- 4 bedrooms
- 3 bathrooms
- Sleeps 8
Description from the manager
Duplex, 4 BR, 3 B. Island Club linen service with beds made. Oceanfront 16’ x 33’ swimming pool (shared); separate hot tub on each side. Outdoor bar with sink and electrical outlets. All BRs have ocean views. Free unlimited long distance in the US and Canada. Washer/dryer, 5 cable TVs, HBO, stereo with CD player, wireless high speed Internet access, ceiling fans throughout, water softener. Reverse floor plan. Large deck with porch furniture and gating system, gas grill, garage, enclosed hot/cold outside shower. Dogs allowed with $125 non-refundable fee for first pet, $25 fee for each additional pet. 5311 Ocean Drive. EAST: K * Q * Q * D,... S. 3 DVD players.WEST: Q * Q, S * D * 2S * QSS. 4 DVD players. Available year ‘round. No smoking.This oceanfront property rents monthly in the off-season. Linens are not included in monthly rentals, but may be added to your reservation.October & April $5,340; November - March $2,200 (Electric cap $225)
Additional amenities include: military appreciation discount, gas or charcoal grill, winter/monthly rentals, nightly rentals in off-season.Read more
About the manager
Emerald Isle Realty, Inc (252) 652-2100 Full profile
Calendar updated: today
Overall rating: 4.2 / 5.0 based on 6,808 reviews and 596 properties
Marine Manor West
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Additional Location Information
Last updated on August 28, 2014
Not available for your dates? Check availability for 92 other Emerald Isle rentalsCheck Availability for Emerald Isle
Rates shown in $ USD
|Don't see rates for your trip?|
- Linens Provided
Phone / Internet
- Internet Access
Pool / Spa
- Hot Tub/Jacuzzi
- Private Pool
- Pet friendly - yes
- Smoking allowed - no
- Suitable for children - ask
- Suitable for the elderly - ask
- Wheelchair accessible - ask
What Past Guests Are Saying
Have you stayed here? Write a review
34 guest reviews
74% of guests would stay again
There are a few items that need fixing. The location of the dishwasher in the kitchen is awkward and makes it a little hard to use. Nice home overall and we had a nice week.
Relaxing and great vistas!
Favorite part was that dogs were allowed - and boy did they love the beach!
Loved the quick access right out the back doors.
The Torrence Family
Family time - Priceless!!!
Our family had a wonderful week...the first time in 6 years we have all been together for vacation...the lay-out worked perfect for us...The babygates were great to have for our 1 yr. old...The only problem we had was the icemaker did not work...The pool, hot tub & ocean being right there made things alot easier for us all...The view was priceless...Will stay again...
Another great year at our favorite rental
This is our second year at Marine Manor West and we'll be back next year. In reference to the earlier reviews, the furniture has been updated so it is cleaner and very comfortable. The kitchen is one of the most stocked that I have seen with any of the rentals (I love to cook so this is important to me!) although the quality of the pots and pans isn't great but still better than most. The beds are all comfortable, every bedroom has a TV, there are bathrooms a plenty, the furniture around the pool is very comfortable, the pool is amazing... There are so many good things to say! The only downside really is the stairs. They are very steep and wooden so they need to be taken slowly. Not that big of a sacrifice. This place is a great deal for the money. Like I said, we'll be back next year!
Nice dog friendly beach duplex.
I never thought about all the steps that go along with this duplex, but as older folks (and one with a bum knee), the steps were a lot. The duplex itself is very nice and well equipped with a nice gas grill and pool that you share with the other side. The Emerald Isle Realty service was exceptional as always!! We choose this duplex as it was dog friendly and our dog enjoyed it. Read more
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 06/24/2013
I'm so happy to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy a week at the beach and include your dog in on the fun. Marine Manor is a wonderful choice for doing just that. Thank you for sharing your experience and please come again soon!
My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Marine Manor West celebrating our son's graduation from college with our families. The hot tub and pool were perfect as well as being on the beach! The house provided everything we needed as far as cooking and celebrating the occasion. Plenty of dishes, utensils, and cooking ware. There was plenty of room for 8 people to sleep and plenty of room for the extra visitors that came by. The inside steps from level one to level two are steep, but we knew that before we stayed there. We were just careful. The only room for improvement would be to provide at least one roll of toilet paper for the first night as we arrived late at night from another country. Other than that, we would love to stay there again. Read more
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 06/04/2013
Congratulations to your graduates! What a great treat for you all to celebrate their accomplishments with a trip to the beach. I'm so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at Marine Manor West and I hope you'll revisit soon. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next vacation or special family gathering - 1-888-832-0140.
Enjoyable and Relaxing
We enjoyed this house very much. It worked very well for what our family needed. My mom had a nice recliner and could watch the ocean with her tiny dogs on her lap. We collected many sea shells.
This house has many steps. I felt the steps were an asset for me, I did get my exercise in. My son's knee is still hurting him from the steps. The down side we did not have access to heat the pool. The heat was on the East side of the house. I questioned Emerald Realty and they said there wasn't heat. It would be nice if something could be worked out to pay the East side for the pool to be heated if needed. My suggestion to future renters make sure you bring toilet paper, soap, garbage bags, dish liquid with you. We had to run to the store six o'clock at night when we got there. I am use to renting condos and these items were provided for us.
Thank you Emerald Isle Realty every one of you ladies were great!
Five stars to you! Read more
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 05/14/2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at Marine Manor West. This is a wonderful duplex and has many great features for a family to enjoy.
I am sorry that were disappointed that the pool couldn't be heated. This amenity isn't offered to guests of staying on either side of the duplex, but there is a private hot tub on each side for guests' enjoyment.
Thank you again for sharing your experience. Please call us to plan your next stay - 1-888-832-0140.
Great place for the price!
Okay, I read the previous reviews and I agree with a few things. First of all, the furniture is old and pretty tore up but that wasn't really a huge deal for us. The bed on the top floor was very comfortable but the queen on the main floor wasn't all that great. And there are really steep wooden stairs so I would encourage anyone with small kids to use the gate that they have provided. We didn't put it up once and a two-year-old fell all the way from the top (ouch!). But, for the price, this place was great! We've already reserved it again for next year. We loved having the pool as a second option after the beach. They have really nice chairs around the pool and lounge chairs which was nice. And it was really nice having three full bathrooms! As with most beach homes, I would recommend that you bring a few decent pots and pans and a few good chopping knives. The pots that they have were probably the worst I've ever seen.
Mount Airy, Nc
Wonderful time had by all. God was with us no one was seriously hurt from falling in the inside stairs. Only downfall of the house. Read more
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 06/28/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Marine Manor West. It pleases me to know that you and your family enjoyed your time at this duplex. I am sorry to hear of someone falling down the steps and I have alerted our maintenance department as well as the owner. I trust the steps will be inspected. I did notice that you have already reserved this home for 2013. Please let us know if we can further assist you as you plan your vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
Beautiful location, house needs upgraded for the price charged
We had a wonderful time at emerald isle, but the house needs upgraded for the price charged. I could have had my family stay in a 5 star hotel for a week for less money. Not a comfortable piece of living room furniture, dining room area rug absolutely pitful. Location, pool, deck was wonderful. Read more
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 06/28/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Marine Manor West. It pleases me to know that you did enjoy the location of this home and the amenities which it provides. I am sorry to hear of your displeasure with the furnishings and I'll certainly pass your remarks on to the owner. I hope you will revisit Emerald Isle for your next vacation and allow Emerald Isle Realty another opportunity to serve as your host. Please call us if we can assist in planning your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
Wonderful time had by all!!!
The house was perfect for our family get together. Booking it was simple and it had just about everything we needed! As I've seen in other post the stair were quite treacherous. We had a couple slips walking down them but nothing serious. I would rent Marine Manor West again anytime! Read more
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 06/07/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Marine Manor West. It pleases me to know that you and your family enjoyed your time at Marine Manor West. I am sorry to hear of the slip you had on the steps. I've not had any reports of incidents on the West side steps and the East side steps were just reconstructed to promote safety. We'll certainly check these out. Thank you for your feedback. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next stay and we'll happily assist you - 1-888-832-0140.
Hunter and Mary Margaret Hollar
Singers Glen, VA
A fun week with great amenities
The pluses were hardwood floors, recent updates, childproof gating system, and the pool. The reverse floor plan is great with great ocean views.
Minuses were that the living room is small for adult seating. Also, the ice maker didn't work. The beds seemed smaller than Queen. We have been coming to Emerald Isle for weekly rentals since 1983. So, we know what is available. This is a great property. Read more
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 06/07/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Marine Manor West. I agree, the floors, pool, and updated interior do make this property a great value and a great find. I'm happy you enjoyed it. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next Emerald Isle vacation and we'll happily reserve this duplex for you again - 1-888-832-0140.
What a great vacation!
We would stay here again any time. Everything was clean and comfortable. There were a couple of minor things (light bulbs, one TV didn't work, toilet running) but they were resolved quickly. Couldn't think of a thing we needed that wasn't there, just needed toiletries and paper products. We were there the last week of March and the beach was very quiet, like having it to ourselves. The town has alot of fun little local businesses, much better than the huge chains. Loved every minute! One note, not the best place if you can't do stairs. Excellent if you want a good workout every day! Read more
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 04/04/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Marine Manor West. It pleases me to know that you and your family enjoyed your time in Emerald Isle so much. I am sorry to hear of the issues you experienced with the TV, burnt out light bulbs, and a running toilet. I'm happy to know that these things were resolved quickly for you. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
Awesome Family Week
We had our large family from 17 months to 86 years. Everyone had a great time!
Love the location but worst mattresses ever!
We stayed on the East side last year and other than a not so hot hot tub we enjoyed the house quite a bit. The location is great and we love the outside bar and pool. This year in MM West we were impressed with the counter tops in the kitchen and again enjoyed the outside areas a lot. However, the mattresses were terrible. The full size in the smallest room on the main floor was so bad that we had to switch rooms with our parents because their backs hurt terribly after sleeping in it. And for us to sleep on it we had to line the entire bed with pillows. There was a small piece of wood under the mattress which provided no support and the mattress itself was the worst I have ever slept on. The comforter also had many stains. The other mattresses were not comfortable but were bearable. Our couch was filthy and three of the Tv's did not work properly. We would only rent (or recommend) this house again if the mattresses were replaced and the Tv's were functioning properly. It is difficult to completely enjoy your vacation when you are not able to sleep well and are in pain. We would stay on the east side of this property again. Read more
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 08/26/2011
Thank you for your review of your stay at Marine Manor West. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't feel the West side of this duplex was comparable to the East. This is not the normal response received from guests of Marine Manor West. I have forwarded your review on to the owner so they may read your concerns and suggestions. Thank you for being so thorough.
I hope you will revisit Emerald Isle and allow Emerald Isle Realty the opportunity to host you and your family. Please call us when you begin planning your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
Enjoyed this vacation with family
We enjoyed the porch and deck overlooking the pool and beach. Sofa and carpet was stained and needed cleaning. Read more
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 06/25/2011
Thank you for your review of you stay at Marine Manor West. It pleases me to know that you and your family had an enjoyable stay. Wonderful views are boasted from the decks on this duplex and the pool provides a great source of recreation.
Thank you for letting us know about the sofa and the carpet. I have requested that housekeeping pay special attention to these items upon cleaning.
Thank you again for your review. Please call us when planning your next vacation to Emerald Isle, 1-888-832-0140.
Nice enough house but somewhat misleading description
We've stayed in Emerald Isle many, many times and we've always used EI Realty and we've always been super pleased. We had a 100% success rate until this house. The house is listed as having ocean views from all rooms but the only master bedrooms (with beds large enough for two people) are on the side of the house closest to the driveway, not the ocean and you have to press your face against the windows to see the ocean, which isn't exactly "ocean view" if you ask me. They should move all of the single beds to the back rooms and put the larger beds in the rooms closest the ocean. Luckily, the couch has a pull-out bed upstairs facing the ocean so that's what we ended up sleeping on.
Also it says there's DVD players in all rooms and when we went, the room with the full sized bed that opens onto the deck didn't have one and when we tried to move one in there we realized that that TV can't even take one because it doesn't have the right things to hook it up from.
They recently did some renovation and when we stayed there there were some problems- one of the rooms was missing a threshold (dangerous for toes!) and the bathroom door handle was falling off. A few other small problems.
The grill is on the upper balcony surrounded by wood and legally you're not supposed to be grilling on anything but cement surfaces. The grill itself was rusting and falling apart and dangerous to use.
Overall we still enjoyed ourselves regardless of these problems, but they were big disappointments. The pool area was wonderful, the livingroom was nice. We loved the upper deck save for the problems with the grill. The hottub was of course nice and it was nice to be able to bring our dogs. But we won't be staying in this particular home again. Read more
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 01/06/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Marine Manor West. I'm so happy to hear that you and your family return to Emerald Isle Realty each year; we're so glad to have you and welcome your family back to Emerald Isle time and time again.
I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with this home. The description does state that there is an Ocean view from each bedroom which you did describe. Homes which are on the Sound side can still have an Ocean view, it would just be more distant than that of an Oceanfront home. You are absolutely right about the grill! It should be on the ground level as grilling on decks is prohibited, per North Carolina law. Thank you for bringing this to our attention so we were able to move the grill from the deck.
Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you will continue to vacation with Emerald Isle Realty and give us the opportunity to work toward that 100% success rate which you mentioned. Please call us when you begin planning your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
As always staying here is the highlight of my year.
My family and I enjoy the house, the beach, the pool, the hot tub. It's just amazing! I couldn't ask for a better or more relaxing time all year long. The staff at Emerald Isle Realty are one of the best I've ever known. They are always helpful, friendly, and hard working, ensuring everything goes according to plan! Not to mention that my daughter has her very own beach birthday party every year! I also love that I am able to bring my dogs with me on vacation. They love it as much as we do, so thank you to the homeowner, and to Emerald Isle Realty. All of you are really the best!
Walden, New York
Funfilled and relaxing to boot!
Duplexes are always a risk, we had spectacular neighbors, couldn't have asked for better. No better beach, the water is so warm. The home was a little older and could be updated, but when you are out on the beach it doesn't matter. The pool and decks were all we really needed. Will definitely be returning to Emerald Isle.
Great vacation at the beach
We were celebrating my husband's 50th birthday and invited the whole family. There were seven adults and a baby. There was plenty of room for everyone, kitchen was large enough for three people to work in (and comes fully stocked with everything you need), plenty of eating room, and we all had a great time playing games or just watching a movie at night. The best part: the pool, the deck with oceanfront view and watching the sun go down each night. Our neighbors were great. Have to say the pros far outweighed the cons of squeaky doors, mattresses not very comfortable, gas grill needs replacing, and needed a high chair for the baby (also was missing a couple of DVD players and the Playstation). Would I recommend this place, you bet your life. The views each morning and each night, walking right to the beach at your back door, and the large pool were the best.
Wonderful Beach Vacation
Marine Manor is a very nice duplex. We chose it because it allows dogs at a reasonable price. It is roomy with many amenities. The kids enjoyed the pool, hot tub, and deck refrig. I think the main refrig is getting old and doesn't cool as well as it could. Additionally, the sofa needs to be cleaned regularly due to its cotton material. The sliding glass door off main living area does not lock. I did appreciate the fact that the gate on upper deck had been repaired. Overall, it's a very nice home and we will most likely stay in it again. This was our second or third stay at Marine Manor West.
Emerald Isle, as seen from Marine Manor West
The view from the deck on Saturday afternoon was expansive. Likewise, vacation week at Emerald Isle spread before us like a cornucopia spilling exotic wonders; the possibilities were endless, tempting. Then, it was Saturday morning on the deck and the week had buzzed before our eyes in blink. The accommodations and the panorama were first rate. Emerald Isle Realty runs a well synchronized operation, from check-in at the Tiki Hut to check-out, seamless and friendly. Five stars
donna from manassas
Great time at the Beach
My family has been going to Emerald Isle for the past 25 years and we have always enjoyed our stay. The house was set up great for our family and had everything we needed. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub. We had trouble with the hot tub when we checked in but it was fixed within an hour. What great service! I would recommend this house to anyone. The one concern I would have is the internal stairway is steep but I know that can't be avoided.
Elizabeth, Indiana 47117
A beautiful, experience, everything a vacation should be!
We loved the home, the location was great, the pool and hot tub were absolutely and added bonus for all age groups, It was just too short of a stay, no one was ready to go home !
Havelock NC 28532
It was a great place to stay
We were reluctant to stay because of the reviews believe me it was very nice and clean place to stay. We had a wonderful stay there the two weeks we rented the place. If I rent at the beach again I would really concider staying here again. When we needed help on the hot tub the maintence guy was out in less than an hr. Thanks for the memories.
needs an over haul inside
we have been using emerald isla realty for years and this is the first time i was dissapointed with our rental. we had an issue with the frige not getting cold...(we had to throw milk out twice)we reported this the 1st day but nothing was done about it. the rollaway was missing...we were given an air mattress(very uncomfortable)and then had to call because there was no linen for it or the pull out sleeper. the furniture in the living room was torn and so filthy(you can see the dirt on pictures we took of the house)we had to put towels down to sit. the comforter and pillows(these were urine soaked) in the upstairs bedroom were so dirty we had to wash them ourselves. the outside of the home is beautiful!!!! we were impressed with the fact that both the pool and hot tub were cleaned twice during our stay. this property would be 5 stars if the interior was over hauled. Read more
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 03/24/2010
Thank you so much for your review.
I'm happy to announce that the homeowners saw your feedback and jumped into action. As of March 2010 this side has been refurbished and is comparable to the other side!
Just to name a few of the improvements: replaced kitchen counters with granite, new kitchen sink, repainted through-out, hardwood floors, all new comforters, pillows, new flat screen TV in the living room, new chair & new slip cover.
Please take a moment to look at the updated photos on our website!
North East, MD
Marine Manor West
We have been staying at Marine Manor West/(East in previous years) for the past 7 years. We absolutely love what the place has to offer and its position on the beach. It seems that the place has declined in the recent years. It is always a little dirty when we get there, but we are accepting of that. The downstairs bedroom didn't have a handle on the sliding glass door. The outside shower head gets more corroded every year. The furniture in the living room is badly stained and now one of the footrests is torn. The dishwasher worked but was extremely temperamental. The outside pool furniture was brittle and breaking. The bedspreads, which have been there as long as we have, are becoming more and more stained. The downstairs matress in the room we usually sleep in has been reduced to springs. We still love it there and hope to continue to stay but it is sad to see the place go down a little bit. We may try to stay in the East side as it seems to be maintained with a little more care and diligence. Our experience with Emerald Isle Realty has been wonderful and we appreciate everything you do. In spite of the house decline, this was one of the best vacations we have ever had there and we thank you for that. Have a great year. Hope to see you next year. Read more
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 01/06/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Marine Manor West. It pleases me to know that you and your family enjoy revisiting Emerald Isle and returning to this duplex each year.
I am sorry to hear of your disappointment but thank you for letting us know. I will certainly ask our refurbishment team to check out this duplex and suggest refurbishments to the owner.
I did see that you have still been vacationing at Marine Manor, with Emerald Isle Realty and I'm so glad. Please let us know if we can do anything to assist further while you plan the details of your 2012 vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
We really enjoyed this home. It had everything that we needed. We loved the games, pool,hot tub, and even some kids movies that were provided. The only issue we had was with the furniture. While it was very comfortable it needed to be cleaned desparately. Other than that the place was great! Read more
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 01/06/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Marine Manor West. It pleases me to know that you and your family enjoyed the amenities offered at this home.
I am sorry to hear of your disappointment in the cleanliness of the furnishings. Items such as these are cleaned when the property undergoes a deep clean, normally before or after the rental season. Certainly, let our housekeeping department know of such disappointments. Often, we're able to get upholstery and such cleaned during your stay.
Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you will revisit Emerald Isle and Marine Manor West. Please call us to book your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
great pool and hot tub!
The outdoor amenities were fabulous....wonderful pool, jacuzzi, bar, and lots of space. The decking was new and there were lots of places to sit and visit.
The inside of the house was different. Many pieces of furniture were run down and dirty--especially in the living room. Also the house was not roomy. Space was tight. I rented the place because it was listed to have 12 beds. We had 12 people for 3 days and could only find 11 spaces total. The roll-a-way was missing. The house was surface cleaned only--it definitely needs some deep cleaning and sprucing up. Read more
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 01/06/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Marine Manor West. It pleases me to know that you and your family enjoyed the amenities of this home.
I am sorry to hear that you were crowded in the home. This is because Marine Manor West is a four bedroom home, therefore it will sleep eight people. Each of our properties has a septic tank which is permitted by the health department who determines and limits occupancy to two people per bedrooms. Please call one of our vacation planners when you begin planning your next trip to Emerald Isle and we'll happily find a home large enough to accommodate your family - 1-888-832-0140.
A Great Time
This was a great place. The accomodations met our expectations. It was great having the pool and the broadwalk to the beach. We loved our time there.
Was a great house
I think we stayed there 5 yrs(2 wks each time) and truly loved the house. I think the pool made it too expensive. We did not want to share a pool with other duplex renters. Pool outside of 2 bedrooms not ideal for us as kids slept there as you never know when the other side might swim at 3 am. We regret that we are no longer able to stay there. Five years must say that we really did like the house. Great location!!!
Excellent spot to visit and relax!
I came home for the Holiday's from Italy to visit family across the US, ending with picking up my daughter from Colorado. We flew to Emerald Isle for a nice relaxing weeks stay on the beach. The Marine Manor West Condo was a sheer delight. We had great weather, super accomidations, and excellent service. Would come back again and again.
Family summer vacation
We stayed at Marine Manor with our two married daughters and their children (our grand darlings). The place was perfect, everyone had their own bdrm and bathroom and for 7 days we only left once to play minature golf. The kids could go to the pool and the beach and then the beach and the pool. We BBQed and played games and utilized a fully equiped kitchen. Our best friends rented the space right next door with their married kids and grand darlings so we had a HUGE time! This was an unforgettable vacation and our kids and grand darlings are wondering when we can go again!
Marine Manor West
From check in, at the drive up kiosk, to check out, this vacation experience with Emerald Isle Realty was seamless. With no hassles, there seemed to be ample time to experience the offerings, from comfortable and clean MMW abode to the uncluttered and uncrowded shore, but the time was fleeting. No one told us that, once checked in, time would speed up and vanish in an instant. Great place.