|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Not too far from town, yet away from it all. You'll find a wonderful balance of privacy and accessibility to all the activites of the mountain and downtown. This is the haven you've been looking for.
Regular rate for two adults $129 per night.
Peak rate for two adults $149 per night
Service Fee $25.00
Top Level - Game Room w/ pool Table, Bath , Whirlpool in loft, small deck
Main Level - King bedroom, Bath, Living Room/Dining Room/Kitchen, Deck with table and chairs for outdoor dining, Side deck with hot tub in gazebo.
Three Televisions (living room has additional digital channels)
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$129 - $149||$129 - $149||$0||$0||2 nights|
|Jan. 2 2013 - May. 22 2013||$129||$129||-||-||2 nights|
|May. 23 2013 - Jun. 27 2013||$149||$149||-||-||2 nights|
|Jun. 28 2013 - Jul. 31 2013||$149||$149||-||-||3 nights|
|Aug. 1 2013 - Aug. 29 2013||$129||$129||-||-||-|
|Aug. 30 2013 - Sep. 2 2013||$149||$149||-||-||3 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
|Sep. 3 2013 - Oct. 3 2013||$129||$129||-||-||-|
|Oct. 4 2013 - Oct. 31 2013||$149||$149||-||-||3 nights|
|Nov. 1 2013 - Nov. 26 2013||$129||$129||-||-||-|
|Nov. 27 2013 - Dec. 1 2013||$149||$149||-||-||4 nights|
|Dec. 2 2013 - Dec. 19 2013||$129||$129||-||-||-|
|Dec. 20 2013 - Dec. 31 2013||$149||$149||-||-||3 nights|
|Jan. 1 2014 - Jan. 1 2014||$149||$149||-||-||3 nights|
|Jan. 2 2014 - Jan. 1 2016||$129||$129||-||-||2 nights|
|View all 13 Rate Periods|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 16, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Billy and Teri
Great Little Place
My wife and I would like to say this was a much needed get away. The house was enough out of the way of the hustle and bustle and was a quiet place to relax. We enjoyed just sitting and enjoying the views and drinking coffe on the porch. This would be a great get away for a couple just loooking to relax. The location to town for stores and shopping was also convenient, not too close but not too far.
Response from Mountain Laurel Chalets - 12/19/2012
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are glad you had a relaxing time, after all that is what a vacation is all about. This is a nicely located property for most all your needs. We hope yo will stay with us on your next stay in the smokies.
A great getaway
I brought my finace up to Gatlinburg for his birthday, for a romantic getaway.. I didn't tell him anything about Winter Haven, which was where we stayed.. We loved every minute of this cabin.. He loved that he was able to play a game of pool while he watched the game.. The bed was so soft and the jacuzzi made for a very romantic night.. The location was very hard to find in the dark. So try to get there while you still have some daylight.. But after a few comes and go's, it was easy to remember the way.. The guy that checked me in was so nice.. Triffic was so bad this weekend (i'm not sure why), but he told me how to get something to eat without going back through all that triffic.. Other then the stand still traffic this weekend, we had a wonderful stay.. I would absolutley recommend this cabin to my firends.. And I will come and stay at this cabin again...
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Winter Haven chalet.
My favorite amenity was the hot tub on the deck outside. We enjoyed the quiet peaceful summer nights and will definitely stay here again. I will recommend Mountain Valley Chalets, cause they were recommended to us by friends.
This is a great rental that is very close(3/4 mile) from downtown. Everything was great except the Internet router did not work.The maintenance man came out and said he would have Comcast come the next day and replace it. Comcast didn't show up.
Beautiful chalet for a couple.
This was a wonderful chalet for a couple. We very much enjoyed our stay. Would like to have stayed longer. Accommodations were great. Absolutely loved the hot tub. Everything looked new, even the furnishings. The chalet was a little hard to find...we passed by it several times...but loved the fact it was not directly on the main road. Look forward to going again.
johnson city tn
Time well spent
My girlfriend and I spent a well needed break away in this beatiful home. Since the weather was still a little cooler, we were able to take advantage of using the fireplace; which we absolutely loved. The location of this cabin is very close to town but just away enough where it is nice, quiet, and secluded. This is definitely a place that we would love to enjoy again if available.
Mike and Meriann Caldwell
My husband I stayed just a few weeks ago for our 10th anniversary. We loved the cabin. It was very relaxing and comfortable. The only recommendation I would make is to add a blind to block the hot tub from the view of the road. Everything else was fantastic. We have been to Gatlinburg many times since we have married and nothing compares to the excellence we recieve when staying with Mountain Laurel Chalets. Thanks for allowing us to stay with you all and we hope to visit again in the near future.
Wonderful Place to get away!!!
My husband and i stayed in winter haven for our one year anniversary. It was very nice. We loved the pool table and the hot tub. We also loved how it was out of town
I was thr for my 2 yr anniversary... It was my husbands 1st trip
to Gatlinburg... He was very impressed to say the least.. I have give this web site to several people that plan on a trip thr. We will be back with our sons soon...
This vacation spot was in a great location on the mountain side. It was very quiet even though there were other houses on the mountain nearby. The only thing is if you rent Winter Haven be aware when you get into the jacuzzi tub upstairs that people can see you from the other road on the mountain side...needs curtains. Other than that it was the most relaxing time my husband and I have had for quite some time. I would love to come back over and over again.
It is a wonderful place to stay,very clean. Would stay again.
We had a great time staying at Winter Haven over Labor Day 2011. The chalet is charming. We enjoyed the hot tub, pool table and the Gatlinburg area. The bed was comfortable and the kitchen well equipped. We can't wait to come back.
Very nice, quiet cabin. Lots of extras. Not to far from the shops. About 1.5 miles. Still have to drive, to far to walk. Mountain Laurel does not charge any "extra" fees. Would highly recommend this cabin.
bears bears and more bears
it was amazing.we got to see bears and there cubs.it wasnt to far from the things we wanted to do.we hope to come back soon.
Donna from Cinti
My huband and I were in need a some time away, though he is not real big on the whole Gatlinburg experience he enjoyed his stay very much. The Winter Haven is comfortable, relaxing and fun! Thank you for sharing your home with us! We will be back!
John & Laura
everything met our expectations
They gave us the key in a timely manner,the chalet was nice & cozy, it was easily excessible/ but could have used a shade by the whirlpool upstairs,we actually enjoyed everything the chalet had to offer
We spent a few days in the middle of the week at Winter Haven our first stay in the Smokey mountains. The cabin was clean and well equipped. The stay was pleasant and although the cabin was near it's neighbors, the location in the hills and woods gave more than a enough of a sense of privacy. Would stay again when we are in the area.
Barry & Trish
we'll definitely be back!!
Price was right!
Great on amenities! (e.g. - things needed for cooking)
If I could suggest anything, it would be to change the floral decor (too much) & have extra cases for the extra pillows.
We will be back!!
A beautiful cabin...
My fiancee' and I took a few days to stay at this chalet and to get married. We had a wonderful experience at this home. It was spotless clean, the bed was very comfortable, and we really enjoyed the hot tub. We have no complaints other than we would have preferred something a little more less populated of an area...but that's only a preference of ours. We had no problems booking the cabin and checking out. A pain-free experience. :-)
Dr. James Foster
Hard to find in the dark but overall a nice place to stay.
We got to the office after dark and the office staff was nice but given the hidden driveway, poor lighting and inadequate maps, somebody should have offered to show us to the chalet. The lights weren't on outside and no wood was loaded in the fireplace! At least there was wood outside (no matches!) & we did have a new hot tub (sweet!). No snacks, no drinks. Probably will look elsewhere for the money we spent.
Two from Virginia
Boones Mill Va
Great place even in the snow
My wife and I stayed at Winter Haven for a couple of days of rest and relaxation without kids and distractions. I have yet to rent a chalet from Mountain Laurel that I did not enjoy. It had been snowing the week before we arrived so we chose Winter Haven because it was low on the mountain. Provided a great place to stay; We enjoyed the pool table, hot tub and solitude.As always the mountains were great as well.If I were to change anything, the headboard on the bed seems a bit loose, but at my age who complains. I would stay here again.
Response from Mountain Laurel Chalets - 02/24/2011
Thanks for the heads up on the headboard. We will have maintenance take a look at it and tighten it up. We look forward to you returning to see us.
Jeremy and Kim Dawley
Incredible, relaxing, peaceful, worth every penny plus some.
Wonderful view. Just far up enough for a great mountain experience, but close enough to get to town quickly. Very tidy, and comfortable. All the ammenities we needed and a few extras we didn't expect.
Bob and Ruth
We found Winter Haven to be a comfortable place to stay in a beautiful setting. The only drawback was our inability to find the chalet the first time we tried as it is not actually located on the street where it has its address. We also found the roads between this chalet and where our other family members were staying to be challenging to drive--narrow, blind curves or hills and the like. But the setting is great and the chalet was verynice.
very nice chalet
very nice chalet , we enjoyed it alot and will return int he future
Love this cabin
We have stayed in this cabin a couple times and just love it. It is close enough to downtown yet far enough off the beaten path to give the privacy we want. This is our favorite cabin of all the cabins we have rented. Only wish it had a more comfortable chair and sofa. Bed is very comfortable. Especially appreciate the wireless internet. Neighbor has dog that does bark sometimes, but we are ok with that. We have 2 dogs at home so that is not an issue with us.
Response from Mountain Laurel Chalets - 12/10/2010
Thanks for the review. The owner was here in November 2010 and put in new furniture in the living room area and also a new hot tub. Please come back and stay with us again soon.
Great location and wooded view
Winter Haven was a nice chalet with a convenient location to get into Gatlinburg and the national park. The interior layout was good and we felt at home. Two minor things (neither of which should deter you from renting this chalet), the porches could have used some sweeping and spraying for insects prior to us arriving and there are places where the drywall tape needs to be repaired and painted again. That would give the chalet a more polished appearance. Overall, we enjoyed it and would rent this chalet again.
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Beautiful Mountain Hide-away
Upon arrival and at check in we were greeted by the associates of Mountain Laurel with great energy and genuine greetings. Check-in was quick and simple and we were on our way up the mountain. We pulled into the drive with anticipation because of the lovely landscaping and large inviting porches.
A hot tub awaited on the side porch were you enter to the deep red carpeted breath taking living/dining/kitchen. Everything was clean and organized. The kitchen contained all things needed to prepare a meal fit for royalty.
Upstairs we found a jacuzzi tub just right for a couple. A pool table that we didn't take the time to use but I liked that it was there. Impressive.
The master bedroom held a king size bed that slept great! Thick plush carpet, stocked bathrooms, everything was so clean I didn't want to use it and get it dirty. :)
This vacation spot is only minutes from downtown Gatlinburg where there is great shopping and plenty to keep you busy.
What I liked best was it was quiet. You have neighbors but the way the house is seated on the mountain they don't see you and you don't see them. The only negative thing I can say is that it needed a new couch and chair. They are very well used and not very comfortable.
Response from Mountain Laurel Chalets - 12/10/2010
Good news! As of November 2010, the chalet has new living room furniture...now it is perfect! We hope to see you in the mountains again soon.
We love it and will be coming back
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. It was private but easy to find. The cabin was VERY clean and the bed in the master was amazingly comfortable. Our only two quibbles were the patio door was too difficult to figure out so coffee on the side porch (the one with chairs) didn't happen and the neighbors were a little loud during the day. We would recommend staying there to others and we'll be back ourselves.
Art and Mary
Lovely Winter Haven
We enjoyed a wonderful 4th of July vacation in Winter Haven. The home is very comfortable and very clean. We really enjoyed the hot tub, the wooded area and the peace and quiet. Winter Haven is not too far up the mountain and close to the Smokey Mountain National Park entrance. It is very convenient to town but Gatlinburg can be avoided by driving the scenic "ByPass".
We enjoyed Laurel Falls and Cades Cove. Make sure you drive across the mountains to Cherokee. The views are spectacular!
If you want to spend much time in Gatlinburg, you should know that parking can be expensive and the 4th of July is really crowded.
Mountain Laurel is a good company to rent from. We will use them again.
J & C PEAHUFF
QUIET AND RELAXING VERY ROMANTIC !!
Winter Haven was a perfect place to spend our anniversary. It was very romantic. The house was clean and the hot tub was outstanding!! When we go back to Gatlinburg we will be sure to ask for this house.
Salem West Virginia
Peacefull and very quiet
this was our first time in gatlinburg...and the chalet was very nice...and i love how quiet it is...and i cant wait to go bk..bc when we do we are rentin the same one...and the chalet was in good upkeep of the place...
We rented this property from Feb. 28th thru March 3 but ended up leaving 2 days early due to weather and power outage.We did enjoy the property but the welcome staff was not very friendly nor was much help when asked questions about the location or areas of interest.We had just gotten married and was planning on spending our entire honeymoon at the location.If the staff had been a little more friendly and helpful it would have been grand.I would not recommend the rental properties after our experiences.
Response from Mountain Laurel Chalets - 03/13/2009
We regret if you were met with anything other than traditional Southern hospitality at check-in. I can offer no explaination, as there is none for this kind of behavior. Please accept our sincerest apology.
It was unfortunate that we experienced a late season snow shower during your stay that caused you some power issues. As I understand what happened, the lines were brought down by heavy snow, but were repaired within 3 hours of being reported. There was plenty of firewood at your house, so you did have a source of heat. We try to warn all our guests about the possibility of snow, but it is very usual to have a measurable snow in March. We do recommend tire chains or four-wheel drive vehicles when there is a chance of inclement weather.
Comfy, not quite quiet
We had previously rented this chalet before however, the dog next door apperantly wasn't out nearly as much and he barked continuously at this stay when you attempted to sit on the porches - some privacy fence between the 2 houses would be nice.
Otherwise the property is nice, oh and maybe add a little privacy around the hot tub!
Wonderful home- comfortable
My husband and I had a wonderful time! It was beautiful, conveniently located and exactly what we had hoped for.
We spent our honeymoon at winter haven and really enjoyed it. My wife and I would like to go back there next time we are in gatlinburg. Thank you so much for everything it was perfect and would recommend it to others very highly, It is a beautiful home and so warm and has a real down home feeling to it thanks again.
Mr. and Mrs. Ron Hutchins
Private hideaway near town
My wife and I enjoyed our stay at Winter Haven and were surprised to find that even though it provided privacy, it was very close and convenient to town. It provided an easy access to Ober Gatlinburg and was just a short drive from the National Park welcome center. The vistas were lovely and I saw more bears than on any other trip to the Great Smoky Mountains.
Wonderful Winter Haven
We love Winter Haven! This was the 2nd time we stayed at this chalet and highly recommend it.
Nice, but not for me
I rented directly from Mountain Laurel Chalets. I was hoping for more of a view. That is important to me. Regrettably the view at the chalet is not what I had hoped for. The chalet itself is very nice.
Response from Mountain Laurel Chalets - 10/08/2008
If the view is what you are looking for, we need to know that when you are booking, or, if you booked on our website, you can request a mountain view as a search amenity. All of our chalets have their views from the decks posted on their page on the website. If you look at this one, you can see that it is surrounded by woods. Some people like their chalet to be nestled in the woods, but others like to have that wide open view....we just need to know which you prefer so we can find the perfect spot for you. Also keep in mind that the chalets with the very best views book up quickly, so the longer you wait to book your stay, the fewer choices you will have and October is an especially busy month for us. We hope to see you again soon.
Nice Romantic Getaway
Very nice place, cozy and private. Clean, nice place to stay, we loved it!
PRIVATE YET ACCESSIBLE
WE LOVED HOW PRIVATE THE PROPERTY WAS YET YOU ARE JUST MINUTES FROM THE CENTER OF TOWN. THE HOME WAS CLEAN AND WE LOVED THE SPA TUB, FIREPLACE AND THE POOL TABLE. WE WOULD DEFINITELY STAY AGAIN BUT WE DID HAVE TROUBLE WHEN THE DRIVEWAY ICED OVER AND THE HOT TUB WAS OVER CHLORINATED AND IRRITATED MY SKIN. BUT THOSE WERE MINOR DRAWBACKS COMPARED WITH HOW MUCH WE ENJOYED OUR STAY.
A cozy little getaway
My girlfriend and I stayed here last Thanksgiving, and really enjoyed ourselves. The view is nice, the location is about 10 mins from town, and it is quiet. Some of the features of this home are (1) Pool table upstairs (2) Hot tub on the porch (3) An open bath tub upstairs with a view (4) wireless internet access (5) A cozy fireplace
I would recommend this home to any couple wanting a quiet, maybe even romantic getaway in the mountains.
Rick & Paula Sanders
The home was wonderful. All the amenities that came with it inside the home along with the Hottub was great. The location and the lack of scenery outside the home was an issue with us. We expected to see more outside , rather than a bunch of trees and a home next to the property with a barking dog whenever you went outside.
We will, however make reservations to stay at another location on our anniversary this year.
Response from Mountain Laurel Chalets - 10/08/2008
Winter Haven is a cute home in a great location, close to downtown, but it does not offer a mountain-top view. Instead, it is surrounded on three sides by cozy woods. You can see a picture of the view that each chalet offers on our website. All of our homes are in a residential area on Ski Mountain and there are a few year-round residents who may have pets, as in any neighborhood.