Dock Calm is the place to spend a lazy day enjoying the views from your own private river dock. Modern, comfortable and spacious, this riverfront home features a romantic gas fireplace, posh living room, formal dining room and a fully equipped kitchen. Situated at a bend in the river, every room in the house has expansive views of the water and trees. Dock Calm is conveniently located on River Road close to the town of Guerneville. Each of the spacious bedrooms features a Queen bed outfitted in luxury down bedding and tasteful décor. Plush Turkish towels stock each bathroom. Each bedroom offers... a CD player and selection of books to ensure a relaxing afternoon.
The outdoor deck offers comfy outdoor furnishings make it easy to relax and waste the day away. Even Fido can enjoy the comforts of this beach house getaway from his oversized, overstuffed dog bed cozied up next to the fireplace. Enjoy a complimentary gift and dog treats as our thanks for visiting us!
BED SIZES: First bedroom: Queen bed; Second bedroom: Queen bed
HEAT SOURCE: Central heat
LOCATION: 1.7 miles east of Guerneville on busy River Road. (Road noise is minimal inside the house, at the dock and on the back deck, and most noticeable at the parking area and front door). There are great bars (with live music regularly), restaurants and a seasonal community pool within walking distance. Great wine country location! Korbel winery and vineyards are only 0.1 mile east. If you have any questions about the location of the home, please contact our office. Our friendly staff is happy to help!
ADDITIONAL AMENITIES: This home has air conditioning.
NO HOT TUB: This home used to have a hot tub and a few online reviews mention the hot tub. As of Fall 2012, the hot tub is no longer available.
ADDITIONAL FEES: Cleaning Fee of $110, 11% Taxes on Rent and Cleaning and a $49 Damage Protection Fee*
Optional Travel Insurance is available at the time of reservation.
*For this home, a $500 Refundable Security Deposit can be taken in lieu of the Damage Protection Fee, in which case a $20 Booking Fee will be added to the reservation. Request to substitute the Security Deposit for the Damage Protection Fee must be made at the time of reservation. If booking online, this request can be entered in the comments section.
For security purposes, photos of the home from the street have deliberately been left off our website and the map feature does not show the home's exact location. The pinpoint on the map points to either the start of the neighborhood the home is located in or to the nearest major cross streets.
2 night minimum October - most of May (excludes some holidays).
3 night minimum Memorial Day Weekend - September.
Just changed to 4 night minimum, no set rotation day for July and August!
Weekly only in July and August; Summer Rotation Day
All specials exclude holidays and must be mentioned at the time of reservation.
Read our Reservation Info
for more information on our policies, including night minimums and rates for holidays.
Additional amenities include: check-in time 4:00 pm, cleaning & linens $110, boats 2 inflatable kayaks*, spa/hottub none, laundry facilities washer & dryer, heat source gas central heat, river access riverfront, dock*, view river views, fireplace, wood/gas gas fireplace, walk to rio nido pool, pet policy dog friendly, check-out time 12:00 pm.Read more
Left on 08/19/2013 for a stay in July 2013 | Georgina
Service was very good. We had one small issue with the key which was solved quickly. Home was very comfortable; may be a bit noisy for some people as it's right on River Rd., but we live in SF and are accustomed to street noise. There are a lot of steps down to the river, which would have been nice to know. I'm not a fan of the inflatable kayaks so we used the inner tubes. The "dock" isn't really a dock but we took blankets down and made it comfy. There is a shady spot so you get some sun protection. There is no ladder and it's tricky getting in and out of the water because of this. It would also be nice to have a closer place (under the house?) to store the kayaks etc. because it's quite a schlep to carry them back up to the house every night. The deck and grill are great for viewing the river, reading, evening cocktails. Beds were very comfortable as was bathroom. It's close to the town of Guerneville. We were not able to find the nozzle for the hand pump, so we had to carry our kayaks etc. up to the house to re-inflate. That was inconvenient.
Beatiful view of the Russian River!
Left on 08/17/2013 for a stay in June 2013 | jojo
Check-in went very smoothly. The cabin was wonderful, with a wonderful view from the balcony. Beds were comfortable, too, with room for everyone. We had our dog with us, and even a bed was furnished for her. Did not know it would be such a steep hill down to the river. My husband and I weren't able to make it down. And the kayaks were blow up (pump was provided), but expected actual hard case ones. The small boat was good. Our adult children enjoyed very much. The kitchen was well supplied. Only other drawback was there was no cable to watch tv, and there was an important golf game on that weekend. Oh well. We caught up with it on Saturday. All in all, a very good experience for the family.
Perfect home for two couples for the week!
Left on 10/19/2012 for a stay in September 2012 | Kim B.
Great location, close to town and walking distance to Stumptown brewery. River access was perfect. The house is completely on stilts (Not a problem, and better than flooding of course!) so the slight rocking was fine once you are used to it. The hot tub and gas grill sealed the deal, both worked great and were used a ton. Deposit was returned promptly after my stay. Read more
Response from Russian River Vacation Homes - 10/27/2012
Thank you for sharing such a great review of Dock Calm! We love that both bedrooms have awesome views of the river... Being up high certainly helps with the views. We know it's odd for folks that aren't used to "lifted" houses to be up on stilts, but it's very safe and we're all pretty darn used to it here. It is better than the very wet alternative when the river comes up to kiss us goodnight! We're glad you enjoyed the house so much - it's very well located to get out and explore the area...
Russian River Vacation Homes
Great view of the river.
Left on 09/20/2012 for a stay in August 2012 | Reno family
This is a lovely home right on the river. The view is fantastic. The home is well stocked and comfortable. On the down side, there were several spiders outside the front door and in the house. The home is surrounded by foliage and needs to be routinely sprayed. Although the home appeared clean there was dog hair on the hardwood floors. Also, it's important to remember the home is on the main road and it's noisy when the windows are open; not really a big deal but good to know. Read more
Response from Russian River Vacation Homes - 12/07/2012
Thanks for sharing your review! We appreciate the feedback and try to address it as quickly as possible. We wish we could move it just a bit further from River Road, but it just isn't an option. We have inspectors and cleaners sweep down the front of the house for spiders and cobwebs before guests arrive, but under the redwood trees spiders come back very, very quickly. And some of them are beneficial insects, so pest companies won't spray for them. We're sorry they made it into the house!
Anytime you stay in a house, if the cleaning is not up to par, please give us a call! We'll send a cleaner over to touch up!!!
Russian River Vacation Homes
Adequate, not special.
Left on 01/17/2012 for a stay in December 2011 | Meli
I cannot imagine more than two people staying here at one time, unless you're only here to sleep. The livingroom is tiny,with only a loveseat and a couple chairs around a relatively small TV and gas fireplace. The location is central but not terribly relaxing, as it's right on the road. The hot tub is just steps from the road, accesible only after walking out the front door, and the jets didn't work. The bed we slept in was comortable and warm. The bathroom & kitchen were clean and adequatly stocked. In good weather the back deck overlooking the river is undoubtedly a great place to hang out. Overall, not the ideal cold-weather, stay-in kinda place. Read more
Response from Russian River Vacation Homes - 01/18/2012
Thank you for sharing a review for your stay at Dock Calm... I'm sorry you didn't love it! We try to explain the location to folks before they book (and fully on our website) so it's not a surprise. This very well decorated home is cozy and well stocked and is situated on River Road in Rio Nido/Guerneville. It is oriented so almost all of the windows face the river and not the road - this greatly reduces the impact of road noise.
The owners have done a great job making the house dog-friendly with all kinds of extras (treats, toys, etc) to make it a lovely stay for folks with dogs. And in the summer the deck, dock and river access make it an ideal place for playing at the river - and in the winter for folks intent on fishing. Lots of love and care have gone into this home and I hope folks will read other reviews too! I'd love to stay snugged in this house on a rainy day or use it as home base for wine tasting and sight-seeing around Sonoma County.
The hot tub location is tucked along the side of the house and is separated from the road by a tall fence (no one can see through). Unfortunately, there just isn't another place on the property to put a hot tub. And we'll have some one look at the jets - guests can always call our office to let us know if something isn't working and we'll get someone out to the house to address it!
Thank you again,
Russian River Vacation Homes
Birthday weekend by the river
Left on 09/16/2011 for a stay in August 2011 | tahoejenny
As a surprise I booked Dock Calm for my husband's 39th birthday. I had some friends meet us up there to add to the surprise and we canoed the Russian River on Saturday all day! We loved the view and comfort at Dock Calm. Even though the house sits right on the main road into Guerneville, you really don't hear much of the traffic noise from inside or the back porch. The hot tub was the only thing that was a bit disappointing. While I was aware that it was on the fence line next to the road, I was not aware that it sits immediately inside a gate and there are no stairs to get in or out. There was a collapsible step-stool which was rather precarious. Also the display for the temperature is broken so it was difficult to discern how to get the temp above warm. It was not set at the temp the manual stated and was not hot enough for use on the first night! Once we pressed the up temp button enough to get it up to the 100's we could see the middle digit was damaged and that's why it was so hard to know where it was before. Overall we had a great experience. The house is well stocked with kitchen essentials and the beds were very comfortable! There were lots of river toys in the storage closet that we did not get to use since we had the canoe trip, but would have loved to if we had more time. Good price for what you get overall. Read more
Response from Russian River Vacation Homes - 09/17/2011
The hot tub information is new to the office - I wish we'd heard about it right away so we could have it repaired for you and the following guests too... Any time there's something a miss at a house to let us know so we can have it fixed right away! We're calling the spa folks right away to have it checked out now...
We're glad you had a good time though and hope we'll see you again!
Russian River Vacation Homes
Wine Tasting with Friends
Left on 09/14/2011 for a stay in July 2011 | Tracy T
5 of us rented the house for a week. In a previous trip we had rented a home in Calistoga so wanted to have our base in Sonoma this time. The view of the river is fabulous, we ended most days sitting on the deck drinking wine. There is some noise from the road but otherwise it's pretty peaceful. The house was nicely stocked and beds were comfy. The size was fine for 5 of us.
Lacation! Lacation! Close to down town Guerneville is a plus!
Left on 06/30/2011 for a stay in May 2011 | Cathy
This was a nice home and we loved being by the river, although the steps and walk down to the water would not be recommended for those with leg difficulties. The railing broke off when my older mother was walking down once. There is everything that you need in the kitchen for cooking, and we are thankful that this rental accepts dogs and has everything for them also. I am hoping that it will be easier to enter and exit into the water the next time we go! Read more
Response from Russian River Vacation Homes - 08/05/2011
Thanks for the review! Immediately after your stay, a handy man repaired the railing - so thank you for reporting it promptly! There are lots of steps down to the river, but the house doesn't flood!
We love dogs! And the owners of Dock Calm leave extra treats for our canine buddies too!
Russian River Vacation Homes
Overall a very nice spot
Left on 05/08/2011 for a stay in January 2011 | Oaklander
The outside is unassuming; the interior is very comfortable and livable with excellent views of the river in the kitchen, dining area, the living room, and, of course, the deck. The bedrooms feel warm and luxurious at the same time. The hot tub is oddly-placed (but for understandable reason) and is still quite enjoyable. The proximity to the town is nice. The only place you hear traffic noise is in the hot tub, and after a bit you can let it just be "white noise."
Carson City, Nv
Left on 10/14/2010 for a stay in September 2010 | The Greens
We enjoyed the location very much. It was clean, great view of the river. It had everything would could possibly ask for, kitchen, amenities, and even a doggie bed for our little Yorki. It was very comfortable much better than renting a motel. It was perfect for two couples. Thanks for making our stay so nice. Read more
Response from Russian River Vacation Homes - 10/20/2010
Dock Calm is an awesome vacation home for folks with a dog! And we, two-leggers, love the view and rest of the house! Thanks for sharing your review too!
Russian River Vacation Homes
Left on 07/17/2010 for a stay in June 2010 | Daron Newman
Dock Calm is in a lovely spot, about a mile and a half out of Guerneville on River Road. The dour exterior of the building betrays a well laid out, clean and bright interior. The open plan ground floor is cool and airy and the bedrooms on the 1st floor are roomy and comfortable.
The deck gives way to beautiful scenes up and down the Russian River with birds providing the entertainment for nature watchers. The hot tub is in an awkward position at the front/to the side of the property but as Dock Calm is built into the side of a steep riverbank, it's the only place it could go! The road noise is a little loud here too (when in the tub) but you soon get used to it and put it out of mind.
All in all Dock Calm is in a great location close to the wineries (Korbel Champagne is less than a mile away) and I would recommend it to anyone for a couple of days on the beautiful Russian River. Read more
Response from Russian River Vacation Homes - 09/25/2010
Thanks for sharing feedback! I like to think that the front of the house - that is the side facing the road - is really the back of the house... Every thing is oriented towards the river and that's really the important part! And thank you for pointing out that the road noise is only noticeable from the hot tub and fades out as you relax...
As featured in USA TODAY and recommended by Travel + Leisure in its annual Villa Guide:
New to FlipKey?
FlipKey is a vacation rental marketplace with more than 300,000 rentals around the world. Find the perfect place to stay for your trip, and get great value along with the space, privacy and amenities of home.
Find the vacation rental perfect for you. Learn how.