|Minimum Stay||7 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Cottage, 4 BR, 2 1/2 B. Q * Q * Q * D. Island Club linen service with beds made. Spacious soundfront MBR suite with Q. Dishwasher, 4 cable TVs, stereo with CD player, wireless high speed Internet access, wet bar, ceiling fans. Deck with porch rockers, charcoal grill. Private soundfront pier perfect for swimming, crabbing, fishing, clamming, kayaking and windsurfing. Beautiful soundfront location with easy beach access. Weekly only. No smoking. No pets. 1908 Emerald Drive Q * Q * D. Island Club linen service with beds made. Spacious soundfront MBR suite with Q. Dishwasher, 4 cable TVs, stereo with CD player, wireless high speed Internet access...Read more
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$0||$1,100 - $2,055||$0||7 nights|
|May. 4 2013 - Jun. 7 2013||-||$1,100||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 8 2013 - Jun. 14 2013||-||$1,755||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 15 2013 - Aug. 9 2013||-||$2,055||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 10 2013 - Aug. 16 2013||-||$1,755||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 17 2013 - Sep. 6 2013||-||$1,100||-||7 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 09, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Soundfront & close to ocean
Clamdigger is only one block from the ocean, so our boys had double fun swimming in both the sound & the ocean. The floorplan of the house features a master suite on one end & three bedrooms on the other end, allowing wonderful privacy for parents & kids.
The swing underneath the house was a pleasant surprise.
Three disappointments: No outside shower, an old-style TV with a nonfunctional remote and only basic cable package, and the lack of steps/ladder off the dock.
By the end of our week, we figured out a method to climb back onto the dock after a swim. But this method involved balancing on the boatlift beam while gripping the suspension cable -- a difficult maneuver.The other method of exiting the sound is to walk up the shallows and the overgrown path, but beware the sharp shells and the briars.
The best features of Clamdigger are its soundfront location and its floorplan. If it included dock steps, an outside shower, and a premium television setup, we would definitely stay there again.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 08/24/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Clamdigger and for your suggestions.I'm happy to know that you enjoyed your Emerald Isle vacation and I agree, the location of Clamdigger does provide for great convenience to both the Ocean and the sound. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
Great value, older home, lovely sound front location
This rental was great for our group - 6 adults and a baby, and provided ample space for the price. Seems like the master suite was an add-on, and it is much newer and nicer (and less musty) than the other three bedrooms. This home has seen a lot of time in the elements, and there are many parts that need some TLC (outlet covers missing, doors need to be replaced, and some mildew). The dishwasher broke during our stay, but was replaced while we were there. The kitchen is small, the porch is not covered (and one of the awnings is broken), so we missed the shade in the afternoon. The dock on the sound was wonderful - a nice place to lounge, particularly on an overcast day. The home has been spruced up - bright paint colors and fun decorative touches, but the repairs were only cosmetic and the home could use some work. Overall, we had a good stay, but keep in mind that this home is older and you'll be getting what you pay for!
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 06/16/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Clamdigger. It pleases me to know that you did enjoy your stay at this home and that it fit the needs and desires of your family so nicely. I did pass your suggestions on to the owner and I'm happy that you found the new paint and such to be pleasing to you and your group. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next stay - 1-888-832-0140.
Pleasant, well equiped house, reserved same place for next year
Clamdigger is a wonderful place, light and airy with both Bogue Sound and ocean access. My two sons and I enjoyed it to the point that we've reserved a week at Clamdigger for next year. Not sure how I can say more than that. We've been vacationing on the Crystal Coast for a couple of decades - and have no desire to go elsewhere.
June (2013) Soon!!!
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 06/15/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Clamdigger. It pleases me to know that you and your family enjoyed this home and I'm happy to know that you'll be returning in 2013. Please call us if we can further assist in planning your next stay - 1-888-832-0140.
Hope to come back to Emerald isle next year.
We enjoyed our stay here. Sorry we did not get to take two chairs down to the end of the pier that was shown in your pictures. We feel cheated about that. You should have told us about this before we got there...or you should have adjusted your price.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 02/15/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Clamdigger. I'm happy to know you are anxious for your next trip to Emerald Isle. I am sorry to hear of your disappointment when you realized the pier was missing from the property. The pier is being rebuilt after it was destroyed by Hurricane Irene, along with most other Soundside piers. Again, I'm sorry to hear of your disappointment, but I hope you will revisit Clamdigger so you can enjoy it once the pier is rebuilt. Please call us to make your next reservation - 1-888-832-0140.
Great place to spend time with family
We stayed in this house in 2010 also and this year, the kitchen was stocked better with pans, dishes, etc., could use a better grill. Last year had a great ice machine, this year it did not work - would be nice if that was fixed. Will definitely rent this house again.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 08/29/2011
Thank you for your review of your stay at Clamdigger. It pleases me to know that you found the kitchen to be refurbished since your last stay in this home. As for the ice machine, this is not something which is advertised, therefore not available for guests' use. I'm sorry you were disappointed that you didn't have use of it.
Thank you again for your feedback. If you haven't already, please contact us to make your 2012 reservation for Clamdigger.
Pat & Family
cozy house, great for kids
We have been vacationing on the Emerald Coast for over 20 years. This was our first stay in Clamdigger. The location was very good, easy access to both the sound and ocean. The interior shows some wear, but beds were comfortable, kitchen well stocked, and the layout is very good for families traveling with young children. We took two kayaks and used them daily in the sound. The grandchildren had great fun catching blue crabs off the dock, we had enough for several meals. Our weather was spectacular, hot and sunny and dry. The only suggestions I would have for the owner is to repair the door locks in the master bedroom, that open to the deck. They are corroded and would not unlock. Also, the carpet in the dining room is badly stained, and would recommend doing away with the carpet all together, maybe putting down a wood or composite floor. This would be lots easier to clean up after meals. Overall we had a great time in Clamdigger, it's priced right and the realty company is one of the best we've rented from.
West Chester PA
Good time, good weather.
Nice place but an outside shower would make things easier.
Some wear evident here and there but overall good experience.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 07/13/2010
Thank you for your review. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your vacation. Great suggestion for an outside shower. I've passed your suggestion on to our homeowner team. Thanks!
An absolute amazing trip!
We had an awsome trip. We are a close group of friends, and this trip brought us even closer. The house and Emerald Isle Realty was such a great experience. We are looking forward to a trip next spring already!
Lincolnton, North Carolina
Great View & Spacious!
The house was really nice and had a lovely view of the sound. The only problem I had was that there was poison ivy crawling up the back deck which caused problems when letting the kids run around. I also didn't really like the sky light in the master suite....other than that, it was perfect for the 4 families to say in! I also loved that there is an ice maker!!(6 adults & 3 kids)
Fort Mill, SC
Love the Clamdigger
I have stayed at the Clamdigger many times and keep coming back...thank you for fixing the ice machine! You do need to know that the steps into the water are loose and dangerous. The bottom step has completely fallen off. Someone fell our first day attempting to get into the sound,and scraped her leg up pretty badly. It would also be nice to have access tho the kayaks locked up downstairs. Overall, I highly recommend the Clamdigger. The back deck and pier are priceless...so are the sunsets!!!
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 06/06/2009
Thank you for your comments and we are so sorry you fell using the steps. Maintenance has been sent out and fixed those steps so on your next stay you should have no problems.
New Bern NC
It's a great place for relaxation. I would stay here again every year if I could. The only minor complaint would be that the sheets for the master queen are not deep pocket so I woke up with the bottom sheet all over the place. Also, one warning for anyone with small children, on the deck over by the master bedroom there is enough space between the posts for a small child to fall through.
Don't let any of these minor things keep you away!
first time on sound
Spacious intercoastal waterway home
Beautiful home ,much nicer on inside than it looks from the road.Really nice master suite, size and space and view.Lovely deck on waterside, good long dock,sandy bottom, and across street from ocean.Bring your oun frying pans if you are a gourmet cook.
This cottage has absolutely awesome views of the sound and the sunsets!! The property is very well kept. I hope to stay again in 2009..
EXCELLENT ( Quiet and Good fishing )
I have enjoyed my stay at the Clamdigger two years in a row would recommend it to anyone with a large family.The layout of the house is especially nice,master bedroom on one end of house and the other three "way on the other end", a spacious yard for kids to play,not far to beach either.
Excellent view of the sound and lots of peace and quiet,the fishing there is not bad either.
In the years to come I will continue to stay at the Clamdigger and Book It through EIR.
Mike Fleming and Family
Perfect getaway home!
I can't imagine staying anywhere else when I'm on vacation!! You won't be disappointed in this rental.
Everything was great. Loved the private pier.
We like to fish so that was a great asset. The
interior of the home is beautiful. Really
used the rocking chairs on the deck. Would
rent again. Lots of crabs off of the pier
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 03/22/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Clamdigger. It pleases me to know that you enjoyed your stay so much and I hope you will return soon. Please call us to make reservations for your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.