|Minimum Stay||7 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Come enjoy this house located in the Town of Duck. The private pool invites you to enjoy the kids, or walk just a short way to the ocean. Lovingly outfitted by attentive owner including a new dishwasher for 2013. Plenty of decks for relaxing and a hot tub by the private pool make this the perfect destination for your friends and family!Top Level: Bedroom with Queen and Deck Access shares Full Bath with Whirlpool with Living Area, Kitchen, Dining, Decks with panoramic ocean views, Loft doubles as 5th bedroom with Queen Bed, Sofa, TV.Mid Level: Bedroom with Queen and Deck Access, Bedroom with Queen and Deck access overlooking private pool, Bedr...Read more
Duck, North Carolina
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$0||$875 - $2,575||$0||7 nights|
|May. 18 2013 - May. 24 2013||-||$1,450||-||7 nights|
|May. 25 2013 - May. 31 2013||-||$1,450||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 1 2013 - Jun. 7 2013||-||$1,450||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 8 2013 - Jun. 14 2013||-||$1,650||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 15 2013 - Jun. 21 2013||-||$2,375||-||7 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Jun. 22 2013 - Jun. 28 2013||-||$2,575||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 29 2013 - Jul. 5 2013||-||$2,575||-||7 nights|
|Jul. 6 2013 - Jul. 12 2013||-||$2,575||-||7 nights|
|Jul. 13 2013 - Jul. 19 2013||-||$2,575||-||7 nights|
|Jul. 20 2013 - Jul. 26 2013||-||$2,575||-||7 nights|
|Jul. 27 2013 - Aug. 2 2013||-||$2,575||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 3 2013 - Aug. 9 2013||-||$2,575||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 10 2013 - Aug. 16 2013||-||$1,650||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 17 2013 - Aug. 23 2013||-||$1,450||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 24 2013 - Aug. 30 2013||-||$1,450||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 31 2013 - Sep. 6 2013||-||$1,450||-||7 nights|
|Sep. 14 2013 - Sep. 20 2013||-||$1,175||-||7 nights|
|Sep. 21 2013 - Sep. 27 2013||-||$1,175||-||7 nights|
|Sep. 28 2013 - Oct. 4 2013||-||$1,175||-||7 nights|
|Oct. 5 2013 - Oct. 11 2013||-||$1,175||-||7 nights|
|Oct. 12 2013 - Dec. 31 2013||-||$875||-||7 nights|
|View all 21 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 20, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
We had a wonderful time in this house and it had everything we n
We have stayed in this house for 2 years and love it. There is plenty of room in the spacious house and it has 2 great wrap around decks. It is close to the beach and a short walk to the bay and shops. The pool and hot tub were a must! The house was spotless when we arrived and the keyless entry was great. Only thing missing was a picnic table for outside.
Great location but needs a good cleaning and some updates
We had several problems with our stay that were unfortunate... We had an ant problem, the air conditioning broke mid-week and when we first got there the place was dirty...not how you want to start a vacation! The house was nice but in need of a major deep cleaning. Our disappointment with cleanliness was due to the fact that the cleaning service left spilled food in the fridge, dead bugs on the window sills, the bathrooms had not been cleaned and we found several things left behind from last visitors...like prescriptions in the bathroom drawers. The pool was great...bigger than most. Mixed emotions on this one...probably would't recommend unless you knew some staring changes were made with cleaners.
Response from Outer Banks Blue - 08/09/2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on "Tornquist." As you can see by the other reviews on this property we are not used to seeing something less than very good regarding this property.
It would seem your largest concern was with cleanliness, but unfortunately we never heard from you during your stay so these issues could not be resolved during your stay. The house did in fact have a deep clean done just a few weeks prior to your stay, but of course the houses are heavily used during guest stays and require a great deal of effort to clean properly. It is not an easy job to leave the property in a condition such that it looks like no one has ever used the property (week after week). We can assure you that the house was fully cleaned prior to your stay and the items you point out now could have been corrected in the matter of a few minutes.
The ant issue was of course called in to us and we had an exterminator dispatched to the property to correct the issue the same day you called. The a/c that broke actually was just the matter of a less than 5 minute services call as the problem was a tripped circuit breaker which does happen when renting another person's home.
We think in retrospect you would agree that "Tournquist" is an excellent value in a super location and your review is slightly over dramatic. Our other guests in this property have consistently said that this house is a great value and so the house rarely has openings for new guests.
We Love Tornquist
Tornquist is an absolutely wonderful beach house. There is so much room, a huge kitchen, the most wonderful pool...best you will ever have and a great hot tub. Our family had a wonderful time! We had a Keurig coffee maker!!! Our favorite. Reason for a couple of less than five stars is that some mattresses need updating as well as a some of the pans in the kitchen. Other than that it is perfect!!!
The house was nice!
The house was nice but things could have been updated and cleaned better. Good location not far from the shops and the beach.
the proximaity to beach is excellent as well as proximity to town of Duck. Liked keyless entry and beds made, towels provided. House needs a little updating but has all the necessities.
The outside of the house is mildly deceptive, but the inside is pretty good. The house is very nicely kept and labelling everything in the house was definitely a plus. The pool gave us a bit of trouble with the jets, but the pool guy came over quick to fix it in under 30 mins. Overall a great time, very short walk to the beach as well.
We had another great vacation at this house!
We love this house because it has plenty of room for our family of 8. The distance to the beach is fantastic, we love the location in Duck. We can walk to shopping and dinner. We also enjoy the pool because we've got young children ages 5,2, and 1. We can stroll down to the beach and come back and jump in the pool, bake in the sun, and hang out on the nice deck. We love not having a key. The keypad is great. This is our 2nd year at this house and likely will always be our house every year. We only wish we could get free internet. That is the only downside really. Oh, the price is the best we've seen. That is the main reason we choose this home. The price can't be beat by any other house or company that we've investigated and for the location and all of the amenities, nothing can compare.
Beautiful and Spacious
Tornquist was our best rental so far. We have stayed at others and this had to be the most spacious and well layed out so far. With a total of 4 adults and 4 kids- there was not one time where we were on top of each other.
Definately considering on reserving for next year.
Not a problem for the kids to walk to the beach
or walking downtown shopping.
The pool was tops for all of us - as it was really hot.
Thank you for a very clean and cozy home.
House of Davidson
Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Where memories are made!
To begin with, this home is very well taken care of. We arrived to see a very clean and comfortable home, which had plenty of room, and yet felt cozy. It was a short walk to the ocean, but there was parking at the end of the road if you would rather. We enjoyed the walk. Our 3 young boys loved the pool, and my wife and I took advantage of the hot tub.
This house was in a great spot, being in the heart of duck. I would recomend the Red Sky Cafe, especially for a nice breakfast! We visited there frequently.
My only complaint would be the quality of the mattresses, which pales in comparison to the rest of the experience.
I would give this home a high recommendation, and appreciate the care that was put into its presentation. Thanks Outer Banks Blue! We love Duck!
Fun in the Sun
Great house, great location. Had everything we were looking for as a family - close to the beach, dinner, and the pool was terrific.
Thanks and look forward to booking next year!
The Brewers, Deans & Phillips'
Tornquist was a great place to stay, all the comforts of home pl
We had a great stay at Tornquist!! The staff at Outer Banks Blue were wonderful to work with, they helped us find just the right house. Tornquist was beautiful, it had all the comforts of home plus some extra. The kitchen was well stocked, the pool and hot tub were clean and very enjoyable after spending time on the beach. Tornquist is at a great location, just a short walk to the beach and bay and all the shops in Duck. We really enjoyed our vacation and would definitely recommend Tornquist to anyone!!
It was great to be at the beach
My family was so excited about taking our first "real" vacation in the last 20 years. When we arrived we all (including my grown children)were pressed against the door waiting to see our vacation home. Unfortunately the keycode did not work and disappointment reigned. It was but ten minutes when a lady stopped by to check that everything was in order and she could not get in either. She called a maintenance man and within 15 minutes he was there and opened the door. Hurray!!! We were very happy with the house, it was neat, and had everything we needed. Only down side was the beds definitely need to be replaced, you don't want to have "you know what in them" cause it would be heard in the next neighborhood!Otherwise, we were all happy, enjoyed the pool as much as the beach and hated to leave.
Great Family Vacation
Our stay was great. The house was very nice. We couldn't believe how close it was to the ocean. It's about a 3 min. walk (if that). The pool was nice for the adults and perfect for the kids. Shopping and great food were near by. We could walk and go shopping and not even take the car. The only issues we had was the floors were a little dirty when we arrived. I think the floor was vacuumed, just not under the couches. We've got little ones that found food and other stuff under the couches. The microwave was outdated and didn't heat very well, but hopefully that will be taken care of, and we saw the wireless router for the computer but were not able to log on due to a password issue. Outer Banks Blue called us back but we never were able to get the password. Other than those few things, our vacation was great and we miss the beach and the house a lot. Our 4 year old son still talks about the big house at the beach and he wants to buy it.
Spring City, PA
Great for families!!
We have now rented this house 6 years in a row -- we love it!! The location is fantastic -- walking distance to the beach as well as to the dock for kayaking and crabbing. The pool is awesome. Great assortment of DVD's and games for the whole family. We'll be back next year!
Wonderful vacation home!!
We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived and saw the house! It had every emenity that you could want and more. It was a perfect distance from the beach and we loved the pool!! The only short coming was the mattresses! We would definately recommend this beach house and will want to go back again!
FORT VALLEY, VIRGINIA
VERY NICE LOCATION
THE HOME HAD A FEW PROBLEMS WHEN WE ARRIVED. THE POOL HAD NOT BEEN CLEANED AT ALL. THE POOL COMPANY TOLD US THAT THEY WERE NOT TOLD THAT ANYONE WAS STAYING HERE. THE BASEMENT DOOR WAS LOCKED SO WE COULD NOT GET TO THE WASHER AND DRYER. THE OVER HAD A VERY STRONG SMELL WHEN WE TRIED TO USE IT, FILLED THE HOUSE WITH SMOKE AND SOMEONE HAD TO COME AND CLEAN OUT THE CLEANERS THAT WERE USED IN IT PRIOR TO US ARRIVING. THE MASTER BEDROOM UPSTAIRS, YOU COULD FEEL THE SPINGS IN THE BED, IT WAS VERY UNCOMFORTABLE. WE HAD TO PILE BLANKETS ON IT TO TRY TO MAKE IT MORE COMFORTABLE. THE AIR CONDITIONING WAS BROKEN AND WE HAD TO HAVE SOMEONE COME AND FIX THIS. WE WERE TOLD THAT IT HAD FREEZED UP BEFORE WE EVEN USED IT. THE JETS IN THE TUB IN THE UPSTAIRS BATHROOM WERE TURNED ON AND A BUNCH OF BLACK MATERIAL CAME FROM THE JETS AND INTO THE BATHTUB. THIS WE DID NOTHING FOR, JUST NEVER USED THE JETS AGAIN. THE BASKETBALL GOAL WAS NICE BUT THERE WERE SO MANY STICKERS OUT IN THE YARD BEHIND THE GOAL THAT THE TWO BASKETBALLS THAT WE BROUGHT WITH US BOTH WENT FLAT AS SOON AS WE USED THEM. THE DISTANCE TO THE BEACH WAS VERY NICE. WE ENJOYED HOW CLOSE IT WAS TO EVERYTHING.
Great House - Great Location
We really enjoyed our stay at the Tornquist. The house was within walking distance to the beach which was really convenient. We loved having a private pool and hot tub and the outside shower was a great feature (it even had hot water).
All in all, we had a great time and would highly recommend this house.
We had a fantastic time! This place is great if you enjoy privacy with your own private pool, tiki bar & TV as well as an AWESOME game room. Also, just a very short walk to the beach. We would definitely consider staying here again only after all of our friends heard how much of a great time we all had we are going to need a bigger house for next year!
Clean, Great location, Easy Walk to Beach
Our family (11 people) really enjoyed this vacation home. The house is very deceiving from the outside. The inside is very clean and in great condition.
The short walk to the beach was great for the kids and the adults.
We really enjoyed the wrap around decks at night for us to enjoy the wonderful views and weather.
Great location to shopping & the beach!