|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
A great room featuring a 30 foot fireplace surrounded by floor to ceiling fixed glass windows greets you at Knotty & Nice. Relax in your private home theater room with 9 foot theater screen and leather reclining theater seating. End a day at Gatlinburg in your own sauna surrounded by the smell of cedar. 4 bedrooms, 4.5 baths, pool table, air hockey and private hot tub. A well thought out setup where kids can play in the game room and adults can quietly gather in the great room or relax and read a book in the loft sitting area. 3 Master suites with king beds and private baths and a seperate bunk room downstairs with queen over queen bunks...Read more
Rental Property is located in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, but cannot be displayed on a map. Contact the manager for more details
We do not have the specific location for this property. Contact the manager for more details
5 Star 4 Bedroom Cabin with Private Theater Room and Sauna
located in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, but cannot be displayed on a map. Contact the manager for more details
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$303 - $770||$303 - $770||$2,075 - $5,020||$12,051 - $19,335||2 nights|
|Mar. 1 2013 - May. 31 2013||$303 - $474||$303 - $474||$2,075||-||2 nights|
|Jun. 1 2013 - Aug. 31 2013||$361 - $747||$361 - $747||$2,459 - $4,498||$14,145 - $17,343||2 nights|
|Sep. 1 2013 - Nov. 30 2013||$361 - $747||$361 - $747||$2,383 - $3,834||$12,051 - $15,579||2 nights|
|Dec. 1 2013 - Feb. 28 2014||$361 - $770||$361 - $770||$2,459 - $5,020||$12,926 - $19,335||2 nights|
|Mar. 1 2014 - May. 31 2014||$380 - $552||$380 - $552||$2,532 - $3,041||$12,633 - $13,306||2 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
Additional notes from owner
The minimum stays for certain dates may be longer than advertised.
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 21, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Zionsville, Indiana, United States
WE have rented at Elk springs many time but this was our families favorite cabin! SO many bathrooms, beautiful living room, all of the beds and furniture were comfy and it was decorated so cute!
Chicago, IL, United States
Knotty & Nice, March 2012
Great stay, loved the amenities and location of the cabin. I would recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Gatlinburg.
Mandaville, LA, United States
We loved our vaction at this cabin and in Gatlinburg! The cabin was in great shape and very clean. We will be back for sure and bring friends.
Snellville, GA, United States
My 40th Birthday Celebration
I rented the Knotty & Nice cabin for my 40th birthday and shared it with some family and friends. I had the BEST TIME EVER!! The cabin was PERFECT!! Very nice, clean and comfortable. Everyone enjoyed it and said that they would love to come back again. I was very pleased and would recommend this cabin to family and friends that did not get to experience it. Thanks Elk Spring...You guys are GREAT!!
Simpsonville, SC, United States
Great place to stay
The location is in a great place. The cabins are very nice. Their was some parts of the cabin that might need to be updated. Newer TVs would be a easy upgrade from the ones that are there. It was time to replace the air hockey table. It was worn next to the goals. The thermometer did not work on the grill as well. Other than that it was a real nice stay. This was our second time staying in this cabin. We have been going to elk springs sense 2008 and always enjoy it!
Port St. Lucy, FL, United States
Wonder family vacation
We had a wonderful time ....everything was perfect. The cabin was beautiful. We will be coming back for sure. I'd like to come back in the springtime.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Absolutely loved Knotty & Nice. Didn't want to leave & I'm already planning our trip back.
Lithia, FL, United States
Christmas getaway 2012
This was a wonderful cabin great location and just had a wonderful time with our family and the cabin..loved the theatre room!Property management was very professional and would rent future cabins with them .
Hialeah, FL, United States
The Best Christmas Getaway
It was a gorgeous, breathtaking experience!!
Nashville, TN, United States
My wife's family and mine gathered here to celebrate Thanksgiving together for the first time and let me say that this cabin was not only spacious but also very clean and came with all the amenities and extra cookware stated in our agreement ! We all abosutley enjoyed our stay so much that we are considering doing this every year at elk springs. Customer service was amazing and very prompt to return calls and simple fact that they called me to just make sure we had everything we needed on the weekend speaks volumes!
From the Pratt & Henry family we say thank you soooo much and look forward to staying here again, and again, and again..well you get the point! :)
Nashville, TN, United States
A spectacular fall break!
Our family of 5 had a wonderful surprise at the elk springs resort. We really had no idea just how beautiful the smokey mountains were let alone from our beautiful deck at the knotty and nice! Kids loved the lower level game room and theater room. I loved the view. Only 2 items of feedback - 1. no availability of child safety products - gates etc so please being your own! 2. The bedding and every surface was covered with large decorative pillows , heavy comforters, and other soft goods. I know these cant be cleaned between guests. The pillows and table drapes aren't necessary! I'd prefer higher quality linens and expected a washable blanket and no decorative pillows. Looking toward to a return visit to this wonderful spot!
Versailles, KY, United States
It was very difficult to contact the office, a person!
Knotty and Nice was a nice cabin. Set up well for a large family group in structure. Would be nicer if the pavement was continued to that road and driveway. Overall cabin was set up well but not set up for family cooking or eating. Kitchen was dark and we found 4 spoons in the set and a few extra serving spoons for 12! We had to eat chili with forks which I counted only 13 in a house that states sleeps 14. Loft sofa bed (futon) would only be appropriate for a child to sleep on since it was an "on the floor rollout". A real sofa bed, even and twin, would be much more usable. We had to limit towels and still had to wash daily. The cheap white towels would be OK if there would have been enough for everyone to use. We are used to better and more towels in our rentals. It was quiet except for the crazy Friday night party and I was not able to get thru to anyone at the office. We called the office many, mamy times from 12am until 1am and left messages then called the police after one hour of calling your contact #. No one ever returned my messages left that night. We are not used to staying where loud parties happen or are permitted. We are used to staying farther out for past 20 years and did like the closer locattion of this cabin. Glades Road is a nice area. With some minimal upgrades to kitchen equipment, loft seat/futon and towels this could be a fabulous rental! Better contact to office is a must if needed with problems like drunk, screaming neighbors too! I would not have expected that problem in a rental of this price range. It has been our most expensive rental with poorer amenities than we are used to having. If we return we would expect to see the drive paved, more silverware and towels and better phone office access. Overall we had a good stay though. Cabin and furniture (not futon) were very nice.
Nolensville, tn, United States
Made some serious family memories!
As beautiful as it looks in the pictures. Convenient to everything. Definitely will comeback!
Asheville, NC, United States
Jasper, IN, United States
Excellent Property in a serene environment
We were a group of 11 people and this property had ample space to accommodate all of us plus more. Location is a little out in the sticks but it's very peaceful and has forest views plus a peek into the mountains.
The indoor theater is amazing, pool table, ice hockey table, jacuzzi all add to the fun of staying in this location.
Check in / Check out is effortless.
Negatives - no cell phone reception, very patchy wifi network. And yes, the front door started beeping at 3am one day and woke all of us. It was fixed by 10 am. No, it wasn't beeping continuously, just every 30 mins or so
Elizabethtown, KY, United States
Secound time I have hone with you guys first time I loved it the secound time not the best cabin old tv. Just alot smaller and not updated as the first one we went to and still paid slot of money. I think for the money we pay it's not hard to update? Think next year we will look at other cabin companies
Statesville, NC, United States
It was just a beautiful cabin with enough room for our entire party. The kids loved the theater and the hockey table and the adults played some pool and relaxed in the hot tub! We will definetely come back!
Martinsburg, WV, United States
Perfect for a family vacation!
As if the cabin, complete with home theater room, sauna, pool table, air hockey and hot tub wasn't enough, the resort is in a great location. Close enough to downtown Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge that you dont spend all day driving but far enough away tucked in the mountains enough that you are away from all of the hustle and bustle. It was a wonderful vacation and we will be going back.
State Line, MS, United States
Our famuily enjoyed staying at knotty and nice. The kids loved thw game room and theater. I will be back.
Otto, NC, United States
Great Vacation Cabin!
My only regret is that we could not stay longer!
Cordova, TN, United States
Awesome, A Home Away From Home.
The Knotty and Nice cabin was just simply Awesome, Beautiful and Very Spacious and we felt like it was our very own home while we were there. It was very clean and decorated very beautiful. The deck was so refreshing to sit out on and drink coffee, read a book, or just talk. Every thing I needed to prepare a family meal was in the kitchen which made it so convenient. The children had a ball playing in the game room and so did I. We had so much fun visiting the many attractions, there's just so much to do there no matter what your age is. The theatre room was like being at the movies, but only better because we were able to recline back as we watched our movie and ate popcorn. It was Awesome and the "Best Family Vacation" trip ever!!! We are still talking about it and can't wait to go back!
Greeneville, tn, United States
best cabins ever!
This is the third time I've stayed at elksprings and it always gets better each time. The cabins are gorgeous the location is perfect and the view is amazing. You can't go wrong with this resort it is perfect! I will be returning in November for my bday!
Birmingham, AL, United States
Me and my sister's family join together to share spring break fun with the kids. We loved it and the kids had a ball. This will definitely be an annual vacation for us.
Birmingham, AL, United States
My stay at Elksprings was the best, everything was top notch. My family really enjoyed the movie theatre and the layout was great for a big family. I look forward to coming back very soon
Winston Salem, NC, United States
Great experience at the Property. (Knotty & Nice)
The stay was wonderful. The property provided all the amnities one might desire and many more. We will certainly be going back!
Miami, FL, United States
Best trip ever!
The cabins is just like you see in the pictures,
It's beautiful!! Clean, spacious and comfortable.
The theater room is awesome! We were 6 adults and
6 kids, we never felt cramped plenty os space.
Sitting in the rocking chairs out on the balcony
Was just perfect. Defenitly would visit again in
The future. Great cabin!
Jacksonville, FL, United States
Not as described, no customer service
First off, this cabin is not as described, we picked out this cabin, partly on the fact that it said there were 3 jacuzzi tubs, one in each master bedroom. This is not true, only one of the bedrooms have a jacuzzi tub, the others are just normal bathtubs. The night of check-in I called because the pilot light was out, left a message. Never received a call back, so called again during the next day, no one answered, so left another message, never got a call back or anyone to show up to fix the property. Also left message about the xbox not being in the cabin as requested, once again never got a call back. In one of the master bedroom's bathrooms, the tub drained very slowly, did not call in, as I never got a call back about my other issues. We ended up lighting the pilot light ourselves. The location was great, I'm not entirely sure if I will use that discount for repeat visitors, with the lack of customer service, and false advertisements of the cabins.
Knotty & Nice
Everything that mentioned about this cabin is true. I wish they had a better HD Hometheater setup.
A Great Family Experience
We all enjoyed staying in this beautiful log cabin. This cabin had everything a family could want inside and outside. The views were breathtaking. The age range of our family was 3 yrs. to 72 yrs. There was something for everyone here. The location was excellent to as we were very close to Gatlinburg. We defnitely plan to come back to this lovely cabin.
A week spent in paradise!!
This had to be the most relaxing vacation ever. My friends and I take about 3 vacations per year, and this one is at the top of our list. Weather was great, lots of thinkg to do and see in Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge, Cates Cove, Maggie Valley. We hot tubed every night, and used the theater room. This was amazing, we loved it. Just like going to the movies. The sound wasnt working right when we arrived, it was checked that afternoon, and the next morning, a brand new systen was installed. Have never had better service. Will be going back, and I will be taking my family. There is something for everyone. The game room was wonderful. Thanks for sharing this beautiful retreat with the Bakersfield Clan.
Our family stayed August...
Our family stayed August 1st > the 5th. in Knotty and Nice. The cabin was just as pictured on the web site, beautiful and roomy. The cabin was clean and well maintained, the only suggestion we have would to check the tips on the pool sticks and maybe have a couple spares on hand, as they had been worn down and worn out. When we tried to use the sauna it did not work the first time I called and left a message but we tried later that evening and it seemed to be working so we called back to let maintence know.
The location was great as well as long as you don't mind a short drive to the attractions. The staff and property manager were very helpful from booking to checking in. Would have loved to stay longer, so we could have spent even more time relaxing and hanging out in the cabin.
Jefferson City, Mo
LOVED OUR STAY
This was our second stay at Elk Springs Resort and we loved everything about it once again. We are planning to be back next year. The staff was very helpful and our cabin was beautiful!
Ft Wayne, IN
Did not want to leave
The cabin was awesome! It was beautiful! We are planning our trip for next year!
Milford Center, OH
Knotty & Nice family vaca! (6/17-6/20/11)
I loved the cabin! There was a lot of room and separate areas for everyone in the family to go; also i have two infants and pretty much this cabin was "baby proofed". I liked that this cabin was a little more tucked away than others and provided a lot of parking where as some i could see did not. Just a couple of things i did not like, the jacuzzi tub didn't appear to be cleaned when i arrived, it could have been dust i don't know. I would recommend bringing your own sheets and towells if you like something with a little more thread count. I don't believe there is a pool going in at all if there is i never saw one it would have to be at a different location... I will be staying at Elk Springs again and i cannot wait to try out some other cabins!
Powder Springs, GA
I have stayed at Elk Springs resort a number of times over the last few years and it has always proved to be a great getaway. I was a little surprised at the unpaved road where the larger cabins were on this visit as it seemed to be a little of a safety hazard manuvering the rocks on the steep inclines.
Had a great family weekend, really enjoyed the cabin!
Enjoyable but concerned: We found grapes in a couple of differen
unusable due to falling through the frame. We really did have a nice time and enjoyed the overall condition of the cabin. It suited our needs perfectly. We would return - but just felt some things could have been better. We would have liked to have had a vacuum available as the children do drop crums and food onto the carpet around the table - but we weren't able to do anything about the small crums. The heat/air conditioning was broken and it took 2 days to get it repaired. By then the temperatures were cooler and we didn't need air. Just things that should be checked between each tenant. It sounds like we hated it - but we really didn't. 1 more thing - our garbage added up quickly - and we couldn't get anyone to pick it up.
Response from Elk Springs Resort - 04/14/2011
Thank you for the feedback and we're sorry for the issues. We should have been more thorough on this unit to prevent these items from happening. Spring and the warm temperatures did come early and we did not yet have all of our A/C units inspected and did not know there was a freon leak in your unit. We have since fixed the unit and all of our other units. Again, we do apologize. You do get a 10% discount on future stays as a repeat guest and we are glad you still enjoyed your stay despite these issues.
we had a blast the cabin was great just could not get the sauna to get hot and the projection thing cut out 2 or 3 times during every movie
Response from Elk Springs Resort - 02/24/2011
Hi Brittany, it looks like the bulb needed to be replaced and we did replace it. We've updated the directions to the sauna and posted them on the wall next to the heater so that it should be easier to understand how to get it working. We appreciate your business!
This is the second...
This is the second year in a row we've stayed with Elk Sorings and we plan on making this our annual tradition!!! We love it there!!!!!!
Knotty & Nice
The cabin was amazing! The view could have been a little better and the pillows were not comfortable at all, but those are the only complaints we have =) Beautiful cabin
every thing was nice
could use a teflon skillet & tv remote up stairs in one bedroom
good place to spent time with friends....
Great Family Fun
My son was married at Little Log Chapel on December 18. Our family and a few friends stayed at Knotty & Nice (which was very convenient to the church) from 12/16-12/18. The cabin was beautiful and very clean. The layout allows for privacy when needed and the game room, hot tub, etc. were welcome additions. We are looking forward to visiting again in warmer weather and getting our family together again since we had such a good time during our last stay. As my husband said as we were leaving the cabin, we should do this at least once a year.
Great winter vacation
THE PROPERTY WAS GREAT,WE HAD MAINTENANCE ISSUE WITH ONE OF THE HEATING UNIT,WAS ADDRESSED VERY QUICKLY.WHAT YOU SEE ON INTERNET IS WHAT YOU WAS BEAUTIFUL.THANK YOU FOR A GREAT STAY.WE WILL BE BACK SOON.
The cabin looks a lot bigger in the pictures than it really is, it is very nice. However, the theater seats need to be replaced because when you sit down after a while it starts sinking and then there ends a big hole so very uncomfortable.
Our 50th anniversary at elk springs resort a wonderful time.
We were booked into a different cabin than knotty and nice, but upon arrival and getting settled we encountered a problem that could not be fixed that evening. when we called they came out immediately and tried to take care of it. it was a problem they were unaware of. they moved us to knotty and nice and helped us move. We couldn't have asked for more instant helpful management. They were great. The cabin is beautiful and the cleanest we have ever been in and we have been to the smokies for the last 27 years, We have never stay in a Motel, condo or cabin as clean and nice as this resort offers. Our family came in and we enjoyed the pool table, air hockey, movie theater.sauna room and hot tub. We hated to leave and our 59th anniversary will always be remembered as so special because of elk springs resort. We highly recommend it. and will definitely be back.
Response from Elk Springs Resort - 09/18/2010
Please remember that you get 10% off any future stays!
Smokey Mountain Paradise
We just can't say enough about this incredible cabin! The double bunk bedroom located on the lower level with the pool table and air hockey table was a teenager haven! We feel we had one of the best views in the resort from the main deck area and upper level sitting room! We loved everything about this cabin and would definitely consider staying here again if we ever get the chance to return to the Great Smokey Mountains!!! Thank you!
Orland Park, IL
Great Family Vacation Spot
Everything was great. Stayed at Knotty but Nice and it was clean, beautiful and our family had a wonderful time. Would definitely do it again!
Michael M.'s review of Knotty & Nice
One of the home theater chairs were broke and I had to call. However maintaince was there very quickly. I also didn't like the fact that we were only given two trash bags for the entire weekend. We had to go to the store and buy more.
Response from Elk Springs Resort - 07/20/2010
Hi Michael, thank you for the comments. We provide a starter supply of items such as trash bags, however, if you need more simply call our office and we'd be happy to provide them; we have onsite maintenance.
Bradica Family R.
Wow! What a time we had at Elk Springs Resort
Since we had AT&T; cell phones, we had no cell phone coverage. I strongly recommend that ESR install phones in all the units so we can call the office, especially in the case of an emergency. Fortunately, we could flag down the maintenance man on his "buggy" to help us out.
Response from Elk Springs Resort - 06/30/2010
This cabin does have a phone. It just switched ownership and a new phone was in the process of being installed. Sorry for the brief inconvenience.
Review of Knotty & Nice Cabin - June 25-27
The ottoman downstairs was broken, and there was no TV in the downstairs den. Also, a major leak occured in the home theater during our stay. It ended up not being a huge inconvenience because we had plans in Townsend that day. However, it would have been a disappointment had we opted to bum around the cabin, watch movies, etc. Other than that, our stay was very enjoyable.
Response from Elk Springs Resort - 06/30/2010
Sorry about the inconvenience with the leak. Apparently a significant amount of water was splashed out of the jacuzzi tub while in use that caused the leak. We sealed the tile and caulked around the tub, but in some cases when that much water is splashed out, it can cause a leak.
Indian Trail, NC
Great time at Knotty and Nice.
We visited the Knotty and Nice Cabin at Elk Springs in Feb 2010. We travelled with 8 adults and 2 small children. The cabin is as beautiful as it looks in the photos and this cabin in particular is very private in the back which was a big plus. Plenty of tools in the kitchen, clean and the movie theater and game room was lots of fun. A few small points - the family room desperately needs a DVD player. With small children, they cannot be left alone in the movie theater downstairs and we needed a place to entertain the kids in the main area. Also, the BBQ grill was very dirty and needed an hour of scrubbing the grates before it could be used which was an inconvenience. Otherwise, we would certainly return.
Response from Elk Springs Resort - 03/10/2010
Thanks for the review! We've added dvd player (great idea)
Fountain Inn, SC
Keith M.'s review of Knotty & Nice
If we had been told that the property was not on a paved road we would have chosen another location and we stayed over Super Bowl Weekend hoping to watch the game on the 9 ft screen BUT were surprised to learn that we could only watch dvd's!!!!???? No where do you say that either, I could have stayed home and watched it in my Theatre Room with a mere 52" screen compared to the 27" at the cabin......
Mount Juliet, TN
Fabulous Family Getaway in Gatlinburg!
The Elks is located just far enough away from town, but close enough to make an easy vacation. The Knotty & Nice was beautiful. A couple of the movie theater seats were unusable which stunk, and a toilet in the community bathroom was leaking. But it didn't affect our ability to enjoy the weekend. We will definitely be back!
Response from Elk Springs Resort - 01/18/2010
Hi Beth, we do apologize for the inconvenience with the theater seats. We did have to order some parts and they were not available by the time of your check in. In any event, we're glad you enjoyed your stay as it is a great cabin! Please remember that you get 10% future stays as a repeat guest!
Had a great time and loved the place.
The plug on the air hocky table is worn and frayed. Shocked my son inlaw when he plug it in. Alot of light bulbs burnt out inside and out.
Donna L.'s review of Knotty & Nice
Not a "luxury" cabin compared to Heartside. Have stayed in their cabins and they have complete amenities including dining ware, cooking ware, shower soap of reasonable size, adequate dishwashing liquid for 2-day stay for 10 people, full furniture to accommodate 10 people including sofas and chairs. Also, lower floor accommodations lacked adequate heating (freezing). The positives were movie theater room, gas grill, gas fire place, roominess of main floor and plenty of bathrooms. TV's need up grading.
We had a great...
We had a great time as a family. The weather gave us a "White Christmas" surprise and a power outage that we were not prepared for. An emergency pack of flashlights/batteries and emergency and instructions for future guests might be a nice addition. Upon arrival to the cabin there was a maintenance man on sight repairing all the movie seats. It took him about 2 hrs to complete the task and another repair to the stairs. I think this should have been done before our arrival. Also, for a luxury cabin the kitchen was equiped with old, mix/matched and chipped glassware, cookware, and cooking tools. Additionally, for a 14 person cabin there were only two towels per bathroom (not enough). Having said all of this, the cabin was spacious and the movie room was a hit. The gameroom temperature could not be regulated so it stayed chilly most of the time but we enjoyed the ice hockey and billards down there. With improvements to the equipping of the kitchen and supply of linens this cabin would have been given a 5 star rating. Real luxury is in the details and this cabin fell a little short.
The cabin was beautiful...
The cabin was beautiful and we really enjoyed our stay. There were a few issues with cleanliness, mainly a couple of the bathrooms, but nothing major. We will most likely stay again.
St. Augustine, FL
Great Thanksgiving in Gatlinburg
We loved the house overall. There were a couple of issues that didn't ruin our trip but the management company needs to address. The chairs in the media room kept breaking (that was huge for us because we watched movies every evening and there were two that couldn't be used...a major bummer. They did come and fix them but one broke again the same night. The jets on the hot tub aren't great but not a biggie. AND my biggest recommendation would be to bring some sort of sound system...we assumed there would be sattelite tv and for a property that's luxury like this, we found that odd so we had to go out and by speakers and hook up the computer. Secondly, they need to invest in silverware. There weren't enough sets and what was there was horrible. You can buy cheap nice sets at TJ Maxx for 20 bucks. There should be service for 10. We ended up buying plastic but that was sub-standard for Thanksgiving dinner! That being said, check in was very organized, clean up was easy, plenty of towels, beautiful hosue, plenty of blankets and pillows and we really did love it. Going back next year for Christmas:)
Knotty and Nice...Mostly Knotty, NOT Much Nice
I have left 2 messages for the manager to contact me about my stay and still have not heard from one. I had a total 10 issues with the cabin and had to wait for maintance to come to fix the problems. I have stayed in several other cabins and would not recommend this company to anyone!
Knotty and Nice is beautiful - only one complaint
We love Elk Springs Resort. We started a tradition a few years best friend and her family, along with my family, come to Gatlinburg every Oct or Nov. This makes our 2nd yr at Elk Springs Resort. My best friend also comes every Feb for her wedding anniversary. We absolutely love it, and would recommend and do recommend to everyone. We stayed at Knotty and Nice this time. It is beautiful!!! Our only complaint is that one of the seats in the theater room was missing the springs or something. It was caved in. We had 9 people, so it limited how many could get a seat. We reported it, and I'm sure they will fix it. I wouldn't let that stop me from renting this beautiful cabin again. However, it is our goal to come back every year and stay in a different cabin until we have stayed at all of them. We absolutely love Elk Springs!!!
Je Tuan G.
Everything was wonderfull. It was more than what we had hoped for. We stayed for 5 nights. Total of three couples in the Knotty & Nice cabin. Great time for all of us. Very comfortable beds. Great view of mountians, and spacious kitchen area. The cabin actually looked just like pictures on website. Looking forward to staying there again.
Alex L.'s review of Knotty & Nice
We will definitely stay again. There were a few kitchen items we needed, and they were promised the same day. Someone showed up with them within an hour. We had seven children in the same cabin, and there was plenty of room and they had a great time.
We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at your resort. There were 8 of us (4 couples ranging from 58 to 67 years old) so our plans were to spent an ample amount of time in the cabin with some time for sightseeing, shopping, and dining. The cabin was plenty spacious for our group so that we could do things together or separately. One small thing that the balconies could have used were tables by the rocking chairs for our drinks and snacks, but this was just a minor inconvenience. One more small annoyance, the street that ran by our cabin was not paved, causing the bottom of our car to occasionally scrape as we pulled into our driveway if we weren't careful. Overall, we, all eight of us, were very pleased with the accommodations and location and would recommend this resort to our friends.
Miami Beach, FL
Our stay was everything we hoped for. The house was absolutely gorgeous. The game room is away from the rest of the house on the bottom floor which kept all the party animals away from the grandma's. The house looks JUST LIKE THE PICTURES. There isn't a great view but the trees keep the house pretty private, which is important. The management is very helpful and provided everything we needed. The only advice i have for future guests is, do not take a luxury car or compact car for that matter to this area. Stick to SUV's Vans etc... my BMW's bumper suffered severely because of the unpaved road to the house. That's just a heads up and a mistake on MY part for not being familiar with my surroundings.
Response from Elk Springs Resort - 09/15/2009
Hi Grisel, thank you for the kind review! We've had some heavy rains which affected the roads, but we've gone and fixed the up so it should no longer be an issue. As a repeat visitor you automatically save an additional 10% on future stays!
St. Petersburg, FL
Katherine M.'s review of Knotty & Nice
Upon check-in, our breakfast basket and additional rocking chairs were brought late. A media room chair was broken, a drain in an upstairs tub was slow, and I reported an ice maker problem that never received any kind of response. The cabin was lovely with great views. It would help to have better maintenance of the cabins and quick response to problems. Tripadvisor reviews indicate others have had the same issues.
A Wonderful Family Vacation in the Mountains....
The family enjoyed the house. Everything we wanted was there......we even enjoyed the bear !!!!!! He loved the garbage !!!!
Maybe you could build a stronger "bear proof" garbage container .....
HAD A GREAT TIME!!
THE ONLY THING THAT WE HAD TO DO WAS BUY MORE POTS AND PANS BECAUSE FOR A LARGE GROUP THE POTS AND PANS WAS NOT BIG ENOUGH. WE HAD TO HAVE MAINTINENCE DONE ON THE HOTWATER HEATER AND THE GENTLEMAN WAS VERY PROMPT ON GETTING IT FIXED. WE WOULD STAY AT ELKS SPRINGS AGAIN.
Response from Elk Springs Resort - 06/16/2009
Hi William, thank you for the review. We've restocked all of our larger cabins with more cookware. We appreciate your business and remember you get 10% off your next stay as a repeat guest.
We stayed with another family of 4 and had plently of room to spread out. We are looking forward to coming back in the summer and staying with Elk Springs again. Marnin the maintanence man was the best. He helped get our projector fixed and brought us a new coffee pot. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Knotty and Nice. Thanks!
morgan city, la
Knotty and Nice
The cabin was exceptionally clean and beautiful. However, the fire place did not work properly nor did the projection system. Neither were repaired during our entire stay. We requested for the garbage to be emptied and only the bears came. On a positive note, we do appreciate the ability to have left our motorcycle trailer at the entrance of elk springs.
Better than we could have even anticipated!!
Absolutely no complaints. Wouldn't even think of staying anywhere else if we go to Gatlinburg again.
Nice cabin. Very clean and staff was friendly
Had some trouble with the lock and had to stay in a different cabin the first night. The projector also went out and they were unable to fix it before we left. This was all understandable, these things just happen somethimes. Except, we thought some sort of compensation should have been offered for the trouble. They did say they would send me a voucher for a different stay but I have not received anything. But this does not really help me in this circumstance since it only would help me and not the other people that came on the trip. Overall an ok trip though.
Panama City, FL
Birthday Snow Miracle
We celebrated my twins' 13th Birthday at our Cabin and considering that they are Florida girls who have never seen snow we got everything we wanted and more with one of the biggest snowfalls in 40 yrs. Our cabin was just spectacular and our entire family of 4 adults and 7 kids ranged in ages from 9 to 23 had a great time. My wife is already planning our next stay.
My family and I...
My family and I enjoyed our stay. The cabin was beautiful. The furniture was extremely comfortable. Unforunately some of the pictures I took showed how dirty the windows were. One of the chairs in the movie theater was busted and the sauna could only be set on 1. My cell phone didn't have a signal but the cabin provided a phone that let you call local numbers. You are expected to call when you check out but the number isn't local. So therefore I was unable to inform management that I had checked out. Over all I would rate my stay 3.5. It was a nice get away but for the money I expected a little more.
Gatlinburg Family Vacation
Upon arrival we found the rental office closed, and one of the phone numbers listed on the door was a message that asked us to leave a message. Not helpful when you need to check in. After several tries of the alternate number someone answered. He was rude, and finding that we couldn't check in. The entry code had been left on our voice mail (our home phone which did us no good).
After some wine and a restful night's sleep we began to prepare breakfast, but discovered that there were no filters for the coffee maker, no salt and pepper in the salt and pepper shakers on the counter, and only a 7 and 9 ince omelet pan to fry bacon, sausage, and eggs. Those two omelet pans also had dried eggs from the previous renter. Disgusting!!!
This time when we called he informed us that all of those items were the responsibility of either the property owner, or the renter. None of this was explained anywhere in the rental information. Later that day Whitney again saved us by bring coffee filters, and frying pans.
The tub/shower in one of the upstairs baths didn't drain, and after reporting it nothing was repaired. The carpet in the lower level recreation room was dirty.
There was a very nice tissue box cover in each bathroom, but no tissues in any of them. Again we were informed that tissues were the responsibility of the property owner, or renter.
This is a very nice area, and a beautiful and fun cabin, but the management company's customer relations, and attitude will soon stop anyone from renting
overall liked with a few things disliked
the cabin was mostly in good shape, but a few things stood out in our mind to mention here.
the center seat in the back row was busted out in the movie room to where we didnt use it. the was tape over the 1st light down stairs over the air hockey table(didnt seem safe, so we didnt use the light). we found roaches downstairs in the cabin and killed promptly. the temp control seemed out of sorts. it would be 75 in the upper levels and 60 downstairs.
clogged pot on arrival , dirty bed sheets in one room,cookware very greasy, just a few small things, every thing else was great
Had High Hopes
Several issues came up while there with no type of compensation for the inconvience. No heat in the bottom floor. Trash in master bath upon arrival. Stove/oven did not heat properly causing issues for 8adults staying there plus 6 in the other house. Not enough towels. Missing light bulbs. Locks did not work. Had limited utinsils and pots and pans. Set up for a two person as far as the cooking utinsils. Had issues in the 2nd house as well not working properly.
Not enough trash storage. No regular trash pick up, so trash overflowed and the animals got it. Had to clean it up.
Busted seat in the theatre room. Had to bring chairs in from the porch.
Jennifer B.'s review of Knotty & Nice
The cabin I stayed in was absolutely beautiful! Even though we used it as an Executive Retreat, none of the guests wanted to leave! I was worth every penny.
All was good accept that we had to move to 3 different cabins during our stay. The first cabin Snuggled In had Bunk beds and we had two couples, the second cabin The View the electricity was shut off due to not getting a final inspection. Although Whitney and Kim were helpful if was a bit of a hassle having to change cabins 3 times. We will make it back but would like some compensation for our troubles in moving cabins twice in 2 days
Stay at Knotty and Nice
I was very impressed with the cabin at Elk Springs Resort. It had everything mentioned on the website and so much more. The only thing I would like to see added would be serving dishes. There are pots and pans as well as mixing bowls, but nothing to serve dinner in. I will be bringing my entire family to stay at Serenity in two weeks to celebrate Thanksgiving. It would be great if we didn't have to bring serving dishes. Other than this complaint, Elk Springs is the greatest place I have stayed at to date.