|Minimum Stay||7 nights|
Suitable for childrenYes
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Enjoy the best sunset views in the Outer Banks from your private pier on the Currituck Sound. Or take in the beautiful, unobstructed view of the water from two levels of decks that run the full length of the house. Relax in the private pool, or enjoy meals on the patio or decks, utilitizing the fully stocked kitchen or the gas grill. Make the most of your private pier by canoeing, fishing or just taking in a glimpse of the lighthouse, from your own backyard. Use the complimentary adult and children's bikes for a five minute ride to the beach. If it happens to rain, enjoy the pool table in the recreation room, free WiFi, or watch a movie...Read more
Corolla, North Carolina
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$306 - $772||$306 - $772||$1,025 - $3,355||$0||7 nights|
|May. 11 2013 - May. 24 2013||$346||$346||$1,225||-||7 nights|
|May. 25 2013 - May. 31 2013||$406||$406||$1,525||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 1 2013 - Jun. 7 2013||$506||$506||$2,025||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 8 2013 - Jun. 14 2013||$566||$566||$2,325||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 15 2013 - Jun. 21 2013||$646||$646||$2,725||-||7 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Jun. 22 2013 - Jul. 5 2013||$706||$706||$3,025||-||7 nights|
|Jul. 6 2013 - Jul. 12 2013||$746||$746||$3,225||-||7 nights|
|Jul. 13 2013 - Aug. 9 2013||$772||$772||$3,355||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 10 2013 - Aug. 16 2013||$697||$697||$2,980||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 17 2013 - Aug. 23 2013||$506||$506||$2,025||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 24 2013 - Aug. 30 2013||$427||$427||$1,630||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 31 2013 - Sep. 6 2013||$357||$357||$1,280||-||7 nights|
|Sep. 7 2013 - Jan. 3 2014||$306||$306||$1,025||-||7 nights|
|View all 13 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 23, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Jenn & Dave
Falls Church, VA
Owners should be ashamed. Home should be called arachnophobia.
This year we left OBX feeling unrested, disgusted and completely let down. The views are incredible and the sound access was fantastic for kayaking and fishing. That and the pool, which is beautiful and bigger than the average, were the highlights of the week.
When Mom and Dad arrived the spiders and bugs were so thick on the front porch Mom had to use a broom and a can of roach killer just to clear a path into the house. Worse, it continued into the house! She tried to get the live spiders down off the walls before we got there but it was overwhelming. The hallways and stairwells, the common area upstairs, and even the bathrooms were covered in webs. There were live spiders with nests in the corners of our room and in the common areas upstairs. The glass doors and decks were covered in live spiders and cave crickets.
Bugs aside, the house was dirty. Everything was coated in a thick sticky coat of dust. The carpets and furniture should have been replaced ages ago. Our bedroom had water coming from the outside near the doors to the deck and pooling on the floor. The shower curtain in our bathroom had spots of mold and the sink would not drain. The beds were old and uncomfortable. We did not use the grill once during the week because it was so gross.
The realty office basically said tough luck. No moving to a comfortable house and no refund whatsoever. We were stuck. They sent the Orkin man, cleaners and a plumber out and all were wonderful people. The bug man said he had never seen anything like it even on the sound side. He said it was obvious the owners had no pest control in place at all. The plumber fixed the drain but the leak was due to poor flashing on the house that the owners weren't fixing. The house cleaners were wonderful! They did everything they could to make it tolerable for us. Even so, we've been back a week and I still can't sleep, afraid I'm going to wake up to bugs all over the bed. Overall a huge waste of money and lost vacation days.
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 12/03/2012
Thank you for sharing your concerns and issues with us. We are happy they were resolved in a timely manner. We are sorry you were inconvenienced. Each property is individually owned and furnished to the owner's taste. However, we have taken your comments to the owner for review and look forward to seeing resolution. Please know we take our customers well being very seriously and hope you will have a better vacation in 2013.
probably the worst house we have ever rented in OBX (20 yr visit
Rent with caution! First we had booked early arrival ($)and the house was not only not ready, but the grass surrounding the house was 2' high including the pool area. We waited while they cut the grass with a weed wacker and the cleaning (?) crew left. However the walk to the dock was and remained like a jungle to get through. The furniture et al was not as pictured on the web site, and the sectional sofa and ottoman in the family area was broken in pieces! The realtor handyman came and nailed it back together with 2 x 4s. Several of the window blinds were broken and light bulbs needed to be replaced. Tvs had been disconnected from cable and the WiFi router was incorrectly wired...No Internet. The pool light was broken and the lower level gameroom left a lot to be desired. Do Not Use the Oven! It has never been cleaned and fills the eating and family room with smoke. We had to turn on the ceiling fans and open doors. Did I mention that the house was dirty? Dust, enough to draw on, covered lamps and windows plus inside cobwebs.
We have rented from Resort Realty before, but this experience will make us think twice next time. Great office people but they need better house management when it comes to their house inspectors.
There are better houses than this one in Corolla.
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 11/26/2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at "Sound Retreat". We are so sorry you had an unhappy experience. We have shared your concerns with the owner so that during the off season the issues can be addressed. Unfortunately, wires on the electronics are unhooked to accommodate games and such that are brought on vacation and the wires are not put back as they were found, so we aren't aware until notified from the following guests. We have a short amount of time to take care of service calls, cleaning, inspecting etc. on turnover day and sometimes it overlaps into check in time. We apologize for any inconvenience you had to endure while the grass was being cut. Please know it is not our intention to inconvenience our guests but were trying to get things ready for your stay. Again, thank you for your input and we hope you have a better experience next time.
living the dream
rocky mount, nc
No problems --- no worries
Nice home, great location, great service. Second time in this home. We did have one problem and that was we had to leave !
While the accomodations were nice they were not extraordinary.
The house is nice. The cleaning of the house leaves something to be desired, the carpets were dirty, there was dust everywhere. The bed were ok, nothing special. The hot tub was situated in a very dangerous situation. The controls were reachable only by climbing down into a "pit" environment that was not lit nor had stairs. In fact my elderly mother actually fell into the pit because she couldn't see. I am hard pressed to believe that local codes would allow this. The views and the dock were nice.
Good pool area, not so good house.
The pool area was very nice. The hot tub isn't too far from the pool, & the pool is very nice. It's a great size. However, the outside/pool lights didn't work. We complained, but nobody came to fix them all week. Now, the inside of the house. To start, it was very dirty. There were bugs & spider webs in almost every corner, the comforters on the beds smelled like smoke, and when we got there all of the dishes were dirty. As for other problems, the outside railing on the top floor is very loose, it could be quite dangerous with small children. The dinner table was very shake, and the automin part of the couch had a leg that kept coming off. Also, the dishwasher was missing the flaps so the soap doesnt fall out, the cable sometimes didn't work, & when it did work we could hardly watch any of the channels, they were all blocked. We called & complained about all of this, but not a single one of these problems were fixed, even the pool lights. The living area is also very small. There is only one couch & two chairs, & that isn't enough space for the people it's supposed to house to sit comfortably in.
SHERMANS DALE PA
Bad bad week
This was one of the worst vacations I have ever had. Our refrigerator went on the second day there and it took them 4 days to replace it. The pool went on us the 3 day and we had no out door lighting for three nights. The hot tub had one jet and the owner refused to replace it. The air conditioner went on the 3 day and we were so hot in the house. This was a bad time. All we got back from the trip for all the food we lost and all our discomfort Wa 250.00. Don't use this company or there homes. Go to village realty. They are the best...
Good time however facility not up to my expectations
While we had a great time, the house is in need of significant repairs, maintenance and updating. However we really enjoyed the pool.
blue bell, pa
Beautiful home, great location, housekeeping not up to par
This home was ideal for our family, with a few exceptions. The things we liked were the location, the size and the view.
One of the things we would liked to have been different was the mattress on the third floor in the queen master suite. It was really uncomfortable.
The hot tub had a really bad ring around the top and most of the jets were not working.
In general, the housekeeping job was not great. We did have some one come and clean the outside decks which were littered with trash, but I vacummed the inside.
Loved the house and location. Pool and hot tub were used by all.
Toms River, NJ
This was our first family vacation on the Outer Banks. We had originally reserved a different house closer to the beach, but it was turned over to the bank and the bank was not renting the house out, so at the last minute we had to find another house that would suit all of our needs. This house, while it had beautiful views of the sound, was a short car ride to the beach, which was not convienent for us as we had small children with us. The house was also not cleaned sufficiently. There were cobwebs with dead bugs in almost every corner of the ceilings. The pool was very nice and large and we did have alot of fun with the children in it.
House needs some attention.
The house was dusty and poorly maintained by both the owner and the property management. This is unfortunate because the house itself is lovely with a great floorplan. Besides being incredibly dusty, the windows were filthy and the carpet stains were worse than any other pet friendly house in which I have ever stayed. Also, a lock on one of the rear sliding-glass doors was broken and the door would not lock. This was reported to the realty company before our arrival on Saturday. Nonetheless, it was not fixed until Thursday.
On an up note, the location of the home is great. It's quite and serene with a lovely view of the sound. The private dock to the sound is a nice feature except that the reeds surrounding it needed to be cut back. At the end closest to the house, you had to push them out of the way to make it to the other end of the dock. However, the ameneties of the property helped you to forget the negatives. The private pool and hot tub were fantastic. The game room too. No complaints there at all.
Overall, I would not recommend this property at the current rental price. I have stayed at much nicer homes on the sound for less money.
dennis diane jackson
good be better
Our first impresion of the house was the bushes are over taking the yard,and the back yard was completly forgoten,someone did not think it was nescesary to mow the back yard.For as much as we paid for one week the house was not tne cleanest, cob webs everywhere one of the bathrooms had lots of hair on the floor, did not look like you have anyone coming in after each guests week is over, window sills are filthy with dust and dead bugs. I made a maintinance call with in the first hour of being there and no one ever came by to fix the problem, we had to use our own tools and tried to secure the sliding door so our grandson could not get out. the sliding door off the dinning room does not work well at all, it comes off the tracks and makes it difficult to open and close. We called on the ac for the top level he did come out the next day but could not see or feel any difference, was very very hot not enjoyable at all seeing that thats where we would end up at night with the family. Try looking at your attic fans or new ac your units looked pretty old. If you don't want to up grade any part of this house than you should lower your price.The view was nice looking out at the sun, still could use some thining and trimming of yhe grasses along the peer.What i liked best was my family gathered together for a beautiful sun filled week, nice location.
nice house but very dirty inside
The house itself was nice. The cleanliness of the house was awful. We realize this is a rental... but. There were dead flies on kitchen counters, huge urine stains on mattress pads(we washed them and most came out), dirty drink glasses, bottle caps, and magazines on the sofa,the tablecloth on kitchen table was stuck to tabletop, dead bugs in all corners of game room, just over all dirty. So we spent 3-4 hours upon arrival cleaning. I went to office and complained but all they offered was a couple hours later check out. We had to leave on friday so we got nothing. I was very disappointed in the response from the agency. I figured we would get some monetary value. We have been to OBX many times and this was by far the dirtiest house. So if I were you I'd get a better housekeeping staff. We probably would not rent from you again. Thanks Darlene Votaw
Great relaxing time
This house was very equiped. lot's of room for enjoyment and relaxation. When something needed attention Resort Realty responded quickly.It was nice having our own private access to the sound for fishing. it would of been nice if the fishing was better. We enjoyed the req. room and the swimming pool.
I've stayed in the Outer Banks several times, but this was our first time on the sound side. I found it very pleasing, as it added another element to our stay - we fished and watched sunsets off the pier. One issue we had was that unlike the picture of the walkway onto the sound, the first 30 feet of the walkway was VERY overgrown and you had to push your way through the tall weeds, jaggers etc. to get out there. There was also some poison ivy to watch out for. We reported this to Resort Realty and they said that was up to the property owner to resolve, which he did not. There was also food in the refrigerator (including 3 week old milk) when we got there despite the inspectors being there when we arrived. The blankets on the beds had a funny smell also, even after we washed them. I just went without. There was also a problem with one of the sliding glass doors that wouldn't lock. And the refrigerator wasn't cold. These two issues were resolved quickly by calling R. Realty. The house itself was very nice, kitchen and appliances and dishes great and adequate for the number of people. The pool area was very nice. The location of the house is really great - a short walk/drive down to the shops and also across the road to Whalehead beach. I would stay in this section (Monteray Shores) again.