5 Captain Crocker
|Minimum Stay||7 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
If you're looking for a great cottage directly on a beautiful sandy beach on the Cape then you've found it here. This 3 Bedroom 1 bath offers magnificent views on its own private beach and has recently had some great updates such as new windows facing the ocean and a new bathroom and kitchen. Walk in to the open living room and kitchen and good views of Cape Cod Bay. Full bathroom with tub and shower towards the left side with 2 bedrooms and a third bedroom on the right with a Queen sized bed. Walk in to the open living room and kitchen and good views of Cape Cod Bay. Full bathroom with tub and shower towards the left side with 2 bedrooms an...Read more
5 Captain Crocker
East Sandwich, Massachusetts
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$0||$1,600 - $3,100||$0||7 nights|
|Jan. 1 2013 - Jun. 15 2013||-||$1,600||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 15 2013 - Jun. 22 2013||-||$2,300||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 22 2013 - Aug. 31 2013||-||$3,100||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 31 2013 - Sep. 7 2013||-||$2,300||-||7 nights|
|Sep. 7 2013 - Dec. 31 2013||-||$1,600||-||7 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 19, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Everything you need for a great vacation
Though the outside in the front may be deceiving the back deck is paradise. The house is simple but has an ope layout that is more then enough for a good size family. It is great that they leave some basic and not so basic supplies there as you always forget something. It was truly the best vacation my family has had. With a house right on the beach the kids had so much more time to have fun. I wouldn't change a thing. We reserved for next year already.
Jack & Janice Muller
Jersey City, NJ
Location,location,location, the privacy is just wonderful, this
My wife and I have dealt with the owner of the property for 30 years. As with anything else there have been problems over the years, but the were quickly resolved and the few negatives are far out paced by the positives. On your first full day there, take a cup of coffee out on the deck and just look straight ahead and you'll know what Cape Cod and this location is all about.Just remember it is a vacation cottage & except for a/C you have all you need for your stay.The worst part is leaving after 2 weeks, it gets harder every year.By the way I collectd the bouys in the photo over the years.
In one word...Relaxing.
We enjoy coming to the Cape every year. We come in May before school is out and we tend to have the beach to ourselves. There are times we sit on the deck and can look to the left and right and not see another person. We love to walk the beach and enjoy playing on the sand bars. During that time of year it is very peaceful.
Wanted a place I could open the door and be on the beach.
I got what I wanted. The ocean is a staircase away.
The house was clean with an updated, fully stocked kitchen. The deck is large and has wonderful views and 2 grills. The beach is a great swimming beach especially when the tide it out. It's a great beach for kids and adults. Outdoor shower has hot water. Campfires allowed for S'mores at night.
We had a wonderful time. The pictures don't do the beach side of the house justice. Only advice I can give is the deck has a small table with no umbrella so if you have more than 4 bring a card table to enjoy dinners outside.
Extraordinary location and very cozy.
I will recommand this place to anybody (I already did). The dishes was not spotless, but who cares! We cleaned it and everything was fine. It's a very cozy place.
Long drive from DC
Noreaster with good sunshine on the back end
We had a wonderful time even though it rained for four days. The house was perfect and the kitchen was unexpectedly modern, nice touch. My only complaint is trivial, but the grill was old and falling apart, so we didn't grill much. Other than that it was a perfect place that felt private, but not too far away from anything.
another great vacation on the cape
My family and I love it here on cape cod. It's so quiet and relaxing. The house is just the basics and could be a little cleaner. It would be nice to be able to watch the Red Sox on TV. But still looking to going back in2011.
Great location, amazing view, good cottage.
Great service from Sand Dollar. It was our second year in the cottage. The accomadations are good but basic. Nice kitchen and open family room with high ceilings. Feels roomy. Amazing view and wonderful private beach. Cottage could use some updating. Outdoor shower was dissapointing. Current TV set up (table on table) unsafe for small child. Otherwise, great place.
5 Captain Crocker Rd. Good time.
We stayed at Captain Crocker Rd. July 11-18 and had a great time. Last year we stayed on North Shore Bld, but we actually wanted Capt. Crocker LN as our 1st choice. This year it was available and it was a good time. The location was the best part. We stayed on the water last year as well, but this beach was nicer, (less rocky, although it did have some rocks). The weather was fantastic, which is always a plus. The house itself was clean, and very cozy, the view of the beach was great too! I would definately stay here again, as we have booked for next year as well.
A couple things I do have to comment on.
1) The lack of TV channels was a bummer. You have cable TV, but could get no channels! An avid baseball fan, after sitting on the beach I would like to sit and watch the Sox at night. It had no NESN, CNN, ESPN, etc...Everytime I switched to a channel, it was "not authorized". It seemed like only your basic channels worked.
2) No Gas grill. It only had a charcoal grill. No onoe uses that anymore. I ended buying a cheap grill and we used it every night.
3) I would like to see the check in time a lilttle earlier. 2:30 check in, by the time you unpack and get settled, I know for us it was 4:00. There goes 1 day. A 1:00 check in would be much better.
Overall though, a great time!
C & J
This is a nice beach to relax with the family. We have two kids, 12 and 16 and they really love it as much as we do. Very relaxing!
Beach view!! Great family get away
Great to be able to sit on the deck to see sunrise with your coffee & sunset with a glass of wine, as well. As well as rain and thunder storms from the picture window- all done while viewing the private beach. Great for just lounging around at with family & friends. Only problem is time goes by too quickly.
Response from Sand Dollar Realty - 01/17/2009
we will try to slow time for you next year. Thanks for the review.
A.S. from Boston, MA area
We have vacationed on the cape several times but this is the first time we have stayed in Sandwich. I liked that we were just over the bridge and had no traffic issues at all. Sandwich has that quaint small town feel to it. Great for a relaxing beach vacation.
The oceanfront location of the cottage is impressive. It was wonderful having a private beach with two small children in tow. It was best at low tide for the children to play. However, there is a very steep set of stairs from the property down to the beach.
The cottage was very clean and bright. The kitchen was well equipped with every kitchen utensil needed. The only downside of the cottage was that the large windows facing the ocean did not open, except for small push out windows close to the floor. This hindered the breezes and sounds of the ocean in the living area and the bedroom facing the deck. Also, the outside shower could use an update. Overall, we enjoyed the vacation and would recommend staying at this location.
Response from Sand Dollar Realty - 11/24/2008
You will br happy to know that the outside shower will be getting updated for 2009. Thanks for the review.
Wonderful location with some issues
The location was perfect, the house however had issues. It was not clean and we had a huge issue with bugs. Firewood had been left in the house in a plastic package which had moisture in it allowing all kinds of bugs and worms to live in. There was too much furniture in the living room and the bedrooms also needed some cleaning. The windows with very dirty which we needed to clean to enjoy the wonderful ocean view. With a little TLC and work to the bedrooms, newer bedspreads etc. I would have given this place a 10! It was a shame that we had to spend as much time on our vacation cleaning before we were comfortable enough to enjoy it. The folks at Sand Dollar realty were very nice, I'd use them again!
Response from Sand Dollar Realty - 07/11/2008
Thanks for the input Connie, we are helping the owner work out the issues you mentioned. You are right about the location and it being a 10 if the things you mentioned are addressed. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Before looking, I had a picture in my head of the ideal place for a much-needed vacation after a stressful spring in Brooklyn: A small house with a deck right on the water in a quiet spot on Cape Cod and a beach virtually to ourselves (this was pre-Memorial Day, mind you). 5 Cap'n Crocker Lane fit the bill. The location was exactly what I'd pictured but never thought we could actually find. The house was clean and bright, the heat worked well (we needed it), and all the arrangements with Sand Dollar smooth, honest and friendly. After we left, we realized we'd forgotten some clothing, and the Sand Dollar folks sent them on to us quickly and without fuss. On a rainy day, go to the Sandwich Glass Museum! It's really worth the trip.
Response from Sand Dollar Realty - 07/01/2008
Great Review Wendy. Hope to see you again.