Mullet Bay West
- 3 bedrooms
- 5 bathrooms
- sleeps 6
Description from the manager
Duplex, West side only. 3 BR, 4 1/2 B. Q * Q * Q * 2S. Island Club linen service with beds made. Dishwasher, washer/dryer, 4 cable TVs, DVD player, stereo, wireless high speed Internet access, ceiling fans throughout. Conveniently located across from community pool. Decks with porch furniture including table and chairs, rockers, picnic table, charcoal grill, enclosed hot/cold outside shower. Located in exclusive Spinnaker’s Reach subdivision where amenities include neighborhood swimming pool with cabana and playground. Peg lot. Available year 'round. No smoking. No pets. 9923 Louise Howard Court.This oceanfront property rents monthly in the...Read more
Mullet Bay West
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Additional Location Information
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: October 10, 2013 ◀▶
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Date||Nightly Rate||Weekly Rate||Monthly Rate|
|Aug 17, 2013 - Sep 06, 2013 ||$2,125|
|7 night min stay | Any day check-in|
|All other dates |
|night min stay | Any day check-in|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
- Linens Provided
- High Speed Internet
- Pool [?]
- Gas Grill [?]
- Non Smoking
- Gas or Charcoal Grill
- Spring Savings Discount
- Nightly rentals in Off-Season
- Winter/Monthly Rentals
- Military Appreciation Discount
- Get 10 in 2014
- Pet friendly - Ask
- Suitable for children - Ask
- Suitable for the elderly - Ask
- Wheelchair accessible - Ask
What Past Guests Are Saying
Not our best vacation experience
Mullet Bay West could be a very nice vacation house. It has a comfortable floor plan, is nicely decorated and the location is wonderful. However, it is in need of much work.
• The exterior needs repair. There was building material strewn across the main steps leading to the living room.
• The house was last cleaned three weeks prior to our check-in date. It smelled musty and there were hundreds of dead roly-poly bugs on the ground-level floor.
• The overhead kitchen light did not work properly.
• The downstairs toilet leaked.
• There was a dead animal smell in the garage and adjacent storage room.
• The washer/dryer combo didn't work and caused the breaker to melt & smoke.
• The oceanfront master bedroom smelled like cat urine from a large water stain in front of the balcony door. The balcony door was very hard to open and it leaked every time it rained. The carpet was soaked by rain Sat nite thru Mon nite and again on Thurs. We spent the week mopping up water with towels. Carpet guys rolled back the carpet and left a hot, loud dehumidifier machine to dry the flooring. This room was virtually unusable during our stay.
Not our best vacation experience. However, everyone we dealt with at Emerald Isle Realty was extremely polite and responsive.
Nice House - Good Value
Emerald Isle Realty switched us to Mullet Bay West from another house that was apparently too shabby to rent out. I was impressed that EIR went to the trouble of checking out the units prior to our arrival and finding us a comparable place at the last minute. They were very helpful and friendly.
We were probably the first renters of the season and it looks like the owners have done a lot to spruce the place up since the photos were taken. The somewhat dated-looking sofas that the photos show in the living room have been moved to the ground floor. The main level now has red sofas that complement the rest of the decor. There are three flat-screen TVs, one on each level. The floor on the ground level is wood or some wood-look substance. It looks much nicer than the carpet in the photos.
I don't know why they say that it has 3 bedrooms and sleeps 6, it actually has 4 bedrooms (3 on the top level - a queen master, another queen and a double, and a queen master on the main level). We had a family of four plus my father-in-law so this configuration worked quite well for us. We really enjoyed sitting on the balcony off the top level master bedroom and looking at the ocean at night, I loved the rockers on the balconies. Even though it is the peg-lot it we could still see dolphins from the living room windows! The wireless internet was also extremely convenient to have.
The dishwasher did not work well. We tried a number of different things, but we still had trouble with a white film on the dishes, really not a big deal though. The windows and doors seem like they have had some weather-related wear. I would have liked to see screens on more of them so that we could have the windows open. All of these were very minor issues that didn't interfere with our vacation at all.
The linen service was included and nice. I tend to be a little germaphobic, but the sheets were all very clean, as was the rest of the house.
Overall we thought this was a very nice house.
A Nice vacation
Mullet Bay west is a nice place to stay if you were a handy man and still wanted to work during vacation. The dishwasher didn't work that well. The dryer doesn't turn off when you open the door (thus why the breaker was blown when we got there) the doors on the showers didn't move until we put soap on them. Nails on the deck were sticking up on the stairs.The bed in the upstairs bedroom leg laid on the nightstand when we arrived and the bed had a Detroit Lean. The reason We did not call maitenace to come and fix was I was on vacation and I deal with that waiting on people to fix things at home why would I want to do this on vacation. Also it isn't like you were going to do anything to compensate me you have never in the past. So we have learned after coming to the beach for the pat 12 years that you just deal with what you get because evidently it doesn't matter that renters are coming in to the company and these things are broken. We still come back every year and enjoy the beach in the hopes that one year we find a place that is worth staying at again. We loved the beach and the location but this house was not for us. Another thing that just got to us was during our stay we went to the community pool and since the guy hadn't done his job that morning they closed the pool for him to put the chemicals in, he was very rude in the way he asked us to leave. We payed good money to come there and expect to use all the facilities. Overall we make the best of the vacation because you can't ruin the beach itself.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 12/13/2011
Thank you for your review of your stay at Mullet Bay West. I'm sorry you were disappointed when you found some maintenance issues at the house. We do rely on our guests to report such things so we can fix it. In most cases, we don't need anyone in your group to remain at the property to wait for a repairman.
We don't manage the pool within Spinnaker's Reach so I'm unsure why it might have been closed. If you call us when something like this happens, we'll gladly inquire about it so we can let you know what is going on.
Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you will revisit Emerald Isle and I, too, hope you and your family find your place at the beach. Please call us when you begin planning your next vacation and we'll search availability to find you just that - 1-888-832-0140.
Holly Springs, NC
Nice house with good location to pool and beach.
Nice house with good location to pool and beach. Nicely decorated, comfortable house. Had everything we needed. Basement is a little musty.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 01/26/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Mullet Bay West. I agree, the location and community amenities add to the value of this home. It pleases me to know that you enjoyed your vacation and all this duplex has to offer. Please call us when you begin planning your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
Mullet Bay West was a nice home. However, I will comment that located in Spinnakers Reach it did not compare to the other homes there as far as ammentities and decor. The fold out beds in the bottom floor (kids room) was a bit dissappointing.
The refrigerator ice maker leaks terribly, water was constantly saturating the food so we had to turn the ice maker off.
On a positive note, the view was amazing and direct access to the pool was very convenient. We had a good time.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 01/26/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Mullet Bay West. It pleases me to know that you and your family did have a good time and found the home to be nice.
I am sorry to hear of the maintenance issues you encountered. Please report such things to our office so we can work to remedy them for you.
Thank you for your feedback. I hope you'll revisit Emerald Isle soon and allow Emerald Isle Realty another opportunity to serve as your host. Please call us when you begin planning your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
Very nice family rental. Downstairs area great for kids. We enjoyed it!!