|Minimum Stay||7 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Cottage, 4 BR, 2 B. Q * Q * Q, S * Q, S. Island Club linens provided. Oceanfront hot tub. Cathedral ceiling in living/dining area, galley kitchen, 2 cable TVs (1 flat screen), 2 DVD players, wireless high speed Internet access, ceiling fans throughout. Glass wall facing the ocean offers beautiful, endless views of the Atlantic. Spend mornings with the dolphins as they frolic just off-shore, and evenings stargazing from the hot tub. Spacious wrap-around deck with picnic tables and palm trees. Charcoal grill. Available year 'round including monthly in the off-season. No smoking. Pets allowed with $200 non-refundable fee per pet (2 maximum). 150...Read more
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$640||$640||$1,600 - $3,100||$0||7 nights|
|May. 4 2013 - Jun. 7 2013||$570||$570||$1,600||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 8 2013 - Jun. 14 2013||-||-||$2,400||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 15 2013 - Aug. 9 2013||-||-||$3,100||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 10 2013 - Aug. 16 2013||-||-||$2,700||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 17 2013 - Sep. 6 2013||$640||$640||$1,950||-||7 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 21, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Home was just ok.
This home was clean and, for the most part, comfortable. However, the a/c in one half of the house didn't work properly - and two of the bedrooms were hot all night long. It lists having a TV in the master, but although it is there, it is not hooked up, and the dvd (or vcr, I don't remember which) was in the closet. The kitchen wasn't well stocked, so we had to make do when cooking. The location is wonderful, however. It was nice to have a hot tub available to us as well.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 04/09/2013
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. I'm sorry to hear of the inconveniences you faced during your vacation and we gladly would have taken care of these things if you had let us know during your stay.
I see that you are returning to Emerald Isle and Emerald Isle Realty in 2013. We hope that your stay will be nothing but relaxing and enjoyable, but should you need anything at all please call us, 1-888-832-0140.
North Potomac, MD
We loved the casualness of attitude adjustment
We were a couple in our 60's, two 30 something couples, two children (a two year old and 9 month old) and Buddy the dog. Buddy stayed parked on the cool tile most of the time. The house was perfect for us. The couples with children were on one side of the house and we were on the other. We only ran out of hot water once. We had all taken showers, done a load of wash and we ran out doing dishes. The house was very easy to care for. The broom and dust pan came in very handy. The outside hose on the deck managed to get the majority of the sand off, but you never get it all. The wi-fi worked fine. Several times we had three laptops going. The hot tub was wonderful and was cleaned before we arrive on Saturday. Thank you for allowing us to bring our four-legged family member along.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 08/12/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Attitude Adjustment. It pleases me to know that you and your family enjoyed your time at this home so much and we hope you will return. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next Emerald Isle vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
Great location but dated
We enjoyed our week at attitude adjustment. The house was just the right size for our family of five plus the grandparents. It was wonderful to be right on the ocean. The view from the family room could not be beat. However, we were disappointed with the lack of a dishwasher, the dated kitchen and bathrooms, and the tired looking family room furniture. The kitchen floor was sticky when we arrived but housekeeping was quick to come out and clean for us after we called.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 07/20/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Attitude Adjustment. This quaint cottage does offer a lot of space and the views are wonderful. I'm sorry to hear that the floor wasn't cleaned when you arrived, but I'm pleased to know that our housekeeping department took care of this quickly for you. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next Emerald Isle vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
Oceanfront but ...
I am always tickled to come to the beach. I pay extra to stay on the oceanfront for the benefit of seeing what I hear. I was very disappointed with the house at the very beginning. When we tried to enter the house we like to never got the door open. The screen door stuck and the inside door would not open completely - very hard to carry luggage through. The sliding doors would not lock except with the board in the track. The only phone in the house was in the bedroom and it had a lot of static on it. Probably the rigged phone cords. The lamps in the bedroom were also connected to outlet by extension cord on the other side of the room. Needless to say this was the setup in all bedrooms. The second bathroom commode was big enough for my 5 & 7 year old but very hard for older adults to use and a ex-large adult- forget it! The kitchen was not well stocked with pots and pans. You would think with no dishwasher the sink stopper would hold water so dished could be washed. No such luck but a jar lid still works. The last thing I'll mention because it was a major thing for us was the deck out back was so old or lacked the up keep it needed. The young and old alike got many splintor from the dried out wood and stuck by nails that would backing out of the wood.
Wow, sorry to be so negative but it was obvious after 5 minutes that this was set up for the dollar income it brings. So sad with a little attention this could have been an awesome place but nobody on vacation wants these hassles.
On a positive note the hot tub was awesome even on the hot days late at night.
lovely view from clean cottage
Our experience with Emerald Isle Realty was very pleasant. The cottage is older and basic but clean. The oceanfront view is gorgeous and you can view it from large windows when inside. The hot tub is fabulous and well-maintained. The kitchen needs a few more items and new silverware...if you're going to cook much you should bring some things from home. The "master" shower is tiny and the hot water runs out very fast--this was probably the least favorite part of our experience. The provided linens are fresh and clean but bath towels are very small. You may want to bring your own Wi-Fi router as the one in cottage was broken. Overall we had a lovely time at attitude adjustment.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 06/18/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Attitude Adjustment. It pleases me to know that you and your family arrived to clean accommodations and enjoyed your time in this home. I agree, the view is breathtaking. I have reported the issues which you noted to our maintenance department and trust they'll be handled quickly. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next stay and we'll happily reserve this cottage for you again - 1-888-832-0140.
Raleigh, north carolina
It was easy living there, view great, hot tub was a treat.
Overall, this was an easy place to rent for the month. We loved having the hot tub on the deck and it was serviced every Sunday. There are separate heat/air units for each side that works well. The bathrooms are small but functional. The TV could be a bit larger but the large open area for the LR and DR is roomy for seating. The washer/dryer was useful but we missed a dishwasher.
It was good location on the island and I would recommend it to others who want to relax and have a simple walk to the beach. November was great time for the hot tub!
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 01/31/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Attitude Adjustment. The hot tub was recently added to this property so I'm certain that the owners will like knowing how much you enjoyed it. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next extended stay in Emerald Isle - 1-888-832-0140.
Bill and Sue Robinette
We were disappointed that no door/window screens on ocean front
We were very disappointed that there was not a door or window on the ocean side that had a screen. We were looking forward to hearing/seeing the ocean during the day and hearing the waves as we slept. That is one reason we choose an ocean front cottage. I think those who rent an ocean fron cottage for this amount of money should know this! We were surprised that the ice maker had never been hooked up - people should know to pick up bags of ice before they move in. Again, surprise that there was no diswasher - but we over looked that in the borchure. Space is nice, second bathroom is very, very small. Really enjoyed the hot tub, although we had been in oncce when we found out it had not been cleaned in two weeks. Service on replacing remotes and fixing commode was prompt.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 10/25/2011
Thank you for your review of your stay at Attitude Adjustment. It pleases me to know that our maintenance department was prompt to fix issues which you encountered during your stay. I'm sorry to hear of your disappointment in lack of screens that this property. Providing screens t is up to the owner of each property.
Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you will revisit Emerald Isle and choose Emerald Isle Realty to host you - 1-888-832-0140.
Great location and access to the beach
The house seems to be an older home that has been kept in reasonably good condition. It was very clean and beds are comfortable. Kitchen was fair with an oven and stove that are in poor condition, no dishwasher, and other amenities missing. For example, we had to purchase a can opener. We had to be very careful to be sure the refrigerator door was closed. One bathroom is cramped. Air conditioning was barely adequate during the hottest part of the day. Great view and access to the beach. Older model Tv's.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 11/22/2011
Thank you for your review of Attitude Adjustment. I agree that the location of this home does boast wonderful views and the beach access doesn't get any better.
This Summer was unusually hot and humid. Air conditioners which normal have no issue, struggled to keep up due to the heat wave.
Thank you for your feedback. I hope you will return to the Crystal Coast. Please call our vacation planners when you begin planning your next trip - 1-888-832-0140.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Would never rent this property again...
Attitude adjustment should not be rated Silver. Overall it is in poor condition. The kitchen is poorly equipped, the drawers and cabinets dirty on the inside. The bathrooms were not clean and the bathroom sinks drained so poorly it was quite disgusting. The tub drained poorly as well. The LR and kitchen does not have any sort of window coverings which offers no privacy, especially at night ( this property is next to a beach access walk). In addition, on the really hot days the temp inside was in the upper 80's with the a/C turned down to 71. Again, window coverings would have helped this problem. The bedrooms had multiple stains on the carpets. Overall just felt dirty. Compared to other properties we have rented, this property is well overpriced. Would never rent it again.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 11/22/2011
Thank you for your review of your stay at Attitude Adjustment. I'm sorry you were disappointed to find that the windows didn't have coverings. This option is left up the each owner and many do enjoy the natural light which flows into the home from the Oceanfront.
Thank you for your suggestions. I am forwarding them to the owner. I hope you will return to Emerald Isle. Please call us when you begin planning your next trip - 1-888-832-0140.
Hello. When I was looking for a great first-time experience, a friend recommended Emerald Isle, NC. I could not believe my eyes on all the choices. I really like this house because of the floor to ceiling glass. Although overall, we did enjoy our stay, we had some issues with the house during our stay that made it uncomfortable.
1) The a/C ran all the time and the temp go up to around 86 during the day.
2) The stove and burners did not work for 4 days of our stay until the maintenace team fixed the issue.
3) The bathrooms had no privacy. The curtains were down and the wooden shutters did not cover the window all the way, so we hung up towels.
4) The Internet service was not pleasant. The service kept going offline and it caused issues when trying to connect.
5) The kitchen needs more privacy, like curtains. During our stay nothing was covering the windows and beach-goers were gazing in while we cooked breakfast.
I believe once these items are resolved, this would be the place I would return to next year. The location, cleanliness, linen service, etc. was excellent. Thank you.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 11/22/2011
Thank you for your review of your stay at Attitude Adjustment. It pleases me to know that you and your family enjoyed your time in Emerald Isle.
I am sorry to hear that you experienced some maintenance and housekeeping issues but I'm happy to know these were quickly resolved. I have passed on your review to the owners of this home so they can use your feedback when considering refurbishments and improvements for their property.
Thank you again for your review. We look forward to greeting you and your family again in Emerald Isle. Please call us when you begin planning your next trip - 1-888-832-0140..
nice place, however the hot tub left a little to be desired.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 01/04/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Attitude Adjustment. I'm glad to know that you did enjoy your time at this home. Also, it pleases me to let you know that the hot tub has been replaced. Please call us to book your next stay at Attitude Adjustment - 1-888-832-0140.
Successfully adjusted our attitude!
This was our first trip to Emerald Isle and we were very pleased with the house and the area. We wanted a cheap casual house on the ocean with a hot tub and this fit us perfectly. There was a storm at sea our first two days which provided all kinds of great shells to find. It even produced a rainbow over the water one day. The house is nothing fancy but perfect for being laid back and provided everything we needed. The hot tub is tucked under the house which was surprisingly nice because of the windy week we had, blocking some of the wind yet still allowing you to enjoy the moonlit sky. Linen service was basic but adequate for our needs. We were spoiled with the staff taking our trash and recycle cans out to the curb and never even noticed them when they did it.
The area was interesting, some good parts, some bad but overall the people were very friendly. In Emeralds Isle we love Emeralds Grill since there was only two of us and we didn't want to cook that much, highly recommend the breakfast burrito. You can also rent movies right next door. We also really enjoyed the staff at Flip Flops gas station and convenience store, they were our saviors for coffee.
Atlantic Beach was very ghetto (by the bridge) and we are still wondering how Skippers Cove Restaurant stays in business because it was disgusting. I am a fan of finding great food spots in dive bars and shady locations but it was horrible, don't believe the ads, they are very deceiving.
We thoroughly enjoyed Mile Marker 2 Restaurant (twice) which is at the foot of the bridge to Morehead. We spent less money there than nasty Skippers and they even had a live saxophonist. They had good ribs, steak, shrimp, and desserts. Plus they have a salt scrub for your hands in the bathroom that my wife really enjoyed.
Highly recommend visiting the aquarium in Pine Knoll Shores, it was very enjoyable. We didn't venture out too much more than that since we just wanted to relax and adjust our attitude. Job Well Done!
Perfect for us
This is a great house for us as we don't require elevators or fancy condo-type amenities. It has wonderful views, beds, and a good kitchen and table for evening meals. It's a great place to call 'home' at the beach.
Nicely furnished ocean front
This home was well equipped however we would rather not use air conditioning on cooler days as we enjoy ocean breezes and surf sounds. The windows were sealed and the sliding door had no screen. Some of the surrounding houses were rented to house parties and they enjoyed setting up right in front of our stairs. One more thing....people at this beach DO NOT pick up after their dogs. It's no fun cleaning up others poop before you can set up in the sand! WE will not rent at this beach again. WE had just moved to WV from Texas and this was our first NC vacation in 25 years.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 11/22/2011
Thank you for your review of your stay at Attitude Adjustment. It pleases me to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay in this home. I am sorry to hear that you won't be returning to our island due to the behavior of less than tidy beach goers. If you change your mind, please call us to plan your next trip - 1-888-832-0140.
Peaceful Get Away
We spent a week at the end of the summer. Because it was the last week before Labor Day, we pretty much had the beach to ourselves. We've rented on Emerald Isle before, but not on this part of the island. On the plus side, it was quite peaceful. On the minus side, it's a bit of a haul to ride bikes into town. We were only able to do this twice, and it was a real challenge will small children. The bicycle route does not fully connect and we had to go out to the main highway twice to ride the full distance.
The house is nicely decorated and was quite comfortable. One negative was no dishwasher, also, there was no outdoor shower, so more sand got tracked in than at houses we've stayed in on past vacations. The free wireless internet was a nice bonus.
I would recommend this house. It met or exceeded most of our expectations, plus it's pet friendly!