Spacious living area with ocean views! Close to shopping, restaurants and Currituck Golf Club. Ground level has teenager's room with separate entry, TV and Full Bath. Located next to community beach walkway. Amenities include: Cen A/H, DW, MW, W/D, IM, 5 CATV, VCR, CD Player, DVD, Stereo, Wet Bar, Wood FP, HC, BG, CF, Furnished open and covered decks, 3 Bikes (2 adult/1 kid), Charcoal Grill, Enc. O/S, Picnic Table, High speed internet access, unlimited long distance phone service (USA), Community Tennis. Ground Level: Teenager room w/3 T, TV and full bath (room has a separate entrance). Level 1: MBR w/Q, TV, private bath and access to deck,... Laundry Area, MBR w/Q, full private bath and access to the deck, BR w/Q shares bathroom with BR/Bnk and 2T. Level 2: Open great room features a wet bar, dining area, kitchen and half bath.
Additional amenities include: partials allowed, tennis, less than 500 yards, floor plans available.Read more
Left on 07/27/2014 for a stay in July 2014 | Johnnie G
Main items: Keys would not work when we arrived. You had to work and work and work to make the keys open the locks. Called company said they would have new keys but we would have to come get them. They should have brought them to us. (customer service!!) house is right next to boardwalk going to beach for several sections. For some crazy reason a lot of people that are far away think they can use this house's driveway to park in. We had two cars in the driveway and people would come and park and block us in every day. If you got ready to go somewhere there was a car in the driveway. If you came back from somewhere there would be a car or two in the driveway. That's not the rental comapany problem or fault this happens. But it sure is a problem. Needs to be remedied somehow!! House was just not in good condition for the kind of money that you pay to stay on oceanfront. Several light bulbs either didn't work or were missing. House was not very clean and the dishes were not clean at all. We had to clean any dishes we used prior to using them. The very lower ground floor level bedroom needs a separate control for heat and air. The A/C was fine on the main two levels, but the ground floor level bedroom must receive A/C from one of these controls. It was way too cold down there and it always smelled musty and the humidity was high. The outside decks are in bad repair and very weathered (don't go out without shoes on). Also the railings seemed very loose. The outside shower area needed cleaning really bad. Not sure when it has been cleaned last. TV's were not linked on the remotes and after several occasions just gave up and forgot TV altogether. Landscape needs trimming in driveway area badly. We have rented places in OBX almost yearly for over 20 years and I have to say this was the worst house I have ever rented.
Left on 08/28/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | Jersey family
We had a great time at OBX this year and Coroll beaches are great! The house was in poor shape and we notified the office of the following issues: dirty floors, glass mirrors sprayed but not wiped; window sills filthy; there was trash from a former tenant left in 3(!!!) bedrooms and the shower curtains were mildewed. Finally, the bedspread on kid room was so stained we couldn't bring ourselves to use it.
Stay clear of the Coast is Clear
Left on 08/10/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | Tiffany
This home was conveniently located and within a quick walking distance to the beach. So the location was superb and was the redeeming feature about this house. But the interior was another matter. Everything seemed outdated, e.g. kitchen & bathroom counters, oven, stove, bathroom fixtures. One really disgusting item in the house was the blood stained twin comforter on the top bunk bed. It seems like a previous teen guest at some point had their period and stained the comforter, which had been washed but the stain is still there. Really? The owner of the rental should replace this. Pots and pans don't have matching lids. Toaster does not toast well. Shower curtain liner in one of the bathroom had mildew. Another annoying feature of the house was access to the 5th BR, which had its own outside entrance. Because it was not stated in the ad for the house, I did not know, but the 5th BR is not connected on the inside by stairs to the floor above where all the other 4 bedrooms are. The only way to access the 5th BR is from the outside with a key, which does not work well, as in, the key does not turn at all. Fortunately, our party size was smaller than expected so we did not use the 5th BR. Even the college grad in our party declined to stay in it because it was so isolated. Anyway, for the price that I paid for the week, I expected a lot better. I definitely do not recommend this property or will come back to it. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 12/03/2012
Thank you for taking the time to review "The Coast Is Clear". It is ideally located with easy access to the beach and nice views of the ocean horizon. We are sorry you were not pleased with the house and it's furnishings. Each property is individually owned and furnished to the owner's tastes. We have shared your comments with the homeowner. Please know when you call in to book for 2013 season to be specific in your expectations and wishes. We are happy to assist you find a property to your liking.
Left on 07/18/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | Mike
Resort Realty was very easy to work with. This house had some issues, but they all do. The locks were difficult and finicky and the grounds not well kept. We found the beach chairs and bikes piled in a heap in a locked storage room. There was a significant ant problem. The decking was in poor shape. The location to the beach access was great. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 07/30/2012
We are glad to hear you had a great experience with Resort Realty. We pride ourselves on our customer service. I'm sorry you had difficulties with the locks. It is frustrating when the previous guests do not take care of the extra amenities like the bikes and beach chairs. We do try to keep the properties well maintained, however, when it rains a lot and the landscaping crews are on a schedule. Some weeks look a lot better than others. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Left on 09/22/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | Beachlover1227
The house is on a great lot. The house was nice needs some maintance. Screen was ripped, fan in downstairs queen bedroom could be heard through out the house. Dishwasher was extremely loud couldnt even carry on a conversation. Shower curtains had mildew on them. And the kitchen didnt even seem as if it was cleaned.
Great time at Coast is Clear
Left on 09/21/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | Happy Camper
We loved the house. The location could not be better for families. Proximity to the beach ans shopping were a real plus. The house was spacious and clean with great views of the dolphins from the upper deck in the morning and shade in the afternoon.
Great location and view, but in need of TLC
Left on 09/06/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | Arlington, VA
This house has a wonderful lay-out, a beautiful view and a great location. The interior, however, is in need of updating. Many of the miniblinds were damaged. The dishwasher and microwave both need to be replaced. The cleaning crew neglected to vacuum any part of the house, as far as we could tell. We actually would rent this house again if we knew that appliances, blinds, some bedding, etc. would be replaced. It has such great potential. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 04/25/2012
Thank you for your review of The Coast Is Clear. I know that the owner is planning on replacing a couple of appliances. As you may be aware, these houses are owned by individuals and are furnished to their liking. However, sometimes a set of "fresh eyes" is just what it takes to get the house freshened up. Know that we will be working with the owner to do this. We hope you will come back to the Outer Banks for 2012 and give us an opportunity to to assist in your vacation needs.
Glenn E Harder
Nice but annoying
Left on 07/14/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | Glenn E Harder
Washer/dryer old and noisy. Took forever to get dry. Grill was dirty and in a very awkward place. Property description mentioned an enclosed area--I assumed a yard, but it was just underneath the house--misleading. I do not understand why the police do not enforce their no fireworks ordinances for other than designated celebrations. It was unbearable until 2:00 a.m. three straight nights.
Small town Clan
Sandy Lake, PA
A wonderful week
Left on 06/30/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | Small town Clan
This was a wonderful house to stay in. The teenagers loved the downstairs room. It was great being so close to the beach with excellent views! The kitchen needs more big spoon, containers with lids, and an electric can opener. The bedroom without the TV definately needs one!
What a great place to stay!
In need of updates
Left on 10/09/2009 for a stay in September 2009 | beach lover
This home is in a great location on a nice beach and convenient to restaurants, supermarkets, shopping and the Currituck lighthouse. The upper living level was pretty nice,had nice furnishings and had a great view. The "5th bedroom" was in the carport.
With a little updating this could be a great rental:
In my opinion, the bedding was tired, the A/C vents rusted, kitchen cabinet doors chippped, dish washer rusted, one stove burner did not work, towel rack broken, screens had holes, bedroom screen door hard to open, deck chairs mismatched and worn, and carpets soiled.
Had we known that, we would not have rented this house.
Coast is Clear Needs Some TLC
Left on 09/26/2009 for a stay in September 2009 | mjrlespaul
Lots of windows
Close to beach
Top/Main level great lay out
Needs a serious cleaning
- Bugs in the light over kitchen island
- Air vents in floor are old and rusted
- Cold air return in wall looks dirty and rusted
- Old carpet backing is on floor in master bathroom covered with a throw rug
- Outside lights need replacing @ bottom of stairs driveway, outside shower area and walkway
- left rear burner on stove not working
- receptical in master bath not working
- several receptical cover throughout house either missing or broken
- main floor sliding glass door needs adjustment (sticks and hard to open)
- many of the kitchen utensils were dirty
- no garbage disposal (this could be a local ordinance
Wonderful vacation spot on the ocean
Left on 09/02/2009 for a stay in August 2009 | firstname.lastname@example.org
This house was in an ideal location, and was perfect for our family. Plenty of room for everyone, and easy access to beach and water. Open, airy, living area/kitchen area gave this a very "roomy" feeling. Bedrooms and baths were very big and had plenty of room for everything.
Some updating was needed some updating, but other than that, it was a wonderful place to spend a week in the Outer Banks
D'Antonio Family Vacation
Left on 08/16/2009 for a stay in August 2009 | D'Antonio
We thoroughly enjoyed the house, we were 13 people, 1 person cancelled at the last minute. We were dissappointed that the outside shower was not working the whole week but we managed. Also the blender is broken, hopefully they will replace it.
Beacon, New York
Left on 08/09/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | lisaroma
To begin with, I'm not sure if I'm disappointed in the home itself or the services that Resort Reality is supposed to be providing/coordinating.
We arrived at the home on Saturday evening approximately 5:30pm. From what I could see on the Resort Reality website, the home hadn't been rented the previous 2 weeks. We tried to open the doors to the bottom teen room and storage room and could not. After about 15minutes of trying we were able to open the teen room and were immediately met with the most rotten stench any of us (there were 8 of us) had ever smelled. We went upstairs and saw there were 3 bags of linens that were still waiting to be picked up. Now, if the house had not been rented the previous 2 weeks, how long had that linen been sitting there? When we got into the house the stench was throughout...it was overwhelming. The house itself was in ok shape except the comforters on the beds had not been cleaned in who knows how long, the dishwasher was filled with dirty dishes, it had not been vacuumed or the counters cleaned. So after a trip to the grocery store for cleaning products and air freshners and spending a few hours cleaning, it was ok.
The beach was beautiful and the proximity to the beach was perfect.
The next day we were able to get into that second room next to the teen room and to our surprise found a bucket of maggot infested chicken parts that must have been left by the last guests to stay there. Again...does anyone check the condition of the home between guests???????
The beach items were in poor condition, the grill was filthy and I wouldn't trust using it without a full cleaning and many of the outlets in the living room of the house were broken. I would definitely recommend anyone who does stay there to write down all the damages they see upon arriving, as there are many and you don't want to be held accountable.
All in all the location is great, the house needs some work and expect to spend ample time cleaning upon arrival
Luv the outer banks
Enjoyed our first family Thanksgiving in Corolla...
Left on 07/19/2009 for a stay in November 2008 | Luv the outer banks
Top floor is very nice, very spacious...great ocean view. Only disappointment was in the bedrooms. Two rooms were ok and the third and forth were very small...not too accommodating for 5 adults. No TV in one bedroom. Also, could have used instructions on how the TV remote worked upstairs. Hope they put lights around the steps going to driveway. We dad two separate incidents of people falling down the steps due to poor lighting.
The coast is clear, the advertizing is not!
Left on 07/17/2009 for a stay in June 2009 | lecrum
We had a great time for the most part.The location was good.
But we did have concerns.
Our concerns are:
*the child's bedroom is not accessable to the inside of the house and therefore not safe for children.
*No pool or jucuzzi
*no basketball hoop
*it feels like the owners only rent for money, no personal touches like the houses all around us.
We would not rent this house again because of our concerns
would rent again!
Left on 07/17/2009 for a stay in May 2009 | Go Steelers!
Great view, house totally equipped. Lots of tvs. Location-great, except for the I-95 runway next to house. Could always tell if it was going to be a good day for beach by the number of people coming & going to the beach. Location good for local shopping. Rental agent more than helpful. Would recommend Resort Realty for this area.
We had a great time at the beach
Left on 07/16/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | blanch
This beach house was very nice, everything we needed to enjoy our vacation. The appliances are a bit dated and maybe ready to be replaced. Specifically the stove, it didn't always turn on immediately. The dishwasher, which we used alot seemed like it was going to fall out of the counter everytime we opened it. Also would like to have had a broom for the floors. All in all it was sufficient for our needs.
FlipKey has rentals in over 11,000 destinations around the world:
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.