|Minimum Stay||3 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Welcome to Brother Bear Lodge, the perfect place for you to enjoy a memorable vacation in the majestic Smokies with friends and family. With sleeping for 16, this gorgeous cabin, located in Black Bear Falls (Gatlinburg's Premier Log Home Resort) is less than 5 minutes from downtown Gatlinburg. Walk out of any of the 4 bedrooms, game room or living room onto 2 large decks running the length of the cabin, thoughtfully furnished with authentic log furniture to enjoy the panoramic view of Mt. LeConte. The lodge features warm, natural wood finishes, high vaulted ceilings, beautiful decor and many high glass windows facing the mountains. Cuddle up...Read more
BROTHER BEAR LODGE
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$310 - $472||$310 - $472||$0||$0||3 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
- Reservation Fee - $89 / stay - Fee
Additional notes from owner
A 7 night stay is required during Thanksgiving week. A 4 night stay is required during Christmas and New Year's season.
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 23, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Mike from KY
A Week to Remember
We recently had family from all around the country convene at Brother Bear Lodge for a week-long reunion of sorts. Everyone was thrilled with the chalet, for the most part. Our only problems were some difficulties with watching movies (many of the wires were out of place) and something getting in our trash (even with the lid closed and latched). This was my third stay at Brother Bear Lodge and I'm sure I'll be back for more.
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 04/25/2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at Brother Bear Lodge. We are happy to hear that you had nice stay and apologize that you experienced any difficulties watching movies. We will have the electronics assessed to make sure that everything is hooked up properly. We will also assess the trash container to see if there is a way we can make it more secure. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and your understanding. We look forward to seeing you again!
We came in for my sons wedding and stayed here and had such a great time. The kids really enjoyed it and did not wanna leave when our 3 days were up but of course neither did I. It was bet clean everything was there u needed and the view was beautiful . We can not wait to come stay again.
Had a wonderful time!
We stayed here 8 nights and enjoyed our time here!
Ya Ya Sisters
I traveled with 4 other women. We are sisters and cousins and have all been traveling together for decades. It was just perfect. I think out of all the trips we have taken this one has to rate at the top. We wan't a view of the mountains but wanted to be close to town. And we got it. We had plenty of room and plenty of privacy. The view was great. Beds were comfortable. With 6 or 7 adults you might want to consider another chair in the living rooms. But we had everything we needed.
And the last night of our stay we had an uninvited guest. Mr. Bear decided to come see us. I'm not sure if maybe we didn't latch our trash container right??? Anyway it was the perfect ending to a perfect trip. We heard some noise and looked out. There he/she was. If was great. We didn't go out or do do anything silly. The bear just took its time going through the trash and then walked off.
We have all had a great time telling our stories about this trip and some of us have already passed along your name to our friends and family...
Fun and Relaxing
We stayed at Brother Bear Lodge with some friends over a long weekend. Picking up the key code at the office took all of 2 minutes. On the way to the cabin, we made several wrong turns as it was dark out and there are so many twisty, turny roads.
The cabin itself is beautiful! The pictures don’t do it justice. Looking straight out from the top deck gives an awesome view of the mountains. Unfortunately, looking straight down gives a view of paved roads and a nearby cabin. There were enough dishes, pots, pan, and appliances to feed an army. You would have no trouble making a large Thanksgiving meal here. Main TVs gets cable and movie channels, but you might want to bring a few Dvds. Mini-fridge downstairs with pool table. Hot tub could hold 5 or 6. We were able to grill on the deck in a rain storm. Easy drive to downtown Gatlinburg. We had more than enough toilet paper, but I would bring extra dish detergent and maybe some aluminum foil for the grill.
Parking for more than 2 cars would certainly be interesting. The charcoal grill is 1 foot away from your parked car on a very steep hill. It would be practically impossible to use it. Just use the gas grill on the deck. The channel changer is what we call a “Jesus Remote” as it controls everything. They have detailed instructions, but it is a bit unyielding if you have never used one before. The bears still get into the “bear-proof” garbage box outside of cabin (which is also a pro, as we got to watch a bear destroy the neighbor’s garbage from the safety of the top deck).
Traffic coming in was light (Wednesday at 9ish pm). Traffic leaving via Pigeon Forge was very bad (Sunday afternoon). I recommend using the detour Jackson Homes recommend on their website during peak times.
New Albany, IN
Exactly what we needed!
The Brother Bear Lodge managed by Jackson Mountain Homes was the perfect place for our group to stay in Gatlinburg. This was the third year for our group of friends staying in Gatlinburg but our first staying with Jackson Mountain. Our group consisted of married and engaged couples in our mid 20's. The cabin was beautiful, clean, well furnished, and had more than enough kitchen dishes, platters, utensils, and gadgets, which was important for us since we prepared dinner for 11 people each night of our stay. The televisions were suberb to watch our favorite teams play while we were away from home. Surround sound, pool table, and dart board were also great. The hot tub was clean and used everynight without any problems. The cabin has a sauna, but we never even used it. Beds and linens were clean and comfortable. The cabin is located in the Black Bear Falls community and is nestled perfectly less than 5 minutes awayaway from downtown Gatlinburg. Grocery store was very close. Overall, a great experience that we look forward to having again with Jackson Mountain Homes at the Brother Bear Lodge.
Pembroke Pines, Fl
As always we received excellent service from Jackson Mountain Homes.They are always very helpful and will try to answer all your questions. The location of the cabin was excellent and central to everything, but it also gave the feeling of being in the mountains. The kitchen was very well stocked, it had almost everything you can think of to cook a meal. What I liked best about the cabin was its location, the kitchen being well stocked, and it was very roomy for us.(4 adults and 4 kids) The Tv's in the two living areas and one of the master rooms were very nice. It would been perfect if the other three rooms would get upgraded Tv's as well. What I didn't like was one of the bathrooms on the main floor didn't have a door. So when you take a shower in the winter it can be quite cold when you get out. Overall we had a great stay at the cabin over the holidays. We have already scheduled another trip for next year, of course using Jackson Mountain Homes.
Great stay, very good chalet with wonderful friends!
The Brother Bear Lodge was a beautiful, comfort lodge with two exceptions; the mattress in the master bedroom is lumpy and very uncomfortiable ( I went home with a back ache) and the master bedroom has no door between the bedroom and the bathroom! No privacy when taking a bath!
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 11/03/2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Brother Bear Lodge. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay and apologize for any discomfort you experienced. We understand what an important feature the mattress is and we will have it assessed for replacement.
The master bedroom does not have a door between the bed and jetted tub; however, there is a door on the toilet closet for privacy there. We apologoze for any confusion and hope to see you again soon.
Very good experience. Jackson Staff was very good in service.
Was a very good experience. The staff was excellent in service. Brother Bear lodge is excellent place to stay. Will definitely to back.
Pine Knot, KY
Loved the cabin. Parking, not so much. It says parking for 4, but no way if the cabin next door is rented and you have no way of knowing that when you rent this one.
Bob and Darla and Family
Dayton, Beavercreek and London, Ohio
This place was great. We love it at Black Bear Falls and are already planning our next trip. The staff at Jackson Mountain is always very friendly and ready to help when asked.
Two bedrooms with two queen beds in each was ideal for our daughters, sons-in-law and the grandkids. There is plenty of room to spread out. The staff at Jackson Mountain is alway friendly and very helpful.
We enjoyed the view from the deck and the game romm, too. The pool is a hit with the kids. If you haven't been here, you should check it out.
Diane and Jim
Great experience! Everyone had a great time.
We vacationed with our children and grandchildren. First time we had done this in a group like this. Experience was great! Very happy we decided to do this.
Great experience for adults and toddlers
Overall, this was a great experience. We stayed four nights with four adults and eight children under five years old. The cabin was a great set up having two living areas and open kitchen area. This cabin had access to the pool which was nice. Everything was extremely clean adn one of the best features was that the kitchen was stacked with just about everything we could have asked for. We will definitely come back to stay and looking foward to staying at this cabin again.
We had a blast!
Our trip to Gatlinburg was fantastic. The chalet was wonderful with the exception of an awful smell on the first floor. We spent most of the trip sightseeing and relaxing on the deck, so it did not keep us from having any fun, but it is worth looking into.
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 04/28/2011
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay at Brother Bear Lodge. We are happy to hear that you had a fantastic trip! We apologize that there was an odor. We will have it assessed immediately and take the necessary steps to remove it. Thank you for letting us know about it. We apreciate your understanding and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Sandra A. Quakenbush
Very nice and relaxing.
Our drive to Gatlinburg was aweful due to the weather but once we arrived at the cabin we quickly began to relax. Very nice accomodations. It was a kind of immediate family get-together and we had plenty of room. My husband complained about the bed in our room (fishing decor) but I was comfortable. We enjoyed the snow our first morning - that was an added plus. Kitched was well stocked with cookingware and accessories - very impresive and it came in handy since we ate b'fast & dinner in the cabin. All areas were clean but the bathrooms showed some wear & tare (new paint?). The toilet paper & dishwasher detergent supplied was not enough for our stay. Other than those couple items we really enjoyed our stay. Thanks so much. This was our second visit staying at this development and we are very pleased. This was my extended family's 1st visit and they were very impressed and want us to plan another stay at the cabins. I'm sure they'll will also visit on their own.
We loved this cabin.So much better than an hotel.Will stay again when we visit again.
A Family Tradition
Home away from Home
The cabin provided a lovely,convient and homelike place to be. Since we have been to this cabin several times over the years, my Grandchildren consider this as "our" cabin and a familiar place to be.
Crown Point, IN
Brother Bear Lodge
We spent a total of six nights at the Brother Bear Lodge in Black Bear Falls. At check in, we were greeted by a very friendly Gal who was very helpful with directions to the unit and even offered coupon savings books for the area.
Upon locating the property our family group of 12 (including Grand Parents and Teenagers) were impressed with the location, cleanliness and the most terrific view of the Smoky Mountains. The Lodge was very clean with 4 comfortable bedrooms,2 large decks, nice whirlpool and a sauna. Our kids did enjoy the pool and the friendly folks who were also using the pool area. The place fit us well as the older folks and early risers were housed up stairs and could not be heard by the sleepy heads crashing out below.
The service was great at JMH but we only needed a garbage a pick up which was quickly done. The roads to the cabin are a bit steep and not for low riding vehicles as we did see a van lose a running board. Fyi...grocery store, gas and fishing stuff was all very close to this location. In downtown Gatlinburg the best place we found to eat that had great food, was affordable, with decent atmosphere was the Smoky Mountain Brewery. We had a so,so dinner at the Park Grill, maybe I'm spoiled eating in nearby Chicago but this place has Chicago prices on only very mediocre food.
I would recommend JMH and the Black Bears Falls area for a great family vacation.
Like a temporary second home.
Brother Bear Lodge was great. The furnishings were all comfortable. The house is very well set up with two Master suites on the main level. The game room downstairs between the two lower level bedrooms is a very nice feature. We enjoyed sitting out on the porches in the evenings, and enjoyed relaxing in the sauna. This was much better and more comfortable than a hotel room. Parking would be a little tight if you need more than two cars or if the next door cabin was occupied, but it was vacant while we were there - so we had no problems.
The cabin was great! Everyone loved it. The kitchen had everything you needed to prepare home cooked meals. The cabins was very roomy.
dewy rose, ga
great time had by all
we had family from ages 85-22. everyone had a great time. brother bear lodge has just about anything you need for a very enjoyable stay. your staff is extremely friendly and helpful. we are all planning on renting one of your cabins in the future. thanks again.
Recommended Stay in Gatlinburg
Everything was as advertised. I thought the bedrooms were nice and comfortable. The downstairs was roomy. Kitchen was well equipped and the tvs were all of great quality. My only complaint would be that the main living room was a little cramped.
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 04/19/2010
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay! When you are ready to reserve your next cabin, just let the reservation know you would like a large living area and they will help you choose the perfect cabin to meet your needs! We look forward to seeing you again!
AWESOME cabin/location - dissappointed with broken Electronic Da
The cabin was beautiful and clean and well equipped with necessities - but we were VERY dissappointed that the Electronic Darts/Board were broken and didn't work, and there was no video game as advertised. One of the reasons for chosing this cabin was for some of the extra's, and to find them missing and not operational was really dissappointing and misleading from the website information.
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 03/25/2010
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that you experienced any inconveniences during your stay. We will send maintenance to check the electronic dart board and make sure the Playstation II is there. Sometimes, guests will move video games to different rooms so that it doesn’t disturb the non-gamers. If you would have contacted the office, we would have sent someone to the cabin right away. We do hope that you give us the opportunity in the future to help you find the perfect cabin to meet your needs.
My family met up with my husbands twin brother and his family to celebrate thier birthday. Really enjoyed our stay.
Great family fun!
Loved the cabin. Very clean, nicely furnished, and stocked incredibly well with kitchen dishes and pots! Fantastic location! In between Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge.
Should be mentioned that the bathrooms have hairdryers. One less thing I could have packed.
Would have been nice to have more bath towels and more dishwasher detergent. We ended up handwashing many dishes because only 2 tablets supplied for a 3 night stay.
Disappointed that recycling is not encouraged.
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 02/04/2010
Thank you for your comments. Just to clarify we do provide one bath towel per person per the maximum occupancy of the cabin. And as per our published information, we only provide starter supplies of laundry soap, dish soap and paper products. However, for short stays, if you had called us we would have gladly provided a couple of extra packets for you. To address your recycling concern - actually Sevier County had a great recycling program. All the trash is picked up and brought to a composting facility. Once there, the trash is sorted and all the plastic and glass is removed and the rest of the trash is turned into compost which is then used in flower beds, etc. We also have recycling drop off locations through out the county for residents to help by dropping off boxes, bottles and plastic. Our county has one of the highest recycling percentages in the country. Thank you again.
Great View and Great Times!!!
Everything was great, the only complaint I have is that the sauna did not operate properly (the light would not come on and it would not get hot enough to use). Other than that, it was a great experience with. The service was great
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 12/18/2009
Thank you for responding to our survey. Feedback helps us identify issues with our cabins and service. I am not sure if you are referring to the sauna or the hot tub, but we will send our maintenance people there right away to attend to it. We certainly strive to have all of our amenities in great working order for our guests. We look forward to serving you again.
The chalet was very nice. Close to downtown but still in the mnts. The only things
we noticed we would change was the one bathroom does not have a door to keep
the warm air in. Another would be the that the floors was so clean they was very
slippery. Other than those couple of things we had a great stay. Thank you Jackson
mountains homes for the great chalet.
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 11/18/2009
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry the floors were slippery due to cleanliness. At least they were clean! We are unsure what you meant about the bathroom door. All the bathrooms have doors and one of the bathrooms has two doors - one into hallway and another door into the bedroom. Sorry about the confusion!
Our October stay was very nice and we really enjoyed the cabin and the leaves in the park. The view from the cabin is stunning.
Overall, the cabin was great. The tv table guide is not current for the channels. An automated shade is needed for the high front window to avoid seeing in from the cabin above.
A very nice cabin for multi. family's
This cabin was just perfect for our large group we have 4 family's with children. We found that the game room was very entertaining, and the hot tub was nice and clean. We cooked in a few times and the kitchen was loaded with everything you would have at your own home. I highly recommend this cabin.
Baton Rouge, LA
Great vacation home
We had a fabulous time at your Brother Bear Lodge. It accomodated 4 families and we had plenty of room. The only down fall was not having bath tubs in each bathroom, but we worked it out! Over all it was a great vacation and the lodge provided all that we needed in every way. Hopefully we will return again soon and I guarentee we will use Jackson Moutain homes again. Many memories made- great times!
Couldn't have been better! The cabin was excellent (and beautiful). I was surprised and very pleased with how nice the cabin was. It was very convenient to Gatlinburg and the shuttle.
The Jackson Mountain Staff was a pleasure to work with and made sure it was a very nice stay. When we had a problem with the grill, they were there within minutes. I think they even arranged to have it snow!