Perched high on a rise, great ocean views and enchanting sea breezes will bring you back to this lovely home year after year. Enjoy the cozy furnishings and lots of decking to accommodate the sun worshipers. There is also plenty of room to relax in the shade and read that perfect book. If you would like to fit in a round of golf, this home is a K Club Member offering special golf rates, privileges and access to Kilmarlic Golf Club (the premier Golf Course on the Outer Banks). Guests are encouraged to reserve tee times well in advance of their arrival. For more infoClick Here http://www.kclubobx.comEverything you need for a wonderful vacati...on you will find here at Cobb Station. Distance to the beach: Approximately 233 yardsAmenities Include: Cen A/H, DW, W/D, MW, IM, CATV, VCR, DVD Player, Stereo w/ CD Player, CF, Furn. Decks, Enc. O/S, BBQ, Picnic Table, Play Pen, Beach Chairs, Fish Cleaning Table. Ground Level: Entry, BR w/ 2Bnks w/ TV/DVD, Bath, Laundry Room. Level 1: Entry, BR w/ 2T w/ TV and deck access, MBR w/K w/Full Bath and TV, Hall Full Bath, BR w/Q w/ TV/VCR and deck access. Swing on oceanside deck. Level 2: Living Area, Dining Area, Kitchen, Half Bath.
Additional amenities include: floor plans available, hometown hero discount, non-smoking, military discount, no pets, golf access home: kc, less than 500 yards.Read more
Left on 08/08/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | TwillsmomNP
Cobb Station is a house in need of updating and a thorough cleaning. When we arrived at the house, we noticed that the kitchen counters had dried food in the grooves between the tiles. Forks had food stuck between tines and glasses were dirty. When we used the dishwasher, the glasses ended up with food stuck in the bottom of them because there was so much food in the bottom of the dishwasher. Pots and pans were also dirty. The cabinets and drawers need replacing as well as they do not close smoothly. The kitchen is very cluttered with more dishes/pots/tupperware than needed and no space to store dry goods.
The house is attractively decorated, but the carpet needs replacing and has a wet/moldy smell. Furniture in the living room is pretty worn out.
On the positive side, there is lots of beautiful outdoor deck space with great views of both the sound and the ocean. It's an easy walk to the beach in a quiet neighborhood with about a 2 mile walk to town. The house is spacious and the master bath, which has been updated, is very nice.
I hope we will return to Duck someday, but I would not choose this house due to its condition. I think the pictures on the website were taken about 15 yrs ago and don't reflect the current state of the house. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 09/03/2013
Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent vacation with Resort Realty. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the decks and location, but it is disappointing to learn that you were not satisfied with the level of cleanliness a the home. Please call us if you ever arrive and are disappointed in the cleanliness of the property you've rented. Our housekeeping department will gladly send someone to the property to clean more efficiently. We have forwarded the information you supplied to our housekeeping department and to the homeowners for their consideration and information. We hope you will return to the Outer Banks and give us an opportunity to assist you in your vacation needs.
Great layout, weird smell
Left on 07/11/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | km
We stayed in this property two years ago and loved it so much we came back. We are two families of four. The layout of the house is great. We especially love the top floor living area open plan, round dining table and views of the ocean and sound. Proximity to the beach is great.
That said, when we arrived, there were so many air fresheners, both plug in and table top kind, we could barely breathe. I'm not exaggerating. We counted at least 10. We finally tracked all of them down and disabled them. However, by the next day, the reason for the site fresheners became apparent. A musty, sour smell sits on the second floor. It is quite unpleasant and seems to come from the carpet or maybe the air vents. It think we will not rent here again
Perfect vacation homenfor my family!
Left on 06/24/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | Jennifer B
Renting from Resort Realty was a breeze and they were kind, calm, amd professional. The updated kitchen and master bath were wonderful! The walk to the beach was very short and the home had one of the best ocean and sound views on the street, even from inside! The only downside to the home was that the basement door was very difficult to lock and unlock, otherwise it was a perfect home!
Great cottage...amazing views!
Left on 08/27/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | KB
We were very pleased with both the home and Resort Realty...we are returning next year!
Needs some TLC
Left on 08/12/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | Canucks
This is an older home in a great location - a 3 min walk to the beach! It has nice views and the main living space on upper floor is spacious and comfortable. Decks are nice. Master bedroom is spacious. However this home needs a thorough cleaning, decluttering and some updating.
We were disappointed that some of the issues raised by other renters/reviewers had not been dealt with prior to our arrival despite the fact we emailed Resort Realty to ask if the issues had been fixed but received no response. Some of the issues we encountered: very dirty carpets, strong musty smell on mid and lower levels ( despite numerous air fresheners), dirty windows and blinds, broken blinds, a showers head that did not work, all the entrance door locks were difficult to open, outdoor shower did not work, all closet doors were broken, overabundance of extra pillows in the closets which were all old and filthy, and a lack of/and poor quality of blankets.
We did report the shower problem to Resort Realty and were pleased by the same day response from the maintenance team who also proactively fixed one of the entrance locks during their service call.
Overall, the home was OK value for the money - you get what you pay for! We probably wouldn't stay at Cobb Station again but would recommend this home to those on a modest budget who place more importance on location than luxurious and modern accommodations. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 08/23/2012
Thank you for your detailed review of Cobb Station. I am disappointed to learn that the home was not very clean. This issue has been addressed with the housekeeping department. I am also very sorry to hear that you did not recieve a response to your email. I wish I was able to look into that further. We will send your comments to the homeowner and suggest that they do what they can to remedy these items in the off season. I am happy to hear that you received a timely response regarding the shower problem.
We value your time in providing us with this feedback. Thank you for choosing Resort Realty, and we hope your next visit to the Outer Banks will be more pleasant.
Left on 07/03/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | amanda
The first night we were there my son ripped open his foot on a nail sticking up on the deck. After that incident there were many more times we found the deck to be quite hazardous with nails. The blinds in the house were all broken or didn't work so getting light in the house was difficult. The locks were all old on both the entrances and the sliding doors and had to be played with quite a bit to get them open and shut. There was an odd smell downstairs the entire time we stayed that never went away. In previous houses we had a place to put the car in shade and out of the rain where in this house the garage was locked and there was no covered porch to park under. The outside shower had no water pressure at all and we had to get a hammer to pry open the rusted door lock only to find that we couldn't shower outside anyways. We ended up using the outside hose which is not our preference after coming back from the beach sand covered. Both the bathrooms on the second floor were tiny and the master shower was very small as well. We are not big people but had trouble manuevering around in them. The distance to the beach was nice and the neighborhood was pleasant and quiet. The gutter also smacked and rattled against the house constantly and kept us awake at night. This house just seems to be old and need some maintenance and upkeep. We won't be renting it again. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 07/27/2012
We are sorry your vacation was not as pleasant as it could have been because of the issues you had with this home. Many of the items you mentioned have already been addressed by our maintenance staff and the owner. This is one of the older homes in our rental program, however the owner does make changes and improvements every year.
Thank you for taking the time to respond to our survey. Your comments will be sent to the owner so they can continue to improve this home.
Much needed vacation
Left on 06/14/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | OBX Lover
Let me start by saying I have been coming to the OBX since I was a baby. I have come with my parents/ family all those years. This is the first time I have taken my own family and this was the perfect house. It wasn't one of those massive mansions that sleeps 30. But it was large enough for a large family. We only had 4 people but it was perfect since my children are young and we all were able to sleep on the same level. The living and dining areas are lovely. The multiple porch levels and views were perfect and had plenty of seating. Being 6 homes from the beach, the view of the beach was amazing. Sunrise from the master suite was breathtaking. But you also had great views of the sound and the great OBX sunsets. My only big complaint is that some of the bathrooms could use some updates. The main 2nd floor tub did have a leak while we were there. Which is an issue with 2 little ones who require baths (not showers). But maintenance was there within 24 hours to fix it. Also there ware hallway air fresheners that were a little over powering in the small hallways. We had to unplug them (allergic to the scents). I rather enjoy the smells of the beach and prefer to have those odors take over the home. But overall we loved our stay at Cobb Station. Wish we could have stayed a few more days!
Our special place
Left on 07/21/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | Smith-Swan-Wright Clan
We've been staying at Cobb Station off and on for 20 years. Our kids were itty bitty and now they are all grown up. But they still come with us to stay at Cobb Station every other year. It reminds us of the way cottages used to be: warm, cozy, stocked with old board games and puzzles, silverware and dishes that don't all match, geared as much for living outside as inside. Over the years, the Cobbs have added bells and whistles (linen service, wifi and free chairs/umbrella are especially nice), yet overall it retains it's original charm. We'll be back . .
Mom of 4
Satisfied - a good first trip to OBX
Left on 06/24/2011 for a stay in June 2011 | Mom of 4
We booked this home based on price and proximity to the ocean, and for those too things, we were very satisfied. The house met our needs, although as mentioned in another review, the bathrooms for the master and 2nd and 3rd bedrooms were quite small. We live in a tight space ourselves so were used to it, but may be uncomfortable for individuals of larger size.
The views from the upper deck were wonderful and the kitchen and living area had more than enough space to accomodate our party of 8. The beach was within easy walking distance and we carried quite a bit each day with ease. Our small children (4 of them, ages 2 - 7) were able to walk each day and carry their own items without trouble. A previous review mentioned a "big hill"; while there is an incline, I would not call it a "big hill". Again, the little legs in our party were able to handle it each day without complaint so do not let that deter you.
We did notice a little leak coming into the basement when the bathtub was used, but it was not the "rushing water" another reviewer mentioned. Overall, we were satisfied with the property and our experience with Resort Realty. The house was clean, ready on time, and presented as described. We would rent with Resort again.
Left on 06/23/2011 for a stay in June 2011 | James Lehman
Cobb Station is located just a short walk to the beach. The house is a little worn, but we expected that for the price. Resort Realty was excellent to work with. We made a maitenance request and it was taken care of the same day. The house was in a convenient location to shops and the beach. For the price you can't beat it.
Been going to OBX for 25 years!
Left on 09/03/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | Been going to OBX for 25 years!
We really loved Cobb Stations view, location decor and house layout. It was great for a family of 8 with plenty of room.
Unfortunately it was very dirty when we arrived. We had to clean the floors because there was still sand and dirt in the bathrooms and kitchen. The plumbing was also a big issue. When our Grandmother went to take a bath in the hall bath on the second floor, water went to the bottom floor ( A lot!). Upon inspection, it was not the first time this had happened. The ice maker leaked all over the kitchen which we called maintenance for as well. And finally the toilet in the master bathroom is completely crooked, hard to sit on for anyone, especially older guests.
One positive is that we accidentally locked ourselves out very late one evening and your assistant property manager helped us. We were pleasantly surprised by his good nature and the good nature of all the employees that we have met at Resort Realty.
Although there were many positives, unless the home was cleaned better and the plumbing was fixed (there were jokes throughout the week that the toilet/shower may fall in) we would not recommend this home.
Left on 09/03/2009 for a stay in August 2009 | Africa
Cobb Station is a warm, inviting home with lots of deck views, offering sun and shade. We were very happy with the home and the location and look forward to hopefully staying there again. Resort Realty offered a friendly and helpful service.
perfect for 4
Left on 08/04/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | Lauren
The house overall was perfect for our size family of 4. Great master bedroom and great access to decks from each bedroom. The views from the top decks were wonderful. Nicely decorated. The walk to the beach was not bad at 700 feet going downhill. At the end of the day going uphill was not as easy. We would definitely rent this home again.
Wonderful place to gather our family!
Left on 07/16/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | Lynn
Resort Realty was very helpful in setting up our family vacation in this home. We found Cobb Station to be very comfortable and attractively decorated, and the owners seem to have supplied anything you might need. It is set nice and high, so you have views of both the ocean and the sound from the extensive deck areas. It was just a short stroll to the beach and an easy bike ride into the village. I loved the artwork ... it all appeared to be original! I also loved the living area, which was bright and spacious, and the kids sleeping area downstairs ... a great retreat for the kids to get away from the adults! There were a few problems I would advise future renters to consider and make sure are rectified before signing the rental lease. First, there were no bedspreads on any of our beds, and the blankets provided weren't very nice (one was even quite dirty) so we couldn't make our beds look and feel very welcoming. I like a neat, well-made bed during the day, and that wasn't possible. I couldn't find any bedspreads, even though I saw them in the photos. We didn't like this at all. Second, while the decking is plentiful, there were quite a few nails sticking up and one of our children cut his foot on a nail head (so my husband was correct in packing that first-aid kit I didn't think we'd need!) If we'd had a hammer, we'd have gladly just pounded them down, but we couldn't enjoy being barefoot on the otherwise nice decks because there were so many of these nails sticking up. The home was otherwise very well maintained. The final concern wasn't a problem for us, but it could be for someone else. I would recommend that very large people or those that need space in their bathrooms look for something else, as the master bath is very small and wouldn't be easy to move around in. Despite these issues, and especially considering the price, I would absolutely recommend this home. Thank you!!!
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.