The Doe's Den Cabin in the "Antlers" (Buckhorn, Doe's Den, Fawn cabins) is a real log cabin built in the traditional style, immaculately maintained and having all the amenities for your comfort and enjoyment. Located in the Arts & Crafts Community and adjacent to an undeveloped section of the Foothills Parkway, the Doe's Den Cabin is near shopping and several restaurants for your dining pleasure, where you can enjoy lunch next to a mountain stream or a gourmet dinner. In this peaceful, park-like, forest setting, the color of the seasons abound. Enjoy the privacy, relax in your warm bubbling indoor Jacuzzi or get next to nature in your own out...door hot tub. Just a 5 minute drive to the Gatlinburg Community Center, where for a nominal fee you can take advantage of a state-of-the-art fitness center, 8 bowling lanes, 4 racket ball courts, indoor jr. olympic swimming pool, pool tables, jogging track and much more. Come and enjoy the Doe's Den Cabin. We know you will make it your home in the Smokies! VISIT OWNERS WEBSITE: THE ANTLERS
Additional amenities include: washer/dryer, video game adapters on TV, rocking chairs, no cats please, approximately 10 minutes from downtown gatlinburg, parking spaces (2), pets under 25lb, fireplace-gas (seasonal) (), paved access, located in great smoky mountain craft community, DVD/VCR combo with optional TV guardian, DVD (), pets any size, jet tub-indoor (), access to gatlinburg community center , - billiards, bowling alley, indoor pool, basketball, racquet ball and walking track nearby,.Read more
My husband and I had a great time in this private cabin
Left on 11/12/2013 for a stay in October 2013 | Tina
When I called to book a cabin the girl who answered the phone was very nice and knew all of the answers to the questions I had! Does Den was beautiful and very clean. The bed was very comfortable! Very private cabin! Would stay here again for sure.
Very nice cabin - but needs some updates!
Left on 10/23/2013 for a stay in October 2013 | Marcie
We've stayed in many JMH rentals. Doe's Den was very nice - and probably one of our favorite cabins as far as layout of the rooms, the beds and overall cleanliness. The only problem with this cabin is the sofa and chair in the living room are very uncomfortable, and the poor hot tub is just outdated. We didn't even use the hot tub once we saw that it was just a tub full of hot water with a few jets. To make it worse, we were awakened at 3:00 am by a terrible screeching noise -- it was the hot tub! Apparently it also leaked and the water level was next to nothing. After getting the tub shut off and reported, we decided to pack up and go home. Loved the porches - the rocking chairs and swings, but definitely could use a small table or two to be able to set drinks. Read more
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Doe's Den. We are glad that you enjoyed the cabin and apologize that it was anything less than perfect. We will have the sofa and chair assessed. Thank you for letting us know that there was a problem with the hot tub. It has been repaired. We appreciate your understanding and look forward to seeing you again soon.
beautiful home! But needs attention in cleaning and repairs!!!
Left on 09/11/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | K FOX
The location is very quiet and peaceful! However the driveway to the home is less than wonderful! The home itself is very nice good layout and the porches our wonderful! However the overall cleaning of the home needs major improvement! The two toilets in the home were dirty and stained badly! The upstairs shower\tub would not drain properly so when showering you would stand in your own dirty water! Not nice! We also discovered that when showing upstairs that the tub was leaking into down stairs bathroom dripping water on your head if standing at down stairs sink! There were several blinds in the home broken or completely missing there slates which aloud no privacy!There was also a issue with the frig missing some of its interior pieces. We were also upset that at the end of our stay we reported these issues to a manager and his response was that he was very sorry and noting more! He also question us has to why we didnt report these thing upon arrival.We responded by saying that we did report the blinds to his office on the first day of arrival and that the other things like the tubs standing water and leaking through the floor were'nt noticed right away! Not to mention who wants repair people in your paid in full for rental vacation home durning your stay!! Most of these things like cleaning dirty toilets and broken blinds should of been taken care of long before our arrival!!! We do think if these issues are taken care of? That future stay at this rental would be nice! Read more
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Doe's Den. We apologize for any problems that you experienced. This cabin does have well water and the minerals on the water can and do stain toilets where the water is sitting; however, we have tried to remove as much of this as possible. We did clear the tub drain and checked for a leak from the shower above; however, it was not leaking. If shower doors/curtains are not completely closed during use, sometimes water gets onto the floor and leaks to rooms below. We have replaced the broken blinds and have noted the missing refrigerator shelf. We do appreciate you bringing these items to our attention at check-out. We understand that you did not want anyone in the cabin during your stay. While we do have each home inspected prior to guest arrival, occasionally, we do miss things. And, as you mentioned things such as a slow drain or water leak are not noticed unless they are used. Items that need replaced must be measured, purchased or ordered and unfortunately, sometimes take longer than we would like to be installed. Again, we appreciate you bringing these items to our attention and sincerely hope that you will choose Jackson Mountain Homes in the future.
Great location and very nice cabin!
Left on 08/27/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | Teresa
We have rented several vacation homes from Jackson Mountain and have never been disappointed. This cabin was very clean, the furniture was comfortable which is a plus, especially the beds! We have tried to use a couple of other companies and have not been as satisfied. The location is great also, close to town and in the heart of the arts and crafts. We enjoyed our stay and can't wait to go back.
Beautiful, quiet retreat!
Left on 08/24/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | Susan K.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Doe's Den! The cabin was very clean and the kitchen provided ample housewares for us to make several meals. The view from our front porch and balcony was very green and quite tranquil. We enjoyed the secluded feeling even though we were just a short drive away from Gatlinburg. The Jackson Mountain staff was friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay with Jackson Mountain Homes again!
Relaxation at it's best!!
Left on 07/19/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | Chrystal70
Having stayed at many cabins in the Smoky Mountains through the years Doe's Den ranks very high on my list. Very comfortable, clean and well stocked. The only two things I would suggest is patio tables on the porches, it would be nice to be able to drink coffee in the morning or a glass of wine in the evening and have a table to set it on. The other suggestion would be more lighting, it is very dark/dim in the cabin and I found I had to have every light in the cabin on even during the day. Location is great, but as others have said if your looking for views this cabin is located deep in the woods so you have very limited views. As always Jackson Mountain Homes was fantastic!
Spring Break Gatlinburg
Left on 04/09/2013 for a stay in March 2013 | Dianne
This is 2nd time rending through Jackson Mountain Homes. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great directions to cabin. Cabin was spotless. There was four in our party and plenty of room. Close to sightseeing in Gatlinburg and Pegion Forge areas. Would recommend strongly. Just wished the hot tub was newer and larger.
True cabin in the woods
Left on 12/05/2012 for a stay in November 2012 | John P
This is my second stay with Jackson Mountain and it was all that I expected. First of all, the staff are just like everyone else states, very friendly and very prepared with your information. When you walk in the door, your packet is there waiting for you, no standing around waiting for someone to find your stuff, fill out forms, etc. They give you your packet, show you exactly how to get to your cabin, provide all needed info about how to contact them, etc. All done in about 5 minutes or less.
Doe's den is a true cabin in the woods. About the only sound you will hear are squirrels running around and a occasional dog bark from a distance. The cabin looks just like the pictures. It was perfect for us and our small dogs. The only not so good part is the actual driveway to the cabin. There are some other houses that appear to not be in the best condition that you have to drive past to get to Doe's den. On our first trip up the drive, my wife wondered what we had gotten into. Also, the signage directing you could use some improvement. However, one you get onto the antler's property that all changes. The cabin was clean and well equipped. One note, make sure that you don't need internet or good cell service if you pick Doe's den, maybe one of the best things about this place.
Relaxing with peace of mind.
Left on 11/01/2012 for a stay in October 2012 | Rosamond's
Jackson Mtn. has also provided great service & locations of cabin rentals. Very private and quite with a peaceful environment.Other than not being able to stay forever the only thing we can suggest is a upgrade to hot tub.
Secluded but easy to find!
Left on 09/13/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | SGregory
We loved the cabin. It was very easy to find but off the beaten path. The cabin was great and we really enjoyed having 2 king-sized beds.
Connie Poe Do not display this report of this cabin it is not a
Lost Creek WV
Left on 08/08/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | Connie Poe Do not display this report of this cabin it is not a
Hi Jackson Mountains Homes,
My trip plan from your office staff was great. The cabin was not clean at all bugs every where along with Cob Webs.Spiders, Wood roaches and worms that dropped on our table in our food and hair and even crawled on floors all over we spent our vaction fighting them after I called office on check in after hours on first night to complain, we were sent the cleaning lady. She swept up worms and left. I was not offered another home at all until I checked out early and was on my way home. Toliets were not clean from water dirty looking and the upstairs one had BM on lid underneath and urine on toliet itself. You can stand at end of bed downstairs and see the out side. This cabin needs chinked. My husband was bit 5 times by spiders. He even took the sweeper to the logs and behind the bed as to get spiders out of walls. The ice maker did not work, the kitchen sink faucets really leak bad and the shower curtain down stairs was dirty. We vaccum daily for the bugs and worms. Come on folks you can do better than this. Cabin was beautiful but must be maintained. Your office staff told me they would refund $200.00 on this week stay? When I told them I was leaving.First Vaction we got to take in 20 years was not happy with this cabin's bugs... Made for a not so great of time there. Your bug man said he did not see wood roaches? Maybe you need a new bug man we killed a baby and a big one. Staff is great cabin needs some work...Please... Read more
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Doe's Den. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and sincerely apoloigize that you experienced any problems. While we do have each cabin treated monthly by a pest control company, being in such a heavily wooded area, coupled with the excessive heat, mild winter and rainfall we have been experiencing can sometimes cause an increase in insects. We appreciate you notifying us that there was a problem.
We apologize that the housekeepers overlooked the toilet and will address this with them. We have scheduled the ice maker and kitchen faucet for service.
Again, we are sorry that you encountered any problems and sincerely hope that you will choose Jackson Mountain Homes in the future.
Left on 07/19/2012 for a stay in July 2012 | Little830
Our first morning we woke up with millipedes all over the floor on the inside of the cabin. We called and all they offered to dust the outside and told us to just vacuum the millipedes up. We went to get the vacuum and it wast useable. Te hose was dry rotted and wasn't a hose anymore. With a 1 and 2 year old this was frustrating, we couldn't put them on the floor with all the millipedes. Also it was kind of nasty to think the house is always vacuumed with a vacuum that the dirt just comes right back out the tube. The next morning there weren't as many so we agreed to stay a third night 50% off. The next morning there were over 200 millipedes inside on the floors. So before we could even start packing we had to start killing millipedes and put the kids on
Strollers. We were basically told that is normal and there was nothing else that could be done. I feel we should have been offered something more, a discount, attraction tickets or something. I've stayed with JMH in te past an loved it, but I highly doubt we will again considering I found a millipedes in our kids blocks we took with us a week later. Read more
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Doe's Den. We are sorry that you encountered a problem with millipedes. While we do have each cabin treated monthly by a pest control company, being in such a heavily wooded area, occasionally a cabin may need a second treatment. The excessive heat and rainfall we have been experiencing can sometimes cause an increase in this type of insect. We appreciate you notifying us via email that there was a problem. We were happy to send the pest control to treat the outside of the cabin, per your request and understand that you did not want pest control or housekeeping to come inside the cabin. It typically does take a bit of time for the treatment to be completely effective, as the insects need to come in contact with it before it is effective.
Unfortunately, we did not know the vacuum cleaner hose was bad as the it is for guest use only. The housekeepers are required to use their own. We have replaced the vacuum cleaner.
Again, we are sorry that you encountered an insect problem and sincerely hope that you will choose Jackson Mountain Homes in the future.
Quiet and peaceful
Left on 06/15/2012 for a stay in May 2012 | Jessica
Doe's Den was delightfully quiet and peaceful compared to the hustle and bustle of nearby Gatlinburg, giving us a great place to relax in the evenings.
Doe's Den Delightful
Left on 05/11/2012 for a stay in April 2012 | JWL
We stayed at Doe's Den for a week. The stay was perfect except for a minor glitch with the tvs. The service man came quickly and fixed it. Everything was well done. The only thing missing was a listing of tv channels. Xfinity was too many channels to surf. But the overall experience was delightful.
Remote and Scary!!
Left on 03/28/2012 for a stay in March 2012 | jschirn
The cabin was way to set back and to far away from everything. Also the road to axcess the cabin was a little scary. The cabin itself was just average and worn. Read more
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Jackson Mountain Homes. We are very sorry to hear that your stay was anything less than perfect. As you can see from other reviews, most guests really like the location of Doe's Den. The owners work diligently to maintain the cabin. Many guests love this cabin so much, they come back frequently and always request Doe's Den. We are sorry you did not feel the same and understand that not everyone likes the same thing. We do hope that you will choose Jackson Mountain Homes again in the future.
Left on 11/16/2011 for a stay in November 2011 | C Davis
We had an excellent experience with our stay! The kitchen was well equipped, the cabin was clean, everything was just as pictured. The "boombox" was non functioning and there is no wifi, but everything else is just lovely! In the middle of the arts & Crafts area and only a few minutes from downtown Gatlinburg, it was quite secluded, yet close to whatever you may be interested in doing. The folks at JMH are super friendly and efficient. All in all, a most excellent experience! I was really hoping to see a bear, but alas, no bear! Lol!
Left on 11/09/2011 for a stay in October 2011 | Betty Anderson
We enjoy Dos Den, but it lacked in comfort, as far as the furniture in the living room. Very uncomfortable sofa and chair. Not enough end tables, lighting was very poor in living room. Location was great, close to places of interest. Loved renting from Jackson Mountain Homes, very kind, and easy to deal with. Will choose another cabin for next year. Have already picked out one..
Quiet and peaceful!!
Left on 08/26/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | THE PARTRIDGES
It was very quiet,we had two granddaughters with us and they turned the radio on in the truck and danced in the yard,didnt have to worry about them bothering anyone.We also enjoyed the grill and table outside.Nice place to stay,house was clean and comfy.
we had a great time
Left on 08/18/2011 for a stay in June 2011 | tommy
everything was great on our stay will stay at does den again
Left on 08/18/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | MP
We stayed at the Doe's Den 7/30-8/2. The cabin's rooms are spacious. The only thing that was a little tight on space was the dining area. It's in the kitchen area, right by the entry door and behind the sofa. It was a little awkward. Other than that, we really liked the cabin. It was very quiet and in a great location. Also, if you have a very low car, like a Toyota Prius, be aware of the road leading to the cabin, there is a pretty good size pothole that your car wont like.. Jackson Mountain is a great company to rent a cabin from.
Left on 07/07/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | Pat
This was a great cabin. The cabin was in great condition, comfortable furniture and beds. Loved the hot tub. Didn't care for the distance from Gatlingburg, would have rather been a little closer.
A Wonderful Place for Peacefulness and Relaxation
Left on 04/23/2011 for a stay in April 2011 | Carol G.
A great cabin to rent! The cabin was so clean and all of your essentials were provided. The beds were really nice ones
so it was easy sleeping. It is a wooded view that is beautiful. Two other cabins are nearby so you're not up there alone which we liked. The area of these three cabins were nicely landscaped to go with the scenery. Inside the cabin was cute and cozy. We loved it!
Awesome, clean, private, inexpensive, beautiful
Left on 04/22/2011 for a stay in April 2011 | Heather
We will definitely be back. Beautiful cabin and very private. Nice place for the kids to ride bikes. 5 minutes from Gatlinburg. The whole family enjoyed it very much!
Lovely Mountain home
Left on 03/31/2011 for a stay in March 2011 | Rose
Beautiful mountain home...excellent accommodations and forest views...very peaceful and comfortable and quiet...
nice hot tub on back porch (high above forest ground)...
also rapid response by Jackson Mountain Homes staff when need arose (wasps issue--tends to be an issue in forest at this time)...Thanks!
The Hutchinsons and the HIlls
Louisa and Ashland, KY
We had the "ahhh" recation when we walked in!!
Left on 02/24/2011 for a stay in February 2011 | The Hutchinsons and the HIlls
We had searched for days for a cabin on the internet--we wanted two rooms with king beds and a hot tub. We found one with Cabins USa. Upon arriving to this rented cabin (Big Sky View), we were disgusted. The porches were about to fall through, there were dead lady bugs everywhere, a live roach in one of the bath tubs, a dead roach in the kitchen, and the hot tub had mud caked in the bottom. We demanded a refund and called Jackson Mountain Homes! Lynda assisted us on the phone and directed us to her office. She had pictures of cabins up on the computer screen when we got there. She asked us a few questions about what we wanted in a cabin. She quickly analyzed our desires and delivered 4 cabins for us to view. We veiwed a few cabins online, then she gave us the keys to go look at the cabins, before we had to put any money down. Doe's Den was the first one we walked into and we had the "ahhh" reaction when we walked in there!! I commented to my friends that this was the reaction you are suppose to have when you walk into a vacation place. We were extremely satisfied with our stay and will in the future choose to stay with Jackson Mountain Homes!!! We feel that any cabin they represent will be just as excellent! We highly recommend Jackson Mountain Homes and if you have any questions, ask to speak to Lynda!! She was great, friendly and very efficent!
Walton, West Virginia
Left on 12/13/2010 for a stay in December 2010 | The Moores
This cabin was just perfect. The staff at the office was just wonderful. Check in was so easy and they gave us perfect directions to the cabin. The cabin was clean and just the right size to stay in. We have stayed at JMH with our daughter over the years and we will be staying again and again.
JERRY AND LINDA WILLIAMS
Our home away from home.
Left on 12/08/2010 for a stay in October 2010 | JERRY AND LINDA WILLIAMS
This is the perfect location. A feeling of being away from town but close enough to be any where is a Resonalbe time.
We have stayed at does den many times and feel like it is our second home
there are things that need to be done like better lighting and some one to check up on the cleaning crew and making sure every thing is in working order before one arrives. These are small things but will ad more value to ones stay. On a scale of 1 to 10 I feel does den is a 9.5 and will continue to stay here. We Vist the Smokey's twice a year, in the spring and the fall and as long as it is availible here is where we will stay.
Thanks to the owner for making our visits more perfect...
Jerry and Linda Williams.
Also Natasha our over Grwn cream chow... Last fall was her 24TH Vist to the Smokey's,
she gives doe's den all paws up!!!
Ft. Mitchell, KY
Left on 12/06/2010 for a stay in November 2010 | Lyndsey
When my husband and I travel to Gatlinburg, we will always being staying at Doe's Den!!
Left on 11/24/2010 for a stay in November 2010 | Marie
The cabin itself was nice.. decorated well. The hot tub was great. The appliances were sub par -- stove old and one burned was unusable - refrigerator - old, washer and dryer - - washer squeecked and squealed and dryer required 3 dries before clothes would dry.
There was mold on the shower curtain in bathroom upstairs and the pots and pans are old - need replaced. The skillets have the stuff peeling on the inside (teflon) that has been shown to have carcinogens. Dirty pan in the drawer under the stove. The DVD player in the living room was not hooked up to the tv and the blower on the fireplace did not work. Lots of small things that were inconvenient.
The cleanliness of the cabin was average with certain parts of it being dusty and obviously not cleaned well. Have stayed in other cabins and this is probably the worst one. I would not stay in this specific cabin again. Read more
Thank you for your comments. We apologize that you experienced any problems during your stay. We will have the stove burner, washer and dryer & fireplace blower checked right away. We will also have the shower curtain and pots & pans replaced. Again, we apologize that you experienced any problems hope that you will give us the opportunity in the future to provide you with the perfect cabin to meet all of your expectations. And, if you experience any problems, please contact the office and we will send someone to the cabin to take care of it immediately.
Left on 10/20/2010 for a stay in October 2010 | Casey Addison
The location of the Doe's Den was spot on perfect..the cabin was beautiful and clean and the views was breath-taking..it was close to all kinds of neat shopping and wonderful food..the cabin was so comfortable and the 2 bathrooms was a huge plus..we would stay there again and plan on doing so in the future..the staff was certainly a plus..they made us feel like we were valued "tenants"..thank you for such a perfect place to vacation.
Left on 10/13/2010 for a stay in October 2010 | Jane
As always the staff and service during my stay where wonderful. Had a problem with the aC/Heat system and they were on top of it. Problem was fixed asap. My stay was wonderful. The cabin was clean and a pleasure. I really want to thank the staff for all their help. My two schnauzers really enjoyed their stay also.
Loved this place
Left on 09/22/2010 for a stay in September 2010 | The Walker's
We could not have been more pleased with our stay while in Gatlinburg. The "Doe's Den" cabin was as cute and clean as could be. We loved the decor, the log-style bed frames were beautiful, great location, etc... The ease and friendliness of the staff at check-in was exceptional. If we ever get the chance to visit again, we would definitely use Jackson Mountain Homes again. We highly recommend !!
Left on 08/15/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | Kathleen
I loved staying in Doe's Den. It was secluded yet close to everything. I loved the rustic feel but luxurious comfort! I visited on the recommendation of my brother and his family. I hope I can stay again another time!!!
dawson springs kentucky
absolutly beautiful i wished i could take the cabin home with me
Left on 08/02/2010 for a stay in July 2010 | stephanie
The cabin was in a beautiful area, although not a secluded as i would have liked but we were not bothered at all. The check in was easy and very friendly people. I would definitely recommend this cabin to anyone, and this cabin is pet friendly so we were allowed to take our pet with us.
Get me out of Indiana!
It was very relaxing and quiet!
Left on 06/20/2010 for a stay in May 2010 | Get me out of Indiana!
This is a great cabin if you are looking to get away and not be close to lots of other tourists. There is only one cabin near this one but you are unable to see it well because of the trees. Only bad thing is if you are looking for a view from a cabin there isn't one from this cabin.
Back to Nature
Cabin ok - area not so great.
Left on 04/14/2010 for a stay in April 2010 | Back to Nature
Direct TV didn't work and our stay was through the Final Four games so that was a problem. Location was kind of strange - with trailers, and residential houses right down the road. We would have rather stayed with access to wooded walking and biking areas. As a whole - our Gatlinburg experience wasn't very good. We brought our mountain bikes thinking that there would lots of trails - there were few!! Probably won't be back to the area, but go to less populated areas in TN. Read more
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. There are many trails located inside the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, just a few minutes drive from downtown Gatlinburg. We apologize that you experienced satellite problems. We sent someone to the cabin as soon as we were notified and called DirecTV to repair the satellite service. We do hope you choose to visit our area again and hope you will give us the opportunity to find you a cabin that meets your needs.
Doe's Den Divine
Left on 04/12/2010 for a stay in March 2010 | ARD
Jackson Mountain has a professional, organized and attentive staff. Staff leaves you alone, but you know they are there if you need them. Doe's Den is a spacious and comfortable "home", clean and complete with all the amenities we wanted and enjoyed - hot tub, grill, deck, king-size bed, and a loaded kitchen for cooking in. The location was nestled up the way from a trail of art galleries and shops and down the road from a scruptions tea room (Wild Plum)if you're looking to dine beyond a Pancake House. Only complaint was the last night of our stay, guests of a nearby cabin had dogs that barked and whimpered throughout the evening.
Coastal Carolina Family
New Bern, North Carolina
Not enough time!!!
Left on 11/19/2009 for a stay in November 2009 | Coastal Carolina Family
My only complaint is that we only stayed for four days. We had a quick and easy check'in. They made courtesy calls to ensure our stay was satisfactory. We only had one minor maintenance issue and they were there to fix it with in the hour. I would've liked more outside light around the picnic area but it was sufficient for roasting marshmellows after dark. We really liked how clean and orderly the cabin was and the hot tub on the back porch was icing on the cake. We plan on returning next fall.
Not the cabin I hoped for.
Left on 11/18/2009 for a stay in November 2009 | BMCGINNIS46
I always rent from Jackson Mountain and have always been pleased with the cabin/chalet that I have rented,but this cabin lacked the warmth and value of what you pay to rent the cabins. The cabin carpet was in need of replacement in the bedroom, they were animal marks on the doors of the master and second bathroom, the dvd did not work (Jackson Mountain was very prompy in replacing), they had direct tv which we had no tv for the last day and still not tv the morning that we left and we had some outside rodent problems that were running around the tops of the wall around the hot tub that I did not find enjoyable so we did not use it for 2 nights. The cabin lacked the warmth and some amenities that I have found in most of all the other cabins that I have rented. This may not be important to some people but the cabins stay is not cheap and so I don't think I got my monies worth this time. I would not rent this one again. I also like having the outside deck and we like to set outside and see the beautiful view and set there and drink coffee or have breakfast and they did not provide and kind of table that would have made it nice. Read more
We are sorr y you were disappointed with with Doe's Den. We would like to address your concerns. First, we will most certainly pass along your comments regarding the carpet and the outdoor furniture to the cabin owner. Those are great suggestions. Direct TV was experiencing problems due to weather during your stay. Unfortunately, that is out of our control and cable tv is not an option in this location. Because this cabin borders on National Park property, there are several critters including squirrels which is most likely what was on the hot tub. However, we will have pest control inspect for mice. We have over 170 cabins, so we hope that will give us Jacskon Mountain Homes another try in a different location.
Overall Enjoyable stay
Left on 10/16/2009 for a stay in October 2009 | mayb
The only thing that they need to go in & update are the pots & pans. They were old non-stick & the non -stick was coming off so bad we wouldn't use them. Also it is a 1 bedroom w/ an open loft, so if you are traveling w/ 2 couples there is a lack of privacy. But overall it was a nice stay & we enjoyed ourselves. The first night the heat didn't work so the next morning we called & they had someone out to fix it w/in an hour, so that was nice that they responded so quickly. Read more
Thank your for your comments. We will assess the kitchen for new cookware right away. We are glad you enjoyed the balance of your stay!
Left on 10/15/2009 for a stay in October 2009 | prattville
Had a really nice experience during our visit. The cabin was very clean and decorated nicely. Tall trees surround the cabin. You have a steep driveway but the parking area is flat. Loved how it was so quiet and peaceful away from the busy traffic of town.
Left on 09/30/2009 for a stay in September 2009 | The Baker's
This was a great little cabin-it was private enough to give serenity but close enough to things that you didn't feel like it was too far to drive to things.
I'd recommend only that the home needs better lighting, particularly for reading. The lights by the bed are not sufficient to read by (and the living room one too).
Otherwise, we had a good experience (even with the racoons trying to get into the trash!)
Big Stone Gap, VA
Restful time at a very nice cabin.
Left on 09/23/2009 for a stay in September 2009 | R Gilley
The service was excellent--the person helping me make the reservation was great.
The cabin was nice and clean. The hot tub was very nice and we loved it. It was located close to Gatlinburg while secluded which was exactly what we wanted.
The cabin fixtures were log which was what we wanted. The only complaint we had was the road to it was a little rough and finding it late at night was somewhat difficult.
Overall very good.
First time disappointment
Very Disappointed this time with Jackson Mtn. Homes
Left on 08/19/2009 for a stay in August 2009 | First time disappointment
We have used Jackson Mtn. Homes many times throughout the years as the place to rent our cabins when we visit the Smokies. We've recommended Jackson Mtn. Homes to people looking for a place to rent. But I'm afraid that our luck with Jackson Mtn. Homes has run out....The last cabin we stayed in needs to be cleaned thoroughly! There were cob webs in the corners of the rooms. There were cob webs on the "antler" chandelier. There were cob webs and lint on the curtains over the sink. The carpet had several stains, and snags. When sitting on the couch there was a strong urine odor. The bathroom downstairs needs to be updated and cleaned. We did enjoy the privacy and the view, but was disappointed with the cabin's cleanliness. Read more
We are so sorry you were disappointed in your cabin and had you notified us during your stay, we would have sent housekeeping right up there. We have the cabin scheduled for a deep clean assessment. Thank you again.
Left on 06/12/2009 for a stay in May 2009 | infield51
This is a very nice cottage located on the edge of the Great Smoky Mtn. Park. Very comfortable accomodations, with a beautiful view of the park from the back deck. It's not easy to get to - it's really hidden away, but it is worth the drive to get there.
Left on 04/15/2009 for a stay in April 2009 | lrayrn
We stayed at Does Den cabin the 1st week of April. I have stayed many times in the Arts and Crafts Community. Does Den is on a single-lane, steep lane. Get up some speed as you turn uphill toward the cabin!
If you are a seasoned GSM visitor, you will enjoy the solitude of this cabin. Be aware you are next to the National Park and animals such as flying squirrels make noise around the cabin and on the rooftops at night. Don't be scared! They are the size of a grilled-cheese sandwich with legs.
We were less than a mile from the Greenbrier entrance where our favorite hiking spot, Porters Creek Trail, was full of wildflowers. This trail is at the end of the road before going up to Ramseys Cascades.
Our cabin was very roomy and comfortable. A large, covered, front porch with rockers was my favorite spot in the mornings. The picnic table is large and sits beside the park side of the house overlooking tons of hardwood trees.
We always are satisfied with JMH rentals and Melissa is awesome in the rental office! I would recommend this cabin to adults looking for peace and quiet away from the crowds.
Left on 04/09/2009 for a stay in October 2008 | ricky b
The cabin was very quiet,roomy and clean. It was well stocked. This was one of the most clean cabins we have ever stayed in. The cabin is next to the National Park which offers great views of wildlife.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.