Fun for the whole family in this comfortable oceanside home! Plenty of room to gather together or hide away on your own. Enjoy a variety of activities or just relax in the private pool or hot tub. Your kids will love the separate kiddie pool. For indoor entertainment, the ground level has a game room with a pool table and large flat screen TV, and the upper level great room has another large flat screen TV for family movie night. No need to leave your best friend behind; this beach home is also dog friendly! Less than one mile from TimBuck II's excellent shopping, dining, nightlife and movie theater. Grocery Stores: Less than one mile to Food... Lion and the Farm Market (fresh produce and seafood), 3 miles to Harris Teeter.Convenient to golf, mini-golf, sightseeing, nature trails and historic attractions. Distance to the beach: Approximately 460 yards via Coral Walkway.Amenities Include: Cen A/H, DW, MW, W/D, IM in Ref., Multiple CATV's , DVD Player, Wireless Internet Access, Hair Dryers, PC, HC, BG, Screened porch, Covered decks, deck and pool furniture, Park Grills, 2 enclosed O/S, Pool Table, BB Goal, Volleyball, Horseshoes, Books, Games, DVDs, Hot Tub , Private Pool (16x32), Kiddie Pool (8x8), County Water. Ground Level: Rec Room w/ pool table, 43" flat screen TV, Full size Refrigerator and Full BathLevel 1: 2 MBRs w/Q, each w/ private bath and deck access, 1 MBR w/Q and private bath, Laundry Closet, 2 BRs w/ PymBnks w/ TRs connected by shared full bath Level 2: Spacious Great Room w/ 60" Flat Screen TV open to Dining Area and Kitchen w/ Breakfast Bar, MBR w/K shares bath w/ living area
Additional amenities include: pool table, less than 500 yards, hometown hero discount, floor plans available, military discount.Read more
Left on 09/24/2013 for a stay in September 2013 | vacationer
The service was pretty decent, and house is great for families and friends, We loved the upper floor with kitchen, living area and the deck, location is great,2 blocks down the ocean, restaurants and grocery(Food lion)within a mile. We had a great vacation.
Plenty of room for large family vacation
Left on 06/19/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | Linda
The house has plenty of space for people to be together or disappear for your quiet time. The little ones, ages 5,4,3 and 1 loved the extra kiddie pool. We actually spent more time in the pools at the house than we did at the beach. The kitchen had everything you could want. Being close to the grocery store was very convenient so we didn't have to crawl through traffic when we needed something.
First and last time renting with Resort Realty
Left on 09/14/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | Matt
My family chooses the Outer Banks as a summer vacation destination because it is dog friendly. We have gone every year for the past 8 years. Usually renting with two of the other rental companies. This was our first time with Resort Realty. Check-in was easy, the house was okay, but after a few days our dog was infested with fleas. When we first suspected fleas we went to the office to let them know but they didn't seem too interested. Once it got really bad we called again and they sent Pest Control over to spray the house. Of course that meant we had to be out of the house for 4 hours. Resort Realty called me and asked me to vacuum the house prior and after the pest control sprayed because they didn't have anyone to send over to do it. I guess vacuuming is work that is beneath the Realty agents. So much for not inconveniencing the guests. We spent the rest of the week picking fleas off our dog trying not to get any in the car or take any home with us. Thankfully our dog had Frontline and we were able to control the infestation. Of course the realty manager wanted to make it "right" but there has been no attempt to contact us or to offer anything to make up for the inconvenience. We certainly will not consider Resort Realty in the future. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 09/25/2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Whale of A Good Time. We are very sorry about your experience. What is extremely puzzling about this is all of our pet friendly houses have a flea treatment done every other moth during turnover. We have not had any problems in any of the pet friendly houses in Corolla this rental season. It is our understanding you were asked to vacuum because the pest control company suggested it be done prior to the treatment. By no means were you meant to be inconvenienced, had we had extra staff that day certainly we would have sent them over. When you checked out the personnel you spoke with again expressed their apologies and told you they would submit a request for compensation, which they did. Our Accounting department processes those requests monthly, and you should be receiving it in the next week. I hope you will come back to the OBX as it is a wonderful place to visit and you will have a better experience.
House was great - management company disappointing
Left on 08/02/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | groupfromeaston
A nice house in a good location and nice amenties for a group of families. We did have issue with cable, tv, internet and some applicance needed repair. The problems with the applicances were fixed quickly and to our satisfaction. Tv was replaced near the end of our stay but the cable, telephone and internet was never repaired, which was a difficult situation for those that needed to work. The old TV remained in our livingroom the remainder of our stay, which made it little uncomfortable (after we were told it would be removed when the new TV was installed). We totally understand appliances and probelms occur, but after speaking directly with Resorty Realty and was told they keep us informed of the repairs, but never heard from them again (other than a call on Friday afternoon that the cable/internet wouldn't be repaired until after we checked out), we were highly dissapointed. This house was a good value and probably most of the problems are resolved for future vacationers. I felt Resort Realty didn't respond as promised, which was very dissappointing, since we visted the office with our issues, not sure if I would rent again with Resort Realty. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 11/26/2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. It is unfortunate that these issues occurred during your stay, and we are sorry you did not feel you were well served by Resort Realty. That is certainly not our intention. We want our guests to be happy and enjoy their stay. We hope you will give us another opportunity to assist in your summer vacation plans.
Great house with great layout, the best for Kidss
Left on 09/28/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | J BUCK
This house is great the only house with a baby pool
for the kids to play in!! Hours of fun. Two blocks from the beach an easy walk. I have stayed at this house two times and love it. The pool is in the sun all day long.Seconds form Foodlion!!!
Whale of an Good Time
Left on 09/16/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | Gina
We rec'd great service from Resort Realty. They were very easy to work with online and in person. We love the low key, family atmosphere in Whalehead Beach, Corolla. It's quiet and not completely filled with tourists doing the shopping thing. Compared to our house last year, this house was not as nice and the price was a little higher. Whale of a Good time is in need of some repairs and general freshening up, lights on the exterior steps were out, screws protruding from the deck wood, broken light in the pool, the dishwasher is showing some age and didn't clean well. That being said, when we told the rental company about the safety issues, they did what they could to fix what they could as soon as they could. We also thought the housekeeping was poorly done. There were spider webs in every corner and one of our family members was bitten by a spider seriously enough to seek medical attention. He continues to be on medication 1 month post vacation. The fronts of the kitchen cabinets were dirty with food, etc. All the ammenities are there which is appreciated. Taking care of the few repairs, a fresh coat of paint, cleaning/repairing the screens in the windows and a little bit more attention to the housekeeping and we would have rated the house "very good"
Not a house or rental agent I would suggest
Left on 09/06/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | Jnsbill
There were many issues;
The house itself was unkempt - unvacuumed floors, dirty dishes, broken cabinet drawers and soiled blankets and bedspreads. The deck and pool area's furniture was rusted to the point of unusable (4 chairs for 12 people) also the raised nails and splintering deck boards were an issue.
I have never rented a house where the renters were responsible for sweeping and vacuuming the house before checking out (which is not mentioned on the website or rental agreement but given to you at check in) Lastly the Resort Realty website mentions quality control and inspections - I didn't see it in this house
Happy in the burgh
Ok for the Money... Needs TLC
Left on 08/28/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | Happy in the burgh
This was a good deal for the money, but really needs some TLC. We were on a bugdet this year... and you get what you pay for. Although, we have 7 kids among all the families, so we didn't mind having a not-so-glamorous place.
Pros: Baby pool, new washer/dryer, new carpet, common area is large and open, plenty of seating w/ nice furniture, large dining area.
Cons: Bugs/spiders everywhere, the kitchen cabinets and drawer faces were falling off, shelving units in the bathrooms were rusty, rusty nails sticking out of the deck, deck is also old and causes splinters, patio furniture and beach chairs are rusty, upstairs refrigerator never really got cold, the overall layout is strange - there's no way out to the pool from the lower level, you have to walk past the garage to get into the house, no outdoor bathroom.
Despite all the negatives, it was a great trip - we are a bunch of friends who do this every other year and we have fun no matter where we are.
Not the best experience in the last ten trips to OBX.
Left on 08/10/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | Becky
Both the conditions at the house and the service provided by the realty company were less than optimal. We were not satisfied with the condition of the decking surrounding the pool area. There were rusty nails and screws that were protruding, causing a child to be injured. In addition, an adult had several splinters that needed removed. The cleanliness of the house was less than satisfactory; cob webs on the lights and ceiling, garbage under the beds (food wrappers and empty bottles) and a cockroach in one of the bedrooms. The realtor was notified on Sunday and again on Friday. However, they never contacted us nor did they correct the problems. The house was for sale, which made us wonder whether they were not concerned about correcting the problems. At aqny rate, nothing had been done by the time we left on Sat. morning. The service was substandard.
Awesome Hot Week
Left on 06/30/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | Hareballs
The stay was a good one and a very nice and hot week that we had. I would recommend this to friends and other family members. Thanks again to Resort Realty for an easy check in and easy check out.
Whale of a Good Time - June 2010
Left on 06/16/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | Whale of a Good Time - June 2010
Overall it was a nice week. There were minor problems with the wireless internet (i.e. I was never given a valid password and ended up spending $20 on a cable to physically attach the device).
I also think the deck furniture could be nicer.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Relaxing or ahhh
Left on 06/11/2010 for a stay in May 2010 | Teresa Land
Loved the home and everything that went with it. Stayed at pool most of the time. We live two miles from a beach at home so loved the pool.
Would advise the real estate agent selling the house not to show it when people have rented it. Happy it was not shown when we were there. Just doesn't seem to be very good business practice to do that.
Mark from Buffalo
Buffalo, New York
Should have booked sooner.
Left on 08/27/2009 for a stay in August 2009 | Mark from Buffalo
Pool was great, would have liked to have been closer to the ocean but we booked late this year. Hot tub was losing water and we did not use it. This unit is pet friendly which was our choose because we brought two small dogs, the carpets were in pretty bad shape. The kitchen untensils and appliances were not as nice as the last unit we stayed at. We will definately be back again. We are trying to get a couple of families to come with us next time and go for a larger unit.
Feeling Ripped Off!
Left on 08/13/2009 for a stay in August 2009 | dscgan
I feel ripped off for the amount of money we spent to rent this house. It was full of bugs. This was our third house we rented in Corolla and we have never had a house so filled with bugs! The beds were uncomfortable and the sheets and blankets were itchy and of poor quality. The pots and pans were cheap and old. The outside house did not work which made it hard to rinse off even our feet when we got back from the beach and the outdoor showers had no cold water so you could not really use them. One of the bathrooms had poor water pressure on top of a very slow drain in the shower which made for a horrible shower daily. The bunk beds were creeky and every time my 5 year old rolled over the noise woke her. The charcoal grills had not been cleaned in years and were of poor cooking quality. All in all, we made the best of our week at the beach, but when spending this much money and having young children with us, we expect more and will not rent this house again. This was the first time we used this real estate company and if this is the quality of the houses they rent, we will not be using them anymore either.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.