Welcome to the Blue Dolphin wit its many improvements for 2015 rental season..Fresh paint, new flooring and curtains and more among the upgrates. Location, Location, Location: Fourth house from the shore but as close to the water as many semi-oceanfront homes. Each of the 4 bedrooms has its own bath and the spacious decks provide plenty of room for outdoor dining, relaxing, watching the dolphins swim or watching the sun rise! For your added comfort, each floor has its own air conditioning and heating unit. The Blue Dolphin is located on a quiet dead end street, just steps away from an easy ocean access, but it is only a short drive or bike... ride to the charming town of Duck. Decorated with many unique personal touches and well equipped with everything you need for a wonderful stay on the Outer Banks. Distance to the beach: Approximately 100 yardsAmenities Include: Cen A/H for each floor of the house, Keyless Entry, Internet Access, MW, DW, IM, W/D, CF in each room, CATV, VCR, Stereo w/ CD Player, BBQ and access to sound for beautiful sunsets. Ground Level: Enc. O/S. Level 1: Queen Master bedroom with a TV and DVD player, two twin bedrooms each with full baths, laundry room. Level 2: Bright, airy and spacious living/dining area with ½ bath. 3 patio doors open to a wide deck with great ocean views. Master bedroom suite with oversized tub.
Additional amenities include: less than 500 yards.Read more
Great location, nice house, minor housekeeping issues
Left on 08/29/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | Moon five
We really enjoyed our stay at The Blue Dolphin, the house is very close to the beach and is nicely furnished. It was wonderful to have a bathroom for each member of our family, it made getting ready much quicker. The only issue we had with the house was the quality of the housekeeping. When we arrived, the house was superficially clean, but upon closer inspection, much was left undone. The dressers and night stands were in need of dusting, and the glass on the living room coffee table was dirty as was the area beneath the glass. The floors were also not as clean as they could have been. I always travel with cleaning products and am sure I left the house cleaner than we found it. We also encountered a bit of an ant problem in the kitchen, which we know is not unusual in the South, but it took a bit of spraying and trapping to get this under control. I do not fault the owners of this house for any of these minor issues, it is stictly a problem with the housekeeping staff. All that being said I would still recommend this house, it was a great value for the size of the house and the location. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 09/20/2013
It pleases us to know that you and your family had a great week despite the fact that you were not satisfied with the level of cleanliness upon check-in. Please let us know of such disappointments while you're here so we can work to remedy them for you. Our housekeeping department will gladly send someone to the property to clean more efficiently. We don't want our guests to lift a finger when they arrive other than to unpack. The problems you mentioned have been brought to the attention of our housekeeping staff so that they do not occur again. Thank you for booking your vacation with Resort Realty, and we hope to see you again next year.
Had a great time!
Left on 07/04/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | Weird wanda
The location of the house was great. Closer to the beach than we thought. A very short walk to the beach! House needs some updates... new refrig, at least one king bed, new vacume cleaner on lower level. An ice maker and filtered water dispenser would be great, had to buy ice and bottled water.
Left on 09/22/2012 for a stay in September 2012 | Mary Beth
We enjoyed staying in this lovely home. We can hear the ocean and see it from the top deck. The new master suite is great and easy to sweep away the sand! Thank you so much for letting us bring our dog. She is the queen of the beach. Everyone knows her and loves her. As soon as we arrive at the house, she heads for the beach! She is a golden retriever/lab mix so loves the water!
We bring different guests every year and everyone has a great time! Having separate baths for each bedroom is a plus. The dolphin decor is wonderful, evne in the toilet seat! Where did you find them all? The lower deck is nice and shady on a hot day. This year we had gorgeous weather too and enjoyed the hammock! We have already reserved for next year. Resort Realty is prompt if we need anything also! Last year after the hurricane, they came quickly to fix handrails on the steps and one of the Tv's. We look forward to our visit of the lovely house and area every year. We enjoy all the wildlife too! Next year looking forward to clinbing Bodie Lighthouse hopefully!
Obetz, Lititz, pa
Left on 09/16/2012 for a stay in September 2012 | Justin
We had a great week at this beach house. It was so nice to be so close to the beach without paying beach front prices. The house was very well kept. We would love to stay there again. My only complaint would have to be the neighbors having dogs that would come and do their business in our yard and they wouldn't clean it up. But that's not the rental agency or the houses fault. The entry code instead of a key was wonderful because you didn't have to take keys to the beach or worry about losing them. Just has to remember a 4 diget code that they change at the end of the week for security.
Left on 08/20/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | Victoria
We have traveled to the Outer Banks three years in a row and this has been the best vacation ever. We were so pleased with Resort Realty. They were very helpful when we booked and everything was so easy. We will definetly use their service again. Can't say enough good things about them.
Warren and Phyllis
Locust Grove, VA
Great location to enjoy all the Outer Banks has to offer.
Left on 08/09/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | Warren and Phyllis
Our family was very comfortable at the blue Dolphin. The ocean view, close proximity to the beach and quiet area to kick back have a great time.
Very nice home-close to the beach-quiet neighborhood
Left on 07/06/2012 for a stay in June 2012 | BV
Very nice home- close to the beach- quiet neighborhood. Our family had a great week.
Quite the Experience
Left on 09/15/2010 for a stay in September 2010 | Jeannie
The location of the property was good; short walk to beach; the property is very large and has plenty of beds and bathrooms perfect for a large family. Plenty of linens for the two of us. The only thing that could have made it more comfortable would be the sofa in the living room area; very small and not comfy for relaxing. I rated the cleaniness just average because there was a lot of areas where it had not been swept in some time. Between the chair and the sofa there is a pole lamp and that area was very dirty and there is a plant in the dining area that has not been pulled out in a long time. I ran the sweeper three times during our stay since we had our dogs with us. I think it was cleaner when I left then when I arrived.. We did have the best weather possible and enjoyed our trip.
Almost perfect house and location-needs some renovation of bedro
Left on 08/28/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | Joan
Pretty house, very close to the beach, convenient to Duck,nice floor plan, good value, but needs renovation of two of the bedrooms(very musty despite air-conditioning!) and overall better house-cleaning.
Cleveland Heights, OH
Great vacation - great location - great house
Left on 08/18/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | Outerbanks vacationer
House was comfortable, just enough space and completely as described with the exception that there was absolutely no beach equipment, which in 6 years is the first time we experienced that problem. I think Wings appreciated our many trips and purchases to get what was needed. We left it for the next renters, so that they would not have the same problems.
The only criticism is that the house was not cleaned all that well prior to our arrival - there were lots of dead bugs (mosquitos and flies) and food crumbs on the carpet and in the bed in one of the downstairs bedrooms. We cleaned it up, so not a huge deal.
great, nice house
Left on 06/30/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | Hart
Your downstairs air conditioner broke and we had to spend one very uncomfortable day and miserable night, but it was repaired the next afternoon. Unfortunately the repair person turned the thermostat to heat, and then it really took a long time for us to catch the error... Also the outside shower area was flooded for the entire week with no obvious drainage.
A week of relaxation in a comfortable beach home
Left on 08/13/2009 for a stay in August 2009 | Patti Jo
From the time we dropped our bags in the spacious,comfortable,well equiped home, to the quick walk to the beach, and the special touches that made us feel right at home, we enjoyed every moment of our wonderful week at Blue Dolphin.The great TV-sound system, the beautiful totally equiped kitchen, the master suite deep bath, the wonderful wrap around deck and hammock, all made our trip so enjoyable.The quick walk to the beach and the vistas of the ocean from the deck really added to the enjoyment of the home. The grill team loved the big grill, and the puzzle team enjoyed the big tables for puzzle and game activities.I loved the bright open feel of the house and the bath per bedroom layout. My only complaint was with the downstairs shower as it did not have a light or a drain, so there was a creepy factor using that shower.Also, the "this end up" type furniture was hard, uncomfortable and could not seat the 8 people that stayed in the house.We actually drug in the chairs from the porch to provide enough seating for all of us, and used the pillows and blankets from the beds to pad the hard sofas. The queen size Hammock was used by all, and the double coffee maker was wonderful for the decaf crowd. The location of the house made a walk to the sound just as nice as the walk to the beach. Each night we went to the dock, watched the sunset, and toasted our wonderful vacation venue. Our family will be looking for another house next year, and we will be calling the nice folks at RR for our return trip. Because of the sofa and seating we will not be returning to this house, but we would reccomend it to anyone as a great beach home for two families.
Great cottage for small family
Left on 07/21/2009 for a stay in August 2008 | OBX fan
Very well decorated and cozy beach house just steps from the beach. Great location - not far from shops in Duck (we rode our bikes there one day). We really enjoyed our stay here!
Blue Dolphin...just right distance and atmosphere to the beach!
Left on 07/17/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | Beachdog
This was our 3rd year at the Blue Dolphin and we plan to come back in 2010! The house is laid out perfectly and with the new 2008 addition it has been the perfect set-up for our family. The house is 4 houses back from the dune but it is an easy walk to the beach and you can see the ocean and sunrises from the windows and the decks. The roar of the ocean can be heard, but it lulls you to sleep at night. The variety of room set-ups is great: 2 queens and 2 "kids" rooms with 2 singles in each.The 4 bathrooms are a handy convenience too.
The Resort Realty company has always been very helpful and accomodating to find us a house and in taking care of our reservations and questions.Problems with maintenace/housekeeping have been dealt with quickly and professionally.
Obviously we like the Blue Dolphin, because we have been there 3 years in a row and plan to make reservations for next year. The owners have made some significant improvements over the 3 years. In 2007 the water smelled bad and we could not use it but the system has changed and is great. The new upstairs room has been added and gives more room from the 2 queen rooms that had been located together in the downstairs. WE would like to see gates on the upper and middle decks to keep our dogs help in better instead of using deck chairs to block openings.
We clean and sweep all week, esp. since we have dogs but we feel that the house, esp bedrooms, and bed linens, could be cleaned more thoroughly before our visit.
Summer Vacation 2009
Left on 07/17/2009 for a stay in May 2009 | darcymac
My husband & I stayed at The Blue Dolphin in Duck, NC Memorial Day week 2009. First of all, we love the town of Duck. Secondly, we were able to bring along our 2 adult dogs, which I loved & so did they! The house was lovely & comfortable - we would definitely stay there again. Also, the proximity to the beach was great! We only experienced 1 problem - the linens were NOT on the beds when we arrived. They were all downstairs in a trunk underneath by the car port - and they were dirty & had been used. Resort Realty brought out fresh linens immediately the next day (Mon) & apologized - said they were using a new linen service. But we still had to make our own bed(s):(
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.