- 3 bedrooms
- 2 bathrooms
- Sleeps 6
Description from the manager
Cottage, 3 BR, 2 B. K * 2Q * 2Q. Large MBR suite with private bath. Gorgeous views of both sound and ocean. White sandy beach with shallow water is perfect for children, swimming, wading, clamming, crabbing, kayaking and windsurfing. Situated on a high lot with unobstructed sound views. Short, one-block walk to the ocean (beach cart provided). Dishwasher, washer/dryer, 4 cable TVs including 42” HD plasma with DVD/CD surround sound system in living area, 4 DVD players, iPod docking station, free unlimited long distance in the US and Canada, wireless high speed Internet access, ceiling fans throughout. Well stocked kitchen. Open and airy floo...r plan with spectacular water views from the large windows in every room. Hammock, gas grill, horseshoe court, enclosed hot/cold outside shower. Covered soundfront deck with porch rockers and screened porch with picnic table; covered oceanview deck with Adirondacks. Separate deck with seating overlooks Bogue Sound and is the perfect spot to enjoy beautiful sunsets or dining alfresco (no pier). Weekly only. No smoking. Pets allowed with $200 non-refundable fee per pet (2 maximum, no cats). 610 Emerald Drive.
Additional amenities include: military appreciation discount, gas or charcoal grill, ntb, spring savings discount, get 10 in 2014.Read more
A Pearl By The Sea
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Additional Location Information
Last updated on July 13, 2014
Not available for your dates? Check availability for 694 other Emerald Isle rentalsCheck Availability for Emerald Isle
Rates shown in $ USD
|Don't see rates for your trip?|
Phone / Internet
- Internet Access
- Pet friendly - yes
- Smoking allowed - no
- Suitable for children - ask
- Suitable for the elderly - ask
- Wheelchair accessible - ask
What Past Guests Are Saying
Have you stayed here? Write a review
38 guest reviews
91% of guests would stay again
Cool and comfortable at the beach!
A Pearl by the Sea is a comfortable, bright, and easy to relax place on Emerald Isle. The location is perfect with sound and ocean views from the front and back of the house. Being up on stilts gives it a "tree house" quality and the tall windows provide light and breezes from all directions. We loved the little table and chairs by the sound for morning coffee and a chance to plan the day ahead. Our dog loved the screened porch and being able to see out of all the windows. The outdoor shower is perfect after a day at the beach. We're coming back next year! Thank you for letting us share your lovely beach house.
Loved everything! It was perfect for us. Just wish we could bring our other dog
The Parker Family
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Fabulous Family Vacation on Emerald Isle!
Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at "A Pearl By The Sea"! The house is beautifully decorated and has gorgeous views of both the sound and the ocean. The house has a lovely setting on the sound but it is a quick, easy walk to the beach. Our family enjoyed many meals on the beautiful lower deck that overlooks the sound. There is also a screened-in porch that has a picnic table for meals outside. The beach was absolutely beautiful, very quiet and peaceful! Our dogs had so much fun playing in the sound, also a great place for walking and running is just one street up toward the beach. We definitely hope to return to Emerald Isle and stay at "A Pearl By The Sea" again! Read more
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 06/24/2013
Thank you for your review and description of A Pearl by the Sea. It pleases me to know that you and your family enjoyed your time together at this home so much and I hope you will revisit soon. Please call us to reserve your same time, same place for next year - 1-888-832-0140.
Spectacular views, gorgeous home
We've stayed at a few beach homes over the years, and this is by far our favorite. It's convenient to the beach (half a block walk), and the sound views are just amazing. The little beach that's down below the house is a little hard to maneuver kayaks to (lots of wooden steps), but we made it work. The little beach was also covered with muscles and clam shells, which made it fun to look at, but a little hard for our toddlers to navigate the water in, especially since we observed several stingrays in the area as well. However, if your kids are like ours and are more interested in building sandcastles than splashing in the water, then it's a perfect little beach. The master bedroom was also enormous, plenty big enough to put a pack-n-play in and not feel cramped. Overall, great vacation! Read more
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 06/24/2013
A Pearl by the Sea is truly a great place to enjoy all Emerald Isle has to offer. Its location provides the serenity of the sound side of the island while also offering convenience to the beach. It pleases me to know that your family was able to take it all in and I hope you will revisit soon. Please call us when you can book your next stay at A Pearl by the Sea - 1-888-832-0140.
A Wonderful Place
The place exceeded our expectations. The was plenty of room. The porches were fabulous. The soundside beach was great. Our 2 year old granddaughter was with us and really enjoyed being able to play. Read more
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 06/12/2013
I'm happy to know that A Pearl By The Sea was the perfect vacation home where all of your family could enjoy all that our island has to offer. Please come again! Our vacation planners will happily assist you in booking your next stay so give them a call - 1-888-832-0140.
Our second stay here
This house has a beautiful view of the sound. The deck, porch, and screened in porch have amazing views. The only complaint we have is it is way too cold to enjoy them :(. Everything is very clean and it is well decorated. The kitchen has new counter tops too. I only wish it had more storage space in the second bathroom. You have view of the ocean and the sound which is very nice. There is also an awesome grill to use. Very clean place. We will definitely stay here again. This house is not on the bike path - it is about 2 or 3 miles from the bike path. Read more
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 04/13/2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It pleases me to know that you enjoyed your time in this home and plan to come back. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next Emerald Isle vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
This is the first house we have stayed in Emerald Isle and we fell in love with the house and the area. Our son turned two (201) while we were staying at the house. Loved the sound because it was shallow and calm. Perfect for a toddler and his dog. We are looking to rent again this summer. Read more
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 01/26/2013
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. A Pearl by the Sea is a great vacation spot and I'm glad to know that you and your family enjoyed your first Emerald Isle vacation here. We would love to again have you as our guest and assist in planning your vacation so please call us at 1-888-832-0140.
Seeking the sea!
A True Gen
Loved Emerald Isle! We stayed on the sound side and the kids loved the small beach at our place. We took a small inflatable boat and had loads of fun. Beach is wide and beautiful at this end of Emerald Isle. Enjoyed visiting nearby beaches as well. No bike path at this end, but a bike could definately be used on Ocean Dr. along the beach. Place is situated on the main road, however this wasn't a real problem, easily cross by foot and had no trouble getting out of driveway. Read more
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 08/20/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at A Pearl by the Sea. I love the location of this home as it does provide easy beach access and the views of the sound are extraordinary. I'm so happy you enjoyed it and hope you'll revisit soon. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
The Davis Family
Loved a Pearl By the Sea!!
The outdoor enclosed hot/cold shower was my 7 year old daughter's favorite part of her vacation. Even when she hadn't been in the ocean, she would grab her clothes and head outside to take her shower at night. :) We had a wonderful relaxing vacation in a Pearl by the Sea. We loved that we could bring our dog. The house was so nice and the views were amazing. My kids loved playing in the sound and we even rented kayaks and a paddle board for the day to bring back to the house. The beach was just a short walk across the street one block and there was a beach wagon and umbrella which we loved having. My kids loved the movies provided and played games and cards the whole time. You can tell it was a good vacation when two 7 year olds did not even remember that we packed Nintendo Ds's and Ipod touch's until we got home. We loved the drive thru check in and couldn't have asked for any more in this rental. (Crab Shack grilled scallops and Yana's in Swansboro's peach fritters are to die for.) Thank you Emerald Isle Realty and Owners! :) Read more
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 08/06/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at A Pearl by the Sea. It pleases me to know that you and your family enjoyed your time at this home so much. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
Small but cute home on the sound, perfect for four adults and one-three children (and a dog). Only two blocks from the beach. Centrally located on the island, easy commute to aquarium, Moorehead City, Swanboro. Our family will be back. Read more
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 06/25/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at A Pearl by the Sea. It pleases me to know that this home was a nice fit for you and your family and I agree, its location is ideal. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next trip to Emerald Isle - 1-888-832-0140.
Betsy and Billy
This is a cheerful comfortable home right on the sound which was really important to us as windsurfers. The place has pretty much everything you need (except spices-bring your own). It's got a great view and is very convenient to the beach. Read more
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 06/05/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at A Pearl By The Sea. It pleases me to know that you enjoyed your time in Emerald Isle while staying in this house. I hope you will return soon. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
A wonderful soundside home with great views of the sound from the back porch and good ocean views from the front deck. Read more
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 05/12/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at A Pearl By The Sea. It pleases me to know that you enjoyed your stay at this home and I agree, the views of both the Ocean and the Sound are wonderful. Please call us when you're ready to make plans for your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
The Hansen Family
Our stay was relaxing and fun!
We very much enjoyed staying in a Pearl By The Sea. The sound views and the ocean views are spectacular. We particulary enjoyed the decks going down to the sound. The sound is peaceful, and we loved watching the wildlife - we even saw a river otter swim by early one morning. Inside, the house is sunny and clean. The kitchen is very nice and the decor is tasteful and bright. All in all, a really great trip to Emerald Isle as always! Read more
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 04/18/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at A Pearl By The Sea. It pleases me to know that you and your family enjoyed this home, its decor, and all of the natural beauty surrounding it. Please call us when you're ready to begin making plans for your next Emerald Isle vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
Enjoyable and relaxing
Our stay at a pearl by the sea was one of our more enjoyable vacations in recent years. The only things that I would change would be to include an iron and an ironing board in the rental. Also, A fly swatter and/or bug spray on hand to remove the pests that are in the rental.The sound side of the rental really needed some cleaning up on the beach area. If all the debris was removed and repairs done to the walkway/dock area, it would really be a nice place to stay. I would not want to take children there because of the beach debris on the sound side. It would be dangerous for them to play there. Read more
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 03/13/2012
The beach area of this Soundfront home has been cleaned up: debris removed, shoreline weeded and restored so families can enjoy sitting by the water.
Original response, January 10, 2012:
Thank you for your review of your stay at A Pearl By The Sea. It pleases me to know that you did have an enjoyable vacation in Emerald Isle.
I am sorry you experienced some issues with pests in the home. Our properties are exterminated regularly to keep such things at bay, but occasionally an additional treatment is needed. Please let our housekeeping department know of this and we'll gladly schedule an exterminator to spray the property during your stay. You can also check with them about loaner items available as we do maintain some items such as irons and ironing boards and we're happy to provide them to our guests to make your stay more comfortable.
As for the debris on the Sound side, this of course happens when winds are high. The sandy beach at A Pearl By The Sea actually makes for a great place for children to play, wade in the water, swim, crab, etc. Had you let us know of the debris, our maintenance department would have gladly cleaned this area up so you could fully enjoy the property and all it has to offer.
Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you will revisit Emerald Isle and stay at A Pearl By The Sea. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
Perfection by the Sea
Perfection by the Sea!
Loved this charming cottage with excellent access to both sound and ocean. Kitchen well appointed and plenty of room for 4 adults with children ranging from 10-27! Especially delightful if you like to fish, crab, kayak, and boat...really could not have asked for more.
Relaxing and enjoyable
Overall great location on the sound with an easy walk to the beach. Beach area on the sound is a bit smaller than pictures appear and dock actually belongs to the neighbors. Water level gets low enough that young children can wade out to fish and explore.
Pleasant Garden, NC
Nice accommodations for a family of four.
Perfect size for our family of four. We loved both the soundfront and oceanviews from the porches. We especially enjoyed having our dinners on the dining deck watching the birds on the sound. Very peaceful and quiet week at Emerald Isle.
Wonderful place to stay.
We have stayed here twice and it's always a pleasure. Good view of the ocean and of the sound. Great location for dining and other activities.
An almost Perfect Place to Stay
We arrived with our daughter, who lives in Brooklyn now, our dog, & our kayaks to find a lovely interior, filled w/ bright colors & comfortable furnishings, & a stunning exterior (the beautiful view of the sound, two great decks, a screened in porch, & a white sand beach). We like the easy walk to the beach. My only complaint is the fact that one must be a contortionist to wash clothes and at least 6 ft. tall to set the dryer--a tiny complaint compared to the overall experience! We will rent again with pleasure & spend another lovely vacation on the beach the deck, & the sound.
This is the poorest experience I have ever had in the 22 years I have been vacationing in Emerald Isle. The house was dirty when we arrived. Dog hair on the rugs, bathrooms weren't clean. After a few days the cockroaches appeared and lasted the remainder of the week. I called on Tuesday aug 3rd three times and no one ever called me back. Finally I called again and someone sent out a man who spent 2 - 3 mins in the home spraying and then he left. Cockroaches again appeared and my children refused to use the bathroom on the west side of the house. The view was terrific and the location was nice. When we checked out I gave a list of complaints to the gal at your front desk. I asked her to have someone call me about this experience but no one ever did. You also misrepresented the property. The photos showed a dock going into the sound! There was no dock. Remnents could be seen but it had obviously been washed away some time ago. I paid $3000.00 for the week and I feal cheated at the very least. Read more
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 12/14/2011
Thank you for your review of your stay at A Pearl by the Sea. I agree, the views from this home are terrific! Though, I am sorry to hear of your disappointments.
This property doesn't advertise a dock and the dock pictured is actually at the home next door in an effort to show guest's the panoramic views you will have from A Pearl by the Sea. I'm sorry you felt misled by this. Palmetto bugs are prevalent in our area due to the humid climate and dense vegetation on our island. Our properties are treated regularly to keep such bugs at bay but from time to time an additional treatment is needed. Thank you for letting us know this was the case. Once treated, it can take a few days for pests to dissipate.
Thank you again for your feedback. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please email or call us - firstname.lastname@example.org or 1-888-832-0140.
Rocky Mount N.C.
Tommy and Ruth's getaway.
We enjoyed our stay at a Pearl by the Sea very much. It was a very beautiful and clean property. Having our pets with us was great it meant we did not have to worry if they were taken care of at home. The amenities were great, nice TV entertainment system, Loved the porches and wifi worked very good. We would come back here again for sure. Great property.
Eastern North Carolina
It was wonderful!
We were taken by the Pearl by the Sea because of it's being on the Beaufort soundfront and a very short walk to the ocean. It is decorated beautifully and very clean.The house had ample plates, cups/glasses and silverware along with other small items needed in a stocked kitchen. I would recommend you bring tall garbage bags for the kichen receptable and paper towels/dish towels. Bring your own dishwasher soap and laundry soap. The only thing we really missed was wireless internet service. With 2 laptops to use, we were constantly plugging and unplugging the modem; not fun. All in all, my husband, extended family and me enjoyed this property.
This was our first time renting a vacation home. We visited from the first week in June. Temps were mid 80's to mid 90's. The location was perfect; on the Bogue soundfront where we enjoyed watching our toddler grandkids play. The ocean was a very short walk across the street and can be seen from the kitchen window. The house is decorated nicely and was very clean.
great for toddlers
Wonderfully decorated, very comfortable home. Would be too close to road during busy season, not much traffic during our stay so not an issue. Our 5 and 4 year old loved the beach on the sound, enjoyed it more than the oceon. Great place, would rent again.
We really enjoyed the house and being able to see the sound and the ocean. It was a great size for 2 couples.
Port Clinton, Ohio
We had a great time.
The cottage was clean and fairly well equipped. We enjoyed the views from the sound and the ocean. Might not stay there during the summer becasue of the proximity to the road. But the first week in April was great.
Yes, a Pearl
Great place, beautiful view of the sound and even the beach through an open lot. Well appointed for our group of four. Wonderful porches and an open gathering deck down toward the sound from the house. Although it is near the end of EI going east, it is still a great location. Would return again when able.
We really enjoyed our stay at A Pearl By The Sea. The home has had recent renovations and was very well maintained. We loved the ocean view from the front porch and the beautiful deck views of the sound. We would absolutely rent this home again for our next vacation trip to Emerald Isle.
Issues with rental
We really liked our rental, A Pearl By The Sea - HOWEVER - by Tuesday morning we started fighting off the bugs. Some were large, like water bugs, some were definitely roaches. In any event, it was the first time at the beach we have had this issue. We called you on Tuesday morning and finally in the late afternoon someone delivered a can of bug spray for us to spray. That was somewhat insulting - after all we paid very well for this and we were now having to do the work. Some vacation. In any event, we continued to have to spray each day and on Friday morning when I found little ants all in the kitchen we decided that enough was enough. It is a shame - the house was clean and well appointed. (although the toaster does not work)But I was afraid I would bring bugs back home. When I turned in the keys, the agent said that she guessed it needed extermination - which is what we told you on Tuesday!
We used to rent from Century 21 - but the last time we did the unit was so dirty we had to clean it before we brought our suitcases in. So we wanted to give Emerald Isle a chance. Very disappointed in your responses. Read more
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 01/18/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at A Pearl By The Sea. It pleases me to know that you did like this home and that you enjoy revisiting Emerald Isle.
I am sorry to hear that you encountered such an issue with bugs. It is true that palmetto bugs and the like are prevalent in our area due to our dense vegetation and humid climate. Our properties are treated regularly to keep such pests at bay, but from time to time an additional treatment is needed. The spray which you were provided is often effective to manage bugs in the time between treatments. I'm sorry this didn't work for you and that you didn't receive assistance from our housekeeping department.
Thank you for your feedback. I hope you will revisit Emerald Isle and allow Emerald Isle Realty another opportunity to serve as your host. Please call us when you begin planning your next stay and we'll work to find a house to fit all your needs and desires - 1-888-832-0140.
missy and carey
We had an awesome vacation. The house was in a great location . short walk to the beach, private beach on sound, views gorgeous all around, clean house. THe realty company was VERY professional and accomadating.
Loyal Customers of Emerald Isle
Charlotte, Raleigh, NC and Dover, DE
A very good value
We have vacationed up and down the island and Emerald Isle beats them all.
Secondly, Emerald Isle Realty has been very good to us for many years.
Spinnaker Realty we used last year for the first time and will NEVER use
again, the people were rude, they added additional charges, and did not
follow up on our concerns. (They charged us $120 for missing napkin
rings! What a joke, we disputed this but to no avail. Hope the next group
didn't get charged the same!)
This particular house was very reasonably priced, very good location, and
excellent crabbing and fishing in the sound (buy crab pots, we had enough
crabs for 6 adults 2 nights in a row). Right down the street is a convenience
store "Flip Flops" that had surprisingly good prices and super nice people,
they gave us good advice on fishing. The pictures of the sound were a little
misleading, the dock in the picture does not belong to the house. We were
a little disappointed, we were expecting to use it. Some tools to clean the
grill outside would have been great, for some reason there have not been
adequate tools for grilling in the many years we have rented.
All in all, these were very minor concerns. We would highly recommend the
house for families and Emerald Isle Realty for their attentiveness and
excellent customer service.
Needs a cleaning top to bottom
This is a cute home that was a good size for our family of five. The views were amazing, and the walk to the beach was very easy. We also found this part of the beach was not the least bit crowded.
Guests considering this home should realize that for most of the day there is really not enough water to swim in the sound unless you walk very far out.
Our major complaint with this house is that it needs and extensive cleaning. The furniture was sandy, the bedspreads dirty and the kitchen floor was filthy. Even the walls and light switches were dirty. We just found it hard to relax in home where we weren't really comfortable touching anything.
Of small issue was the kitchen which we thought could be better stocked. I lacks both a toaster (there is a toaster oven) and an icemaker. Read more
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 12/14/2011
Thank you for your review of your stay at A Pearl by the Sea. It pleases me to know that you enjoyed the views from this home and found the beach access to be simple.
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the cleanliness of the home when you arrived. Certainly, had you let us know, we would have happily sent a cleaning crew to the property to clean more efficiently.
Thank you for your comments. I hope you will return to Emerald Isle and choose Emerald Isle Realty to serve as your host. Please call us when you begin planning your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
Great location at a great beach
Nice, clean rental with great sound side views. Beautiful back deck with lower level deck near the sound. Very relaxing area to eat dinner or just hang out. The beach cart was a real help and beach access is a quick block and a half away. The front porch has great views of the ocean, too. Emerald Isle Realty was quick to respond to our needs (needed new batteries in the smoke detector & an issue with the stove eyes.) The only thing we would recommend would be sharper knives in the kitchen and the possibility of a short pier into the sound. Thanks for a great week.
Nice week at the beach
Home was nicely furnished and remodeled. Great views of the sound and short walk to the ocean. Boys were disappointed that the kayak shown in the slide show on the realty website was not there. Had somewhat hard time reaching realty by phone, unlike in earlier years. All in all a good, relaxing week.
A relaxing atmosphere
Overall, Pearl by the Sea was a good experience. The home was nicely updated and clean. Not all of the repairs were complete at the time of our stay but the owner did offer a fair discount. We felt although that the price increase to the current 2009 season was a bit high for what the home had to offer. Also I got a bit tired of the real estate agent calling on behalf of the owner. After all, this was my vacation and I really didn't want to deal with the owner's issues! If I had wanted to deal with home repairs I could have stayed at home. Read more
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 01/18/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at A Pearl By The Sea. It pleases me to know that you found the updates which were completed to provide a relaxing atmosphere.
I am sorry you were disturbed by phone calls we made to you in an effort to arrange for workers to only be at the property at times which were convenient for you. Our records indicate a refund was issued to you in an attempt to compensate you for your trouble and inconveniences. While I understand you desire a peaceful vacation with no worries, I hope you found this gesture to be fair.
Thank you again for your feedback. Plesae call us when you begin planning your next trip to Emerald Isle and we'll happily assist you in finding a property which will meet all of your needs and desires - 1-888-832-0140.
House was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Short walk to beach access. Beach cart was very helpful. Beautiful views of ocean and sound. Porches and decks are really nice. Beach/sandy area at sound in back of house is ok but small and could be improved. Overall, it's a great house for families with or without young children.
The best ever.....
We have been vacationing the outter banks for many years and this house was by far the most delightful experience we have had. Initally we were a little apprehensive because of location, but were we surprised. The views of both the sound and the ocean were just great. The home was so delightfully decorated and well kept, well we just didn't want to leave and can hardly wait to return this fall. It isn't for everybody---but it sure is for us. A big "Thanks" to the owners for allowing us to share your beautiful home.
Family of 5
Fabulous, fine home!
This home was a new rental for the season, we were one of the first to rent it. It has great decor & necessary items. We did love this home! Views of Ocean & also the sound are spectacular!
Some items that would be helpful: blender, ice maker, electric canopener, beach items, such as chairs & even a canoe or kayak would be great since it's on the water. How about crab traps?