A great way to begin your mountain getaway, On Smoky's Pond is a classic log cabin perched at the top of cascading ponds in the beautiful Gatlinburg log home community of Black Bear Falls. Located just minutes from downtown and yet wooded and serene, On Smoky's Pond is beautifully decorated with vaulted ceilings, stone fireplace, spacious deck and private hot tub. Enjoy your vacation in the Smoky Mountains On Smoky's Pond.
Additional amenities include: washer/dryer, clubhouse - meeting room for 50, 46" flat panel HDTV in living room, access to gatlinburg community center , - billiards, bowling alley, indoor pool, basketball, racquet bal...l and walking track nearby., approximately 5 minutes from downtown gatlinburg, parking spaces (4), DVD (4), fireplace-gas (seasonal) (1), bb falls, flat panel TVs in each bedroom, swimming pool is heated in community and within walking distance from cabin.Read more
Left on 04/11/2014 for a stay in March 2014 | Wermers4
The community that this cabin is a part of is gorgeous. The landscaping is five-star. Not to even mention the view. When you come down the stairs you can see the mountains. Lovely! This isn't the largest 3 bedroom cabin, (no pool table,) but I would certainly stay here again. The parking pad is also perfectly flat which is nice.
Great Christmas & New Year's get-together
Left on 01/23/2014 for a stay in December 2013 | M
My children & grandchildren from Ohio, in & TN spent 5 days at the cabin On Smoky's Pond for our Christmas & New Years' celebration, and we all loved it. The location was perfect for us, since we planned to be in downtown Gatlinburg for the New Year's Eve fireworks and ball drop activities. We checked in with no problems, and the cabin was clean and stocked with everything we needed. The grandchildren loved the ponds and the stream beside the cabin, and seeing the gold fish. The cabin was spacious enough for us with 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms and the grandchildren thought it was cool sleeping on an air mattress in the loft area, we didn't even need the sofa-sleeper. We will definitely stay here again.
Left on 12/03/2013 for a stay in November 2013 | Linda
Our cabin was nice and clean. Everything was in working order. Plenty of room for the kids to play. Only downside was there was no basement with a pool table. It snowed so the kids got to have a snowball fight.
Sammy & Patsy
Another great stay
Left on 10/31/2013 for a stay in October 2013 | Sammy & Patsy
This is the 3rd or 4th time myself and my wife have stayed in this cabin. Again, everything was excellent. We will most definately stay here again.
We also told our friends about it. They rented it the next week!
Again, just like home!
Left on 09/19/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | Lisa M.
This was my first time ever staying in a cabin and although I thought it was going to be more in the woods then in a rather neighborhood type setting, we did have a bear come visit, I would have taken pictures but my camera was in the vehicle which the bear was by so no pictures.It was great, the cabin was cozy and relaxing. Pretty close to everything and has everything you can think of, it was an awesome experience and worth it.
Family of Four
A clean, comfortable cabin in a great location
Left on 08/16/2013 for a stay in August 2013 | Family of Four
My wife and I and our two kids, ages 19 and 23, drove from New York and stayed in "On Smoky's Pond". From the outside, this particular cabin doesn't look quite as nice as some of the others in the community, but inside, it was everything we needed and wanted. The kitchen/living room area was a bit smaller than the website photos suggest, but certainly more than adequate for our family. The cabin provides enough space for each of us, with two bedrooms downstairs and one large bedroom upstairs, and 3 bathrooms. The tall cathedral ceiling was great, and having a TV in each room was a nice touch, though we didn't use them much. The pond isn't much to look at...green with algae but lots of frogs and sunfish, but overall, we were very satisfied with the cabin and its location. It's just a few minutes from crowded downtown Gatlinburg, yet quiet and peaceful.
Loved this cabin and all the space
Left on 06/28/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | AMason1209
My fiancee and I rented this cabin with my two kids and everyone loved it. We actually got into a car accident right after we picked up our packet from the office. Someone fell asleep and rear ended my car so bad that it had to be towed. Thank god we were able to get a taxi to the cabin and we got a rental the next day. The cabin was a huge stress reliever and we were able to have a great time on the rest of our vacation. The kids had their own room and bath rooms and they loved playing by the pond feeding the fish. We were also just a short walk from the pool. We would definitely go again. Read more
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at On Smoky's Pond. We are happy to hear that you loved the cabin but more importantly, that you are all okay following the accident. It is a shame when things like that happen, but we are glad that you were able to get through it and enjoy your vacation. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Left on 06/13/2013 for a stay in May 2013 | Julie
Awesome experience, from the time we booked to the time we checked out. This is our first time at the Smoky's and we have to say we are going to make this a yearly getaway. On Smoky's Pond was everything that was described. The cabin was clean and well equipped. Very close to town and close to huge supermarket. Location, location, location. The stream running on the side of the cabin created a nice relaxing ambiance. The kids enjoyed chasing the frogs from the pond.
Great location for a stress-relief getaway
Left on 06/01/2013 for a stay in May 2013 | joliebeth23
I just got back from a three-night stay at On Smoky's Pond with two friends. It was a perfect location for us. We're all teachers who were celebrating the end of the school year and just wanted place to relax. We thought the Black Bear Falls location was perfect with its proximity to downtown Gatlinburg but still feeling like you were in the mountains away from everything. We enjoyed the fact the cabin was within walking distance to the pool, which was a nice pool area. We loved the front porch and sat out there enjoying our meals and listening to the frogs in the pond. The cabin is the perfect size for three to six people; eight people could fit if some didn't mind using the sofa bed. (We were originally supposed to have one more guest, but he couldn't come at the last minute due to a family emergency.) It was really nice having three full bathrooms. The kitchen and living room areas are a little small, but that didn't bother us. The decorations were o.k., but the living room carpet left a little to be desired, which is to be expected from a high-traffic area. The internet and all the Tv's worked fine, and we had plenty of cookware and dishes. We ate all but one of our meals at the cabin.
We did use the hot tub one night and enjoyed it. My only suggestion would be to put a light on the porch back in the corner where the hot tub is. It was so dark, it made it a little difficult to see to get cover on and off. Also, the underside of cover was a little moldy and smelled musty and probably needs to be wiped down with bleach. My only other suggestion is that the branches of the bush by the grill need to be trimmed back. There are a few that have grown dangerously close to the grill, and I was a little apprehensive when I first lit the charcoal and it flared up a little.
Overall, it was a great stay, and we'd rent the same cabin again for location and peacefulness. Great customer service from Jackson Mt Homes, too. Read more
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at On Smoky's Pond. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay! We apologize for any problem you experienced with the hot tub cover and have scheduled it for a deep cleaning. We will also assess the branches by grill. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and your understanding. Thank you so much for your kind words! We look forward to seeing you again!
Awesome yet disappointed
Left on 02/12/2013 for a stay in January 2013 | Chuck
Great Service in the beginning but in the end definitely a little surprised of the service from the staff. Got a great rate and was given a deal for an extra day. We arrived and was very pleased with the cabin and all the amenities. Then it was time to have fun. Enjoyed a great night with friends and the use of the hot tub, until after we got out. Everyone had blisters and rashes from the chemicals in the pool. Two expensive bathing suits ruined because of the water treatment. Called the help desk the following day and had some nice staff come and refill our hot tub and clean it out. Finally after all that, we were able to have a good time. Everyone that experienced the hot tub still had been broken out the last day we left. No one from the staff ever called and followed up on our status or decided to help us with the new bathing suits that were ruined. The cabin did say that it could cause skin irritation but not to this extent. Called the cabin rental place 3 days after our return home to leave a message for someone to call me back and follow up but never got anyone to call me to this day. Overall the cabin was great but in my opinion the cabin rental management staff did not do what they should have done in response to the hot tub problem. Read more
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay in On Smoky’s Pond. We appreciate the comments and suggestions from all of our guests and strive to make sure your vacation is a great experience. We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with the hot tub while you were here. We can understand how that would be very frustrating for you and your party and sincerely apologize that your last call to us was not returned. We cannot find anyone who remembers getting a message to call you back. That is an oversight and/or miscommunication on our part and we will take note of it and learn from it. We appreciate you bringing it to our attention.
As for the matter of the hot tub, bathing suits, and rash, we have researched your situation and am thankful that you allowed us the opportunity to remedy the problem. However, if you will read over the hot tub agreement portion of your rental contract, all of the rules, regulations and warnings of using a hot tub are listed there. These warnings are also posted at each cabin for the safety of all our guests. When you notified our office you mentioned that you did remove the floater from the hot tub and stayed in the hot tub for several hours. The rules warn against removing the floater from the hot tub. The service coordinator you were working with, documented that he did inform you of the cleaners coming to empty and refill your hot tub the next day (due to ice advisory), recommend that you not use the hot tub again while you or anyone in your party still had a rash, and asked if there was anything else we could do for you. Again, we regret that you and your party had a bad experience with the hot tub. Had we received your follow-up message, we would have called right away to address your concerns.
Ft Lauderdale, Fl
What a wonderful experience!
Left on 09/19/2012 for a stay in September 2012 | Dennis
My husband and I recently spent our vacation at "On Smoky's Pond along with 2 of our closest freinds. We were very pleased with the condition of the cabin, the location and the quick and efficient check in. The cabin was beautiful and my favorite part of the day was early in the morning, sitting on the front porch with my coffee watching the mist come off of the pond and the birds chirping in the background. The Cabin itself was nicely equipped, the beds very comfortable - the only issue we had is that the dining chairs had seen a better day and required attention as they were not that sturdy. I have already recommended this cabin and Jackson Mountain Homes to a few of my friends and we will certainly be using them again.
Liberty Township, OH
On Smoky's Pond Review
Left on 09/03/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | dstou1
This cabin was OK. The pictures made the cabin and pond seem bigger than they really are. The kitchen and family room where a lot smaller than expected. We liked the Black Bears Falls community and would look to rent a cabin in the community but we wouldn't rent this cabin again.
Perfect weekend getaway!
Left on 05/26/2012 for a stay in March 2012 | Amy
Had a great time here for a short stay. Well furnished with all we needed for 4 days and accommodated our party (grandma, mom and 2 girls) perfectly! Only downside is that we had to leave.
Left on 12/02/2011 for a stay in November 2011 | THP
The services from Jackson Mountain Homes was terrific. Everything was organized upon our arrival, and they kept in touch via e-mail as necessary prior to our visit. On Smoky's Pond was clean and well laid out for our needs. It was great that there were at least 2 bedrooms and bathrooms on the main level with the main living areas. We had a couple of older folks with us who would have had trouble maneuvering the steps. The pond was beautiful. The setting made us feel as though we had our own private cabin in the woods, when the whole neighborhood was within walking distance. All amenities that we needed for our daily routines as well as for preparing a big Thanksgiving dinner were there. We will definitely will return to On Smoky's Pond.
Lawrenceburg, IN 47025
Left on 09/15/2011 for a stay in September 2011 | Joyce
The cabin was lovely as was the area in Black Bear Falls. The only negative was the bath towels could be nice as well as the bedding.
a day in the smokies
Left on 08/27/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | johnwardynski
My stay at smokys pound was relaxing peaceful and very enjoyable.The view was perfect the mountain back drop was excelent.The location was convantent to shopping and site seeing.The accomadations were clean and comfortable.overall a very plesant experiance.
Wright City MO
Quiet and Relaxing for Family of Seven
Left on 08/18/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | M. A.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay "On Smoky's Pond." Our only complaint would be all of the cost add-ons that turned a reasonable rental price into a fairly exorbitant stay.
Long weekend getaway with the kids
Left on 08/17/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | Wendy
Excellent cabin for the price. The kids enjoyed running around the deck and listening to the bull frogs croak in the pond. We spent quite a bit of time at the pool that is a short walk away. It is also not a far drive from downtown Gatlinburg and the park.
West TN Family
On Smoky's Pond...convenient, cozy cabin!
Left on 07/22/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | West TN Family
Our family stayed here for the convenience and proximity to downtown Gatlinburg, Food City (the only supermarket in Gatlinburg), Dollar General Store, & Park & Ride Trolley. It was a short drive to Emert's Cove covered bridge (location of my daughter's wedding). The 3 bedrooms & 3 full bathrooms served my family well. We were not able to enjoy the pool because it was packed from sunrise to sunset. There should be 2 pools for such a large community of rental cabins. Otherwise we enjoyed the breathtaking views of the mountains, the fish-filled pond in front of our cabin, the croaking frogs at night, the big rabbits running around, and oh yes...the fat bear we saw running up into the woods!
Family Thanksgiving Vacation
A wonderful Thanksgiving at On Smoky's Pond
Left on 12/11/2010 for a stay in November 2010 | Family Thanksgiving Vacation
A peaceful and comfortable stay with our family during the week of Thanksgiving.
Great family time
Left on 12/09/2010 for a stay in December 2010 | GREENE FAMILY
On Smokeys pond is a nice house and very clean. Check in service was quick and easy. We love the location of the cabin, we always try to stay in black bear falls area when we come to Gatlinburg.
Carl and Diane LeMaster
An Unforgetable Weekend with Friends
Left on 12/08/2010 for a stay in October 2010 | Carl and Diane LeMaster
We stayed at On Smoky's Pond in October while attending a Square Dance Weekend...the days were filled with activities but we could not wait until we were back home at On Smoky's Pond to relax in front of the fireplace and talk about the days events. Mornings started with coffee and sitting on the front porch in rockers overlooking the pond and the beautiful mountains. We loved the comfort of the cabin...it was clean, comfortable, had everything we needed and in a great location to Gatlinburg. We would recommend this cabin to everyone. I honestly cannot think of anything we did not like. It was great!! We look forward to visiting On Smoky's Pond again.
Left on 12/08/2010 for a stay in October 2010 | Sammy & Patsy
We've been coming to Gatlinburg for 30 years. You guys have the best cabins & location yetThis cabin in peticular. Will definately will rent it again. Only concern, the hot tub was hard to get cover off, other than that great. We love
the location. Read more
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at On Smoky's Pond. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay! We apologize that you had any difficulty removing the hot tub cover. We will have it assessed for replacement. We hope to see you again soon!
smoky mt pond
Left on 08/19/2010 for a stay in August 2010 | smoky mt pond
cabin was nice and clean had plenty of things to cook with clean hot tub as very realxing needed afew more towels
Betty & Friends
Who could doubt the existance of God in the Smokies?
Left on 06/30/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | Betty & Friends
On Smokies Pond is the perfect location. Close to town, yet secluded. A beautiful view of tiered ponds and the mountains. The pool is easily accessible. We loved the set up of the cabin. Each bedroom with it's own bath was wonderful. Not like other cabins we have stayed at. We look forward to visiting again.
Sleepy in Cinci.
My mattress created a restless sleep.
Left on 05/21/2010 for a stay in May 2010 | Sleepy in Cinci.
This was a girls weekend getaway. We had a great time. The cabin was cozy and had
all the amenities of home. Although the mattress in the master bedroom was very
uncomfortable and we found stains on the bedspread. I also think that updated
entertainment systems would have been a added plus (maybe flat screens and cd
players). The bbq grill could also use a little work. I was very disappointed at the
early checkout time of 10:00 am since I didn't get a restful sleep from the hard
mattress. Most places let you checkout at least by 11:00 or noon. No one likes to
feel rushed when your on vacation. I probably won't stay at these cabins again for
that reason alone. Read more
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you had a great time! We apologize if you experienced any inconvenience during your stay. We will have someone assess the comforter and grill for replacement and will forward your suggestion for flat screen tvs and cd players to the owner. We do advertise our check-out time as 10am; however, we are happy to allow a late check-out upon request, if possible. We hope that you will choose Jackson Mountain Homes in the future.
Everything Was Wonderful
Left on 03/24/2010 for a stay in March 2010 | gratful1
We enjoyed our stay so much until we cant wait to return. We have 3 different families and still had room with the let out sofa for extra people, we were well accomodated. The rooms were extremely nice, the kitchen(stocked with everything we needed) and bathrooms were great. The weather did not permit us to try to jacuzzi, so we will do that on our next visit during the summer months.
One thing that i think will need updating,they still have VCR's in the rooms. WE only brought DVD because i did not know people stilled owned those (LOL)
Good & Bad
Left on 02/18/2010 for a stay in February 2010 | Shannon
We booked just a couple of days before we went. I had two in mind but was coming up in a minivan and wasn't sure about the roads. I was told that On Smoky's Pond would be easily accessable. Since I was booking only a few days away and was told I would have no trouble getting there, I questioned the insurance. I was told we probably would not need it. WRONG! When we got there Friday night we could not get to our cabin and the only solutioned offer was to get a motel room, which we had to pay for! (This was very disappointing because I asked alot of question about the location and wether we would be able to get to the cabin).The cabin was smaller than it looks online, but is nice overall. It was clean and well stocked.
Good Stay, Very few towels
Left on 10/22/2009 for a stay in October 2009 | Timmy
Everything was fantastic at this cabin the only thing I could find to complain about is there was only 2 big towels in each bathroom and we stayed for 3 nights so we had to reuse the same towel everyday or use the dryer to dry them after every use. Other than that it was Super nice and easy to check in and out, no other compliants at all. Would most likely return again without thinking twice. Read more
Thank you for your comments. We match our industries standard of supplying one bath towel per person, but we also provide laundry soap! We are glad you had a good time and hope to see you again soon!
On Smokey's Pond
Left on 10/07/2009 for a stay in September 2009 | late19
Although the picture on the website looked as if the cabin were located on a large pond, it was creative photography. The cabin was very nice, with three bedroom and three bathrooms. All rooms were clean and stocked for several days of occupany with towels, cleaning items and bath items.
It was a little cramped in the dining room when the four of us tried to eat breakfast or have snacks and wine in the evening but that was a small inconvience.
The view from the deck was fabulous at any time of day. It was usually quiet when we were there yet close to the artist circle and Gatlinburg. The hot tub was smaller than than one we have at home but the four of us squeezed in for a short time on both nights.
The ease of check in and check out was a plus.
Left on 08/26/2009 for a stay in August 2009 | Shannon Ritter
We have stayed with Jackson Mtn two other times and been very happy. This third time, the cabin was disappointing. The fridge made loud humming noises. The hot tub only had one working water jet. I thought the cabin was decorated as cheaply as possible compared to God's Gift and the other cabin we had stayed at in Black Bear Falls last year. A fire or burgler alarm when off for over a half hour in a cabin up the hill at 1 am one of the nights. It made me feel very "unsafe" in this cabin compared to my other stays. Read more
We are sorry you were unhappy with your cabin. If we had known about the problems during your stay we could have fixed them right away. Each cabin decorated to suit the individual cabin owners' tastes. We are also sorry you felt unsafe, several cabins in Black Bear Falls have alarms - however, it is usually guests that unfamiliar with teh systems that trigger their alarms. We are happy to hear you have had previous good experiences and hope that you will come again to recapture those other times!
Left on 08/12/2009 for a stay in August 2009 | Ginger Simpson
The whole check in procedure was quick and smooth; directions to our cabin were excellent. The cabin itself was so much more than we expected. It was tastefully decorated, very clean and had everything thing we could have needed. On Smoky's Pond was centrally located and easily accessible to everything we had planned for the week. And it was so nice to come "home" to after a long day out. I can not say enough wonderful things about the cabin, location and the obvious care taken to ensure a perfect stay. The office was always available to us, and when we requested trash pick up, it was very quickly handled. The staff (Linda) that we dealt with was supurb. If there was any bump in the road, it was just the people who rented the cabin to the left of us. We enjoyed the serenity of sitting on the deck and watching the fish in the pond. When they settled in, they began fishing and splashing in the pond. This was the only thing about our stay that was "less than ideal". Over all, we would stay there again; we would use Jackson Homes exclusively and we will highly recommend to anyone who is interested in a vacation "home" in the area.
Baton Rouge, LA
Left on 07/29/2009 for a stay in July 2009 | JB
It was our first trip to the mountains and we enjoyed it very much. The cabin was perfect, the location was great, the view was awesome.
Three little ones explore to their heart's content
Left on 07/18/2009 for a stay in June 2009 | Enjoying Summer
This was our first experience renting a cabin in Gatlinburg. Previously we had always rented in GA so we were not expecting the cabin to be in a "neighborhood". The location was great, close to the pool and the attractions in Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. I was disappointed in the cabin itself. Very small living area and kitchen area. No closets! Did not have that "homey" feel to it. I did have three little boys who had a wonderful time trying to catch the frogs, exploring the hillsides, watching the rabbits and building a raft for the frogs in the pond. My favorite part was sitting on the front porch watching them having a great time.
One minor problem
Left on 07/09/2009 for a stay in June 2009 | KH
This cabin was a great value for the size and amenities. It was close to everything and within walking distance to the pool which makes for a good vacation. The staff was very pleasent and helpful. There is only one complaint that me and my family have about the cabin and that would be that the beds where very hard in each bedroom but besides that all was well.
frogs and fireflies
Left on 07/07/2009 for a stay in June 2009 | viajera
We arrived late at night after a long day of sightseeing elsewhere but had no trouble finding the home thanks to the excellent directions provided. The home was clean and comfortable and seemed especially roomy after several nights in motels. The fireflies were blinking and the frogs were croaking in the ponds below the house, which was really magical. The only drawback to the house were the noisy kids in a nearby cabin, but again, that was minor compared to noisy motels.
great stay at "On Smoky's Pond"
Left on 07/05/2009 for a stay in June 2009 | Gatlinburg Girls
As usual, we were very pleased with Jackson Mtn HOmes. Our stay was great. The chalet was clean and when we had difficulty with our coffee maker and reported it; it was replaced within the hour! We will stay here again!
Left on 05/09/2009 for a stay in April 2009 | Gary O'Neill
We stayed here for three nights and it was very relaxing and was in a very good location. It was close to every thing and yet far enough away from the busy parts of the mountains. This house was very comfortable and had everything that you need for a wonderful weekend. I would tell anyone that this is a great place to stay and plan to use it again.
Left on 04/13/2009 for a stay in March 2009 | Robin
Beautiful cabin. We will definitly come back!
Beautiful Setting - repeat customer
Left on 04/09/2009 for a stay in March 2009 | Ronnie
We have stayed at this particular property once before. It is very well maintained and close to everything that we wish to do while in the Gatlingburg area. I would highly recommend this property to anyone who wished to stay in this area.
Beautiful View, Cozy, Feels like Home!
Left on 03/31/2009 for a stay in September 2008 | Love It!
Beautiful View! It looks just like the picture.
Very clean. Comfortable beds. Conveniently located. Quiet and cozy. Wish I could afford to call it my own...
Left on 03/29/2009 for a stay in June 2008 | meg
Our family has stayed in Gatlinburg for several years. We have stayed in motels,chalets and houses. This mountain home was so very wonderful. We enjoyed the hot tub,mountain view and how close we where to everything. The next time we plan another family vacation we will stay at On Smokey's Pond.
On Smoky's Pond
Left on 03/27/2009 for a stay in February 2009 | petie256
The only problem we had was that the hot tub had too many chemicals in it, other than that it was a warm, comfortable,cabin with a wonderful view, close to town but far away for privacy.
Best Getaway Ever!!!!!
Left on 03/27/2009 for a stay in February 2009 | ShowtimeHSV
I love how beautiful and spacious the cabin is. It was greatly decorated & provided every accomodation needed. Cabins are well taken care of, and the location was close by & perfect to the area restaurants/attractions. This by far was the most relaxing & best trip I've taken in awhile, and definitely will be returning to stay again.
The only thing I recommend is a guide to help you find your cabin.
Great place to kick back
Left on 03/27/2009 for a stay in May 2008 | WORRO
The family, and I planned a stay in beautiful Gatlinburg TN. We shopped around, and came across "Jackson Mountain Homes" and glad we did! The home we picked was "On smokey's Pond". A great little cabin with plenty room. Conveniently located it proved to be everything we needed. Clean, and well maintained, and had everything a Family would need for a great weeks get away! IM tempted to get this same cabin again in the future.
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.