By The Sea West
|Minimum Stay||7 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Duplex, 2 BR, 2 B. Q * 2D. Dishwasher, washer/dryer (shared), HDTV with DVD player and expanded cable in living area, HDTVs in each bedroom, stereo with CD player, iPod docking station, free long distance in the US, wireless high speed Internet access, ceiling fans, connecting doors. Deck with porch rockers, charcoal grill, outside shower (shared). Weekly only. No smoking. No pets. 601 Ocean DriveDishwasher, washer/dryer (shared), HDTV with DVD player and expanded cable in living area, HDTVs in each bedroom, stereo with CD player, iPod docking station, free long distance in the US, wireless high speed Internet access, ceiling fans, connecting...Read more
By The Sea West
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$0||$985 - $1,540||$0||7 nights|
|May. 4 2013 - Jun. 7 2013||-||$985||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 8 2013 - Jun. 14 2013||-||$1,385||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 15 2013 - Aug. 9 2013||-||$1,540||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 10 2013 - Aug. 16 2013||-||$1,385||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 17 2013 - Sep. 6 2013||-||$985||-||7 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 16, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Carpets were dirty and stain. Kitchen not stocked well, had to buy a couple pans to use to cook on. Shower door broke in hallway bath. Only good part was being right on the beach.
We were able to unwound.
The house was oceanfront. Since our older children are now on their own,
we didn't need a large house at the beach. We came for a week with our 16 year old son Wilson. It was a sweet rustic cottage with a nice porch, and the view from the picture window looked like a postcard, or a virtual scene of the surf.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 09/18/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at By the Sea West. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your Emerald Isle vacation and I agree, the view from this duplex is picture perfect. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next stay - 1-888-832-0140.
Good Location and clean
The service was very good.
The house was in a good location for our fishing needs. It was well kept and clean.
Thankful there was no stale smoke odor or pet hairs!!!
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 02/01/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at By The Sea West and for your compliments of Emerald Isle Realty and the service we provide. It pleases me to know that this home served your needs and desires so well. Please call us when you're ready to begin planning your next fishing trip - 1-888-832-0140.
By the Sea West, vacation at its best!
A great time together
Had the opportunity to treat a few of my adult children a son-in-law and a grandchild to a week in Emerald Isle.
The house was clean, the location was very good and we all enjoyed ourselves and I got to relax. The appliances were in great working order, the aC worked well and the house, overall, was a good fit for us. My 3 year old granddaughter will remember this for a long time.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 03/30/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at By The Sea West. It pleases me to know that you and your family enjoyed your vacation at this duplex. Please call us when you begin making plans to revisit Emerald Isle - 1-888-832-0140.
Almost a great place to stay
Being right on the beach is fantastic, and the house itself is sound, with all major appliances working well. Wireless internet was a big plus.
The HD TV in the living room is only 19" and sits very low in its cabinet, so it's hard to see.
There were a number of small items that kept this from being a top rated experience.
The blinds on some of the windows did not work, or worked poorly. The fans in the bedrooms were too noisy to sleep with. The handle on the back door was very difficult to work.
While there was a nice collection of plates and pots and pans, there was hardly any flatware.
The metal ring holding one burner on the stove didn't fit properly, and the burner was severely tilted. These were issues for us because we like to cook. Oh, BTW, although the ad says the opposite, there is a nice oven.
All in all, the investment of few hundred dollars to upgrade things like the ones above I mentioned would turn this house into a top-flight rental instead of just an okay one.
Still, being less than 100 yards from the ocean, trumps almost anything else.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 03/19/2013
We have been notified that the ceiling fans are being replaced just in time for our 2013 vacation season.
Original response August 24, 2011:
Thank you for your review of your stay at By the Sea West. It pleases me to know that you enjoyed your stay here, despite a few issues within the property.
I did notice that none of the items listed above were reported during your stay. Please let us know so we can resolve issues for you. I have let our housekeeping and maintenance departments know that the stove burner isn't fitting well and asked them to look into replenishing/replacing the flatware.
Thank you again for providing your feedback. We look forward to hosting your family on your next trip to Emerald Isle. Please call us to reserve your 2012 vacation rental - 1-888-832-0140.
Love The Beach
Great Week at the Beach
This year made fourteen years we have been coming to Emerald Isle. It made the third year we have rented By The Sea. The weather was perfect. Last year we had to cut our vacation short due to illness. < this year made up for it> The best part about this duplex is the covered porch that faces the ocean, we spend a lot of time sitting on that porch in the mornings and the evenings. If you like to cook while you are at this duplex the kitchen is not well stocked, and the cook wear is not that great. But I have learned to just bring a big all electric frying pan and some of my own things.
You get what you pay for.
This was a fairly nice home for the price. You can't beat being right on the beach. I replaced a shower head that was clogged due to hard water deposits. We called for service on the air conditioner and the service tech was there in an hour and recharged the system. The Emerald Isle Realty staff was very helpful and the breakfast items on our checkout day were a nice touch. The house is old and dated but fairly well maintained. Some windows had to be propped open but the poles were provided. The dishwasher did a fairly good job getting the dishes clean after we bought some Jet Dry and the refrigerator leaked a little water into the drawers. We noticed that on our second last day so I reported it on our way out. We did not have enough chairs on the porch but we brought some with us so it worked out fine. Since we went the week before peak season I was satisfied with the price to value ratio but I would have been disappointed if I had paid full price for this one. This was our first year to use Emerald Isle Realty but we have been to the island several times. We were very pleased with the service and the selection of homes with Emerald Isle Realty and will definitely be a return customer in the future.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 03/19/2013
I'm pleased to let you know that the refrigerator at this duplex was replaced in 2012.
Original response June 23,2011:
Thank you for your review of your stay at By The Sea West. This duplex does provide affordable, Oceanfront accommodations. It doesn't have all the frills other properties offer but it does boast a wonderful view and as you stated, is very well maintained.
I have passed your suggestion of adding more deck chairs to the owner. Also, the refrigerator leak has been repaired. Thank you for reporting that issue upon your departure.
Thank you for your kind words and compliments. I hope you will return to Emerald Isle. Please call us when you begin making your travel plans, 1-888-832-0140.
Donna & Van Riley
Clean,ocean view,shells,staff friendly & nice!
Even though it rained tUES.Through fRiday we had all we needed shopping,puzzles,movies,nice stores,eating places,walks on beach! uSually go to myrtle beach but loved emerald isle and will be back soon!! Visited Swansboro and Morehead loved both places.
Greg and Jen
Relaxing, easy livin'
I love the check in process. Very effective. Previous occupants left quite a few broken, discarded items laying out on the dune (Don't know why they didn't have sense enough to throw the stuff away!) and we thought it was quite unsightly and could blow away with the potential hurricane winds and be a safety concern. We made one call to the office and someone was there within an hour do collect and properly dispose of the items. Very pleased. Aside from being evacuated, we had a great time.
The Hixson family
St. Louis, Mo
Love North Carolina
By the sea is an great value. We always stay on the beach but this is "on the beach". We loved the residential area vs. the high rise type of areas. We would love to return
Emerald Isle Realty is a first class operation.
Emerald Isle Family Beach Vacation
Emerald Isle Realty was fine to work with. After looking at many homes on the website and reading reviews, we decided to try the least expensive route. In the end we didn't like being in a duplex, we could hear in between the walls and our neighbors were early risers so one of the bedrooms could hear them in the morning. The house had everything needed but needed some updating. The main room rug and the throw pillows seemed dirty. Also the hose you use everyday from the beach is put together with duck tape. No where was it noted that the Washer/Dryer is shared btwn the duplex and is under the house. While there the shower head fell off, but was fixed within hours with a brand new one. You are really right on the beach which is great! That is why we picked the property. Location. Overall rating is okay.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 08/06/2010
Thank you for your review of By The Sea West. This is great duplex and truly, it is right on the beach. I'm happy that the maintenance issues you experienced were resolved quickly for you.
With a duplex you do have a shared "party" wall. A duplex does provide more privacy than a condo would and noise from one side to the other is normally minimal in both. However, because this is something that disturbed you, I would recommend renting a single family home for your next vacation. This will ensure that no one outside of your family will be waking you in the mornings.
I did double check our description for By The Sea West, both online and in our brochure, and it does say "washer/dryer (shared)". Please ask us if you ever have any questions about one of our properties or need clarification or confirmation of a feature. Our staff visits each of our properties regularly so we can be knowledgable in assisting you when reserving a property.
Thank you again for taking your time to provide us with feedback. I'm glad you did enjoy your vacation and hope you'll choose Emerald Isle Realty when planning your next trip to the Crystal Coast.
This rental is in the perfect location!
While this home is not fancy and could use a little TLC, it's location and price make it a real value. It is literally just a few steps from the deck to the beach. Emerald Isle is more laid back than most of the other coastal areas in NC, and that suited us fine. The neighborhood was single unit and duplex rentals, no large condos or resorts, so the beach was uncrowded.
The management company, Emerald Isle Realty, was extremely professional and customer service oriented, and I would not hesitate to recommend them. We did have a couple of minor problems with this rental, but the people at Emerald Isle Realty went out of their way to assist us.
This rental would not appeal to everyone; it has only very basic amenities, and the furniture is older and not very comfortable. But if your idea of a vacation is to get away from it all, and you require little more in the way of entertainment than sitting on the deck watching porpoises romp in the surf, then this is the perfect place.
We loved how we had a clear view of the ocean from the windows, and the ability to walk right out onto our very quiet part of the beach was wonderful! This was a cute home, and we appreciated being able to close the "hall" door to the bedrooms so we could stay up later than the kids. Overall, it was very clean and had most everything we needed regarding amenities.
We encountered 2 negatives in this rental. One thing that was bothersome was how extremely dusty the curtains were. There were big chunks of dust flying off the curtains when the ceiling fans were on. We actually had to wash the curtains in our boy's room due to the dust bothering their allergies so much. All the curtains needed washing- like they hadn't been washed in years. And, the hall bathroom shower doors were broken/ not functional. We all had to share the master bathroom shower.
But overall, this was a lovely place to stay, with cozy little rooms and a great back porch with rocking chairs. We appreciated that there were clotheslines in the front and back to hang all our towels and swimsuits. The air conditioning worked well and so did the fans. It was a comfortable & enjoyable place to spend a week vacation.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 05/19/2011
You’ll be happy to know that since your review the curtains have been replaced throughout with valences and blinds. The shower doors have been replaced as well!
New Bern, NC
Good beach house
This house was older and in need of some repair. The West side of the duplex was ok and the appliances didnt seem as dated as the appliances in the East side where our neighbors were staying. We all had to move because a main water line had burst. I will say that Emerald Isle Realty and Sabrina made sure we were taken care of. Except for having to move all of our stuff, the overall visit was pleasant and they can expect to see me again in Sept. 2009
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 01/11/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at By The Sea West. I'm sorry to hear that your vacation was interrupted by a maintenance issue but I'm very pleased to know we were able to accommodate your family and move you to a comparable property.
I am happy to let you know that since your stay, By The Sea East and West, have been renovated and refreshed. Carpet, box springs, mattresses, bedspreads, lamps, window treatments, and pots and pans have been replaced. The East side of this duplex also got a new oven.
Thank you for your feedback. I noticed that you and your family have returned to Emerald Isle and Emerald Isle Realty since leaving this review and I want to thank you for your loyalty and for your business. Please call us when you begin planning your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.