- 2 bedrooms
- 2 bathrooms
- Sleeps 4
Description from the manager
Contemporary design sets this chalet apart from the others and you will love the location - convenient to both Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge.
Regular rate for up to four people $ 169 per night
Peak rate for up to four people $189 per night
Service Fee $35.00
ENTRY LEVEL - Living Room/Dining Room/Kitchen, King bedroom, Full Bath, Deck with hot tub and charcoal grill
TOP LEVEL - Queen bedroom with 2 person whirlpool, private bath and balcony
Stereo w/CD Player
Wireless High Speed Internet
Click here to watch video of this chalet:Away From It All... http://www.wellcomemat.com/hdpopup/F4077909C2/
Additional amenities include: washer/dryer, laundry, excellent view.Read more
Away From It All
Additional Location Information
Last updated on October 15, 2013
Not available for your dates? Check availability for 1,095 other Gatlinburg rentalsCheck Availability for Gatlinburg
Rates shown in $ USD
|See all dates
|Don't see rates for your trip?|
Phone / Internet
- Internet Access
Pool / Spa
- Hot Tub/Jacuzzi
- Pet friendly - ask
- Smoking allowed - ask
- Suitable for children - ask
- Suitable for the elderly - ask
- Wheelchair accessible - no
What Past Guests Are Saying
Have you stayed here? Write a review
55 guest reviews
92% of guests would stay again
Loved the chalet, views were amazing. Stayed nice and warm despite very cold temps. Look forward to returning next year.
modern homey home
this was a beautiful cabin with modern updates- granite countertops.. stainless appliances .. open floor plan yet still quite comfy cozy...only complaint is that we didn't see any bears:) Read more
Response from Mountain Laurel Chalets - 10/11/2012
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you had a good stay. It is our goal to make your stay as plasant as possible. We hope you will consider us again on your next trip to Gatlinburg. Maybe next time you will see the bears.
Absolutely beautiful place and easy drive
We loved "Away from it all". The house is beautifully decorated and the drive up the mountain is shorter than to some of the other houses. This was our second stay (last time at a different house) with Mountain Laurel Chalets. The view was probably an 8 out of 10, as it was summertime and the leaves covered just a little of the beautiful view of the mountains, but not much. One tip- if you're nervous about mountain driving, then go to the house from the main highway in Gatlinburg. It's very fast and easy. Also, the hot tub on the porch is really noisy, as it periodically goes on and off for some reason due to filtration, whether it's in use or not. Not a problem, though, as their very responsive maintenance person came up and turned off the breaker. The office staff has been very friendly and helpful both times we've been there. The kitchen was great, as it was fully stocked with all of the utensils and tools you would ever need. We had two teenagers with us who also had a great time. We almost didn't want to leave the house to visit Gatlinburg! And the best part - the price was reasonable! We will definitely be back.
New Albany, IN
This chalet was perfect! We have stayed in a number of Mt. Laurel chalets and have never been disappointed. This chalet is very secluded. You won't be disappointed with this selection.
Jacquie and Shannon
Great Place...Horrible Customer Service
I took my fiance to away from it all for is Birthday. After hours of researching chalets and location, this was the top on our list. We arrived to the rental place at 12pm. We were told check in was at 3pm, which was fine, but we asked if there was anyway we could get in early just to drop off our bags so we could go explore the mountains. The lady huffed and puffed and let us know that the check in time was posted in various places and we had to wait, the cleaning lady had not been there yet. I asked if anyone stayed there last night, she said no but you have to wait. After sitting in the parking lot for an hour, I went back in to see if we could just drop off our luggage and important things and not stay at the chalet. The lady said no, come back at 3. She offered to call us if the "cleaning" was done any earlier. My Fiance asked if she could make a call to the cleaning people to maybe get a time it will be ready, she said no they don't have phones to call, which I find very hard to believe. Anyways, after sitting in the parking lot until 3:05, we went in and finally got the keys. I can't believe these people an willing know there are paying customers sitting in the parking lot and not do anything to help out. We had laptops and iPads and important things we didn't want to leave locked up in a parking lot, that would have been better off at the chalet. All we wanted to do was drop it off. The staff was rude and not helpful and people I would never want to deal with again. The Chalet on the other hand was wonderful, clean and everything we expected. If this chalet would have been ran by another company, the whole experience would have been amazing. I will never rent another home from this company due to the rude customer service reps. If you don't like your job dealing with people, find something else to do. There is no need to make another person's day miserable because you don't like dealing with people. Read more
Response from Mountain Laurel Chalets - 06/28/2012
Thanks for the review. We have many things to accomplish before 3:00 check-in and sometimes an earlier check-in is simply not possible. Once you take occupancy, we do not like to enter the chalet unless you have a maintenance or cleaning issue, so we do our best to take care of all those things before you take the keys. We regret that you were inconvenienced and encountered a desk clerk who was not friendly. We hope you will consider using our service again the future.
Very nice weekend
Very pleased with the Chalet, everything seemed very new and updated. We would rent this chalet again.
Relaxing and great view of Mt LeConte
Friendly, excellent service, beautiful home with great view; location was certainly away from it all. Wish I had brought some steaks to grill.
Overall very nice experience. Location was great. Close access to highway without highway noise. Great view.
Needs a gas grill. Charcoal grill on site with no charcoal, lighter fluid, or lighter (that I could find).
Crt TV in master bedroom too heavy (unstable) for location.
Hot tub vibrates if not turned off (via breaker) at night. Sugjest master switch close to tub.
"away from it all" had all the comforts of home... comfy beds, lovely decor, and a killer hot tub.. a two day retreat that was very satisfing...
Wonderful time away from it all!!!
My family just enjoyed a wonderful stay at "Away from it all." My husband, 13 year old son, 11 year old daughter, and I enjoyed the beautiful views, beautiful decor, and especially enjoyed the hot tub. We did some hiking, shopping, and visited the Dixie stampede. But always looked forward to going back to the chalet. We also enjoyed how close it was to gatlinburg and pigeon forge. Thanks for sharing your beautiful chalet with us. We will definitely be staying with you again.
The chalet was very nice.
Both beds were terrible. That is my only complant, but that is a big one. Read more
Response from Mountain Laurel Chalets - 02/02/2012
The owner has replaced both beds and plans on a total remodeling of the kitchen and bathrooms this spring. We hope you can come back to see the new look.
We had a fabulous time in the Gatlinburg area!
We had a very good experience overall. This home is in a very private spot and we loved that. For the money we were very satisfied with our experience. When we first arrived the hot tub was roaring like a generator, very loud, and reverberating through the home. Thankfully, it quieted down after that and was fine so our first impression didn't last.
Beautiful chalet. Great views. Easy access to main highway.
The only concern was the upstairs shower did not work. Upon reading the guest book in the chalet, we discovered the shower has not worked for over a year. Might be about time to get it repaired. Also, the upstairs bed was very uncomfortable - sank in the middle. Other than that, the chalet was beautifully decorated and stocked with plenty of kitchen necessities. We enjoyed the stay and would stay there again. Read more
Response from Mountain Laurel Chalets - 11/25/2011
The shower divertor works by pulling a ring down on the tub spout. Some people do have trouble figuring that out, but you are the first person to ever ask us about it at this particular house.
The upstairs bed frame had come apart just a bit. It is put back together now. Thanks for the comments. It helps our maintenance department out a lot when people who use the house let us know these things.
We were two couples and we stayed two nights at the chalet "away from it all". Everything was perfect, including the wheather and we were able to enjoy the Hot Tub on the terrace .One evening, by the dinner, we had left the door open to enjoy the cool exterior and we had a visit from a nice raccoon. Wild animals are not accepted so we have gently pusshed it outside.
New Orleans, LA
Loved the Views
Spent 4 days with husband, son and his friend. Coming from below sea level, getting to the chalet was an adventure. Once we got there we loved it. The chalet was just the right size for the 4 of us. The decks were great and we loved sitting out in the mornings and evenings looking at the views. The kitchen was great to work in. The chalet was away from all the hustle and bustle of downtown yet close enough to the park, rafting and zipline areas we wanted to enjoy. Having been in the area before, we realized if we entered the road on the opposite side of the mountain, the road by the visitors center, we were closer to the chalet.
We look forward to our next trip to Gatlinburg and would stay in this chalet again.
Nice summer vacation
This challet at the Smoky Mountains provided a wonderful summer vacation to us. It was very clean and quiet (although occational engine noise was irritating from the basement) to make us feel home while away from it all. Wal-Mart (about 10 minutes by drive) provided almost everything like drinking water, fruits, and beefs for BBQ. The challet is very close to the Gatlinburg visitor center, but very far away from the management office (about 4 miles). We're all surprised at an uninvited guest of a big black bear while doing BBQ. We recommend for those who want a vacation with books, BBQ, and some unexpected surprises while watching a beautiful face of the Smoky Mountains. Read more
Response from Mountain Laurel Chalets - 08/22/2011
To just clarify as to not confuse future guests, the office is about 10 minutes away from this chalet and Wal-Mart is about 30 minutes away in Sevierville.
the unit was clean and comfortable. plenty of bears in the area to view.
Definitely away from it all!!!
The service at check in was "okay". One employee was very friendly and very helpful. The other two were very short and clearly tried to get rid of us as quickly as possible.
The home was wonderful. It was a long winding drive up to the home each evening. I would not recommend making the first trip to the house in the dark. You will miss it.
The location was perfect. Although other chalets were near us, we felt totally alone with our family. We enjoyed the seclusion immensely.
We loved the three swimming pools and one playground available for our family. We also loved the hot tub right outside the front door. Our kids loved having the upstairs all to themselves (even though it was supposed to be the master, we let them have it because we felt more comfortable with us on the main level).
There really isn't something to like least about this house. I suppose the view could have been better, but it wasn't a horrible view. You can still see the mountains from the deck and the upstairs balcony.
Wonderful, Relaxing Get away!
Your chalet is wonderful! The decor is very warm and welcoming. We enjoyed the peace and quiet. The hot tub worked great for enjoying our coffee in the early morning and relaxing after a full day of fun in the evening. It had everything we needed for a nice long weekend. Thanks again. We will remember this place when we come back.
This chalet is very nicely furnished and convient. We have stayed in the sister property, three suite retreat, it is gorgeous. The owner has a nice style. Great dry firewood, nicely stocked kitchen, nice beds. One small thing, I wish they would take out the pine trees that block a lot of the view. The view was nice from the porch though.
A Memorable Getaway
This was our second time staying at "Away From It all" Let me begin by saying, the name says it all. This is such a beautiful place with a remarkable view. We felt right at home with the cozy atmosphere this Chalet offers. If you are looking for a nice, quiet, relaxing stay this is the place.
The house was in the mountains (would not be able to reach it in ice/snow without 4WD), but a very quick drive to Gatlinburg and not too far from Pigeon Forge. The bedroom (we only used one), kitchen and living room were clean and comfortable. The decor in some of the rooms is a little aged, but not horrible. Our only problem was that we couldn't get the hot tub to heat. It kept kicking on and running and was turned up as hot as the dial would go, but the water never even reached lukewarm.
the perfect get away
perfect get away.
It was really okay just that the room downstairs had a cat smell on the bed are under it. So we had to change bed rooms. The sink would not hold water. But it when well after the adjustment. And the service was outstanding when it came to being helpful when items were left behind.
we had a great time.easy access from willy rd. needs updated hot tub Read more
Response from Mountain Laurel Chalets - 01/28/2011
New hot tub is on the way. Waiting for the snow to clear. Thanks for the review.
In need of a care
Away from it all is in desperate need of updating. My husband and I travel to Gatlingburg every October, and typically stay at a Mt. Laurel Chalet. We were dissapointed at the upkeep of the exterior and the deck was in serious need of repair. The hot tub wasn't working properly, controls and lights did not function and the tub thermometer was questionable as well. The indoor of the chalet was better but both bathrooms are in need of care. Overall, we would not recommend this chalet to those that come to the mountains to enjoy sitting on the deck and enjoying the hot tub. Read more
Response from Mountain Laurel Chalets - 01/28/2011
The owner is replacing the hot tub! We are waiting for a break in the snow and it will be installed. We appreciate your review and hope to see you in the mountains again soon.
My experince was awesome.We had a great time and enoyed our trip
we had a great time.we enjoyed loved away from it all.It was everything the name says it is .The view was awesome.
Chalet was clean and well kept, the stay was nice and relaxing enjoyed being up in the Mountains! Visited with a friend in the past and rented a different chalet managed by Mountain Laurel. Stay was just as nice!
Awesome, can't wait to do it again.
Our last night there I needed help turning on the jets for the hot tub. I called the emergency number and the representative asked me to call back the next day. I explained we would be leaving. I ended up having to figure it out on my own. Overall, I had a wonderful time. We got to see two baby bears and I am looking forward to our next visit.
A "House" With a View
This was a great place. It had a wonderful view. I have been going to the Smokies for a number of years and had never stayed in a cabin/chalet. Would definately do this one again! Actually saw a bear our first morning there.
away from it all
We really enjoyed our stay at our chalet. We plan to retunr and have referred friends to stay there. The Hunt's made reservations in June with our referral.
We loved the remote location. The house is very compfortable. Loved the hot tub and jacuzzi. The balcony and decks were wonderful to use in the morning with the beautiful view!!
We really had a nice time and the chalet was very charming. In other reviews, people mentioned the driveway was really steep. It was not all that bad and not nearly as steep as some of the other chalet driveways. We had a problem with the hot tub not getting hot on the second night, but a maintenance man came right out and took care of it. I would definitely recommend this chalet and I would certainly stay in it again.
Cozy but not kept up
The chalet looked as advertised. The deck needed upkeep. Several lights were burnt out ( kitchen, master bedroom- up staires bedroom. There were no directions on how to operate the hot tub. The chalet would have been better with a gas fireplace.
Gerry and Sam Weller
CONVENIENT AND GREAT VIEW
The chalet has a very nice view , especially from the porch and hot tub. The driveway is a little tricky until you get accustomed to it...not an unusual experience when staying in the mountains.
The house is well-cared for and its design provides privacy between the two bedrooms while alos having a nice common area.
It is well located for access to the park via the by-pass as well as Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge.
We definitely recommend Away From It All.
Punta Gorda, FL
Don't Always Know What To Expect
We stayed from 6/27-7/4. The chalet was a nice one but it had an odor to it that was pretty bad. It smelled of pets using the bathroom on the carpet and throw rugs. We aired it out while we were actually in the chalet each day, but when we would return it would really smell bad. Reported it to the office and they were going to spray some type of air freshner after we left to help the odor (or just cover it up for a while). Also, I was not aware that it did not have a recreational area, such as a pool table or some type of game. We had 3 teenage grandsons that came by for several hours at a time and it would have been nice to have something to have kept them occupied while visiting. The driveway is terrible. It is almost straight up.
Other than those 3 things we had a very nice vacation. I really wouldn't recommend this particular chalet to anyone else. Read more
Response from Mountain Laurel Chalets - 10/05/2009
We were able to locate the source of the odor and eliminate the problem. Water was getting in under the entry door and soaking the rug, which had soured. We are finding all sorts of unusual problems with all the rain we have had this summer....this is just one of them. There is a swimming pool just a short drive from the chalet....less than one mile. The driveway is a bit on the steep side, but unless your car sits extremely low, it just takes a time or two to master getting up it and the view is definitely worth it!
Well worth the stay!
"Away From It All" is a very nice, comfortable home. For the rental fee, it's definitely well worth it. The views are spectacular from this house and it does have a good private location. Other pluses are that the home it is pretty close (once you do a short switchback down the mountain)to the Gatlinburg/Smokey Mountains Visitor Center -located just north/right before you get into downtown Gatlinburg. You can catch a Trolley from there so you don't have to battle the crazy amount of traffic and parking fees in the downtown. Lastly, this home is closest to the largest and nicest pool/clubhouse - of the three that are scattered on the Chalet property.
Minuses: When you check in at the Chalet Office, you would be wise not to attempt to get to this home from there - our brakes were smoking by the time we arrived!(due to the switchbacks and significant elevation changes w/in the Chalet village). You're better off going back through town or using the Galtinburg bypass (highly recommended!) - which is a stones throw from the office. Also, beware of the driveway - it is long and steep! Once you get used to it and get to the top (where it levels off), it's not a big deal though. Use your low gear to climb - as well as when you go down the mountain to save your brakes!
As for any other major issues, we really didn't have any w/ this home. It could use some updating and general maintenance like any home, but in general this this house presents very well - has nice amentities, views, and location.
The home was very comfortible, view was great. This was an enjoyable stay but we prefer the Ober Gatlinburg side of the mountains. Heard a bear in the woods on the first night. The hot tub or something right underneath it was leaking, driveway very steep. Overall a nice home that we would recommend. Read more
Response from Mountain Laurel Chalets - 06/29/2009
Thanks for the comment. We will have the hot tub checked for leaks.
Lovely, relaxing chalet. Clean, warmly decorated and furnished beautifully. Outdoor hot tub was fabulous, clean and well maintained. Would definitely re-book for another get away!!
The inside of the house was exactly as described and shown. It was very nice and comfortable. The only issues we had were really with the exterior. The deck really needs to be pressure washed and resealed and repainted - it wasn't in the best of shape. Also, the hot tub has definitely seen better days. For this kind of property, I would have expected a newer/nicer one. These things may not be an issue for most. If you are just concerned about having a nice place to stay, then this is a good choice.
I loved the location; however I did not like the jacuzzi
on the bottom deck. I felt unsafe, it left you
I enjoyed my stay, i just felt unsafe in the hot tub @
Chris & Amanda Harlan
St Petersburg, FL
A wonderful Honeymoon Experience
The chalet was everything that was promised. The house was beautiful, and had spectacular views of the mountains. It was convienent to everything in Gatlinburg and in Pigeon Forge, and it was so nice to come home after long and enjoyable days doting around town. Being on our honeymoon, it was nice that it was secluded away from others, but still accessible to everything in the area. We couldn't have imagined having a better time on our honeymoon, and the chalet was a big reason why we enjoyed our time in the area. Next time we will definately stay again and plan to bring the kids.
Really nice cabin, wish it had a pool table:}
Lancaster South Carolina
We have stayed with Mtn Laurel, before but this by far was our fave place. We rented for a week stay for our honeymoon and it couldn't have been a better place. Everything we excepted and more. The view was amazing and the hot tub was great!! We would recommeded to anyone!!
I took my wife there for her b-day.
A great place to get away from it all and have some one on one time.
Great chalet - relaxing and comfortable
Great place, had everything we needed. Instructions with the fireplace would have been helpful however.
New Kensington, PA
My husband and I are repeat renters at Mountain Laurel Chalets and have stayed at numerous chalets. Sometimes we make the 9 hr trip as a couple, while other times we also bring along the family to include our grown children, their families, parents, close relatives, and even our employees for a company thrown extravaganza. But on this trip, we deemed it special in a different way because we chose to bring along our chopper and make it our biker getaway. There was no denying the rides there would be extraordinary while enjoying the vast scenery. However, upon arrival with the trailer in tow, we immediately found one important issue that is not detailed in the description nor highlighted in the home's photo. That would be the steep driveway. The driveway is perfectly fine for a car, but it gives new meaning for the driver who has no option but to back the trailer up the drive to the house. After that issue was conquered, I had a greater respect for my husband's driving expertise. I would also like to add here that I believe there is a rule with Mountain Laurel Chalets about bringing trailers, to which we ignored. Our experience with this issue does not apply to the general population of renters at large, but I do feel it's worth mentioning since any snowfall there could also expose any driver of any vehicle to a hazardous situation while entering or exiting the property on that driveway.
The house is very cozy for two and we did enjoy our time there when we weren't out on rides. It was very nicely decorated and the view was great. We loved our porch time in the mornings and early evenings. The only visitors we had while there were the little bunnies who we enjoyed throwing carrots to from the porch when we weren't enjoying the hottub. We also liked the privacy since the only house near was behind ours rather than beside or in front of us.
Even though we chose this house for the sole purpose of a biker trip and it proved a challenge for us, I would still recommend it as a great getaway for a party of 2 or 4.
In my book, there are only 2 types of vacations - one is the beach vacation and the 2nd is the Gatlinburg vacation. Both are on the same level and when it comes time to plan an escape, the hardest part is figuring out which one to choose. I don't really care which house I choose from Mountain Laurel Chalets (all have been great!), I just need to be there. Once you experience it, you'll need it again and again to refresh your soul. Wish I could be there right now.
GREAT STAY-BEAUTIFUL HOME
We stayed at this chalet for our 2007 Labor Day Week trip. The house is beautiful and very well kept. The mountain views are spectacular. We had a great time and would definitely stay there again.
Nice and relaxing
The cabin was beautiful and well maintained. The area was peaceful and quiet. Visiting in the off-season is the best. The only issues I had were when I visited the rental office which was only three times. Each time, the staff wasn't very friendly. I did not feel like a valued customer. We rented the place for two weeks.
Beautifil home, wonderful stay
We stayed in the chalet on our honeymoon in April. The weather was beautiful, and we had a wonderful time. The chalet was clean and well maintained. I would recommend this chalet or others like it to my friends because we had such a wonderful time. It was nice to be able to go on vacation and stay in a home setting instead of having to stay in a hotel. We would definately do it again.
Janet and Steve
We would definetly recommend this chalet.Everything was in great order when we arrived.Although we could only stay for three days,we really enjoyed the hot tub,,and the view from bedroom..Imagine waking up in the morning with the sun coming up over the mountains....The furnishings were very modern.I would recomend this chalet to anyone that wants a relaxing stay,along with peace and quiet.
Pembroke Pines, FL
Home was true to its description and met our expectations. We enjoyed our stay!
away from it all
Weather was cold and hiking up Mt. LeConte and near Klingman's Dome was snow covered and icy. Had a great time -- 3rd time we stayed at this unit -- liked it every time.
Away From It All
Relaxing and conveniently located.
Jim and Barb
Great retreat but close to attractions
We spent a long weekend at Away From it All. This is about our 6th or 7th time renting from Mtn Laurel, however it was our first stay at this particular chalet. The home was delightful and especially cozy for the two of us. The home was comfortable, clean, and had a beautiful view. Great proximity to Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. We plan to come back for another visit soon. Thanks for a great place to stay when we come to Tennessee.
We had a gtreat time. I was very surprised at the beautiful decor. We didnt want to leave the cabin.
We stayed at "Away From It All" for our 10th anniversary celebration in the Smokey Mountains. The chalet is beautifully decorated and accommodates 4 people.
The Master bedroom has a King size bed and shares a bathroom with the downstairs living area. A washer/dryer is in the bathroom closet.
The upstairs bedroom has a Queen size bed, a bathroom, a balcony with a lovely view, and a jacuzzi for 2.
The kitchen is well equipped with everything you need to cook a gourmet meal. A charcoal grill is available on the deck.
A large hot tub sits on the lower deck, which makes the perfect way to relax and enjoy the mountain view after a long day hiking or shopping.
The chalet is conveniently located between Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. We definitely recommend this chalet, and plan to return in the future.