Dancing Bear Retreat Log Cabin
|Minimum Stay||3 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyYes
Description from the owner
Imagine this unforgettable setting for your wedding vows or the luxury and comfort of bringing together your family and friends for a family reunion getaway. Look no further because this will be the lodge for those most memorable occasions. From the private gated entry to the finest luxury details in this "one of a kind" spacious cabin.
From the moment you enter this cabin you will be amazed at the details and natural beauty of the large 2ft diameter logs and stackstone workmanship. Unlike other "Big Log" lodges in the Smoky Mountain area, this is the only cabin of its "design" located within just 6-7 minutes to downtown Gatlinburg an...Read more
Dancing Bear Retreat Log Cabin
(Property location is approximate)
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$245||$245 - $600||$0||$0||3 nights|
|Jan. 25 2013 - Dec. 31 2013||$245||$600||-||-||3 nights|
|All Other Dates||$245||$245||-||-||3 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the owner|
- Tax rate - 13% of rental - Tax
- Cleaning fee - $50 / stay - Other
- Reservation fee - $50 / stay - Other
Additional notes from owner
Please inquire for rates and availability on this special cabin @ www.aboutthesmokies.com
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 21, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Beautiful, but owner needs to invest in details.
This cabin is gorgeous! We had very high expectations and it did not disappoint on view, comfort and luxury. However, we arrived and started seeing some maintenance issues that needed attention. When we called the rental company they made us aware that these were things that the owner was responsible for fixing. The main lights in the living room did not work (big nuisance), the banister as you walk in was detached from the staircase and could clearly present a safety hazard, the jacuzzi in one of the rooms had a broken knob that was just sitting on the side of the tub, huge windows in main area needed to be majorly cleaned, multiple light bulbs were out and had none to replace and towel rack just fell off the door in bathroom. These were all minor issues, but did not meet our expectations based on what we were expecting in such a beautiful home. Owner needs to expedite fixing these issues. With that being said, I would highly recommend this cabin for a large group or family. We thoroughly enjoyed it and would stay again.
O'Fallon, Missouri, United States
We just stayed at the Dancing Bear Retreat Log Cabin and are already planning a return stay next year. The cabin is located between Pidgeon Forge and Gatlinburg so you are close to everything. We spent one day tubing and another going on a Zipline tour and everything was within a short commute from the cabin.
The view from the deck is awesome and it was so peaceful we just enjoyed sitting on the deck (or hot tub) and admiring the view and the peaceful surroundings. The cabin was very clean and has been well maintained. I went with my wife and two teenage children and we had more than enough room. You could easily share the cabin with some friends and their chidlren and not feel crowded as you have three levels to spread out. My kids enjoyed the lower level that had the pool table and another deck with a swing that was used frequently.
The only negatives were the abundance of wood bees but with the recent drought/heat makes this issue understandable. One of the jucuzzi tubs did not work but with the hot tub and additional jucuzzi tub this was a non-issue.
Overall, it was a great experience and even my two teenage kids enjoyed the experience and that is no easy task :-) As a side note, on the last day we watched a black bear walk through the woods by the cabin while eating some berries which made the experience even more enjoyable.
Response from About The Smokies Cabin Rentals - 07/04/2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. It sounds like you had a fun filled vacation with lots of exciting events to do. Im glad that you were able to keep your teenagers interested in activities and seeing the bear that occasionally travels through this area is definately a plus! Hope to see you again soon and be sure to tell all your friends about Dancing Bear Retreat, a "one- of- a- kind" lodge. Thank You, Denise.
Amazing Log Cabin
Truly amazing log cabin! We chose this cabin based on reviews and the fact we wanted a "true" log cabin with large logs. With 24" logs, Dancing Bear Retreat fit the bill! As other reviews have stated, this cabin can be a challenge to find in the dark, so arrive early if possible. 4 great bedrooms plus a sleeper sofa will easily sleep 10-12.
Nice downstairs family room with TV, Fridge and pool table. Wrap around decks and adequate hot tub. Hot tub gets a lot of use and it does show the wear.
Only downsides, depending on preference. Tv's are older and smaller than other high end cabins have and there is no wi-fi. But, with the view you get, we didn't watch much tv and you get internet service if you have the proper cell phone. Also, although linens are provided, I'd bring our own pillows next time.
Overall, great cabin, especially if you want to experience a large log, log cabin.
Response from About The Smokies Cabin Rentals - 06/09/2012
Thank you for your comments. We always listen to what the guests have to say. Yes, this is a one of a kind, custom built lodge. I have always said that it feels like what the Flintstones may have lived in with the big "tree trunk" type log system and log furniture. I wish that it had access to Wifi but there is no cable run in that area of the mountains. The owner of the cabin had a computer in the cabin at one time for guest convenience but it only had access to dial-up and guests were disrespectful with the computer and destroyed it so unfortunately he had to take it out.
I will pass along about the pillows in the cabin and see if the owner can replace them. Again, we appreciate your comments because you are our messengers since you stay in the cabins and know what the facilities feel like after a long stay. Thank you again for your comments and hope to see you again soon! Denise
Beautiful Craftmanship, Secluded, One-of-a-Kind
In the Gatlinburg area, there are seemingly endless choices when it comes to finding a cabin. I spent hours sifting through websites to find something that had great views and was private. This property is one of the most unique in Gatlinburg. It sits in the stretch of hills midway between Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge so it is a great location for those visiting either area.
Finding it after the sun goes down can be really tricky. I suggest you try to arrive during the day.
The property itself has its own private drive and a non-mechanized gated entry. That can be either a comfort or annoyance depending on your preference. We opened and shut the gate when coming and going and involves getting in and out of your vehicle each and every time. A minor bother.
The cabin itself easily sleeps 10 people. Words really don't do justice to the beautiful craftsmanship inside the lodge. Very new, very clean, very modern. Outside the main floor is a beautiful deck with views of the mountains in the distance. The architecture and design are awesome. This cabin reminds you instantly of the designs popular in the northwest timber lodges.
I would imagine that the scenary outside the cabin is even better during the fall and Christmas seasons, although if the driveway gets snow and ice on it, you probably better just bank on staying inside. Getting up the driveway would seem impossible. Only two very small things to be critical of: (1) there was a bit of a problem with carpenter bees trying to bore holes in the logs near the top of cabin roof. This causes wood shavings to fall onto the deck and furniture. (2) the hot tub is adequate - not great. It didn't seem to have a lot of force on the jets.
The folks at the rental office were very accomodating with us and good to work with!
Response from About The Smokies Cabin Rentals - 05/19/2012
We always appreciate thoughts and comments about our service and cabins. True, Dancing Bear Retreat is a "one of of kind" design in itself. Guests love this cabin because of the privacy and unique design of this cabin. Few can compare.
The bore bees are really a problem this year, they are out in droves this spring because of the warm winter weather we had. Therefore they apparently have multiplied and are almost impossible to combat, according to our local pest control experts. The owner was just down to reseal some of the minor damage that these pesty little bees are doing to the soffits. He also just purchased a new Hot Tub cover and added more new jets to the Tub. The owner of this cabin tries to maintain this big beautiful house as needed as it does receive an abundance of guest and repeat guests at that ! Hope to see you again, soon !! Thank you, Denise.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Dancing Bear Cabin
This is an absolutely stunning cabin with awesome views just as the pictures depict. We were 2 couples with young children & there was plenty of room. The management company could use some work as they will not provide you with the address to the cabin even when you get there instead giving you directions how to get there. If you have never been i would not recommend trying to locate it at night as you will be going up some very dark, steep, curvy, narrow mountain roads but it will be absolutely worth it once you find it. A gps is a must to at least locate the roads that will take you to the cabin. Other than the poor customer service from the managemant company & some very minor maintenance issues, i would definately recommend this cabin & would stay againin an instant!
Response from About The Smokies Cabin Rentals - 01/16/2012
Thank you for taking time to leave your thoughts on Dancing Bear Retreat. Just a note to clarify our reason for not giving the address to the cabin. In the past, we had provided the address only to the cabin but many guests could not find it just by the address. They would be lost and always went past the street that you were supposed to turn on. Not all GPS systems work either, in your case-yours did. We are not sure why they "all" do not work the same but we found by our experience that it turns out best if we just gave a "drawn out" and "written out" map to find the cabin. In other words we don't know which GPS systems would pick-up correctly and which ones would not. This seemed to eliminate more call backs then "giving out the address". There is however, a large posted sign at the entry gate once you arrive at the cabin so that it identifies Dancing Bear Retreat . Yes, it is always an adventure trying to find a cabin in the dark, but much easier during the day. We very rarely get a call back during the daylight when going by the map that we provide. But yes in the past, we have had more call backs when just giving out the address because it does not pick up the street name until you are just about to the cabin itself. Believe me we are just trying to simplify your journey, not "give you a hard time". It would be so much easier for us to just give you the address, but if we know that you might not get there (based upon past GPS users), then we have taken the time to draw out and write out a map for your convenience and reference. You must remember that GPS systems pick-up differently in the mountains. Many times they lead you to a "dead end" road that it appears you can take to get to the cabin,but it does not. However, we at the rental office know better so we have provided maps for you to follow to assure you that you will not end up on some dead end or dirt road. We apologize for not explaining this to you in full over the phone, so this may help to understand based upon our past experience. Just let us know when you come back to see us, that you were able to find the cabin from your GPS system then we will be happy to give you the address alone. Again we hope this helps you to understand and we hope to see you again soon. Thanks again, Denise