The Beach House
|Minimum Stay||7 nights|
Suitable for childrenYes
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Relax and enjoy this nicely furnished home tucked away in Schooner Ridge. The vaulted ceiling in the great room allows the sunlight to create a light and airy atmosphere. Just steps away from the indoor pool, tennis court and health club. Your family will want to return to this vacation home year after year. Distance to the beach: Approximately 699 yardsAmenities Include: Cen A/H, DW, MW, W/D, 4 CATV's, VCR, DVD, CD Stereo, Phone, HC, Full Size Crib, Wet Bar, Jacuzzi, CF in all bedrooms, Porch Furniture, Grill, Video and book Library, Den. Ground Level: Enc O/S. Level 1: BR w/T and PymBnk, Conn Bath, BR w/Q, Laundry, BR w/Q, Conn Bath. Leve...Read more
The Beach House
Duck, North Carolina
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$0||$825 - $2,135||$0||7 nights|
|Jan. 6 2013 - May. 25 2013||-||$825||-||7 nights|
|May. 26 2013 - Jun. 1 2013||-||$1,020||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 2 2013 - Jun. 8 2013||-||$1,100||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 9 2013 - Jun. 15 2013||-||$1,395||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 16 2013 - Jun. 22 2013||-||$1,595||-||7 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Jun. 23 2013 - Jun. 29 2013||-||$1,835||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 30 2013 - Jul. 6 2013||-||$1,935||-||7 nights|
|Jul. 7 2013 - Jul. 13 2013||-||$1,995||-||7 nights|
|Jul. 14 2013 - Aug. 10 2013||-||$2,135||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 11 2013 - Aug. 17 2013||-||$1,825||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 18 2013 - Aug. 24 2013||-||$1,390||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 25 2013 - Aug. 31 2013||-||$1,000||-||7 nights|
|Sep. 1 2013 - Jan. 4 2014||-||$825||-||7 nights|
|View all 13 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 16, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Loved the location & resort association
The house was spacious for the most part except the dining area. The table is too large for the room. When seated, you can't get around others. Pleasantly surprised to have some flat screens as they are not shown in the pictures. We loved the location to the clubhouse for the preschoolers as well as racquetball & tennis courts. Just a quick walk across the street to the indoor & outdoor pools. The house does have a bit too many knickknacks placed too low for toddlers & preschoolers. We would have liked a gas grill. Overall, the price was great as well as the weather the 1st week of Sept.
The house was close enough to the beach and the fitness center that you could walk everywhere and the kids could play on their own. I enjoyed meeting the business people in Duck. I loved that people there were into fitness and I also liked driving up and down the outer banks to check out the other towns. Enjoyed swimming, running, biking, shopping and site seeing. The house was big and loved the number of televisions and bathrooms!! If I had to think of something I liked the least it's probably the additional charges for early check in or WiFi etc. and a lot of the tourist spots had a fee. However I guess you have to make a living and the folks at Resort Realty were very responsive to any concerns I had and gave us great advice by having us check in and out on a Sunday. It was the perfect getaway for my family reunion. I look forward to returning!!
Relaxing at duck.
Even though the house was not on the beach the fact that it was so close to the recreation center was a bonus. On the list of aminities was a gas grill. We could not find it. Our biggest issue were the beds. Everyone that stayed stated their bed was not comfortable at all. All the beds need replaced badly. The house was average but I will not rent it due to the mattresses being so bad.
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 08/20/2012
Thank you for taking the time to respond. We will advise the owners of your comments regarding the mattresses and request them to be replaced before next season. We are glad you enjoyed the recreation center in Schooner Ridge. It is a nice facility.
Again, thanks for your comments and we hope you give Resort Realty an opportunity to serve you in the near future.
The location of this house is perfect
The check-in was great! We came in after hours, but the envelope left for us had all the information we needed! The keyless entry was perfect for the number of people in the house! We didn't have to worry about having enough keys, or even losing them!
The location of the house is perfect. It is about equidistant to the beach and the main Duck Rd. It was two houses away from the clubhouse, which we used daily! The indoor and outdoor pools are a nice size. The front desk staff are friendly, the playground was adorable, the games room was an added bonus.
We would stay in the same house again, but there were some things we didn't love about the house:
Many of the beds were uncomfortable.
The bunk bed was unsafe (sheet metal loose in places)
The VCR/DVD player in the main family room did not work, luckily There was a second one, too bad it was in someone's bedroom!
The can opener did not work at all.
The only large pot in the kitchen is made of aluminum.
When the ants go marching in!!
We had stayed in The Beach House in the past and the home itself is very nice. However, an ant problem our first night and the response from Resort Realty was not very timely. I had to use the dining room table for a cupboard for the entire week because after the exterminator came, there were dead ants all through the cupboard. No one from the realty company called to check on the status of the situation. I feel that it should have been followed up on and someone sent to clean up the mess. When paying the amount we did for the week I didn't feel it was my responsibility to clean cupboards while I was on vacation. Although the realty company did make some small concessions for the inconvenience, it was almost too little too late. Also, we found the home to be quite a bit dirtier than when we stayed there in the past.
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 04/25/2012
We are sorry that your vacation was not as good as planned because of the ants and cleanliness. We did respond to your situation and if you wanted Resort Realty to clean up the ants we would have. We also would have addressed another cleaning issue you would have brought to our attention. Thank you for taking the time to respond on FlipKey.
Mutch Family, Siler City, NC
Siler City, NC
We thought the house was great, lovely couch in great room, lots of seating, well-stocked kitchen, very clean, lots of deck seating, private, close to everything for walking. The little sun room was absolutely great for the kids to watch TV. The DVD player did not work, but we brought our own. Perfect for family with children and babies - loved having the crib!! and baby gates!!! Would recommend Resort Realty and this house.
Johnny and Pat
Va Beach Va.
Vacation With earl
House was very nice, would have been nicer if we could have had wi-fi for the kids games and computers.House had everything we needed but dish towels in the kitchen.
Great week at the Beach House
We have an excellent time at the Beach House in Duck. the house is spacious with a well stocked kitchen. the location is excellent in the Schooner Ridge community. the house is a 5 minute walk to the ocean and a five minute walk to town/the sound. It is also right next to the Schooner Ridge clubhouse, which has 2 pools, a game room, play area, tennis and racquetball courts, and a great workout facility for adults. The oceanside pool is outstanding, where part of your party can be at the beach and part at the pool. It is a lovely place, and I would highly recommend it. We hope to come back soon!
We had a great time!! The house was clean, and well stocked with anything we could have needed. Thank you!!
Takoma Park, MD
It was comfortable and great community pools, tennis. Relaxing
This was a great place at a really good price. We didn't need a huge place since it was just us and 3 kids. But, we wanted a pool and other amenities and this was really good for this. It is near the community center with indoor and outdoor pool -- the former comes in handy when you've had too much sun. Would have liked to have had wireless access since i did work as well and Obxwan didn't work too well. It was inconvenient. The place could use some updating but we think it was a good value. Kitchen is well stocked. People in the community are very nice to renters.
Love Schooner Ridge but dont love this house
Have stayed in Schooner ridge many time. first time using resort realty. Disappointed in the house, found food/crumbs on the floor many places on arrival. Furniture was very old and smelled musty - like it just came out of someones attic. carpet felt grungy and smelly. Need to get new/clean furniture. two of the three TVs did not work. one of the two DVD players did not work. came into an 86 degree house arrival day, took 4-5 hours for it to be cool enough to be comfortable. paid same price last year same week house was far and above better in cleanliness and amenities and comfort. many little things could have been better, you have certain expectations of a beach house in this area that were definately not met with this house. Would not stay here again. unsure if we would use resort realty again, a house should be a representation of the company.
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 06/14/2010
Thank you for taking the time to comment on this home and your vacation experience in Schooner Ridge. Resort Realty does appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our service and our homes.
The problems you mentioned have been brought to the attention of our Management staff so that they do not occur again. The owner of this home will also be made aware of your comments so that he may update his home and furniture.
Again, thank you for your time and we hope that you will vacation with us in the near future.
Family Enjoyed a Low-Key Super Relaxing Stay at the Beach House
We enjoyed a very relaxing time while at the Beach House in
August 2008. As a family of 3 the house was much more house
than we needed with 2 bedrooms being completely unused. The
house was very comfortably accessorized with everything we
needed and more. The proximity to the shops & restaurants of
Duck allowed us to park our car on check-in day and not move it
again until check-out. The community is very nice especially for
kids or active adults. This was a return visit for us to Schooner
Ridge. About the only negative would be some of the furnishings
could use some updating showing signs of wear and tear.
Definitely a high value to cost ratio. Would return in the future.
Great place to stay, wish we could have seen the water from the
The house was very comfortable and pretty. The beds were comfortable, the sun room and porch swing were favorites, but the sectional couch in the living room smelled faintly of stale beer. We really enjoyed the Schooner Ridge community, with its friendly staff and nice facilities, and the location is great - so close to town but away from the crowds. The house did not have any beach items (chairs, umbrella,etc) for renters to use, and since the house is about 8-10 minute walk to the beach, depending on how many kids and how much stuff you're bringing, it would have been really nice to have a wagon, as many of the other houses in the community do. We were able to use the parking lot near the beach with no problems. If you stand on the top deck and peek out between other houses, you actually can get a glimpse of the water. The beach was beautiful, our kids loved the swimming pools, and we all had a great time at our "beach house."