- 4 bedrooms
- 2 bathrooms
- sleeps 8
Description from the manager
Cottage, 4 BR, 2 B. Q * Q * 2S * 2S * QSS. Dishwasher, washer/dryer, 3 cable TVs, DVD player, stereo with CD player, ceiling fans throughout. Reverse floor plan. Large covered and open decks with porch rockers, picnic table, charcoal grill, enclosed hot/cold outside shower. Situated on a high lot with great ocean views and easy beach access. Available year 'round. No smoking. No pets. 9422 Ocean Drive.
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Additional Location Information
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: November 27, 2013 ◀▶
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Date||Nightly Rate||Weekly Rate||Monthly Rate|
|Aug 17, 2013 - Sep 06, 2013 ||$1,340|
|7 night min stay | Any day check-in|
|All other dates |
|night min stay | Any day check-in|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
- Gas Grill [?]
- Gas or Charcoal Grill
- Non Smoking
- Nightly rentals in Off-Season
- Pet friendly - Ask
- Suitable for children - Ask
- Suitable for the elderly - Ask
- Wheelchair accessible - Ask
What Past Guests Are Saying
Piedmont of NC
Great view from upper deck - but if you like to cook on vacation
The upper deck has a spectacular view and the lower deck is comfortable and shady. The beach access is practically across the road, very convenient. However, the kitchen and is tiny and poorly equipped - ex. no working can opener. And only one person can be in the kitchen at a time, if you open the oven or dishwasher someone has to move. The bedrooms were crowded but the beds were comfortable. Our stay was marred by the fact that the washing machine was broken when we arrived - and still broken when we left. I made four calls to Emerald Isle Realty maintenance and never received a return call - or a working washing machine. When I finally called customer service six days into our stay, I was mildly scolded for not calling customer service first because they "would have handled it differently." If all calls should go to customer service, why distribute the maintenance number?
Peace and Paradise on the porch.
Our family of eight (Grandpa and Grandma came as well) had a wonderful time at Surfer's watch. The house sits high enough to see the ocean from the top deck in the mornings and at night. The lower deck and ground level was used during the day when it was hot or raining. I loved the peace and paradise feeling on the top deck at night. We had a full moon and it just made the ocean gleem. The house was in great condition. I did bring my favorite skillet. Grandma said that the utensils needed upgrading, but overall we had a wonderful experience. Thank you!!! The Richards family
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 08/10/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Surfer's Watch. It pleases me to know that you enjoyed your time at this home while vacationing in Emerald Isle. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next vacation so we can reserve Surfer's Watch for you again - 1-888-832-0140.
Bright and cheerful place with a great location
My family and I enjoyed our stay - but had to give a lot of credit to Emerald Isle Realty. The strong sulfur smell we noticed upon arriving dissapated with the advice given by one of the agents. The oven was not working properly and the technician handled it quickly. The place does have a very small kitchen area and therefore we had to deal with "less cooks in the kitchen." Otherwise, we felt there was plenty of room and the location (one row back) was very convenient.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 08/04/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Surfer's Watch. It pleases me to know that you and your family enjoyed your vacation in Emerald Isle and I'm very happy to know that our staff was helpful in remedying some issues you experienced. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next trip to Emerald Isle - 1-888-832-0140.
Convieniant to Beach access but only two bathroomsand kitchen wa
Our family recently stayed at Surfer's Watch and overall we were pleased with the cottage. The house is on the 2nd row however the beach access is just across the road and you have a wonderful beach view from the second and third floors.
Climbing the narrow wooded staircase from second to third floor inside to access the kitchen which was very small was not great. The kitchen cabinets were awkward to reach and not well equipped.
The cottage overall was nice and clean and looked to have been recently painted. The reason we will not stay there again is only two bathrooms and only one for the second floor which had three bedrooms. This was a real problem with 3 teens and two adults having to stay on that floor.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 07/28/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Surfer's Watch. It pleases me to know that you and your family enjoyed your Emerald Isle vacation and I agree, the beach access is simple from this home. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next stay and we'll happily look to find a home with a bed/bath configuration which will work for your family - 1-888-832-0140.
July 2011 Vacation
We had a great time at Surfer's Watch. Our party of four was a great fit for this house. With the beach access right across the street and the height of the house it was like having a first row house without the first row price. The house is beautifully appointed and well maintained. I would like to see an upgraded kitchen in both appliances and utensils. Overall it was a great stay and would not hesitate to come back to Surfer's Watch.
Terrible!!! We called Emerald Isle several times about problems
This is a terrible vacation house. The dishwasher did not work, and had not worked in a few weeks. All the dishes were dirty and unusable. Pots were rusted, and unusable, and only 4 coffee cups. No icemaker, no internet. The washer broke, door lock broke, and when we called, we were left with a screwdriver to open the washer door. The air vent in the dining area is a hazard; the dining chair goes thru cheap plastic vent. A real hazard for children. The place was dirty. I had to wash the comforters before using. The door locks, one upstairs exterior door and one bedroom exterior door, were broken so the house was not secure. There are no drapes/blinds in one bedroom. We called Emerald Isle several times but were told that sometimes things break. We are so frustrated that we called Visa to put a hold on the final payment; perhaps Emerald Isle will make some effort to compensate for this disaster. We talked to the previous vacationers who said their experience was the same.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 11/22/2011
Original response - 8/4/11: Thank you for your review of your stay at Surfer's Watch. I do apologize that you experienced so many issues with the appliances during your stay. Unfortunately, it is true that things do break from time to time and it is unforeseen.
The owners of Surfer's Watch have replaced the dishwasher. The latch on the washing machine door has been repaired, as has the 3rd floor door lock.
Thank you again for providing your feedback. I am sorry that these issues weren't resolved during your stay. Our maintenance department works diligently to repair/replace broken items quickly, however, some items do take longer due to waiting on outside contractors, obtaining owner approval, etc.
I hope you will stay with Emerald Isle Realty again. If you would like to make a reservation, please call us at 1-888-832-0140.
Kitchen is very small and very poorly equipped - we had to go buy some things to use. Microwave needs to be replaced. There should be a broom available but there isn't. The view is great and the house is really close to the beach, so we enjoyed the stay.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 07/19/2010
Thank you for your review. I'm passing your comments and suggestions on to our homeowner team so they can pass them on to the owner.
I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing to vacation with Emerald Isle Realty this year.
Great location but...
This was our second summer at Surfers Watch and while we were happy to see some minor improvements inside, some other maintenance issues still keep us looking for other options. While the repairs to the blinds and addition of some curtains were nice, the garden hose nozzle was broken and so we were unable to use the hose to rinse off our beach gear. The charcoal grill remained in disrepair and is unusable and the outside shower was in danger of being overgrown by the vegetation in back of the house. The deck and the views are great and beach access could only be closer if you were oceanfront...if the price stays where it is we'd probably come back next season.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 07/01/2010
Thank you for your review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay at Surfer's Watch. I am going to provide our Homeowner team with your suggestions for maintenance so they can relay these to the owner. We look forward to assisting you in planning your next vacation.
Chapel Hill, NC
Great location w/ fabulous view but needs some love
This is a terrific location on EI. It's about as close as you can get to the beach
without paying for beachfront, and the two large decks with rockers allow you
to see the ocean and the wonderful sunrises/sunsets without leaving the
house. The couches and beds were comfortable, the table seats eight, and the
lower-level covered porch creates a nice, shady spot to read a book when the
sun gets fierce.
My issues were minor, but they would keep me from renting this house for
longer than a weekend. 1) We had ants in the kitchen and cockroaches here
and there. 2) The blinds were missing slats in the two kids' bedrooms, so they
awoke at first light. 3) One of the kids' bedrooms had a sliding door but no
screen, making it difficult to get decent air flow or hear the waves at night.
If these three things were repaired I would have no reason not to rent this
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 01/19/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Surfer's Watch. It pleases me to know that you and your family enjoyed your time in Emerald Isle and all this property had to offer.
Thank you for letting us know of the issues you experienced, but please notify us of such things during your stay so we can work to remedy them for you.
Thank you again for your feedback. Please call us when you begin planning your next vacation or getaway - 1-888-832-0140.
West Berlin, NJ
Close to the beach
Good Access to the beach and good view but kitchen was rather
small.Last year we chose another home to stay in and liked that one
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 01/19/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Surfer's Watch. I agree, the beach access is simple and the views are great! Please call us when you begin planning your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.