meets the needs of our youngest to the oldest.
We enjoyed our stay at Irish Mist. This is the second time we have rented this house. Enjoy the views and the pool. Nice size rooms.
The check in and out system was very nice, we even got in 2hrs early. Had a baby and dog with us so that was much appreiceated.The home was the perfect size for us and we loved having a pool this time. This was our 5th visit and never had a pool.The location was awsome, only a very short walk to the ocean and the beach was perfect.The only negative thing is the water quality is still poor, was always have to buy our water and the coffee maker broke on our next to the last day. Also the frying pan was worn out and every thing would stick so I had to purchase a new one and also a pitcher to make iced tea. The carpets were dirty, but the sofa was clean, large and comfy.
irish mist in august
we enjoyed the house. the location was excellent, the pool great. the house itself could use some tlc. conditions were decent,it is not necessarily as nice as many we have stayed in, it could use a coat of paint. the check in process was the worst of any of the five different realtors we have used over the last 20 years. we would come back to the house but the check in policy will give us reason to investigate other homes. the check out was probably the best we experienced.
Great location, open space, nice place for the $
This home was very close to the beach access, but note that this access (Section H)has many many stairs up and down over the dunes. The location in Section H is perfect: about equal distance between TimBuckII and Harris Teeter. Also, the open space out the back was awesome because it's so easy to feel crowded in Ocean Sands.
Nice decking with furniture and nicely stocked kitchen. Pool was a little small, but well kept. Good size hot tub. Dining table could be bigger considering it is a 5 br. house(only seats 8, 10 could squeeze in and chairs were supplied.)
House was overall clean, but there was an ant problem in the kitchen, on counters, in dishwasher. Traps were present, so it must be an ongoing problem. Also, in the master queen bath on mid-level there was some mold in the jacuzzi. House write-up claims a basketball net, but there was none. Outside shower was clean (NO SPIDERS!) I know it's not necessary for owners to supply beach gear, but a few more chairs (there were 2) would be nice. Two big grills, gas and charcoal. There was a problem with the key only opening 1 ground floor door. RR came promptly to investigate, but the lock/key problem was not resolved that week.
One other minor complaint was that the midlevel outside door opened in to the stairs necessitating squeezing around (difficult with groceries, beach bags)making it very awkward.
We are long time OBXer's (21 years) and have stayed in a variety of homes, from luxury to modest. This house sits in the middle and we would definitely rent here again. It was a good value with the reduced August rates and the good aspects outweigh the minor faults.
As far as Resort Realty, this is a great operation and we have used them many times without question. We generally bounce between realtorsand have no name loyalty, but we have used some that we would not recommend at all. The new call-in check out was great!
Memorable Family Vacation
This was our second year in Irish Mist. As before, service was excellent during check in. The house is wonderful, with a great pool and hot tub and steps to the beach. The house is unique in that it is in a cul de sac, and there is nothing but woods behind the house, so you don't feel crowded in. Corolla is a great place to stay, everything is within a five minute car ride. The whole family (including the dog) had a great vacation, and the last week of off peak pricing made the house a steal!
Well worth it.
The transaction was without problem as always after several years renting from Resort Realty. I liked that the home had a pool and hottub as well as access to the community pool. It was close to the beach without paying for the additional fees to be on the beach. The house is an older house that is really starting to show its age. When we got there the first year it was not clean and it was rather dusty but for the price I felt it was worth it. We had some challenges with the house next door in 2007 and 2008. It is a typical party house that is very large and has many folks so the first week had a college reunion folks, lots of noise and jumping from the 3rd story into their pool. It was a challenge to relax due to the level of noise through the night and having to call the police, not that there was anything wrong with our rental just the house next door seems to attract the party animals which was the same for the following week and then the following year in 2008 for both weeks we were there. I really liked the property but due to the house next door it is unlikely that we would rent so close to the party house again.
Penn State Proud
Relaxing vacation in July 2009
The home we rented had all the features for a relaxing vacation: Hot Tub, Swimming Pool, TV's & a well equiped kitchen.There was plenty of room for everyone including our 2year old grandson who needed space for toys and room to move. The thing we like most is the short walk to the beach.
Bohns Family Vacation
The Irish Mist was a great place to stay. The views were fantastic. We woke up to beautiful sunrises and had a fantastic view of the ocean. The back balcony looked over acres of open dunes and brush were we saw several deer every day.
The home was well equiped with everything we needed and had plenty of space for my entire family and some friends. The pool made it pleasant for those that did not want to stay on the beach all day. It also accepts pets which made this a gret spot to take our dog.
The staff gave us great service.
I would definitely stay there again.
Fort Dodge, Iowa
Beach Vacation at it's Best!
Resort Realty is very easy to work with from booking to ending your vacation. Their office is close to the home and easy to find. Irish Mist is a great house with well stocked kitchen. The pool and hot tub are great, and it is just a short walk to the beach. Lots of deck space to relax in the afternoon. Bedrooms are small, but we go to be at the beach and in the pool. We will be staying here again!