|Minimum Stay||7 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Cottage, 4 BR, 2 B. Q * Q * 2S * 2S. Island Club linens provided. Large open and spacious living area with spectacular ocean views from cottage interior. Dishwasher, 5 cable TVs including large screen LCD in living area, DVD player, stereo with CD player, free long distance in the US, wireless high speed Internet access, ceiling fans. Ground floor laundry room. Two oceanfront deck levels provide unforgettable views! 578 sq. ft. of spacious decking for sun worshipers; 276 sq. ft. of shaded decking for little ones and the sun-sensitive. Porch furniture including Southern Living rockers, picnic table and lounge chairs. Enclosed hot/cold outside...Read more
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$0||$1,900 - $3,295||$0||7 nights|
|May. 4 2013 - Jun. 7 2013||-||$1,900||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 8 2013 - Jun. 14 2013||-||$2,775||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 15 2013 - Aug. 9 2013||-||$3,295||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 10 2013 - Aug. 16 2013||-||$2,995||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 17 2013 - Sep. 6 2013||-||$1,900||-||7 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 14, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Good buy for the price
Martin house is a nice open floor plan house with a great porch and lots of nice big windows across the front. The bedroom setup is nice for two families with the front two bedrooms having queens and the back bedrooms having twins for kids.
-open living room/kitchen
-TVs in every bedroom (w/nick jr)
-nice beach and walk
-fantastic shaded porch with rockin chairs and picnic table
-shower heads need replacing
- no ceiling fans in bedrooms (gets hot)
- beach shrubbery so tall it blocks the view of the beach. You can't really see the ocean from the house.
- next to public access so there's lots of fishermen
- kitchen needs to be updated
- lots of twin beds
all in all we had a wonderful week at Martin!
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 09/27/2012
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. I agree, the floor plan of this home is perfect for families vacationing with kids. I'm happy it worked well for your family. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next Emerald Isle vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
Perfect October stay
Found the Martin House to be a good getaway for a long weekend. Clean rooms and spacious common area to read, play some cards and just hang out. Great views of the sunrise and to watch the waves roll in.
Few things to take care of would be that I found most of the dishware needed to be rewashed and the shower head in the east side bath needs repairing, (it works but is broken).
I would recommend this unit to others. It's older, but quaint.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 10/25/2011
Thank you for your review of your stay at Martin House. I agree that this home provides great views and plenty of space.
I have reported the broken shower head to our maintenance department. Thank you for your feedback. Please call us when you begin to make plans to revisit Emerald Isle - 1-888-832-0140.
Jess & Ellie Evans
good time had by all/rental unit needs work, shows age
The ice maker did not work, your maintenance crew left plastic ice trays outside by the front door, the stove is not level so we had to turn our skillets all the time to cook food evenly, the carpet is old and stained badly, the ac in the bedrooms was freezing compared to the ac in the main living room,the shower and tap water had an un pleasent odor, there was alot of trash left under the decking which I cleaned up, some buckets, plastic sheeting left out,some household insects in the kitchen, other than that everything was good. thank you. Jess Evans
Raleigh, NC and Pittsburgh, PA
Wish we could have stayed longer!
22 years ago we stayed at the Martin House. It is a perfect valued priced rental and we have only been able to get back in it a few times over the years. In honor and memory of a departed loved one, we made sure we got back into it this year. We all had a wonderful stay, enjoyed local food and sites. However, the best attraction is the Crystal Coast. The sun, sand and surf, we absolutely love it...wish we could have stayed longer!
We traveled with our 4 sons, ages 13, 10,10,10 and two buffer friends (boys) ages 13 and 11. We loved the view!! I didn't encounter a single "palmetto bug" (roach) the entire week. That was a first and I've stayed in many a beach home. The home really needs some updating and new kitchen ware: pots, pans and utensils and knives were quite sub-par. The beds were very comfortable. It was hard to do laundry since you have to go outside and down under the house to access the facilities. There were no laundry baskets nor was the icemaker hooked up. Those things I take for granted. The bathrooms were clean but so old and dated that they felt yucky. When you are paying in the 3000+ range per week I feel the accomodations should be better. The beach was wonderful though...
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 08/20/2010
Thank you for your review. I'm happy you and your group of boys were able to enjoy a bug free week in Emerald Isle.
Great suggestions of the addition of a laundry basket and ice maker as well as updating the bathrooms and cookware. I'm passing your review on to the owner.
Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you'll vacation with us again.
Nice beach cottage
Beautiful views in this cottage. The whole front living room is glass and overlooks the beach. Nice new deck with shade and rocking chairs. The cottage is adequate size for a family. Furnishings are very basic as are the decorations. Comfort in the living area was less then desirable. Eating area is small, as is the kitchen. Not really decorated as a beach house. The photos of the interior are very accurate.
The cottage is right next to the public access walkway to the beach so there is foot traffic and a lot of people using the beach right in front of the house.
Beds are firm but the Oceanside bedrooms do not have windows that open on the cceanside so you can’t hear the ocean at night or in the morning.
Check in and checkout was very efficient and quick. House was well cleaned.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 01/19/2012
Thank you for providing your review of your stay at Martin House and for being so thorough. It pleases me to know that you did enjoy the views from this home and had a pleasant vacation to Emerald Isle. Please call us when you're ready to make reservations for your next stay - 1-888-832-0140.
It was relaxing and quiet.
Except for the dryer which was broken, our experience was very nice. We called about the dryer on Monday, but it was Friday before it was repaired. Since we were traveling with small children, it made it difficult to keep up with laundry.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 07/13/2010
Thank you for your review. I'm happy you were able to enjoy a relaxing vacation; that's the only kind of vacation to have.
I do show where you reported the dryer wasn't working. Apparently, there was a malfunction with the phone as well which prevented us from getting back in touch with you. This why our maintenance department didn't arrive before Friday. I'm happy they were able to repair it before you left so you didn't have to tote a bunch of dirty laundry home with you.
When making your next reservation, please provide us with a number to a cell phone of someone in your group. That way, if there is an outage or malfunction with the phone at the property, we still have a way to contact you. We prefer to call our guest's and let them know when we'll be sending someone to the property rather than showing up unannounced.
Thank you again for your review.
Close to perfect
We were looking for a smaller house on the beach and this was the perfect choice for us. It had every kitchen requirement and the location on the beach and configuration of the house were exactly what we wanted. The rental service was very good, particularly check in and check out, with the exception of some housekeeping issues. Two of the mattress covers were either torn or newly stained and we had to request replacements. The house lacks a good vacume cleaner and there were shells and sand on areas of the carpet when we arrived. I used the vacume there but it wasn't very effective. We liked the house enough that we would love to come back next year. Would the owner consider a deposit so we could bring a very small 12 lb.k well trained dog with us?
We have stayed in Emerald Isle for six years at several different homes over this time. The Martin house was a late big. I had my doubts because I do not like to stay near a public access, but this place was different. The view was to die for. Inside and out. This best view of any house we have rented. We were going to start a new deck when we returned from our vacation. The deck on the house gave us great ideas for a different design. I took lots of pictures. You should see my deck at home. It is even better then the one at Martin House. Best off all every time I set out there i am reminded of our great family vacation. Thanks for all the wonderful memories. Hope we can find a deal and returned this year too.
C leveland Ohio
Great Time With the Grandchildren
We found the cottage to be very comfortable and well supplied. Everyone had a great time on the beach. Has a great view.