- 2 bedrooms
- 2 bathrooms
- Sleeps 6
Description from the manager
The views are stunningly breathtaking at Red Heaven. This cozy and tastefully decorated home offers warm wood finishes throughout, spacious decks to help you enjoy those marvelous views of the Smoky Mountains. Anyone's perfect place to get away, Red Heaven has something for everyone with a great floor plan and its fantastic game room equipped with pool table, air hockey, foosball and a multi-player arcade game. Snuggle up to the cozy fireplace and enjoy one of your favorite movies or enjoy a long relaxing soak in the hot tub as you enjoy the gorgeous views and sounds of nature that surround you. Don't forget to bring your four legged friends,... they want to get away too! Red Heaven--begin your escape today!
Additional amenities include: pool table, washer/dryer, jet tub-indoor (1), access to gatlinburg community center , - billiards, bowling alley, indoor pool, basketball, racquet ball and walking track nearby., no cats please, approximately 10 minutes from downtown gatlinburg, clubhouse and seasonal pool nearby, clubhouse - pool � meeting rooms, fireplace-gas (seasonal) (1), pets under 25lb, parking spaces (2), DVD (1), 42" flat panel TV in living room, minutes from ober gatlinburg ski resort and indoor ice skating, multi arcade game with pac man, donkey kong and frogger.Read more
About the manager
Jackson Mountain Homes (865) 277-6752 Full profile
Response rate: 100%
Response time: A few hours
Calendar updated: today
Overall rating: 4.7 / 5.0 based on 5,726 reviews and 186 properties
Additional Location Information
Last updated on August 27, 2014
Not available for your dates? Check availability for 1,133 other Gatlinburg rentalsCheck Availability for Gatlinburg
Rates shown in $ USD
|See all dates
|Don't see rates for your trip?|
- Reservation Fee | $69 per stay
Additional notes from the manager
A 7 night stay is required during Thanksgiving week. A 4 night stay is required during Christmas and New Year's season.
Phone / Internet
- Internet Access
Pool / Spa
- Hot Tub/Jacuzzi
- Shared outdoor pool (unheated)
- Satellite or cable TV
- Pet friendly - ask
- Smoking allowed - no
- Suitable for children - ask
- Suitable for the elderly - ask
- Wheelchair accessible - ask
What Past Guests Are Saying
Have you stayed here? Write a review
64 guest reviews
97% of guests would stay again
Beautiful Chalet high in the Mountains!
Red Heaven was a beautiful chalet! I would suggest this Chalet to any family, expecially with kids. Locations was awesome as it was beautiful looking down over the lights in Gatlinburg. Chalet was clean and furniture nice. There were several lightbulbs out inside and no outside light by the door coming in which made it tricky to get in at night. Very slick coming into the door as it was icy and there are no rugs/carpet when you walk into the chalet, so we slipped a couple times coming in from outside which was a little unpleasant. Hot Tub was great on the bottom deck! Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 12/05/2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Red Heaven. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed it! We will replace any burned out bulbs right away. We apologize that you experienced a problem with the floors being slippery when coming in from the ice. We will assess the cabin for the possibility of installing a mat. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and your understanding. We hope to see you again soon!
St. Augustine, FL
The View is Worth the Drive
Jackson Mountain Homes was awesome, as always, and saved our vacation by going out of their way to find alternate hiking locations for us since the National Park was closed due to the government shutdown. We really appreciated their kindness and will be back in the spring. Red Heaven's view could not be beat. We enjoyed our time on the deck and had a visit from a black bear, which we loved. (He took a short nap on the lawn.) The 1st floor bedroom is very spacious. The 2nd floor bedroom is small, and there is no room for a chest or dresser. The washer/dryer combo is in the closet, so storage was a bit of an issue and we had to live out of our suitcases. The house was well maintained with the exception of the carpet in the 2nd floor bedroom which needs some TLC to remove odors. We truly appreciated being able to bring our two Schnauzers and they had a great time. There is limited green space for the dogs to utilize, and walking them is a bit of a chore, but again, we were there for the view and that did not disappoint one bit. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 10/24/2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Red Heaven. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed it! We apologize for any odors on the bedroom carpet. We have scheduled it for cleaning. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
A great place to stay
We drove from IL to TN and were hoping to check in early. The ladies at the office were more than happy to help us out. They were great and very friendly. The house was nicely updated and had a wonderful view. The room downstairs had plenty of space for us and the pack n play. We were pretty deep in the mountains and happy the driveway wasn't a very steep incline like some of the other homes we saw. Thank you for that. We even came across a few bears during our stay. The home was fairly close to the downtown Gatlinburg area which was nice. We were even able to get a pretty nice discount on tickets to the aquarium (great exhibit) through Jackson Mtn Homes. The house had plenty to do inside as well (air hockey, pool, video games, fooseball, hot tub, Internet access and cable. There were also Tv's and DVD players in each room if needed. It was a little cramped in the game area, but nice to have all of the options. We had a great time at Olde Smokeys and a nice meal at Park Grill downtown. We would definitely recommend this home. Good times!
Had a fantastic time, the cabin was exactly as described in the ad and as shown in the photos. Jackson Mountain Homes were excellent and very easy to deal with. The highlight was seeing the bears outside the cabin, fantastic experience and beautiful area!
Clean cabin. Great views. Comfortable surroundings
Liked the separation of the master bedroom from the rest of the quarters. Beautiful views. All appliances worked well. Only thing for me was the drive up and down mountain. My ears popped constantly!!
Southern mountain lover.
Spring break heaven
This cabin was just what we wanted. Views rock & the game room gave us lots of together time. They need to provide a place to hang your clothes but that's about my only complaint.
More than nice
Very nice and interesting view
I love it So I will back again
We always go in December, the road up the mountain may be a little scary for some when there is snow. The views are always great. The folks at Jackson Mountain Homes are always the greatest. Have stayed at others and we keep going back to Red Heaven.
Very nice home. Great view, very peaceful. Only problem was that the ice maker in the refrigerator did not work. This was obviously known by the rental agency/ owners because several new ice tray that were still taped together, had been placed in the freezer. Small thing, but when you consider that you are playing a premium, you expect to have ice for a cold drink.
Ocean Springs, MS
Superior mountain view!!
The staff was friendly at check in. Red Haven was a perfect place for our family to vacation. Loaded with comfort. The game room was loaded with entertainment!! We will look a that home again. Morning coffee on the porch with the beautiful smoky mountains overlooking Gatlinburg.
Beautiful view, house has few annoying issues.
The view is nothing short of amaizng. Property is well kept but in our weeklong stay there was a few issues with the house that I wish i would have been aware of beforehand. 1: the lower level is impossible to warm up. The master bedroom has a wall unit heater that keeps that room warm but the game room was impossible to warm up. The hot tub on the deck is mostly just that, a round tub with hot water, jets work randomly and create mostly a whirlpool when turned on. Also the master bath in the lower level, keep the door shut because some sort of animal has access to it. Few mornings we woke up to evidence of something being in there. Upstairs level is very nice and spacious. Overall an ok rental, probably would not rent this unit again though. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 12/05/2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Red Heaven. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and apologize that you experienced any problem. In multi-level homes and particularly ones with walls of glass such as this, it can be difficult to regulate the temperature throughout the cabin. We have serviced the hot tub and found it to be working properly. In addition to the regular monthly pest control, we have scheduled the pest control to inspect the cabin. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and your understanding. We hope to see you again in the future.
Unbelievable views of Mountains and Downtown Gatlinburg also qui
Excellent and clean place to stay. Out of this world views. Pictures do not do this cabin justice. So relaxing... You are directly above the end of Gatlinburg! Watching the sunrise over the Mountains was majestic! Anything you need to use to cook with was there. Oh, and the baby cub visitor on our deck one night, what a surprise!! Quick trip down to Gatlinburg by car or up to Ober Gatlinburg. Had excellent view of the Tram going from Gatlinburg up to Ober Gatlinburg. It actually meets halfway while looking off to the left. Everyone enjoyed watching the Tram go by. (It is not directly next to the cabin.)
Perfect family getaway
Our family of 4, including 2 small boys, had a fantastic time at Red Heaven - it is an awesome cabin. The general view and sunrises were incredible. The game room was a little cramped but my children were a bit too young to enjoy that anyway. We felt safe with the kids on the deck, even though there was no green space for them to play - the view was worth it and the kids enjoyed watching for the tram to come by. It would have felt too cramped to share this cabin with other family members, as we thought about doing. There was not a fireplace downstairs so it got much colder than the upstairs. The only reason I give comfort 4 stars is that the couches are vinyl/leather and there is no carpet upstairs - just a personal comfort preference. Jmh was easy to work with, very friendly. It was wonderful, I only point out a few caveats to be more informative to others.
Todd & Susan
Fort Wayne IN
We will never forget the incredible views from Red Heaven!
Red Heaven was everything it promised! The view was incredible... day, night and even in rain! (A beautiful rainbow!) Everyone I encountered from Jackson Mountain Homes was polite and accommodating; and the cabin owners have gone out of their way to make the cabin comfortable and enjoyable. Everything you could imagine you might need in the kitchen is there. The labels that aid you find the right light switch or where things are were very appreciated by this type a personality and proud owner of a label making machine. The dual decks assured that everyone could take in that majestic view. Our two little dogs were at home the moment they walked in. There are board games available for your use and we loved reading the Guest Journal and viewing the photos of the renovation. We will return to this cabin! We've already referred a friend! Although we had no bear visitors, we hear this cabin is notorious for bear sightings. Oh, just a note: be careful driving up in the rain. Just after we left JMH there was a big downpour. It had stopped, but the mountain roads were still wet. There was one hill where we actually slid backwards and had to try again. Scary! We have no doubt you will enjoy your stay here. We didn't want to leave...
Johnson City, TN
It is like a home away from home!
Everything about this rental was outstanding, from the amenities to the views. We particularly enjoyed the views of LeConte and Gatlinburg during sunrise and at night. We're definitely looking at coming back to Red Heaven as soon as we can.
Travelers rest, SC
Could have stayed forever
The view was spectacular. The service from JMH as always the best and so friendly. ammenities were very nice in Chalet village
Cabin is clean and comfortable in a great location. Secluded yet only 7 minutes from downtown Gatlinburg. Good for a family of four. Game room is a great added plus. Had a problem with the a/C the first night and Jackson Mountain Homes had it fixed in a couple of hours. Only negatives are that if you set the a/C at 75 to cool the upper floor, it becomes very cold in the master bedroom downstairs. Also, it is a shame that the view of downtown Gatlinburg from the deck is becoming obstructed by overgrowth of the vegetation. Would definitely consider staying here again. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 06/21/2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Red Heaven. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and wanted to update you on the view. The owner just had tree service completed to remove trees from the view. We are sure the next time you visit Red Heaven, you will love the view! We hope to see you soon!
Red Heaven was very nice and clean. The view of the mountains and gatlinburg was amazing. I have stayed in gatlinburg as well as lived in sevierville and this cabin was awesome. My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary and we enjoyed this cabin. It would also be nice for a small family. The game room was cool and the hot tub was very relaxing!! It would be a challenge to get to in the winter depending on the road conditions, especially for travelers not used to driving in the mountains in the winter. I will definately try to get this cabin again in the future.
Good times in the Smokies
I have stayed many times in the Smokies and this stay was equally as good. We chose Red Heaven because we had a friend joining us that is confined to a wheelchair and this cabin was wheelchair accessible. This cabin has great amenities but the only let-down was the view. The pics online show breathtaking views but upon arrival, they were blocked out by maturing trees. Hopefully the owner of the property will thin out the vegetation for future guests.
Also, bears are frequent visitors at Red Heaven. When we came back to the cabin our first night, we heard them in the woods below the deck.
Overall, I will definitely return to Red Heaven on a future visit. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 06/01/2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Red Heaven. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We will assess the trees blocking the view and pass on your recommendation to the cabin owner. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon!
This is a wonderful cabin in a breathtaking location. We had a great time. Very cozy place, plenty of room to spread out, or come together and enjoy each others' company.
Red Heaven was a very nice, clean, rental. Some of the appliances and furniture were a little dated, but functional. The view of Gatlinburg at night from the upper deck was beautiful. The kids loved the game room and the jacuzzi. We went in March, and it was still a little chilly. The downstairs stayed very cold. Overall, the stay was enjoyable.
Lots to do at the cabin, best view in Gatlinburg
Great cabin with a perfect view. Lots of privacy. You can't get bored with all there is to do in the cabin. The bedrooms are a little small.
Once again...Loved it!!!
We loved our stay once again at Red Heaven. Jmh staff very welcoming and helpful. We will be back next year!! The view of LeConte and city lights of Gatlinburg were wonderful.
Awesome Veiw! Yikes No Closets!
We totally enjoyed our stay at red heaven< the veiw was great! Every morning we woke to a different view of the clouds or the surise,when we made it out of bed in time!Loved the openess of the main top floor.Liked the leather sofa's,great t.v.and the kitchen was almost too overstocked withpots pans etc.So again no storage space,did not care for the master bedroom and jacuzzi next to playroom and was cool if heat was not turned up higher upstairs. I know alot of this sounds negative but, you asked!And the icemaker did not work in fridge,I had forgotten about those little plastic ice trays!But all in all it was great!Just not for large group.Our pup Rocky loved it too! Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 01/06/2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Red Heaven. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We apologize that you experienced any problem. We will have the ice maker serviced. In multi-level homes such as this, it can be quite difficult to keep the temperature equal on all levels; however, we will have the system serviced to make sure it is working properly. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and your understanding. We hope to see you all (and Rocky) again soon!
There is no place like "Home"!
I am originally from Sevier County. Haven't been back for years because of all the commercial changes. (Sad) We decided to visit a high school friend for Thanksgiving and God sent us to Red Heaven! I loved the fact that this portion of Chalet Village is virtually unchanged, with the exception of a few more houses on the mountain. We brought some of the basic needs but he Kitchen was great. The oven baked our 20 lb. Turkey perfectly with all the fixin's. It will be a Thanksgiving spent with my children I will never forget!!! Thank You, W. Scott
Very romantic getaway!
We stayed at the Red Heaven for our 30th anniversary. The cabin is perfect and supplied with everything we needed. I cannot overstate how beautiful the view is from this cabin. It is also very private. The only drawback for me was the drive up to the cabin. We had no problems, and certainly my husband did not mind it. But it did freak me out a lot. But the cabin is so perfect, and the view so amazing, that staying their for most of our trip was fine with us.
Great Family Vacation Spot!
Red Heaven was a terrific place to stay with a family. We had 2 adults and a 7 year old boy. I honestly think our son would have been perfectly happy to stay in the entire time playing pool, air hockey, video games, and sitting in the hot tub. I would highly recommend this location for families traveling to this spot who are interested in having "down-time" that will still appeal to the kids!
The location was truly "heavenly."
Loved the rental in every aspect with the exception of No closets to hang clothes. Also, one of the tubs was blocked with tons of hair!!! Maint staff took care of it immediately! Stairs were a little rough to climb at my age. Never saw a bear, but had a lot of wild turkey visitors...
League City Texas
The cabin was in a very interesting location. We got to see momma and her 3 baby bears during our stay..
Was kinda of disappoint about the furniture in the cabin. The coaches need replaced very uncomforable to sit in. The beds (boxsprings need replaced) did sleep very well since every time you moved it made a squeaking noise. This was the king bed down stairs. The pillows should also be replaced. We stayed 5 days and we only had 1 towel per person to used. I have stayed in other rental cabins and we had plenty of towels for our stay. I felt that the cabin should have been a little cleaner.. Had to clean the tub upstairs before we could use it and the kitchen area had to be cleaned also. My husband had to fix the TV upstairs so we could use the DVD player and use the cable. I feel that the pictures of the cabins view on the internet is very misleading since the tree has grown up and you don't have that view any longer. But we did have a wonderful time in Gatlingburg spending time with my son who is from Ohio and his girlfriend.
Good, not great
It was a fun place to stay with a beautiful view. We loved the game room and the board games. We played a week-long game of Star Wars Monopoly. The main downside was the bugs! Huge crickets inside the home, even after the exterminator sprayed. Also spiders, but I expected that. We were also frustrated by the stinginess in toilet paper and dishwasher detergent. I didn't expect to have to go buy my own TP on the trip. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 07/07/2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Red Heaven. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and apologize that you experienced any insect problem during your stay. Being in such a heavily wooded area means we see many types of insects. While we do have regular monthly pest control, we are happy to send pest control back to the cabin whenever there is a need. Unfortunately, it can take awhile for the pest control to have an effect. As stated on our website and confirmation, we do provide a starter supply of consumable items such as toilet tissue, paper towels, dish detergent, etc.; however, if you need additional items, we will provide them to you. We apologize for any confusion or inconvenience this may have caused you. We do hope that you will choose Jackson Mountain Homes again in the future.
Clean, roomy cabin.
Loved the view.
We stayed Memorial Day weekend. Just to get away from home for a few days. There were four us staying. We enjoyed all the games, hottub and the view. We didn't see a bear near the cabin, but saw a baby and its brother or sister.
Fun and interesting
Red heaven was a very nice cabin. Our kids really enjoyed the games and the view. Everything was clean nice and neat. The view was really nice. The only bad things i can say is there were way to many crickets and the internet as not wireless. Now for the weird. During our stay myself and my wife slept down stairs and my mother-in-law and kids slept up stairs. During the night we heard footsteps up stairs. My wife and i thought that the kids might be up so we went up stair's to check on them only to find everyone in bed asleep. The footsteps continued though the night. The next day my mother-in-law stayed in the cabin while my wife and i went out to go shopping. As my mother-in-law sat in her bed the lights just popped on by themselves. After returning to the cabin from shopping returning from shopping my mother-in-law told us what had happened and we told here what we had heard the night before. I cant explain what we heard or how the light came on by themselves but it did spook me a bit i have to say. I would not let a couple of weird things keep from staying in the cabin in the future. In fact i want to come back and read the journal entries to see if other people have ad the same experiences as we did.
Best location and wonderful place to stay! Will return!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Red Heaven. The views are amazing during the day and at night. We enjoyed all of the games and television equipment in the cabin on our one rainy night. The cabin was immaculately clean and everything worked very well. We did have a bit of a cricket problem and mountain crickets are big ;-). But it is nature, after all! Tossed them outside - no problem!
The location is great, too. We appreciated being remote, but close to town at the same time! After driving 12 hours to TN, we appreciated not having to always drive far to the national park or activities.
Bug haven , with a view...
Great view, they need to have the home sprayed for insects, have better deck furniture. would have made for a pleasant stay... would not stay here again... Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 06/16/2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Red Heaven. We are terribly sorry to hear that you experienced any problem during your stay. While we do have regular monthly pest control at each cabin, being in such a heavily wooded area and the heat we have experienced, means insects are out in force. They can easily make their way inside through windows and doors as we open and close them. If there are a large number of insects that have made their way indoors, we are always happy to send pest control. The next time you visit, we hope the insects aren't a problem; however, if they are, just give us a call and we will send someone right away. We appreciate your understanding and hope to see you again soon.
Red Heaven was an excellent place to stay. The view was unbeatable. During the day you can watch the tram go by and at night you can enjoy the city lights.
The cabin was clean and comfortable. The owners have done a great job in making this cabin feel like home. The cabin has new flat screen televisions and a game room that made even the rainy days fun. I love the added touch of the radio with speakers throughout the house.
The drive up the mountain was not bad in regular weather conditions and it was only a short five minute drive into town. The only caution I would make is that I can see the drive up the mountain being a little scary during any snow or ice.
We have stayed in several cabins and chalets in both Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. This was one of the best cabins, as far as cleanliness and location, that I have ever stayed in. You can't go wrong with Red Heaven.
sam and donna
Everything we were promised and more. Including a bear in the driveway
West Frankfort IL
We enjoyed our stay, checkin was so easy, I would recommend this cabin, amazing view, awesome gameroom and hot tub.
In 20+years of rental stays, the best cabin ever!!!
Loved everything about this cabin...the location, anemities, cleanliness, everything. We will definitely always stay with Jackson Mountains Homes from now on, and will prefer this cabin first. Our sons will come with us next time because they will love the game room. We definitely were in "Heaven"!!! Being so close to the park, we heard coyotes every night and one visited us one night below the deck, which was pretty cool.
Best gatlinburg experience yet!
The cabin has an amazing view. It's furnished with everything you need to have an amazing trip and all the extras as well. Anyone would have the trip of a lifetime at this cabin.
To whom it may concern,
Everything was very nice while vacationing in Gatlinburg. The cabin was fantastic and even decorated for Christmas. We all enjoyed our stay and wished we could have stayed a bit longer. We will highly consider Jackson Mountain Homes again in future stays in Gatlinburg, including this very same cabin.
I'm not one for lentghy reviews, so I'll leave you with this --our stay was about as enjoyable as it gets!
Very relaxing with beautifull views.
This was the second time we stayed with Jackson Mountain homes this year,the service is allways plesant and quick.The cabin had beautifull views and was clean in most cases,the down stairs carpet was getting a little dirty but that was easy to get around.Crickets were taking over the down stairs so you probably wouldn't want to have anybody sleep on the mattresses on the floor.(killed probably ten per day...Big crickets!!!) Water heater was to small for the hot tub so you had to take a luke warm bath after hiking the trails.Lock on the door upstairs was broke so the door could just be pushed open. But all in all it was a nice place nothing that couldn't be worked out.Location was perfect easy acess to mountains and town,looking forward to coming back next year to hike to the top of Mt LeConte.Please spray for crickets my wife freaked out when we got back home and one jumped out of the suitcase.Thanks. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 12/16/2010
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Red Heaven. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and apologize for any problems that you experienced. We will have the carpet downstairs cleaned and the lock on the upstairs door repaired. In addition to the regular monthly pest control, we will have the exterior of the cabin sprayed to help keep insects out of the cabin. We appreciate your understanding and hope to see you again soon!
Terre Haute Indiana
One of the best times I ever had!!!
The house was amazing to say the least. Wish the trees just off the top deck would have been trimmed back so we had just a little better view of the city, but thats not really a complaint, just one thing i wish we could have seen. game room was a little small, one less game and a couch would have made it perfect, but by no means am i complaining. We found ourselves down there every night having one hell of a great time (just a little cramped) We will absolutely be back next year and the following years to come. Thank you for the great time in the Smokies!!!
Feels like home...
We have stayed in Red Heaven a few times now- it is our favorite!
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
We really loved the house. Its was close to everything & the view was Great. The only problem I saw was the cleanliness of the carpets in the bedrooms. I do know that the house allowed pets & we brought our dogs but I have enough respect for the owner to also bring my kennel cages & when we were not there my dogs went in the kennel cages. I know that all people don't feel that way but I think this is why the carpets looked like they did. I wore shoes the whole time but as far as everything else We had a wonderful time. This was the first time my daughter has been to the mountains since she was 1. We normally rent houses when we go on vacation in the Keys & have never delt with the carpets being dirty. They also smelled of urine which bothered me because I have asthma & alergies. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 06/04/2010
Thank you for your comments. We hope that you had a great stay and apologize if you experienced any problem during your stay. We will forward your comments to the cabin owner so that they can schedule the carpets to be cleaned. The next time you visit, if you have any problems, please contact the office and we will send someone to the cabin right away. We hope you will visit with us again soon!
Convenient - Comfortable
The staff were the most accomodating I have ever encountered. Very friendly, professional and aimed to please. The condo we ended up in was very well stocked. It was clean and comfortable, I would definitely go back..
We were within walking distance to shopping and food.
One suggestion I have would be to include directions for the hot tub, fireplace and the wi-fi. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 04/08/2010
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We will forward your suggestion to the owner. The next time you visit, if you have any questions during your stay, please feel free to contact the office – we are happy to help! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Great View & Privacy
This was our first stay at a cabin in Gatlinburg and we researched the cabins as best we could on the internet. Checking in at Jackson Mountain Homes was quick and easy. We didn't have any problems so I can't comment on their responsiveness, although they did call to make sure we were happy. The cabin was clean and had everything needed to make it a home.
Red Heaven is a terrific cabin, particularly for a small family or two couples. The mountain view is outstanding from both the decks and from inside and being able to see the town lit up adds a nighttime view as well. It's location is very convenient to town and the neighboring cabins are not too close, giving a nice sense of privacy (you don't have to close the blinds because neighbors are too close). The roads are steep but we fared ok in a minivan. I'm not sure we would have done so well in snow or ice. Overall, we were very lucky because I did not see a cabin with a better view or privacy.
The interior of the cabin is very well designed with an open floor plan upstairs, a nice dining table for eating or playing games, very large windows to enjoy the view, great lighting, nice bathrooms with a beautiful jacuzzi tub in the mstr bdrm, great stereo systems in the lower level, cable TV in all the rooms, a game with room with everything you want, and a very relaxing 4 person round hot tub. As with most rentals there are some signs of wear and tear but that should be expected.
If I had to suggest some improvement, it may be time to replace the small amount of carpet the cabin has or replace it with wood or flooring. More importantly, for the small investment it would take, please make the internet access wireless. Right now you have to access it from the upstairs bedroom. Also, add a DVD player to the upstairs bedroom. That's the bedroom that most kids would use and having a dvd player in there makes it much more kid friendly.
Overall, a great cabin that I highly recommend.
Don't think I would revisit here......
PROS: Comfortable beds, WONDERFUL View, Lots of pots and pans for cooking, TV's in all rooms. Alarm system, NO close neighbors.
CONS: The downstairs is FREEZING cold NO HEAT, Not enough HOT water to fill the large Jacuzzi tub even close to the jets, Hot tub too small for 4 adults(NOT OBESE EITHER). Although the game area has lots to do, it is too small for everything there. ONLY have 4 small bath towels for guests??!!??
I wouldn't stay here again for the price UNLESS is was slashed. We also found the unit not to be very "clean", floors were dirty and the downstairs bathroom floor had pubic hairs on it and the shower was visibly dirty, lots of trash on the grounds as well, cans, butts, etc. :-0.... Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 03/22/2010
Thank you for your comments – we are sorry that you experienced any inconveniences during your stay. Some of the multilevel houses have a hard time staying warm in the lower levels. We will have maintenance check the hot water heater to make sure everything is functioning properly. We are sorry that the hot tub size did not meet your expectations. We do have a picture of the game room online which shows the relationship of the game tables to one another. As stated on our policies page, we do provide 1 bath towel person and recommend bringing beach towels for using the indoor jetted tub and hot tub. We will address the cleaning concerns with our housekeeping department. If you would have called the office, we would have been happy to bring you some space heaters & extra towels and have the hot water heater checked, as well as, sent housekeeping to resolve your concerns. We do hope that you will give us the opportunity in the future to get you into a cabin that meets your expectations.
Cherry Point, NC
-Checking in and out could not have been easier
-Very Very cold downstairs
-Had a maintanence issue but they came immediately upon being alerted of it
-Kitchen had every pot, pan, or utensil my group could have possibly needed
-It's nice to have the games downstairs, but it's a little crowded and makes it hard to play any particular game (pool, foosball, airhockey) without bumping another apparatus
Bear tracks in the snow !
First off the mountain views on the website do not do justice for what you see once you get there..... it is so much better ! There was snow before we arrived so the trip up the hill was tricky, not for the faint of heart ! The roads cleared on day two and all was well. Nice and secluded in the winter, and im sure as well all year round. Watching the sunrise while in the hot tub was awesome. Game room was great ! Nite views of Gatlinburg , fantastic ! Nice beds, comfortable couches, fireplace was so romantic. Took the tram to the slopes for lots of outdoor fun ! We also discovered that not all bears sleep all winter !
Bear tracks outside the cabin were a very cool suprise ! We want to come back at least once a year ! The time went by too fast and we did not want to leave ..... memories made......thank you !!
Cape Coral, Florida
Not what I expected!
The cabin was in a great area, with a nice view of downtown. We had several issues with the cabin. First, there was no heat downstairs, or it didn't work at all. My kids slept down there and they were freezing. There are no closets to hang up clothes, or any linen closets in the entire cabin. The bedroom upstairs didn't even have a dresser, so we had to live out of our suitcases for a week. We used the jetted tub upstairs, and it started leaking on the bed downstairs. I must say Jackson Mtn did come right away the next day. They brought a little floor heater, that didn't do much help at all. I haved stayed in cabins in Gatlinburg for the last 5 years, and there is always closets and dressers for your clothes. And always linens and blankets for about a month. We had 5 towels, and one extra blanket. I hate to leave bad reviews, but I would not of stayed here if I knew all of this. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 01/09/2010
We are sorry you were disappointed in this cabin. We do our very best to accurately represent the cabins on our website including floorplan, photos, a detailed amenities list as well as a mapping location. The cabins are all built/furnished to suit the owners needs. The heating system normally works fine but we have experiences unseasonally cold temperatures and the basement systems are finding it hard to keep up. We will be happy help you find a better match for your next trip.
This cabin has an excellent view. Unfortunately it rained most of our stay but we were able to get at least one day of the view.
Pleasant Fall Stay
For the price, Red Heaven is the best stay we have had in the Smokies area
and a great value. The view is fantastic. The cabin is completely renovated
and comfortable for 2 adults and 2 kids. The kitchen was well stocked for
cooking, unlike other cabins we have rented. The game room was fun. We
just loved the retro video games and the kids loved the air hockey. Sunrise
and moonrise from the porch was fantastic beyond words. For the bird
watchers out there, I had a pair of pileated woodpeckers flew right over my
head when I was on the porch! Also, it was great to be able to go straight
into the Smokies Park without fighting the Gatlinburg traffic. And the cabin
was on a hillside with other, older cabins, but with all the trees this cabin
felt isolated. Even nicer is that the cabin was back off the road a ways, so
you didn't hear any traffic and I felt that our car was far enough off the road
as to not worry. For folks who are concerned with winding mountain roads,
the office suggested 2 ways to get to the cabin, take the long route it is less
steep, but you simply can't get views like this with out winding mountain
roads. The Jackson Mountain Homes office was very pleasant, informative
and easy to work with. We had a problem with the internet connection and
they sent someone right out. Though we could get the internet connection
to work on a Window's machine, we could not get it to work on a Mac. You
can get fancier cabins with more amenities, but you can't come close to
finding anything as good as this one at this price. There are 2 things that
could be better. First, it rained most of the time we where there and the
porch is not covered. They could also use bigger rugs to wipe wet feet on.
Second, there are no curtains on the porch view side. No one can see in, but
the sun is bright and early into the cabin through those windows. Not great
for sleeping in. These were not big problems for us. All in all a great place
A Getaway Weekend
Red Heaven is Heaven on Earth--almost
The cabin is delightful, the views are spectacular, and the bears are non-threatening. "Bruce the Bear" visited us every day but basically ignored us since we didn't provide any food. We even had a flock of wild turkeys on the driveway one day. The accommodations are good and obviously done with care. I had a few issues with the cleanliness--the spread in the upstairs bedroom was dirty, the kitchen floor needed to be cleaned well (found a swifter in the laundry closet), and a few things needed some upkeep. The number of pots and pans was unbelievable, but the number of glasses was lacking. Overall, though, we loved our stay. The value we received for our money cannot be beat. Thank you! Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 10/10/2009
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and got to see the local visitors! We will address your cleaning concerns with our housekeeping crews. We apologize that you experienced any deficiences with cleaning. Also, we will have our Quality Control department assess the glasses in the kitchen. Thank yuo for letting us know about that. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Red Heaven has an absolutely wonder view of the mountains! At night it looks over Gatlinburg and the lights look like sparkling jewels. You can see the view from the deck and from inside the home! Lots of room with a cozy feel! Hope to stay there again!
Nice get away from the daily routine. Quiet and secluded. Great for older adults but feel it may be too remote for small children families.
Previously reportded maintenance problems:
1. Outside security lights do not function
2. Lavoratory sink, lower level slow to drain.
3. Electrical outlets in kitchen not working (plug between the range and micrwave.
4. Bear decided to raid pickup as we were loading for departure. Not good if children are nearby. Maybe he/she should be transferred to deeper part of the Great Smokies wilderness.
Considering all, we had an enjoyable visit (except for rain). Not much we can do about that!!! Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 09/24/2009
Thank you for your comments regarding Red Heaven. We are forwardign the maintenance item on to our maintenance team to take care of. Red Heaven does get visited by bears frequently this time of year as the bears are very active in the Ski Mountain area of Gatlinburg. Jackson Mountain Homes supports the TWRA and their efforts to keep the bears and the people safe and we do contact them when bears become habituated and need to be moved. They have been monitoring Ski Mountain quite a bit this year to track the nuisance bears and some have already been relocated. Thank you again and we look forward to your future visits!
Heavenly stay at Red Heaven!
We have rented before from Jackson Mountain Homes and both experiences were great! No problems except for the tax increase this stay. We loved the view from Red Heaven even on the days it rained. Boy! when it rained the tin roof brings you back many years for my Mom! Those childhood memories. It woke us all up the first night but we all got use to it. We had several bear sightings which was a awesome experience for the whole family. We have visited Gatlinburg since I was little many times and had never seen a bear. Always in hopes but never successful till this year. We saw a total of 13 black bears this year! The decore of Red Heaven needs some work to compare to the Big Sky Cabin that we stayed in last. You could tell the difference between a professionally built cabin and one done by the owners. It was nice but the inside needed some help. The porches were great but they need a swing or rocking chairs, not the cheap plastic chairs from Walmart. The Red Heaven was stocked well for kitchen cooking but the stools were about to fall down when you sat on them. The game room was terrific for all ages. We all enjoyed playing pool, air hockey, arcade games, and other games. Don't get me wrong it would be a hard choice as to which place we would stay in next time. The cabin it self was better at Big Sky Cabin but the view and experiences with the bears at Red Heaven were GREAT! Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 07/25/2009
Thank you for your comments. We will forward your suggestions on to the cabin owners. Glad you saw so many bears - WOW that was a lot! Hope to see you again next year!
Bobby and Brittany
Best view in Tennessee
Red Heaven was the perfect place for the two of us to start our
marriage. We had a wonderful time getting the Smokey Mountain
experience while staying in this cabin. The view is spectacular,
better than the view from every other cabin I have ever stayed in.
The cabin is far enough away from everyone so that you can have
privacy, yet it is only about five minutes away from everything
gatlinburg has to offer. Sometimes at night, while sitting in the
jacuzzi on the deck, we could hear bits of music coming from town.
We enjoyed watching shooting stars and waking up to a beautiful
sunrise. We enjoyed seeing bears and watching a thunderstorm way
off on the other side of the mountains.
I would definitely recommend this cabin to anyone staying in
gatlinburg. The only problem at all (if you can call it one) is that the
master bedroom can get pretty cold at night. I enjoyed that, but my
wife didn't, which led to her hogging all of the blankets.
But I will probably try to rent Red Heaven every time I go to the
a fabulous vacation home!
this amazing house had everything! we had one particularly cold day and spent the entire day at home and had a great time. between the hot tub, game room, the view and the chance to just read and be together we had great family time. we also saved quite a bit of money eating in the fully equipped kitchen, which meant more shopping money ;-)
our chihuahua also tagged along since the cabin owners accept pets and we were so grateful! thank you so much!!
red heaven is the best of both worlds -- it is nestled in the smokies with an amazing view and quiet beauty, yet it was easy to reach on the well-paved roads. we had a most ideal family vacation and have no doubt that we will return to red heaven. thank you!
nigel and Nikki Adams
ex Olney, England
Wonderful location stunning views
Stunning home with spectacular views. The sunrise over the Smoky's is somethin else!
The apartment was very well maintained and had everything we could wish for including a great gamesroom
Great Cabin very clean and well kept.Fantastic views from almost every room Firnished with everything you need.If you want to get away without going away this is the cabin for you.
This was my birthday weekend and there were 2 couples and we had a BLAST. The Red Heaven was spacious enough we enjoyed the game room and all of the amenities. The only thing I would suggest is maybe a little more light out on the balcony where the hot tub is located. Other than that we had a "GREAT" time. We plan to come back in October 2009 to stay at the same cabin.
I have actually already completed a review of my stay. However, I will reiterate LOVED IT, LOVED IT, LOVED IT!!
We would definitely stay here again.
We drove from Houston, to Memphis, to Gatlinburg (with a 7 year old and a 10 year old)...one-way was 17 hours!! The drive was well worth it because the Red Heaven cabin was absolutely perfect! It was a very well maintained home with ALL of the necessities right there in the cabin. The view was phenomenal! I would recommend this trip and cabin to anyone who wants to have a nice relaxing vacation!
Red Heaven is a beautiful chalet. The view of the mountains, the Tram, and Gatlinburg is enchanting. The game room is perfect for everyone. The road to the chalet is clear. The only down side is the driveway. If you plan on bringing motorcycles you might want to look for a chalet with a wider more level drive.