|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
A private gazebo hot tub, covered deck and your own yard. This secluded cabin features a gas grill, pool table, 3 TV's, 3 DVD players, luxury furniture and large covered private deck. This cabin floor plan has been enjoyed so much by our guests that it has been requested by numerous guests to build on their own property.
Enjoy a game of pool in the loft area with pool table or enjoy a movie on the 36" flat screen TV above the gas fireplace. The cabin also features a full kitchen and washer/dryer in the unit as well as free WIFI. Rustic, Luxurious and romantic!
Property Code: 1353-33669
Check-In: 3:00 pm
Rental Property is located in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, but cannot be displayed on a map. Contact the manager for more details
We do not have the specific location for this property. Contact the manager for more details
2 Bedroom Cabin with 2 master suites, Gazebo Hot Tub, Pool Table and Internet
located in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, but cannot be displayed on a map. Contact the manager for more details
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$143 - $458||$143 - $458||$1,112 - $3,015||$6,578 - $11,626||2 nights|
|Mar. 1 2013 - May. 31 2013||$143 - $256||$143 - $256||$1,112||-||2 nights|
|Jun. 1 2013 - Aug. 31 2013||$232 - $458||$232 - $458||$1,527 - $2,754||$8,489 - $10,303||2 nights|
|Sep. 1 2013 - Nov. 30 2013||$232 - $458||$232 - $458||$1,451 - $2,366||$7,276 - $9,041||2 nights|
|Dec. 1 2013 - Feb. 28 2014||$207 - $458||$207 - $458||$1,305 - $3,015||$6,693 - $11,626||2 nights|
|Mar. 1 2014 - May. 31 2014||$207 - $322||$207 - $322||$1,305 - $1,657||$6,578 - $7,004||2 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
Additional notes from owner
The minimum stays for certain dates may be longer than advertised.
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 22, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Miami, FL, United States
We enjoyed our Christmas stay. The cabin was very comfortable and tastefully decorated.
Miami, FL, United States
Fabulous Stay at Grin & Bear It Cabin
Our one week vacation at Elk Springs Resort was absolutely wonderful. We had five people in our party and rented the Grin and Bear It cabin. It was beautifully decorated and comfortable. We can't wait to go back!
Nashville, TN, United States
Grin and Bear It
Fantastic!!! Cant wait to go back
Lagrange, Kentucky, United States
This was the second time time this year and everything went well. I enjoyed everything and I will be back!!
Smyrna, TN, United States
Shared withlong time friends and we all agree that we should do this again.
Orlinda, TN, United States
Loved staying at Grin & Bear It!
Our family loved staying at Grin & Bear It. So much better than a hotel. It was our home away from home! We will definitely stay there again next time!
Chantilly, VA, United States
Great but some surprises
I will agree with most reviewers that the cabin was beautiful. However, Grin & Bear It was described as been extremely secluded with a garden. This was not the case. The Elk Springs Resort is a winding hill with cabins closely dotted together on this hill. Grin & Bear It is still about 4 SUV's length away from the next cabin. Our cabin had a nice wrap-around deck but all of it is in view of the neighbors. A walk to the hot-tub along this deck cannot be done in privacy and you will still hear your neighbors when in the tub (though they cannot see you). Finally, the "garden" on this property is so small its unusable - I had vision of playing with my kids outside the cabin, but that not possible. Finally, our feet were black after walking around the cabin bare-foot. I'm been picky in this review, but my vision of a mountain getaway wasn't realised at this resort. Its a cabin on a winding hill where you can't do much other than stay inside or go to town.
La Sondra L.
Memphis, TN, United States
Cincinnati, OH, United States
A beautiful escape!
"Grin and Bear It" has a sort of hokey name, but this cabin is first-class all the way. It's in a community of homes not far from town, but worlds away from the crowds of Gatllinburg. Elk Springs properties are priced higher than others, and we wondered if it would be worth the extra money. The answer: Absolutely!!
Andalusia, AL, United States
Get resort as always!!
The main reason we a repeated customers is because we always know that any cabin in this resort is going to be clean. That is a #1 thing for me. The cabin was beautiful!! However, if I have to pick out something that was not really to my liking, I would have to say that the turn in to cabin was very hard. We had thought about bringing a trailer to haul some furniture back that we bought and I am so glad we didn't. The reservation person said we could get one in there...she must have better driving skills than we do!! You have to use the driveway of the cabin next to you to back out, but we had a truck. Also, I am a fool about a canopy bed. The picture on the website showed one and there was not one in there :( I also missed the rain shower, as other cabins on the property have. Other than those minor things, the stay was wonderful!!
Troy, TN, United States
"grin and bear it" cabin best location on property
Check-in and out was easy, very quiet and clean, everything exactly as described on website, out of town but close enough to get to main attractions quickly and easily, great vacation, would highly recommend
Helena, AL, United States
The cabin was wonderful! The entire resort was beautiful. Have recommended it to several people already. Will definitely be back again soon.
Response from Elk Springs Resort - 04/30/2012
Thanks again for the review. Our return customers receive a 10% discount. Come back soon.
Windsor, ON, United States
April in Tennessee
We spent a week of tranquility in the most beautiful cabin we could have ever imagined. The reservation staff were very helpful in deciding which cabin would be best for us, and it was perfect. I can't say enough about how nice the cabin was or how much we enjoyed the week. We will definitely be back again.
West Bend, WI, United States
The cabin is gorgeous. No real good way to describe it other than you have to see it. We had a few issues with the property and the staff was able to get them resolved the same day, no questions asked. Very good service. The location is great, not too far from Gatlinburg, but far enough away to get the country feel. Highly recommend Elk Springs in general and am looking forward to another visit soon.
Round Rock, TX, United States
This is an absolutely beautiful "like new" cabin. It is located in a planned community with large lots and deep in the woods. The view of the Smokies is not great but the strong point of this cabin is it's location next to the "woods". You do feel privacy and can see nothing but forest in one direction. The only negative is the fact that there is a large cabin across from this one. When we were there, a large group of 15 kept me up briefly with loud talking and laughing. This is the closest property to Grin N Bear as it is across from it (about 150 ft).
Burleson, Texas, United States
Can't Wait to Come Back
We stayed at Grin & Bear It during Christmas and LOVED it!!! Absolutely the best vacation we have ever had. We will be returning to stay longer than 5 days this time!
Response from Elk Springs Resort - 03/20/2012
Thanks again for the review. Our return customers receive a 10% discount. Come back soon.
Charlotte, nc, United States
Can't wait to go back.
Sandy Lake, PA, United States
My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Elksprings Resort in the Grin and Bear It cabin. Whenever we needed a problem solved the maintance personnel was always quick to respond. We had a very good time and we would recomend elksprings Resort to everyone. I did end up having one problem that did not arise until the day after we checked out and back home in PA. During our stay, we used the hottub maybe 5 out of 7 days. When I got back home, I had broken out with bacteria all over my torso, back and arms.Because of our long stay, our hottub never was cleaned,like other cabins that may have a turnover every 3-4 days. I would suggest automatically cleaning hottubs every 4 days to prevent this on another guest who may stay as long as we did.
Response from Elk Springs Resort - 01/09/2012
Denise, we do note we can clean your tub on request and definitely call us if you would like it cleaned during a longer stay. If it is used excessively it may need it, but the water chemicals and bormine floater prohibits the problem you are describing. It may be possible you picked up an allergy from some of the flora or fauna as well.
Woodstock, GA, United States
I was very pleased and surprised when we pulled up to the cabin. It was fantastic. I enjoyed our time more at the cabin more than in Gatlinburg. The beds could have been a little more comfortable, but that is my only complaint. The water pressure in the shower was great, and the hot tub was a nice touch.
Plant City, FL
It will keep you grinning, and you can't Bear It to leave!
The cabin is a luxury home away from home! It is well appointed in it's furnishings, and beautiful wooded scenes from all sides. The rockers and gazebo w/hot well as walking in the woods, the arts & crafts community where we bought many items to remember our vacation, are just some of the many things to do. We all need serenity in our lives, and you definitely will slow down and listen to nature, and to the beat of your heart at this resort! Loved it!
Greatest cabin rental you could ask for.
We celebrated my husbands 55th birthday at the cabin. There was 5 of us that stayed at the cabin. It was perfect having 2 master bedrooms. Since 1 bedroom was upstairs it gave our daughter, son-in-law and grandson their privacy. We all enjoyed the hot tub every night. The cabin was absolutely beautiful and had everything we needed for cooking, grilling and laundry. Hopefully we will get to go back. Our cabin was located in a more private area than some, which we liked alot. Thank you for a great 4 days.
Nice place among many
The cabin was great, although the location was not a secluded from everyone as I imagined. Also, when the pilot light for the gas fireplace went out, I tried calling the after hours number and a guy answered who was not helpful. I don't think he knew his number was the after hours number. Other than that the stay was most enjoyable
Pleasant staff, beautiful cabin, a great place to stay!
Our stay went by too fast! The cabin was better than expected and looked equal to or better than the pictures. We looked at hundreds of cabins and decided on this one. Great choice and great value. Look foward to Elk Springs in the future. My biggest suggestion would be to check the drainage of the tubs during prep for next guest, ours drained very slowly so we took showers in ankle deep water. So much more positive than negative. Great vacation spot, highly recommend!
had a great time, cabin was outstanding, very cozy, nice and centrally located to everything, was fully equipped, for cooking, watching tv, and lounging, we will be back. wifes were very happy, loved feeding the cat.
Response from Elk Springs Resort - 10/22/2011
We appreciate the opportunity to have you as a guest! Don't forget that you get 10% off all future stays as a repeat guest!
2011 Smokie Mountain Trip
Our experience was a good one. However pillows upstairs smelled like urine, the hot tub was dirty with human hair of all sorts, the fireplace would not light.
Response from Elk Springs Resort - 10/06/2011
Hi Sandy, we replaced the fireplace with a new ignitor unit, sometimes these go bad and there is usually no warning. Should you have an issue with your stay, please contact us as we can't address issues such as the ones you noted after checkout. We do quality control check our units after each clean and believe this is something we would have found. We're not saying we don't believe you, but it's unlikely and we really have no way of verifying if it was the case. Again, we ask that if you have an issue to please contact us.
We loved it!
Would definitely come back
This cabin was beautiful, and exactly as pictured on website. Liked it so much, recommended to family members who immediately booked for the following week. Enjoyed the cats that came by to visit! If traveling on motorcycles, ask about driveway before
booking! Very steep-some are not paved (ours was). Could use nicer pillows on bed and an extra roll of toilet paper.
Anyone thinking of vacationing in the Gatlinburg area should definitely check out Elk Spring Resort! We actually extended our stay and had to change cabins so we were able to see that the amazing condition of our original cabin, Grin and Bear It, was not
and exception but rather the rule, as our second cabin, Sweet Dreams, was also gorgeous and clean! The location is great as well as you're very close to Gatlinburg, Pidgeon Forge, and the Gret Smoky Mountains National Park. ***Important: Read the directions
the resort gives you! We didn't and paid for it Big Time!***
Great place; we really enjoyed our stay
Palm City, FL
My family and I had a great vacation. "Grin and Bear It" was the perfect home away from home. Our kids can't wait to go back again:-). The whole area was perfect!
Not secluded, deceiving pictures of set-up
We rented the "Grin and Bear It" cabin for our honeymoon. The cabin itself was very nice and updated and clean. We were seriously disappointed in the carefully taken photos and the claim that this location was a secluded, honeymoon cabin. The cabin is not secluded at all. You share a driveway with another cabin, there are at least 4 other cabins in fairly easy view and even the hot tub is visible. We will not stay in "Grin and Bear It" again and do not recommend it to someone looking for any privacy. The yard is hilly and sloped, not like in the pictures. There aren't curtains on all of the windows so you can always see your neighbors. We will not be returning.
Response from Elk Springs Resort - 05/31/2011
Adam, we're sorry that you felt this way about the cabin. the entry door is the only non secluded part of the cabin and we've situation the remaining parts of the cabin to be out of site, which they are. The front by the deck is a nice flat yard and many guests with little kids love this cabin because their kids can play in the yard without being on a sloped surface. Again, sorry you felt the way you did, perhaps you would want to try one of our other cabins next time like Snuggled Inn, as an example. We do appreciate your feedback and, remember, you get 10% off all future stays!
I have been all over the world on vacations, and I must say this was the most relaxing vacation I have ever been on. I love the cabin and the resort, and I love the people of TN.
My family and I thank you with love and gradtitude.
Grin and Bear It: A winner
Cabin was terrific and in a nice secluded location on the resort. Everything was in good shape inside the cabin. We had an issue with wasps that was unusual, given the time of the year (March). But that aside, a big thumbs up from our family on a terrific getaway.
A guest from Ooltewah, TN
Regarding the property's general condition there were two things
1) the chlorine cleaning thingy was left in the hot tub so we weren't sure if the hot tub was safe for us to use
2) non stick cookware would be more convenient
Response from Elk Springs Resort - 03/17/2011
Hi Mrs. Oates, thank you for the comments. We do leave the floater in the hot tub and and it contains Bromine tablets which will continue to treat the water. That is normal and used for continued safety.
We had a wonderful honeymoon experience. Cabin was awesome and i
other than that stay was perfect!!!!
We will be back...Thanks
I think they need...
I think they need more blinds. We did not like that people could see in through the doors and the window in the den. we had to hang up towels at night. other than that it was great!
Mountain View, AR
Grin and Bear It
We were very impressed with the cabin. It was very beautiful inside and out,the pictures on the website don't do justice, you have to experience it in person!! It totally exceeded our expectations and is well worth the money and the drive we made from Arkansas. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes, cookware, utensils,etc. We brought our own towels so this was not an issue. The beds were very comfortable,and even with the open floorplan the cabin was extermely cozy.Had trouble with temp on the hot tub at first but figured it out. Would recommend clearing the dead fallen trees on the outside but the view from porch was really nice,would be really beautiful in spring/summer when all is in bloom. Would highly recommend this property to anyone as we are considering returning next Thanksgiving holiday.
Patricia M.'s review of Grin & Bear It
We were very pleased with the cabin. It was so quiet and peaceful until Thursday night, when all the young people came in and took over the cabins. They hollered and was so noisy that we couldn't rest day and night. We were so disgusted with all of them. They were running in and out the woods day and night. They totally ruined the rest of our week. They were so disrespectful. One night they threw something and hit our cabin.
Response from Elk Springs Resort - 11/17/2010
There was a group of college kids that stayed at the property. After their behavior, we are no longer allowing groups of college kids to stay. We really do apologize for the disruption. Please contact us directly so we can remedy this for you.
Most romantic and restful
Can't beat this cabin for a getaway for to or a small family, Private, but not islolated. Probably the best cabin experience I've ever had.
Spring Grove, PA
November 5 & 6
There was a lot of loud music and beer drinking at the cabins across the street well into the early morning hours. Other then the disruption to a quite evening and being awaken by the music noise, it was a wonderful cabin, location and stay. We will come back and just hope for quiter neighbors!
Response from Elk Springs Resort - 11/09/2010
Wow Kim! Sorry abou that. We're no longer letting college kids come to the cabins, so that should remedy the noise. sorry about that!
Elk Springs Resort; As Advertised
This was our second stay with Elksprings resort. We stayed in the same cabin because we loved it so much the first time. As we expected, the cabin was spotless and relatively new. The furnishings made this cabin feel like home. We will go back without hesitation.
Nancy B.'s review of Grin & Bear It
Location was great and the cabin was perfect for our get away. We will definitely return.
Old Hickory, TN
We had a wonderful...
We had a wonderful stay! The cabin is beautiful and well stocked. The location is perfect...close enough to the action but far enough away that you feel secluded. The view was great. The management staff is very helpful. We could not have asked for a better experience.
Franklin Park, IL
perfect place to stay
We use to go to Tennessee every year, but this was the best cabin we ever had, very clean, looks like new, perfect location, we had good time and I am sure we will come again! Thank you
Grin and Bear It.
House was beautiful, clean and a joy to stay in. The town was much bigger and than we thought with much more to do. Only thing to know is that the homes are much closer than it looks, but this was not an issue at our cabin. Overall a wonderful getaway!
The cabin was decorated very charmingly and was everything we had dreamed it would be. The only downside was that the beds were very old and incredibly uncomfortable. We did not get good sleep any of the 5 nights we were there.
Response from Elk Springs Resort - 08/17/2010
Hi Cindy, we're glad you liked the appearance of the cabin and sorry you were dissapointed with the bed quality. We've gotten great reviews on our upgraded mattresses and specifically in this cabin, as the mattresses are less than 2 years old and in excellent condition. But sometimes folks are used to something a little different.
We really enjoyed the location. The cabin was the PEFECT size and location and the decor was great.
Grin & Bear It in Gatlinburg, TN
Real nice place. Good Location. The only thing I'd add is a garbage disposal to cut down on the amount of food trash. It would help in keeping curious Bears by stopping by. Other than that, and that’s just me, the place and location is great. I’d live there.
Response from Elk Springs Resort - 07/20/2010
Dave, thank you for the review. We have a sand filtration waste water treatment facility on site (it's significantly more environmentally friendly than a septic system). The only downside is that food waste is not very good for the system so we have chosen not to install garbage disposals. Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Johnson City, TN
We had a wonderful and relaxing vacation! The cabin was very clean, great location and had everything we needed! Very nicely decorated and our girls loved the loft with the pool table. We actually even got to see a bear that came down after we had grilled hamburgers on the deck! Plan to go back again.
Farminton Hill, Mich
We really enjoyed our stay at Grin and Bear it. We loved the cabin and the amenities. We would definitely stay there again.
Bradica Family R.
good for someone who doesn't need a cell phone or computer
the cell reception was spotty and worse at the other cabins. My internet was never right and I only was "on line" via the other cabin, but for only a short time. My linksys would kick me off so I wasn't on long. I left a list of things that needed attention.
Elk Springs Get a Way
We had a great time during our stay! Everyone was very helpful and very nice! We will stay in the Resort again when we return to Gatlinburg :) -E
White House, TN
We had a fantastic time! This was the most beautiful cabin we've ever stayed in. Best vacation - most romantic - we've had in MANY years! Thanks. Adam Waller & Missy Chapman
2 year Anniversary
This cabin was very nice. It was clean and was more than we expected. We will visit again. It was very easy check in and out. This cabin was easy to find.
Grin and Bear It cabin
The cabin was very clean and nicely furnished. Blinds are needed in the kitchen and living area for privacy. I'm not sure the comforters on the beds were washed. There were stains on the comforter in the upstairs bedroom. The resort property needs clearing and cleaning of limbs and trees; more landscaping and there were no amenities to speak of. Because of the lack of amenities and distance from in-town activities, we would not stay at Elk Springs again. The maintenance and check-in staff were all very friendly and helpful.
Response from Elk Springs Resort - 04/06/2010
Hi Jenny, we're doing our spring cleaning and spring landscaping now! We've been busy blowing leaves and picking up limbs, etc. There's been a lot of rain so it's later than usual. One of the benefits of Hilltop Hideaway is that it is a brand new cabin, the downside is that it was finished in the winter and we couldn't plant any trees / shrubs around the cabin. We're doing that now for hilltop hideaway.One of our benefits is that we're in a secluded area where it's very very quiet and more like a national park like setting. Because of this, there are lots of trees so our spring cleaning is significant with branches and leaves to clean up. The other benefit is that it is very very quiet and away from the hustle and bustle. HOWEVER, we are just a quick 8 minutes from downtown and it's all on paved and easily driveable roads. If you want to be right in the middle of downtown Gatlinburg, we're probably not the best option, but we're very very convenient to downtown, the grocery store, dollywood, the park and all the fun stuff people enjoy. Even better, to do most of it you can avoid some of the difficult traffic in downtown Gatlinburg.
Grin & Bear It - Thumbs Up
Great place especially at the off-season pricing. Unfortunately, there is a hornets nest in the upstairs bedroom along the roofline and probably under the kitchen table on the far side. My 7 year old son was stung the morning we left and we had to sleep on the pull out sofa the last night; an unfortunate situation in what was otherwise a great time.
The cabin was exactly as it appeared in the photo, even better. There were no hidden costs, I paid exactly what I was quoted. The cabin made all the difference in our stay.
We had a GREATTTT stay
We really enjoyed our stay a the Grin and Bear it cabin,it was more than we expected.The cabin was located in a quiet area, about 15 mins from all the hustle and bustle but felt like an hour was very clean and came with every thing we could possibly need.And if you hada question the customer service line was very easy to get thru on.We plan to come back again.
the cabin was great! it came more furnished than i expected as far as the kitchen. me & my family look forward to coming back soon
We had such a wonderful time in Gatlinburg this weekend. The cabin was spotless and so well maintained. It was beautiful, homey, comfortable and fun. Just wish we could have seen the bear we read so much about. Oh Well, maybe next time - because there will definately be a next time.
We were very impressed with the property. The setting was beaut
My only real complaint is that cabin was advertised as motorcycle friendly with parking for trailers. It was poosible but not easy to park my trailer there. I will say that the management was very accomidating in allowing an alternitive place to park it if needed.
We had a wonderful time. The cabin is a luxury cabin and the location was fantastic.
A nice break from the everyday routine.
The cabin was great. We caught a glimpse of a bear as is exited around the side of the cabin one night. We also had a racoon peep through the window one night. The cabin was clean and beatiful. The only complaint I had was that the comforter on the upstairs bed smelled like someone had let their animal urinate on it and it had not been properly cleaned. Overall, we had a great time and enjoyed having a break from the routines of the real world. I would definetly recommend this cabin.
Labor Day 2009
The cabin was just fantastic very clean and not far from town but very much away from it all. I can't beleive how great the silence of the woods can make you feel.I would defenitly come back agian but I would rent one of the many cabins with a higher decks that the Bears at night could not reach. All in all this was a great trip to the Smoky Mountians and Gatlinburg that was throughly enjoyed.
Christina C.'s review of Grin & Bear It
We enjoyed the cabin and the bear activity added great excitement for us and the kids. I would recommend the resort to others.
Great place to stay! Loved it!
The only thing I can suggest is to include more towels. No one wants to do laundry on vacation. ;)
Goran C.'s review of Grin & Bear It
great experiance until we got locked out around 8pm 1 night.LEFT 3 MASAGES TO MANAGEMENT TEAM BUT DID NOT RECEIVE CALL BACK UNTIL 11 AM NEXT DAY.
The cabin was absolutely beautiful! It looks exactly like the photos. It is conveniently located close to downtown Gatlinburg, but just far enough away that you can enjoy some peace and quiet from the bustle of town. We all loved the wrap-around porch and spent our evenings out in the rocking chairs relaxing and taking in the scenery. The hot tub and pool table were a fun added bonus! All in all, everyone in the group loved our stay in the "Grin and Bear It" and were sad to leave when the weekend was over. We already planned coming back next year!
Best Vacation Yet!
We enjoyed everything about the cabin and our vacation to Gatlinburg. The cabin was away from congestion, but close enough to be convenient. Our kids loved the pool table, and we all loved the hot tub. It was a great place to be after an enjoyable day in the Smoky Mountain area.
Cute and cozy!!
We really enjoyed the cabin.The location was terrific, close enough to downtown but yet secluded enough too! Enjoyed cooking during our stay - Good thing we brought our own grilling utensils cause there were none. We did leave them too for the next visitors. We really had fun playing pool as well. Recommendation: more pool sticks and a short one is needed(tight space) and a channel guide would be nice for the tv. We definitely would love to stay again in Elks Springs Resort. Can't wait for the resort pool to open - it would have been nice to be able to go for a swim!
It was advertised to be end of the road privacy. It was end of t
No privacy! We had to go out and buy simple stuff like a spatula and hairdryer. Kitchen was not stocked well at all. The lock was very tricky and after a long journey, we had to driv e back down to the office because we could not access the lock, very discouraging after a long trip. Light was out over the pool table, so that shot that.
Fairview Heights, IL
Grin & Bear It is the Perfect GetAWay
What a wonderful cabin. Perfect size and perfect location. Probably the most secluded of the resort. We were left coffee filters, 2 full rolls of t.p., 1 roll of paper towels, 2 pacs dish detergent, 1 for laundry & plenty of towels. The bad:The canopy in the main flr bedrm was very dusty & the dvd player in there was sticky. The pillows & linens are of lower quality & no blankets on the beds; the outside needs a really good sweep & the rocking chairs are not comfortable & no screens on the windows so you can't open the windows. The worst is the carpenter ant infestation. I called twice on that issue so it should be taken care of soon. The cabin is on a corner so there is just one real neighbor across the driveway, the Serenity Lodge.
Would we recommend, ABSOLUTELY! Would we return, ABSOLUTELY! We had a wonderful family vacation in a beautiful location. We even had the privilege of seeing 1 black bear, 1 raccoon and the resident bat.
Response from Elk Springs Resort - 06/11/2009
Vanessa, thank you for the comments. We've addressed the dust and ant issues. Please don't forget, as a repeat guest you get 10% off your next stay!
Tonja C.'s review of Grin & Bear It
The cabin was beautiful but I think that housekeeping should spend more time to dust and make up the beds neatly. The miniblinds and bedroom furniture was dusty and the bet looked as if someone had laid on it and the sheets weren't tucked under the matress but hanging out from under the comforter. I feel like there should already be extra tissue in the bathrooms instead of we had to call the office for tissue each time we were out and the second time I called the office for tissue, I was informed the they didn't have any more. Maybe have someone to clean the cabin log rails on the outside and get some of the webs down. Those are just a few minor things that could be done to improve the cabin but overall, I would stay at Elk Spring Resort again.
Response from Elk Springs Resort - 01/15/2010
Tonya, we had a dust problem this spring and summer, but we've got a handle on it now! Our grass is growing much better and it's really taken care of it. Plus we're focusing a lot more attention on the dust. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
May Gatlinburg Vacation
The cabin was beautiful, the kind of place you dream about building for yourself. Overall had a very peaceful and enjoyable stay, even saw a 400 pound black bear right off the front porch. Some minor issues that could be addressed in the future: no screens on the windows or doors, you couldn't enjoy the fresh mountain air without letting the bugs in, while there was a beautiful gas grill for cooking there were no grill utensils, the downstairs bedroom had a gorgeous canopy bed but no room to walk around, one person had to crawl over the other to get on the far side of the bed. It was a good thing there was a Dollar General not far from the cabin to pickup items not available in the cabin. The price was right and easy to leave for others to use. Would I go back, sure would!
My wife, two daughters (15 and 13), and I thoroughly enjoyed the stay in the Grin and Bear It. The location is very convenient to all area activities and attractions. The cabin was everything the website said it was. We particularly enjoyed the visit by the bear to sample our trash at 3am the last night of our stay. :) The only negative was the apparent "party" cabin next door. The Saturday we arrived and the Friday night before our departure were disrupted by the over-the-top revelers in that cabin. In fact, I thought it might be the revelers making all the noise on my deck, not a bear. In any event, should our travel plans include Gatlinburg our first consideration will be Elk Springs.
Beautiful Property, No Management
The Grin & Bear It cabin was beautiful, clean, and very comfortable. It was very relaxing and we definitely enjoyed our time there. We were disappointed, however, when there was no one at the management office when we arrived during their normal business hours. There was a sign on the door that said they would be back at 1:00. We tried back several times over the next couple hours but by 3:00 there was still no one there. Finally we got in touch with someone on the after-hours phone number who gave us the code to get into the cabin. It wasn't a very good start to our time away.
Response from Elk Springs Resort - 02/19/2009
We apologize for the inconvenience. We have now implemented quick check in's so that you can receive a code in advance and go directly to your cabin and bypass the check in office.
All I can say is you guys far exceeded our expectations! The Cabin location was beautiful and very clean. We could not have asked for a better time.
Andrew S.'s review of Grin & Bear It
Close enough to downtown Gatlinburg to get there quickly. Cabins very well supplied for entertainment. Elk Springs is in a beautiful setting.
Great cabin, but don't use your GPS to get there.
Top of the line place. However, we used our GPS to get there from Nashville and ended up on the back roads at a closed gate. The roads were covered in ice, and upon searching for an alternate route, my girlfriend and I got stuck on an icy hill and had to be towed off of it. Avoid GPS so this doesn't happen to you. The shortest distance is not always the easiest route.
Charles Town, WV
Amazing 1st Anniversary
We couldn't have asked for a more pleasant place to celebrate our 1st anniversary! It was very quiet,peaceful and the cabin was beautiful. Terrific customer service as well!
Edward B.'s review of Grin & Bear It
2 suggestions - put hooks on the back of doors in bathrooms and closets in the bedrooms. Would be nice to hang robes and towels. also would have been nice to have a list for the cable channels instead of surfing around to find the channels we wanted. Overall, very nice experience.
We had a wonderful experience with Elk Springs Resorts.
Our cabin was beautifully decorated, very clean and a memorable experience for us.
The scare from the local bears was a little frightful.
We had difficulty locating the property and that was a little frustrating.