- 1 bedrooms
- 1 bathrooms
- Sleeps 6
Description from the manager
You will truly feel like you are at your Home Away From Home in this completely remodeled chalet near the Arts and Crafts Community. Just 15 minutes from picturesque downtown Gatlinburg or the action of Pigeon Forge, Home Away From Home has been well appointed to make this the perfect choice for a romantic getaway or family weekend. Perfect for a couple as a spacious one bedroom, this beautiful home has a second bedroom plus a sleeper sofa that makes it ideal for a small family as well. A beautiful mountain view is yours to enjoy from either the hot tub or rockers on the spacious deck; awake to the sunrise overlooking the same gorgeous view f...rom the enormous master bedroom. Cozy up in front of the gas fireplace while watching the latest movie on the 32" HDTV or enjoy cooking a wonderful meal in the gourmet kitchen complete with granite countertops and cherry cabinets. Whatever your plans, be sure to make this your Home Away From Home in the Smokies!
Additional amenities include: DVD (3), washer/dryer, approximately 15 minutes from downtown gatlinburg, access to gatlinburg community center , - billiards, bowling alley, indoor pool, basketball, racquet ball and walking track nearby., cd player, fireplace-gas (seasonal) (1), great privacy, parking spaces (2), 32" HDTV, multi-cade arcade game, hbo/cinemax/encore/starz/showtime/flix/the movie channel, limited internet due to restricted service area. intended for email/basic web surfing only. data streaming is not included i.e. pandora, netflix, you tube, etc. additional charges may apply for excess usage..Read more
About the manager
Jackson Mountain Homes (865) 277-6752 Full profile
Response rate: 100%
Response time: Within a day
Calendar updated: today
Overall rating: 4.7 / 5.0 based on 5,728 reviews and 186 properties
HOME AWAY FROM HOME
Additional Location Information
Last updated on September 19, 2014
Not available for your dates? Check availability for 912 other Gatlinburg rentalsCheck Availability for Gatlinburg
Rates shown in $ USD
|See all dates
|Don't see rates for your trip?|
- Reservation Fee | $65 per stay
Additional notes from the manager
A 7 night stay is required during Thanksgiving week. A 4 night stay is required during Christmas and New Year's season.
Phone / Internet
- Internet Access
Pool / Spa
- Hot Tub/Jacuzzi
- Satellite or cable TV
- Pet friendly - ask
- Smoking allowed - no
- Suitable for children - ask
- Suitable for the elderly - ask
- Wheelchair accessible - ask
What Past Guests Are Saying
Have you stayed here? Write a review
53 guest reviews
96% of guests would stay again
Amy & Dale
As always this home was wonderful and felt exactly like the name. We love this home so much we have actually planned our trips to revolve around when this home is available. We have stayed at other homes in the area but nothing makes our trip the best like this one! I hate to write how awesome it is because that makes it less available for us but it's so worth it! Kid friendly, awesome views, a kitchen that begs you to cook, and peaceful serenity are just a few great things this home offers.
Home away From Home
We arrived on Feb 6th to Home away from Home! Beautiful home! Beautiful view! Unique location!
We enjoyed the fireplace, Hot Tub and spacious Master bedroom. Huge deck with beautiful view of snow covered mountains. Kitchen was modern and well appointed. Took time to even enjoy the arcade games.
Was looking forward to using Roman shower and tub but shower had not been cleaned on arrival. Jetted Tub was not operational. A sign above tub indicated that tub was not usable but nothing mentioned in description on website. Even found dead spider in tub. Linens needed to be checked for stains. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 02/25/2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Home Away From Home. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed it and apologize for any problem you experienced. Thank you for letting our office know right away that the shower was missed during cleaning. We sincerely apologize for this oversight and appreciate you giving us the opportunity to have housekeeping come to the cabin immediately and correct it. We will also assess the linens and remove any that are stained.
We do not advertise the cabin as having a jetted tub, as the owner has chosen to disable the jets at this time; however, it is still a functional bath tub.
All homes on our rental program have regular monthly pest control. Once a home has been treated and an insect comes in contact with the treated areas, occasionally a guest may find a dead insect that has appeared after cleaning.
We we apologize and appreciate your understanding. We hope that you will choose Jackson Mountain Homes for your next vacation or getaway.
Miss the mountains
Home away From Home---There's no place like it!
We had a wonderful stay. The cabin was clean, the view was wonderful and it was very peaceful and quiet. Jackson Mountain Homes was great to work with. Everyone was polite and obliging. The directions were great and even though the road (unpaved) up to the cabin was challenging at 3 am in the dark it was not as harrowing in the daylight. When we checked out I told the agent that the jetted tub had mold shooting out of the pipes and the hot tub did not hold the temp. She assured me that it would be remedied. I didn't bother to tell anyone before check out because even though it would have been wonderful to use the tubs we didn't want to be disturbed. The fireplace was great the shower had plentiful hot water. Don't hesitate to rent from this company or rent this cabin---just ask if they got the tubs fixed first! Seriously---wonderful, cozy, peaceful cabin. We will be back! Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 11/22/2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Home Away From Home. We are happy to hear that you has a wonderful stay and apologize that you experienced a problem with the jetted tub and hot tub. We understand that you did not want to be disturbed during your stay and have scheduled the jetted tub for a deep cleaning to include a complete flush of the jets, lines and filters. We have serviced the hot tub and found it to be heating properly; however, with the cold temperatures that we have been experiencing, once the hot tub cover is removed, it is common for the water temperature to drop. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and your understanding. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Breathtaking views in secluded, modern setting
My only hesitation in writing this review is in telling too many other people about this amazing find and making it more difficult to be available when we want to rent it again! We recently rented this home for an extended weekend. My husband and I were with two teenage girls and we all loved our stay! First, this is advertised as a one bedroom home, but it actually is indeed a two bedroom home. It is only one bathroom, but we had no issue with that for just an extended weekend. Secondly, don't let the square footage fool you. The layout of this home makes it feel much larger than 1,000 square feet. It never felt even remotely cramped. The house was exceptionally clean and that is coming from a bit of a clean freak. As noted in previous reviews, the drive can be a little intimidating the first time, but once you have driven it once, it is much easier and actually quite pretty. I encourage you to look at a map or ask a local, but the back roads into Gatlinburg and/or Pigeon Forge from this cabin are easy to drive, breathtakingly beautiful and far less congested than the parkway. Take a minute to read the homemade book about the evolution of this home. Neat and inspiring story. The staff from JMH were fabulous from the moment we booked the house through check-in (we had no need to reach out again after check-in). My only recommendation would be more outside lighting for the home, or more sensitive motion sensors, for arriving back to house after dark. There are outdoor motion lights, however, you have to be out of the car and on the porch before they come on. Overall, this place was amazing - in fact, I hope the owners will reach out to us if they ever plan to sell, it is that close to perfect for us! Thanks for a great stay! Osborne family
Beautiful renovations, outstanding views, great time!
The cabin was very nice, clean, and beautifully renovated. Everything was wonderful- this property has a jetted tub too! The views were outstanding, and the hot tub was very nice. Jackson Mountain homes is always wonderful and provided plenty of linens, etc. The only negative to this property is the one lane gravel road to it (not that far to drive though after a one lane paved road) but the drive is worth it because of the view. A++! Would highly recommend, just know the road going to it is a little rough and would not accommodate a low sports car, someone that can't drive well as it is, etc (I was in a newer altima and did just fine)
This cabin is a wonderful find. I found it under 1 bedrooms, but the plus is it has 2 bedrooms. We really enjoyed the view of the mountains. That being said you do have to drive up a ways to get there. Our GPS found it right off, but seemed to get more confused each time we tried to go to town or even on the way back home.
Truly a Home away From Home
My husband and I had a wonderful time. We enjoyed every moment. Thank you for making your home so inviting.
We truely enjoyed our stay. Beautiful inside and out! Very peaceful. I am highly recommeding "Home away From Home" to other friends and family.
An amazing home in a beatiful and peaceful setting
My wife and I stayed at the Home away from Home cabin during the month of april. We came to Gatlinburg for our honeymoon, and we both agreed that this cabin was right at the top of the list of places that we have ever stayed.
The drive up to the cabin, while not very far, is interesting to say the least, because the cabins location is kind of off the beaten path. There are times we were asking ourselves if we might have somehow passed the cabin by mistake, but we did eventually make it. I would estimate that from Gatlinburg it is around a 15-20 minute drive up to the cabin. The tradeoff for taking a little bit of a drive is that you are well out of the commotion and noise of Gatlinburg and it is easy to relax and enjoy yourselves.
My wife and I both enjoyed spending time in the hot tub located on the balcony, it was nice and convenient being able to wake up and hop in the hot tub. Funny enough we also both spent some time playing the arcade game in the cabin, it has 60 games in 1 unit, and was a great way to pass some time.
We both recommend checking out wonderworks (especially if you have kids, probably not so much for the older crowd), the Titanic attraction (is both interesting and informative, we really enjoyed the tour, although it might not be as much fun if it were packed), and the wax museum (They had some very good wax models and some poorly don wax models, but overall we had a lot of fun taking pictures with the various wax models that you can get right next to).
If you are on the fence about this cabin, do yourself a favor and book this place, you will not regret your decision. Although I am not sure I would recommend this location during the winter months, because I could see it being difficult to make it up to the location if there was a heavy snowfall.
The Jackson Mountain Homes staff was very friendly and they answered all of our questions. I would not hesitate to use Jackson Mountain Homes again.
The house was wonderful and did nto feel like a cabin in the woods. The road up to the house was a little scary but once we go to the hosue it was awesome. Neighbors not very close, close to Gatlinburg and other area attractions but not in the crowded village. Weatehr was perfect 80 every day. Servcie at the front desk with great directions was supurb. Wee even found a local Pizza delivery service that brought us a Pizza.
G adn K
Great as always
Jmh was so easy to work with. They always are. Home away From Home is so pretty and comfortable. This is our third stay here and we will return. The view, the kitchen, the comfort all good. The only down side is the last part of the drive to the home. If we were to meet another car, am not sure what we would do.
Amy and Dale
Wonderful Second Experience!
This was our second time staying at Home away From Home and it was just as great as the first. We are happy to become regular and repeat visitors to this wonderful home that is so accurately named. Also the additional signs that have been installed would be a great help to those who have never visited. Thank you!
Remlap, AL 35133
A true home away from home experience.
As the name implies, this is a home away from home. It's a little hard to get to on the first drive up, but after that it's fairly easy. The view of the mountains is spectacular especially from the bedroom when you wake up in the morning. Had a minor problem with the hot tub,but after notifying JMH, it was taken care of within 2 hours. Everything we needed for cooking was there. I don't have any complaints, but just a couple of suggestions. It would be nice to have a grab bar by the jacuzzi and in the shower area. A mop and dust pan would be nice. When we go to Gatlinburg, JMH is who we book through. We have used them for the last probably 10 times. We have stayed in several different cabins and never had a bad experience. My wife thinks a coffee table would be nice. I guess that's a woman thing.
Absolutly the best experience i have ever had.
The cabin was more than i expected it to be, and the people at the check in was the best. They give you directions in writing so it's very easy to find.
We had a little trouble finding it the first time. But once we got there it we well worth it! I loved this cabin. We wanted a modern cabin for our stay and it was perfect! The Views were amazing! I would recommend this cabin to anyone! Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 12/18/2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Home Away From Home. We are happy to hear that you loved it! We understand that driving in an unfamiliar place can be challenging. Like you, most people have no problem after their first time. However, we have since installed additional directional signs to make the drive to the cabin easier. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Best weekend away you can ask for!!!
We love the home. We will come again and will only stay at home away from home. Greatest weekend away we have ever had.
Steve and Melissa Huber
New York City (but Tennessee native)
Wonderful Family Thanksgiving!
This was my second time booking with Jackson Mountain Homes, and they were just as friendly and helpful as the first. We decided to rent a home for Thanksgiving because my mother's house is just too small for all of us now. So, my brother and his wife flew in from California and my husband and I drove down from New York. Our parents are from Knoxville. When we all met at this gorgeous house on Wednesday evening before Thanksgiving, it was absolutely wonderful. The place was warm and inviting, clean and spacious. Both my brother and I have 3 month old babies, and each bedroom had plenty of space for a pack-n-play. We were able to cook a fabulous turkey dinner for six adults because the kitchen was well equipped and functional. Then it was football on the flat screen, shopping at the outlets, and soaking in the hot tub under the stars. What a weekend!!! Just wish it didn't have to end. Can't thank Jackson Mountain Homes enough for helping us create such a memory.
Btw, the other reviews were right about the location. Be careful on those twisty, crooked mountain roads. Very narrow and not marked well. We got lost in the dark, as did everyone in our family, and it was a bit scary in the moment, but we all had a good laugh about it later. It actually added to the experience. Now we've got some funny stories to tell.
If you choose "Home away From Home" all I can say is... Enjoy!
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 12/18/2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Home Away From Home. We are happy to hear that your family had a wonderful Thanksgiving! We apologize that you experienced any difficulty finding the house in the dark. We are glad that you all had a good laugh about it. We have since installed additional directional signs to make the drive to the cabin easier. We hope to see you and your family again soon!
Michael & Michelle
Excelant get away with everything from home.
We celebrated our 10th anniversary here (without kids) and it was perfect. We choose this cabin because of its view from the Master Bedroom. Waking up to a view of the mountains was much better than waking up to a view of a wall. All the appliances are newer and the kitchen is well stocked if you did not want to leave this peaceful setting. A piece of advice, find this cabin everyday before dark, GPS is not perfect. Its dark by 7pm in October. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 12/18/2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Home Away From Home. We are happy to hear that you had the perfect anniversary getaway! We understand that driving in an unfamiliar place can be challenging, especially at night. Like you, most people have no problem after their first time. Because GPS isn't always perfect in the mountains, we provide a map from our office to the house, with detailed directions, including turn-by-turn mileage. However, we have since installed additional directional signs to make the drive to the cabin easier. We hope to see you all again soon!
Will be staying here again!
This was my family's 1st vacation. My husband and I have a 4 year old and a 5 year old. We are from Louisiana, so when booking this cabin we had a ton of questions about location and driving in the mountains. Jmh was always willing to answer and were very helpful. We got lost on our way to the house, we found the directions to be confusing. Two more JMH signs along the way would have been nice, just to let you know you're headed in the right direction. Once we got to the home we did not want to leave for 2 reasons: one being we did not want to get lost again and two, the home was great! We choose this property based on the photos. But I must say, the photos don't give any justice to how amazing this place is. The view from the private back deck is breathtaking. It is fairly simple but has a homey feel. My kids felt at home from the start. Which is something I was concerned about having never been away from home for so long. The home was furnished with everything we needed and more. The property was farther away from Downtown Gatlinburg than I had thought. But the 30 minute drive to peace and tranquility was worth it! We were bothered by wasp in the back deck, which I hope the staff takes care of that. Over all I would most definitely stay here again. I hope next summer!
Lady Lake, Florida
Beds were very comfortable.Kitchen was great!! Master bedroom was roomy! One bathroom-- but really liked the design (layout)--showerhead could have been a little better, not enough water flow. Furniture was new and comfortable.
House and views were beautiful!!
Suberbs of Michigan
Too far back in the woods for us-roads narrow and scary.
We loved the beautiful "Home away from Home" house, but we were very disappointed at the location of the home. We feel the description of the property could have been stated upfront how hard it is to get there. Not to mention how the road turns into a single road for about 1/2 mile. We stopped by the Jackson Mountain Homes office the next morning after check-in stating our concerns of this location. We asked for the address of the home so we could put it our GPS because we were very scared of getting lost on that road. We spoke with Lori who stated the address was already on the sheet, but also told us not to use GPS as it wouldn't help, and maybe even be more confusing. Needless to say, we felt we had to be in our house every night before it got dark because of our fear of not finding our way back. We were a little disheartened that this location was not mentioned before we booked the vacation. After the third night, and as our frustration grew because of having to be in before dark we decided to leave a day early. My husband awoke from 3:00-4:30 a.m. Thur a.m. worried about making it out without getting lost again. We went to the Mountain Jackson Home office and spoke with Lori again. We asked if it would be possible to get a refund for the last night because of the reasons listed above. She said the person we need to talk to is in a meeting and would call us later. We never were called Thurs. Friday morning my husband called and spoke with Bill. My husband told him the situation and asked for if we could get a refund for the last night. Bill said we could of asked to move to another property on day 1 if we would of asked. It never crossed our mind to ask. Nothing is written in any the info with renting the property to suggest that. Lori never mentioned it either, we spoke with her twice about our concerns of the location. We were not happy learning that after we already were home when it was suggested to us. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 12/18/2012
First, let say thank you for staying with Jackson Mountain Homes. We are sorry you had difficulties during your stay and felt the need to leave early. Jackson Mountain Homes tries to provide location information the best we can by providing mapped locations of every property on our web site. However, we realize that if you haven’t been to the Smokies before it can take a while to get used to. And we are truly sorry that the location of the cabin did not meet your expectations. Also, GPS signals can be problematic in the mountains so we ordinarily encourage guests to not rely on it without confirmation of their destination via the map we give our guests which does have the address printed on it. Also, we have since installed additional directional signs to make the drive to the cabin easier. Again we apologize for any inconvenience and hope you will visit Jackson Mountain Homes and the Gatlinburg area again in the near future. When you are ready to come back, please call our office and we will work with you to find the best cabin in the best location to make your stay more comfortable.
Great house! Spectacular view! We were so happy with everything!
Ben and Maureen
Best Second-First Honeymoon Ever!
Well, I will start off with saying that we rented this house for the second year in a row - the first time being for our honeymoon, the second for our one year anniversary.
My wife unfortunately was sick as a dog for our honeymoon (it didn't stop me from enjoying our stay though, I'll tell you that much!) and therefore was not able to enjoy the stay very much the first time around. We decided that a redo would be great fun, and that is exactly what we did.
After this stay down here, we really just need to move down to TN asap. Honestly, the people are nice, the views are outstanding, and even food prices are much lower than what they are up north.
As for the house itself - it is such a classy place to stay in - its well removed from the hub-bub of Gatlinburg, so its extremely relaxing. My favorite place was the deck where you can just sit and listen to the silence of the mountain view.
The house is newly renovated and has a modern feel to it, but it is very tasteful at the same time. The place is also very clean and well lit. We really enjoyed the expansive window in the master bedroom which overlooked the woods and the mountain in the distance.
The only downside to this place is that we had to leave :-(
Amy and Dale
My husband and I spent a week here celebrating our late honeymoon with our two year old son. Everything was perfect and very kid friendly! The owners have thought of everything including games and movies! Loved all the personal touches and the house is furnished beautifully. We were sad to leave at the end of the week and we will be back for sure :) The directions are a bit confusing and you can't see the arrow on the sign in the daylight as it is reflective but press on because once you do find it you will never want to leave! The view from the back deck and master are breathtaking. The home is not very secluded as there are neighbors but we only saw one person the entire stay and that was on the day we were leaving. The home is super clean and the kitchen begs you to cook in it. Thanks for making our stay truly feel like being at home! Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 12/18/2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Home Away From Home. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful getaway! We understand that driving in an unfamiliar place can be challenging. Like you, most people have no problem after their first time. However, we have since installed additional directional signs to make the drive to the cabin easier. We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you all again soon!
Amazing modern mountain home.
It was an absolutely beautiful home with a wonderful mountain view. I couldn't have asked for a better home to stay in or a better deal financially. Nothing negative to say about anything.
Our family is very young, therefore we have not experienced a whole lot of Holidays, but staying at Home away from Home made this past one the best Thanksgiving ever!! We loved the cabin, I personally didn't want to step out, but I'm glad we did because Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge and Cades Coves are places that you definitely need to visit. I hope we can come back soon. The staff at Jackson mountain homes made the entire process super easy for us and they are just fabulous, love the southern hospitality. If you are going to visit any of the cabins, I truly recommend "Home away from Home". We just fell in love with that place and you truly feel at home.
This cabin was very nice. We loved the privacy and the hot tub on the back deck. The only issue was it is a very long way out and way far back in the woods. Would not have minded it so much but from the letter we got saying to keep lights on and the TV on at all times caused us a little anxiety about safty. But other than that everything was great. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 11/11/2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Home Away From Home. We are glad that you had a great stay and sorry to hear that you experienced any anxiety. While it is very unlikely that you will encounter any problems during your visit, we have all been taught, "An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of care". We do recommend leaving on a light and TV while you are out, which not only appears as though you are home, but also helps you when returning to the cabin at night. Even though Home Away From Home is a bit farther out of the hustle and bustle of downtown, it is in a residential area, so there are typically homeowners around at all times. We hope that you were not too anxious and that you will choose Jackson Mountain Homes again in the future.
Near Cleveland, Ohio
Nice but, a little off the beaten path
Home away From Home is very nice and homey,just as the name implies and reminded us of home on a smaller scale. Beautiful kitchen with Corian counters and nice cabinets and appliances. It was well cleaned and Jackson Mountain Homes was easy to deal with. Master bedroom was huge with a great view! We did not even open the hot tub as we have one at home so I can't comment on it. The view was great but, for us it was a bit out of the way. We aren't used to driving the very narrow, winding, mountain roads (more like a driveway as you get closer to the house) so it was just a bit too far out. We would leave in the morning to go do things then come back to get cleaned up to go out to dinner but, we dreaded having to make the drive again, especially in the dark! There is an owner occupied house right across the drive/road and a couple more just up the way but, the back of the house is private. So, if you don't mind the drive it's a great little house that has been recently renovated. Definitely would stay with JMH again would just pick a different location closer to "town".
Peaceful and Relaxing - once we got down the windy road!
Wonderful trip! Home away from Home was a beautiful place to stay. Even tho there were other places nearby, it was not evident. The one time we ran into a car coming down the narrow road, they backed up (I think they must have lived in the area). The view was fabuous and the care of the home was amazing. We look forward to coming back again soon.
Great experience -- nice and homey without the "cabin" decor. Quick attention to tub and internet issues. Away from the hustle and bustle of town but not too far out of the way. Beautiful view of the mountains.
Very beautiful house but in a not so good location.
The house was very beautiful and well-maintained by the owners and rentail company. The first 3 days of our stay were very relaxing. Unfortunately, we had to cut our stay short due to vandalism that was done to our vehicle while we were staying at this house. Our advice to anyone staying in this area is to watch your personal belongings and your vehicle. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 08/19/2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are truly sorry for the vandalism you experienced. This is the first time in 16 years of business that we have had this happen to a guest. The owners of this cabin also wish to extend their apologies. We do hope that you will come to the Gatlinburg area again as this is not typical of our town! We also hope that you will choose to stay with Jackson Mountain Homes, Inc. again in the future.
George & Carla
The view was out of this world, It was exactly what we wanted, the house was beautiful and very "home away from home"
Beautiful home and great view
Loved the Cabin! Comfortable, Cozy, Clean, and had a Great View of the Smoky Mountains.
Better than we could have imagined!
Let me start by saying that this rental was used as a get away for our honeymoon - so naturally we wanted to go someplace nice. This rental was so perfect for what we needed. It was furnished very well and had a great mountain/wooded view, we had no problems finding it with the directions Jackson Mountain Homes gave at check in.
Things we liked in particular - it was slightly off the beaten path and because it is a privately owned home, it really has a homey feel to it. It was nice to find a rental in the smokies that wasnt entirely made of pine paneling. The contemporary decoration really made my wife enjoy the stay. The kitchen had all the utensils we needed which was great. The house was super clean - very impressive - the dark wood flooring had been cleaned very well, which isnt easy. The bathroom was great - the large shower made taking a shower enjoyable for sure. We appreciated the decor with scripture verses and Bibles around the house. The deck on the back porch was my favorite place, and the giant bed in the master bedroom was where my wife really enjoyed being - everything was so comfortable. We liked being on the outskirts of Gatlinburg - we didn't want to leave the house at all, but when we did we didn't encounter much traffic at all.
The only problems we encountered was that the DVD player in the living room didn't seem to display to the TV - however we didn't mind as there was a player in the bedroom. I didn't mention this to JMH, because honestly this wasn't a big deal for us at all. The house it right across from a house on the stone road, but honestly, once inside the house it was amazingly quiet.
All in all, this was such a memorable place to come - I really hope we will have the money/time to come down to TN again - and if we do we will certainly try to book this house if we can. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 04/11/2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Home Away From Home! We are so happy to hear that you had a perfect and memorable honeymoon! Thank you for letting us know that there may be a problem with the DVD player. We will have it checked out right away. We hope to see you both again soon!
West Central Ohio
Home away from Home is Truly a Home away from Home!
My wife and I were truly pleased with our recent visit to the area. We wanted a place that was secluded, mountain view, and updated. We got everything we asked for in the home! I would highly suggest staying here! Also, it is really a two bedroom home, it just has one bathroom. It was perfect for two couples with one child each. Plenty of room in both bedrooms to put up pack and plays. The home was super clean with all the ammenities! We will be staying here again in the future!
perfect home away from home
really awesome...had ton of fun ...i will dont mind staying there again...the hot tub was awesome after skiing..
Home away from Home
The cabin was as advertised. It was modern, clean and comfortable. The views were great. The location was away from the noise and therefore restful. The management staff was professional and helpful. What kept this a 4 star and not a 5 star experience was the last 1/4 mile drive to the cabin. The road becomes gravel, winding, very narrow and did not have sufficient signage. As we drove the last 1/4 mile we were uncertain we were still on the correct road (driveway). There were multiple gravel path options. We arrived at night so there was zero visibility. The road to the cabin appeared freshly cut and gave us no indication that there was anything except a dead end (with no way to turn around) ahead. A simple sign at the last left turn, at the last cabin before arriving, would have greatly eased our concern.
Relaxing and wonderful!!!
I had been running late and was able to still check in with the after hours check in. Getting there we missed the turn the first time, but soon righted ourselves and was able to drive straight to it!!
Once we got there and got in... I was immediatley impressed!!! The place was well decorated and so comfy!! I had stayed in several places before in and around Gatlinburg... but this one was above and beyond!!
Thanks for making my holiday a great one!!
A great honeymoon getaway!
The Home away from Home cabin was great for our honeymoon. It was stocked with everything we needed (in the kitchen, linens, even games!) Everything was very clean and professional. Very neat to have Scripture posted on the walls! Hot tub was great, view was beautiful, luxurious cabin. There were neighbors directly across the road, but weren't a bother at all - very quiet. Wasn't quite as secluded as we expected, but felt reasonably secluded since everyone else was so quiet and there were woods in between. About 30 minutes from Gatlinburg - so there was quite a bit of driving back and forth. Nice place!
Eye Popping Panaramic View
The house was exactly as it appeared in the pictures. It was beautiful. There were a few problems I personally had. I'm 5'2" tall. The chairs for the kitchen area and the dining room were very tall oversized bar seats. It was hard for me to get into the seat and out of it. Also, the couch and chair were made of a leather like material and everytime we sat down the seats slid forward and you were sitting on part of the frame. The couch and chair need to be replaced. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 12/14/2010
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Home Away From Home. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced. We will have the couch and chair assessed for replacement. We appreciate your understanding and hope to see you again soon!
Luke and Mary Rose
More beautiful and private than the photos!
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Home away From Home this past august. The afternoons were pleasantly warm, but our altitude gave us beautiful, cool evenings and mornings, perfect weather to spend time in the hot tub, conveniently hidden from public view behind many trees and shrubs. In fact, the home is set back from the tourist-filled towns perfectly--you can go in to enjoy the attractions, or stay at home in privacy, up a winding, mountain road. Our mountain vista was a treat, we liked waking up to it in our spacious and comfortable master bedroom. The kitchen was fully equipped for all our needs, and the whole house was decorated well and filled with comfortable and attractive furnishings. The highlight: the bathroom and its jet-powered tub for two! We can't wait to go back!
Great weekend getaway
We enjoyed our stay at Home away From Home. Recently remodeled unit was clean, comfortable and fairly secluded with a great view of Mt. Leconte from the deck, living room and master bedroom. Will strongly consider staying here again on our next visit to the Smokeys.
Gorgeous Mountain View!
My husband and I rented "Home away from Home" for our Honeymoon. The first thing we noticed was how much we disliked driving the roads to get to the house, especially the gravel one directly to the house. However once we got there and opened the door the view from the Master bedroom just kind of takes your breath away. We spent a bit of time during the early evening hours when we would return from a hike sitting on the deck just looking out. The peace and serenity was heavenly. There were a few houses near by, which we weren't expecting, however you never heard much from any of them except for the occassional dog barking. Overall we liked coming home to "Home away from Home" as we were away from crazy downtown Gatlinburg and could enjoy some quiet and peacefulness!
Enjoyed the cabin
First time visiting Gatlinburg and our stay in the cabin was awesome. It has the perfect name Home away from Home. Had everything we needed and more.
Amazing Honeymoon Getaway
This home was beautiful and clean! It had a beautiful view of the mountains from our balcony and windows. It was perfectly secluded yet modern and cozy at the same time. The kitchen was large and had nice appliance that allowed my husband and me to cook a lot! And the king size bed was very comfortable! We absolutely loved it! The office staff was very friendly and helpful and made our stay very comfortable.The only problem we had during our stay was that the DVD player in the master bedroom had a parental lock set on it and would not even let us watch Pg-rated movies on it so we had to watch all Dvds in the living room. Minor setback though, and our trip was still lovely!
great mountain views with total privacy
We enjoyed the serenity of the location and yet we were
close to the attractions and good dining.The views were great
and the quality and cleanliness of the cabin were superb.
Modern and Beautiful
This cabin was beautiful and very clean. Everything seemed new. The view from the master bedroom was breathtaking. The negative - it was kind of hard to find. You have to go down a very skinny, mountain, gravel road to get there. Just when you feel completely lost - there it is. I don't recommend going in the dark on the first time up. Once we found the cabin, we were very pleased. :-) Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 04/30/2010
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! For visitors not used to traveling on rural mountain roads, everything seems farther away than it is, especially when you are looking for something. We provide detalied directions from our office to the cabin, complete with turn-by-turn mileage, to make sure each of our guests can easily find their "Home Away From Home". We hope to see you again soon!
A Quiet Escape with a Beautiful View
We stayed at "Home Away from Home" for 5 nights and were very satisfied with the experience. The home was neat, in excellent condition, well decorated, and very comfortable with all the right amenities (hot tub on the deck, charcoal grill, beautiful kitchen, huge fridge/freezer, and comfortable furnature (couch, bed, etc.). Though the home is further from Gatlinburg than many, this was a plus, not a minus for us. We loved that the home was a place to get away from the overcrowded streets of the town. The owner was VERY accomidating when the A/C compressor needed to be replaced. We will highly recommend this home!!
We loved our stay at the Home Away From Home, we would highly recommend this house to anyone who is wanting to get away for a restful and relaxing weekend. The home is amazing, the view in the morning watching the sunrise over the mountains is wonderful. It is a very quiet and serene location. We wil definitely stay there again. Once again thank you for opening up your home to us and thank you for a very memorable weekend.
Beautiful View, clean and updated
Everything was wonderful, the only problem was I thought I might be bringing home a new friend in my luggage. During the last night of our stay I awoke to what I think was the sound of mouse feet pattering across the hard wood floor in our room. I never saw it that night or the next morning but I thought it had made a bed in some of our clothing and luggage that was on the floor. That was a little dissappointing but everything else was great. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 03/19/2010
Thank you for your comment. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful time. All of our cabins have regular monthly pest control to prevent any unwelcome guests. We will send pest control to the cabin to check for any signs that he may have been there. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
We loved our stay in this home, and will definitely be back. We have stayed in the cabins before and loved them but Home Away From Home offered a different atmosphere and felt like home. We can't wait to go back!
The Cabin itself was beautiful! I really loved the fact that it had bible verses posted throughout the house! The view from the master bedroom was amazing. The appliances were top of the line! The only thing that we werent crazy about was the fact that it wasnt as distant and private as what we wanted. But overall it was fantastic!
The service with Jackson Mountain Homes was great. The woman who took our reservation said the cabin was beautiful and she was right. It was very inviting. The shower is huge, the kitchen was so nice and we spent most of our time in front of the fireplace This cabin looks small on the outside, but it is actually really spacious. It was not as private as we had hoped, we personally don't like seeing any other cabins around. There are a couple of houses close by that you can see while on the deck. In the summer when the leaves would be on the trees it would be more private. It is also about a 20 minute drive from Gatlinburg. We didn't care because we were just there to relax and we only went out for dinner, but it's not as convenient if you're wanting to go back and forth a lot.