This Semi-oceanfront home is located on a quite cul-de-sac with a lot of natural landscaped privacy. A screened porch overlooks the Oceanside pool. A reverse floor plan with cathedral ceiling living area gives the best views. The spacious rooms offer juniper and pastel fabrics. The two level, wide wrap around decks offer plenty of space for wandering, reading and relaxing. Tuckahoe Subdivision in Duck, is Ocean and Soundside accessible with community pool and tennis courts to enjoy. Just a short stroll from you private pool. Meet your neighbors! This home is a K Club Member offering special golf rates, privileges and access to Kilmarlic Golf... Club (the premier Golf Course on the Outer Banks). Guests are encouraged to reserve tee times well in advance of their arrival. For more infoClick Here http://www.kclubobx.comDistance to the beach: Approximately 141 yardsAmenities Include: 2 Zone Cen A/H, MW, DW, W/D, 5 CATV's, 4 VCR's, 2 DVD's, Stereo w/ CD player, Enc. O/S, open pool shower, foot shower, Screened Porch, garbage disposal, covered park grill, Additional refrigerator in storage area on ground level, HC, port-a-crib, whirlpool tub, fish cleaning table, well equipped kitchen, Private Pool (14x30) and pool bathroom.Ground Level: Enc. O/S, Half Bath, Park Grill, Additional Refrigerator, picnic table. Level 1: BR w/ Q, TV and access to deck, BR w/ 2T & TV, Full Bath, BR w/ PymBnk & T w/ TV, Full Bath, BR w/ Q, TV and access to deck. Level 2: Living area, Dining area, Kitchen, MBR w/ K, Full Bath, TV and deck access, Game/Toy Closet.2012 - Owners have put new decking on upper level deck!
Additional amenities include: tennis, less than 500 yards, golf access home: kc.Read more
Left on 08/07/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | Family vacation
Location is great - house needs updating. Lots of cars park near the house on nice beach days.
The worst house we have rented in the 8 years we have been visit
Left on 07/11/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | JessF
Starfish has an incredible location but apart from that, this house is more like deer camp than 'Resort real estate'. The house had dirty dishes, unswept floors, broken bunk beds, ants, dirty bathrooms with towel bars ripped out of the walls, a broken stove, and half way through the week the aC went out. Resort realty did their best to accomodate us but the deplorable condition of the home was beyond their control. This home is not worth the money and a far stretch from a 'vacation home'. I truly feel this property makes Resort Realty look bad. I would hope a rental agency would screen the properties they represent a little better. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 07/24/2013
Thank you for your candor in posting on FlipKey. We are indeed sorry that your stay at this home was not as pleasant as you would have hoped because of the various maintenance problems you encountered. We want to thank you for taking the time to bring these issues to our attention. The owner of this home will also be made aware of your comments so that he may update his home.
I am sorry you weren’t excited over the house but hope you will give us an opportunity to assist you with your vacation needs in 2014. Please be specific when we ask what you are looking for in a vacation home and we will do our best to match you up with a house you will enjoy. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again!
Left on 07/06/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | Sadie
Very disappointed in this house. Location was perfect, but the house needs some major updating. Stove very old & one burner did not work. Very unsafe outlet on the floor in the living space = electrical and child safety issues. Beds very old & worn. Furniture needs updated. For the price, I would have expected some updates. (Especially stove/oven) Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 07/19/2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. It is comments from our guests that help us keep our homeowners apprised of the condition of their home. We have given the owner suggestions for upgrades in their unit.
In looking at our maintenance records, I do see a work order regarding the stove burner, and it is being addressed.
I am sorry you weren’t excited over the house but hope you will give us an opportunity to assist you with your vacation needs in 2014. Please be specific when we ask what you are looking for in a vacation home, and we will do our best to match you up with a house you will enjoy. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Summer Vacation at the Starfish
Left on 06/13/2013 for a stay in May 2013 | Beachcomber
Frist the positives. Great location. Very short walk to the beach and you still have a view of the ocean on your deck. In addition, the drive to Duck village is very short as well. The pool was nice and very well maintained. The beds were okay and the carpets were clean through out the house.
Now for the not so great. The house is very very dated. The bathrooms are disgusting. The shower curtain in one downstairs bathroom had mold on it. All of the bathroom fixtures need to be replaced and all of the exhaust fans need to be replaced. All of the bathrooms need cosmetic repairs as well and the door locks need to be fixed. The kitchen is very dated as well. The stove works, just not very well. The exhaust fan over the stove needs replacing as well. In addition, it would be nice to have at least one TV that wasn't made in the 90's. Only one of the sliding glass doors had a working lock on it. The outdoor grill is disgusting. Thank goodness I brought my own.
As always, the beach was great. As mention above, the walk to the beach is very short. It can be done even if you have little children. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 06/21/2013
Thank you for your review of Starfish. We agree, it is great to be both close to the beach and to Duck Village. We apologize that the home was not up to your expectations. In reviewing our maintenance records, I do see work orders in for some of these items, and I have forwarded the review to the homeowner and our maintenance team so they can look into everything. Again, thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We hope to see you again soon.
A house with great features but way out of date
Left on 09/22/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | Discerning Tenant
This house is near the beach, has its out plunge pool, & is in a development with a community pool and tennis court, but it is tired and needs much maintenance and updating. The decks are in awful condition; in fact one seemed dangerous. The appliances are old and some don't work properly. To add insult to injury the owner left notes with particular orders on how to treat the house. If the owner allows it to fall into disrepair why would the tenant treat it gingerly? There was a note saying, "Don't use the broiler." Why not? We like to broil fresh fish when at the shore. About technology: the house had undersized tv's and no internet. In today's world tenants paying thousands of dollars per week for a beach house should expect to have internet. In short, this house is big, well located and has recreational ameninities--- why doesn't the owner fix it up and make it great?
Disappointed in Starfish
Left on 08/25/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | Rich
The cottage was pretty dated. The fact that Hot Tub was not working along with no wifi was disappointing. The condition of the deck was most disturbing. It needs to be replaced and is dangerous. We could only use a portion of it and that was hazardous as they put new boards over the old ones. Not to code. It lowered the height of the railings and we were terrified every time one of the children ventured out to see the ocean, This is a really bad situation and should be corrected immediately. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 04/25/2012
We are sorry that you vacation was not as good as it could have been because of your concerns. As you know the owner compensated each guest because the hot tub could not be used. Resort Realty would not have allowed guests to occupy this home if the decks or railings were not safe.
Thank you for booking your vacation with Resort Realty, and thank you for your comments!
Collegeville, Pa. 19426
Left on 07/20/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | Arlene Brown
Great location! The house needs new kitchen and
bathrooms.The ant problem is caused by moisture in the lower shelves; which are disintergrating. Dishwasher button broken and soap dispenser. Garbage disposal should be removed, since so little can be put into it. No locks on 3 bedroom doors and 1 bathroom door. The new deck is a hazard, many of us tripped over loose boards and the uneven connection to the original deck. The hot tub shoud not be on the screened in deck, because the moisture is causing the upper deck to rot. The living room has been updated and is lovely. The bedroom furnishings are fine. The pool was very nice and clean, but no lock on the gate. This house has great potential and could rent for more, if the owners are in a position to correct these problems. We also have rental houses in the Florida Keys and understand the owners dilema in investing money in the property. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 07/21/2011
We are sorry that your stay at this home was not as pleasant as you would have hoped because of the various maintenance problems you encountered. We want to thank you for taking the time for bringing these issues to our attention. It is comments from our guests that help us keep our homeowners apprised of the condition of their home.
We have made our maintenance and housekeeping staff aware of these issues and they have been addressed. The owner has advised that the balance of his deck will be replaced before next season.
Again, thank you for taking the time to review this home.
Clifton Park, New York
Great location, comfy home with nice ocean views
Left on 09/09/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | OBX lover
We had a great week while staying in Starfish. It is located so close to the beach access making it very convenient for two families with children. We felt it was very clean, even though it needed some cosmetic repair work. The deck off the kitchen was great for dining out and enjoying the views, but could use some repair work as well. The hot tub was a nice treat, even though the jets did not operate properly. The main living area was very open and airy with vaulted ceilings and great views. Having an extra refrigerator and half bath on the ground level was fabulous! We settled right in and plan to return to Starfish again.
Left on 07/17/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | Patty
The location of the house is fantastic!! We enjoyed the pool as well. The deck needs some attention and the pool did not have a lock on it. A safety issue for sure. The inside of the house could use a fresh coat of paint. The kitchen table had been painted and was so sticky that you had to have placemats or the plates would have stuck firmly. We have stayed in the house 3 times in the last 8 - 10 years and would love it if they improved it a little
i liked the area
Left on 06/16/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | tracy
i liked the area overall, the house was alright but didn't care for how bad the deck was with all the nails sticking up,the master bedroom bed was hard as a rock,we had no room for garabe the first couple of days there because the trash cans were full.
House needs overhauled
Left on 10/01/2009 for a stay in August 2009 | leadfootnana
The location of the house and the pool area were great but needs to be updated. They should put a TV in the room where the two twin beds are. The video library had only VHS no DVD's. Games were old and missing pieces, books were old and outdated, but they had a great selection of puzzles.
They need to do a complete and thorough cleaning.
Also freshen the paint. Cabinets were very dirty and sticky. I dropped something behind the dresser in the master bedroom and when I moved it out it was really dirty. They need to move all of the furniture and clean behind it. They need to update all of the bathroom rugs and shower curtains. The hall rugs also need to be replaced.
There is a short in the electrical outlet for the downstairs refrigerator and the light over the kitchen sink goes off and on by itself. This could be the same line.
All of the chairs for the beach were also broken.
I would rent this house again if I knew that it had been cleaned and updated.
We had to call housekeeping once to get sheets for the king size bed and we called maintenance once because the bath with the tub wouldn't drain. Both times they responded imediatly.
I hope this helps because it is a lovely home.
Great location, had all the ammenities.
Left on 07/19/2009 for a stay in June 2009 | Beach Bum
Decking was badly splintered, especially the top deck. Some of the banister slats were loose. I worried about our two year old. The home itself is comfortable, but in need of some TLC. The setup on the ground floor was good, eliminating the need to run up stairs. We like the screened porch and used it everyday for lunch so that wet swimsuits weren't worn in the house and sand tracked inside. Beach, weather and ocean were awesome all week long!
Great location but an unclean, dated house
Left on 07/18/2009 for a stay in June 2009 | NJSB
The location of the house was excellent. Quick walk to the beach, great access to bike path, short walk or drive to downtown Duck.
Condition-wise, the house is definitely dated. It was also not very clean. We called the first day because the bathroom was unclean upon our arrival but no one came. The house also had mold issues (we are all allergic and new the moment we walked in), and, unfortunately, had bed bugs in one of the rooms. I wish I were joking. The ubiquitous labeling of everything and the constant reminders and scoldings hung everywhere coupled with the lack of cleanliness made for a non-relaxing vacation. We would not recommend renting this house.
Kennedy Township, Pennsylvania
Starfish has everything you need for a wonderful beach experienc
Left on 07/16/2009 for a stay in August 2008 | Tim Davis
Located at the end of a culdesac in a quiet neighborhood, Starfish is just a short walk from the beach. The private pool is a great alternative to the ocean when the kids want to play more in the water without getting knocked around by waves. We like the location of the hot tub on the screened in porch to relax after a long day on the beach. The home is well furnished and kitchen is equipped with almost anything you need. Outside entrance to bedrooms is convenient for early morning walks without waking everyone up.
From what I can remember last year and in 2007, there was water damage to the ceiling in one of the bathrooms, and some of the sliding doors did not lock. Although you did provide a bar to place at base of door to keep any intruders out. There seems to be a serious ant problem in the kitchen. Any food left on counter will attract ants quickly if not properly closed. Sometimes, that's a challenge with the kids. Can this be addressed? We are coming back again on August 08, 2009...3rd year in a row....looking forward to it.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.