Birds Of A Feather
|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
BIRDS OF A FEATHER
Property Description:Birds of a Feather is a beautiful spacious 6 bedroom mountain cabin that is loaded with amenities designed to for large and smal groups of guests to enjoy a mountain getaway while relaxing in luxurious comfort. With 6 generously sized private bedrooms and 2 Queen sleeper sofas, Birds of a Feather can sleep up to 16 guests comfortably. The cabin also provides 3.5 bathrooms. The cabin features an open-style floor plan with an open and inviting living room and kitchen, large upstairs loft and bedrooms, finished basement with gameroom and an expansive deck stretching across the whole house overlooking...Read more
Birds Of A Feather
Additional Location Information
Coosawattee River Resort
$25 Amenity and Access Fee required. This fee is automatically added to the total vacation home cost.
This home is located within the Coosawattee River Resort community in Ellijay, GA. Guests have unlimited access to the Coosawattee River Resort amenities using the guest passes provided in the cabin. The Resort has various river parks, pools, tennis and basketball, Rec Center and beautiful vistas and homes. Read more details about all the Resort amenities here: Coosawattee River Resort info.
Driving distance to Resort amenities from the cabin:
Resort Entrance (Beaver Lake): 2 miles
Stocked Fishing Pond: 1 mile
River Park: 1 mile
Pool II: 2 miles
East Park: 2.5 miles
Canoe Park: 2 miles
Coosawattee Rec Center: 4.6 miles (15 mins through resort)
General Store, Tubing Co, Horseback riding: 5.6 miles (10 mins via Hwy 382)
Super Walmart / Highlands Crossing Shopping Center: 4.8 miles (15 mins)
Historic Downtown Ellijay: 6.8 miles (15 mins)
Carters Lake - Harris Branch Rec Area (Beach): 13 miles (20 mins)
Fort Mountain State Park: 24.8 miles (45 mins)
Amicalola Falls State Park: 27.3 miles (45 mins)
Dahlonega, GA: 45 miles (1 hr)
Helen, GA: 72 miles (1 hr 45 mins)
Downtown Atlanta (State Capital Building) = 76 miles (1.5 hrs)
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$280 - $320||$280 - $320||$1,960 - $2,240||$0||2 nights|
|Jan. 3 2013 - Mar. 18 2013
2013 Winter Season
|Mar. 19 2013 - May. 23 2013
2013 Spring Season
|May. 24 2013 - May. 27 2013
2013 Memorial Day Holiday
|May. 28 2013 - Jul. 2 2013
2013 School’s Out
|Jul. 3 2013 - Jul. 7 2013
2013 July 4th Holiday
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Jul. 8 2013 - Aug. 4 2013
2013 Summer Vacation Season
|Aug. 5 2013 - Aug. 30 2013
2013 Back to School
|Aug. 31 2013 - Sep. 2 2013
2013 Labor Day Holiday
|Sep. 3 2013 - Sep. 30 2013
2013 Fall Season
|Oct. 1 2013 - Nov. 3 2013
2013 Fall Foliage and Festivals
|Nov. 4 2013 - Nov. 24 2013
2013 Fall Season
|Nov. 25 2013 - Nov. 29 2013
2013 Thanksgiving Holiday
|Nov. 30 2013 - Dec. 20 2013
2013 Fall Season
|Dec. 21 2013 - Jan. 3 2014
2013 Holiday Season
|View all 14 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 15, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Perfect family getaway!!!
Beginning to end was a breeze!!! Plenty of room for my family and all the amenities was great!! But the downstairs bedrooms need to be upgraded,but all the beds slept comfortable...will be returning in October!
Never Disappointed with Kzcabins
This is our fourth visit to Elijay w/ Kzcabins and it's always been a stellar experience. My only complaint would be that there isn't enough linen included for the large capacity cabins.
Johnson City, TN
This is our 6th visit on an annual Labor Day reunion for 3 families - this house is very spacious and has good sleeping accomodations for a large group. We did find the kitchen lacking in a few things (mostly serving bowls and kitchen linens) - but the cabin was extremely clean and in a good location. As is the case with many homes in the Coosawattee Resort, parking is tricky (4-wheel drive necessary for parking in the lower part of the driveway here) - but adequate for the four cars and one van that we had this year. You can't beat the Coosawattee Resort for amenities and friendly people. Kz Cabins was easy to work with and we had a great time at Birds of a Feather.
The cabin is beautiful and very spacious. The only thing we did not like was the location of the hot tub.
Our cabin stay at Birds of a Feather was very pleasant!
Only problem at this cabin is the steep parking area when there are more than 3-4 cars. Also lack of a designated camp fire area.
Otherwise everything else was fantastic & I would definitely recommend this cabin to others.
Big enough to spread out and enjoy the family
This is a lovely property. Plenty of room for a big family gathering. We love to grill so it was a little scary using the dysfunctional grill. A new grill is needed. Kitchen utensils were minimal and could use additional equipment. There is a broken wine opener and a blender that only would work with something that had the consistency of water.
Everyone was pleasant and we loved the area. If we returned to Ga we would consider this rental again, but we like to go other places, first.
Response from KZCabins - 09/08/2011
Thank you for your review. The grill has been upgraded since your review. We have also tested the blender and could not get it to only work water but it kept chopping up ice and other things too....but maybe we'll get a larger one? we replaced the broken wine opener, thanks for finding that. Its helpful when guests call us DURING their stay to report any problems so we can get them corrected while you are there! The kitchens are stocked with most standard cooking utensils. We're not sure what 'additional equipment' you are referring to. If you could be more specific, we could send a list to the private home owner to add things you would find useful. Hope to see you again soon!
Charlie and Mary Helen Gibson
We enjoyed being together but needed more comfortable seating.
Birds of a Feather is a spacious cabin, but it needs more comfortable furnishings in the den and dining area. The 6 barstool height chairs would be better if they were regular dining room chairs. We had to bring in the outdoor furniture and portable camping chairs to be able to seat everyone around the fireplace. It was nice having enough bedrooms. However, the sofa futons on the loft were uncomfortable for sleeping. The guys enjoyed the pool table. Due to rain, we were unable to take advantage of the resort activities. However, our grandchildren enjoyed the heated swimming pool at the Rec Center. They were able to use the facility without charge by using punch cards located in the back of the cabin manual. Overall, we had a great time just being together around the fireplace and cooking in the spacious kitchen. The area is beautiful, and we felt safe during our visit. Cheryl was very polite and helpful in making our reservations.
Response from KZCabins - 03/26/2011
Thank you for your feedback. We will pass your comment along to the private home owner for consideration. As detailed on the listing, and check out screens, we specify the number of dining seats available and offer additional tables and chairs to rent for larger groups. We are super happy you were able to enjoy the heated swimming pool and the spacious cabin. Thank you so much, we hope you will come back again!
Disappointed from previous year's experience
In the spring of 2010 I booked this exact same cabin and was very pleased with the location. The river was beautiful, the property was seculded, and the kitchen was well equiped to cook for my party. This year I asked for the same cabin and what I recieved was the same floor plan bud a different location. There was no river, the kitchen was poorly equiped and some of the items were broken (such as can openers). There was not enough seating for my party (last year there were extra deck chairs) and the kitchen table was smaller. In the future you should make your guests aware of any location change from the previous year.
Response from KZCabins - 03/09/2011
We apologize for your disappointment. We are scratching our heads, as what you claim has never happened before in hundreds upon hundreds of bookings. We have never booked someone in the 'wrong' cabin in our entire history as it is so difficult to do! In reviewing your file, there is no record or comment that you asked for the same cabin as last year, but even if it was "said but not recorded", what we see is that you paid for Birds of a Feather cabin (which is much less expensive than last year's cabin), you were emailed the confirmation, registration and directions to Birds of a Feather, all of which has the cabin name and number stamped all over it, and at no time was there any call or email about it being the wrong cabin! Since you received all the correspondence and signed all the papers for Birds of a Feather, that implies that you agreed you were booked in the right cabin from the very beginning and there never was a "location change" or anything silly like that. You got the cabin that was reserved and paid for from the very beginning!! Now, if you had in fact specifically asked for the same cabin as last year (as opposed to asking for something similar or general in nature), our procedure is we would have looked up your history to see which cabin you were in last year, and we would have booked you in the exact same cabin as last year and you would have paid for and received all the correspondence for that cabin cabin!! We promise! IF and i mean IF there was a rare error on our part of booking you in a completely different cabin than what you literally requested (which is highly unlikely and has never happened before), why not alert us as soon as you got the confirmation? Maybe there was confusion about the name and cabin number or maybe you felt confident you booked the correct cabin. In any event, we feel you should have reviewed your confirmation, details, directions and registration before blaming us for a "location change". As far as the kitchen inventory and seating, we will pass your comments along to the private home owner. For future reference you can rent extra tables and chairs for larger parties right through us at the time of booking. So sorry!
The Tallants and the Jerdens
Less well appointed than we would have expected
Having stayed at this resort previously, but in a different vacation home, we were disappointed that this cabin was somewhat less than welcoming. There was a fireplace, but no tools (what to use for a poker?); beds to sleep more than a dozen, but room for only 6 to eat at the table together; dishes and utensils enough, but not much to cook in; toilet paper enough to last only half our stay (a problem when you're iced in after a day-long snow); a hot tub that was only tepid. For the price, we've had much better accommodations.
Response from KZCabins - 05/23/2012
Thanks for your feedback. The home is privately owned and furnished. We will happily pass along your suggestions to the Cabin Owner. Our website details the specifications of each cabin such as the table seating capacity and we offer additional tables and chairs for rent for larger parties in the check out screens online as well as through our reservations agent via phone. In addition, our website specifies what startup supplies are provided for free for guest convenience (such as how many toilet paper rolls per bathroom are provided as a startup supply), and we highly recommend in the driving directions to stock up on groceries and conveniences before you arrive to your cabin, just in case (like a snow storm snowing you in for example). The hot tub has a thermostat that controls temperature and one simply presses the temperature button to increase the temperature as described in the procedures in the cabin book inside the cabin. During our pre-arrival services, we verify that hot tubs are operating correctly. Its possible that the hot tub was drained, cleaned and serviced prior to your arrival and it takes several hours to heat up. We have an after hours phone number but we received no calls about your concerns therefore we were unable to address them as we were not aware of them. 2011UPDATE: Owner has added a new set of pots and pans as well as a poker set for the fireplace.
A Memorable New Years Eve.
My family and I enjoyed a wonderful New Years Eve weekend at your beautiful cabin. The cabin was comfortable enough for our large group. Unfortunately we did not get to see snow, but it was cold enough that we were able to enjoy the great fire place. The kids even loved interacting with the neighborhood dogs. We will definitely be back in the future. Thank you Cheryl for all your help.
Loved all the room!! Snow was everywhere when we got there which did make it difficult to go anywhere. Loved having three floors. Does need more kitchen utensils(big knives, pizza cutter, storage containers).Very comfortable beds.
Response from KZCabins - 05/23/2012
Thank you for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed the property and we have submitted a request to the Home Owner to supply big knives, pizza cutter and storage containers! Hope you come back soon!
excellant stay, no troubles, no worries, beautiful cabins
A Wonderful Thanksgiving with Family in Ellijay
The Birds of a Feather cabin was a great place for our four families (10 adults and 8 children) to gather for the Thanksgiving Holiday. Since we were coming from Miami, Washington DC and atlanta, it was a great location. The cabin provided everything we needed and KZ Cabins were very helpful in making sure we had everything we needed. We were all very pleased with our stay. Overall...Great!
A wonderful getaway!
My experience at Birds of a Feather was wonderful; we loved it
My family and I had a great time at Birds of a Feather. We were just moments away from the apple Festival at the fairground. We visited the apple farms and house all along the way and had a wonderful time. The cabin was cozy and just the getaway we needed. Thanks.
Fix a few things and it's great...
It was a good getaway overall but, the temperature from one bedroom to the next was bad! Some rooms were cold, some hot, some just right. It made sleeping difficult for some of us, especially in the basement and top floor. The pool table was not at all balanced so playing competitively was not an option. Some dog that lived nearby was always outside the door. It was not mean or aggressive but it got to be very annoying...I had to have my children entertain/distract it whenever I brought my own dog out to pee. My dog couldn't hang out outside at all because of it.
Spending time with Family
The drive way is horrible, It was rough getting out of that driveway, People that live up there said that they are always having to pull people out. Scorpions are still a problem in the down stairs part of the house. There needs to be some more kitchen items added. It was not very handicap acceable espicalley the drive way. but i guess overall everything else was nice.
Response from KZCabins - 05/23/2012
Thank you for your review. Apart form everything else being very nice, the driveway is designed for three vehicles at the top and up to four "4WD" vehicles at the bottom, as listed clearly on the website listing. If guests ignore these rules, they will have problems parking. The upper driveway is a semi-circle, so you pull in on the right side and exit on the left side without having to turn around. There is not much incline to worry about at the top. Also, the lower driveway is gravel and many drivers are not familiar with driving on gravel. The key is not to stop when exiting or you lose all momentum which leads to losing traction from being stopped on an incline, especially when coming up from the lower driveway. This driveway is actually one of the better ones in the mountains because it has had drainage corrections installed, and widened an to accommodate larger vehicles. We were not aware of people always having to be pulled out. Dead scorpions are common due to the pest control services. If a scorpion was found alive, we should immediately be notified so we can immediately dispatch pest control to take care of it, but we were not informed of any live scorpions during your stay. There are already sufficient place settings for 22 people and sufficient pots, pans and cooking utensils that can be used at any one time on the stove. The dishwasher is there to wash anything that needs to be reused for another meal. Any specific suggestions for kitchen items is always appreciated and forwarded to the private Home Owner for consideration. The cabin is not rated for handicap accessibility nor is it advertised as such.
Best in North Ga
Place is well maintained and awesome experience staying. If we are in the area next time we know where we are staying !!! Property managers are very helpful, responsive and go that extra mile to make your stay comfortable.
Miami Gardens, Fl
Yearly family vacation
The cabin was really nice...the only down fall was the seating it was not enough seating for all of the family to eat meals together. We also had a visiting dog that wondered around the place everyday .. it was kind of scary but no harm...
Response from KZCabins - 05/23/2012
Thank you for your review and feedback. The home is privately owned and furnished. We have submitted a request to the Home Owner to supply additional dining solutions. Meanwhile, we offer additional folding tables and chairs for rent for larger groups. Also, we saw the dog you are referring to and have called the authorities to help find its home. Thanks so much!
New Port Richey,Fl.
Uncomfortable,and poorly furnished,dangerous...
The lack of comfortable seating and mattresses made my stay very miserable.. I had the M.B.on main floor,There was no shower curtain or safety bar in shower,no bath mats in slippery shower floor or BR.floor..We had to buy our own for safety cautions..This cabin is not suited for elderly people or children..Loved the town of Elijay..
Response from KZCabins - 09/03/2010
Hi, thanks for your feedback. You were with the same party that has been complaining about not having a closet in the 6th bedroom, a beeping smoke detector battery, a bad driveway and fear of death from a fire starting in the bedrooms with no windows.... Let us just respond that the walk-in tile shower is a deep shower and does not require a curtain. The bathroom floors are tile. They get slippery when wet. We provide over 30 towels there - i think you could use one of those on the floor if needed. We don't have any cabins with safety bars in the showers. These are privately owned residential homes, not hotel rooms. Also, the Owner recently added memory foam mattress toppers to all 6 beds in the cabin to further improve the bedding and comfort. We're sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Birds of a Feather is a disappointment
If the driveway was recently upgraded, it is difficult to imagine it being worse than it presently is. The upper section did accommodate 4 vehicles, with 2 parked along side the porch and 2 parked next to the street before you go down the inclined driveway. Our group learned to back up, as far as possible, to get a running start, to exit the driveway without spinning out on the gravel. We did not use the lower driveway because of the steep incline.This cabin has many amenities and could be fabulous, but it does not have the basics. Only the master br has a chest/dresser. We stayed an entire week and had to get creative in finding someplace to store our clothing. My husband and I stayed in one of the downstairs br. The only things in the entire room was a bed, night stand, and one lamp and there was no closet. We pulled the wood rocking chairs, from the gameroom, into our br, so we would have a place to put clothing. We also took a bar stool, from the gameroom and used it as a night stand. The mattress was of poor quality with a thin layer of pad over the springs. At least our bedroom had a window. The other 2 bedrooms, on our floor, did not have windows and to top that off, the battery was dead (beeping) in the only smoke detector in the basement level. My brother went to the store and replaced the battery, because your office had closed for the weekend, and we could not risk a fire starting in the gameroom because our family could die whilst sleeping in rooms without windows! Our family has been getting together, once or twice a year, for many years now. We have experienced many rental cabins, homes, and chalets in Gatlinburg Tennessee, North and South Carolina, Florida, and Kentucky. This cabin was no more reasonably priced than many of those were, but this cabin, was by far the worse for comfort and being basically furnished.
Response from KZCabins - 09/03/2010
Hi Guys! Thanks for your feedback. Although only the Master has a dresser, all of the 6 bedrooms but 1 have a hanging closet. We apologize that a closet was not built in the 6th bedroom. The owner recently furnished each bedroom with a 3-drawer storage unit for clothing storage. The driveway was recently upgraded, widened, expanded for more parking and a drainage solution implemented. Also, we cannot control the cabin construction as far as windows and emergency exits. Not sure what would start a fire in those rooms unless you were smoking in them illegally. We notified the home owner about your complaints with the mattress and she recently added memory foam mattress toppers to each bed to improve comfort. We do have an after hours number to call with issues. Changing a beeping smoke detector battery is not difficult and if we would have been notified immediately, would have come done that for you.
This cabin was only one grade above camping.
This cabin sleeps 18, but only has seating for 5 in the L/R and seating for 6 in the dining area plus 2 bar stools. There are no chests to put clothing in and one bedroom does not even have a closet. There is a TV downstairs, but no sofas or chairs to set on. The mattresses are just awful. The driveway is horrible. Steep and not paved. Most of us could not use it. The part leading down to the basement requires 4 wheel drive. This cabin is just not ready for guests. The a/C was great and we loved Ellijay. We did have a good time in spite of this darn cabin.
Response from KZCabins - 09/03/2010
Thanks for your feedback. The driveway was recently upgraded to house 4 vehicles at the more level top section and 3 more down the lower driveway which agreeably is steeper than the top but should be sufficient for most vehicles. In the mountains, hardly any driveways are paved. You probably noticed that from all the cabins around you. The cabin itself is furnished by the Owner and has the basic required amenities to sustain vacationing guests. Whilst a few of the 6 bedrooms do not have lavish chests for clothing, 5 of them do have closets and the master does have a large chest and dual walk in closets, but the Owner recently added storage containers in each bedroom for storing clothing as well as added memory foam mattress toppers to every bed to improve sleeping comfort. The game room downstairs with the TV is filled with a pool table, rocking chairs, stools and a bar. Where do you put sofa's in there? The home is privately owned and independently furnished and is more than ready for guests. In fact this cabin has housed over 25 separate families for vacations prior to this one, all with great feedback from their vacation. I believe most people would disagree with your "one grade above camping" comment, especially since you have 6 bedrooms, 3.5 baths, hot tub, wireless internet, a fully equipped kitchen, several pull out sofa's, a pool table, a fireplace, flatscreen TV's with satellite programming, a large deck with gas grill, a laundry room with washer/dryer, jacuzzi bath tub, dual vanity sinks, great A/C....need i go on. Just look at the floor plans and pictures. Well we are happy you had a good time anyway and hope there is a cabin out there somewhere that you find that's suitable to your taste that is priced as good as this one.
we had a great time
we really enjoyed out stay. the only difficulty was a family member showed up before we did and couldnt get in because the gaurd said they did not have any of us on the list. When we arrived it was taken care of. we checked in on friday and they did not bring us the pool passes until monday morning, but was there very quickly that day when Cheryl found out we did not have any. I wish there was someone we could get ahold of on the nights or weekends. The house was great for the exception of the upstairs bathroom door not wanting to closes all the way and lock and you could see through the crack of the door. but other than that we were there to celebrate a wedding anniversary of 50 years and our family had just lost a loved one so it was a great time of healing together and celebration!
Response from KZCabins - 06/25/2010
Thanks for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay! We supply the list of guests to the Resort's security office the same day we receive the registration from the guests and as we are not affiliated with the Resort Security we can't comment on why they blocked one of your guests from entering. We have an after- hours and weekend option that is on our voicemail recording so you are able to contact us anytime 24/7. If you would have used that option over the weekend we could have resolved the pool pass problem the day you found it. The new 2010/2011 pool passes were issued by the Resort the week prior to your arrival and we had just received our batch from the Resort so we apologize for not having them there prior to your arrival. We responded to your request to look at the upstairs bathroom door the same day and sent a maintenance person to look at it who reported we'd have to contact the Builder to correct the door problem because it was a home warranty issue. Also, Thanks again, we hope you come back soon!