- 2 bedrooms
- 3 bathrooms
- Sleeps 4
Description from the manager
When you walk into beautiful Southern Accent, the “WOW FACTOR MOMENT” will definitely hit you immediately…. You'll simply fall in love with this tastefully decorated contemporary 3-story A-frame overlooking the spectacular beautiful mountains as well as the gorgeous sparkling night lights of downtown Gatlinburg. Did we mention that this chalet offers huge walls of glass for you to enjoy those incredible views from inside the chalet too? Can you even imagine that it gets much better than that? Well it does.... The location is ideal being situated on the end of a cul-de-sac lot which is level, provides trouble-free parking and the abil...ity to turn around easily. Ober Gatlinburg Ski Resort is only minutes away and provides easy access for you to take the sky lift to downtown Gatlinburg or just enjoy all the Resort has to offer. The community offers multiple pools and recreational buildings throughout. As for the chalet, there are two bedroom suites each with a private bath, new comfy plush memory foam mattresses & new box springs as well as wall mounted flat screen TVs for those much needed R&R; moments. Enjoy the perfect place to crash at night or nap time after your adventures in Gatlinburg and the surrounding areas. There is so much seating on the 2 extra large comfy leather sofas sitting on glimmering wood floors with a fabulous 40” flat screen TV with DVD player located above the cozy native wood-burning stone fireplace (HBO, Cinemax and Showtime included). Newer appliances, gorgeous designer dishes and lots of kitchen gadgets are all a plus in the awesome ”room to roam” kitchen for those who enjoy cooking! The dining table for 6 offers true mountain dining experiences or just sit at the kitchen bar for a quick bite to eat. There is a lot more to tell you, really.... Wow, then let’s continue! The loft area has two nice cushy rockers for those reading and peaceful, but lazy vacation moments. Yes, there is an awesome game room on the bottom level which includes a pool table, awesome treadmill, futon, TV, full size washer/dryer, table for two, and a full bathroom. Some of the exterior features include double decks, an electric grill, lots of outdoor furniture for entertaining and easy access to the back yard. Be sure to step outside onto the bottom deck through the double French doors to enjoy soaking in the large hot tub as part of your dream mountain vacation. Oh, there is so much more to tell you; however, you really need to come visit and experience this chalet for yourself as words cannot truly describe the excellent experience you will have staying at the much loved Southern Accent. This chalet is also equipped with a monitored alarm system, wireless high speed internet, telephone with free long distance (some restrictions apply) and premium cable. There is a friendly resident squirrel that just loves to visit and eat nuts on the top deck so please enjoy these special moments! Lastly, your feedback is extremely important to the owners and always welcomed as they strive to continue to make Southern Accent the “best of the best” vacation experience for you! Enjoy your stay at beautiful Southern Accent and do come back again soon.......
Regular season rate for up to 4 people $ 139
Peak season rate for up to 4 people $ 159
Service Fee $ 35
Top Level - 1 Queen Bedroom w/private bath, Loft overlooking Living Room with two rockers
Main Level - 1 Queen Bedroom w/private bath, Great Room w/living room/dining room/kitchen
Bottom Level - Game Room with pool table, bistro table for 2, futon with sleeper, full bath with shower, full size washer and dryer, french doors to new deck with outdoor bar/chairs and hot tub for outdoor enjoyment.
This is a Non-Smoking Unit
Four televisions (living room, both bedrooms and game room)
DVD Player (living room)
Stereo (living room)
Free Unlimited Long Distance in lower 48 states
High Speed Internet Access
Monitored alarm system
Watch video on YouTube
Southern Accent http://youtu.be/Z9PCqbrgoUU
Additional amenities include: pool table, washer/dryer, laundry, nonsmoking, movies(netflix or movie channels), excellent view, single story, hot tub is covered.Read more
Additional Location Information
Last updated on October 28, 2013
Not available for your dates? Check availability for 1,166 other Gatlinburg rentalsCheck Availability for Gatlinburg
Rates shown in $ USD
|See all dates
|Don't see rates for your trip?|
Phone / Internet
- Internet Access
Pool / Spa
- Hot Tub/Jacuzzi
- Pet friendly - ask
- Smoking allowed - no
- Suitable for children - ask
- Suitable for the elderly - ask
- Wheelchair accessible - no
What Past Guests Are Saying
Have you stayed here? Write a review
43 guest reviews
91% of guests would stay again
Great chalet! Older home that has been updated. End of cul-de-sac privacy was wonderful. Good view of Mt. LeConte and Smoky Mountains. Mama bear and two cubs came by on Sunday afternoon. We highly recommend Octoberfest at Ober Gatlinburg if you visit then. We look forward to coming back again.
Best vacation ever...
Stayed seven nights and everything was perfect. It was clean, No problems with cabin. Great view, great hot tub. Easy access from Gatlinburg and Mountian Laurel staff was wonderful. Couldn't have asked for anything better.
Beautiful Views~Affordable & Comfortable
Excellent, Friendly, Fast Service at check-in/out and maintenance.
Beautiful mountain and city views. Good parking, fairly private. Clean, comfortable and adequately stocked.
Close to Obergatlinburg!
Definitely one of the best trips I've had to Gatlinburg...mainly
My family and I have been coming to Gatlinburg since the 70's when my grandfather built the first chalet on the left in the cove in which "Southern accent" resides. Our cabin was recently sold out of our family, so being able to stay in the same cove made it feel like home. The cabin was very clean and the staff at Mountain Laurel Rentals could not have been more welcoming.
You get the best of both worlds with this chalet. Amazing views plus a wooded lot created the perfect outdoor mountain environment. I will definitely stay here again in the future. The only complaint I have would be the walkway down to the cabin seems to be a little unsafe. A few of the stones were loose, but please do not let this deter you from staying here. The trip was very relaxing, and I cannot wait to visit again in the Spring!
Very very nice!
I loved the chalet. We didn't see any bears up close and which some would see as a good thing but we were kind hoping to see one. Lol Other than that everything was awesome. The place was very clean and very nice. Everything was in working order and the view was amazing. We will definitely be returning.
Quaint & Relaxing
Our family had a relaxing week at Southern accent and enjoyed taking in some newer Gatlinburg attractions and visiting a few old favorites. This was our first stay at Southern accent (we've stayed in a number of Mountain Laurel Chalet properties), and the chalet is equipped very nicely, but I was not impressed with its cleanliness; it was in need of a "deep cleaning" when we stayed. Baseboards, floors (other than center of rooms) and other areas were downright dusty/dirty. As far as amenities, we would have enjoyed a garden tub inside but did enjoy some quiet time in the outdoor hot tub. Having WiFi was a plus and made having to do some work on vacation a lot more tolerable.
Malfunctioning alarm System and Bugs
While we love Gatlinburg and have had great experiences with Mountain Laurel Chalets, we did not have a good experience this time. Our accomadations were so subpar that it almost ruined our entire summer vacation. The alarm system in the home would alarm constantly which left us getting up all through the night to enter the code to silence the alarm. We had someone come out about this and they were unable to correct the issue. We had no phone service in the cabin the entire time. The worst part was the bugs. We first noticed small insects in the tubs and around sinks. We the numbers increased we call the office and someone came out to spray. The first day was fine, the next day we cleaned up hundreds of dead bugs only to wake up the next day with more "live" bugs everywhere. The kitchen was completely infested and we had to move all of our food in order to prevent the "lice like" bugs from getting into our food. We complained several times and were told there was not another cabin to move us to. They did give us two adult passes to Dollywood but that did not nearly make up for the headache of staying up all night cutting an alarm off and killing bugs. Still not sure what type of bugs they were but we were told they were some type of lice, assured they were not human lice. Thank goodness none came home with us.
The cabin is nice and the view is great. There is a resident squirrel that will just about eat out of your hand. You are sure to see the momma bear and her cub. I just wish the inside was as nice. We will not come back to this cabin. Read more
Response from Mountain Laurel Chalets - 08/14/2012
I am sorry you had problems during your stay. We have fixed the problem with the alarm. It turned out to be an issue with the phone company and it has been resolved. We contacted our pest control company and the problem with the bugs has also been resolved. They assured us that the little bugs were not any form of lice and they have been exterminated. We do appreciate your feedback and it helps us to better serve our guests. We do hope that you will come back and visit us again.
steve from cincy
amazing mountain view
Just a great chalet the only drawback was the alarm system would not shut off.
Christine H. & Daniel R.
Loved it... So relaxing
We had a fabulous time. Just the nice and relaxing weekend in a beautiful cabin far away from our day to day chaos. Can't wait to do it again. We highly recommend this for anyone/everyone that just needs some serenity.
Loved the View
The view was breathtaking and I loved the easy in and out of the drive way. No steep driveway and easy access to other roads. The one thing that was disappointing was the beds themselves and the height of the toilets. The beds were very uncomfortable and the mattress in the main floor bedroom was in bad shape. It had a very bad dip in the center and when we tried to sleep in it we each rolled to the middle. My son said the top was just as bad. The toilets were very low to the floor and made it difficult to get up or down. I loved the living area and the large kitchen. There was a smell of propane in the air and we had it checked out but they said it was sewer gas but my husband worked with natural gas and propane at the utility divison here and he knows what it smells like, which led him to suspect there is a like outside in the lines. Otherwise we had a wonderfully vacation and look forward to coming back next year but with another chalet.
Pictures do not show how sweet this is.
Wow..! From my first phone call to Olivia on a Sunday I might ad, to the arrival, the ladies in the laundry, to the cabin itself was awesome !! The vie is unreal, the cabin is much bigger then the pics show, TV,S DVD,Juccuzzi, Everything worked Great. Appliances were New and evrything was very clean and nice. Mama Bear and her 3 cubs visited 3 times in 7 days that we saw and it was really cool. My squirel friend ate nuts every morning while I had coffee, Kids Loved everything from the pool table to the view.I look forward to coming back 5 star company, 5 star staff, and Heaven on Earth..It is in a cultasac and had the best view of all of them..We changed the street sign to read..Buckeye nation CT. All out neighbors were from Ohio..We some smart folks..lol Thank You Mtn. Laurel for making my worries go away and a trip for the memories..God Bless Gatlinburg Read more
Response from Mountain Laurel Chalets - 08/08/2011
Thanks for the great review.....but it gets even better. The owner of the chalet is here now and has just installed a brand new stove in the kitchen and a new washer/dryer downstairs....plus, two flatscreen televisions, one in the living room and the other in the upstairs bedroom. Other maintenance things were also accomplished....one of them being a gate on the downstairs deck to keep the bears out (or at least try to keep them out). So, I guess you can say the best just got better!
We stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed out time. The house is supplied with everything you could possibly need and we didn't encounter any of the issues with Tv's etc. It is definitely in need of painting as it is obvious a lot of people have been here. The carpet is also in serious need of being replaced. It would be lovely if they would do it with the same wood floor that is in the living room! And I second the person who said the deck needs to be closed. There was a mother bear and three baby bears who were present regularly and very visible. They wandered onto decks while we were there. We couldn't sit on the front deck and enjoy the view because you would be unable to see them approach and have nowhere to go since the door is on the side that they approach you from. The same goes for the deck that the hot tub is on. Therefore we couldn't enjoy the decks or the hot tub outside which was a big disappointment. And of course there was absolutely no way we were going to grill there! Also the pictures we saw gave the impression that the entrance to the house was level with where you park and that is not so. There are several steps down to the chalet that are nothing but concrete blocks balanced on some ground. Some of these tip and move when you go down which made carrying things in interesting. I felt that is important to mention for people who may be older than we are! Overall it is a nice cottage...if they would just close the decks we would love to return. If you want to see a bear in the mountains this is definitely your place. Read more
Response from Mountain Laurel Chalets - 08/02/2011
Thanks for your review. The owner is here now making a lot of improvements to Southern Accent. Among them, a new flatscreen television in the living room and upstairs bedroom. She also replaced the stove and washer/dryer. She has a contractor on site doing lots of maintenance work and they are talking about possibilities for gates on the decks.....especially the downstairs deck. She is getting first hand knowledge about the bears and I don't think she is not enjoying it very much!
The bear activity has been the highest we have ever seen this year and a lot of it is because people just don't understand that you can't feed the bears. They think "just this once won't hurt anything", but then that bear doesn't know it's "just this once" and keeps coming back looking for more. Then it becomes a problem for both the humans and the bears. The fortunate thing is, the bears do not usually harm the humans. They will huff and puff if people get to close, especially if they have cubs with then, but that's about it. However, a diet of human food will eventually kill the bear and that is tragic.
I have forwarded your review to the owner and hope she gets some ideas from it. We do appreciate you taking the time to write it out.
We hope to see you again soon. ..maybe in the wintertime
Very nice and well maintained Chalet. We have enjoyed our stay.
Had a great time ... Beautiful view
The view of Laconte was one of the best with Gatlinburg below... My wife and I have been coming here for our anniversery for 5 yrs now ...Always through Mtn.Laural and always taken care of .. The cabin was clean and plenty of room .. The only problem was the televisions... The one in the living rm had the only dvd player and it didnt work a couple of times when we wanted to watch it and the picture was very bad ( lines and waves ). T.Vs are old and need to be updated ( It was however in the amenities for the vcrs in the bedroom so we cant complain to much... Funny thing there is an onwers manual for a 42" plasma in the top drawer of the dresser. All in all we had a wonderful experience ..Thanks again . Oh there is a white basket on top of the entertainment center in the living rm that when vibrated sounds like someone is knocking on a window (dont freak out just set in on the floor till you leave.)
Mt. Juliet, TN
Southern accent fell below our expectations.
We enjoyed ourselves while at the Southern accent and while in Gatlinburg. We have previously stayed at the Blue Mist twice but we couldn't stay there on this visit since it was already booked. We had high expectations of Southern accent because of the pictures on the website and the fact that it is more expensive than Blue Mist (Southern accent - $150/night for 2 bedrooms, Blue Mist - $140 for 3 bedrooms). The following is a list of things that disappointed us about Southern accent: all Tv's were old and when we used the DVD player lines were across the screen, fireplace had ashes in it when we arrived, chimney did not vent well and we had to put the fire out because it was making the house smokey (we did have the damper open), there was a used bar of soap in the shower when we arrived which made us wonder if the shower had been cleaned, the firewood outside was uncovered so it was wet (we did ask for more firewood and it was delivered the next day). The best thing about Southern accent was the excellend view! It also has a great hot tub!
Palm Harbor, FL
Traditional chalet with a great view
Overall we really enjoyed this chalet. I loved the traditional a-frame style. The view of Mt LeConte is spectacular, as well as the night view of Gatlinburg. The cozy little loft was a great place to relax and read a book. The only thing that made me a little uneasy was the decks not being totally enclosed. We did see a bear two of the evenings, and it did made me feel a little uncomfortable that it could have walked right onto either deck. The carpeted areas could use a good cleaning or replacement.
Winter Garden, Florida
Quite, relaxing with a great view!
We stayed at Southern accent for 5 nights and just loved the location, the peacefulness and the serenity. We even were paid a visit by a momma bear and her 2 cubs. One cub even came onto the deck and stood up at the front door! Very cool! The view would be even more awesome if one scrub tree was removed directly behind the deck.
The chalet itself was nicely decorated but could stand some general updating. The deck is weathered, the gutters need cleaned and the inside as well could use freshening up. Surprised about the amount of trash in the woods, not just near this chalet but the mountain areas (including the national park) as well left by uncaring, unappreciative people. Really a sad statement about the lack of concern for our environment.
All that being said if you are looking for peace and quite with a great view and a very real potential for seeing bear all at a fair price Southern accent surely is a great option for you. Read more
Response from Mountain Laurel Chalets - 08/02/2010
I agree with you about the trash, but it is not people leaving it there....it is those cute bears you saw. We have a constant problem with the bears getting into the trash containers on the mountain and it is a never ending chore to pick it all up. Unfortunately, not all rental companies have staff who can do this, but Mountain Laurel has two full-time men that do nothing else but pick up trash. Believe me, they don't like picking up "bear messes" either.
We loved Southern Accent!!!!! Great chalet...recently stayed here for our "Mommies getaway weekend" It held all of us comfortably! The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed, the fireplace warmed us up on a crispy day, and the hot tub was awesome! The chalet was very clean and decorated beautifully, the pics on line don't do it justice! And the view was amazing!!! If you stay here you wont be disappointed!
This is a cozy, well-decorated cabin with a great view!
I have stayed with Mountain Laurel before and at this cabin twice. I love the layout and cabin decor. The wood was wet, so we didn't get to build a fire, but everyting else was wonderful!
service at mountain laurel was very good the house we stayed at was nice the
only thing it really needs a light out back where they have the hot tub for night
time, i really wish laurel mountain would send out discount coupons maybe
then we could visit more often. we love gatlinburg
My stay at Southern Accent was great.Can't say enough about the view, it was absolutely gorgeous. I had a fire every morning and evening. Just sat back and relaxed. My son loved the pool table and the squirrels. They would come up to you to get food. Would definitely rent this chalet again.
This was at least our 12th stay with Mountain Laurel Chalets. They are the only company we've rented from and we've never had a bad experience. They are first rate and always responsive to any concerns.
Southern Accent was fantastic. The floor plan was perfect: huge open living space with huge windows and a great kitchen. We especially enjoyed the pool table, fireplace and hot tub and the very friendly squirrels and chipmunks. One night there was a mama bear and four cubs in the back yard. We also saw a gray fox.
The only problem we had was that we ran out of hot
water when I wanted to take a hot bath.
While not our favorite, Southern Accent is high on our list. We always try to rent a different chalet, so we probably won't stay at Southern Accent again, but I would certainly recommend it.
R and R
I love this Chalet. This is the second time we stayed in it and will definately stay again. We made it to the chalet around 4:30 on Oct 2nd and didn't go out until Sunday the 4th in the afternoon to walk around downtown Gatlinburg. We needed the rest and this chalet is a nice place for that.
The chalet is awesome the view excellent Everything was great. Very updated.
This was a wonderful chalet. The view is spectacular and we loved the wrap around deck. The first morning we were there, we saw a black bear come right in front of our house. Our neighbors later told us they had seen the bear on the wrap around deck earlier that week. Since we had two young children with us, we were glad we had brought a gate to block the path to the deck.
The house itself was comfortable, very clean, and nicely decorated. The hot tub was perfect. The only slight negatives were the carpet is a little worn in the great room and the lighting is not that great especially in the kitchen. Other than that, we loved it and highly recommend it.
mom of three
We had a fantastic time while staying at southern accent. place is clean and wonderfully decorated. kids had plenty to do - pool table, hot-tub, view. everything was great - spacious rooms. would stay there again !!!
Virtually everything about our stay in this chalet was perfect.
This chalet in my opinion was one of the best. The mountain view was awesome. We had a bear in our yard 3 times. I could expect nothing more with the layout which included amenities (hot tub, pool table, etc.) There are 3 bathrooms (one on each level.) The wall facing the excellent mountain view is all glass. We loved it here!
The service with Mountain Laurel Chalets is incredible. They were quick to respond when we had a faulty door lock.
Thanks Mountain Laurel Chalets!
I actually had stayed at a different cabin and had some issues with is, but MLC's were so very nice to let me switch to Southern Accent. It's beautiful, 3 stories, the view was astonishing.. I had the best weekend and relaxed in this beautiful chalet. I would reccommend to anyone!!
Very nice home - wonderful view!
We love this home and the view made it worth the while! We had a very comfortable stay and it was very peaceful. We still wish we would have seen a bear, but didn't. We did use the fireplace and didn't have a problem. Maybe people should try opening the flue! It would be worth the owners while to replace the showerheads too.....they are awful. We will definitely stay again!!!
Very Nice Chalet
Southern Accent is a very nice chalet with all the amenities you could want. The view of the mountains and overlooking the lights of Gatlinburg is excellent and the chalet is very comfortable. The resident squirrel is very friendly and we even saw four bears near the chalet.
Mountain Laurel Chalets does an excellent job in maintaining the properties, addressing any issues you have quickly, and making sure your stay is enjoyable. This is our twentith rental with this company and highly recommend them.
Chalet was very nice. Clean. The fireplace had a tendency to smoke the upstairs loft bedroom. The bathrooms need hooks for robes.
The view was spectacular. The kids enjoyed the squirrels and birds feeding on the deck.
Stunning View - Perfect Relaxation!
We found the beautiful chalet & fabulous views to be everything we wanted & more! We were so pleased with the lovely decor and comfy furnishings. The kitchen was thoughtfully stocked with anything needed, and having bed/bath suites on separate floors was great for privacy. We hope to visit again soon!
Wonderful Anniversary Getaway
We stayed here for our anniversary and it was everything the website said it would be. It was perfect. I highly reccomend this for any newly weds or those who are just wanting an anniversary away or just a weekend away.
Teena and Ronny
Bon Aqua, Tennessee
We come to Gatlinburg several times a year. We always enjoy the chalets we stay in. This particular one we have stayed in twice. It's wonderful, what a fantastic view, the house is cozy and decorated very nice. Mountain Laurel is always very nice to us. Some times its hard to stay with them, they are always booked, but we always try them first.
This was a very cozy chalet with lots of room and a great view. Was hoping to see a bear, but none were around during our stay. We would like to return someday, as are stay was most relaxing.
We spent a very relaxing long weekend at Southern Accent as a reunion with a couple of old college friends. It was so comfortably furnished and quietly tucked away that we had nothing to worry about and rarely left the house. The view is gorgeous from the back deck and makes a perfect place to share a glass of wine and catch up. We can't wait to come back!
The property is acctualy on a cul-de-sac of sorts, so it was not as secluded as we expected, but the view from back deck and large family room wall of windows is beautiful!
we have stayed at this property several times and really enjoy it. the view is great and we all love the hottub.
The only negative (and it is a big one) is that the fireplace needs some work. WHen lit, smoke fills the living area even though the flue is open. (Inspect the mantle over the pit- it's black with soot.)
We spent 1 week here at Southern Accent to enjoy some Fall
color. The view from the upper deck was fantastic. The deck
area is good sized and we enjoyed spending time there in the
early evening around sunset. The lower deck area is more
wooded and we loved watching the chipmunks scamper
around on the small yard area below. And of course we made
good use of the hot tub there as well - great after an
afternoon of hiking! We also racked up some time playing
pool. Plenty of room to maneuver around the table - no
cramped shots! The cabin is more than comfortable - the
living room with that incredible view out the A-frame and the
wonderful stone fire place (we made a fire every nite - when
you're from Florida, you take every opportunity to enjoy a
cozy fire you can!)
Although we have not stayed at this particular cabin before -
we always rent thru Mountain Laurel Chalets but we usually
pick a different cabin every time - we would definately stay
Greer, South Carolina
This property was so much fun. We saw 2 huge bear, 1 female and 1 male. They hung around all weekend. It was fantastic to see these wild, but amazing animals. We have never been that close to a bear before. The house was beautiful and well laid out. Thank you so much for a wonderful, amazing weeekend get away!
We enjoyed our stay at Southern Accent very much. The view is incredible. It was nice to have the pool table, and the outdoor bar by the hot tub. The only complaint I would have is that the bedrooms are one on top of the other and the person in the upstairs room can hear noise from the downstairs bedroom and vice versa. It did not bother us though. I would definitely stay here again. The view is breathtaking. We always book through Mountain Laurel Chalets and are very happy with them.
Plenty of room but some minor issues
Decent place with lots of room and a very pleasant view.
I like to cook on vacation and found the kitchen lighting poor at best but this might not be an issue with most people.
The tubs/showers in two of the bathrooms were not in the best condition and we always used the one upstairs, even though we slept on the main level.
My overall rating is average but not as good as several other Mountain Laurel properties that we have stayed in over the years.
Relaxing and Cozy
Staying at Southern Accent was a very nice experience. I would love to go every year. You will love waking up in the morning looking out all the glass windows that view the mountains. Its beautiful and breathtaking. Its quiet and quite cozy. I definitely recommend this Chalet to anyone who would like to experience the beautiful mountains in Gatlinburg.
Gene in Marietta GA
This is a great home away from home. Many place you stay in are cold...but Southern Accent give you the feeling of being home. It has that homie feeling.