The Phyrst is a classic Carolina beach house with an upper level family room boasting broad unobstructed views of the ocean. Catch an even better view by climbing up to the Ship's Watch or enjoy listening to the waves from 3 levels of decks. The home has four bedrooms including a bunk room for kids, a king room for adults, a second queen master, and a room with two twins plus two full bathrooms. There's another half bath and an outdoor shower. The game room on the ground level contains board games, puzzles, a Foosball table, video games and can be used as fifth bedroom with a queen sleeper. Relax and grill steak or seafood, shoot some hoops,... or play tennis at the nearby courts.The beach is a two minute walk along a quiet path and close to lifeguard station. Take time to check out the numerous stores and restaurants at the Timbuck II Shops and nearby Duck Village. Attractions such as Jockey's Ridge State Park and the Currituck Beach Lighthouse are short drives away. If you don't want to fight traffic, this house is minutes from Harris Teeter and assorted carryout options.From top to bottom, there is something for everyone at The Phyrst! Come and be our guests! Distance to the beach: Approximately 347 yardsAmenities include: WIRELESS INTERNET, HD TV, Cen A/H, MW, DW, IM, W/D, Grill, VCR, Multiple CATV's & DVD's, DVD/VHS library, Nintendo 64, HC, PC, Beach Chairs, BB Goal, Tennis Racquets, O/S, 3 levels of furn. decks, Foosball.Ground level: Family room w/QSS, Enc O/S, Entry.Level 1:MBR w/K w/ connect bath to BR w/Q; BR w/2Bnks, BR w/2T, hall bath, W/D.Level 2: Living, Dining & Kitchen. ½ Bath between floors.Level 3: Ships Watch.Read more
Left on 07/04/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | No Internet
Had no Internet service. The password do not match and no one could provide us with the correct password. Also, the house was not clean when we arrived. The management company sent someone over right away to clean the house after we called to complained. Read more
It pleases us to know that you enjoyed the views from this home. However, we must apologize that you had a problem with the internet. We strive to have all of the information accurate and up to date, and I did send your review to the rental managers so they can check with the owner regarding the password. We are glad you called to report that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness so we could correct these issues. Thank you for taking the time to review this home, and booking your vacation with Resort Realty and we hope to see you again next year!
Eastern Shore, Maryland
A solid choice
Left on 06/23/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | PH
We stayed here for a week in early June 2013. We were two families, each with two kids 5 and under. We chose this rental--sight unseen--for the modest 'early season' price and size, and we found it was true to the photos featured on the Resort Realty website.
Pros: The unobstructed ocean view from the living room & deck, clean, well appointed, well-stocked kitchen, distance to the beach (there is a nice cut-through path used by all), close distance to Harris Teeter for the forgotten necessities, downstairs game room for kids, slightly back from being right next to other neighbors.
Cons: The queen bed and bunk beds were terribly uncomfortable to sleep on, bedroom shades are not very dark, 1st story deck lacks any comfortable furniture, wood on 2nd story deck and front porch not advisable without shoes (splinters!), pack-n-play and high chair are very outdated (thinking 90s).
We would return to this rental and recommend it to others. Read more
Thanks for your suggestions as we're always happy to pass these on to our homeowners. We are glad that you are your family enjoyed the home. Thanks for choosing Resort Realty, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Great view of the ocean all day long!
Left on 09/06/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | Danette
Reasonable walk to the beach. Loved observing the herd of deer that roamed the area. Several mornings, 1 or 2 spotted fawns rested in the brush just below the deck for hours. Loved having my morning coffee on the deck. Lots of steps but helped to work off the pounds from all the good food we ate. Close to shopping areas and many restaurants. Would surely rent the place again if we had the same number of people. There was limited parking and spent time jocking cars in and out of the driveway.
Left on 07/25/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | Scott Croonquist
This was a favorite house. The house is clean and bright. Enough room to move about and close to the beach. One recommendation is to supply Tv's in all the bedrooms. Otherwise stay was great. Highly recommended.
Left on 07/21/2011 for a stay in June 2011 | Taylor
I believe this was our four year at the Phyrst and we always enjoy ourselves. The house is the perfect size for my family to pretend we live in Corolla for 3 weeks each year.
This year there were two issues that disappointed us. Apparently the previous tenant brought a cat to the home and there was cat hair everywhere. When your office offered to clean it for us we were pleased. Problem is that the crew just vacuumed the floors again and left. This meant that my wife, who is highly allergic to cats, had to thoroughly vacuum the furniture and baseboards on her vacation. We also let the office know that the DVD player did not work in the family room. While we do not come to the beach for TV our 5 and 6 year old children had chosen Dvds for rain days and movie nights. I would have appreciated the unit being replaced for our stay.
Left on 09/10/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | Jon
I like the location, the price and the house, generally. But, it was very dirty this year, and had ants. Much of the furniture and carpet is dated and needs cleaning as well. We have stayed here for the past few years, and would like to do so in the future. But, unless improvements are made, we won't return.
Left on 08/06/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | Overall great stay!
Love the close proximity to the Grocery store...huge plus! The overall price was justified, no complaints. Love the view! Biggest negative aspect = the driveway! In a house that sleeps 12 you obviously are traveling in several different cars. It grew quite annoying repositioning 5 cars every time someone left the house. Recommend expanding the driveway for parking side by side. Best aspects are : Value and Location. (Price was great for proximity to beach/shopping) Worst aspects ( Driveway and cleanliness...the carpets are in need of cleaning) Overall satisfied stay! 4 out of 5!
Left on 08/13/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | Buckeye
The Phyrst was a fantastic vacation home for our family-- easy access to the boardwalk and beach, and many nice amenities included in the house itself(especially for kids!) We really enjoyed the beautiful view of the Atlantic from the upper deck and ship's watch. Just wish we could have stayed longer!!
Left on 08/04/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | margaret
The Phyrst had a great location and wonderful views. Beds were comfortable and we really enjoyed having the laundry on the middle floor instead of all the way at the bottom like most houses. A few drawbacks though - the wireless internet did not work all week, the stove is quite old and the burners not fully intact, and the carpet is on it's last legs - very spotted and dirty. When we tried to vacuum, both vacuums in the house had no replacement bags and were tough to use. We found it odd that the master bedroom did not have a television in it, but the smaller bedroom did. The furniture was all very durable and sturdy, but the couches in the upstairs living area were almost impossible to get comfortable on - thin cushions and wood frames did not provide much comfort. I would rent the house again, but would expect some updating to be done in the next year.
Left on 07/25/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | Bucks County Family
We love this house-this was our second year there.There's plenty of room for all-9 this year,and everything is well kept. Great views and short walk to the beach are also a plus. Only 1 suggestion-larger table/more seating on deck.
Left on 07/24/2009 for a stay in June 2009 | SHenry
We loved this house. It was the right size, and we had one of the best views we've ever had. It had all the amenities we needed, except for one thing: the beds. I have never slept in worse. (It took 3 chiropractor visits later to fix my aching neck and back!) We stayed in both the king and queen. Both were the same -- lumpy and, well, dead....they need to be thrown out. If they would replace the beds, we would rent this house again, easily.
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 240,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.