You'll find more than a pot of gold when you stay in this beautiful oceanfront retreat. Light and airy home with ocean views by day, romance under the stars by night. This home was designed with special attention to every detail and your every comfort in mind to make this your most memorable vacation ever. With a large Great Room, three master suites, and separate Den area there will be plenty of room for the entire family. Enjoy breathtaking views from the extensive decking like you have never seen before, lounge by the private pool or relax in the hot tub. An elevator allows easy access to each level and the private walkway provides easy ac...cess to the beach. This custom home will ensure a perfect vacation whether you enjoy fishing from the shore, catching some rays with friends and family, or taking a moonlit stroll along the beach with someone special. Amenities Include: Cen A/H, DW, MW, W/D, CATV's, VCR's, Stereo with CD Player, High Speed Internet Access, FP, CF, 25 x 10 private pool, Enc. O/S, Charcoal Grill, PCR, HC, BG, Deck Furniture. Ground Level: Enc. O/S. Level 1: Master bedroom with Queen and private bath, Bedroom with King, Bedroom with 2 Twins, Bedroom with 2 Twins, 2 full baths, Den Area. Level 2: Huge Master Bedroom with King and private bath, Master Bedroom with Queen and private bath, Half bath, Great Room, Kitchen, and Dining Area.
Additional amenities include: less than 500 yards, tennis, resort club, elevator, military discount.Read more
Very nice house, great location but cleanling and upkeep needs i
Left on 09/23/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | Ed D.
Very nice house, great location, great views. Layout of house is nice. Upkeep is lacking: handrails around the pool have been removed and the holes in the concrete not filled in; no battery in smoke detector; knob on grill missing; cable broken on internet router; light bulbs out; drain in MB clogged. Cleanliness an issue: mildew in shower, mold on drain plug; lots of dead bugs on walls; pool area dirty; air vents dirty. In the whole scheme of things, each item is relatively small but taken together they were annoying.
Left on 09/04/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | Claxton/Grizzard Family
Location is great, elevator saves many steps for seniors,pool very nice but needs hand rails to ease getting out of pool, especially for seniors. Nice new fridge but ice maker inadequate, doesn't work. Could use another fridge to accommodate food for large family's. Poison Ivy needs to be cleared from under the house. (one of our adult family got it on both arms this trip) Rats got into trash cans, suggest another trash can so the lids can close properly. Tub faucet on upper level leaks/drips all the time, could not turn it off.. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 09/26/2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and provide feedback on "Captain's Retreat". I’m happy the elevator worked out for your family members.
According to our maintenance records, the ice maker has been fixed, and I do see a work order has been scheduled to trim the vines. We are always happy to pass on guest comments and suggestions and will be sure to do so regarding pool hand rails and adding another trash can. Again, thank you for your time and we hope that you will vacation with us in the near future.
Left on 08/24/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | AvTrav2
A beautiful view, lots of room, and a great pool. Like most homes, the house could use a bit of T.L.C. but we had a great time staying on the beach!
Great location and affordable
Left on 08/19/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | Mike
Ocean front home with a great view at an affordable price. House needs a little TLC but with the ocean in your backyard you won't be spending alot of time in the house.
Location location location!!!
Left on 07/29/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | Scott
Had a wonderful vacation at Captain's retreat. While there were some flaws with the house (what house doesn't have some issues), overall it was perfect for our needs. Walkway to the beach was clear, as was the area around the pool. There are no rats at this house as was mentioned by some other review. There were signs of raccoons or some other critters but this is to be expected on the outer banks. Location is awesome. Nice short private walk to the beach. Relaxing by the pool was very nice as well, no infestation of ants as mentioned by others. Would certainly look at renting this house again next year.
Only issue that would make this place even better would be televisions in every room.
Jane and Lee Hendershot
So, So, experience in this home
Left on 07/08/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | Jane and Lee Hendershot
Upon arrival we noticed the upper section of the stairs at the front entrance of the house were broken. Housekeeping staff did their job of notifying the proper individual. No one came to the residence during the week to make any repairs.
The keyless lock system for the front door did not work.
The air conditioning system in two bedrooms on the second floor failed to cool the bedrooms.
The house has just 1 refrigerator and the ice maker does a poor job of making ice.
The vegetation along the walkway to the dune is growing onto the walkway and needs cut back. Additional steps should be added over the dune to access the beach. The dune is step and very difficult to cross.
The home does not have Tv's in all bedrooms. Other than that the furnishings within the home were adequate.
The decks, pool and hot tub were average for a home in this price range. I doubt if we would stay in this home again, without knowledge of the above mentioned issues being resolved. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 07/24/2013
Thank you for your review of "Captain's Retreat". Resort Realty does appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our service and our homes. We are sorry that you had these issues upon arrival at the house. Our maintenance records indicate a number of issues have been addressed. A copy of your review was forwarded to the homeowner. Thank you for booking your vacation with Resort Realty, and we hope to assist you in the near future.
Great week in wonderful house
Left on 07/03/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | Lin
Location was wonderful the house was very big and four families could spread out.
The keyless entry lock did not work and we had to wait awhile to be let in. But they changed the locks within an hour for us.
The walkway to beach was great but weeds were overgrown on to it.
Pat the Pirate
This is not a Resort Club Quality House and is not safe for fami
Left on 09/05/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | Pat the Pirate
This is not a safe house for families with children. House was very clean and reasonably organized. The property and the house have not been repaired properly or well maintained. I Will not rent this house again. The entire area including the walkways, driveway, sides of the house, and pool fence were overgrown with thistles, vines and poison ivy. Two very large black snakes (4 to 5 feet long)had to be removed from the sub-floor area of the house. The snakes were after the rats that were found in the floor of the house. Rats ate holes in a soft sided car top carrier. Lots of other animal droppings were found under the house. Queen size sofa sleeper in den was broken and unusable. Front stairs railing was rigged with bungee cords and not properly repaired. We have been renting on the Outer Banks for 10 years and this is the worst house we have had. This pool area was also overrun with ants because of all the vegetation. There were other minor problems with broken furniture & towel bars and lamps or light switches that did not work. The pool was not cleaned by the pool service so we cleaned it ourselves. The houses next to us were well kept and did not have the problems we found. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 09/12/2012
We are very sorry the home was a disappointment. Our records indicate that we were able to address your issues in a timely manner during the week, but this does not lessen the fact that there were issues that had to be dealt with. On behalf of Resort Realty we offer our sincere apologies to you and your family for any inconvenience these issues caused.
fabulous location but in need of a face lift.
Left on 08/17/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | mike
The noon check-in option is wonderful. The location and value of the home is superior however there are areas that require TLC. The interior of the house has drywall tape falling down and there are a few bedrooms with no TVs which can cause an issue at night. The kitchen counters and floor is in need of repair as well. The exterior deck and railing are in need of further repair as some areas have been replaced but the railing has nails popping and areas appeared unstable. The pool area has concrete in need of repair and no railing as they appear to have been cut down and the holes remain. The view, location, and value for a home on the beach is this house greatest attributes. I would recommend this home to both families as well as couples. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 11/19/2012
We want to thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Many of them have been addressed, and more will be repaired by the owner during the winter. On a positive note, we are glad you did not let these issues keep you from having a wonderful vacation and enjoying the fabulous location of this beach front property.
Again, thank you for submitting your review, and we hope to see you on the beach.
Left on 07/12/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | Kim Conway
We needed our pool cleaned mid-week and it was done promptly. House was very nice and clean and comfortable for 10 people! Access to the beach wonderful and close to Duck for bike riding! Would recommend to anyone!!
Left on 06/14/2012 for a stay in May 2012 | Teresa Izor
The view of the ocean was great! The kitchen was well equipped. The pool and hot tub were very nice. Accessability to the ocean was very convenient. There were plenty of beach chairs for the ocean and around the pool. The deck was very nice. The house was well cleaned by the friendly and helpful staff member. Having the elevator was very useful with the elderly ones in our party.
Sandy, Family and Friends
Time to reconnect and relax
Left on 10/29/2011 for a stay in October 2011 | Sandy, Family and Friends
Our week at Captain's Retreat was special in affording us a wonderful place to gather, catch up and relax with friends and family we don't see on a regular basis. The house was very comfortable but would suggest another refrigerator (we used coolers to keep some foods). The staff at Resort Realty, especially the housekeeping staff, are the best. We really hated to leave this comfortable house with its wonderful ocean views.
Fun with Friends
Left on 08/30/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | April
The house was a nice size, clean and functioned well for a group our size. I was disappointed that you couldn't see the beach out front due to the large dune. And because of the large dune, the pool felt like it was set down in a "hole". We spent no time at the pool because there wasn't a breeze and your view at the pool was of the privacy fence all around it.
Fort Wayne, IN
Fun, Fun, Fun
Left on 07/14/2011 for a stay in June 2011 | Gillie Clan
We have been coming to the Outer Banks for nine (9) years. This was our first to Duck. All 14 of us (from 1 to 91) had a wonderful week. Everything was perfect. The weather, the house, Duck and the neighborhood pier where we went crabbing. Easy access to everything from food, shopping and great water activities. Great bike and jogging trails, too. It was a fun week. We're heading back next year and can't wait. Thank you!
Everything I could have hoped for and more!
Left on 06/07/2011 for a stay in May 2011 | Cheryl
Captains Retreat was everything I could have hoped for and more. The location of the house was perfect - Duck is more quite and residenial and not so commercial and I was looking for a place to relax and rest, Yet shopping was very convenient. The house was beautiful. I had my husband who is wheelchair bound and my 88 year old mother and the elevator made the complete house accessible to them. The master suite gave my husband and I privacy from the rest of the family and was like a separate retreat. The amenities including the ocean view, the pool, hot tub, and all the features in the house made this a perfect family retreat. Resort Realty was terrific to work with. We had a problem with the stove and service personnel were there first thing in the morning and the next day a new stove was delivered. That is what I call service. Being a "Resort" property made check in and out a breeze. It is hard to pick one thing I liked best because it ws the perfect vacation retreat and we hope to return to Captain's Retreat again in the future.
Left on 06/03/2011 for a stay in May 2011 | Perfect Vacation
everything was great. We had a couple of issues we discovered with the air conditioning and also the gas grill but were both taken care of within hours. Must say as far as customer service goes yours was the best we have ever experience in out 11 years of coming to the Outer Banks.
Left on 09/20/2010 for a stay in September 2010 | Great Location
If traveling to this area again, I would rent this home.
Glen Allen, VA
We had a comfortable and lovely time.
Left on 09/08/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | Grandmother
Cottage has comfortable beds, and nice bathrooms. Wish there was a half bath on bottom level by pool. But that is just a wish with small, wet, children around. Plenty of room and convenient kitchen...Nice to see the deck getting some new wood. Views are great and outside decks are delightful. Appreciated the extra deck furniture.We really love the elevator.
Great time in Tuckahoe
Left on 08/10/2009 for a stay in August 2008 | Judy
Service as excellent as always. We liked the easy access to the beach and really
enjoyed the pool and hot tub. Home was very nice. The only thing that would
improve it is if it had a pool table or air hockey--something to do on a rainy
day. Other than that it was great. And we like being able to check in at noon.
Home needs repairs
Left on 08/05/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | lovingobx
The house is nice but needs repairs. The window in the stove was shattered, the refrigerator was broken and the hot tub was broken. According to thje guest book these items had been broken for a few weeks and never repaired. The outside decks had nails popping up all over and the railing was loose. There were no potholders for cooking.
The house is very nice but needs to be maintained.
VERNON NEW YORK
NOT A GOOD TIME THIS YEAR
Left on 07/30/2009 for a stay in October 2008 | KATHYRIDDLE
THE HOUSE WAS NICE, BUT THE POOL WAS VERY DIRTY
AND THE HOT TUB STOPED WORKING BY TUESDAY AND WE CALLED RESORT TO REPORT THESE THINGS BUT NO ONE
CAME OUT TO FIX OR CLEAN THE POOL.
THE BEDS WERE VERY VERY HARD AND WE COULDN'T GET A
GOOD NIGHTS REST ALL WEEK, THE WALK WAY TO THE BEACH
WAS VERY HARD TO WALK ON CUZ OF ALL THE SAND, NO ONE CLEARED OFF THAT AREA AT ALL. I GUESS THE ONLY THING GOOD WAS THE LOCATION. WE LEFT TO COME HOME ON
FRIDAY NOT SAT, SO FOR THE $$$$ WE SPENT FOR A WEEK THERE WASN'T WORTH IT AT ALL. SORRY, ITS GONNA BE
A LONG TIME FOR US TO BE COMING BACK TO OBX AND
WE HAVE BEEN GOING THERE FOR YEARS AND NOW I THINK WE WILL BE STAYING AWAY FOR A WHILE, PLUS I CAN'T GET OVER HOW MUCH EVERYTHING HAS GOTTEN TO BE DOWN THERE, ALMOST DOUBLE IN ALOT OF STUFF TO DO DOWN THERE, TO BAD,,,
A Good Week in Duck
Left on 07/21/2009 for a stay in June 2007 | Marsha Luff
We loved the location in Duck, and being right on the ocean was wonderful.
The home was a good fit for our family.
great view, nice layout but needs some renovations
Left on 07/20/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | weekatthebeach
the home is in great location and has great views. the layout was nice. the decking and walkway to the beach are in dire need of renovating. there are nail pops everywhere and the wood is rotting. the deck is not safe and if someone were to lean to hard i could see it breaking and the person falling 2 stories.
North Lima, Ohio
Nice but could have been better
Left on 07/17/2009 for a stay in June 2009 | Diane Spalding
Our stay was nice but the decking needs attention. I had to pull out splinters DAILY in many people's feet!!! And with a 2 week stay, to get a new batch of linens midway through was a HUGE hassle. I called the first tues., friday and early sat. to make sure we were not overlooked and low and behold I was arguing for them come 4:30 pm sat.. This was a non-issue b/c it was stated in the contract and I was "threatened" to be charged!!! I have reserved another house with your company and give you another try...shame on you if this happens next year. In my ten years visiting OBX I have never had problems until now with your company. Please become familiar with your contracts.
Stay away until repairs are made!!!
Left on 07/16/2009 for a stay in June 2008 | Patricia
The house was nice and had many things going for it. It is located on a nice quiet street. If our experience with safety and the lack of attention or concern shown us had been different, this may have become the house we would have wanted for our annual retreat. Upon arrival, we reported a post missing from the lower porch or covered balcony. A repairman came and took care of it after another call. We, at the time, were a family with four children whose ages were two, three, five and six. Apparently, the repairman did not check any of the other spokes for a few days later, the five year old almost fell from the top deck when one came loose. This was reported along with serious urging on my part to please do something about it....NOTHING was done and no compensation was offered in any way. I wonder if the home owner was ever told. If the posts had been nailed on the inside of the rail perhaps they would provide a stronger support. Being told about extreme weather did nothing to console us for a near tragedy.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.