Kahalu'u Beach Villas 101
|Rental type||Apartment / Condominium|
Suitable for childrenAsk
Suitable for the elderlyAsk
Description from the manager
Located along Alii Drive and walking distance to Keauhou Shopping Center, this beautiful one bedroom one bath condo was fully furnished and equipped with comfort and pleasure in mind. A King bed, Bose surround sound stereo, steps to the famous Kahalu'u Beach Park where you'll find concession stands, beach rental equipment, showers, and a lifeguard tower. Amazing views from every room, makes this the ideal Hawaiian vacation spot. Great lanai that overlooks both the pool area and beach park. Watch to the North end of the beach for surfing and body boarding. This unit is handicap accessible and non-smoking. 5 night minimum stay / 7 night minimum...Read more
Kahalu'u Beach Villas 101
Additional Location Information
Rates shown in $ USD (change)
|Rate Summary||$0||$875 - $1,050||$0||-|
|Apr. 1 2013 - Oct. 3 2013||-||$875||-||-|
|Oct. 17 2013 - Dec. 19 2013||-||$875||-||-|
|Dec. 20 2013 - Jan. 5 2014||-||$1,050||-||-|
|Jan. 6 2014 - Mar. 31 2014||-||$945||-||-|
|Apr. 1 2014 - Oct. 2 2014||-||$875||-||-|
|Can't find rates for your travel dates? Contact the manager|
AvailableUnavailable Last updated: May 15, 2013 ◀▶
What Past Guests Are Saying
Seattle, WA, United States
Good place to stay
A wonderful place to stay. The only problem was the local kids sneaking in to use the pool on an almost daily basis. People who stay here will need to be firm with the local kids in asking them to leave.
Autstin, TX, United States
great stay in march
We had a great time here. Property was very clean. It was great to have a washer and dryer. Pool and hot tub were nice. Not a huge fan of the couch in the unit but the bed and chairs were great. Right across the street from the beach. We really enjoyed our stay and would very likely consider staying here again
Delta, BC, United States
Great Get Away
This was an ideal location for anyone from kiddies to seniors who love the is especially good for could use a hand railing in the bathroom beside the toilet since it is advertised as a handicap unit.Convenient to the shopping centre and local restaurants by car but a bit far from town if you want a bigger selection of stores. Yes I would stay there again.
Sterling, AK, United States of America
Home away from home.
We were completely satisfied with the condo. The unit was spotless. The kitchen was stocked with everything we could have possibly needed. We took advantage of the snorkeling beach which was right across the street. The pool and hot tub were perfect in the evening after days spent at the beach or exploring the island. Close to shopping. We would definitely stay there again.
Seattle, WA, United States
Winning the Vacation Rental Lottery
A parent and I had already made plans which fell through at the last minute, and we were left scrambling to find a place to stay. Kona Coast Vacations came through with a recently-available property for the duration of our stay just across the street from our favorite snorkeling beach. We were very pleased with the arrangement and the accomodations were excellent.
New York, NY, United States of America
Great Locatiion Near Snorkel Beach
First floor unit - lanai looks right on to grill, hot tub & pool. Nice open LR/Kitchen. Huge bathroom.
Bainbridge Island, WA, United States
fine apartment in great location
We particularly enjoy snorkeling when in Kona, and this apartment is a very short walk from beautiful Kahaluu Bay.
Polson, MT, United States
Clean, convenient and value!
Our stay at Kahalu'u Beach Villas #101 was exceptional. The unit was comfortably furnished with all the features one would expect in a vacation rental. The location is perfect if you want to snorkel, because you can just walk across the street. A large grocery store is located just south of the condo, and anything else you would need it not far away. We spent 5 nights here and 5 nights on the other side of the island for a taste of both. (And both are very different!)
We would not hesitate to stay at these condos again. My only complaint would be that the path to the pool went right by our lanai, but as long as you've got your britches on it really wasn't that big of a deal. The pool and hot tub were nice and if you like people watching - it's like an IMAX theater with views to the beach and the sunset.
We had a minor malfunction with the garbage disposal/dishwasher on the day we were leaving. The property management had someone there very quickly to fix the problem (disposal was replaced) and all was fine. So a great job all around!
Calgery, xx, Canada
Love the property/loathe the policy! policy! policy! approach.
Booking the property was fine. Reviews were consistent with our experience (which we loved...hallah!) The property is awesome and perfectly located for beginner snorkelling. Great running corridor. What is not aloha is the overwhelming policy "or face this consequence" approach to every aspect of our stay(especially check out; the "guest book" described different expectations than the confirmation). We effectively scrubbed the place clean, which sucked since we JUST came from another property/different island that we LOOOOVED on this vacation. The concierge was useless...don't waste your time with her. We did (though) find a Hawaiian Centipede in the bathroom we found during the "face this consequence" scrub down in the bathroom. I casually collected it under a glass, took it outside, gave it water and set it free only to realize on the flight home it has been known to kill animals and sting people so much that skin bursts (one dude was out of work for 2 1/2 months). Maybe spend more time advising non-residents about sharks, coral reefs and...I dunno...HAWAIIAN CENTIPEDES you may encounter in the bathroom during policy scrubdown would lend to a better stay. Short line; love the property/question the property manager group/forget (or fire) the useless concierge.
Response from Kona Coast Vacations - 01/12/2013
We apologize for the misunderstanding and have rewritten our policy to make them clearer. It is unfortunate that you did not call us while you were here; we have Kona Coast Vacation personnel available 24 hours a day. We handle over 1400 reservations a year and this time the policies were misunderstood. Part of life in the tropics is pests (ants, bugs, etc.). We do ask that the guests assist us in pest reduction methods, such as taking out the garbage when they leave. Since pests look for food, we also ask that the guests' load the dishwasher and start it when they depart. We also ask guests to return furniture to its original position, turn off any lights, fans, AC, close windows and lock the doors when they leave. We ask for assistance in placing any excess beach towels in the washing machine before leaving. There is only a 5 hour window between guests and this assists the cleaners in getting all the washing of linens completed before the new guests arrive. We do thank our guests for assisting us in these measures as it helps keeps the costs down allowing us to maintain lower pricing for all.
Bellingham, WA, United States of America
Great place near great snorkeling
We've stayed in this unit three times -- and will again. Very will equipped,
a great view, and great access to some of the best safe snorkeling on the
island. Great just great one might say.
Calgary, AB, Canada
Everything was perfect... Except the one day we came back to find a note on the door saying they were doing pest spraying and we needed to vacate for a day (2 days notice).
Aside from that... Rent a 4x4 and explore! Get the book "Hawaii Big Island Revealed" for awesome ideas and how to locate some rarely explored places :)
Response from Kona Coast Vacations - 01/12/2013
Unfortunately, the complexes need to spray for pests about 4 times per year. Sorry it happened when you were here. Kona Coast Vacations manage the renting of a few properites in this complex. The complex, on site manager, coordinates the spraying, and they provide notice to each unit to ensure people are aware it is going to be completed. It was great to hear everything else was perfect.
Santa Barbara, ca, United States
Relax and Enjoy
Planning our next vacation - we had a great time and will definitely come back!
Milwaukie, OR, United States of America
Great location, low on ameneties
The location across from snorkeling beach was great. Enjoyed the infinity pool in the evenings, which wasn't used by very many other guests.
The BBQ was out of gas and ruined our plans to BBQ steak, which we had already purchased. The management company doesn't refill gas so you are on your own.
Management company doesn't provide back up toilet paper. They had partial roll on roller and an opened roll on shelf. Ran out on 9 day stay and had to borrow one from another unit.
The outside fan did not work, but maintenance came within 24 hours to repair.
Honolulu, HI, United States
This is a beautifully decorated and maintained condo. My wife and I plan to return for another comfortable stay.
Eagle, ID, United States
Great codo and location
Great condo. Luxury appointments compared to other properties. Wonderful location, steps across the street to the beach park. 5 stars plus.
Colorado Springs, CO, United States
Great place to stay!
My husband and I really enjoyed our recent stay at this condo. It is across the street from a terrific snorkeling bay and it is easy to get into Kona or south to other spots on the island. I would highly recommend this condo a couple looking for a nice place to stay!
New Caney, Texas, United States
talkeetna, ak, United States
wonderful place, GREAT location, 10-15 min from target, costco, etc, 3 min from grocery, bookstore, SO nice to lounge in the pool while looking over at the beach across the street, quiet pool even during the busy holiday season, the only negative was the strange duty that we had to buy our own toilet paper, dish soap, paper towels, and then wash the laundry that we had used before we left. this makes me wonder how clean everything was when we got there, does EVERYONE actually buy their own laundry soap to wash linens for the next people? other than that, we were SO happy with this place, a GREAT value for the money, having to buy those few things was outweighed by the value, especially compared to a hotel room. it was just a strange request. so overall i would love to let others know about this wonderful place! also the management company was very clear and friendly with the whole process of renting the place. GREAT option!
Ste-Adele, Quebec, Canada
A perfect vacation!!!!
The only thing,umbrella, beach chairs, body boards all the stuff for the beach should be their....
Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia
San & Carmen Kona '11
The property was well situated and just the right size for a couple. With easy access to nearby restaurants, supermarket and the beach, the apartment was ideal for us.
We had everything we needed and the location was very convenient.
Highlands Ranch, CO
Kahalu'u Beach Villa Charms
This ground floor condo is across the street from Kahalu'u Beach which has great snorkeling. It is a 10 minute drive from Kailua Villge where there are great shops and dining. We enjoyed watching the sunsets from the lanai.
Great little Villa!
Was very satisfied with our stay there at the villa. Very clean, modern, homely look to it. All appliances and electronics were easily operable and bathroom was large and wide open to bathe and dress. Queen bed very comfortable. Only two of us stayed where for a week which is about all this place can handle. With luggage and golf clubs the place did get cramped for space pretty quickly but we were able to entertain two friends quite comfortably for dinner. The walk to the public beach is short and the snorkeling was great! Bring your snorkel gear or you can buy some at an ABC store with the rubber footwear for cheap...$20-30. There are some beach items there at the villa that help...mats, towels, cooler, chair. When you get there do an inventory. Toilet paper, trash bags, laundry detergent...otherwise everything was there. Infinity Pool and hot tub were great and the grill was readily accessible. Traffic noise wasn't an issue but music from the public beach can be heard at biggy, the ceiling fan drowns that out. Location was great! Near the main road but far enough away from the bustle of Kona. About a 10-15 min drive depending on traffic. Public beach across the road and grocery, booze, gas, golf within 5 mins. Doesn't get any better!
Santa Fe, NM
The rental was in a great location and was totally clean and in
really nice---snorkle gear, beach stuff, appliances, dishes, glasses and instructions on how to leave---that was helpful information. Thanks again.
Brush Prairie, Wa
I can not believe this condo was available at this time of year. Right across from one of the best snorkel beaches on Hawaii. Beach sunsets just across the street, turtles galore to marvel at in the shallows. All meals taken on the lanai, barbeque in the evenings, enjoying local produce from the Farmer's Market. It was a wonderful time and we are already planning for our return to this exact condo.
Coeur d Alene, ID
Great location along the Kona Coast--you can go north or south e
One minor complaint is that 2 beach towels or more than one bath towel should be part of the rental/clean-up cost. When in Hawaii we were in the water 1-2 times each day so towel use is frequent.
We thought the condo. was comfortable and beautifully furnished. We would recommend this to friends.
great just great place
Colchester, Essex, United Kingdom
Perfect location, well equipped and comfortable
This condo was perfect for the two of us. It was just cross the road from the best beach on the island for snorkelling. The lanaii made a very pleasant outdoor dining room. The back pack beach chairs, beach towels and cool box were also very useful. There were some good books, especially the guide book for big island which gave very accurate descriptions of different locations on the island. The bed was extremely comfortable.
Loved the location next to a great swimming/snorkeling beach. the black bottom pool was wonderfully warm day or nite & spa was so relaxing. Must eat at Pesto's on North shore. Went diving with Manta Rays...INCREDIBLE!!! Swimming with the spinner dolphins was awesome and you must snorkel 'The Place of Refuge'.
Loved the Location & Condo
however the condition of the condo has deteriorated a lot from the 1st time we stayed there 2 years ago. there are areas that need paint retouching... the fridge door doesn't close completely...you have to make sure it's closed. the bathroom needs a good cleaning & moldings repainted. the water has stained the grout in and around the shower. the rug in living room and kitchen needs replacing or a better cleaning. Carpet behind the bedroom door is fraying. the pool needs to be repfinished, and tiles are missing from edging. Toilet doesn't always flush completely. Lots of marks are on the tiles on lani. I tried to clean them but they need a heavy-duty cleaning. window surrounding lani has drip and water spots from the lani drain from condo above. we did enjoy our stay...we were just sorry that the place is showing it's wear.
Calgary, AB, Canada
Good Location..but bumper to bumper traffic to get anywhere!
Poorly stocked kitchen. They didn't even have salt and pepper in the kitchen and they didn't provide enough toilet paper for the 10 days we were there, the kitchen knives were rusted and pitted and the BBQ was so dirty that the gas couldn't get to the jets to start the burners! The sofa was very uncomfortable, but the bed was OK.
Abbotsford, BC, Canada
very nice location and unit
This was by far the nicest unit we have stayed for the price through vrbo. We payed 200 a unit on Kaui, it was in much need of a makeover.
The bed was very comfortable, decor was very nice, i loved the unit by the pool and hot tub.
Would have been nice to have a small basket with salt & pepper and sugar. We have stayed at alot of rentals 98% of them have these items.
For the first 5 nights we slept with the bedroom slider open and all the windows open to let in the ocean noise and palm breezes. Until other guests showed up and ran the air conditioners none stop, being they were right outside the unit, it was very noisy. The traffic noise we could live with but not the airconditioners. It was sad to have to shut all the windows and doors in the evening, even sitting on the lanai was very noisy. For this reason we would not stay here again, but i would recommend it to other people, because it was so nice and location was great.
North Saamich, BC, Canada
the sliding doors onto...
the sliding doors onto the lanai both need to have screen doors.
The one thing we didn't like was the timer on the a/c. Also it could use a better cleaning. Blinds,surfaces were dusty. Otherwise this unit is the best location in the entire complex.
Lovely condo, great location, central AC
The sofa is uncomfortable--too low to the ground. The bed sags--rolls occupants to the middle. Would stay here again if the mattress is replaced.
Nice location across from a great beach.
Only negative comment is that there were no cleaning supplies,limited equipment and no maid service included in cost of our 17 day stay. Hard to keep a place tidy and seems silly to make guests purchase a mop. Also has a timer device on the air conditioner. Did include some beach chairs/mats and coolers which were mighty handy!
Our only complaint was...
Our only complaint was the parties held until 11p at Kahaluu Beach. Loud speakers/band forced us to close all the windows in order to sleep 3 out of 5 nights.
Bragg Creek, Alberta, Canada
Only thing I would change is couch-very uncomfortable.
Never saw property manager but that was OK because there was no need to.
forgot-Toaster needs replacing.
Is the Unit available for last 2 weeks of Feb 2010 and if so at what price?
Nuernberg, Bavaria, Germany
Beautiful Condo on a turtle beach
It was really I beautiful Condo. We love it and also the place. Only few minutes to the beach. The morning shorkeling there was amazing - we have swum with turtels. We can recommend this condo!
Best Regards from Germany.
Ute + Harry
Are we in the right place?
When we first opened the door to the condo, my wife and I thought we might have just broken into someone's really nice home. I said this is too nice, it cant be where we are staying. Pleasantly surprised are two words that explain our feelings of the condo and property. Its a nicely decorated, and very clean condo, and property. The best beach on the island is right across the street. We will go to this condo again!
A Luxurious Escape
We had forgotten our rental information upon arriving in Hawaii and the manager was very helpful. The condo was clean, beautiful and private. The pool and hot tub were right outside our back patio and the ocean right across the street. It was a very good location for visiting shops, farmers market, restaurants, and the beach. Excellent for driving and exploring as well. We couldn't have asked for better! Thank you!
Will Never Forget This Vacation!
My wife and I vacationed here for our 1st wedding anniversary. We spent hours trying to find the perfect place to stay in Kona, among that many places that were available. We're certainly glad we found the Kahalu'u Beach Villas! The condo was beautiful and we have everything we needed for cooking, cleaning, going to the beach, and relaxing in the evenings. Would highly recommend this condo for anyone looking for a great investment and an unforgettable vacation destination.
San Diego, CA
Christine N.'s review of Hale Malulani - Kahalu'u Beach Villas 1
Great location...right across from the beach and the best snorkeling in Kona
Great Vacation Rental
We were very pleased with this rental as well as the agent. The location was excellent - right across the street from teh best snorkeling on the island. The unit was clean, modern and well equipped. The pool was very pleasant, with an infinity edge overlooking the beach, a shallow ledge for sunning or small children, and lots of comfortable lounge chairs for relaxing. The BBQ was a nice option too. This one bedroom unit was very reasonably priced for such a nice condo in a great complex.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Wayne P.'s review of Hale Malulani - Kahalu'u Beach Villas 101 -
We have reserved one of the 2 bedrooms in the same complex for February, 2009. We have recommended 101 to a friend and he has already booked it for some time in January 2009.
Nice Quiet Property
Although across the street from a very busy beach it was still a very peaceful well situated property. Very nicely furnished. We were extremely pleased to find Kona Coast Vacations and the unit we rented and would certainly rent through KCV again.
perfect for Ironman
We stayed there for 5 days at 2007 Ironman. The bed was comfortable, the place was beautiful, the kitchen was great, there was room for all our gear. It was close enough to town and yet far enough away. And the snorkeling beach across the road kept my mind off the competition.
Incline VIllage, NV
Nice place and a...
Nice place and a great location!
Nice luxury condo across from the Big Island's best snorkeling!
This is a wonderful property; we stayed in this unit and the adjoining 2 bdrm unit for Xmas 2007. Very quiet, small condo complex with a great location. Condo was very well equipped; it had everything would expect in a luxury, near-beachfront (there's a road between the condo and the beach) unit.