Barrier Island Station, Unit #202. Top Floor, End Unit. You will catch your dream vacation when you stay here at The Penthouse! Enjoy this beautifully appointed condo with great views from all rooms. Barrier Island Station offers plenty of amenities to keep the family busy or you can simply relax by the indoor or outdoor pool. Amenities Include: Cen A/H, DW, MW, W/D, digital cable TV, VCR, DVD, phone, private balcony w/ deck furn., Jacuzzi. Non Smoking Unit.Level 1: Kitchen, Living w/digital cable HD FS TV, Dining, BR w/Q, full Bath. Level 2: MBR w/Q,digital cable TV and full bath with jacuzzi, Den w/ DSS, CD player/stereo.Barrier Island S...tation amenities include community swimming pools, indoor and outdoor, rec room with ping pong and video arcade and exercise room with sauna, jacuzzi and steam room. Tennis courts, Volleyball court, horseshoes and picnic area with charcoal grills.
Additional amenities include: tennis, less than 500 yards.Read more
We could see, hear and smell the ocean from our balcony...
Left on 10/12/2013 for a stay in September 2013 | Galyna
Very good location! You can see and smell the ocean from your balcony!
The very best one in the place.
Left on 09/13/2012 for a stay in September 2012 | Rich
Wow. We felt like royalty in this place.
- The view. Absolutely this is the best thing about this unit. You can't get any closer to the ocean in the entire community. The view from the porch is incredible. We spent hours upon hours lounging in the comfy deck chairs. The deck also gets lots of afternoon shade, perfect for reading.
- Big! Very spacious. Nice big dining room table for boardgames, two couches, and a kitchen bar.
- The upstairs bed is comfy, and is the split-twin mattress type, so we slept well.
- The kitchen was extremely well stocked, with pretty much everything you can think of. We were happy to find a corkscrew, spatula, wine glasses, everything.
- The walk to the beach is, what, 3 minutes? Maybe?
- The combo lock on the front door is awesome and convenient.
- Walking distance to Harry's market, with everything you can think of, including many organic things. Also directly across the street from the sunset grill, and a short stroll down to the boardwalk with the Blue Point restaurant. I highly recommend the short drive north to The Paper Canoe. Excellent little dinner spot.
- Very clean when we arrived.
- The community and condo are aging gracefully; you can tell this place has been around a while. It could use a few upgrades and renovations here and there. A new coffee maker would be a nice touch, and the door handle is a chore to open.
- A bit pricey, once you add in all the taxes and fees from the property management place. However, the service is very good, so it's worth it.
- It says it sleeps 8, but 4 of those would be on 2 sleeper sofas. And with only 1 shower, it would get crowded. Recommended for four, no more.
Folks, if this place is available, book it. You won't regret it. We'll be coming back next year, no doubt.
Relaxing with a view!
Left on 08/24/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | Chris Vitale
Nice, clean place but needs serious updates. Bathroom, carpet and flooring very old, stained. Not a lot of kitchen amenities for cooking, books, games, movies. View is second to none, close to the beach, nice pool.
Mom in Virginia
Fabulous location but condo needs major cleaning
Left on 06/23/2011 for a stay in June 2011 | Mom in Virginia
This location is fabulous. It is easy to get to on the Outer Banks and within the condo community this is the premier unit. It is exactly next to the pool and the closest to the beach. The beach is lovely in this area and a life guard post with umbrella and chair service made us feel safe and comfortable.
However, we actually left early - departing Thursday on a Sunday to Sunday stay as the condo unit was just too dirty for us to really enjoy our downtime inside. The kitchen was sticky everywhere, some of the utensils in the drawers looked like they hadn't seen the dishwasher in way too long, the shower was clogged; the pillows, while responsibly dated - had a date of 11/08 - three years old and just...yuck. While the management company came and cleaned out the shower, we didn't feel clean or comfortable. The management company assures us the owner takes this unit seriously, so perhaps upon reading this review they will take a bucket of bleach to the kitchen, update the linens and the interior of the unit will be as lovely as the outside of the property. Read more
Response from Resort Realty Outer Banks - 07/25/2011
We are sorry that your stay at this condo was not as pleasant as you would have hoped because of some cleaning issues. As you noted, maintenance did respond when we were advised that you were having a problem with the shower, and replaced other items as requested. We want to thank you for bringing these items to our attention. It is comments from our guests that help us keep our homeowners apprised of the condition of their unit.
We have made our maintenance and housekeeping staff aware of these issues and they have been addressed.
Again, thank you for taking the time to review this home, and booking your vacation with Resort Realty and we hope to see you again next year!
Left on 06/12/2011 for a stay in May 2011 | roger
everything i expected!could hear and see the ocean from any where in the rental!will be back again!can't wait to go back!
Silver Spring MD
Left on 10/23/2010 for a stay in October 2010 | DAR
A very comportable and enjoyable stay. Great location. Lots of arts and music nearby. Will return next year.
Rising Sun Md
Left on 09/15/2010 for a stay in September 2010 | Tom Staines
Had a great time will be going back next year and would defiantly recommend to anyone
Duck in Sept
Relaxing place to stay, with incredible ocean views.
Left on 09/08/2010 for a stay in September 2010 | Duck in Sept
We loved our week at "The Penthouse". We'll definitely be coming back. Although it's an older condo and could always use updating in some areas, we thought it was really comfortable and worth the price.
overall pretty good
Left on 08/27/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | beach goer
The resort was nice. Like another reviewer the pool must have been mislabeled in it's depth markings. The shallow end was marked 3 feet. It clearly was more than that because my 48 inch son could not touch the bottom. Kind of annoying b/c he then had to hold onto a noodle or raft most of the time.
The place was relatively clean, except for the rusty silverware and occasional spider web. The unit was quiet. We couldn't hear any neighbors. Beautiful view. Very close to the beach and pool.
The owner of the unit showed up 1 1/2 hours before our designated check out time to check on the place. Kind of weird and uncomfortable while we're trying to pack up our stuff and wrangle our 2 young sons. I guess we should have let him sit out on the steps in the hot sun until we were ready to hand over the keys.
Overall, nice resort. Unit was close to beach and pool--the 2 things we came on vacation for!!
Close to the beach with great view
Left on 07/23/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | Joe Giblin
This place was great. We booked it online so we didn't know if the pictures were accurate. They were. Great location for getting to the beach. Lots to do in the surrounding areas.
Berkeley Springs, WV
Too many steps
Left on 06/30/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | Howard
Clean and nice interior. Too many steps to reach apartment. Had musty smell. Deck is very dangerous as railing could be broken easily. Refrigerator leaked. All drains are slow.
Beautiful views but poorly equiped
Left on 09/16/2009 for a stay in September 2009 | wolfpack65
This condo has a wonderful view of the ocean from the living area, deck, and both bedrooms. The combination of lush green foliage and the ocean really sets it off.
That being said this was one of the worst equipped places I've ever stayed at the Outer Banks and I've been going for over 40 years. We had to buy a pot holder, can opener, & wine opener (even though there was wine glasses galore).
The pans and dishes were dirty and had to be scrubbed before using. There was one pan that looked as though it had been used for food, had baked crud on it and then soaked in salt water to make sure it would rust.
There is something about having to take your trash a couple of blocks away that turns me off as well. I have never stayed in a rental that didn't have a garbage pan or at least a dumpster close by to throw your trash.
While the views were spectacular I wouldn't stay there again!
When can we come back!!!!
Left on 08/27/2009 for a stay in August 2009 | dee
the house was great! with easy access the to beach. The pool was sensational. my kids can't wait to come again.
I have two suggestions. The first would be room darkening curtains in the bedrooms. the view was great but I really didn't want to wake with the sun every morning. the second would be a bakers rack in the dinning room to store my food. The place had lots of dishes and kitchen equipment, which was great. But there wasn't much room to store my food. Another house had this and it worked great.
The only compaint was that the kitchen floor was sticky and the bathtub was moldy.
NIce Unit - lots of stairs!
Left on 08/05/2009 for a stay in June 2008 | The Dorsey's
This is a great rental in a good location with quick walking access to the beach. This unit has lots of light, is spacious and was very clean. This is a penthouse unit and there are a lot of stairs to climb and the stairs are steep. I would not recomend this unit for any one but the fit and agile.
We like the beaches and town of Duck and would consider this unit again. Our only issue was that the central AC did not work and could not be fixed for our stay. The property manager did provide several window units to get us through the week.
Chester Springs, PA
An enjoyable, homey, convenient and relaxing place to stay
Left on 08/05/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | des335
We had a great time at the Penthouse and enjoyed the view, the pool, the short walk to the beach and the lovely town of Duck. We will definately be back and interested renting the same unit again. We did not have any complaints at all about our stay.
Ottawa Ontario, Canada
Great facility with a magnificient view
Left on 07/30/2009 for a stay in April 2009 | suejean
The accommodations where great, however the resort layout was a little confusing and the indoor pool and games area where OK at best, the outdoor pool was not in service and we did not know this before our arrival. Resort reality was very curteous and organised we would recommend them to anyone. Our opinion of the area was mixed the one road in and out made traffic a bit challenging and I'm not sure I would return despite the fact that The PentHouse apartment was exactly as described and quite confortable.
Severna Park, MD
Too many steps; too 1970's.
Left on 07/17/2009 for a stay in May 2009 | zoomjan
Unit-There were 48 steps to get to the front door. Straight up-wooden, narrow, warped steps! The rental agency should have asked if there was anyone in our party that could NOT do 48 steps. We almost brought my husband's nearly 80 year old aunt, which would have been a disaster. At that, I am 60 and my husband is 70. We are pretty active and young-ish, but it was alot to take everything up and down. We dreaded coming and going every day. The unit has not been refurbished, redecorated since it was built in what was probably the 70's. It was very dated and not desirable. Nothing about the place said it was part of this millenium. The place was clean, but the kitchen floor was so old, it didn't look it. While, it was marketed as "Oceanfront", it was really only oceanview. It was a pretty long walk to the beach - we couldn't go out the door of the condo and be on the beach like we do in Myrtle Beach, Ocean City, MD, Destin, etc. One good thing is Duck/Outer Banks is closer to us than Myrtle Beach, South Carolina and Florida beaches. For that reason we would consider the area again, but would never rent this place again.
Rental agency - They gave us the wrong address to pick up the key. When we did pick up the key, they didn't tell us that we needed to stop at the community center at the entrance gate to get parking passes and bracelets. Our second day, we were rudely busted by the gate guard because we didn't have them, and ordered to get them immediately. All anyone had to do was tell us.
Overall, not a good vacation.
Left on 07/16/2009 for a stay in June 2009 | freeman
Gate Guard rude and wouldn't answer, We arrived after business hours and couldn't get a code to get through the gate. He stormed at us and pointed to the guest services entrance, the guest service center was no better. The lady there was rude and told us we should have received the information in our packet that we picked up at the rental office. She did give us a pass but her attitude was unacceptable as customer service.
The condo was clean and the view was awesome. Amenities were fine. The downstairs bedroom bed mattress was very uncomfortable.
Left on 07/16/2009 for a stay in May 2009 | Jim
The facilities were great and the location was outstanding. The only problems were with the lock in the front door and it took several days for a problem with the upstairs toilet to be fixed.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.