Enjoy ocean and lighthouse views from the spacious living and deck areas. There is a hot tub and 13' by 29' pool for your enjoyment. The fireplace provides a cozy welcome for off season enjoyment. 2 MBRs, one w/Jacuzzi. Distance to the beach: Approximately 289 yardsAmenities Include: Cen A/H, MW, DW, IM, H2O Treatment System, Well Equipped Kitchen, W/D, 3CATV's (SATPAC 1 Cable), VCR, Stereo w/CD/Cassette, CF's, FP, Swing, Hammock, Picnic Tables, Enc. O/S, Grill, Fish Cln Table, County water, and BB Goal, High Speed InternetGround Level: Entry with Laundry. Level 1: BR w/2T, Conn Bath to BR w/2T, MBR w/Q and Priv Bath w/Jacuzzi. Level 2: Livin...g, Dining, Kitchen, Conn Bath, BR w/Q.
Additional amenities include: partials allowed, less than 500 yards, hometown hero discount, floor plans available, military discount.Read more
Left on 07/18/2014 for a stay in July 2014 | Desiree B
We stayed at this house with some friends of ours, and the bedrooms were perfect for our families. Certain things about the house were great, but I was also disappointed with a few things.
First, the view for being two streets back from the beach was great. We could actually see and hear the ocean and that was really nice. The patios had enough furniture, including hammocks, and that was awesome. The driveway was large enough for the kids to play in (basketball, bikes, chalk) and far enough back from the road that they could play safely. The walk to the beach was short and there are dedicated pedestrian crossings to get you there. The furniture in all of the rooms was nice and well cared-for.
I did have a few problems with the house, though. I didn't realize when I booked it that it was a pet-friendly house. If you're sensitive to animal smells, then don't book this. There was black dog hair everywhere and the carpets smelled. We found two dead roaches which, according to my friend, means that they're treating the house but I did not feel reassured because where there is one there are others! I was surprised by the fact that the Queen bedroom on the second floor did not have a shower; it just has a massive bathtub that takes forever to fill. Not that you'd want to use the jets anyway because it looked like they hadn't been scrubbed in about a year. Also, the storm door did not latch so my toddler was able to just push the front door open and walk outside. Two days in, the hot tub took on a greenish hue that did not clear up after it was serviced.
Left on 09/19/2013 for a stay in September 2013 | Rose and Fred with dog, Lucy
We have been staying in Corolla the past 3 years. Location of the home is a short distance to the beach.
Pool was in the sunshine and enjoyable. Great neighborhood for biking or walking. Love the fact the house is pet friendly.
Left on 04/01/2013 for a stay in June 2012 | evanderdog
This is a nice house. Beach access was good, with a direct line to it. However, this little house really needs some love. The wood on the decks was in dire need of sanding. Every one of us had splinters in their feet from it. It just needs to be updated. Big screen tv was great to watch and it had very comfortable couches in the living room. Great view of the ocean from the front top deck. Also would like to mention how wonderful the people at Resort Realty were to us. We were having mechanical issues with our Explorer as we pulled in to check-in. They gave us the name of a towing company and a repair garage, along with their phone numbers. It really was a huge help since this could have really derailed our vacation. Thanks so much! Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 04/09/2013
Thank you for your review of Sandi Pines. We're always happy to pass on suggestions to our homeowners. Thank you for your kind words and for choosing Resort Realty.
The house was not up to our expectations!
Left on 10/10/2012 for a stay in September 2012 | Djfwlf
The location is great, just a block from the beach access. Nice size for 2 families but not much more. What we were disappointed in was that the house has not been updated for quite a while. The appliances were very used and not very clean. Stove burners were so bad they didn't sit even and burners pans were so crusted over with burnt food. The worst thing was the filthy carpet. I realize we were there at the end of season but the dirt and stains were terrible. We were afraid to walk on it with our shoes off. We have been coming to the Outer Banks for 25 years and this house was our biggest disappointment. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 12/03/2012
"Sandi Pines" is located on a higher elevation than most and is easy access to the beach. We are sorry that the carpet and cleaning were not up to our standards. Your concerns have been passed on to our housekeeping department for review. Thank you.
Great location, good views
Left on 10/27/2011 for a stay in October 2011 | d
Enjoyed the location (very close walk to the beach) and the views of the ocean you could see from the deck. Dated interior, but a great value. Mid level queen room only had the large tub (no shower) forcing guests using that room to another bathroom room to shower.
Yard had not been taken care of, but not sure if that's due to off season. Lots of burs in the yard that the dogs picked up, making it a pain to de-bur them before going into house (but they seemed to be all over the place this time of year)
Top level entertained well, and was well laid out. The hammock and hammock chair on mid deck were a nice place to enjoy the views. Pool and Jacuzzi area were not as easy to get to, as you had to go out the front of the house and around the side to access (was surprised there wasn't access from one of the decks).
Enjoyed the stay, and a great value for an off season vacation.
The weather was great!
Left on 10/22/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | anonymous
The house needed more glassware and plates. The access to the pool was awkward. The maintenance staff who came to the house was courteous and very friendly.
Left on 09/28/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | The Shaws
Good location--convenient to beach and also to stores. We appreciate being able to bring our dog with us.
the owners should clean up the outside areas.
This house is filthy dirty.
Left on 09/14/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | August renter
This would be a nice house if it were taken care of. The walls, cabinets and carpet were extremely dirty. We didn't want to walk on the carpet in our bare feet. The house stinks like animals. There are multiple areas of water damage and the house hasn't been painted on the inside in many, many years. Outside stair structrue is unsafe, nails popping out on deck surfaces are dangerous. No lighting to get to the pool, must walk down a dark sidewalk outside of carport area. Property overgrown with weeds, vines etc. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 04/30/2012
Thank you for your review of Sandi Pines. The outside stairs were repaired as was the ceiling. A suggestion has been made to the owner to arrange for regularly scheduled lawn maintenance to keep the vines and grass from becoming overgrown. We are sorry you had a bad experience. This house has always been popular because of the location and elevation. We hope you will return to the Outer Banks again and allow us to assist you in finding a vacation home fit your needs.
Comfortable like home rental..
Left on 09/06/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | liviesmom
Second year staying in this same house. Beautiful,comfortable and close to all amenities. Love the pool and the hot tub. Perfect for after the beach.
Great with a few problems with house
Left on 08/19/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | Sharon Dixon
Problems at house were fixed quickly. House and outside grounds(around house) needs work. Kitchen not very well stocked, no can opener or wine glasses.
Going down hill
Left on 09/19/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | Bob
This is my third stay at this location in my 30 years vacationing on the Outer Banks. I like the house because of the excellent view of the ocean and the home has a good lay-out. The cleanliness of the house however has progressively become worse over time. This year we found when we arrived dirty dishes and silverware in the drawers & cabinets and food on the floor in the kitchen. Each year we have rented we have had to purchase a broom, dustpan & mop so that we can maintain the house.We went to vacuum the carpets but found both vacuums clogged. After getting them unclogged and running them thru the entire house, you wouldn't believe what we collected. The house hadn't been vacuumed for some time. When we first arrived at the house we had to call the rental office because the front door was left wide open and as usual multiple windows were food unlatched. We also had to call the service department because the two aC filters were clogged solid and it appeared the previous renters had pushed aside the filters instead of calling service. On top of that multiple lights on both the upper & lower floors did not work. It seems the south side of the house was most affected. The electrician that arrived was not able to resolve the issues but in the two weeks no one ever returned. It's a shame that the home is not better taken care of and I would like to rent it again but I just don't know at this point.
We loved this home!!
Left on 08/23/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | Elizabeth
This house was wonderful. Very close to the beach and shopping. All the comforts of home. Loved the pool and hot tub. Plenty of space for everyone. Great decks with great views. We will be back.
Great Location, Needs Maintenance, Terrible Rental Company
Left on 08/11/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | LovetoVacation
Location was great, easy 1 block walk to beach. Great ocean views. Unit was poorly maintained and in need of updating in general. Living room very comfortable for family of 6 and kitchen well stocked. Bedrooms, walls, and carpet dingy. Ant traps all around kitchen. Resort Realty slow to respond to maintenance issues and unprofessional. Pool and hot tub nice out back.
Left on 08/04/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | lakinniburgh
The house was very nice. It has a wonderful view of the ocean and traffic was very quiet. The kitchen was very well equipped. The size of the pool was wonderful! I was dissappointed that there was not a shower in the jacuzzi tub bathroom. I assumed there would be a shower along with the tub. The only thing I really didnt like was the car bay and the landscape needed cleaned up. There was way to many overgrown trees and weeds in front of the house and around the sides of the pool and house! The decks could use some attention also but overall a nice rental house.
Family Travel Planner
Ok house walking distance to the beach
Left on 07/31/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | Family Travel Planner
The house could use some work. On the negative side there are a few things. Weeds are overgrown in the front. The carpet needs replaced and coild use some paint. One of the stools was broken and the lamp shades are ripped. There are ants a plenty in the kitchen. The pool and hot tub are not accesible from the house, you need to take the sidewalk around the house. We called Resort Realty with some concerns, mold on shower curtain and weeds overgrown on the sidewalk and they responded promptly and took care of things. There are some positives. It is very walkable, 5 minutes to an uncrowded beach. The pool and hot tub are very nice. The floor layout of the house was very convenient. The place has most of the basics, but nothing out of the ordinary. It's just OK.
privacy yet close to the beach...
Nice layout and close to the beach!!
Left on 07/07/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | privacy yet close to the beach...
Enjoy ocean views and beach closeness without having to pay for ocean front or semi-front views. Many of the bedrooms have private decks to enjoy. Bring your own pillows...
Left on 09/30/2009 for a stay in September 2009 | PheobeTucker
We had to call to have someone cut the grass and trim the hedges because the only walkway to the pool was blocked by overgrown bushes and weeds (the grass was at least a foot high). It took 2 days for someone to come. They cut only a small portion of the yard using weed whackers then left the grass laying all over the place so we had to rake it up ourselves. I didn't drive from Pittsburgh to Corolla to do yard work! For a pet friendly property there was NO yard for our dogs to play in. The decks are so old and dilapidated that most of the nails were coming up out of the wood (and stuck in our feet). I have been to the Outer Banks at least 8 times and this was, by far, the worst house we've ever stayed in. It was a low-end property with a high-end price. The vanities/cabinets in the bathrooms were the cheapest I've ever seen as were the cabinets in the kitchen. You could see every nail in every piece of trim - in fact the carpentry work looked like it was done by a teenager. I could have done a better job. No shower in the master bedroom downstairs - what is that?! For an 8-person property you could only fit 2 adults in the hot tub! The only 2 good things about this house were that it was clean and close to the beach other than that I would give this property a D- and will probably never rent from Resort Realty again based on the price and the quality of this property. Again, high-end price for a low-end property. The only good that could come out of this situation is if you gave me a refund or at least a partial refund. I was VERY disappointed in this property.
The Batten Family
Sandi Pines in Whalehead
Enjoyable Summer vacation
Left on 09/10/2009 for a stay in August 2009 | The Batten Family
We really loved the layout of the house and the location. really like the privacy of Whalehead.
The grounds were somewhat over grown -- could have used some clean up especially with young children and the threat of poison ivy. Other than that it was a pretty wonderful stay. Nice distance from the beach and the stores.
Family of 6
Overall very comfortable
Left on 08/19/2009 for a stay in August 2009 | Family of 6
Our family of 6 did not really interact with anyone at the realty office. We arrived late due to horrendous traffic congestion, our packet with keys was left where it was available to us.
We liked the home very much overall.
The location was good. Good view of the ocean. The furnishings were comfortable. We loved the pool and the hot tub.
The grounds were overgrown, especially with poison ivy, which our daughter contracted all over her face upon returning home.
Most of the pots and pans were caked with old food that needed to be scrubbed.
The mattress pad on the master bed had a blood stain on it!
There were more than ample spiders everywhere!
The deck was in serious need of attention. No one went out on it in bare feet, you were guarenteed to get a spliter the size of a toothpick.
We loved the home overall. However, we will not be returning for many years. The long drive from PA will not be forgotten for a while.
Nice home for family fun
Left on 07/18/2009 for a stay in September 2007 | Frognbunny
We enjoyed staying in Corolla. The house was roomy enough for our family but not too big..like some houses where you spend half your day going up and down stairs. It had a few cosmetic issues but overall was a nice house. The pool was great and it wasn't too far from the beach. We would rent the home again.
fan of the OBX
Staten Island NY
Our Stay at Sandi Pines
Left on 07/17/2009 for a stay in August 2008 | fan of the OBX
This is a nice house however we did have issues. I don't have pets but agreed to rent a pet friendly house. I never imagined that the house would smell. The one bedroom my sons were in stunk of urine. In my room i dropped something that went under the bed and when my face went near rug, it also smelled like wet dog and urine. I was disappointed that the rugs weren't vacuumed before I got there. I had to have the cleaning people come to vacuum there was dog hair and stuff on stairs. I also had a issue when we checked in that the air on the top floor wasn't working. and was told it wasn't a emergency by the answering service.(it was 95 degrees in the house!!) We were left with no air for the first night. The house is only 1 block from the beach access. So it was great. I didn't like that you had to walk out the front and walk around house to get to the pool. Felt like I couldn't leave door open while in the pool. ( i have heard of houses being robbed because of leaving door unlocked while at beach) We go every year to obx.It is a great place for families to vacation. Most houses have enough ammenities that you never want to leave. This house did not, it was lacking a game room, but we went by ourselves without other couples so it suited our price range. We always go for 2 weeks and we were glad when the first week was over so we could switch houses. I wasn't happy with reality or there answer when I told them of AC trouble. They also gave me a set of keys that didnt' work .I had to go back to office to get another key.I wouldn't stay at this house or use this real estate again. I am much happier with another reality. They correct any problems in timely manner and owner of house was nice enough to offer to pay for paper products when dishwasher broke. They also gave me a extra night because it was the end of summer and house wasn't rented for the following week. Grounds of this property need to be kept better. Dog feces in driveway and paths over grown with weeds.
Nice home near the beach
Left on 07/16/2009 for a stay in May 2009 | Beach Lover
home has easy access to the beach, 2nd house from corner then two block walk to beach access. Nice amenities- enjoyed the hammock and hammock chair, hot tub, flat screen TV. Pool was nice, but too early in season to use because it was chilly! Nice leather sofa in living area. Close to restaurants and shopping and Currituck Lighthouse.
Well kept and updated. It is great they allow dogs too. Whalehead has lots of nice walking areas including the beach! Owners need WIFI and it would be perfect!
What a great family vacation spot!
Left on 07/16/2009 for a stay in July 2008 | cheri9184
Sandi Pines is a very clean and well kept home. The private pool and hot tub were awesome. There are laundry facilities in the home, which is very convenient. We had a minor issue with the air conditioning during out stay, called maintenance and it was fixed right away. You can watch the sunrise over the ocean from the top floor balcony. It's beautiful. The neighborhood is quite and great for families. Lots of people run, ride bikes, and walk. It's close to grocery shopping and beach access. The beach is not crowded at all, even in peak season. We had a wonderful vacation. Rent Sandi Pines, but don't delay! It gets booked quickly!
Lehigh Valley, PA
Not what we expected or paid for
Left on 07/16/2009 for a stay in June 2009 | amde
The house and pool were very clean.
Some of the features were not what we anticipated, such as the master bathroom and shower which were EXTREMELY small. The mattress in the master bedroom needs to be replaced. Drains did not work in the second floor bathroom. The microwave broke free from the cabinet and hit my pregnant wife. Air conditioning did not work on top floor (main living space) for a day and a half.
We do appreciate the realtor's efforts at replacing the microwave and fixing the air conditioner. The house was well stocked with kitchen supplies. The upstair living area was well furnished with a leather sofa and nice tv.
The pool area was very nice, but could only be accessed by walking from the front of the house...a rear deck with stairs would be a great improvement.
We had a great time!
Left on 07/16/2009 for a stay in June 2009 | Kathy
Our service from Resort Realty was very good. There were a few problems with the house but when we brought our concerns to the attention of the Realty office, they sent people right away to take care them.
The house had a few broken items and was looking a little worse for wear in some places but was otherwise very nice. Spacious rooms and lots of bathrooms. Great views of the ocean and just a short walk to the beach. Close - but not too close - to shops and other attractions. It was a great family vacation.
My biggest "issue" about the house would be that I wish it had a more direct exit to the pool/hot tub area. Not particularly convenient to have to get there from the lowest level entrance at the front of the house. Maybe putting in steps and decking from the top (main) level down to the pool/hot tub area in the back would be a good future investment.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.