|Minimum Stay||7 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Cottage, 3 BR, 1 1/2 B. D * D * T dybd * QSS. Island Club linens provided. Dishwasher, washer/dryer, flat screen cable TV, stereo with CD player, high speed Internet access. Covered porch and sundeck. Small pets allowed with $75 non-refundable fee (2 maximum). Weekly only. Available year â€˜round. 305 Ocean Drive.This oceanfront property rents monthly in the off-season. Linens are not included in monthly rentals, but may be added to your reservation. November - March $1,280
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$0||$1,290 - $2,320||$0||7 nights|
|Jun. 9 2013 - Jun. 15 2013||-||$1,995||-||7 nights|
|Jun. 16 2013 - Aug. 10 2013||-||$2,320||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 11 2013 - Aug. 17 2013||-||$1,995||-||7 nights|
|Aug. 18 2013 - Sep. 7 2013||-||$1,290||-||7 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: June 05, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Beautiful area.Killer view and beach.
Very old and run down cottage. Bedding is absolute joke. Should be ashamed to advertise as queen bedding and recently upgraded.You can put lipstick on a pig but it is still a pig. The area is wonderful,the view from the very nice deck is beautiful and the beach made up for the dissapointing accommadations.Very uncomfortable furnishings,did i mention the beds? How would you like to rent a so called upgraded cottage and wind up with this.Will definetly return to this beatiful area just not with your company.Could be a 5 star with some real upgrading.You should be ashamed of yourself for the deceptive advertisement of this "merry times" cottage.Actually left a day early because of bedding situation.Sleeping on floor may have been a better choice in hind sight.
Chapel Hill, NC
Nice place, nice beach
We had a great time when we visited in July 2012. The house was cozy but very adequate for my husband and I and our 2 dogs. The boardwalk to the shore was very convenient and the stretch of beach was clean and not crowded. Love the Emerald Isle area.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 04/09/2013
I'm so happy to hear that you loved your time in Emerald Isle. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
The home was very nice but the linin service sucked. We recieved one full set of sheets and 4 twins. I had to put 2 flat sheets on the bottom and cover 2 on top. We called monday and she said they would bring some out. Never recieved them. I called Tuesday at 4:35 and got a machine. I left a message. We never recieved any sheets. If I had known this I would have brought some from home. Please see this doesn't happen to anyone else.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 10/02/2012
I'm happy to know that you enjoyed your Emerald Isle vacation at Merrytimes, but I'm sorry to hear that you didn't receive your linens. Thank you for bringing this situation to our attention. I have passed your feedback on to the linen company. We enjoyed having you as our guest and look forward to your next stay with us. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next vacation to Emerald Isle - 1-888-832-0140.
Mount airy nc
Big Fantastic deck!!! Inside average.
This was our first time to Emerald Isle.If you are going to fish or just to relax. Its great.The beaches and water are not the best.Waves are very rough!!! The deck was very big!!It was right on the ocean.Pet friendly is one good thing about EI.We loved the aquarium.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 07/27/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Merrtytimes. It pleases me to know that you enjoyed your first trip to Emerald Isle and I agree, the deck at this home does provide an excellent spot to hang out and take in the views. Please call us when you decide to revisit Emerald Isle so we can assist in planning your stay - 1-888-832-0140.
A great beach house for a low key beach vacation. Already booked a return visit for next year. My only suggestion would be a better mattress on the single bed. But even that is no big deal when you're in a comfy house on the ocean less than a mile from Big Oak.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 06/18/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Merrytimes. It pleases me to know that you enjoyed this home so much that you are already making plans to return next year. Please call us if we can further assist you in planning your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
Relaxing and enjoyable.
Had a another great time at this cottage. Most relaxing and enjoyable.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 06/07/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Merrytimes. I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and found this home to create a relaxing atmosphere. Please call us when you begin making plans to revisit Emerald Isle - 1-888-832-0140.
Rocky Mount, NC
Trip was very relaxing and enjoyable.
I was very dissappointed with EI Realty this time around, i have already sent in one of these surveys.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 06/07/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Merrytimes. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed this year and will certainly be on the look out for your survey. Please call us if we can be of assistance or to discuss concerns which you have - 1-888-832-0140.
Tom and Marcia and doggies
happy spot at EI
The staff and housekeeping were fantastic!! We loved the house. It was perfect for us and our two dogs. We want to come back soon to this great house!! Wish that there was a queen bed in bedrooms and maybe cable hook up there also.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 05/05/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Merrytimes. I'm so pleased to know that and your family enjoyed your time at this home. Certainly, I'll pass your suggestions on to the owner of Merrytimes. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next stay and we'll happily reserve this home for you again - 1-888-832-0140.
Loved the intimacy of this beach cottage
This is a wonderful, comfortable, convenient, true ocean side beach cottage.
You can relax and have everything you need . Living area is Comfortable, TV is good, kitchen is well furnished and bedrooms are small but adequate. Wonderful ocean breezes and short walk to the beach.
For longer stays, I would really want a washer/dryer and a small TV in The bedrooms would be nice.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 05/03/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Merrytimes and for your suggestions. There is a washer and dryer at this home. It is on the ground level inside the exterior storage. I will certainly pass your other suggestions on to the owner of this cottage and I'm thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
Chapel Hill vacationer
Our stay was amazing and we love Merrytimes!
We had a wonderful month at the beach and Merrytimes was better than we expected. It was clean, comfortable, and had more amenities than we expected within its price range. I would have given it 5 stars except for two things - the pullout couch was unusable, even by a teenager, which says a lot. Also, we wished the bed in the "master bedroom" had been a queen instead of a double and had not been so soft.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 12/07/2011
Thank you for your review of your stay at Merrytimes. This home did undergo a lot of renovations before the beginning of the 2011 rental season. It pleases me to know you enjoyed this home and all you found within. I will forward your comments and suggestions on to the owner so they can consider them for future improvements.
Thank you again for your feedback. Please call us when you begin planning your next trip to Emerald Isle - 1-888-832-0140.
This was a great vacation house for us because we were able to bring our little dog and the price was right. The house is a perfect "beach house". All worked well and suited our needs perfectly. For such a nice deck, we wished there were more than 2 chairs.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 02/03/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Merrytimes. This home was remodeled and refurbished just before our 2011 season and I'm so pleased to know how much you enjoyed your stay there. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
The fifth year in Merry tTime. Appreciate the re-decoration and improvements in the cottage over last year. We will want to come back to the same cottage in 2012
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 02/03/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Merrytimes. It pleases me to know that you enjoyed all the work the owners have completed on their home. Please call us when you're ready to reserve for 2012 and we'll happily take care of it for you - 1-888-832-0140.
Ocean front. 30 yards from beach. Cooked at the house,never ate out one time. Water was fantastic. Only complaint was a lot of bugs IE: palmetto, large roaches whatever you call them.
Great summer vacation
We had a great time staying at Merrytime's.
The location and the view was great. The house was very comfortable. I had 2 little
dogs with me, and it was great for them also. We want to comee back next year.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 06/30/2011
Wonderful! Thanks for your review. Please call us, we'd love to set up your same time, same place for next year - 1-888-832-0140.
We enjoyed our vacation very much.
The house is showing wear and needs some improvements. The deck was ill furnished. The window blinds were i poor condition. However, the house is well laid off and was comfortable and met our needs.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 11/29/2010
Thank you for your review. You'll be happy to know that Merrytimes is undergoing some renovations and updates during our off season so it will be revamped for 2011. I hope you'll choose to stay here again so you can experience all of the improvements on which the owner is working so diligently.
last time to stay in this house
Not a good stay. Only one porch rocker and computer was not working. No aC in front small bedroom. Kitchen items need to be updated or replaced. This is the third time we vacationed in this house. Will not stay in this house again. Have used Emerald Isle Realty for 15 years. May consider using another rental agency in the future.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 11/22/2011
Thank you for your review of your stay. It pleases me to let you know that Merrytimes was completely refurbished and renovated for our 2011 rental season. Please use the following link to view pictures of the new Merrytimes. If you'd like to reserve this home for your next Emerald Isle vacation, please call us at 1-888-832-0140.
We arrived Sunday, Sept. 6. Monday it rained harder
than we've ever seen before but the view of the ocean
from the living room is so beautiful that we didn't
care. The covered deck is nice when you want to get
out of the sun. The open layout of the kitchen and
living room makes the house seem larger than it is.
The kitchen was very well equipped. We would
definitely stay here again.
The quick negatives: the house was in a little rough condition in some areas: Shower stall, windows didn't stay open, right handrail loose/broken in front steps, the included computer is running Win 98 (yeesh!), but I connected my portable to the cable modem and was fine. If you're going to connect multiple computers, bring a router. The connection is truly high-speed not satellite/antennae based like some houses. One board in a bench on the ocean deck was loose. Grill has no top grate, so I bought a Smoky Joe.
That's it! This was excellent, and as one reviewer put it, you can't underestimate being right on the beach. Walking right out on the beach anytime, day or night, or just sitting on the deck and looking at the moon on the water. The kitchen was decent and it had a nice open floor plan. The cold and private warm showers outside are great.
Could use more bedrooms, but what the heck, for 5 or 6 its fine.
It was my first vacation in over 10 years and my 2nd time to Emerald Isle, the last being well over 15 years ago. Its nice to know a place stays great over that span of time. My daughter's loved it. They were here when they were little, now 24 and 21.
We'll be back!
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 08/16/2009
I'm so glad to hear you had a "Merrytime"! I've reported your issues to maintenance so I'm confident they will get those issues fixed before your next stay. On your next visit if you need a router we would be more than willing to loan one to you for the week.
Thanks for your comments and we look forward to seeing you in 2010!
very relaxing great view needs 1 more tv
Couldn't ask for more!
Merrytimes is the perfect vacation rental for my family. There are only three of us, my husband, myself and our small son. The house was clean and ready when we arrived. The features of the home that we particular enjoy are: the covered porch, the ocean view, the outside shower, the washer and dryer, the computer/internet, the layout of the kitchen and living area, and the linens provided. We also appreciate the ease of check-in and check-out. Gratefully, we did not have any issues where needed to contact anyone for problems with the rental during our stay. This was our second year in this particular house and I bet it won't be our last! Thank you, Emerald Isle Realty. Cathy Armes
Brad and Jackie
Merrytimes; the good and the bad
Our vacation was wonderful because the weather was sun, sun, sunny.We liked the location of Merrytimes very much. The house was quaint; however the deck and other wood around the house is in need of repair.The kitchen was well stocked with household items except a cookie sheet and pot holders. It was very user friendly; although I prefer a gas stove and not an electric one. The appliances looked new.A larger frying pan would have been nice. We didn't use the grill because it was not clean.If it wasn't for the poor wiring we would stay there again. We had a great time with our children and pugs.The ability to include our pets on our vacation was a big plus. We would enjoying returning to Emerald Isle in the future. It is a perfect place for a family vacation. The express check in and out is a great idea and made everything very simple. Thank you, Emerald Isle Realty.
BEAUTIFUL OCEAN VIEWS
THIS HOME IS A VERY QUAINT OLDER STYLE COTTAGE- VERY COMFORTABLE AND NICELY FURNISHED WITH GREAT BEACH ACCESS FOR THE AFFORDABLE COST. I WOULD NOT WANT TO BRING YOUNG CHILDREN HOWEVER, DUE TO THE FACT THAT IT DOES NEED SOME REPAIR WORK. SOME OF THE RAILINGS WERE LOOSE AND WERE MISSING PIECES OF WOOD. THERE WAS A BIT OF TRASH IN THE YARD AND OLD BROKEN BEACH CHAIRS SCATTERED ABOUT THE PROPERTY AND BELOW THE PORCH. IT DOES NEED SOME PAINT AND REPAIR WORK. THE DECK FURNITURE WAS ALSO OLDER AND THERE WERE ONLY 2 ROCKING CHAIRS AND A TABLE. THEY ALSO HAD SOME EXPOSED PIPES IN TWO PLACES IN THE FRONT YARD. I DO NOT HAVE KIDS SO I DID NOT HAVE ANY ISSUES DUE TO THE LOWER PRICE FOR A BEACHFRONT PROPERTY. THE THRILL OF WAKING UP AND BEING ABLE TO WALK RIGHT ONTO THE BEACH CAN NOT BE COMPARED TO BEING IN THE 2ND ROW OR FARTHER BACK.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 01/20/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Merrytimes. I'm happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay and thank you for providing your suggestions. You'll be pleased to know that this home was completely renovated prior to our 2011 rental season. Please call us for more details and visit our website to view updated pictures of Merrytimes, 1-888-832-0140 - http://reservations.emeraldislerealty.com/properties/Merrytimes/.
Great place to stay
This was a very clean rental property with a wonderful deck and ocean view. I would highly recommend staying here if you are in the area. I know that we plan to visit again in the near future!
We rented this cottage because it was pet-friendly, and we brought our pug. We arrived to find the smoke detector beeping constantly, because the battery needed replacing.(and it was locked so we couldn't change it) The guy came right out and fixed that. Right after he left, we were unpacking, and discovered that there were mouse droppings in ALL of the drawers, on the utensils and in the pots and pans, and in all of the cabinets. We had to wash everything we used beforehand, and didn't feel comfortable putting our food in the cabinets. Also, the stove didn't work, so we couldn't even boil water. There was only one small couch and a rocking chair for living room furniture--no coffee table, no other chair as was shown in the photo. Otherwise, it was adequate, but it was enough to make us decide not to come back. We were very disappointed as we have used Emerald Isle Realty many times for years. When we checked out and told them the problems, all the staff person said was that we should have called. Where were we supposed to go with our dog while they cleaned it? It was about 20 degrees outside that week. I think someone should have checked the house before we rented it, if it hadn't been used in a while.
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 01/29/2009
I'm very sorry to hear about your less-than satisfactory stay! We do appreciate the opportunity to solve problems for you while you're here, so you can enjoy as perfect a vacation as we can supply. We do inspect homes before you check in, especially if they were cleaned well prior to your vacation. Extra cleaning could have been accomplished with you in the house, or we could have found something indoors, warm and comfy, for you and your little traveling companion while we took care of things. I'm not sure why the things you mentioned weren't caught before you checked in, but if you call us we can almost always come up with acceptable solutions. Again, I'm sorry we weren't able to do that for you.
Always perfect at EI!
All the homes at Emerald Isle are perfect. The beach is peaceful and the people are friendly. We go every summer and can't wait to get back.
LIKE A BEACH HOUSE SHOULD BE!
When we rented the Merrytimes beach house a couple of years ago. I had not been on a vacation for over 10 years. I loved the house because it was a "relaxed" house like I think a beach house should be. I, personally, don't think a beach house should be fancy with granite counters and cherry wood cabinets and other such fineries. Coming from Northern VA, that is what everyone seems to want or have in their homes. I wanted a beach house that said "relax" and get away from the usual! I wanted simple furnishings for a simplified feeling around me. We loved the location of this house also, because being an older home, it sits further away from other homes.
It has a great deck overlooking the water and we loved being able to take our well behaved golden retriever. Many homes do not allow pets so we searched for one that accepted pets. Never having been to Emerald Isle before, I felt that we were very fortunate to have found this cottage and this beach!
The beach at this point is very wide and you can see the sunset over the water as you look down the beach to the right.
If I had any criticism to make, it is that we did not find it as clean as we would have liked. I did clean the bathroom and kitchen sink, etc myself after arriving. And, as I recall, it seems that we had to make up our beds with the clean linens. It would be nice to not have to do those things right after arriving.
However, if I possibly could come back, I would do so in a heartbeat! And I would only want the Merrytime cottage! I am thankful that we were able to stay there for a week in the summer of 2006. I will always remember it!
great for a small family get together
We spent a wonderful week at Emerald Isle last summer. The house's proximity to the beach was a major attraction. Our family dog could go in and out and not hit the road. We love the Big Oak drive in...probably less than a mile from our house , The Merrytimes. Also, the jet sking was a big plus for the kids. We loved being close to Morehead City and Beaufort and enjoyed our time in Swansboro. The house was old, but very accomodating. We hope to be back again soon. John Giles
Response from Emerald Isle Realty, Inc - 03/22/2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Merrytimes. I agree, the location of this home is ideal and I'm so pleased to know that you enjoyed it. Merrytimes was updated and renovated prior to the 2011 season so please call us to make reservations for your next stay - 1-888-832-0140.