2 Much Fun
|Minimum Stay||7 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Soundfront Cottage, 5 BR, 5 B + 2 half B. K * K * Q * Q * 2 B with trundles * QSS. Sand Castle Club linen service with beds made. Soundfront 12‚Äô x 30‚Äô swimming pool and hot tub. Three master suites all with beautiful Intracoastal Waterway views and access to large shared deck. All bedrooms have private baths. Elevator access to all three floors. Rec room with darts, foosball and pool tables. Quiet, small study area with wireless high speed Internet access, printer and fax.
Media room includes home theatre with 60‚ÄĚ DLP high density TV with movie quality surround sound. Spectacular reverse floor plan with custom kitchen including s...Read more
2 Much Fun
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$0||$2,425 - $5,595||$0||7 nights|
|May. 5 2013 - Jun. 8 2013||-||$3,000||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 9 2013 - Jun. 15 2013||-||$4,450||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 16 2013 - Aug. 10 2013||-||$5,595||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 11 2013 - Aug. 17 2013||-||$5,100||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 18 2013 - Sep. 7 2013||-||$3,175||-||7 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Sep. 8 2013 - Nov. 23 2013||-||$2,425||-||7 nights|
|Nov. 24 2013 - Dec. 1 2013||-||$2,500||-||7 nights|
|View all 7 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 24, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Emerald Expectations flop with this rental home-it's not 2 much
Where to start:
First day-arrived to the air not working on the top floor, a snake on the 3rd floor deck. That should have told us something.
After that they had us on speed dial for as many times as we had to call.
2nd floor king suite bath tub not draining, hot tub jets do not work at all, 2nd floor toilet stopped up and 1 broken plunger, 1 too small.
Pool was great except not at all handicap friendly. All pool furniture is rotted or ripped-out of 6 lounge chairs, 5 were ripped through, back broken, only 1 was still standing and no one would sit on it due to fear of falling through. All material was rotted. The wooden furniture outside, all rotted-the seats were cracking and breaking-only 1 usable bench outside. When we called we were told " our hands are tied until the owners call us back". Upon the owners calling back, we were told they would be there in 2 weeks and would fix it then-only one question, how does that help us? 9 adults and one small bench that was usable-no where to lay out all week in the sun. Seriously? If the rental company and owners cared that people were paying 6k to rent this property, before taxes, they would give them outdoor furniture to use. We had one member of our party almost seriously hurt them self falling through a chair.
Bikes-there is no 3-wheeler- they are infested with spiders. I called to get them cleaned out and pulled out, we were told there were no bikes however we had the key and were not about to walk in there.
I had to call the rental company to get an exterminator out the next day as the first thing i saw when i got there was a roach in the drawer. We had roaches crawling on the ceiling, floor and 6 in the beach toy bag. I had contacted them prior to our stay informing them we had a child in our party that was very allergic to roaches and were told it would be taken care of.
Needs to be fired. Cheerios all over the house, in the rugs, under tables, in bedrooms. Heard of a vacuum? The glass tabletop needs to be removed and the dining room table cleaned. The off-white chairs at the table are filthy.
Out of 4 DVD players, 1 worked. Nice to have a media/theater room however the movie collection are all VHS tapes. Couldn't sit on the seating if you had any movement limitations as you could not get back up.
Overall the house is a nice layout, however, the rental company isn't doing the owner justice and keeping it up. We called about the mold/mildew, it needed to be power washed. One step going down into the water on the sound side was so slippery we had one of our party fall on it. The playground is a joke -see photos attached to review for true condition-the photos they display are very old-the playground is not usable-it's overgrown and unsafe inside no matter how many times they rental company tells you it's safe. The kitchen is a great layout however very under stocked- no large Tupperware, not enough pans for cooking when you plan on cooking for larger groups at the house. We made the best of it but this in no way is worth the money, maybe half. It's time to find a new rental company or for the owners to understand this is not emerald top notch service by any means.
This year was in no way up to our expectations
I have submitted a survey to Emerald Isle Realty. This home is infested with american Roaches. We killed or removed 3-5 on a daily basis. An exterminator did come and spray all floors on Mon or Tues. The dining room table and chairs need to be cleaned, the chairs are filthy and under the glass on the table are crumbs and debris, not very appealing when eating. No potholders in the kitchen. Very few steak knives, a home for 10 guests should have 10 knives, you should not need to share when eating. All the light switches need to be labeled. I felt like some comforters needed to be cleaned. The actual layout of the house is great, and the outside is very nice, until you look next door at the pool which has green water. I don't think that helps with mosquitos etc. We never saw anyone there, it may be an empty house. I would not use this company again and feel some sort of a refund is due, I paid too much money for a nice family vacation. We have vacationed previously in Spinnakers Reach subdivision and never encountered roaches. I consider the roaches as serious problem, as they carry disease and are disgusting.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 08/18/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at 2 Much Fun. I'm sorry to hear of the issues which you experienced during your stay. I am happy to let you know that the owner of 2 Much Fun has plans to refurbish 2 Much Fun during our off season. Also, the exterminating of this home has been increased to keep the bugs such as you experienced at bay.
I am sorry that you don't plan to return to Emerald Isle Realty and hope you will reconsider. Should you do just that, please call us and we'll happily let you know what work has been done at this property - 1-888-832-0140.
Expecting more and recieved less..
Upon arival at the rental property we felt in aw of the house and as the time went on we noticed several small things going wrong.. 1) the grill was dirty. 2) there were some boards lose on the dock seating area. 3) we seen some nails popped up on the third story elevator landing.4) the curtain was hanging loose in the media room. 5) we only got to cookout on the grill twice and ran out of propane..6) housekeeping never returned our calls. 7) the playarea was all but useable. the bike area was covered in spider webs. 8)A deck board broke under one of our party. 9) overall we had a fun stay just a few defects that could have been avoided.. Can't figure out why it cost so much for the housekeeping service that don't answer..10) Tub jets on second floor master suite broken. 11) dishwasher was not cleaning dishes very well. 12) nails working up on the wraparound deck boards.. 13) there where fixtures duct taped vacuum, remotes. 14) the clothes iron was inoperable. 15) the sliding door to the upper deck from third floor living area will not lock bad deal for little kids.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 06/21/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at 2 Much Fun. I am sorry to hear of the maintenance and housekeeping issues you experienced during your stay and I hope you were able to enjoy your time in Emerald Isle despite these things.
I do see where most of the maintenance issues which you mentioned were reported by you at check out and our maintenance department has remedied these things. I did forward your review to ensure no items were missed. I'm very sorry to hear that you didn't receive a response from our housekeeping department. This certainly isn't typical, nor the level of service for which we strive.
Thank you for your feedback. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next vacation and we'll happily assist you - 1-888-832-0140.
2 Much Fun...2 Many Issues?
Nice house & nice soundfront location.
There were several maintenance issues and housekeeping issues that we reported the day we arrived. Because this was an "emerald" rated property I would have expected this property to have been better maintained and immaculately clean.
*damaged plantation blinds in one of the bedrooms (corrected on Tuesday)
*no hot water in ground level shower(corrected on Friday)
*dead bug on bathroom vanity and add'l dead bugs lying on carpets(notified housekeeping the day we arrived and spoke to someone on Monday about having someone to come over to clean and vacuum - this was never addressed by housekeeping. We also found cookies and cereal bars under/ behind beds. The house had not been adequately cleaned prior to our arrival or had been cleaned several weeks earlier and sat unused for a few weeks. This property should have been inspected and cleaned prior to our arrival. )
*lots of Palmetto bugs(ie roaches) on ground level (never reported during our stay because we had young children with us and did not want an exterminator to spray during our stay. I reported this to the young lady while checking out and she responded "well, they are prevalent down here". Not an appropriate response, she gave the impression that she was disregarding the bug issue and it would not be addressed.)
*damaged screen and screen door on top level leading to deck (not sure if this was ever corrected)
*misleading photographs of playground area (The playground was another reason we chose this property. I have two young children that would love to have used the playground. The playground is overgrown with weeds and the playhouse is leaning(severely) and unsafe. We would not allow our children to play in this area. The photo on the EI Realty website is obviously several years old. An updated photo should be placed on the website or the playhouse and swings should be taken down/replaced).
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 06/02/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at 2 Much Fun and for bringing these items to my attention. I am very sorry to hear of the maintenance and housekeeping issues you experienced during your stay and I hope you were still able to enjoy your time on our beautiful island.
I have submitted a request to housekeeping to have the 2 Much Fun sprayed for the bugs you encountered. While most of our homes are treated regularly for this very thing, from time to time an additional treatment is required. Our Director of Maintenance did inspect the children's playhouse and deemed it to be safe. He did note that it is sitting on ground which isn't level and that can give one the impression that it is not sturdy. Also, we have scheduled a lawn service to take care of the weeds and such in this area. We would have happily scheduled this during your stay, had you let us know of this issue.
Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you'll revisit our island and allow Emerald isle Realty another opportunity to serve as your host. Please call us if we can assist in planning your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
It was literally "too much fun!".
The rental was great. The staff at the rental office were ery helpful and prompt in providing service.
The rental property was even better than expected. The house was beautiful and clean and had everything we needed. The location on the sound and easy walking distance to the beach was perfect. It was also well located on the island too be close to everything we needed.
The only problem we had during the week was that the barbecue did not have gas and only two of the burners worked. We had to clean off the mess left on the barbecue from the last visitors to the rental.
Overall the place was just the right size for the 9 of us who came with ur family and I would highly recommend this property to anyone.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 03/29/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at 2 Much Fun. It pleases me to know that you and your family enjoyed a fantastic vacation at this home. I am sorry to hear of the issue you experienced with the grill, but we're happy to exchange that gas tank for you at our office so please let us know when something like this occurs. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next stay - 1-888-832-0140.
Our entire family came for one week in June-9 adults and 5 children. The house was fabulous. It was clean, it had great community space, and large private master suites. We rather enjoyed staying on the sound-the kayaks were a highlight. Everyone loved going out to the island and seeing crabs, oysters, and being "pirates." The beach is just a short walk away. We thought we wanted a beachfront rental, but this was much better as we did not have to worry about the little ones wandering down to the water. The pool was used continuously. Our only downside (and it is small) was the lack of ability to walk to restaurants and activities. The owners have provided all of the extras you could ever need!
2 Much Fun!
Had a blast. Plenty of stuff to do. Kayaks were great! Short walk to beach was great. That was the best house we have stayed in yet and look forward to staying there again!
High Point NC
Great house, great location, great time.
This is an ideal home for large groups and/or families. There is plenty of room to get away from each other which I think is key to a healthy, positive time together. We were there over the holidays so didn't get to enjoy the outside amenities but they looked great.
Movie buffs will love the home theater room as well as a great place to put an extra body to sleep if you need to.
Elevator was a great feature for bringing up all those groceries and for getting the older folks up and down.
Kitchen is well outfitted for large groups, great selection of pots and pans and bowls etc. Could use some white wine glasses as our wine snobs had problems with using red wine glasses for white ! No wineopener either...
We would definitely rent again if the dishwasher is replaced.
Sound Side- A New Adventure
After 18 years being ocean front, we decided to try the sound side. We loved it immediately. It was beautiful. The birds were singing all the time, the boys actually saw a fox on the boardwalk one morning.
The house was beautifully furnished and we enjoyed sitting on the deck outside all the time. Unfortunately, we found the house to be a little dirty. It was tidy, but several areas needed some real attention. We had issues with the water. We bought water for drinking and coffee.
There were large worms in the pool that we could not remove. We were hoping for a mid-week cleaning as we have always had before. They kept us out of the water.
Overall, we had a wonderful week with our family and will return to Emerald Isle again.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 05/06/2010
2 Much Fun is great place to stay for a sound side vacation!
The home has been deep cleaned and all areas have had proper attention. We're sorry about the uninvited swimmers in your pool! Any time you have an issues we want to know about it immediately so that we have an opportunity to fix it for you and your family. All pools are cleaned the day of your arrival and once again during your stay. We look forward to you and your family vacationing with us again this year!
2 Much Fun - A Great Family Getaway!
2 Much Fun is a great place to spend time with family and friends. We have stayed 2 years in a row and we have loved it. This was our first experience on the sound side and I tell you it was well worth it. 2 Much Fun had kayaks, bikes, play house for the kids, game room, theatre room and much more. Our family had such a wonderful time together and we have some great memories that we will talk about for years. I would recomend this house to anyone. 5 stars in my book!
Georgeous and very relaxing!
Too Much Fun was an amazing sound front home. We typically enjoy ocean front homes, but once we saw this amazing home we were very pleased with our decision. The house was spacious, very well decorated with an amazing kitchen and pool area. Each bedroom was very private and made for a nice time for several married couples with children to still have significant privacy. We would definately stay here again!