|Minimum Stay||3 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Envision a house overlooking a crystal clear rushing river, a home built for romance and family with a combination of open spaces and private places. A Cool River Breeze is located on a beautiful portion of the Little Pigeon River that is STOCKED WITH TROUT FOR YOUR FISHING PLEASURE (License Reqd.). There are swimming holes, tubing and even an island. With only two other homes in sight, one of which is the rustic cabin once occupied by Dolly Parton's grandparents in the 1940's, it defines the words peaceful and serene. A Cool River Breeze is easily accessible without going through the traffic of Pigeon Forge, located 5 miles from Gatlinburg a...Read more
A COOL RIVER BREEZE
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$153 - $234||$153 - $234||$0||$0||3 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
- Reservation Fee - $69 / stay - Fee
Additional notes from owner
A 7 night stay is required during Thanksgiving week. A 4 night stay is required during Christmas and New Year's season.
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 21, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Fort Walton Beach FL
Loved the location. Interior of the house could use some fresh decor. If you like being close to nature and love fishing, this is the place for you.
Cool River Breeze Get-away
5 Stars for Jackson Mountain staff and service.
The Cool River Breeze was on the river (creek where we come from) just as we had wanted. It was not as secluded as advertised as it had the only other cabin on the road within 50 feet (as in, we had the same parking area). Beautiful view and sounds from the river and we did catch 3 brown trout after purchasing license at $33 each. Great local grocery store for supplies. The home was a '70s style, two story with the pool room the only undated room. the two sided up stair porch was where we spent most of our time. Enjoyed the outdoor spa/hottube on the cool evenings. Locals did pass by our cabin regularly (hunting season close?) Repairman spent one day next door which interrupted our peacefulness for that day. The locals at the Sunday morning service in church across the river was an experience that will be the highlight of our stay. We were greeted by each of the sweet spirited people and found that there are still great God fearing people where ever you look. Would stay with Jackson Mountain again, this particular location, maybe? (trouble loading pictues for review...)Home is currently for sale.
Upon arrival, Jackson Mountain Homes rep was right there waiting for us. Directions to the house were excellent! The home was cozy enough, warm and inviting. I loved the atrium doors leading out to the deck/porch area. The master bedroom was my favorite room. Gas fireplace (on a timer which I liked) and just the most relaxing room. We sat on the deck overlooking the fork of Little Pigeon and it was wonderful. The hot tube was a little too cool for my liking. The house needed some updates, in my opinion, but it was clean, well cared for. Beds were very comfortable. Loved the piano. I liked that it was only with one other house on the road, however, I felt the road was a bit narrow. I come from West Virginia, so narrow roads I am very accustom too, however, this one was a just a little too narrow for me. The house was very centrally located being close to Sevierville, Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg.
Peace and Quiet
The cabin is just enough off the beaten path to be enjoy nothing but the sounds of the river below! It was very relaxing and peaceful and our Jack Russell Terrier thoroughly enjoyed playing in the river and finding her first snake!
Upon check-in, there was some confusion with the padlock on the hottub and we noticed the TV in the master bedroom was not picking up the satellite. Since the hot tub was a priority, we called Jackson Mountain Homes right away and they had a maintenance person out within an hour. However, even after maintenance came out, he couldn't figure out how to work the TV in the master bedroom, but did indicate that it shares a receiver with the main TV in the living room, so you couldn't watch different shows in these two rooms. We weren't that concerned with having a TV in this bedroom, so we let it go, maintenance did say they would follow up after we checked out.
The ceiling fan in the master bedroom didn't work either - light does, fan doesn't. The downstairs bedroom could use bedside lamps - the ceiling fan left enough light for the day, but if you wanted to read, those tiny lamps were not sufficient. The refrigerator appears to be on its last legs, the grill is tiny and the ashes were not removed from the last visitor. The house overall just seemed musty and dusty - we figured no one had stayed there for awhile before us. Also, another helpful thing would be to make a note where the outside spigot is located in case you need to add water to the hot tub during a week long stay.
On a great note - the cabin did have rechargable flashlights plugged in- this was extremely helpful when we lost power during a thunderstorm one night!
We are repeat customers of JMH and will continue to be on future visits to Gatlinburg. They are extremely helpful and responsive, and aside from these few issues, I would recommend this cabin.
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 08/09/2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at A Cool River Breeze. We are happy to hear that you found it peaceful and relaxing. We apologize for any confusion regarding the hot tub lock. We hope the TV was not a great inconvenience for you. We will have the ceiling fan and refrigerator both assesed for repair/replacement.
Being on the water can sometimes result in a damp or musty smell; however, we will assess it right away. We apologize that the housekeepers overlooked ashes on the grill and will address this with them. We have scheduled the cabin for a deep cleaning.
We appreciate you bringing these items to our attention and your understanding. We love having you as our guest and hope to see you again soon.
What a good time.
We had a great time at this cabin. It is located next to all of the fun things to do. In fact we did not want to leave. The only reason i did not give this stay 5 stars was the carpet was stained/dirty and the bed was lumpy. People had already listed that in there reveiws so i knew that going into it. I would rent the cabin again and the staff was really nice. All and all this was a good time.
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 07/19/2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at A Cool River Breeze. We are glad that you had a good time! We have scheduled the carpet for cleaning and will have the bed assessed. We appreciate your understanding and hope to see you again soon.
The service at Jackson Mtn. homes was great. The check in was easy and if you had any problems they were quick to respond. The home was very secluded and we liked that. The bathrooms need to be updated and the stairs need better railing but other than that no complaints. We loved the creek and be watchful for snakes. (to be expected it is a creek). We will consider this place for future vacations and the location was perfect.
Liked the layout of the home; the location was just far enough out to be private but close enough to grocery store and gatlinburg shops. I liked the private drive and creek access. Service was fast and friendly from JMH staff. I did not like the bed in the downstairs bedroom; the TVs in both bedrooms would not work. We blew a fuse once in the kitchen but I fixed it.
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 06/25/2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at A Cool River Breeze. We are happy to hear that you had a relaxing stay and apologize that you experienced any problems. We will have the bed assessed for replacement. We will also have any necessary repairs to the bedroom TVs. We appreciate you bringing these items to our attention and your understanding. Again, we apologize and hope to see you soon.
Great location, but cabin could use some updating.
We absolutely loved the river in the front of the cabin...spent a lot of time exploring the island on the other side and sitting on the porch listening to the water. The sofa sleeper bed spring was broken, and it wasn't really usable (we did ok with kids just sleeping on the couch) and the king bed frame in the master bedroom had fallen apart - was able to repair without much trouble. The hot tub had some jets not working as well. Nothing bad enough to call maintenance, but definitely below the high standards we've come to expect from Jackson Mountain. That's why only 4 stars instead of 5.
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 06/11/2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at A Cool River Breeze. We apologize that this particular stay did not meet the high standards that you have come to know and expect from Jackson Mountain Homes. We will have the sofa bed and hot tub jets assessed for repair right away. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and your understanding. Again, we apologize and look forward to seeing you soon.
Reservations online were easy. The staff was very friendly on the phone when I had questions. The Cabin was perfect in every way. My son caught several rainbow trout in the river. All activities were within 15 minutes of cabin however, cabin was very secluded. I cannot think of one bad thing to say.
a true river paradise
This was exactly what our family needed! It took me awhile to research the perfect cabin for our family. First, we wanted to be near a stream/river or at least something to fish in. Then, 2 bedrooms and 2 baths. Finally, somewhat secluded. Cool River Breeze provided all of that and more! While there is a neighbor rental, it is just the two cabins with tons of forest around to explore. we loved the river. This was the highlight of the trip. We swam (yes, it is cold!) we fished, we hiked, we explored and saw all sorts of wildlife. It was a truely amazing place!. The cabin itself was exactly what we wanted. While nothing in the cabin in fancy, it is perfect for what we wanted. a perk was the gameroom with pool table. our kids spent most of the time outside, so the cabin was really for eating and sleeping. The hottob was fun too. We hope to be back soon! Our dog was even sad to leave!
This cabin was in a perfect location for my family. We all wanted peace and quiet. The cabin was just fine and we enjoyed it and would stay in the same cabin again. I will have to agree that the beds are unconfortable and hard, thankfully their is a hot tub.
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 03/28/2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at A Cool River Breeze. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We apologize that you experienced discomfort with the beds. We will have them assessed right away. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and your understanding. We hope to see you again soon!
The Douglas Family
We had a wonderful Thanksgiving week with our daughter, son-in-law and grandson. Love-love-loved the location and the cabin. Lots to do and see at the river and the trails. My only request would be to update the flooring. The carpet is very warn out but the cabin is very roomy and loved the big kitchen. We cooked our Thanksgiving meal with lots of room to spare. We will be staying at a Cool River Breeze again. Would give a five star rating if the carpet and furnishing had been a little more updated. Thank you for a wonderful four days.
House with nice location but needs fixing up
The house has a very nice location next to the river. It also has lots of room. The problem with the house is that it is very outdated and needs fixing up. The carpet is very old and has holes/tears in it. The bed in the upstairs bedroom is very uncomfortable. Did not understand that until I looked under the bed and saw that the frame was held up by books. This would be a very nice house with some improvements.
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 10/31/2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at A Cool River Breeze. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and apologize if your stay was anything less than perfect. We will have the carpet and bed assessed for repair/replacement. We appreciate your understanding and hope that you will choose Jackson Mountain Home for your next vacation or getaway.
Location of cabin is fabulous!! Close to downtown Gatlinburg but secluded enough for privacy!! Flowing river sounds lull you into a trance. Serene,calm, peaceful!! Took family dog who enjoyed nearby walking trails. Cabin comfortable and spacious. Clean. Could use a little updating- especially the coffee maker.(note I'm a coffee snob) but even bringing my own coffee couldn't withstand the old taste of the brewer. Overall, would definitely stay here again!!
Buddy & Gracie
Relaxing and stress free place to be!
The sound of the river was soothing and the wrap around porch allowed our pets to roam free without worry. The cabin was very clean and check in as always was painless. Could have used a few more cooking utensils as we stayed in since we brought our 2 dogs with us. The grill was a little rough but we made do. Very stress free vacation which was just what the doctor ordered!
I loved it! The privacy, the view of the river, the rocking chairs, and more were all perfect.
A beautiful place for a much needed vacation
The house was big and roomy. The creek was so clear and beautiful, we bought rafts and floated around. My favorite spot in the whole house was the upper deck with the rocking chairs. I would sit there every night and watch the trout glow under water in the creek. Very relaxing place. It was our 2nd vacation in 14 yrs. We really needed a Cool River Breeze and would definetly go back and have recommened it to friends.
griff and cindy
fort thomas ky (cincinnati oh)
perfect setting, private, comfortable
everything was great but tv reception was a problem...no espy..and interrupted reception
Melissa from Chicago
I really enjoyed our stay at cool river breeze. It was a short drive from downtown and the setting was quite private (there is one rental next door that was not taken). The road to the home was private. The best feature of our stay was the location to the Pigeon River. Most days the water was low and slow enough for my two children ages 11 and 8 to play and swim. This would not be the case if there was a lot of rain, but we got lucky for most of the week we were there. We ate lots of meals on the ample porch. The kitchen was well stocked with everything you would need to cook.
Eastern Shore of Virginia
Everything we wished for
We enjoyed our stay at a Cool River Breeze. The cabin was nice. The river access was great. The fishing was good. When we arrived our 5 lb. chihuahua (who does't like water) jumped right in the river! Did not want to leave after 6 nights!
This cozy little cabin is not fancy but has all the basics needed for relaxing! Took our 7 and 17 yr old and we all enjoyed playing in the creek right outside the door. Far enough from town to be completely private but close enough to enjoy all the activities. The only complaint I would have is I would loved to have had a couple more days to stay.
Carolina Pool Services
We were very happy with the fishing location but there were very few fish to be caught. Our neighbors fished for 4 days and caught nothing. Per the description of the home, the stream/river was to be stocked. This is up for question. Our neighbors were great even though we were looking for peace and quite. They also had kids and things worked out great. The photos made the place look fantastic so we were a little confused on how outdated the rest of the house was but overall we were ver happy. Last but not least, for the "off season" we though it was very pricy for a couple of days.
Beautiful outside, not so much inside
I have rented from Jackson Mountain several times before and I expected the same standards. This place did not live up to those standards. I was looking for a getaway to relax and read, so the place I rented I wanted comfortable. Inside the house, there is no good lighting. It is very old and doesn't have internet and only about 6 non-Christian TV stations.
Outside is beautiful. I was able to fish and enjoy the outside.
So if you are not spending a lot of time inside, and you enjoy fishing, this is a great place. If not, keep looking.
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 04/12/2011
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay at A Cool River Breeze. We are sorry to hear that this particular home did not meet your expectations. With nearly 200 cabins, we are sure to have the perfect cabin to fit each guest's needs. On our website, we include a list of features for each home, interior and exterior photos, floor plans and much more. Also, each of our reservationsists is very familiar with the features of each home and will be happy to help you choose the perfect cabin to meet all of your expecations. We hope to see you again soon.
We had a wonderful time, fishing, hiking, and hot tub in the snow all made great Christmas memories.
Fort Campbell KY
It was relaxing and quiet!
The in cabin massage was the best, like being on a luxery vaction. It was private no one was staying in the cabin beside us so it was super private. The river running in front, it was just amazing.
Kris from Raleigh
Amazing View & Dog Friendly
We really enjoyed our stay at a Cool River Breeze. It was so nice to be able to take our dogs on vacation with us. I don't know who had a better time fishing us or the dogs. There is a little waterfall right near the picnic table at the river where all the fish hang out! We will be back !
Tennessee Vacation 2010
Nice stay at a Cool River Breeze
The house was nice. The view was great.
I could have used a broom to go after all the huge spiders and their webs. They were all over the porch, both upper and lower.
It was strange to see a gray haired neighbor loading the dryer from the vacation rental unit next door into his truck. I tried to call your office, but the phone would just make a buzzing noise and the call would not go through. My cell had no signal at the house.
Other than that, we had a nice time hiking in the mountains and various other activities in the area.
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 09/02/2010
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay. Even though we do have regular monthly pest control, being in such a heavily wooded area and on the water, spiders and insects can sometimes be a nuisance. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and we will place a new broom in the cabin right away. Thank you for trying to let us know about the cabin next door, the owner was there replacing the dryer. We will have the phone checked as well. We hope to see you again soon!
One of the best!
We have stayed in the area several times, and this house/location was probably the best so far. It is quiet and the river was great for fishing and playing (with deep holes to swim and deep enough to tube after rainshowers!). House very comfortable and home-like. Excellent (closed in) deck with direct view of the river; great for reading,relaxing and watching family fish (also great deck for those traveling with pets). Thanks for a great place to enjoy our vacation!
Robert & Vivian
Felt like home.Great loaction.Loved the sound of the creek,got lost in your thougths.Well be back again.
Fort Wayne, IN
Very nice and calm setting, but some interior and exterior clean
Very nice and calm setting, but some interior and exterior cleaning was needed
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 04/15/2010
Thank you for your comments. We apologize that the cabin cleanliness did not meet your expectactions, we will address this with our cleaners. The next time you visit, if you have any concerns, please contact the office and we will send someone to the cabin right away. We hope to see you again!
Fat n Happy
Relaxing and funfilled
You couldnt ask for better service. The cabin was perfect in every way except the washer and dryer needs updated. What we liked the most about Cool River Breeze was the remoteness.
Cool River Breeze is NOT a Luxury Cabin on the River
Upon arrival at the cabin, we quickly rejected it and call Jackson Mountain to request a new location. The cabin sits within 3 feet of the road with a only small pull off area for parking. The river is not on the home property as we were led to believe from the internet photos, but across the street and down an imbankment. We felt like the internet photos did not accurately portray the relationship between the cabin and the river. The front door was an interior grade door and did not seem secure. The interior while clean was old and tired feeling. The cabin also had a very strong odor of mold and mildew that did not seem healthy and the smell would have permeated all of our belongings during the week's stay.
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 12/07/2009
Thank you for posting your review. We do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with our company. We do not list A Cool River Breeze as being "a Luxury Cabin" as we do not consider it as such. It is an older home that has been remodeled to the owner's taste. The front door is an exterior door original to the home, and the odor is of an older home that is in close proximity to water, therefore giving a slightly musty smell that goes away as the air is circulated when the property is occupied. We do believe that the main picture of the exterior shows the home above the river, up an embankment. Unfortunately this picture does not show the one lane gravel drive that is in front of the cabin. We will post another photo to show this, as our intent is never to mislead a guest. We did immediately relocate you to another property that was a larger, newer log cabin and we understand that you did enjoy your stay at this alternate property. We certainly hope to have you as a repeat guest on your next visit to the Smokies!
4 star river paradise
Whether you want to holds hands and take a romantic walk by the river, enjoy gatlinburg's myrtle beach in the mountain atmosphere, cool river breeze offers everything you will need to take your mind away from the city. Play pool, cuddle by the fire, listen to the river cascade over the rocks, take a hike, fish for trout, look for bears, enjoy the hot tub. There is no lack of room, this beautiful home offers more then 2000 square feet to enjoy nature and all the amenities ccol river breeze has to offer. I can't wait to go back! Two fire places with one in the bedroom.
Started as a nightmare!
When we arrived at A Cool River Beeze, we found it to be nothing like it appeard on the website. It was run down, beds were hard and had flea eggs all over the sheets, The carpet and furniture appeared dirty unlike the new carpet in the photos. We contacted JMH and were given an option which turned our vacation into a good one. We stayed at the Above the Bear Lodge which was very nice and very clean. While at the Cool River Breeze, our small yorkies were attacked by fleas which has cost us over $150 to treat them. Cool River Breeze is nothing more than a fish cabin and should be represented as such for a lot less money. Sorry to be so harsh but I am truthful. Thanks to the staff at JMH for accomadating us with the switch.
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 10/28/2009
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you were happy with the new cabin. We also wanted to let you know that Cool River has been flea treated and we do apologize that happened during your stay. We are having the cabin assessed for a deep cleaning as well.
Wouldn't rent this one again
The river was nice. The home was okay. It needs a lot of maintenance.
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 09/11/2009
We are sorry you were disappointed in the cabin If we knew what exactly was wrong, we would be happy to address the issues. We have recently replaced a bathtub handle and a DVD player along with a TV. If those were the issues you experienced, they have been repaired. Again, we are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and hope your next experience will be a better one.
I would not rent this cabin again
Problem with sattelite and receivers. From discussions with tech that came to repair he was told it was a previous problem. Sat dish could not be located (it was on neighboring property) and when found was covered in vines. This should be checked on routine basis. When fixed still could only get reception in LR and same in 1 BR. Had to use receiver from other BR so it had no service.
Also house was not very clean. Bathroom floor upstairs was dirty and also large cobweb over kitchen sink. One night had a huge spider in downstairs bedroom. Front porch had not been swept.
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 08/12/2009
Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey. In response to the satellite, the technician was correct in that it was a problem before, however, it was a different problem and one that was resolved. The issue during your stay was one of growth due to our incredible amounts of rainfall this year, we have seen record growth. This is why you were refunded part of your stay. The issue has now been completely resolved. As for the cleaning issues, we will be addressing these issues with our housekeepers and for those problems we are greatly sorry. If we had been notified of those issues during your stay, we would have corrected them immediately.
Sir Daddy Doug
Bsyou Country, South Louisiana
Worth a Revisit
We would like to revisit "A Cool Mountain Breeze". The location is great and easy to get to. It was very peaceful and we really enjoyed being able to walk down to the river. The cabin is dated and needed some very minor touch ups. We had plenty of room for a family of five.
Minor issues: low water pressure in one of the lavatories upstairs, couple of the jets in the jacuzzi not working and when we used the grill, smoke was pulled into the cabin by the ac/ventation system
For us, absolutely would like to revisit and stay longer.
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 07/03/2009
Thank you for your comments. We will check the minor issues out immediately and appreciate you letting us know. We look forward to your return visit!
We did not want to leave this beautiful place!
Of all the places we've stayed in Gatlinburg, this was one of my favorites. Very secluded and beautiful, and right across from the river, we had a wonderful, relaxing vacation. I have two small boys, and they played and fished in the river. I had taken my small dog (seven pounds) with us, and we were secluded enough that he could run and play without worry of being run over by a car or bothering neighbors. The cabin was very clean. One thing I would rec is taking a couple of extra towels and maybe some toilet tissue. The staff at JMH was so friendly and helpful, even calling to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. They have won my future business.
Wondeful house, lots of room for kids to play
We chose this house for many reasons. The house sets on a nice flowing stream, large up and down stairs. Also has a deck that wraps around 1/2 of home and a hot tub out on the deck. A big deal to me when renting is a wood burning fire place and this home had 1 wood and 1 Gas fire place. The gas was in are bedroom very romantic. I would recomend this to anyone with kids and or dogs. They will all love this place. Its for sale and we looked into the price because of moving south in the next yr but way out of are range it has 26 acres that come with it. WOW. Only down fall is all the rentals and attractions are getting to exspensive for a family to have much fun. DB
The home was amazing. We stayed for 4 days and had the time of our life. We brought our two dogs with us and they as well enjoyed their stay. The views of the river were absolutely fantastic. The only sad part was it rained and the water started flowing way too fast to allow our dogs to swim. Hopefully next time. Plenty of room for two or three couples to stay comfortably. Secluded and quite even with the cabin next door. I can't wait to come back again next year!!!
New Orleans, LA
We stayed at Cool River Breeze for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. The kitchen and grill were used extensively and we spent many hours sitting on the porch and lounging in the hot tub. The view of the river was spectacular and, although it was chilly, we enjoyed a quick swim. Hiking was also excellent.
Baton Rouge, La.
Honeymooned by a trout filled cold, clear mountain stream. Beautiful, serene and quiet - except for the sound of rushing water. House was very nice, everyting operational. Impressed and will return.
Mountain Laurel Chalets referred us to you because we wanted to brings our dogs with us. We had a great time and such a beautiful place. Very quiet. The river was so pretty looking at from the balcony. We would like to tahnk you and the owners for allowing us to stay in your home and wish to do so again in the future. Thanks again.
The property was very peaceful and quiet. We had our 2 dogs with us who enjoyed the stay as well. With the porch enclosed we could let them come outside with us. Loved it. The downstairs area was perfect for their crates. Loved the fireplace. My only concern was the distance to town.
We visit Gatlinburg / Pigeon Forge once a year. This our first Winter stay. The property was ok not exactley what I am use to. Very Isolated, older than expected, beds were a little hard, stove did not work. Needs a little TLC to get up to par. Would not stay again at this cabin unless nothing else was available. Would be ok for an older couple but not for a family.
Crystal Springs, MS
We loved the view of the river from our balcony and also loved the fact that there was only one other cabin on our road. Being able to bring our dogs was also a big plus for us. The kitchen had everything we needed, the bed was comfortable and the fireplaces were wonderful.
This house was very spacious and had everything we needed. We loved the proximity to the river and the relaxing sound of the water. It was a little further out than we usually stay, but the house was very easy to get to.