|Minimum Stay||3 nights|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Our Bear Haven is dedicate to the rescue of stuffed bears. We encourage our guest to save a bear from the lonely existence of a department store, thrift store or garage sale. When saving a bear, you must name it and tag it with the date of induction into â€śOur Bear Havenâ€ť. The bears already rescued are Esmeralda, Max and Houdini. Your bear will be waiting anxiously for your next visit to â€śOur Bear Havenâ€ť. â€śOur Bear Havenâ€ť is a comfortable retreat set in the pines and mountains of Pine Mountain Lake. Max the welcoming bear will greet you at the door with a smile. After a few minutes inside the Haven you will feel your worries disapp...Read more
Rental Property is located in Groveland, California, but cannot be displayed on a map. Contact the manager for more details
We do not have the specific location for this property. Contact the manager for more details
Our Bear Haven-Dog Friendly-Large Chalet style home on large lot.
located in Groveland, California, but cannot be displayed on a map. Contact the manager for more details
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$200 - $225||$200 - $225||$1,400 - $1,575||$6,000 - $6,300||3 nights|
|Mar. 1 2013 - May. 31 2013||$200 - $225||$200 - $225||$1,475 - $1,525||-||3 nights|
|Jun. 1 2013 - Aug. 31 2013||$200 - $225||$200 - $225||$1,400 - $1,575||$6,000 - $6,275||3 nights|
|Sep. 1 2013 - Nov. 30 2013||$200 - $225||$200 - $225||$1,400 - $1,500||$6,000 - $6,100||3 nights|
|Dec. 1 2013 - Feb. 28 2014||$200 - $225||$200 - $225||$1,400 - $1,575||$6,250 - $6,300||3 nights|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
Additional notes from owner
The minimum stays for certain dates may be longer than advertised.
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 19, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Petaluma, CA, United States
Winter at Pine Mountain
We didn't realize the master bedroom was a loft and consider this less desirable. We found that the property was not 60-75 minutes from Badger Pass, but much farther. Lots of room - this house would be great for 2 families who each have lots of little kids. Probably better in the summer as Yosemite was a bit far, but very doable. Beds comfortable. But why only 6 dining room chairs?
San Jose, CA, United States
Overall good location for a large family with kids.
We really enjoyed the rustic feel to the cabin. The layout was great for us as we had 6 adults and two babies. We found it difficult to cook a large Thanksgiving meal in the small kitchen with only two burners on the stove. The big jacuzzi tub in the master bath would have been great if the plug had worked. There were several things that needed replacing (blinds, area rugs, comforter in one bedroom, and the furniture, although covered, was old and uncomfortable. We were surprised at the clumps of dog hair we kept finding. I think for the amount we paid we thought it would be in better condition. We really liked the new deck, but thought the steps down to the front door were dangerous, especially at night since several of the lights didn't work. I don't mean to sound so negative because we really did have a good time, although I'm not sure we'd come back.
Menlo Park, CA, United States
San Francisco, CA, United States
Great time at Bear Haven
My family of 3 and my parents had a wonderful stay at Bear Haven. Yes, it was warm due the lack of A/C, but there were plenty of fans and 2 lovely bedrooms in the basement that were nice and cool. The deer families greeted us daily and we often watched the sunrise through the queen-size bedroom which has a PERFECT view from the window above the bed. The location in Grovedale made it very convenient to do day trips to Yosemite Valley (about an hour drive away) and the cabin is walking distance from the pool, which we enjoyed daily. The only complaint we had, and this is not the cabin owner's fault, is that there are no sidewalks or paths along the side of the roads to the pool, so you had to walk in the street, which didn't feel too safe on the blind corners.
We really enjoyed our stay. The location was great..there was a small grocery store close by (and there isn't many in the park area). The Pinelake community was nice..had a couple of beaches..very well kept and secure. The cabin was very nice. The pictures actually looked darker than what it is..though we opened all the blinds. We had 3 seperate family/groups so we each took a floor. Huge new deck. We've stayed in places like this before and this one is about as well appointed as you can get..the kitchen had about anything you would need. There were deer coming around the deck about every morning...kids loved that. Like many accomodations in the area it had no a/c so in the heat of the day it could get warm. We are from Florida so it didnt' faze us..there are some fans and we used them. We were rarely in the place during that time of day.
Galt, CA, United States
Family Yosemite Vacation
House was very nice. New deck was great. The only downside to the property was the steps from the parking area to the house. The steps are railroad ties with lots of tar that would track on bottom of shoes. The steps had an uneven pitch which was difficult at night.
Fontana, CA, United States
We stayed at this cabin last year and we loved it so much that we came back again. It doesn't have air condition but it has ceiling fans and portable fans too. The only negative is that is about 1 hour away from Yosemite park but the place is great.
La Puente, CA, United States
Family was satisfied with
Palm Harbor, FL, United States
Wonderful trip with our family... Very roomy house
I loved the house, especially the new deck. The house is very warm and homey. The only negative thing I could possibly say, is the living room couch needs to be replaced.
Eugene, OR, United States
Very nice. Without air conditioning and with the hot weather we had, it was a little uncomfortable. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay very much.
Atlanta, GA, United States
Half of the outdoor deck is gone
Nice house. No a/c. House had cobwebs in most windows. When we arrived, the first thing we noticed was that half of the deck (which happened to be the part of the deck that was outside of the main floor sliding doors) was removed and a "new" deck appeared to be under construction. So, we couldn't use the deck at all - because there wasn't one ... just some scaffolding and random tools and old deck material lying in a pile
Lennox, CA, United States
Warm and welcoming atmosphere
We had a wonderful Christmas vacation at Bear Haven. The house has a great layout. Each room had its unique theme "we loved that" . When we walked in we felt the warmth and welcoming feeling instantly. The kids were running around of joy. The deers outside the home made if perfect. We were enjoying our Christmas retreat. On the not so good side. The house seemed child friendly until we encountered a situation with the doors. The door handles all lock but no key or key hole to open them up once they get locked. You can lock the door and open it from inside but not outside, so if you are inside and open the door and not realized the door is locked you can accidently lock the door and there is no way to get back in. Downstairs in the game room you can lock the door from the outside but not from the inside, once you are in the game room and the door is closes you can't get out. The two bedrooms on the main floor have a door that leads to the backyard, awesome BUT there is no key so again if you accidently close the door behind you, you are locked out and there is no way of getting back in in (no key). If both doors get locked you are unable to open the room at all! That needs to be fixed especially for renters that have children or elderly people. You just never know, a child could get stuck in the room or your elderly loved on could have an emergency medical need and you are unable to get to them if both doors are locked. This is a huge safety issue. Once the owners replace the door knobs we believe this place is going to be perfect. The satisfaction of cleanliness is somewhat okay. There were ALOT of spider webs, if you give the house a good deep cleaning your place will look spotless and your guest will relax more especially those scared of spiders and their webs. The house had a great warm feeling with just a few changes we believe you will get more 5 star reviews. Thank you for sharing your Bear Haven home. The Villafana family.
Response from RE/MAX Yosemite Gold - 12/28/2011
Thank you for bringing the door knob issue to our attention. The Property Owner will be replacing all door knobs this coming weekend.We are glad you enjoyed your Holiday and hope to see you again.
St. George, UT, United States
Family gathering sleeping place
Had to scrub mold out of downstairs bath. Heaters kept shutting off. Only used the house for sleeping. Good location. Lots of beds. Musty basement. Lots of wood and clutter to collect dust. (guess we have too many kiddos with asthma).
We had a delightful Thanksgiving week at Pine Mountain Lake. Bear Haven was a perfect size for our large family (11) and our dog. We so appreciate being able to find vacation rentals that accept dogs...we don't go without him. Our kids and grandkids took advantage of the area with horseback riding, playground structures and day trips to Yosemite, Hetch-Hetchy, the Moaning Caverns, etc. We lucked out with perfect weather and GOOD beds. No aches from inferior matresses. ;-)
It needs alot of fixing up. The bathtub did not work which was a bummer being that is the best part of the place. The doors didnt shut right. THE WORST THING ABOUT THIS PLACE IS NO A/C AND ONLY TWO FANS. IT IS WAY TO HOT THERE.
Santa Rosa, CA
This was a storybook cabin! Kudos to the owners for creating such a warm and pleasant place. We had kids, a dog and a large family of excited adults... although a bit far from the actual park (Yosemite), the community has a marvelous outdoorsy type atmosphere
and great service to guests. I can only think of good things to say!!!
Sandra H.'s review of Our Bear Haven-Dog Friendly-Large Chalet s
I think there is so many places in this home that are broken, sliding door, window shades, washing machine with a stripped fixture that will not work without using a small tool. I know the owners love this bear theme, but just too many in every place you sit or see.
Mid West City, OK
Everything was as expected...
Everything was as expected except the couch should be replaced. It looks way more comfortable in the pictures. We didn't spend much time in front of the tv so it wasn't important but if you were stuck in the house then it would be uncomfortable. The glasses were very dirty so I ran most of them through the dishwasher and put them away for the next visitor. Someone had put them away right side up and you had to clean them before you could use them.
We had a great time! Fun floor plan! I agree that the stairs are a bit treacherous for small children, but brought extra gates with us from home. We relaxed tons and even felt cool in the house on a pretty hot weekend. The lake was great fun, but a bit of a nuisance to have to park down the road so the "real" residents could use the parking lot, especially with lots of kids in tow . . .
The cabin is nice...
The cabin is nice but needs a little work. More lighting in the bedrooms would be nice. Make sure to bring a flashlight. Good location for visiting Yosemite. No hand soap or dishwasher soap so make sure to bring your own. Thought most of that was included in rental but guess not. House could be cleaner considering a cleaning service cleans it. Spider webs on the glass. Bathtub was dirty with grime. Beds are comfortable. Stairs are dangerous for little ones. Couch is just about worn out and not comfortable. Plenty of room for our large family. Beautiful view from back yard. Appreciate that they allow pets!!
Response from RE/MAX Yosemite Gold - 06/22/2011
Thank you for your comments.We will forward your comments for improvements to the Owner.We will be addressing the supply issues and housekeeping issues within our Department.
Everything was just perfect. We enjoyed our stay and we will go
Just one recommendation about the stairs. for families with small kids the stairs are not child proof/friendly. other than that everything is just great.
La Habra, CA
Our family had a wonderful time
was a beautiful house and very cozy.We loved sitting out on the porch.We are thinking about coming back next year.Not enough fans in the house for summer time.T.V. wasn't connected and the bathtub in the master suite wasn't hooked up which was a disappointmnt because the cabin is advertised with that feature.
Nice house but showing signs of wear.
We had some problems with the refrigerator/freezer not keeping things cold, one of the toilets not flushing, the vaccum not working. All due to maintenance neglect. But the management office helped make everything right. I have had very good experiences with other unit so I'm sure I'll be back.
San Mateo, CA
Great Family Vacation
This was such a great place to stay will family including kids. We usually borrow a friends cabin in PML, but they use it every 4th of July week so we decided to rent Our Bear Haven. It's in a great location, close to yosemite and has all the amenities you need. My family loves to cook and BBQ, we had space to do both. We loved it and would gladly stay again.
The circular stairs to...
The circular stairs to the upstairs loft and the downstairs might be difficult for very small children to navigate, or if you are older with bad knees, but we made room assignments accordingly, and loved our stay.
We had a great experience at this cabin. Adults and kids loved it. It is very roomy and has a real cabin look and feel, unlike many other homes in PML. Nothing was broken as mentioned in older reviews. I recommend the linen service to avoid the hassle. RE/MAX was helpful too when needing the WiFi password and other questions. A few things should be clarified for future renters 1) the driveway is too steep for non-4WD auto, so parking 3 cars at top of drive was necessary. 2) the front stairs were a challenge for our grandmothers. Once inside, grandmom's were fine as they stayed on the main floor. 3) Yosemite valley is about 1 hour from the cabin, but PML has nice beaches and fishing, plus grocery and restaurants were nice to have near cabin.
Stanley S.'s review of 02/483 Pine Mountain Lake
Property could be diffacult in the summer do to no forced air.
A Home Away From Home - Welcoming & Restful
The property was everything we hoped it would be: clean, spacious, and built with a cabin-feel. Free wi-fi was nice. The property owners surprised us with leaving Christmas decorations in, out, and throughout the rooms (even a 15-ft. live tree). It was a restful place to stay for the 5d/4nt Christmas holiday. Only neg. comment: 2 electric burners in the kitchen island were small & outdated, but worked well enough to cook with.
Elk Grove, CA
Bear Haven Cabin- RELAXING!!!
We stayed at the cabin in late September, 2009, and had a wonderful time. We had 4 adults, 2 kids, and 2 dogs and could have easily accomodated another family. The location is great and the view from the master bath is wonderful. Great time in Groveland!
Daly City, CA
loved it! my only conmplaint
We loved bear haven, our only complaint is that we were in August and it was very hot, I didn't realize that it didn't have air conditioning,the beautiful tub in master suite was broken,but we were happy to find out that they did have wireless connection for our laptop even though we were told that it didn't.
Merle J.'s review of 02/483 Pine Mountain Lake
Celing was falling down in the kitchen. No effort was made to reduce the cost to compensate for that. It looked tacky. Oven was not working the first day either. Again no price reduction.
Everything with the rental worked out great.
Tracy was excellent to deal with and all who stayed at the house were very pleased.
Thank you for everything.
San Jose, CA
We loved the place but it needs lots of work and cleaning.
The only disappointment was the fees.
We have truly enjoyed using RE/MAX through the years for our weekend rentals every April.
The only thing that may keep us from coming back is the rising cost of fees. We had to pay a $125 cleaning and reservation fee for our rental the past two years....and yet at the same time we are expected to clean the home upon departure.
With a fee that is 25% of the total rental price we will probably not be going through RE/MAX in the future due to cost.
The home, the location, the cleanliness and the property managers were all excellent. The fees will likely keep us away.
Response from RE/MAX Yosemite Gold - 03/31/2009
Hi Tim, We agree with you. However, Pine Mountain Lake is a Private Community and the Association charges $15. Per car for an Access Pass into the Community. We wish that we had control over this fee, but we do not. This fee is incorporated into the Reservation Fee, which we have not raised for several years in an effort to keep our guests returning. We sincerely hope you return. Pine Mountain Lake is a beautiful place to stay. Tracy
We had a wonderful time. The private lake was the center of activities for the kids, as was the pool at the country club. We had a great time. We'll probably be back next year!
Our Bear Haven was beautiful....
We very much enjoyed our stay in the vacation home. It was spacious and thoughtfully decorated, and the furnishings were quite comforatable. We loved the views of the woods, and seeing deer in the neighborhood was a special treat from nature. The kitchen was so well equipped we were tempted to cook everything at home, though we did dine out one night. We made special use of the blender for so refreshing margaritas - yum! Having our dogs with us gives a big thumbs up to the owners - thank you for letting our pets stay with us. About the only thing lacking in the home was some form of air conditioning. It was quite hot when we arrived, and the fans in the house only helped so much. At least an in-window unit in one of the bedrooms would have made sleeping a bit more restful.
San Ramon, CA
Very well kept home.
The dishwasher, when the load finished the soap was still in the door resivior. There is only 1 means of egress on the bottom floor play room and 1 bed room. "Fire Hazard" mid level bathroom, handle comes off the sink faucet. Outside Garbage cans full the day we got there, had to go to remax 2 times. The slider doors didn't lock on main floor.
Fountain Valley, Ca
The property did not...
The property did not appear to be checked prior to our arrival. While the bathrooms and such were cleann the tile floor was very dusty (leaving barefeet and socks very dirty) and there were cobwebs throughout. The mattress pad on one of the queen beds was filthy (surprising as this is one of the things that require cleaning upon checkout!)
The property was also not stocked with toilet paper, paper towels, dish washing soap or dish washing detergent.
The size of the home was very good, however renters should be made more aware of the difficulty in getting up and down the spiral staircases. Especially for young children and older travelers.
The kitchen was very well stocked.
Bear Haven was Heaven
Very cute and big cabin. The 2 girls had the bottom level all to themselves. Made for a more peaceful week. Quiet, convenient location. Great view. Thanks for being dog friendly. Kitchen was adequate for the 'few' times we used it.
Furniture could be a bit more comfortable. Stairways not for the faint of heart. An extra key would be appreciated as we basically had 4 adults coming and going. We didnt feel at ease hiding the one key out side the cabin. All and all, we would recommend this place and Pine Mountain Lake community.
Lincoln City, OR
Great Yosemite trip
We had a great time. The house was good. Your rental team was wonderful. We'd definately come back.
Peyyew L.'s review of 02/483 Pine Mountain Lake
Bear Haven is a very nice vacation house. Check-in to the gated community took us sometimes. Everyone was happy and we plan to visit again next summer.
Wai Tak Y.
San Francisco, CA
A very clean house, awesome space, overall it was a great experience!
wonderful vacation at remax cabins
everything was great, and one thing for sure if GOD wii it. will be there again. thank you for everything.
Southern family gathering
We loved everything about the place-neat decor, teddy bears, very interesting stairs and lots of decks and space. Four southern siblings brought "Mom" to visit California, especially Yosemite and the Big Trees. We had a wonderful time and collected many special memories for the scrapbook of the life of our amazing Mother.
San Jose, CA
The bears are awsome
This is a very nice property. It has everything you need for a relaxing vacation.
Sweeney wedding trip!!
We all enjoyed our stay at the cabin. My nephew got married that Saturday and I made the wedding cake there at the house for the Wedding!!We all enjoyed the beautiful house and the kids really enjoyed the games too!!
It was a lovely home. We had 10 high shool seniors with us and they had a great time. It was a long drive to Yosemite but a beautiful one. We had a great time.
North Highlands, CA
The Bear House
We had eight women and it was one of the best times we had. The house was country style and very cozy with lots of space for everyone. We could all fit at the table and eat dinner together while we watched the deer right outside our window. We liked it so much that we booked another house for this year, we would all love to go back to the bear house but decided to get a place by the lake. But we will miss our bear home and have great memories from there. I would tell any of my friends to stay at this house. Re/max made it very easy to get all the paperwork done and got us to the house so we could have a great weekend. Thank You Janet
Great family home
The unit we rented was fantastic for our 3 families of ten.