|Minimum Stay||1 night|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Life at the beach is a feeling - a lifestyle. The beachy chic décor is cozy and comfortable. This is the perfect vacation home for summer escapes and special celebrations. The widow's watch, high above with a 360 degree view, is a fourth bedroom or a relaxing
get away. The two master suites (one with fireplace and spa tub) are perfect for two couples or families. A short stroll will take you to the beach, fine dining, great shopping or the theaters. Hideaway at Sunkissed Cottage and relax in your own private pool
and enjoy your great escape from stress. From the broad wraparound porches, listen to the echoes of the surf, feel the...Read more
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$199 - $551||$199 - $551||$918 - $3,277||$0||1 night|
|May. 24 2013 - Jun. 7 2013||$489||$489||$2,874||-||1 night|
|Jun. 8 2013 - Jun. 14 2013||$551||$551||$3,277||-||1 night|
|Jun. 15 2013 - Jun. 21 2013||$489||$489||$2,874||-||1 night|
|Jun. 22 2013 - Jun. 28 2013||$551||$551||$3,277||-||1 night|
|Jun. 29 2013 - Jul. 5 2013||$551||$551||$3,277||-||1 night|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Jul. 6 2013 - Jul. 12 2013||$551||$551||$3,277||-||1 night|
|Jul. 13 2013 - Jul. 19 2013||$551||$551||$3,277||-||1 night|
|Jul. 20 2013 - Jul. 26 2013||$489||$489||$2,874||-||1 night|
|Jul. 27 2013 - Aug. 2 2013||$551||$551||$3,277||-||1 night|
|Aug. 3 2013 - Aug. 4 2013||$551||$551||$3,277||-||1 night|
|Aug. 5 2013 - Aug. 9 2013||$402||$402||$2,303||-||1 night|
|Aug. 10 2013 - Aug. 16 2013||$402||$402||$2,303||-||1 night|
|Aug. 17 2013 - Sep. 1 2013||$359||$359||$2,027||-||1 night|
|Sep. 2 2013 - Oct. 31 2013||$255||$255||$1,251||-||1 night|
|Nov. 1 2013 - Feb. 28 2014||$199||$199||$918||-||1 night|
|Mar. 1 2014 - May. 22 2014||$330||$330||$1,841||-||1 night|
|May. 23 2014 - Aug. 3 2014||$489||$489||$2,874||-||1 night|
|Aug. 4 2014 - Aug. 31 2014||$359||$359||$2,027||-||1 night|
|Sep. 1 2014 - Oct. 31 2014||$255||$255||$1,251||-||1 night|
|Nov. 1 2014 - Feb. 28 2015||$199||$199||$918||-||1 night|
|View all 20 Rate Periods|
Additional notes from owner
This property has a Saturday to Saturday requirement during Spring Break and Summer seasons. There is a four night minimum all other times.
*Rate does not include the cleaning charge, travel insurance, and taxes. Rates are subject to change without notice.
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: June 15, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Home away from home!
Sunkissed cottage was great! We'll probably rent it again next year. About a 4 minute watch directly to the beach access. Close to great restaurants. Clean, kept up, and comfy. The pool is the perfect size...not to big, not to deep, great for the kids. Nice big back yard. Hint: before June, get the pool heated to start with - it's worth it, and you can always have the heating turned off if you think you don' t need it. Great assortment of cooking tools for the meals you want to eat in. Plan to bring your own trashbags, paper towels, and toilet paper. Also, schedule your showers around each other - the hot water runs out after about 20 minutes, but reheats within about an hour. All in all, a great place and we can't wait to come back!
St. Louis, Missouri
We had no working refrigerator for nearly three days..
The furniture (sofa bed and love seat) was in poor shape. The wi-fi was not working which really put our techie grandkids in a tizzy.
All in all...we expected more.
We started renting from Newman Dailey around 18 years ago. I can honestly say that this is the first time we were ever really disappointed. And...after seeing so many units that had not been rented, and we still had to pay for a full week...even though we couldn't use and didn't want to pay for a full week made it even worse.
Response from Newman-Dailey Resort Properties - 05/31/2013
At Newman-Dailey Resort Properties, all of our guests are important, but our repeat guests like you are special. We hope that you found our efforts to accommodate you with the issues at your unit were more than satisfactory during your stay. We have addressed these issues with the owner and changes are being made. Thank you for your long time confidence in Newman-=Dailey, and we look forward to serving you again!
My family and I arrived at "the Kiss" and we were very thrilled at the ease of the check in and having a house to our own. We were very happy with the cleaniness of the house and the location. We were close to everything we wanted to do. The beach is just a block away!!! It was a great neighborhood to walk our dog " a golden"! we loved it as well as our dog!!! Our only complaint would be the livingroom furniture and the guest king room bed. It is very uncomfortable as well as outdated however the rest of the house made up for it. We will definitely come back again!!!
Value priced, good location
My family and I have actually stayed in this home before in 1999 as well as other Newman Dailey properties. I do feel that it actually only works for about 7-8 people comfortably even though there is a "sofa bed". The home does seem a little worn and in need of a "deep cleaning" and updating & I do realize the time allowed to clean between visitors is minimal. We did make a call to Newman Dailey on the first day as the refrigerator was not cooling well & the upstairs bathtub was missing a drain stopper(both somewhat minor) we did get a call stating someone would follow up yet no one ever followed up. We did enjoy the private backyard and pool very much & location close to the beach. We love Destin yet may look for a more updated newer property the next time.
Great for family beach vacations!
Everything was great except for the grill needs to be replaced, the upstairs bathroom had mold growing on the underside of the ledge, and the toilet brush container had dirty toilet water in it that had leaked on the rug.The beach house is conveniently located, cozy with a nice pool. I would recommend staying there, but the cleanliness needs to be addressed.
Beautiful exterior; interior needs major improvements.
My family and I rented the Sunkissed Cottage for a week during our stay in august. When I first pulled up to the house I thought it was beautiful. However, upon entering I noticed that the furniture and the bathrooms needed some major updates. Also, none of the remotes for the tvs or dvd players worked properly. We have rented houses from Newman Dailey two previous times and the houses were great; not a single complaint. The staff is always very friendly and helpful. My biggest issue with this home was the cleanliness and the need for updating living room and bathroom upstairs in master bedroom. The pool was great and the kids pretty much stayed in it for the most part. The location was also great because we could walk to the beach. We will definitely rent through Newman Dailey again; just not this house.
The couches need to be replaced! In order to use the hideabed you have to remove several pieces of plywood and plastic. It should not be listed as available sleeping space! Even when sitting on couches the plywood sticks out from under cushions. The umbrella outside is broken. We have stayed in Sunkissed several times and loved it, but we will not stay there again.
Response from Newman-Dailey Resort Properties - 08/15/2012
Thank you so much for posting your review. We are sorry for the problems you had with the sofa and umbrella. We have purchased a sofa bed topper which provides a more comfortable sleeping space and makes the sofa sit much more comfortably as well. The plywood was requested by one of our previous guests and we have removed this. We were not aware of the broken umbrella so we also purchased a new umbrella stand and it is functioning as it was intended. In addition the owner also purchased a portable AC unit for the 3rd floor sitting area as well.
We look forward to your next stay with Newman-Dailey Resort Properies.
Amy Turner - Property Manager
Nice house with 2 master suites, Has a nice pool that would benefit from a little shade in back during the heat and sun of the afternoon, but that being said, we would comeback again. During the heat of the dy, the third floor area is quite warm, it could really use more a/c vents. It is very close to most everything.
Response from Newman-Dailey Resort Properties - 08/17/2012
Thank you so much for posting your review. We are sorry for the problems you had during your stay. We were not aware of the broken umbrella so we also purchased a new umbrella stand and it is functioning as it was intended. In addition the owner also purchased a portable AC unit for the 3rd floor sitting area as well. We look forward to your next stay with Newman-Dailey Resort Properies. Amy Turner - Property Manager
Mother of the Groom!
We just got back from our trip to Destin and everyone just raved about the beautiful sunkissed cottage thaat we stayed at. We were there for my son's beach wedding and rented the house so we could have a small reception after the wedding. The people at Newman-Dailey were so great - helped us find parking space for our guests. They house has two great wrap around porches so we had plenty of room for food and guests. I would definitley recommend this house for it's spacious bedrooms and great pool and backyard space!
Great Week in Florida!!
We had perfict weather. Great location. Execent food. Couldn't ask for any better. Thanks so much.
We stayed in Sunkisssed for the months of Jan.- March 17th 2012. Sunkissed is in a great location, only blocks from the beach and shops.
In our opinion the home is tired. The livingroom furniture is not comfortable, there is no way anyone could sleep on the sofa,, hard to sit on for any length of time let alone sleep on. We also think it is quite a stretch to say 11 people could sleep there. There were really only two bedrooms, the other rooms with trundles were open areas. We feel only 6 six adults and perhaps a couple of children could sleep comfortably. As far as new bedding, the mattresses (in bedrooms) were alright but think the owners could have spent a little more to upgrade them as in a short time they will need to be replaced again. The home was not as clean we expected it to be when we arrived. Newman Dailey did attempt to make it right. We realize it is the owners who have the last say in what is bought etc. for the home, but perhaps Newman Dailey should re evaluate this property until up to standards. We also were constantly told/read by agents/owners that Crystal Beach was not an area where the "spring breakers" spent time, well; that was not the case. There were numerous homes rented in Crystal Beach to spring breakers and it appeared that no adult was in attendence! Having said the above, we did settle in and enjoyed our winter stay. We are returning next year but not to this property.
Response from Newman-Dailey Resort Properties - 04/25/2012
Thank you so much for posting your review. This is one of our most enjoyed homes and you are correct about the great location and distance to the beach however I feel the rest of the review is unfair and incorrect. The home does comfortably sleep 11 people and is perfect for one family or two families traveling together. On the 1st floor you have a guest bedroom which does provide a door for privacy. This room has a brand new full size bed with trundle option. On the 2nd floor you have two bedrooms each provides a king bed and a door for privacy. In addition to these three private bedrooms you have a 3rd floor loft/kids area which provides a day bed with trundle option. This room does not have a door for privacy however it is the only room on the 3rd floor and it provides a great area for our younger guests to sleep, play games or watch movies. In the past year the owner has replaced all carpet, purchased a brand new bed including mattresses for the 1st floor guest room, new bedding for the master bedroom, flat screen televisions throughout, and resurfacing of the pool deck area.
Our winter season and spring season do overlap a bit in March. Newman-Dailey strictly enforces our 25 and older policy but we do not have control as to when and where spring break is scheduled. Peak spring break does not usually begin until late March but there are a few schools that start their spring break as early as late February however this is a select few. I am thrilled to say our spring break 2012 went without any evictions or major incidents; everyone was on their best behavior as they usually are in our area.
I am thrilled to hear that you will be returning to our area next winter. Please don’t hesitate to contact me directly as I would be happy to assist you in finding a home more suitable to your needs.
We look forward to your next stay with Newman-Dailey Resort Properties.
Amy Turner – Property Manager
A little cramped but a great stay with a great location.
I think this is the Sunkissed Cottage we stayed in. The facilities were good and the location was great. Our family traditionally gets together at Destin over Thanksgiving. We all enjoy seeing each other, eating in and going out. Our walks on the beach were very good and we were able to go wading. Some of us - especially the kids - actually went in swimming.
Home away from home
This house is located in a great area!! Close to everything. Short walk to the beach as well. House has a great layout on the inside and very roomy. Only thing we didnt like was the fact that there was no direct access to the pool from the house. Also wish the house had two ac units. One was unable to really cool the upstairs, and especially the third floor room. We went at a time when it was not super hot, so the summer time would be worse.
Great vacation with the entire family!
This was our second trip to Destin and our parent's fifth or sixth trip. We have always stayed in a Newman-Dailey property, but this was the first time at the kiss. After driving nearly 800 miles through the night with a 1 and 4 year old, we were very happy to find that the check-in was once again quick and we were able to get into the house without any delalys.
Once there, we found the house was spacious, very clean, and the beds were comfortable. Having two master bedrooms was great for us and our parents and the third full bath was also helpful when getting ready in the morning or cleaning up after a long day of playing at the beach and swimming in the pool. The room on the third floor was a little warm, but we were able to adjust some of the vents and use a fan to keep it comfortable.
We were a little concerned that traffic may be loud, but the noise was barely noticable inside and traffic was pretty light since it was late September. With the beach just a short walk away, we spent nearly every morning at the beach and the evenings relaxing by the pool.
Overall, we had a great and relaxing week. The only concern we had during the entire trip was one afternoon we returned from the beach to find a new chair in the living room. We assumed the Newman-Dailey staff had brought it while we gone, but were a little concerned that other people were in the house with our personal belongings without our knowledge while we were not there. However, we would still recommend this house to any family.
San Pedro, CA
Very pleased with every thing about the accommodations and service. One problem was in finding the sheets to make up the trundle bed Found set of sheets on the sofa in the living room This was the only problem Everything else was perfect.
Our Vow Renewal
This was our second stay at Kiss. We love the house, although its probably time to redecorate. Had problems with the septic system but amy took care of them right away.
Nice house though the floor in the den was not completely cleaned. Short walk to beach. Loved the pool and 2 big bedrooms upstairs. Quiet. Very close to restaurants and grocery.
We had a wonderful time in Destin at the Sunkiss Cottage!
We spent one week at the Sunkissed Cottage in Destin. Our stay was so nice. The house was beautiful, clean and well taken care of. We were within walking distance of the beaches. Everything worked perfectly in the house and one night the microwave broke (you need this with 6 kids!), and Newman brought us a new one before 9 the next morning. Excellent service. The location was in middle of everything - food, movies, entertainment. Plus, the pool was heated and clean. Our kids had a lot of fun searching the house for games, books, puzzles and DVD movies that are there.
Kissed by the SUN!!
We enjoyed out stay at the SunKissed Cottage. This was our first booking with your company. We were pleased with the location and the room the cottage offered. There were some minor repairs which needed attention but for the most part it was an enjoyable and relaxing vacation with some of the most beautiful beaches in the world. My family vacations at Destin every year and this was a great vacation of us. We would recommend using Newman Dailey again for our future vacations at Destin. Oh yeah, the fireworks were spectacular as well.
The minor repairs were as follows:
The carpet upstairs needed shampooing. Also, the widow's peek room on the third floor was very hot and therefore, we could not use it.
Kate & Adam
St. Louis and Colorado springs
We have been fortunate to come to Destin every year for the past 9! We have stayed in many houses. Usually we are with a party of 10. This time just 4 and sunkissed was perfect! The pool was so nice & clean. The backyard was big & comfortable and the gas grill was nice..
This house was great for two couples but more than three would be pushing it! As the 3rd bedroom gets used for easier pool access. Kitchen items were a bit scarse as far as spices, coffee filters ect. Things you don't want to think about spending money for on vacay. The road was never loud considering it was a busy one! Very close to the beach and shopping! We loved it and will be back soon!
The perfect spot
We stayed at the Sunkissed Cottage in October and it had everything we needed and more. The kids even swam in the pool. It was all the space we needed for everyone to be comfortable and a grill for easy dinner it was close to the beach and we all had a great time.
Really enjoyed our stay. The pool was GREAT!! We found the bedrooms nice and roomy, and the house itself was very nice. Highly recommend Big Kahunna's and early dinners as most places were packed. Definately take advantage of the golf
We loved Sunkissed Cottage. The house was large, and comfortable, and very close to the beach. We will definitely return.
Need's a thorough maintenace overhaul
This was our first time renting through Newman Daily. The pictures on the internet made this house appear better than it was. All the upstairs ceiling fans were loud and the master bedroom's fan was inoperable. Maintenance came to fix it, but left saying he would return the next day with a new fan, but never showed up. A major disappointment was the bonus room upstairs. It was advertised as a great place to get away and take a nap, etc. The problem was it was very hot up there and again the ceiling fan was not working properly. A more comfortable couch or trundle would be better.
The pool was nice. We used it alot. The fence around the yard had some boards out of place and the gate needed work by the aforementioned maintenace guy in order for it to work properly.
This house would greatly benefit from a thorough cleaning and updating the decor. The countertop tile in the kitchen and the carpet in the lower bedroom would be first on my list to update.
I guess my expectations were a little to high regarding the house but Destin was a wonderful place to visit and we will certainly be coming back next year, just not to this house.
Response from Newman-Dailey Resort Properties - 08/21/2009
Thank you for posting this review. I am so disappointed that this vacation home did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback even if it is unfavorable. I will visit with our staff and the owner of the home to address the issues mentioned. Also, we will contact you directly to further discuss your stay with us.
Karen Poe- Director of Operations
Let me start by saying the folks with Newman-Dailey were wonderful. Very easy to work with, explained all the details making the reservation process worry free. Sunkissed Cottage was a great place to stay. We had 4 adults and 2 teenagers and it accomodated us perfectly. Walking distance to the beach, restaurants etc. Only complaint, and it's a small one, the cottage sits on a pretty busy street, other than that we had wonderful time.
4 guys on a golf trip.
We rented from newman-daily last year.
the house was nice and well furnished.
the problem was we were locked out 2 times because the electronic lock malfunctioned. this caused us a big problem.
Response from Newman-Dailey Resort Properties - 03/13/2009
This guest was contacted and I apologized for the inconvenience. Occasionally, we experience a faulty lock - fortunatley for this guest we have 24 hour on call services and the problem was resolved in a timely fashion.
It was everything we wanted in a vacation and then some! I can't wait to go back!
My wife and two children, age 1 and 5 absolutely loved our stay here. The house is only a few minute walk from the beach. The pool was perfect for a family of 4. My one year old loved the widow's watch for his sleeping quarters. Would highly recommend staying here to anyone and hopefully plan on coming back sometime soon.
Grandkids loved the pool
Sunkissed Cottage was delightful. The pool was perfect for our three grandchildren. (We adults enjoyed it also)
We all enjoyed the house and would stay there again. It is a great location in the center of everything Destin has to offer.