With the ocean at your feet and the unbeatable ocean views you will be swept away. Enjoy the oceanside pool and deck side hot tub. Every room in this oceanfront cottage shows careful attention to casual comfort and is a great place to relax and refresh. Featuring a separate loft with panoramic views, large bedrooms, and a generous dining table are just a few of the amenities which allow you to be surrounded with total vacation enjoyment. Private walkway to the beach. Amenities Include: Cen A/H, CATV, VCR, DVD Player, DW, Video Library, Stereo w/ CD Player, Wet Bar, CF, HC, PCR, Ship's Watch, BBG, Fish Cleaning Table, Deck Furn., Walkway to be...ach w/ Dune Top Deck, 12x22 Private Pool, Hot Tub. Ground Level: Carport, O/S. Level 1: MBR w/K and full bath and flat screen CATV, BR w/ Q and T, Hall Full Bath, BR w/ 2Bnks and flat screen CATV, Laundry. Level 2: Living Area, Dining Area, Kitchen, BR w/ 2T, Hall Full Bath, BR w/ Q and T.
Additional amenities include: partials allowed, less than 500 yards, hometown hero discount, military discount.Read more
Thank you for taking the time to supply the owner with suggestions for improvements. We will pass along this information to them to see what we can do on updated for the up coming season.
Great views...nice house
Left on 07/14/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | beachlover
Stayed 7/6/13 - 7/13/13. Resort Realty was great to work with. The house was ready when we crossed the bridge at noon so we were able to get in right away. Keyless entry is great but you still have to go to the office to check-in and get the code, but no keys to carry all week! House layout is as follows: First floor - laundry room (dryer does not dry well, but works)with mini fridge, hall full bath, bunk room (2 bunks), king master bedroom with full bath (bath can be accessed through hall also if you want to)facing ocean, Queen bedroom with single bed also, facing ocean. Second floor - queen bedroom w/ single bed (mattress is horrible on queen bed- needs replaced), 2 single beds bedroom, hall full bath, kitchen, loft, living room. There is only one refrigerator which is not enough for a house that sleeps 12 people, so we had to shop multiple times throughout the week, just a minor inconvienience. Kitchen is well equipped. Hot tub on first floor deck looking towards ocean very nice, deck furniture is adequate. Pool is very nice, pool furniture is adequate. Dune walkway and dune top deck is great, only 20 steps from pool to sand. Outside shower is very nice. Some things in this house need addressed some I have already mentioned. Queen mattress in second floor bedroom needs replaced very badly. Ice maker in fridge does not work, maintenance man tried to fix but could not. Resort Realty responded very quickly to all of our concerns. Hopefully Resort Realty and the owner will fix the ice maker and replace the mattress. House is dated as in wood paneling in halls and some rooms. The price for the view far outweighs any of the trivial things that were lacking. This house is a gem for the price. Would definately recommend for anyone to rent.
Left on 04/10/2013 for a stay in March 2013 | Frank
Spectacular views abound from this property but thats where it ended.The kitchen stove rings were filthy,the carpet had stains,the furniture was breaking down,the upstairs queen bed mattress sagged to the middle,window screens were torn or missing, and the portable domed lid grill had one wheel falling off.I responded to the rental companys evaluation request and never heard anything back. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 05/03/2013
We are very sorry you had some concerns and thank you for bringing them to our attention. We always welcome calls from our guests and the opportunity to provide a timely resolution to requests. The owner of this home has also been made aware of your comments. Again, thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We hope you will return to the Outer Banks and give us an opportunity to assist you in your vacation needs.
Dirty house, great location.
Left on 10/05/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | D
First of all.. the location was terrific! Right on the beach, on a cul-du-sac, with a nice pool for the kids. Duck is a wonderful little town, we've been going for years and will continue to do so.
Secondly, this house was dirty, smelly, and not well taken care of. Looks (and smells) like there was/is a mold issue that the owners didnt fix and tried to cover up. The wood-paneled walls in one of the downstairs bedroom were actually buckled. There are air freshners hidden everywhere, trying to mask the smell. The house is a vacation property, not someones house, and feels like it has seen better days. The cleaning service they use does not do a good job, and we arrived to find the shower curtains covered in mold, spiders and bugs everywhere (which was fun for my sons), and the kitchen dishes put away (but still wet) in the cupboard. The floors were used and dirty, and we insisted our children where socks while inside the house.
We will not stay here again, despite the terrific location and views.
Thank you for taking the time to bring these various issues to our attention. We do care about customer satisfaction and always welcome any comments or suggestions our guests have. We have made our staff and homeowner aware of these issues so that they will be resolved.
On behalf of Resort Realty, we offer our sincere apologies to you and your family for any inconvenience these issues may have caused.
Left on 09/06/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | Reese
I love staying at this house. The location is awesome and the house is just the right size.
I wish that the owners would hang the "Darkwing Duck" sign back up. It was part of the charm.
The house is cabin like inside...convenient location...awesome o
Left on 08/01/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | Lori
Darkwing Duck looks better in person, than in the pictures. It's not big, but very comfortable. The layout is nice...two bedrooms upstairs and three downstairs. The pool was wonderful and only steps to the beach... a private walkway was a real plus. The hot tub was also very enjoyable. The interior decorating was adequate...not fancy at all. A couple of downsides... no televisions in the upstairs bedrooms. The tv in the only family area was very small, with only 2 dvd's in the library. Really no games to play either. The upstairs bedroom with the double bed was sinking in the middle and very uncomfortable.
Our first vacation in the Outer Banks was wonderful at Darkwing
Left on 07/12/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | Beach Lover
The five-bedroom Darkwing Duck was wonderfully comfortable for five couples. The elevated sun room on the top floor was great to have coffee and watch early morning dolphins make their way up and down the beach. The home had a great pool, hot tub and beach frontage with just a few steps to the beach. The service we received from Resorts Realty couldn't have been better and included a free round of golf per day (a $100 value each day,) two free beach chairs and a much-needed umbrella (it was hot!) The golf courses in the area were very nice and the free daily round at Seascape was a great perk for the five golfers in our group. The house and decks were laid out perfectly for socializing and relaxing. A great vacation and wonderful first experience!
Comfortable home +convenient pool +easy beach access +an amazing
Left on 07/06/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | Wanda
We had concerns based on reviews we read the day before our vacation, but a quick call to Resort Realty reassured me that all was well with Darkwing Duck...and it was! The home is comfortably furnished-not fancy, which is ok with us since we have 2 under the age of 4 in our crowd. Both kids and adults enjoyed the pool. The kitchen is adequately stocked with a good sized pantry for storing your own supplies. I love the location-it's a nice little walk to the shops, etc. in Duck. The beach is wonderful and just past the pool area. It's perfectly situated for families with small children. Some previous guests left 2 dirty pans unwashed but stored in cabinets, but the house itself was clean. My only complaint would be that I would prefer to be able to leave without vacuuming at the end of my vacation but maybe that's just me being mellow after a good week at the beach!
just need a few extras
Left on 06/27/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | TF
Wi-fi is an absolute must in a vacation home, especially in this day...most other rentals have wi-fi. we won't rent this property in the future because of this. other thoughts - the house needs some personal touches stuff on the walls, books, etc...it really seemed like the owner was the realty company. also, needs a good bug cleaning - we had to kill way too many spiders in the house, especially the second floor. exiting the stairs to the bottom level was scarry as there are millions of spiders and their webs. a big plus of keyless entry is not having to go to the realty company prior to driving to the house...other realty companies email the code or you can call in for the keyless entry code - big minus that we had to drive up to your office. other than that, great location! Thanks, Resort realty! Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 07/27/2012
Thank you for taking the time to respond. Our maintenance managers have been made aware of the bug/spider issue at this home and plan to address it. We were glad to hear that you did like the keyless entry, however, you would like the code emailed to you. We will make that recommendation to our administrative staff.
Again, thank you for your comments.
sugarcreek , ohio
once in a lifetime
Left on 06/14/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | joe
walked thru cobwebs to go to main floor, ac wasn't working, called the office,they came out that afternoon,we had a fox living in the dense brush around the pool,had trouble with the hot tub, when we left the house was cleaner then when we got there.if we go again probably not stay at this house. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 07/27/2012
Thank you for taking the time to fill out the review. We are sorry that you encountered problems with the property you rented. We do strive to offer our properties in their best condition and as you saw, we do respond as quickly as we can when there are problems. We hope that you will stay with us again at Resort Realty.
This home is not ready for the season
Left on 05/25/2012 for a stay in May 2012 | great cats
First, I would like to separate Resort Realty from this house, although one wonders why a management company would represent a home in this condition.
We booked a 3 week stay, just before memorial day weekend. The town was awash in gardners, pool people, cleaners, etc. Not true at Darkwing Duck!
Picture yourself in Goodwill, circa 1975-fast forward to today; not much has changed with the decor, furniture and kitchen equipment!
Looked like nothing had been done to this property since the end of last season. Most things in the property are old, missing broken or in disrepair.
Carpets were filty; had not been cleaned.
Fleas, rat infestation in storage area, broken ice maker, rusty and dirty bbq,no air conditing upstairs,dirty bathrooms, pool and hot tub were not serviced. There was a birds nest on the deck with lots of droppings, further evidence that no one had been there during our visit.
This home has a luxury package, which provides sheets and bed making. That's great! Unfortunately, the blankets are mostly threadbare. You really don't want to touch the bedding if you have any type of allergies-very dirty and dusty.
During the visit, the water was turned off to the house, and the hot water heater sprung a leak. The garbage can was rusty with a wheel missing; no deck furniture, except one old wooden chair and a picnic table with lots of wear.
The management company tried and did remedy some of these issues. However, I run a real estate and property management business. This is what I was trying to avoid-not be plunged into a horrible situation.
If you look through past reviews, which I did not do before I booked the house, you will find that many of these issues have existed for years.
We left tired and in need of a vacation. I would not recommend this property unless you would like something a step up from camping in a good location. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 06/01/2012
We apologize your vacation was not as pleasant as it should have been and we understand your frustration. Resort Realty strives for quality vacations and we acknowledge several issues of fleas, pipe leak at HWH and water turn off at house were unpredictable. Our Rental Management team has spoken with the owner about several needs within the house. Resort Realty’s technicians attempt to resolve reported issues. One technician did deliver a charcoal grill to the house.
Again, please accept our sincere apologies. We hope the owner’s refund and Resort’s credit off a future reservation helps with the inconveniences. We do appreciate your business.
Left on 10/07/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | Larry/Pam Urban
After vacationing annually in the Duck/Corolla area for approximately 15 years, this was one of the best places to stay for a vacation.
The service of checking in was easy. The coded lock on the main entrance is a good idea. Personally, I like to have a pass-card or key.
All of the rooms were presentable and clean. Exception: door lock leading to the carport was inoperable and master bathroom, the ice maker was not working, some cob webs in the corners of rooms, the deck furniture is beginning to wear.
The location of the house is exceptional. The view and short walk to the beach was great. The distance to the local shops was within walking distance or short drive.
The week of stay was wonderful and we plan to return for another stay.
We Love Duck...but not Darkwing Duck.
Left on 07/05/2011 for a stay in June 2011 | Brady
The house was just not up to expectations. We love OBX and love Duck and this was our second year in a row staying in Duck. The location was great. Oceanfront can't be beat! The pool was nice for the kids. That's about all the good things we have to say. The house is up "For Sale" and it appears the owners have already forgotten about it. The decor (what little there was) was very dated. The family room/living room was very small and did not accomodate our family very well. The DVD player did not work. The interior paint, woodwork, lighting, vents, doors, etc are in desperate need of update and replacement! The ice machine in the refridgerator did not work and the fridge itself never got that cold. The Tv's in the Br's are from the 80's and the bathrooms need updated as well. The exterior of the home was nice. The wood siding and trim had nice paint finish. The decks were OK. The walkway to the beach had some long nails that we had to pound down so we didn't get our feet caught. The outside furniture was all broken except the picnic table. The pool furniture was cheap plastic and broken! The halfwall around the pool is starting to decay a bit from the bottom and is allowing sand to blow under and in to the pool leaving it full of sand for the week. Our family had a wonderful vacation together and we all absolutely love the OBX but would never stay here again unless the house gets sold and the new owners give it the TLC it deserves! Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 07/21/2011
We are sorry that your stay at Darkwing Duck was not as pleasant as you have liked because of the various maintenance issues you encountered. We want to thank you for taking the time to bring these issues to our attention. It is comments for our guests that help us keep our homeowners apprised of the condition of their home.
We have made our maintenance and housekeeping staff aware of these issues and they have been addressed.
Again, thank you for taking the time to review this home.
Nice location, medicore house
Left on 06/24/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | NA
The house was nice and the location good. But many items in the house were broken and the kitchen was very poorly stocked. The beds were old, hard, lumpy, and very uncomfortable.
Simple and perfect
Left on 06/17/2010 for a stay in May 2010 | Beach lover
The house is on the older side and in need of some updates, but the location could not be beat. Steps to the beach and a fabulous pool.
Great location, but house, pool, decks,need some care.
Left on 06/16/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | Sandra
Upon arrival at Darkwing Duck we found debris and a slimy film in pool; sand on sofas in house, sand on carpets, sunflower seeds on floor in shipswatch and cigarette butt under dresser in a bedroom, kitchen ceiling fan had a coating of black, greasy dust on it. Resort Realty promptly sent someone to reclean house and to clean pool. It seems that pool has a leak so the skimmers were turned off. After our call the skimmers were turned on, but during the week we had to watch water level and refill pool with garden hose. There were two old wooden lounge chairs for poolside with one missing slats;we did find two plastic chairs in the garden shed. The deck furniture was old and falling apart--not what one would expect at an oceanfront beach home in Duck. This property is for sale and thus it appears that the owner is not interested in maintaining the property to its potential. The house was certainly adequate for our needs but nevertheless a disappointment. Check in and check out with Resort Realty was fast and easy. We did appreciate their very prompt response to our calls for recleaning house and pool. We also called them on our third day there about a clogged tub drain, and they were also very quick to get maintenance to the house. This house has great beach access and we did enjoy the views and proximity to beach.
Dark Wing Duck
Left on 01/13/2010 for a stay in November 2009 | Mike
Very pleasurable stay in a wonderful community! Any issues we had were addressed quickly. Perfect get-away!
Great ocean view !
Left on 10/08/2009 for a stay in September 2009 | email@example.com
Great home location. The house is up for sale so not much attention to the Big details. Patio and pool furniture in very poor condition, broken by pool and on decks with rusty nails pertruding and no one from maintenance came to remove or fix. If you are going to be at the beach all day this was a great home. Majority of windows did not have screens, so even though it was perfect weather to open windows and not use A/C couldn't because the house filled up with flies the 1st night. Bedding/kitchen furnishings great. We would return if we KNEW the weather was going to be PERFECT so we could be on the beach. Otherwise we wouldn't want to be confined to the house/pool/deck area due to some BIG imperfections.
Maryland Beach Lover
Left on 08/04/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | Maryland Beach Lover
Darkwing Duck is a great house right on the ocean; it was within walking distance of Duck; we enjoyed the hot tub and private pool; the living room was a little small but other than that it was just great!
Came back to a good thing
Left on 07/16/2009 for a stay in August 2008 | toadybear
We have tried four different houses in the area and we always come back to Darkwing Duck. The location and view are excellent. We have several children with us and the house is perfect for them. The worse complaint we had was with a broken gate near the pool.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.