Sea Maiden West
|Minimum Stay||7 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Duplex, 5 BR, 3 B. All BRs are oceanfront or ocean view; cupola with 2S. Dishwasher, well equipped kitchen, 6 cable TVs, surround sound, wireless high speed Internet access, gas fireplace, ceiling fans throughout, water softener. Bay window in dining room offers spectacular views. Private decks up and down with porch furniture, Weber charcoal grill, enclosed hot/cold outside shower. Outstanding view from high lot with paved drive and parking area. Beautifully landscaped. Close to Emerald Plantation shops and restaurants, water slide and miniature golf. Available year 'round. No smoking. No pets. 9323 Ocean Drive. EAST: Q * Q * 2D * B (D do...Read more
Sea Maiden West
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$555||$555||$1,845 - $3,325||$0||7 nights|
|Jun. 8 2013 - Jun. 14 2013||-||-||$3,025||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 15 2013 - Aug. 9 2013||-||-||$3,325||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 10 2013 - Aug. 16 2013||-||-||$3,025||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 17 2013 - Sep. 6 2013||$555||$555||$1,845||-||7 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: June 05, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
A Wonderful Monthly Getaway
We had a most enjoyable monthly rental in Sea Maiden West. The Emerald Isle Realty staff are just truly great to work with. We phoned maintenance on three ocassions and each call was very promptly and professionally handled. Can't say enough nice things about the entire group. Elaine Teachy is super to work with and handled our long term rental arrrangements in a very capable manner. As a result, we have rented Sea Maiden West again for the months of both January and February, 2014. Elaine was most helpful in getting those arrangements made for us. The unit is nicely furnished and the location is great. We look forward to our return to the island next January.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 03/08/2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at Sea Maiden West and for your kind compliments of Emerald Isle Realty and staff. We were pleased that you chose to vacation with us and look forward to your next stay. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next Emerald Isle vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
Terrific for large families
Well stocked kitchen and the views are beautiful. Private balcony off the master. Just needs two things: propane so the fireplace will work. That would be great on cold evenings. Broken chairs on master deck. Otherwise, a great property
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 01/15/2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at Sea Maiden West. I'm happy to know that htis home served your family so nicely and I hope you will return. I have alerted our maintenance department about the need for fuel for the fireplace and certainly we would have gladly refilled this for you during your stay. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next trip to Emerald Isle and we'll happily reserve Sea Maiden West for you again - 1-888-832-0140.
A wonderful week at the beach!
We booked Sea Maiden West before really reading the reviews, and when we finally did look at them we got a little nervous. While most of them were positive overall, there were some hints that the place was outdated and run down. So when we arrived, we were very, very happy and surprised to find everything in top shape. It looks like they've been paying attention to comments and working hard on the place. It was immaculate and well-decorated. The kitchen was pretty well stocked with dishes, and everything was laid out great. The kids loved the new TV. We agreed that it was the best rental we've ever had (but we tend to stay at the low to mid range ones), and we'd definitely seek it out again. The location is great; I was able to bike to town, and the new Portofino restaurant is right up the road. Next door to that is a beach gear rental shop, and we rented kayaks and paddled around the sound. Everything was very convenient to the house, without feeling like we were in the middle of town.
The only quibble we had is that the deck is really small, especially for a property that sits back from the beach. We found that we didn't sit on it at all, in contrast to our usual pattern of staying out there late into the evening. There just wasn't any space.
But overall, we loved Sea Maiden West, and would definitely stay there again!
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 06/28/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Sea Maiden West. It pleases me to know that you enjoyed the changes which the owner has made. I agree that this duplex is nicely decorated and the location of it is idea. I'm also glad to know that you were able to enjoy kayaking in the beautiful waters surrounding the island. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next stay and we'll happily reserve Sea Maiden West for you again - 1-888-832-0140.
Perfect accomodations for our needs. Thanks for a great stay!
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 02/22/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Sea Maiden West. It pleases me to know that this home fit your needs so perfectly. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next trip to Emerald Isle - 1-888-832-0140.
Sea Maiden West
Sea Maiden West is a nice duplex overall in a good location. We found the unit to be in need of a lot of work(painting,showers,window repair,carpet cleaned) and the kitchen items need updating and replacing. No extra blankets or pillows.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 09/22/2011
Thank you for your review of your stay at Sea Maiden West. I agree, this duplex is in a great location.
I have forwarded your review on to our housekeeping and maintenance departments so the items which you listed can be addressed. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention.
I hope you'll return to the Crystal Coast and allow Emerald Isle Realty the opportunity to host you and your family again. If you'd like to make an advanced reservation for 2012, please call us - 1-888-832-0140.
It was the best vacation ever and we have been going for 11 year
Beach house is beautiful and its in a great location to food and movies. Great bicycle paths and its wonderful to wake up and to see and hear the ocean.
Love EI, but didn't love this house.....
Not a Gold Property
Sea Maiden is such a pretty house from the outside, we had always wanted to stay here.
We wish EI each new year's and always stay in the stretch of Ocean Drive off Coast Guard Road in Sea dunes/Deerhorn Dunes, so we know the area well.
We have stayed in High Times and Changing Tides in the past. Sea Maiden was rated higher -- a gold rather than a silver, so I had high expectations for the house. The house was fine, but certainly no nicer than the other 2. Our first problem was that it had not been cleaned when we arrived. The situation was remedied while we had lunch, but if we had rolled in later in the evening (as we usually do), it would have been a real disaster. The carpet is very stained, the walls need painting and the furniture did not strike me as any step above any silver property where we have stayed before. The house needs some upkeep. Also, for a large house, there were not enough wine glasses (only 6), and puny Corelle tea cups rather than full sized coffee cups. Also, it is really hard to store food in the kitchen. There is no pantry and no devoted cabinet for food. The corner lazy susan cabinet was partially empty, but I was afraid to use it because the shelving was cracked and warped. I thought a few cans or boxes would break it.
On the plus side, the location is perfect and the bedrooms were fine. I would check the safety of the spiral staircase, it seemed like a step was loose.
All in all, change the rating to Silver, recarpet, paint, fix the lazy susan cabinet and you'd be sure to have some more satisfied renters. Also, upstairs master shower needs some help -- could use a new shower head and a repair to the rotted tiles.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 01/10/2011
Thank you for your review. I'm happy to let you know that I have forwarded your comments and suggestions on to our homeowner team who will share them with the owner. Also, I've submitted a request to our maintenance departments so the lazy susan shelf, loose step, shower head, and bathroom tiles can be checked out and repaired.
I'm sorry that you arrived to an unclean property but I'm happy that we were able to get it cleaned quickly and efficiently for you. Had you arrived after hours, we would've done the same thing.
I agree that this home is in a great location. I'm glad that you found the bedrooms to be pleasant.
Thank you again for your review. I hope you'll continue to vacation with Emerald Isle Realty.
The location was great and they accommodated a checkin of 1:00pm. However, they replaced the strove and the place was dirty. There were dirty pots and pans in the zink, and the floor of the replacement oven was dirity. It also could use some painting and I am sorry to say, roaches (an exterminator is needed).
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 02/04/2011
Thank you for your review. Congratulations to you and yours! Beach weddings are beautiful. I'm happy to hear that you found the location of Sea Maiden to be pleasurable. I am sorry to hear that you weren't pleased with the cleanliness of the home and that you encountered some bugs. If you had let us know, we gladly would have sent a housekeeping crew to clean more efficiently and we could have had the property sprayed to eliminate any issue with bugs.
I hope you'll vacation with Emerald Isle Realty again.
A great value and beautiful home
The home was clean and bright and pretty. We really enjoyed the outside showers! They were nice and clean and there was plenty of room for changing. We had rain a couple of days and I missed being able to sit on the porch and see the ocean in the rain...the rain came right through the upper deck onto the lower deck, so we weren't able to sit outside without a real "roof". We also rented both sides of this duplex and didn't like the separation that the "wall" on the deck provided between the homes. If we were staying only on one side, this would have been a plus...so it depends on your group.
It was wonderful!
We found everything in great shape and clean. We would certainly return in the future.
Sea Maiden West
Duplex was mostly comfortable, but the carpet was stained and the furniture was arranged so that the couch was in front of the one large ocean view window. Master bath had no tub, much less a Jaccuzi tub. Porch furniture was minimal - only two comfortable chairs. The number of warm blankets was insufficient for the 5 bedrooms.
Emerald Isle Realty was great - helped by phone with instructions for operating the heat and hand-delivered new additional wine glasses (there were only 2 on the premises).
I'd definitely stay with EI Realty again, but I would try to find another available house or duplex before renting this one again.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 01/17/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Sea Maiden West and for your compliments of our company and the service we provided to you. Definitely, give us a call when you begin planning your next stay - 1-888-832-0140.
Wonderful place to rent
The Sea Maiden is beautiful, clean, wonderfully maintained, nicely decorated. Great location, right on the beach. Has all the amenities - TV, internet, full kitchen. We really had a wonderful time. We would rent the Sea Maiden again!
TVs need to be updated - not for me, but for kids.
great weather and beach location
Well, the water heater broke day 2 but your maintenance guy came over right a way and got it working. Now, the washing machine was broke...made it very inconveinent when you have that many people staying in the house. I called to report the problem but no one came so i was very disappointed with that. Overall the house was very clean, so we were happy with that!
two families with kids
Chapel Hill, NC
Great for families with kids
We went with two familes, each with four kids--a total of four adults and 8 kids ranging in ages from 2 to 10. We thought this was a very nice house and super location. The biggerekids could go to the beachalone and we could see them. Very comfortable. The only negatives were a dangerous staircase to the top floor (unsuitable for the smaller kids and no gate to prevent their climbing it. Also the spaces between the railings on the beautiful balcony were a little wide for small kids. (Their heads fit through.) And the "Flat screen with surround sound" was just a plain small TV with stereo! Otherwise, we had no complaints, and would probably just choose a slightly larger house for our size of group.
An Accidental Recommendation
While walking on the beach in 2007 we spotted SeaMaiden and fell in love with the cottage. I asked a family who was on the beach if they knew anything about the property and they said they had stayed there for several years. They had first started with renting one side and as their family grew they rented both sides. We were pleasantly surprised and very pleased with our week. In 2008 there were seven in our group, this year there are two more and even though we've outgrown SeaMaiden, we'll continue with Emerald Isle Realty, they're a great group to work with!!!
Carol Marzec Buffalo, New York
Buffalo, New York
Location, Location, location
We have been meeting family at Emerald Isle for 16 years now and have never been disappointed. We have rented nine different homes and have upgraded each time due to increasing number of guests. Sea Maiden was a lovely home, perfect for us at that time. The house was clean, well maintained and plenty of room for our family and friends to visit. Location on the island is so important to us and we feel this home is on the best part of beach, close enough to watch the kids and the point or pier is a good walk for the entire family. Shopping and island bridge are close by. Emerald Isle realty makes it so easy to make our selection each year we vacation there.