- 2 bedrooms
- 2 bathrooms
- Sleeps 6
Description from the manager
Make Green Gables, a quaint "A-Frame" chalet with a touch of Ireland, your getaway to the Smokies! Warm wood finishes, floor to ceiling windows with partial views of the mountains from the deck plus thoughtful amenities make Green Gables the perfect choice. Relax in your private hot tub in the romantic gazebo, or challenge friends and family to a game of pool in the game room. There is even foosball and a table multi arcade game. Enjoy the quiet sounds of nature from the rockers on the deck or cozy up in front of the stone gas fireplace. Don't forget to bring your four legged friend as this chalet is pet friendly. Whatever your plans, just mi...nutes from downtown, the main entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park or Ober Gatlinburg, start your Smoky Mountain vacation today at Green Gables!
Additional amenities include: pool table, foosball, washer/dryer, jet tub-indoor (1), access to gatlinburg community center , - billiards, bowling alley, indoor pool, basketball, racquet ball and walking track nearby., DVD (4), parking spaces (2), minutes from ober gatlinburg ski resort and indoor ice skating, table multi arcade game featuring pac man, fireplace-gas (seasonal) (1), very private!!, pets under 25lb, steep paved driveway that is level at the top, approximately 10 minutes from downtown gatlinburg, 52" large screen TV, pets any size, close to clubhouse and seasonal pool nearby, clubhouse - pool � meeting rooms, private patio off each bedroom.Read more
About the manager
Jackson Mountain Homes (865) 277-6752 Full profile
Response rate: 100%
Response time: Within a day
Calendar updated: today
Overall rating: 4.7 / 5.0 based on 5,728 reviews and 186 properties
Additional Location Information
Last updated on September 17, 2014
Not available for your dates? Check availability for 1,093 other Gatlinburg rentalsCheck Availability for Gatlinburg
Rates shown in $ USD
|See all dates
|Don't see rates for your trip?|
- Reservation Fee | $69 per stay
Additional notes from the manager
A 7 night stay is required during Thanksgiving week. A 4 night stay is required during Christmas and New Year's season.
Phone / Internet
- Internet Access
Pool / Spa
- Hot Tub/Jacuzzi
- Shared outdoor pool (unheated)
- Satellite or cable TV
- Pet friendly - ask
- Smoking allowed - no
- Suitable for children - ask
- Suitable for the elderly - ask
- Wheelchair accessible - ask
What Past Guests Are Saying
Have you stayed here? Write a review
58 guest reviews
94% of guests would stay again
Excellent accommodations in a beautiful area
Our stay at the Green Gables couldn't have been better. We had all the comforts of home as well as an excellent view of the mountains. Staying at the Green Gables offered all the convenience such as excellent internet service and cable TV. As usual, our service offered by Jackson Homes was excellent. Check in and out was easy. What we enjoyed most was the location of the cabin and all it had to offer.
Nice cabin - interior needs attention
The cabin location provided convenience to activities. However, some items within the cabin are worn such as couches, bedroom mattress and carpeting. The upstairs (2nd) bedroom and bath are small and not private or comfortable. The balcony off the 2nd bedroom had an enormous spider web which my wife walked through. Overall, the cabin is not bad, but needs updates. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 09/24/2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Green Gables. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and apologize if it was anything less than perfect. We will have the sofas, mattresses and carpet assessed. The cabin, including the balcony and deck, was cleaned prior to your arrival; however, as you know, being in such a heavily wooded area, spider webs can appear in these outside areas in a matter of hours. We are sorry to hear that your wife walked through one. We appreciate your understanding and hope that you will choose Jackson Mountain Homes for your next vacation or getaway.
We had a wonderful stay at Green Gables! Very updated, clean and spacious. Quiet area and beautiful scenery! We have 2 kids ages 8 and 9, they enjoyed the game room tremendously. It turned into a very fun, rainy, family night thanks to the game room! The hot tub wasn't working when we arrived (hit by lightening) but Jackson Mountain Homes sent out a repair man within the hour and on a weekend! The highlight at the cabin was seeing a bear walk down the driveway...so cool! We definitely will be visiting again!
Had a huge ant problem and came home with bites but not sure where they came from. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 07/03/2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Green Gables. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and apologize that you had a problem with ants. We do have each home treated monthly by a professional pest control company; however, we would have been happy to send them to the cabin to treat for ants if had known you were experiencing a problem. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and hope that you will choose Jackson Mountain Homes for your next vacation or getaway.
We absolutely love Green Gables.
Green Gables was an excellent place to stay. It is roomy, comfortable, and exactly how it is described. We ended up having to do a late check in and had no problems. It was very simple and the office was very accommodating. We all enjoyed our visit. We all enjoyed the video game and pool table. It was nice to get to show the kids games we used to play. It was very relaxing to get to drink coffee on the deck and/or swing and just enjoy being outside. The location was great. Our GPS told us about a shorter way to get to 441 instead of going through downtown Gatlinburg. So, it made our trips to Pigeon Forger shorter. By going Wiley Oakley and Campbell Lead roads off the bypass. But, when we wanted to get to downtown Gatlinburg or the National Forest we were only minutes from it. Green Gables is definitely a chalet that we will return to on our next trip to Gatlinburg.
Great vacation house
Nice and secluded with a great veiw of Ober Mountain ski park! Just minutes away from Ober and downtown Gatlinburg.Driving up the mountain was a little scary for the wife.Drive way a little steep but only see a problem if there was snow or ice.Enjoyed the arcade game that I haven't played in 20 years.Great family home to vacation to,will return again.
Peaceful Scenic Cabin Experience
If you are looking for the perfect quiet get-a-way in the Gatlinburg area with a view of Ober Gatlinburg Ski Mountain, then this is the cabin for you! Green Gables is a well-kept multi-story cabin that has comfortably met our needs as a family of four (including our miniature Schnoodle!).
As I write this, we are actually here at the cabin this weekend for our second trip back. The cabin is off the road but only minutes away from downtown Gatlinburg. The cabin is fully furnished and comes with lots of amenities. A true gem of a place to stay!!
The Clay Family
Great family bonding!
Our trip was great with Jackson Mountain homes we arrived at night which we didn't plan for so it was a little scarey going up the mountain to the cabin, but we made it. The instructions were easy to follow to the office to pick up the keys after hours. The complaint we have is the directions that the office gives to go up to the cabin are very mis-leading, the lights are not numbered according to the map provided by the office. We stopped at the local liquor store and were given directions to river road and we found it after that. The floor was soaking wet beside the whirl pool inside tub for some reason but Jackson Mountain Homes was very polite about sending extra towels and not blaming us for the mis-hap. The man came to fix the fireplace pilot light that wouldn't stay lit really quickly and he was very nice. My kids loved the games in the cabin, the privacy, the location, the look of the cabin, everything was beautiful and we got a lot of quality family time in this cabin. It's close to everything and beautiful we will stay with noone else but Jackson Mountain Homes in the future and we can't wait to come back in the summer or fall as we went int he winter and it was beautiful with the blanket of snow and everything but we want to also experience it in warmer weather. It was perfect, my husband had an awesome birthday at Green Gables, we can't wait to come back!
New Albany, IN
Everything I wanted in a cabin
This lovely cabin is great for a family stay or a romantic getaway. I am a repeat offender. I must admit I have stayed in this cabin on more than one occasion. I love the master suite and the large Jacuzzi. It's perfect for the whole family or a candlelit bubble bath. The hot tube in the gazebo is also perfect for hanging out on the deck. There is also foose ball, a pool table, and a game table for the kids. In this cabin there is something for everyone. I really enjoyed the fully equipped kitchen which I could not get enough of. I plan on returning. I hope you don't beat me to it. Enjoy you will not be disappointed.
The Bell Family
Great experience with our Dogs!
We wanted to bring our two large retrievers to the Mountains with us and never dreamed we'd find a cabin where they would be accommodated but we came upon Green Gables. We Loved it! The decor was homey, the kitchen was very well stocked, the property was private but close to Gatlinburg and we enjoyed the hot tub and outdoor space. We definitely plan to return. The master suite on the lower floor was nice and quiet, and the upstairs bedroom was comfortable and we enjoyed the balcony off of that bedroom for our morning coffee with the views! The kitchen was so modern and the large game room upstairs was wonderful - pool table and video games and the TV kept our 10 year old very happy. The decor was simple but clean with all of the modern conveniences - the large flat screen made movie watching a pleasure and a local company even delivered us a pizza! The fact that we could bring our large dogs was a huge plus and they felt right at home in the gravel yard out front. We will definitely use this cabin again and would recommend it to anyone.
Best Lodging Experience
I can not thank Jackson Mountain Homes enough for a wonderful experience in Gatlinburg, TN. Had it not been for our wonderful lodging experience, our vacation would have not been so good. When I started to look for a cabin to rent, Jackson Family Homes was the only rental company that seemed to have time to talk to me on the phone. I called many companies. The cabin was clean and just as we expected. Green Gables was perfect for our family. The pictures do not do justice. The view off the deck was amazing. The hot tub was perfect and did not loose any heat while we were there. Our kids loved the game room and my husband and I loved the great floor plan with the private master sweet. As previous renters noted, we were worried when we saw the long/steep drive way. No worries however. My Hyundai Sonata made it just fine as well as my husbands Ford F150. We had plenty of room to turn around up by the cabin. We were greeted with a pristine cabin and we had plenty of starter garbage bags, toiletries, etc. Thanl you again for the base to the perect vacation. We also had a bear come and visit us..Loved it!! Also, we brought our to mature dogs, one lab and one golden. They also loved the cabin and Jacson Family Homes were very accommodating to our four leggd famiy members!!
St. Thomas, Ontario
Beyond all our expectations!!!
Right from the start, our experience with Jackson Mountain Homes was great. The staff member we spoke to on the phone when booking was so pleasent and helpful and when we arrived we were again treated very courteously. We stayed in Green Gables, and I honestly cant tell you how happy we were with this home. It was so wonderful, with everything we could want right there! Relaxing in the mornings on the deck and enjoying the breathtaking view was one thing I loved. There was so much privacy, as well, so we could all really unwind. Also, the activities available in the area were endless. We tried to fit in as much as we could during our week, but we only covered a small bit! Truly, our stay was heavenly! I believe I could have sent for my things and lived there forever!!!
We definitely plan on returning, and have told several friends who now plan on booking their own vacation with Jackson Mountain Homes.
Thanks so much for the fabulous time!!!
A great cabin in the woods
Green Gables is a great cabin: we went there with the kids and they loved the pool table, the jaccusi, the community pool, the mini fussball and the Donkey Kong (that reminded us of our childhood!). The cabin was perfectly clean, well situated, had lots of natural light and was very convenient. The view was very nice also. It was also very convenient to have access to wifi.
The people from Jackson Mountain Homes were very helpful and called to know if everything was fine (which it was).
So if you are hesitating to stay, well do not anymore: this is really a great cabin.
We had to make a last minutes change so to speak because we needed the 2nd bedroom. We really would have like to stayed at our 1st choice but Green Gables was fine. The layout was different but nice, really liked the game room. View was wonderful, nothing much to complaint about other than the hot tub is a little dated and needing some attention and the quest toilet was needing a little attention. All in all on a scale from 1 to 10 and 10 being the best, I would give it a 7. The folks at Jackson Mountain Homes I would give a 10 to. Very easy to work with and just great folks. We will contact them when we make our next trip to one of the best places in the world. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 06/29/2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Green Gables. We are happy that we were able to move you to another cabin to accommodate the additional guests and that you had a wonderful stay. Thank you for calling to let us know there was a problem with the toilet so that we were able to repair the flapper during your stay. We will have the hot tub assessed for any necessary repairs. We appreciate your understanding and hope to see you again soon!
This was our 4th trip to Gatlinburg and we have stayed with 4 different companies. Jackson Mountain Homes rates right up there with the others. Check-in and check-out were painless. Had no problems at all with the cabin except that the hot tub would cool down at times. This was the first time we brought our kids and this cabin was perfect for them. The game room was used often and my 7 year-old is now hooked on Frogger. Our older daughter loved that there was wireless internet so she could work on an online class she is taking. As has been said before, the pictures don't do justice to the beauty of this cabin. It was wonderful. Thanks for providing a beautiful place to stay.
Me and my family had a great time staying in this cabin. The only problem we had was with the hot tub. It throwed the braker several times and Jackson Mountain Homes told how to fix it. The mountain veiw was great and we was very close to downtown Gatlinburg. I would recomend this cabin to anyone.
Love to travel
Wonderful location and facility
I would definitely stay here again. The view was wonderful and the home was warm and inviting. Checkin was incredibly easy - our package was waiting for us with excellent directions. The warning about the steep drive made us nervous but it wasn't as bad as we expected. Because of the steepness, however, entering or exiting the drive must be in one direction. The master bedroom and bath are on the lower level and there is a porch swing right outside the door. My husband and I enjoyed quiet afternoons swinging while our boys played games above. My only complaint about the master bedroom is that you can hear people walking (floors creaking) and talking in the living room above - I had a noise generator so it wasn't a problem for me - but without it we would have had to institute a "quiet time" for the kids above. The house was wonderfully maintained,very clean, and well stocked. Dish detergent and even a small box of laundry detergent were available. The kitchen and dining area are quite small - to accomodate more people it is tight. But the porch is wonderful, and when the weather cooperated we sat outside. Plastic utensils, including wine glasses, were in the pantry. The last night of our stay a group of friends came over and we all planned to get in the hot tub. I wouldn't work! We called the office number, even though it was closed. Someone arrived within the hour. We were disappointed it took so long for the hot tub to warm but were very happy with the service. We will definitely use this company again - and hope to stay in Green Gables on our next trip!
Forest City, NC
Green Gables was one of the best cabins we have ever rented. The cabin was clean and well equipped. The only complaint was that the hot tub was not very well maintained and really had a weird smell to it and needs to be better maintained. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 03/28/2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Green Gables. We are happy to hear that you had an "Awesome Vacation"! We apologize that there was a weird smell from the hot tub. We have every hot tub drained, sanitized and re-filled with fresh water after each guest departure. Occassionally, you may notice a smell from the bromine used to keep the chemical levels balanced when the hot tub cover has been closed for several days; however, we will have the hot tub assessed to make sure that everything is maintained as it should be and working properly. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and your understanding. We hope to see you again soon.
Fun in the mts.
Very nice. Place was more than we expected it to be. Very pleased
Amazingly astounding Vacation
My family was looking for a quiet relaxing time away and we definitely found that at Green Gables. The chalet offered morep than we ever expected and just brought joy to our hearts everyday we were there. My kids, 11 an 13, had such a great time they can't wait to go back. There favorite part was by far the game room! My husband and I enjoyed the seclusion of the master bedroom and the wonderful jacuzzi tub! One of the best memories we had together was watching the New Years Eve fireworks from the hot tub outside and celebrating together. My children will never forget the beautiful blanket of snow that covered the mountains on the day we left. This was the best place we could have ever asked for and will definitely be where we stay again.
In Great Need of Update and Repair
After 10 hours of driving and arriving after dark; upon entering this cabin(non-smoking) we were overwhelmed with the smell of cigarette smoke. The entire unit (including the bed linens) smelled so strong we had to get back out and find a store to buy Lysol.
The couches were horribly uncomfortable. The sleeper was not an option.
The main entrance on ground level had a difficult screen door that the knob kept falling off and left us to prop open in order to get in and out.
While the gas fireplace was nice to look at; it did not provide any heat and cut off every 30 minutes.
Unless you watched the awesome bigscreen TV at night you could not see the picture because of the glare during the day.
We did enjoy our stay on Ski Mountain but will probably choose another unit and possibly another Mgmt company because of the extreme cigarette smoke smell. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 01/04/2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Green Gables. We are so very sorry to hear that experienced any problems during your stay. We do have each cabin inspected prior to check-in and apologize that the inspector did not notice the odor. We will have the sofas assessed and the screen door knob repaired. Gas fireplaces do not provide a great deal of heat as you would expect from a wood-burning fireplace. Usually timers for gas fireplace do not allow them to stay on for extended periods of time. During the fall and winter, when the leaves have fallen from the trees, there is more sunlight coming through the windows, sometimes producing a glare. We will assess the possibility of relocating the TV to help minimize any glare. Again, we apologize that your stay was anything less than perfect and sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity in the future to provide you with the perfect vacation or getaway.
The Bargeron Family
Great For The Family
We enjoyed Green Gables. It is just far enough outside of town to be quiet and just close enough for a short drive back. The only real concern might be the steepness of the driveway. It might be a real issue in snow.
We had a wonderful time. The best part was the Mama bear and her baby cub that played in the trees across the drive. It was amazing to see. They stayed all week. Our dogs did well with the visitors. Oveall great time.
Perfect Fall Break Experience!!!
This cabin was all that we had hoped for and more. The cabin itself was spotless and well equipped. It had plenty of towels and stater soap for the bathrooms, dishwasher and washer. The layout and decore of the cabin was perfect. We got tons of use out of the game room since it rained the first two days we were there. We were even able to use the hot tub since it had a roof over it. Online it had said that the driveway was steep, but it really was not bad at all and it had plenty of room at the top to turn around. The location of the cabin was perfect. It was 4 min. from the Ober and about 8-10 min. from downtown Gatlinburg. Very convenient! We did see a Mother bear and her cub about 20 feet from the driveway on the day we checked out(while we were trying to pack the car). We watched them from the balcony of the game room and then quietly waited for them to move on so we could continue packing. It was a great experience! As for Jackson Mountain Rentals, I give them an a+. Everyone was so friendly and very helpful. We even had a small maintence issue that was taken care of within a hour of my phone call to the office. We decided to try this company after a bad experience with another company in august. The reviews were right on and we will use Jackson Mountain Rentals from now on. Thank you for a wonderful vacation!!
Beautiful cabin in the mountains
I loved staying in your cabin, the layout was beautiful, we enjoyed the fireplace and the whirlpool tub. Overall, it was beautiful :)
Sounds of Nature
Loved the Irish decor of Green Gables. It was so relaxing hearing birds at day and singing of crickets at nite. Very roomy, super clean, great location and as always Jackson Mountain Staff are the best. Have stayed with Jackson Mountain Homes over a dozen times and have never been disappointed. I would not recommend Green Gables to anyone who has trouble climbing stairs the entrance is in the bottom floor.
We had a great time and really enjoyed the cabin.
We had a very relaxing vacation. The cabin was very close to downtown Gatlinburg. We had two pre-teens with us and they absolutely loved the game room. The adults enjoyed it too. The hot tub was great. We were a little surprised when a bear came down the hill behind the house one night while we were in the hot tub. We even used the grill outside to cook hamburgers and relaxed out on the deck. I would highly recommend this cabin.
North Hills, PA
Great Place For a Family To Stay
Great place to stay. Fast access to the park. Had almost everything you needed. Could use a little more storage for food that you bring/buy and hot pads for the oven. Gaming room, jacuzzi and hot tub fun diversions for downtime (although hot tub doesn't get very hot). Lovely house with lots of great personality. Loved all the little porches. Was a great place for a family with children of diverse ages (teenagers and toddler).
Green Gables -- nice chalet
Green Gables was a beautiful chalet. There is no view and it is way at the top of the mountain. Probably not the best place if you make frequent trips down the mountain. The chalet itself was beautifully furnished and the kitchen was stocked with every dish and utensil you could think of. The game room was a big hit with the kids.
Relaxing & Cozy!
I was very impressed at the overall look and feel of Green Gables. It appears that it has been remodeled recently which is always nice! We truly enjoyed our stay and loved the old school gaming table.
It felt like being home...everything was comfortable the kitchen was well stocked with all the appliances and dishes I needed...I loved the fact we were only minutes from downtown Gatlinburg but in a private setting...the kids enoyed the gameroom and the hot tub...hope this cabin is avaialable for our next vacation
This is the fourth cabin we have rented from JMH and I have to say that the staff was extremely helpful in finding us something on very short notice (4 hours). Our town had been hit by several tornados two days earlier and power was estimated to be out all over town for 5-7 days so we decided to head for the hills.
We brought our two small dogs so choices were limited. This cabin had a small yard area for the dogs to sniff around and lots of windows to look out while we were away. They also had lots of smells to check out when we arrived.
It has an interesting layout so it seems huge for a 2 bedroom (bedrooms are on different levels with their own bathrooms) and game room in loft. The furniture was pretty worn out and didn't smell fresh so we draped sheets over the sofa (knowing dogs had sat there), but the cabin was still comfortable enough.
We enjoyed sitting on three of the four porch/deck areas in the evenings and grilling out. The hot tub in a gazebo type structure is about 40' from the cabin but the area is so wooded it seemed very private. It is convenient to town, Ober Gatlinburg and the National Park entrance.
All in all, it was a decent rental considering we had dogs. If I were going without pets, however, I would choose another cabin. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 05/12/2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Green Gables. We are glad that we were able to help you find a last minute rental to give you a break from the problems after the tornados. We will have the furniture assessed. We hope this wasn't a great inconvenience for you. We appreciate your understanding and hope to see you again soon!
One of the nicest places we have stayed. Very peaceful and the Dogs really enjoyed the deck and little yard. Driveway is very steep but well worth it.
This is a wonderful, beautiful place to stay in the mountains
Green Gables is a very nice and comfortable place to stay in the mountains. The Green Gables place is not to far or to close to town.
wonderful mountain vacation
This home is so beautiful I wish I could live there. We enjoied it so much!
The Texeira Family
Best Winter Vacation
This has got to be one of our best vacations. I had never seen snow and for me and my family the experience was amazing. The cabin was very clean and very homey yet spacious. The customer service was amazing from the day we arrived until the day we checked out. The views of the mountains were breathtaking. The first night we were advised to stay in because of rough weather and we didn't mine a bit and also having kids stuck in a cabin was no problem with the arcade games and pool they just loved it. The day we had to check out was very hard for us because we did not want to leave this beautiful cabin. You better believe we will be back next year to Jackson Mountain Homes.
Lake Worth, FL
Above and Beyond
There are too many great adjectives to describe our Christmas Vacation at the Green Gables Cabin with Jackson Mountain Homes. First, the Cabin itself was Gorgeous (pictures on line do not do it justice) It was extremely clean. Had everything we needed for our weeks stay. The beds were comfy. Loved the Fireplace. My kids loved the gameroom in the loft. Plenty of Tv's for all. Happy with Internet. Most of all was the outstanding service we recieved from Jackson Mountain Homes Employees. They called when we arrived to make sure everything was ok? Then when there was a snow storm & we called them because we were snowed in they were calming, supportive and ready to do whatever needed to be done to help us, including sending in a team of employees to bring us food, flashlights and a shovel. "Above & Beyond" Their customer service was extrodinary! When we needed to depart they hired outside contracters to dig us out of the snow. I will only stay at a Jackson Mountain Home when I return. My family loved it here and we can't wait to come back in the Fall!
Shannon in Cincy
The place to be on Ski Mountain
Green Gables is the cabin by which all others have been judged since our first visit in 2007. We love the first floor master suite, the hot tub gazebo, and the game room loft. The location is private, even after the leaves have fallen. Two bed rooms easily accommodate a family, yet it feels cozy enough for a romantic getaway for a couple.
Many personal touches around Green Gables make it feel like home. It is obvious the owners take great pride in The Green Gables of Erin's Knoll!
I highly recommend this cabin; it is a favorite of ours.
We had a great time at Green Gables and dealing with Jackson Mt Homes! We will definately stay with you again!
The Durrett Family
Everything was very nice. Our kids loved the game room. My wife loved the coziness of the cabin. You will be very happy with the cabin if you understand what it is like being in the mountains of Gatlinburg during the summer. Our four leg child was also happy that he got to come along. We had one issue when we got there with a shower door but one call to the office and it was fixed within 2 hours. Great response! Thank you! The gift basket from the owners was a very nice touch. It was appreciated. Looking forward to our next trip.
very roomy. game room was wonderful. overall experience was great.
The best cabin to rent
The Green Gables is the absolute best cabin to rent in the Chalet Village. It has
so much to offer the smallest or the largest family. There is so much to do at
the cabin that we found it hard to leave for the day. The staff at JMH were so
nice and accommodating, especially when we were having so much fun we
decided to stay another night. We have stayed at many cabins but the Green
Gables is our favorite.
Green Gables Review
First of all, I will say that Jackson Mountain Homes have been courteous and caring when it came to my concerns with the property so I don't want this to come across as me hating them, but I'm not sure if it is enough to convince me to come back. Below were some concerns we had with this home:
1) The bathroom on the main level had smelly water - at times, it smelled like pond water. I was told this is possibly due to record rain falls this year and according to them, no one before me had this problem. They are looking into why it smells this way and possibly getting a water filter, etc. This same bathroom didn't have a ventilation fan either and when you take a shower, your belongings will get wet. We noticed some mold beginning to form on the small window by the shower too because of this.
2) The light that is part of the ceiling fan in the main room (they call it the "keeping room") did not work. The lighting was very poor throughout the house and a little creepy at times. The front porch area had two small lights, but I felt it wasn't enough. The deck had a nice bright light though off the side of the house.
3) Our linens were crispy and did not smell fresh. The management office told me that I could have requested new linens with them, but I wasn't aware I could do that.
Overall, I enjoyed the mountains; but for what we paid and the issues we had, I won't stay at this property again and we plan to try another company when we go back (sorry guys - nothing personal). Getting to the cabin was difficult at first because we didn't understand the directions and we had to go back to the office again and see what they meant. There wasn't a property street address provided to the cabin at checkin which made the directions confusing. If we had the "address", we could have plugged that into our GPS and saved time. This was our first trip to the mountains, so we didn't know what anything was. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 04/19/2010
Thank you for your comments. We apologize that you experienced any inconveniences during your stay. Our maintenance department will continue to monitor the water to make sure there is no problem. We strive to make sure each of our guests has the perfect vacation that meets all of their expectations. If you visit us again and have any concerns, please contact the office and we will do everything we can to resolve your concerns quickly. We do appreciate your positive comments regarding how our staff addressed your concerns. We hope that you will give us the opportunity in the future to help you choose the perfect cabin that will meet all of our expectations!
The customer service was excellent and the cabin was absolutely awesome. My wife and I enjoyed our stay, we had a chance to sit back and relax and enjoy each other with the amazing mountain view. I look forward visiting Gatlinburg again and possibly staying in the exact same cabin.
The home was lovely and the setting spectacular, of course. We enjoyed all the ammenities the house had to offer. The games were especially nice because we had two 10 year olds with us. See below some things we needed that were not available:
1. More bath towels since we did not have daily mais service.
2. Dishwasher liquid so we could use the dishwasher.
3. Plowed driveway by our expected checkout time as mandated by Jackson Mountain Homes.
Actually, the driveway not being plowed cost us 150.00 to get our truck towed after we tried to get down it and wound up sideways halfway down it. No one got hurt, so we were thankful for that, but it would have been nice if we didn't go through the anxiety of almost losing our truck and perhaps someone getting seriously hurt. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 02/12/2010
Thank you for your comments. We do provide one bath towel per person per maximum occupancy which is why we provide laundry soap. We do provide two packets of dishwasher soap, however, as stated in our rental agreement we do only provide starter consumables. We do our best to get the driveways shoveled and salted during a winter event. However, Gatlinburg has had an extraordinary amount of snow this year as had most of the southeast area and it has been difficult for everyone. However, if we knew your driveway was that bad we would have given you a later check out. All you had to do was call us!
We loved our get away in Green Gables cottage. It was very clean and cozey. We loved the game room played pool and the arcade games. I cooked several meals and liked that I had all the thinks I needed to do so. Thank you very much for letting us stay in this wonderful cottage.
Had a wonderful time
Great vacation home! Would definitely stay here again! All of the necessary vacation amenities and then some.
A nice quiet vacation
Nice cabin, quiet setting, easy access to Gatlinburg and the Smoky Mtns.
Spacious cabin, great location, clean
We rented a cabin on Ski Mountain with plans to explore the Park, spending
very little time in town. The cabin was everything the online description said it
would be...the pictures did not lie! The cabin was spotless, and the binder
with information about the area, things to see and do, was really appreciated.
Kitchen was fully stocked with dishes, cooking utensils and pots/pans - better
than my own kitchen at home, and I love to cook. We liked the knotty pine
interior, spacious layout of the main level and the 2 bedrooms on different
levels. Checkin was easy, even though we arrived after business hours. We
even got to see bears -unfortunately, we saw 2 of them at the bottom of the
driveway up to the cabin, so it limited the amount of time we wanted to spend
outside around the cabin. One of us liked to walk at night, and he couldn't
after that sighting and we didn't use the hot tub (outside). Overall though, a
great trip and a great cabin.
Spring Hill, FL
First timers in love with this cabin.
Well, first off when our family arrived at the Jackson mountain office, the lady who greeted us was very nice. She explained the directions were a little tricky and we did get a little lost because there were many drive ways and streets that were confusing even though we had a map, it wasn't entirely accurate. When we actually started getting up the mountain to our cabin, Green Gables, we thought the view was absolutely fantastic. When we got to the cabin, we found that the whole first floor was a bed room, with an amazing jacuzzi bath. There were a lot of bugs in the bathrooms and many more outside, but the light from the fire flies made the setting peaceful and serene. We loved the fact that the third floor was a look out over the second floor, and it was also the game room!!!!Also, Green Gables is not far from the shops and games on the main strip. My family and I were quite sad to be leaving the cabin after our trip. We wanted to stay longer. We plan to come back here for our next family vacation.
In need of a vacation
The view was beautiful. Nice and quiet. Lots of space.Beds to soft. Did not like the little worms on the lower level. It was nice to have thewhole space of the cabin and to be able to have our dogs with us. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 08/18/2009
Thank you for your comments about Green Gables. All of our cabins are treated monthly by a professional pest control company, however, we still get the occassional pests to come in. The cabin is scheduled to be retreated based on your survey. Thank you again!
We arrived at this cabin in a driving rain.The cabin was extremely clean and in great condition. We will definitely stay there again, only, next time I will bring my own skillet. The 2 "non" sticks were awful. We even saw a bear in the driveway one morning!! Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 08/05/2009
We are happy to hear you enjoyed the cabin. We will inspect the cookware and replace whatever is necessary. Thank you.
We had a great time the cabin was great. It was very clean, nicely decorated. The staff at JMH where very very nice. I will not stay anywhere else in Gatlinburg. Only JMH from here on. Thank JMH for a wonderful vacation.
A very relaxing week!
We just spent a wonderful, relaxing spring break week in the Green Gables cabin in the Smokey Mountains of Gatlinburg, TN. This was the first time that we have been to the Smokey Mountains and the first time for renting a JM home.
We were very pleasantly surprised at how fabulous the cabin was. It was spacious, airy, and very comfortable. The views of the mountains are great. It was also beautifully decorated. It really felt like home for a week.
My husband and I went with our three teenagers. Our teens loved the game room and the hot tub. We were snowed in for two of the days, and my teens never got bored. They played games, sat in the hot tub, watched TV on the huge 52 inch TV, and ate all day. :)
The king master suite downstairs was great. My hubby and I loved being down there, away from the kids. The jacuzzi is absolutly huge and was such a treat for us.
I highly recommend this place, especially for people with kids. We will be back.
Thanks, JMH, for a wonderful week!
Excellent cabin, everything we needed was there. They have thought of everything. will go back again
EXCELLENT STAY IN THE MOUNTAINS!
Green Gables is all that Jackson Mountain Homes promises and more. The view is spectacular, and the cabin is beautiful with all the comforts of home. My family and my pets were very comfortable and entertained with the pool table and TV's in all the bedrooms. We will definately be staying here again! THANK YOU!
Sterling Heights, MI
Nice cabin. I did not realize how close we were to the pool til the last day. We had a great time and the cabin was very nice. The view was better than I expected.
Scenic and relaxing!
Having stayed at several different cabins in the area, we knew what to expect from the location, but when we walked out onto the deck and saw the Ober Gatlinberg Tram quietly glide up from the valley and disappear into the gorgeous fall folliage, we knew that THIS cabin was just tops! The split floor plan made it very cozy and gave the option of privacy if needed with a larger group... and the fact that we could bring our girls (the ones with four legs) was just a vacation dream come true for us! And they just had a blast! My husband and I enjoed every thing from the fully equipped kitchen to the hot tub and jaccuzi tub, ample parking and close to everything... this place was the PERFECT vacation for us!