|Minimum Stay||1 night|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyNo
|Theme||Away from it all, Tropical, Waterfront|
Description from the owner
Plantation style, oceanfront property located on Hana Bay. One of the most affordable rental properties in Hana. Enjoy the sound of the surf from your own private lanai. Enjoy the tropical flowers and fruit trees on the property. Relax to the fragrance of plumeria and laua'e fern.
Hana Bay is a lovely, family oriented beach, great for swimming, kayaking snorkeling. Tutus snack shop is nearby where you can grab a great lunch.
We are a family owned business and would be glad to help you with any questions you may have about planning your trip to beautiful Hana, Maui.
Additional Location Information
Located on Hana Bay, Tutu's House is an affordable, oceanfront duplex with two spacious one bedroom apartments. Each has a fully equipped kitchen and deck overlooking the ocean. The beach is just footsteps away. Tropical flowers and fruit trees surround the property. Please email us for the address to our website to see more pictures and for more information.
Location Type Away from it all, Tropical, Waterfront
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$125||$125||$0||$0||1 night|
|All Dates||$125||$125||-||-||1 night|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the owner|
- Cleaning fee - $15 / stay - Other
- Additional guests - $15 - Per-Person Adjustment - Fee applies to parties of more than 2 guest(s)
Additional notes from owner
Rates are per couple. Add $15 for each additional person. Hawaii sales tax and Hotel tax not included. There is a $15 cleaning fee for stays of 1 night only.
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 04, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Simple but quite good.
We booked Tutu's house with Tripadvisor referral, the payment was made by PayPal- quick and easy. If you a planning a trip to Hana, overnight stay is highly recommended.
There was no Tutu's house in my GPS, so I used Hana Cultural Centre as a landmak and it happened to be right across the street. The house is in a quiet place 5 min walk to the bay with black sand beach.The house is an old duplex and it has it's charm, the unit was quite spacious, kitchen with pots and pans, stove, microwave, coffeemaker etc. The owner offered us some DVD from her library so we can watch them at night. They have wi- fi , but we did not bring our laptop and did not use it.The house was clean, shower worked fine, no a/c, but it's not needed. So if you are not too picky and not borthered by rusty fridge, shabby furniture or sundried towels, it would be a good place to stay.
Amazing View and Peaceful
Hana is a hard place to find a one night stay. Tutu's is a reasonable price for what you get in Hana. The owner is very friendly and was responsive to my e-mails when booking. I booked maybe 2 months in advance for a one night stay and paid via Paypal online. Finding the place is also very easy as it is directly across from the Hana Cultural Center which shows up on Google maps.
For us this place worked for a night, but we probably wouldn't have wanted to stay for couple days or longer, this is just us though. I can see how some people love Tutu's and some people it may not work for them. It all depends on what you want when you travel and you should have no surprises on Tutu's if you read reviews and know what to expect, which we did:
-Very friendly owners
-The back patio/yard ocean view and sounds of waves from ocean
-The great location right in Hana
-One night booking availability with reasonable Hana price
-Washer, clothes line only for drying
-Bugs, ants in kitchen so use refrigerator for food; did wake up with 2 mosquito bites
-Fans only, no a/c; was a little warm at night even with all windows open and breeze
-Home, linens, and furnishings are very old
-Said there was Wifi, but my iPhone never found a connection, however VZ 3G worked perfectly
If you are a person that doesn't need any place fancy then this place will be great for you. If you need an extremely clean place with comfortable linens and a/C, then this is not the place for you. I guess if you are more the casual traveler then book here, and if you are more the high end traveler then don't stay here. And if it's just one night in Hana, then this place should be more than fine and for Hana is a reasonable price accommodation.
An historical cutie on a beautiful bay!
Loved it! It was a beautiful location . A pod of dolphins in the bay entertained us on the morning of our stay. We had hoped it would be a great way to explore that side of the Island. It did not disappoint us. We were able to take our time getting there and really enjoy the Hana Highway. Yes it was older , but we valued its historical and cultural significance . We can stay at a cookie cutter hotel anytime. The emails were informative and we had no trouble finding it or checking in.
Great location and spacious duplex for 2, but house needs work.
We felt the price was a bit high for the lack of cleanliness and condition of the appliances and utensils/pots & pans, etc. All were very old and dirty (rust on side and top of fridge) & part of the stove was unusable. Ants a problem. Had to buy paper towels, although soap was provided in bathroom, kitchen, and for washer. No dryer. Needed towels in the kitchen. Curtains were moldy.
Hosts were hard to contact if they were not in the office.
This place has good possibilities if it is cleaned up on the inside, and that is why we could not decide whether to recommend it and eventually decided not to.
Perfect for our needs
My boyfriend and I stayed in Tutu's House for one night. We wanted to do the drive to Hana and take our time on the drive- hiking to waterfalls, swimming, visiting Oheo Gulch, etc. We spent about 6 or 7 hours doing that and would have been exhausted if we'd had to drive back to Paia. Instead we had this great little ocean-side bungalow to stay in for one night. It was just what we needed- a fantastic location, plenty of room and very clean. Be aware that it's one bedroom so really only a good fit for a couple or a couple with one child.
We drove to the Travaasa to eat dinner and started laughing when we realized how close we were- literally a 20 second drive! Great experience overall- the cheapest night we had on Maui. So glad we did not spend $400 to stay at the Travaasa when all we needed was a clean, comfortable place to sleep. Also witnessed the most beautiful sunrise of my life- the sun rises over the ocean directly behind the house! We set our alarms to get up to watch it then went back to bed :)
San Francisco, California
Pricey for one day stay
The place was little difficult to find as google maps were not working , so we decided to call the owner and tried 2-3 times with no luck and left message but no-one called us back. And finally we find the place.
We stayed for one day and havnt used any stuff still we paid 155 / night which is pretty expensive for quality of the place. The condo was also pretty old, between we stayed in Kuliwa cottage 14a
But option in Hana are very limited, so take your call if you wanna stay in Hana or not.
Response from Unavailable - 12/08/2012
I am sorry that Google maps do not work in Hana but that is out of our control. We are located in a very remote area of Maui and some cellphones do not work here. We did send you an email with detailed instructions on how to find our cottage which is usually very easy for most of our guests to find. We also do mention on our website that Tutus House was built in the 1800s so I am sorry that you were expecting it to be new.
We strayed at Tutu's House for two nights. While it looks quite ordinary from the front, this quaint, somewhat old cottage-like duplex was a lovely place for us to start our vacation in Maui. It is located high above the water. The view is lovely. There is a large back yard with lots of chaise longes and tables on which to relax or picnic. The rooms were very spacious. It had everything we needed, and everything functioned well. There was no a/c, but it is not needed. There was a lot of shade, fans in every room, and a constant sea breeze. Also, the northeast shore is a bit cooler than the more popular south and southwest shores of Maui. We were very comfortable there. We would strongly recommend staying here if you want to visit the northeast side of Maui, rather than driving all the way from the Lahaina or Kihei areas, as you will have time to see so much more.
Great stay at Tutu's
It's a cute little duplex with the ocean right in the backyard. You have to go about 100 yards down the road to access the water, though, since there are rocks and too much brush to walk into the water from the backyard. It did look like the closest rental property to the bay though, and many other properties and hotels weren't even on the same side of the road as the beach. What a great location! The property isn't very new or fancy, but neither is any other place I saw in Hana. It has all the needed amenities and it very clean. My husband and I stopped here for the night after driving to Hana. We both really enjoyed sleeping with the windows open listening to the ocean! There were guests in the other side of the duplex, and we heard some noise but not too much. Overall, we really enjoyed our 2 days at Tutu's!
Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada
We found [--]Aloha[--] at Tutu[--]s House
We flew from Oahu to Maui on Sep 18, picked up a rental at Alamo and headed for Hana. Lunch and coffee at Anthony's in Paia was perfect and we had a leisurely drive on "the Road to Hana" enjoying every twist, bend and narrow bridge and scenery too. We arrived at Tutu's House at 5:15 PM to find everything as described plus some pleasant fellow renters who informed us that pretty much every store/restaurant in Hana would likely be closed except perhaps for the expensive resorts. We were then offered some hamburgers, buns and fixin's as well as eggs and bread for breakfast and an invite to join our new friends at the beach park for some ukelele music and a sing-along. We did and were also treated with some more snacks and a beautiful hulu dance. That and the night next to the beach with the waves crashing and the rain falling made for the most romantic night of our trip.
Think of Tutu's House as a trip to the cottage, with wifi and TV 8-) and come prepared and you should not be disappointed. And please, share some with your fellow travellers.
Keanini Cottage, convenient and good value
Tutus House actually lists several houses in Hana. The Keanini Cottage (2 bedrooms, one bath) is in a quiet neighborhood just 3 blocks from Hana Bay Beach. The house was clean, beds decently comfortable and it had a well equipped kitchen even though some burners on the stove did not work. This was an economical convenient place to stay for two couples. You could see the bay from the living room. The washer while outside worked fine and there was a clothesline outside with clothespins available. Be sure you get directions to the house and information about the key before you get to Hana. We could not find owner or get an answer on the phone when we arrived, luckily someone at the local grocery store knew the location of the house. When we got to the house, the door was unlocked and the key was inside. The owner did return our message sometime later to make sure we got in the house. It was a good stay for us! Owner wants to be paid through PayPal.
Perfect Old Style Island Comfort
Greeted in front of old style duplex and given mangos upon arrival. Clean and simple. The best part is the backyard with a "Heavenly Hana" view of the water framed by palms. The gecko sings to you at night and the trades flow thru the window screens. Quiet and peaceful. Just right for an escape to quiet.
spacious, oceanfront rental from friendly host. great value!
Great oceanfront location in Hana proper, across street from museum and 10 min walk to Hana bay beach.
We enjoyed half of a side-by-side duplex. This large (approx 1000 ft2) apartment has large living room with 27"(?) tube TV and sofabed, full well stocked kitchen with large fridge, microwave, many pots/pans/bowls/plates/utensils, stove etc, a bathroom with clothes washer, and bedroom with new-ish king size bed. From bedroom window, you get a great oceanfront view of some palm trees and the ocean. From bedroom, you can walk out to large back porch with chairs. More chairs and BBQ are in the backyard.
Btw, Hana is a very sleepy town so it was nice to have a full kitchen. We brought a cooler of food from our west maui rental. There is one grocery store, one gas station and several restaurants but Hana is a bit overpriced.
I was a bit reluctant to book due to some negative reviews but the place was very clean. I have dust allergies and yet I felt fine. There is no a/c but every room has a fan. Plus the ocean breeze is cool so a/c wasnt needed. I only saw one insect but that's because we left the door open too long; after all, Hana is a tropical area.
When we arrived, we got the key from Keala. She is very kind, putting linens inside the sofabed and loaning movies from her extensive dvd collection. She said she is an ex nurse and her care shows. She said she is taking over from her elderly mom so maybe that's why the place seems better run and cleaner now :).
Overall, it is a great value at 125/night. I am glad we stayed for one night as the road to/from Hana is long and we were able to get up early and see the nearby sights before the day trippers got here :).
Perfect Hana stay!
I was surprised by the size and location when I arrived. It is a very charming, well-kept old home from the 1800s. The grounds are well-manicured and its really ocean front. The bedroom is in the back with a lanai to sit out on and stairs to the back yard. The back yard is beautiful. I could've stayed there on a lounge chair for the entire trip! The bed linens are clean and soft. There are bugs, but you couldn't avoid that in Hana. A good Thai restaurant is in walking distance as well as Tutu's grill in Hana Bay. Will definitely be back. I hear the owners have a grill they're willing to share - maybe ask when you book because it's hard to get ahold of anyone once you're there. P
Great Deal for the Money
I admittedly only booked this place because it was cheap. We were there for two nights and planned to spend most of the time hiking. I saw some negative reviews about condition and bugs. Now that we've been I got to say whoever wrote those was right out of it. Were there some bugs yes, but they are everywhere on that side of the island (also on some places I've stayed on the dry side). Sooo not a big deal. Kitchen was great. Access to a wasking machine was an enexpected bonus. View from back deck was awesome. Location on Hana bay was great. Could walk anywhere in Hana. When we checked in we even got free run of the video library. Way more than I expected for what I paid.
Welcomed & Wonderful time in Hana
I used to live in Hana many years ago & was bringing my 2 grown sons back to see a piece of their childhood. I definitely wanted a taste of the local-style Maui, not the tourist experience so we did not want to stay in any hotels on our trip. Keala at Tutu's Cottage was gracious, thorough & responded to all my pre-trip planning emails promptly. The 'cottage' was a 2 bedroom single family residence with every amenity a family could need. One bedroom had a queen bed (mine) & the 2nd bedroom had 2 twin beds, which my sons were very happy with - - they each had a personal bed. The living room had newer furniture & decor in "Hawaiian style" and a large, flat screen TV. As we were bringing in our bags, some local Hawaiian children from across the street came over in curiousity to see who we were & introduce themselves. We felt like we belonged & my sons were charmed with the friendliness of the children. We had a wonderful stay in Hana & only wish we had been able to stay longer. I will contact Keala & stay at Tutu's Cottages the next time I come visit Hana!
Had half a house with one bedroom, kitchen, lr, washer, clothesline. Several blocks above Hana bay beach with a view of beach from back sitting area. Arranged online and foundname on door and key inside. Never saw owner. Stayed 3 nights. Wonderful location for exploring Hana area. Quiet. Could hear ocean at night. Had Tv. Could have used some more towells and kitchen items and toilet paper. Come prepared as stores limited in Hana. Recommend for location, space and ability to really see end of the road to Hana.
rustic and relaxing
As other reviewers have said not the best kept place but we all don't live in mansions and my house has a cobweb or two too. a few of those tiny ants at the kitchen sink. The back lawn full of frogs at night was cool though.
4 adults stayed here for 4 nights and we had plenty of room using the wonderful outdoor spaces to have some of our meals, do yoga and just sit. the kitchen was big but pretty skimpy on dishes for the 4 of us. biggest complaint was tracking someone down to get toilet paper, we arrived for 4 nights with just the half a roll . and only 2 bath towels I had made sure I told them there would be 4 of us and paid the extra cost but they didn't seem too interested in providing for that. An easy extra $120 for them.
The directions how to get there were vague, , and the property name sign was not hanging up. why not just give us the address? had to go on memory of the photo in the web page to make sure we had the right house.
The location of course made up for the minor inadequacies of the house. Do go find Red Sand beach ,within walking distance,but wear good shoes. Oh and skip Hana Ranch Restaurant for diner,
It's a great little beach house in the heart of Hana.
Tutu's House is not fancy, but it's clean, comfortable, roomy, and very well located close to the water, restaurants, and market, as well as a little museum. The owners of Tutu's House are very pleasant and have a rich cultural history connected to the house and Hana; if you have a chance, take the opportunity to talk to them. There isn't much going on in Hana, but we did listen to some nice Hawaiian music at the Travaasa Lodge one night. There's a Thai Restaurant up the street that's open only for lunch that is delicious and reasonable and the portions are large enough that we had leftovers for dinner. The people in Hana were all very pleasant and seem to love it in Hana; there are a lot of artists (check out the gallery at Travaasa Lodge). Don't miss the sacred pools and the bamboo forest or the red sand beach (it's somewhat hidden within walking distance of Tutu's House. We loved our trip to Hana; the people were very friendly and happy to be living in Hana! We hope to come back to Hana and Tutu's House.
Charming Cottage on the coast
We were very pleased with this lovely, clean and comfortable place. Particularly enjoyed the garden which rolls down to the ocean. Bed very comfortable, very quiet, easy to find. We had a lovely time and would like to go back and stay longer next time.
Albany area N.Y.
Tutu's was great for a quick stop in Hana
Stayed 1 night. It was clean, and had a washer(but you had to hang clothes outside to dry), and plenty of room to spread our!
Quiet bay front property
I stayed at Tutu's house in September 2011. I found booking it and finding it very easy even though I came in late. The owner had left the unit open for me with my name on the door. It was exactly as advertised, a complete with full kitchen, washer/dryer, etc. all the items you may need. The space was actually quite large although the kitchen has not be remodeled in a very long time. The entire unit was very clean and comfortable. Easy parking in front of the unit.
We loved the private lanai as well as extra seating on the lawn. The bedroom is well located in the back of the unit so you listen to the lapping of the waves as you go to sleep. The garden area in the front and the big front porch were also very beautiful. Next time I visit Hana, I will book several nights instead of just one and would definitely return here based on this experience.
The house is over a hundred years old but very well kept up with. The location is great. Close by to all that Hana has to offer and as close to the ocean as you can get. Bedroom window is about a hundred feet to the water. It is so nice to wake up to the ocean waves and the sunrise. Not for everyone i guess. I have stayed in Hana 4 times over the past few years and this place was the best. The owners did everything we requested and offered more. Very nice people.
Simple cottage, great location
We were looking for a no frills, affordable overnighter in Hana area and that's just what we found in Tutu's Cottage. Their rental in Hana was booked, so they offered the Cottage five miles South of Hana. We have stayed in town on several occasions, so we thought we'd give this a try. What a great stay. Old plantation style cottage-very simple, but clean and comfortable. It's all you really need anyway. The location is amazing. You are right at the trail head for Waioka Pond, or Venus Pool, one of the natural wonders of Maui. The cottage abuts the river that feeds if. Evening strolls down to the pool, or a morning sunrise visit are at your doorstep. A trip to town is a pleasant 5 mile drive, and you are only about 5 miles from the Ohe'o Gulch and the Seven Pools. How sweet is that?
The only thing lacking at the cottage was no BBQ grill, and a burner on the old stove was not working, but I still managed a great pan-seared Ono feast.
Nothing fancy here, but that is what Hana is all about.
Booking was pleasant and very easy. Next trip to Hana I will stay here again.
Response from Unavailable - 08/21/2011
Sorry about the burner, it was replaced. We do have 3 BBQ grills that are available upon request. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Your home overlooking the ocean
I was very pleased with this my stay here in Hana. The home was very clean and nicely appointed. Windows across the whole backside of the house overlooking the ocean were fabulous. I would definitely stay here again!
Stop in Hana
The road to Hana is long and we decided to spend some time hiking and visiting the National Park and did not want to return to upcountry the same day. We looked for accommodations in Hana a few weeks before our trip and wanted something under $200 a night. The only availability was Tutu's House. Although the reviews were good, I was nervous about the lack of indoor pictures but decided to chance it. Everything worked out well. The owner greeted us and explained that her grandfather (or perhaps great grandfather) had built the house a one story wooden structure. She has lived in Hana her entire life. She gave us good ideas for food. The house is divided into two apartments. One side was being repaired, (termite damage) so we were the only occupants. The apartment consists of a living room, kitchen, bathroom, and bedroom with a double bed. There is a front porch with comfortable furniture. The bed room faces the ocean and has a door to the back yard. All night we slept to the beautiful sound of pounding waves. You can see the black sands of Hana beach park from the back yard. The back yard has lots of lawn chairs. The kitchen was adequately stocked with dishes and cooking utensils. The furnishings were simple, but fine. Because Hana is in a rain forest, the apartment had a sort of humid feel. No air conditioning-but it was not hot. Food in Hana is very, very limited. We arrived about 6:00 and most things were closed. I suggest you bring food or stop at the very small grocery and fix a simple meal from food there. The house is right across the street from a cultural center where there are displays of historical structures. Payment was with paypal.
Relaxing, affordable, wonderful view, accommodating owners.
After a week and a half in Kihei, we were ready for some relaxation. The beautiful road to Hana was not relaxing, but was packed full of photo opportunities!! We stopped for a few hikes along the way. Tutu's House was easy to find and the owners were extremely helpful. The deck, yard and outdoor furniture afford an amazing view of the water and even though there is no immediate beach access, Hana Bay State Park is within walking distance and has a black sand beach. The house is not new nor is it luxurious, but is comfortable. While there, we drove to Ohe'o Gulch and hiked into Waimoku Falls. The falls and the bamboo forest were worth the downpour...
San Jose, California
Cute Seaside Cottage
This rental property exceeded my expectations! It's very roomy and comfy and perfectly suited for a weeks stay...or longer! Unfortunately, we were only there for two nights.
This property is a duplex located right on the ocean's edge. When you walk up the front steps to the spacious porch there are 2 doors; one for each unit. We had the unit on the right-hand side. The front door opens into the living room. It's very spacious with a couch, coffee table, and tv, and kitchen table. Adjoining the living room is the large, open kitchen that has everything you might need: micro wave, full-size refrigerator, dishes, etc. Both the living room & kitchen have remote controlled fans.
A lengthy hallway leads from the living room to the back of the house. In the back of the house is the bed room. Right before you reach the bedroom is a doorway leading to the laundry room where there's another door leading to the bathroom. The bathroom has a toilet, sink, shower over tub.
The bedroom has a dresser, large closet, extra pillows, and either a king or queen size bed (can't remember, but it was enough room for us both). From the bedroom is a backdoor leading to the porch that overlooks the backyard & ocean. The backyard has lounge chairs and patio table with chairs.
We left the bedroom windows open all night and fell asleep to the sound of the sea!
*back, front, and side yard are filled with mature fruit and flowering trees. You're welcome to pick any fruit on the trees.
*cottage has many magazines and tourist brochures to borrow & peruse while you're there.
*laundry facilities in the cottage (although we didn't actually use them)
*front porch has patio furniture to sit on
*close to Hana Harbor-(there happened to be a film festival going on while we there. We had some great food!)
*Had a slight ant problem in the kitchen by the sink. Nothing that would stop me from staying there again
*Lots of bugs outside in the yard around sundown-bring your bug spray
*No direct access to beach. Although you can walk to the edge of the backyard and look down at the ocean, there didn't seem to be any clear path to the water or any beach area below.
*Great for long-term stays: buy some groceries and make your own meals at home. Use this location as jumping point for all your day trips along the road to(and from) Hana.
*Great for families
Completely tranquil spot in Hana. Perfect for my family!
My family and I recently stayed at Tutu's house. It was a wonderful decision! We have driven through Hana many times, but never taken the time to stay a night. We are so glad we did! Not only did we thoroughly enjoy Tutu's, it gave us the opportunity to experience many things in Hana we simply never had time to before. I loved the fact that we could sleep with the bedroom windows open, enjoy the tropical breeze, and hear the ocean all night long. The home was clean and comfortable, but simple. If you are looking for a luxury retreat, you need to check out another place. Tutu's house is all about location and relaxation. My kids played on the lawn with the ocean crashing just below them, I sat on the back lanai and enjoyed the moon coming up over the ocean. We walked up to dinner, and basically relaxed. It was perfect!! The owner was welcoming and informative, and very kind to my kids. Not all owner's are family-friendly, but Tutu's house certainly was. What anyone staying a night in Hana needs to know is... bring with you anything you think you may need. We were up and ready to start our day long before a breakfast place was open. Have with you two days worth of food, as the drive to Hana and back requires supplies, and Hana is very limited in it's shopping options. Come to Hana prepared to chill out and relax, and you won't be disappointed. Tutu's was the perfect choice for my family, and I know we will be back! Mahalo and aloha!!
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
We relaxed to the sound of waves on the beachfront rocks, enjoye
The space was much as you would expect in a small house, with everything that we needed for the two of us. Our two night stay gave us time to explore the area through and past the 7 pools park. We would have liked more local beach to walk, but enjoyed having them to ourselves.
The best Hosts in Hana
I was nervous about staying here with No reviews. I had no need to be. Our hosts couldn't have been better! We had noticed a charcoal grill in the amenities, but when we got there a gas grill was in the back yard. We mentioned it and it was changed within minutes! When a major storm was coming in, they came to us with a huge flashlight...we had not thought about needing it. They anticipated our every need.
Going to bed with the sound of the waves right out the window was great. Our half of the Duplex cottage was great. Everything we needed was right there. Remember where you are, you will need to stock up on anything you will want to cook, before you come to Hana... We checked the stores... Way overpriced... even for Hawaii.
We were Very happy with our rental, I believe you will be too, if you expect an older cottage, updated more than a few months ago, sitting in a rain forest, just off the bay.