- 2 bedrooms
- 3 bathrooms
- Sleeps 8
Description from the manager
Come to the Wandering Cubs. Warm earth tone colors throughout, updated furnishings, nature inspired decor, floor to ceiling windows with great views of the mountains all make Wandering Cubs the perfect choice. Relax in your private hot tub on the covered deck and enjoy the magnificent views of Mt. LeConte. Challenge friends and family to a game of pool or PS3 in the game room or watch a movie on the 65" HDTV. Cozy up in front of the beautiful large stone fireplace and watch the sun set over the mountains. Maybe you will even be lucky enough to catch a glimpse of the wildlife around! Whatever your plans, just minutes from downtown, the main en...trance to the Great Smoky Mountain National Park or Ober Gatlinburg, Wandering Cubs is sure to make your vacation one you will not forget! Book today!
Additional amenities include: pool table, games, clubhouse - pool � meeting rooms walking distance, access to gatlinburg community center , - billiards, bowling alley, indoor pool, basketball, racquet ball and walking track nearby., pets under 25lb, beautiful views of mt. leconte, small log pool table, high def channels, patio table with 6 chairs on deck, stereo has cd player and speakers on deck, paved parking, approximately 10 minutes from downtown gatlinburg, 65" high definition TV w/surround sound system, minutes from ober gatlinburg ski resort and indoor ice skating, fireplace-gas (seasonal) (1), 42" HDTV, jet tub-indoor (2), DVD (3), DVD movie library, washer/dryer, non-smoking, paved driveway, electronic dartboard, parking spaces (3), 42" and 32" HDTV's, two identical master king suites, ps3 console (just bring your games or bluray movies.).Read more
Additional Location Information
Last updated on July 31, 2014
Not available for your dates? Check availability for 1,088 other Gatlinburg rentalsCheck Availability for Gatlinburg
Rates shown in $ USD
|See all dates
|Don't see rates for your trip?|
- Reservation Fee | $69 per stay
Additional notes from the manager
A 7 night stay is required during Thanksgiving week. A 4 night stay is required during Christmas and New Year's season.
Phone / Internet
- Internet Access
Pool / Spa
- Shared outdoor pool (unheated)
- Hot Tub/Jacuzzi
- Satellite or cable TV
- Pet friendly - ask
- Smoking allowed - ask
- Suitable for children - ask
- Suitable for the elderly - ask
- Wheelchair accessible - ask
What Past Guests Are Saying
Have you stayed here? Write a review
61 guest reviews
82% of guests would stay again
Omg the view!!!
We ask for a cabin with view and man did they deliver. I will never forget my early morning coffee overlooking those mountains. It was everything x ten that we expected, can't wait to return. Jmh was outstanding to work with or should I say deal with there was no work. If you like privacy and view, rent it!!!
Wandering Cubs Heaven
We had a great time staying at this cabin the first week of November 2013. On the 3rd day we were visited by a bear in the back yard. It then went up the side of the hill toward the driveway, crawled over the fence onto the front deck and to the front of the cabin. The stay was peaceful and it is fairly close to town. The drive is the most tricky I've encountered in the many years I've been coming. The 2 master bedrooms was a nice touch. We'd stay at Wandering Cubs again. The views at this cabin are well worth the driveway aggravation! If you want a cabin with spectacular views, this one is for you!
Great get away.
My family enjoyed our stay. Very clean with every thing you need for your stay. The only down fall is pulling into the drive way. It can be a real challenge.
Nice cabin, parking was not good. A few issues while we stayed with the hot tub and a/c. Beautiful view from the hot tub. Close to Gatlinburg. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 07/02/2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Wandering Cubs. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and apologize that you experienced a problem with the hot tub and a/c. Thank you for notifying us so that we were able to send someone to the cabin immediately to take care of them. We appreciate your understanding and hope to see you again soon!
Fort Worth, TX
The Wandering Cubs cabin was fantastic! Just isolated enough to relax, but with all the comforts of home. A king suite on each end of the cabin. The view of the Smokies from the rear deck was beautiful!! This cabin is on the side of a steep mountain with the rear deck facing east. The sunrise over the mountains was something to behold. The cabin is well maintained. The driveway is an adventure, in a good way. It is rather steep and kind of narrow, but plenty of room to drive down and turn around so you are heading out when leaving. One day when leaving for the day, we saw a family of four black bears about four blocks from the cabin. How exciting! I can see where the owners got the name for the cabin. When returning to Gatlinburg for a getaway, we will definitely try to book this cabin. I can recommend to all.
1 Year Wedding anniversary
Nice, Nice views. Loved the layout.. We were alone, but enough room for more people. Driveway is difficult and the outdoor Jacuzzi is right outside the back porch door. We had a great time and not a lot of time in the cabin. They have doggie bowls.. :) I really enjoyed it, the fire place is gas and just turn a switch and, poof, fire which was awesome.. Really a nice place... We loved it... Thanks
Hoping for a early spring.
Perfect for two families
We loved Wondering Cubs. The two bedrooms with King beds and private bath were perfect for Two couples getting away for a winter trip and sharing the expense. We loved the mountain scene from the living room, the gas fireplace and the hot tub. Parking was a little tricky but we figured it out. Don't hesitate to stay here. Jackson Mountain Homes made rental easy.
We enjoyed this cabin, location, view...it was great. The driveway made us all laugh. Intresting navigationing skills needed. Exactly what we needed for a wonderful weekend! We'll be back.
wonderful vacation home
very enjoyable ,a great view and service was great.
We really enjoyed the cabin, and will probably reserve it again. It was cozy and just the right size for two couples. I enjoyed not having to worry about keys also.
The only problem we had was the hot tub. It was broken when we got there, someone came and installed a motor. The motor leaked, so we had to turn the hot tub off. It wasn't a big deal. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 11/02/2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Wandering Cubs. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the cabin and apologize that there was a problem with the hot tub. We hope that the refund we gave you shows our commitment to customer satisfaction. We appreciate your understanding and hope to see you again soon.
Gerry and Pam
Great unit. Very comfortable and relaxing.
This was the 3rd time that we stayed at Wandering Cubs. The
unit has always been immaculately clean and comfortable and
we thoroughly enjoyed each stay.
The only reason that we didn't rate as excellent is that the hot tub cover needs to be replaced. its so water logged
that seems to weigh a ton. Other than that everyting was perfect. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 09/20/2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at Wandering Cubs. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay again! We will assess the hot tub cover replacement. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and your understanding. We look forward to seeing you again!
This cabin was perfect for my family. It had an extra bathroom that was upstairs in the loft, which was a pleasant surprise. The drive was not easy to get into and can't be backed into either. We managed it though. It was located in a good location from Gatlinburg and the welcome center. I recommend parking at the welcome center and using the Gatlinburg trolley system, you can't be in a hurry but it's the best way to get around town. The beds were not that comfortable but I'm use to pillow top mattress and the cabin didn't have those.
This was a nice property and we would stay again. A few things should be taken care of though. Ceiling fans make lots of noise. Dusting could be much better.
The advertisement should give a better description of how small the kitchen is and how difficult it is to access the driveway. Someone who may be challenged may not be able to get in and out of the driveway.
These are minor issues and again I would stay again.
Barbara and Rick Engelhard
Overall not a Great Stay
Sorry to say that the our stay was not what I thought it would be. The house was OK and the view spectacular but it was awful driving up and down the moutain to get anywhere. We had 2 teenagers with us and they just wanted to be in town, and not stuck up in a house in the mountains. I would not recommend the place for kids, for adults it's probably OK.
Week at the Wandering Cub
We loved this cabin and will rent it again when we return to the Smokies. The hot-tub is terrific and the rooms are big and comfortable. The kids enjoyed the giant TV upstairs. The sofas were soft and comfortable and the house had all the amenities. It was like a home away from home.
Great Family Vacation
We love the cabin , it was more than we could have asked for. Driving up to the cabin , a bear was running down the road, my grandkids were thrilled! It was immaculate, very large, great decor. Once we figured out how to get in and out of the driveway easier, we were good to go. Its a short drive to where you can pick up the trolly. View of the mountains was unbelievable! Office staff were very friendly and helpful.
A great vacation!
We have stayed with Jackson Mountain many times and once again were very pleased. Wandering cub has a beautiful view of the mountains and just a very well kept and very pretty cabin. We had four bears come up one night a momma and her three cubs, which was just amazing to see. I would recomend this cabin!!! The driveway is a little tricky though but it is worth it!
We were thrilled with Wandering Cubs! My husband and I brought our 9 month old daughter with us for our first family vacation. 2 bedrooms on the same floor was great for popping in her room to settle her back down in the middle of the night (newly teething!). The loft with giant tv let us go watch movies when she napped or went to bed without disturbing her. The view from the deck was nothing short of amazing. The home was immaculate and we plan on returning next year! Thank you for a wonderful week!
Very nice cabin. Great view. View of surrounding cabins blocked by trees. Nice amenities (everything worked). 5 min drive to national park or Gatlinburg.
D & S
This was our first experience with Jackson and it was as pleasant as we thought it was going to be. The cabin was very nice, but there are a few things that could be cleaned better. We spent 4 nights in Wandering Cubs and will remember those always!! Only problem was the bees and wasps on deck during the day. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 03/29/2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Wandering Cubs. We are happy to hear that you had a memorable stay! We apologize that you experienced any problems. We have scheduled the cabin for a deep cleaning and pest control to spray the decks for bees. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and your understanding. We hope to see you again soon.
Great little cabin, more room than we expected. Watch the drive way though, it's a steep one. My fault though I drive a rear wheel sports car so the mountains are always a little challenging.
Home away from home
This was an absolutley beautiful home. The decorating was really cute, especially if you have young children, my two year old liked playing with all of the bears around the cabin. Everything was very comfortable and clean, and we loved the jacuzzi tubs. The cabin is a very short drive to the trolley stop or if you want to drive yourself you are right in between Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. The only drawback I thought was the driveway was hard to get into and I was nervous with my children on the deck because of the large drop over the side. But other than that everything was great. I would definately stay here again.
Very welcoming with perfect decor and ambience!!!Loved the hot tub with the view,it was a rainy afternoon but the fact that the access to tub is from the living room and it had a roof , made it a perfect afternoon for us and another young couple. Close to downtown restaurants.
Lincoln, Rhode Island
We had a great vacation at Wondering Cubs.
My husband and I live in Rhode Island. We met my sister and brother-in-lawfrom Missouri in Tennessse for vacation and stayed at the Wondering Cubs. We had a fabulous time. The woman who checked us in at the Jackson Mountain office was very welcoming and efficient. The cabin itself really lived up to the reviews and pictures on the web site. It was clean, well decorated, comfortable and was stocked with a starter supply of laundry detergent, dishwasher detergent, etc. The view was gorgeous. We ate dinner on the deck each night and enjoyed the peace and quiet. The location was convenient to the National Park and to Gatlinburg. The only negative thing I can say is that it was rather tricky to manuever in the driveway. I would highly recommend Jackson Mountain and Wandering Cubs.
J and C
Great hiking and weather!
Jackson Mountain's service was great, as usual. We arrived after hours, picked up our packet and had no trouble finding the house.
The house was very nice with a great view, and enjoyed having two master suites that opened onto the deck(at opposite ends).
The house is on Ski Mountain with winding roads but not much traffic, and located nicely to turn left for Gatlinburg or right to Pigeon Forge.
Good mattress's and shower head pressure.
The furnishings are in good shape but there is too much "stuff" sitting around.
Took my oldest son and his family to the mountains for his birthday. We looked at the pictures online and it looked very nice. Once we got there it was nice just alot older than what I had stayed in before and had not stayed on Ski Mtn in a while. We had some difficulties with the plumbing in one of the bathrooms...had to have them come out twice during the stay before resolved. We decided to eat alot in the cabin and found the kitchen had stuff..we should have planned the meals around what we had to work with in the cabin. The view was absolutely gorgeous and loved being on the deck. Now the placement of the hot tub was ok if not in use. Overall the cabin was ok just not what I was use too in other rentals with JMH. I will also definately read the reviews more closely cause if I had done that before would have know the driveway was horrific. Constantly turning around to get in the driveway!
Watching Cubs at Wandering Cubs
My wife, kids, and mother-in-law traveled to Wandering Cubs in June of 2011. The cabin was great for our family and provided plenty of space for everyone. The bedrooms were very spacious and the loft provided a great place for our kids. The deck has a wonderful view and we enjoyed eating breakfast each morning looking at the mountains.We did see several bears at the cabin including a mother bear and three cubs. Jackson Mountain homes was terrific to work with and when we had a small issue with the security system they were quick to respond and helped us solve the problem. The only downside of this cabin was the driveway which was difficult to manage in our minivan. My mother-in-law drove separately and she had a much easier time in her midsized car. That being said we truly enjoyed our stay and having the pool so close was another plus. We spent our evenings at the pool and then returned to the cabin to relax in the hot tub. Wandering Cubs is a well appointed cabin and a nice place to bring the family. We enjoyed our stay!
It was okay!
The house was clean, but a bit miss leading in the description as I thought it was a cabin and it is not. I do not recommend staying here if you have very young children, the hot tub is right up against the railing that has a 40 foot drop. So if the little gets away for a minute you mst be watching them. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 05/13/2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Wandering Cubs. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and are sorry to hear that this particular vacation rental did not meet your expectations. We understand that everyone's idea of a cabin is not going to be the same, so we provide plenty of photos online, so there is no confusion about what the rental will look like when you arrive. The photos also show where the hot tub is in relation to the railing. Again, we are sorry that this particular vacation rental did not meet your expectations. We hope that you will give us the opportunity in the future to help you choose the perfect cabin to meet all of your expectations.
Great time in the Smokies
We stayed at Wandering Cubs for a weekend. This is a great place to stay for a few nights. The only downfall of the cabin is the driveway. It has an awkward angle. The rest of the place is just like the pictures look. The cabin is also right up the hill from a Welcome Center where you can take the trolley into downtown Gatlinburg for $.50 each way which saves a bunch on parking. Overall we had a great time at Wandering Cubs and will definitely stop back again.
Pleasant Home But The Driveway is a Bear
This property was very pleasant and had all the extras expected in a rental home. It was nice to have all the formal bedrooms on one level since we were traveling with small children and didn't need to worry about them going up or down stairs. The home location was shown as the Ski Mountain area but to us it seemed to be in The Spur area. The road leading there was definitely mountainous. The driveway situation should also be fully disclosed as it is not easy to get in or out. This would almost be a deal breaker for another stay. On each trip we had to drive into a neighboring driveway to turn around our moderate sized mini-van to leave the cabin and when returning. The view was lovely and the hot tub was a bonus. There are carpets throughout which reminded us of a hotel experience. Hardwood floors would be preferred and easier to clean. Showers are 'very' small. We were never able to get the game systems working but did enjoy the multiple TVs and pool table. Overall we had an enjoyable stay but will probably select a different property on any future trips. Jmh was incredible to work with and extremely professional. We will definitely use them again to locate our next get-away.
Really nice set up for two families traveling together
We do not have children, but the family who was traveling with us had a teenager. The loft upstairs with a bathroom gave him his own space, while the dual master bedrooms with Jacuzzi tubs provided each adult couple their own space. It was close to Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge which was great, but I felt like I was in a neighborhood, with other cabins so close. We would have liked it to seem a little more private, not so much like a city neighborhood. The bed was not comfortable. We loved everything else about the cabin, how it was set up; it's location to local attractions and the features such as the outdoor hot tub.
Had a wonderful time,the cabin is nice.Wished the hot tub had been in working order.The first 2 of our 4 day stay was staying there while the guys worked on the hot tub.Just didn't feel comfortable leaving with people there that we knew nothing about.So that left us with little time for seeing Gatlinburg. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 12/26/2010
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Wandering Cubs. We are glad that you had a wonderful stay and apologize that you experienced any problem with the hot tub. We understand that you weren't comfortable leaving the cabin, but rest assured the maintenance we use are licensed and bonded and we have been using them for several years. We appreciate your understanding and hope to see you again soon!
This cabin is on Ski Mountain and is very convenient to Gatlinburg. Comfortable furnishings, great hot tub and deck. Nice view of mountains.
We had a great time, didn't feel like we were right on top of any other cabins like you sometimes feel. My young children had a wonderful experience, and now, 6 months later, they are still begging us to take them back to the "bear house." :) Close to everything you need, but far enough away to feel the solitude. Wonderful time!
good, but several things did not work
The hot tub was broken. It would never get hot. Quite disapptointing. Also the tvs, dvds and game systems would not work. The many remotes for each tv, however there are not directions on how to get the systems to integrate together. Very frustating and very disappointing for the kids. We would not recommend this unit due to these issues. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 12/02/2010
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay at Wandering Cubs. We are sorry to hear that you experienced any disappointment during your stay. The hot tub and electronics have been checked since your stay last month. We understand that it can be frustrating when trying to operate unfamiliar systems. If we had known you were experiencing any difficulty, we would have sent someone to the cabin immediately to help with the operating instructions. We hope that you will give us the opportunity in the future to provide you with the perfect vacation or getaway.
Restful and relaxing vacation
We had a wonderful time. We was impressed with the cabin, but the parking was a nightmare. But it was worth it. The pool was the boom...epecially for the kids.
Jessie and Cecilia
Louisville, Kentucky/Clarksville, Tennessee
Wandering Cubs was everything we expected and more! What you see online is what you get and then some. It was tranquil, warm, and comfortable - we knew from the moment we stepped in that we wanted to stay longer.
The was clean, well-equipped, and very home like. My man is serious about his sleep and we both were really impressed with the mattresses - they were so comfy!
Though the cabin would accommodate eight, it was just the two of us and that made it all the more relaxing. We did have a little visitor on day two (a racoon we think ) running around between the first and second floor, it only added to the fun, as my fiancee and I found ourselves armed with brooms in case of and emergency - it was worthy of america's Funniest Home Videos to say the least !
By day three, my fiancee said he would never stay anywhere else when we visited Gatlinburg again and I agree!
The only thing I would upgrade/change is the dish washer. The soap container was broken and wouldn't close.
Other than that - it was wonderful ! We look forward to visiting again.
Fabulous mountain view and great location for easy access to the park and for supplies in Gatlinburg. Jackson Mountain Homes always helpful and informative. We took out cats with us on vacation and they had fun too. The rental decor was not really to our taste but it was exactly as depicted in the website photos, therefore no unpleasant surprises. It was clean and well stocked with all the basics. The media room is awesome and even though we brought our own Dvds there are plenty already available. Wireless access was instant with no complicated setup, cell phone excellent. Driveway is a little tricky but we were prewarned and again, no unpleasant surprise there. We entered Gatlinburg by the route suggested by Jackson Mountain Homes and found it to be much quicker and less stressful than the drive through Sevierville and Pigeon Forge. Their website contains much good information about the area - a one-stop-shop for visitor details!
Highly recommend this rental and the rental agency.
Great home away from home
This was a great experience in every way. The folks at Jackson Mountain Homes were friendly and accommodating - before and after we arrived. We actually arrived a couple of hours early and we could get our key as soon as the inspection was done - VERY nice after being in the car for 15 hours. The home was easy to find and a lovely place to walk in to. My nephew immediately claimed the loft area (with pool table and big screen TV) as his domain! We all enjoyed the hot tub and wonderful view from the deck. And, while driving around some of the different areas on the mountain one misty evening, we saw a couple of bears! Not "wandering cubs" - too big - very exciting! Anyway, we had a great time and truly enjoyed staying at Wandering Cubs. Having had a good experience dealing with Jackson Mountain Homes on a previous trip, we chose them this time and will choose them in the future.
Nice view and fun decor!
Wandering Cubs is a beautiful cabin. The ride up to this cabin is a bit steep with few guardrails, leaving us to wonder what would be the circumstances in the case of snow or icy conditions. We realize, though, that this is to be expected to stay in a cabin with a great view. The driveway is a bit challenging. Once inside the cabin, however, the furnishings and decor are comfy with a fun bear theme. We were able to bring our pet which was very convenient. The view from the deck is very nice; I'm sure the fall foliage is beautiful! Everything we could possibly want or need, save food, was provided. Family friendly - lots of movies, games, and big screen TVs. The one problem we encountered was the gas fireplace - the propane was empty.....we would suggest checking the propane level before guests arrived. It would have been nice to have a fire.....it was quite chilly. Otherwise, we had a great time! Most likely, we will return for another visit! Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 04/06/2010
Thank you for your comments – we are happy to hear that you had a great time! We are sorry that you experienced any inconvenience during your stay. Unfortunately, the location of the propane is not in an easily accessible location and while we notified the gas company right away, it did take them a couple of days to re-fill the tank. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience and hope that you will stay with us again.
Beautiful home, difficult to access
We loved the cabin!! We esp. loved the view and the privacy. The location was fair and there were lots of hairpin curves getting to it as well as a very steep driveway.
Service was top rated as usual by the Jackson Mountain Homes staff. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 04/01/2010
Thank you for your comment – we are happy to hear that you had such a great visit! While mountain driving is a piece of cake of some, it can be challenging for some first time visitors. Each of our reservationists are familiar with the roads going to each cabin and can help find the perfect cabin to meet each guests unique needs. We can’t wait to see you again!
Renting with Jackson Mountain Homes is always a hassle-free experience, with great service and friendly advice on the local offerings.
The Wandering Cubs was a lovely home, well suited to our purpose... a quiet getaway for the weekend. Located high atop the hillside, the view was wonderful, and the seclusion was perfect. Neighbors are on both sides, but far enough away not to notice them.
The amenities were plentiful and in good working order. The living room is cozy and comfortable,with a nice gas fireplace, and the kitchen is large enough to do most any type of cooking you might require. The bedrooms are large and comfortable, and for two-couple trips, the fact that both bedrooms are identically furnished takes the decision making out of which couple gets which bedroom.
The pros: Location, view, furnishings, bathrooms, jacuzzi tubs, Internet access.
The cons: Tough to navigate the driveway with larger vehicles. Hot tub is on a deck that is too narrow, which keeps tub occupants pelted with snow and rain while using the tub. Hard to get from the deck into the cabin with the cover off the tub. 65" TV is NOT a flat panel, but an old-style rear projection TV with an old-style picture quality. Better off watching the TV downstairs. Pool Table is not full-sized, but miniature. You can't tell this from the brochures. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 02/12/2010
Thank you for your comments. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We will be sure to pass along your comments to the cabin owner. We would like to address the fact that the TV was just installed last year and it was brand new. It is not a rear style project as you said so we wonder if the weather had something to do with the picture quality because when we took the new photos for the website the picture quality was great. We will check it out to make sure something hasn't happend to the cable system. The pool table was custom made to fit the space available to allow for the home theater. Again, thank you and we look forward to your future arrivals.
Jackson Mountain Homes customer service is wonderful. So nice & friendly. The chalet is a beautiful home, outstanding view especially topped with snow. Loved the hot tub (best feature for us). Only thing,the chalet was dirty. Floors were not swept. Cob webs flowed everywhere. Couldn't enjoy view because windows needs a good cleaning. Stove/Oven had food particles still left on/in/beside. The pool table is nice if you are an Oompa Loompa. Only got a half roll of toilet paper for each restrooms for 7 day stay. After we cleaned before settling in & shopped for paper products we had a great stay. Just a little tip for the owners, take the gift money and invest in new house cleaners. You have an awesome home need to keep it up. Question: What's up with Jimmy Buffet incorporated with Wandering Cubs? Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 01/19/2010
Thank you for your comments. We will be addressing these with the housekeeping company right away. Cabins are to be stocked with on extra roll of toilet paper per toilet and the cleaning issues are not acceptable to us. The pool table was custom made to fit the space and still be able to have a home theater. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future.
Peaceful getaway with all the amenities
Our experience with renting from Jackson Mt was very easy and trouble
free. The cabin was outstanding. Great view, all the amenities. I
particularly like the push-button gas fireplace and the giant 65 inch home
entertainment center. It was very quiet and a great time to get away from
the hussle and bustle that is so characteristic of the holiday season.
The drive to grocery stores and restaurants was a bit of a challenge with the
very curvy mountain roads, but once we drove it a couple of times, it was
no big deal and actually not real far from anything (we ended up finding our
own directions to places which helped).
We stayed a week and they could have provided some more kitchen trash
bags (only 2 that we found), the vacuum didn't work and the dust pan was
chipped on the bottom, so cleaning up the floor mid-week was a challenge.
Other than that, everything was pretty much perfect.
Thanks. Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 12/18/2009
Thank you for taking the time to send us this survey. I'm sorry to hear your vacuum didn't work and the dust pan was chipped. This does not meet our standards! We will have our maintenance staff go to the cabin right away and take care of these issues. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I'm glad you enjoyed the rest of the cabin and your stay in Gatlinburg. We look forward to hosting you during your next stay.
The cabin was nice with a view.
THE SERVICE WE RECEIVED WAS GOOD. MAINTENANCE WAS QUICK TO
RESPOND TO FIX GAS FIREPLACE. THE HOME WAS SPACIOUS AND THE KIDS
LOVED THE LOFT WITH THE GAMES AND HUGE TV AND ADULTS LIKED THE
OUTDOOR SPA. THE LOCATION WAS NICE WITH A GOOD VIEW OF THE
MOUNTAINS. WHAT WE LIKES BEST WAS THE WIDE RANGE OF AMENITIES LIKE
THE SPA, INTERNET, ETC. THE THING THAT WE LIKED THE LEAST WAS THE
DRIVEWAY. IT WAS DIFFICULT TO ENTER AND EXIT
We spent a week there and had a wonderful time. Very good view and furnished well with dishes, cook-ware etc. We have been satisfied with all the cabins we have stayed in at JMH. It would have been nice if refrigerator had an ice-maker but we made it fine. We plan on another trip there next year. Thanks for everything.
When reserving Wandering Cubs the staff was GREAT. We were even forewarned steep curvy road and the turn into the driveway. :) We have been using JMH for years and will not use anyone else. Wandering Cubs has to be one of the most well appointed cabins that Jackson Mtn Homes has. There was nothing missing down to the smallest detail (like matches to light the grill) absolutely everything anyone would need. The only problem we had was short-lived..we couldn't get the wireless to work but then we found the router...hooked up our ethernet and were on our way. The view was "wanderful", the hot-tub just a delight. The driveway well now that was a challenge but we overcame it. All in all a relaxing wonderful vacation.
Our stay was absolutely amazing! The cabin was beautiful and the view from the hot tub was breathtaking. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. Although it rained the entire weekend we were there it added to the much needed relaxing experience. The cabin was equipped with everything we needed and more. The layout of identical king suites with jetted tubs worked out perfectly for the four of us. There's a TV in every room, bedrooms, living room, game room and something for everyone to do. As a result we decide to make this an annual trip and I can't wait to return. I would definitely recommend Jackson Mountain Homes to any and everyone and especially Wandering Cubs. The driveway to the cabin is a little tricky backing into but a small price to pay for such a great experience. What I loved most about the cabin was definitely the hot tub and view. Least would be the grill - it's very small and could use an upgrade. Overall the cabin is great and ideal for couples.
Awesome cabin & views
First of all, the staff at Jackson Home Rental were very nice. The cabin was awesome, very clean & cozy. The only downfall is the cabins driveway. If you have a big vehicle it is hard to get in. But other than that the cabin is very clean & has everything you need. The view of the mountains is beautiful. We also liked the location, your secluded from everyone but not far from town.
We enjoyed our stay.
I would give this cabin a favorable review. Most things were very positive. The view was great, as advertised. The bedrooms and bathrooms were a nice size, and the two masters worked well for us. The living room furniture was very comfortable and the dining furniture was good-sized. Even the loft futon (which we did not use) seemed comfortable, and the pool table and jacuzzi were nice. The cabin was clean.
The "shortcomings" may seem petty, but one of my gripes is that they would be so inexpensive to correct. The kitchen was not as nicely equipped
as the cabin would seem to deserve. There was no cheese grater, pasta strainer or whisk, for example. The pots and pans were mismatched and some were unusable. It took two days before I found the frying pans under the stove. The silverware was very cheap. Although "soap" was listed more than once on the list of amenities, there was only one load's worth of dishwashing and laundry detergent provided. The towels were kind of thin and not soft, like in a cheap hotel.
These shortcomings were obvious in day-to-day use, but could easily be remedied for $200 or $300. Then the cabin's guests would have nothing but pleasant thoughts and a relaxing time.
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 09/11/2009
Thank you for your comments regarding the cabin. We will forward your comments regarding the cookware to the cabin owner. As for the soaps, we do provide some soap but it is an initial starter supply. We are sorry there wasn't enough for your entire stay.
Thank you again and we are glad you enjoyed the balance of the stay.
We had a great time at this cabin. It was just minutes from everywhere we wanted to go.
We stayed at Wandering Cubs for 4 nights June 13-16. We arrived after the Jackson Mountain Homes office had closed but got our packet with the map and key from the after hours area without a problem. We followed the map and crept up Ski Mountain. It's a slow winding road and a bit confusing at first. Our Garmin GPS was of no use. We arrived at Wandering Cubs and after a tight entry into the parking spot we went inside. It was just like the pictures we had seen online. There's a killer view with a large hot tub, two nice bedrooms with large king beds and their own bathroom. The upstairs has a nice futon, a bathroom, a pool table and playstation 2. TV's and DVD players in every room. Everything worked and with the exception of a couple dirty pans tucked back in a corner cupboard the place was very clean. Jackson Mountain called to check on us the next day and we didn't need anything from them the entire stay.
You get access to a swimming pool that is only a couple blocks away and very nice. Not many people there. It's about 10 minutes down to the bottom of the mountain where you could catch a trolley if you wanted to go into Gatlinburg.
We loved the cabin and would recommend it and would stay there again.
1. Terrific location-very, very close to Pigeon Forge, Gatlinburg, and the bypass to the Park
2. Great cabin layout-roomy w/privacy for all--just as described
3. Loved the back porch w/its mt. view and hot tub
4. JMH provided outstanding service from reservation to check-in to fixing a minor problem promptly
5. We simply walked out when it was time to leave-no long check-out process
5. Super-comfy couches in the living area and cozy, comfy beds
6. Quiet-felt very private from other cabins
Cons: (pretty minor!)
1. Five-min. drive straight up the mt., followed by a sharp V turn into the steep driveway (but if I can do it, anyone can!)
2. The "DVD library" consists of only 6 titles, and one is Shirley Temple!
3. The "outdoor grill" was small and pretty battered--and why is it not on the back porch?
4. Cooking pots and pans were garage-sale quality-if you are really planning to "cook", you'll be disappointed
5. The bear decorating theme is a good idea carried too far...the ones outside are kind of creepy (although others apparently don't agree!)
All in all, highly recommended! Read more
Response from Jackson Mountain Homes - 06/18/2009
Thank you for all of your comments - pro and con. Just wanted to note that we will perform a kitchen assessment right away and replace any worn out cookware. We apologize for the inconvenience. The fire department does not allow charcoal grills on wood decks so it had to be placed out front, we are sorry that didn't meet your expectations. However, we are happy that you had outstanding service and look forward to helping you find another property that suits you in the future!
Wonderful Home!! A+++
This place is wonderful! My family and I loved the place. We went with another family and they loved it just as much! Everything was as described. We were close enough to shopping centers, places for the kids to have fun and etc... There was a nice view from the balcony. It was so peaceful sitting in the rocking chair or in the hot tub while listening to the birds and capturing a nice view of the clouds over the mountain tops! Don't just take my word - try it for yourself:)
A GREAT WEEK
The wandering Cubs was everything and way more than the website described. Very spacious,very clean and one of the most peaceful places we have ever stayed!! The view was spectacular and I miss seeing it already!! We enjoyed our week there very much and will return there in the future!! We recommened it highly and someday I would like to own a place just like this one!! Nothing it needs and nothing I would change!! What a cabin!! See you again very soon Wandering Cubs!! Bryan and Pam from Illinois.
Rick & Sue
Great view, very nice chalet. One of the nicest places we've stay at in the Smokies.
No place better than the mountians
The chalet was excellent. I'm not sure exactly what month it was , but we had a great time. We try to go to the mountains 2 or 3 times a year, And we normally use Chalet Village Properties, but they we're booked up so we tried Jackson Mountian, because I had remembered passing by a few of your rentals before, and had a feeling we would be happy with your properties. And we deffinetly were.
Hopefully we can return sometime in the future, because it was worth the trip.
The Thompson family
lovely view, wonderful stay
We really loved this place. Didn't feel to close to the neighbors and the view from the back deck was breathtaking. Great size and wonderfully decorated, made us feel like we were really in a cabin. The only thing we had a problem with was when we were using the oven and would open it up to check on the food inside it kept setting off the smoke detector. It was very VERY touchy. It went off about 8 times by the time we were finally done cooking dinner. Other then that the place was wonderful. Would highly recommend it.
jim & linda
Very lovely home. An incredible view!!
The whirlpool tubes in each room were great.
And we were crazy about the hot tub on the rear deck .. really great to relax with that view. Remember to stop for groceries before you arrive. Try to eat at home as much as possible. Trust us on this one!!
We decided to get married in Gatlinburg TN and we fell in love with Wandering Cubs on line. We were able to bring our beloved pug Raider which was a huge priority for us. The view was the most amazing; even better than the pictures show. Everything about this cabin exceeded any expectation we may have had. The driveway was pretty tricky but once learned how to manuever it, it was okay. We plan to visit again there as soon as we can. It will always hold a special place in our hearts. Would recommend to anyone staying in Gatlinburg to check out Wandering Cubs.
My wife and I and another couple stayed here. We injoyed our stay very much. Just a hint of the smell of smoke in the cabin, but a little air freshener took care of it. Otherwise our stay was wonderful. Watching the lite snow move across the valley from the back porch was spectacular.
This was our second stay in a Jackson Mtn. home and we have been pleased both times.